__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

CZE MAGAZINE

FLASH PHOTOGRAPHY ISSUE


Photo courtesy of Magda Dzanashvili. Berlin 2014.

For the fifteenth issue I collected photographs made using a flash light. This time CZE features wide range of different images with various usage of flash light techniques. Experimenting with artificial light may result in impressive photographs, like the ones you are about to see. Enjoy the selection, and try to imagine the magazine as some kind of movie, or theatre, because I believe that creating an art magazine is not just posting works or writing about them. The process of designing and the chronology of pages makes publications to be considered as art pieces themselves. So I’d call it: “The art of presenting art.” Lots of love. George Nebieridze.


INterview with Alessandro Ruggieri


CZE: Do you use flash for more than technical reasons of not having enough light? Alessandro Ruggieri: Yeah sure. generally speaking flash lights up/emphasise/freeze the subject in the foreground and its colours. Apart from that, which is pretty obvious, it can have different uses, depending on the kind of flash options you use and the intensity of it. With light flash you can simply clarify a subject even in daylight. I sometimes like to overexpose subjects, sometimes just to give a bit of extra brightness, sometimes to properly distort reality: like if you mix strong flash with high ISO you can create effects that alter reality, completely burning the subject turning it into a white shape or crate strange colours. Another classic use of the flash that is often pleasant is to use it against a subject with a sky in the back ground (even better if sunrise or sunset): it usually creates interesting contrast between the subject and the sky in the background which often results in the picture more dark and intense than what it actually was in reality. Flash with long exposure can be nice sometimes too keeping the back ground to its actual colours and sometimes creating a contrast between a steady foreground and moved background. I sometimes also use flash in combination with zoom to find the right exposure; another use can be on reflective surfaces like mirror, plastic, glass or screens/tv/computer just to create an interaction between the subject in the surface and bright reflection of the flash on it. oh and of course flash on animal eyes gives you that strange reflection! (not sure animals like it though!)


CZE: How do you think the use of flash adds to the image? AR: Pretty much what I said before: lights up/emphasise/freeze the subject in the foreground and its colours + you can create different effects playing with flash options, its intensity and camera options. In general flash can be also helpful to obtain a decent/ standard quality image from a low quality camera (which I often use): like if you use flash, photos taken with different quality cameras tend to look similar to each other (even thought the differences obviously persist!); maybe here we can talk also about the drawbacks with flash/what you lose, and that is basically the reality of the scene, especially you lose the shades, the shadows, graduation of light etc. CZE: Do you think you’d have the same or an even better effect with the flash on a digital camera? AR: I do use flash with both digital and analog cameras (mostly compact point and shot cameras). I can’t really say which one works better, flash photography brings different cameras to a similar effect (although differences between analog and digital and between different quality cameras of course remain). The good thing about digital is that even with a compact point and shoot, if you get a decent one, you can play with ISO and other options so you can get different effects, whereas with analog you should change the film of course.


CZE: What type of subject matter do you feel works well with the use of flash? AR: Pretty much everything I guess,, it depends if you want what flash can add or take away from the scene you are shooting, knowing that than you can decide on a case by case basis,, there is no rule; maybe sometimes with people can be useful to clarify and make the skin smoother not having to do much post editing. CZE: How do you feel colour images shot with flash differ to black and white flash images? AR: Well I don’t really do much black and white photos so I can’t tell, but I guess the effect is quite the same, I mean it can be used for the same reasons I mentioned above on question 2 with the exception that in b/w you can’t enrich the colours of course! Interview by Katherine Mitchell.


Thank you Alessandro.


