Page 196

Honor Roll

Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

Katrina McClain6 0 Inducted in 20

H I S T O R y

Andy Landers Inducted in 20 07

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame’s mission is to “honor the past, celebrate the present and promote the future” of women’s basketball. The Hall opened in 1999 and since then nearly 100 players, coaches and contributors standouts have been enshrined in the Hall of Fame. In 2006, Katrina McClain became the first former Lady Bulldog to earn induction. McClain, the 1987 National Player of the Year and a two-time AllAmerican at UGA, also helped lead the U.S. to Gold Medals in both the 1988 and 1996 Olympics. McClain also played professionally in the U.S., Japan, Italy, Spain and Turkey. In 2007, Andy Landers was enshrined in the Hall of Fame. Landers, the first and still only full-time head coach in Lady Bulldog history, is a four-time National Coach of the Year honoree and ranks among the game’s leaders in virtually every statistic imaginable. 194

AAU James E. Sullivan Memorial Award

SEC Female Athlete of the year

Coco & Kelly Miller 1999

Saudia Roundtree 1995-96

The Sullivan Award is presented annually by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) to the top amateur athlete(s) in the nation who have achieved athletic excellence and also exhibited leadership, character, sportsmanship and the ideals of amateurism. “Kelly and Coco Miller exemplify all of the qualities the Sullivan Award represents,” said Bobby Dodd, president of the AAU. “This is the first time that twins were nominated for and won the Sullivan Award as one entity.”

2009-10 Lad y Bulldo G Basketball

In addition to being 1996 National Player of the Year, Saudia Roundtree was named the top female student-athlete in the SEC for all sports in voting of the league’s 12 institutions. Roundtree led the Lady Bulldogs to a runner-up finish in the 1996 NCAA Tournament – their second straight Final Four appearance – and the SEC title. She also became the first SEC basketball player since “Pistol” Pete Maravich in 1970 to claim Naismith National Player of the Year accolades.

2009-10 Women's Basketball Media Guide  
2009-10 Women's Basketball Media Guide  

Bios, stats, and photos of the Georgia Lady Bulldogs.