Page 7

COVER IMAGE: From our tour of the Balaguer Rolls manufacturing facilities - see more on page 82

VOLUME 127 ISSUE 7

JULY 2016

Perendale Publishers Ltd 7 St George’s Terrace St James’ Square, Cheltenham, Glos, GL50 3PT, United Kingdom Tel: +44 1242 267700 Publisher Roger Gilbert rogerg@perendale.co.uk International Marketing Team Darren Parris Tel: +44 1242 267707 darrenp@perendale.co.uk Tom Blacker Tel: +44 1242 267700 tomb@perendale.co.uk Mark Cornwell Tel: +1 913 6422992 markc@perendale.com Latin America Marketing Team Iván Marquetti Tel: +54 2352 427376 ivanm@perendale.co.uk India Marketing Team Ritu Kala Tel: +91 93 15 883669 rituk@perendale.co.uk Nigeria Marketing Team Nathan Nwosu Tel: +234 805 7781077 nathann@perendale.co.uk Editorial Team Eloise Hillier-Richardson eloisehr@perendale.co.uk Peter Parker peterp@perendale.co.uk

48 - Pasta and B-Vitamins

Malachi Stone malachis@perendale.co.uk Andrew Wilkinson andreww@perendale.co.uk International Editors Professor Dr M Hikmet Boyacıog ˘ lu hikmetb@perendale.co.uk Dr Roberto Luis Bernardi robertob@perendale.co.uk Professor Wenbin Wu wenbinw@perendale.com Design Manager James Taylor jamest@perendale.co.uk Circulation & Events Tuti Tan tutit@perendale.co.uk Antoine Tanguy antoinet@perendale.co.uk Australia Correspondent Roy Palmer royp@perendale.co.uk ©Copyright 2016 Perendale Publishers Ltd. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means without prior permission of the copyright owner. More information can be found at www.perendale.com Perendale Publishers Ltd also publish ‘The International Milling Directory’ and ‘The Global Miller’ news service

Grain & Feed Milling Technology magazine was rebranded to Milling and Grain in 2015

Cooked pasta retains up to 80% of added B-Vitamins

REGIONAL FOCUS

Turkey

NEWS

6 8-38

PRODUCT FOCUS

42

CASE STUDY

88

FEATURES 44 Helping to feed the world sustainably 48 Konya’s milling culture The Alaybeyi flour mill 50 Cooked pasta and B-Vitamins 54 Safe fortification

FACES

112 People news from the global milling industry

58 Nutritional strategies to support intestinal health in poultry 62 Bagging systems

66 Selsaf® an organic feed supplement

70 The Mills Archive Garden Party STORAGE

74 A lesson in innovation

80 Global Industries, Inc. to open new manufacturing facility in Africa

EVENTS

96 Event listings, reviews and previews

TRAINING

41 Successful student training at OCRIM historical headquarters

COLUMNS

16 Mildred Cookson 26 Tom Blacker 28 Christophe Pelletier 34 Chris Jackson

2 GUEST EDITOR Dr Cheryl Kalisch Gordon

90 MARKETS Andrew Wilkinson

110 INTERVIEW Ismail Kemaloğlu

JUL 2016 - Milling and Grain magazine  
JUL 2016 - Milling and Grain magazine