THE


END


Credits

(in alphabetical order) Aaron Gutsche blaueturnschuhe.tumblr.com

Bilge Emiroğlu flickr.com/34534458@N07

Adam Revington cargocollective.com/adamrevington

Brad Westcott breadphotos.tumblr.com

Aleksandra Kojić flickr.com/ale_kojic

Catherine Lemblé catherinelemble.com

Alessandro Ruggieri kind-of-empty.tumblr.com

ChihHsien Chen flickr.com/chihsienchen

Alexis Clerc flickr.com/alexis-clerc

Christian Werner christianwerner.org

Anatoliy Tatarenko totatarenko.com

Coria Sepulveda flickr.com/sobredosismental

Andrea Resner andrearesner.com

Dania Shihab daniashihab.com

Andrés Orbea flickr.com/andresorbea

Dimitri Karakostas tobehonestiexpectedmore.com

Andrew Eargle andreweargle.com

Ewan Mitchell ewan-mitchell.com

Andrew Kelly flickr.com/11235133@N07

Fábio Miguel Roque fabiomiguelroque.com

Antonella Moltini antonellamoltini.com

Francesco Artibani francescoartibani.com

Artem Nadyozhin izvestka.com

Franck Jessueld frnckjssld.com

Asrul Dwi flickr.com/asruldwi

Fredrik Holmér fredrikholmer.com

Athanasios Gatos 8angat.tumblr.com

Gonash Haghshenas gonashhaghshenas.tumblr.com


Häre Christian cargocollective.com/harechristian

Lesley Ann Ercolano flickr.com/lesleyercolano

Holly Levey flickr.com/hollyapl

Lluís Tudela flickr.com/luighi

Ina Niehoff inaniehoff.de

Marcos Pezzani flickr.com/supermarke

Jared Gaustad jaredgaustad.com

Margaret Durow margaretdurow.com

Jeremy O’Sullivan flickr.com/ahiram

Marija Radosavljevic marijaradosavljevic.tumblr.com

Jonas Kamm flickr.com/kammjonas

Mário Macedo heyheybyebye.tumblr.com

Jowita Paszko flickr.com/ijowita

Maurizio Di Iorio mauriziodiiorio.it

Juliana M. M. Soares julianammsoares.com.br

Melchior Tersen melchiortersen.com

Julie Lansom julielansom-photography.com

Mélissa Juan melissajuan.com

Justin Guthrie cargocollective.com/justinguthrie

Miguel Soll miguelsoll.com

Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili ketuta.blogspot.com

Milica Balubdzic haskii-photos.tumblr.com

Kevin Tadge kevintadge.com

Mira Heo heomira.com

Kristie Muller kristiemuller.com

Miranda Lehman mirandalehman.com

Leo Berne ibarelyremember.com

Nadine Cordial nadinecordial.tumblr.com


Nastya Pestrikova flickr.com/pestrich Paul John Nelson pauljohnnelson.com Romain Brunet aucunrienromainbrunet.tumblr.com Ruth McMillan ruthmcm.com Samuela Lepori beataviscera.tumblr.com Sasa Stucin sasastucin.com Shen Li picnicingonarocket.tumblr.com Simon Kossoff flickr.com/simonpaulkossoff Takuroh Toyama cargocollective.com/takurohtoyama Tomislav Marcijuš flickr.com/m_tomislav Tyrone Williams tyrone-williams.tumblr.com Wang Wei flickr.com/wang_wei Zach McCaffree zachmccaffree.com Zachary Fudge cargocollective.com/zacharyfudge


CZE Magazine wants to thank all the artists featured in Flash Photography issue for taking part in this project. Special thanks to Katherine Mitchell for contributing the interview. ***** George Nebieridze is the founder of CZE magazine. Contact him at: geo_nebieridze@yahoo.com ***** czemag.tumblr.com flickr.com/groups/cze facebook.com/CZE.Magazine Submissions for the upcoming TOURISM issue at: cze.mag@gmail.com


CZE Magazine, Issue #15 (Flash Photography) Released by an independent publisher George Nebieridze. Berlin, Germany, August 2014.

Profile for George Nebieridze

CZE Magazine 15  

CZE #15, Flash Photography issue. http://czemag.tumblr.com/

CZE Magazine 15  

CZE #15, Flash Photography issue. http://czemag.tumblr.com/

Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded