Page 1

Rainbow Issue

CZE Magazine


Rainbow is the 11th Issue of CZE Magazine, this time our goal is to show photographs from all over the world that include rainbows, this colorful magic can be found everywhere, starting from the tiniest, made with a reflection of light on glass to the huge ones stretched across mountains. All of us have that positive emotion for rainbows, it comes as a surprise and leaves warmth inside. CZE is passionate about rainbows in photos so, enjoy. George Nebieridze, CEO at CZE


Submit works for the 12th Dark Issue at: cze.mag@gmail.com Or join our group at: flickr.com/groups/cze


レインボー радуга ylber göy qurşağı Вясёлка 彩虹 duga arcobaleno Regenbogen tęcza ծիածան ουράνιο τόξο arco-íris รุ้ง regenboog 무지개 curcubeu gökkuşağı ‫תשק‬ varavīksne дуга vikerkaar इंद्रधनुष vaivorykštė cầu vồng дъга ცისარტყელა szivárvány Виножито enfys Rainbow sateenkaari arc-en-ciel


Zach McCaffree

6


7


8


10


11


Kate Kirkwood

12


13


14


15


16


17


Inter wi

Alexande


rview ith

er Binder


CZE: What is it about Rainbows that inspires you? Why do you include rainbows in your work? Alexander Binder: A lot of my work deals with occultism and light plays an important role in all kinds of spiritual issues. Saviors and sect leaders are often described as light-bearers. In Latin even the name “Lucifer” means “light bringer”. But for me it’s not only about rainbows. When you have a look at my work as a whole, then you’ll soon realize that there are also some pretty dark photo series. I am fascinated by this dualism of light and dark, by the idea that there is always a negative counterpart to anything positive in our world. CZE: Can you explain the attached image of the deer? How long did it take you to get this shot? Do you live in a wooded environment? Explain your use of nature and animals in your photographs. AB: The actual shot was a great coincidence. I spent a whole day in a large park with wild animals, which can be a quite meditative experience from time to time. This deer approached while I was cleaning my camera lenses and in the first moment I didn’t realize it at all. It just stood in front of me and we looked at each other, when suddenly the sun came out and filled the whole scenery in surreal rainbow-light ... I have a very close relationship to nature, even though I am living in an urban environment today. I mean I grew up in the Black Forest, a beautiful place with waste woodlands and thus I am used to wild animals and I love to spend my time outdoors. Animals always embody some kind of mysticism for me – they are the raw and untamed counterpart to our industrialized world. CZE: Some of your photographs are highly saturated and abstract; can you explain your technique? AB: This is the result of my self-built lenses. They are made from old cameras, duct tape and optical toys. These lenses are literally able to catch the traces of light and they help me to create the diffuse and abstract look.

20


21


22


CZE: Who are some other emerging photographers who’s work you admire? AB: Hm. Difficult question because there are so many interesting people around at the moment. Most of the time I am working on many photo projects simultaneously and thus I don’t have the time to follow the development of contemporary photography in detail. Nevertheless I have some favorites. For example Asger Carlsen. His photos show eerie creatures, which really challenge our habits of seeing. Another photographer I appreciate is Maurizio di Lorio. His nude photography expresses a lighthearted innocence and seems to me so refreshingly authentic. Interview by Alexis Avedisian

23


26


27


28


29


30


31


Anita Dada

32


33


34


35


Kevin Tadge

36


37


38


39


40


Lawrence Martinez

42


43


46


Delaney Allen

48


49


50


51


Inter wi

Dimitri Ka


rview ith

arakostas


CZE: Hello Dimitri, tell us a bit about yourself, where are you from and what are you currently up to. Dimitri Karakostas: 24, currently based in Toronto, Canada... currently stressing out, getting ready to go abroad with the wife for three months to work on projects. CZE: We find these photographs fascinating, colors are very attractive, what is your secret, is there any special technique you use to get this kind of images? DK: Haha, yes and no. Half is basic light leaks, but controlled instead of just an opened camera bag or pre-processing with alternate chemicals... a few double exposures as well. I keep trying as many new things as possible to get the most vivid or interesting colors or compositions. CZE: What does the color photography mean to you? DK: It means a bit more room for error, which is what I want! I love mistakes, and color is fun to ruin and make a beautiful photograph. CZE: What inspired you to make this kind of abstract work? What was before that and what are the plans for the future? DK: Before this was a lot of the other typical dabbling... studio, lighting, medium format- but I soon realized the quest for perfect is too common. It’s why everybody is stoked on dSLRS- it’s super easy to get a perfect photo. I realized very quickly that I can’t stand perfect photographs, regardless of format. It’s just too insincere for me. Hopefully lots more color+mistake work in the immediate future, lots more everything! CZE: Film texture has one of the biggest roles in your work, why film and not digital? DK: I like my photos existing in real life... I feel as though the main separation between digital and film is the process work, which I love with film. I like processing rolls myself, I like making prints... I also have been shooting film for like 10 years, so I think it’s just my thing. CZE: Any special feelings for rainbows? share with us. Haha, just as many as everyone else. Rainbows make everyone stoked, might as well take a bunch of pictures of them!

54


55


56


57


58


59


Anna S


Shelton


62


63


Carolin Walch

64


65


Peter Su


utherland


68


69


70


71


72


73


Krisztina Toth

74


75


77


Brendan Henning

78


80


81


Sheena Callage

82


83


84


85


Svetlana Mijic

86


87


Alexander Alekseenko

88


89


Angeles Pena

90


91


92


93


Sylvian Em


mmanuel P


96


97


Thales Pessoa

98


Missy Prince

99


David Fanfani

100


Francesca Way

101


Ekvilina Milaseviciute

102


Samantha Casolari

103


Pia Riverola

104


Lily Pollack

105


Jocelyn Catterson and Jeremy Daigneault

106


107


108


109


Rivkah Khanin

110


111


Nina Ahn

114


115


116


117


Lado Lomitashvili

118


119


120


121


122


123


Henry Krinckle

124


125


Roy D Henry

126


127


Akihisa Nakamura

128


129


130


Barry Stone

131


Rafa Castells

132


Marina Richter

133


Stevie Dacanay

134


Vaughan Jones

135


Olivia Larrain Heiremans

136


Bruno Bernardi

137


Andrew Eargle

138


Unknown Photographer

139


Christian Kluge

140


Joe Nigel Coleman

141


Eduardo Pedro Oliveira

142


Luke Byrne

143


Fernando Farfan

144


LIHUI

145


Matthew Harris

146


Caitlin Pearey

147


Jordan Carroll

148


Sasha Kurmaz

149


Phillip Abbott

150


Krystal Comerford

151


Miliken Gardner


Rachel Dowda

154


Anna Moan a.k.a. Linnea

155


Matias Montecinos

156


Alex Synge

157


James Turnley

158


Natalie Kaplan

159


Ben West

160


Jagoda Boruch

161


Michelle Blades

162


Jon Stanley Austin

163


Matthias Paul Hempt

164


Maren Celest

165


166


Kaj Lehmann

167


Matilde Viegas

Alexa Babiuk


Hunt Fanelli


Hayden Lane

170

Destiny Dawson


Misha Denisov

171


Matthew Feyld

Vera Biryukova


Lara Carlos


Ahndraya Parlato


Adriana Petit

175


Toby Price

176


Justin Visnesky

177


Lieke Romeijn 178


Leah Bernhardt

179


180


J.R.Furbush

David Baquero

181


Boopj

Andreas Ervik

182


Juan Chao

183


Sasha Mademuaselle


Irakli Solomonishvili

185


Lindsay Thomson

186


Amy Lloyd

Sophie Curtis


Claudia Fernandes


Jillian Becker

189


Luke Winter


Nastya Denisova

191


192


Michael Friberg

193


Oliver Chennells

Iciar J. Carrasco

194


Lloyd Stubber Sasha Borodinova


Contributors (in order of appearance) Zach McCaffree zachmccaffree.com

Svetlana Mijic flickr.com/photos/svetlaaa

Kate Kirkwood katekirkwood.com

Alexander Alekseenko flickr.com/people/ashtonleee

Alexander Binder alexanderbinder.de

Angeles Pena anpena.com.ar

Anita Dada anitadada.tumblr.com

Sylvian Emmanuel P. tryitillyoumakeit.com

Kevin Tadge kevintadge.com

Thales Pessoa thalespessoa.blogspot.com

Lawrence Martinez flickr.com/photos/eylowrance

Missy Prince missyprince.bigcartel.com

Delaney Allen delaneyallen.tumblr.com

David Fanfani flickr.com/photos/davidfanfani

Dimitri Karakostas tobehonestiexpectedmore.com

Francesca Way francescaway.co.uk

Anna Shelton flickr.com/photos/zipco-and-cal

Ekvilina Milaseviciute ekvmil.com

Carolin Walch carolinwalch.de

Samantha Casolari samanthacasolari.com

Peter Sutherland petersutherland.net

Pia Riverola cargocollective.com/piariverola

Krisztina Toth cargocollective.com/nyussz

Lily Pollack lilypollack.com

Brendan Henning flickr.com/photos/brendanhenning

Jocelyn Catterson & Jeremy Daigneault flickr.com/photos/jocelynmarie

Sheena Callage sacallage.tumblr.com

Rivkah Khanin flickr.com/photos/rivkhanin

196


Nina Ahn bynina.tistory.com

Christian Kluge cargocollective.com/christiankluge

Lado Lomitashvili ladolomitashvili.daportfolio.com

Joe Nigel Coleman joenigelcoleman.com

Henry Krinckle flickr.com/photos/specialduties

Eduardo Pedro Oliveira flickr.com/photos/eduardopedro

Roy D Henry flickr.com/photos/34795716@N04

Luke Byrne flickr.com/photos/sprppl

Akihisa Nakamura flickr.com/people/scape

Fernando Farfan flickr.com/photos/farfech

Barry Stone barrystone.com

LIHUI huiuh.com

Rafa Castells rafacastells.com

Matthew Harris flickr.com/photos/-----matthewharris

Marina Richter mranai.tumblr.com

Caitlin Pearey flickr.com/photos/kaytehh

Stevie Dacanay steviedacanay.com

Jordan Carroll cargocollective.com/jordancarroll

Vaughan Jones flickr.com/photos/lvj

Sasha Kurmaz homer.org.ua

Olivia Larrain Heiremans cargocollective.com/aivilo

Phillip Abbott flickr.com/people/phillipabbott

Bruno Bernardi brunobernardi.tumblr.com

Krystal Comerford krystalcomerford.com

Andrew Eargle andreweargle.com

Miliken Gardner flickr.com/photos/miliken

Unknown photographer Source: pushthemovement.tumblr.com/ post/16821097895

Rachel Dowda racheldowda.tumblr.com 197


198

Anna Moan a.k.a. Linnea flickr.com/photos/annamoan

Hunt Fanelli flickr.com/photos/huntfanelli

Matias Montecinos matiasmontecinos.tumblr.com

Hayden Lane saltyshapes.com

Alex Synge alexsynge.com

Destiny Dawson flickr.com/photos/destinydawson

James Turnley jamesturnley.com

Misha Denisov flickr.com/photos/misha_denisov

Natalie Kaplan nataliekaplan.carbonmade.com

Matthew Feyld matthewfeyldphoto.blogspot.com

Ben West bewe.me

Vera Biryukova flickr.com/photos/veragrrrl

Jagoda Boruch jagodab.tumblr.com

Lara Carlos flickr.com/photos/infire

Michelle Blades slowocean.tumblr.com

Ahndraya Parlato ahndrayaparlato.com

Jon Stanley Austin jonstanleyaustin.com

Adriana Petit adrianapetit.com

Matthias Paul Hempt hempt.at

Toby Price tcameronprice.com

Maren Celest marencelest.com

Justin Visnesky justinvisnesky.com

Kaj Lehmann rajas.info

Lieke Romeijn liekeromeijn.nl

Matilde Viegas 1250g.blogspot.com

Leah Bernhardt leahbernhardt.blogspot.com

Alexa Babiuk flickr.com/photos/a-l-e-x-a

David Baquero flickr.com/photos/david-skump


J.R.Furbush jrfurbush.com

Oliver Chennells flickr.com/photos/24768221@N03

Boopj gentlementakesnapshots.tumblr.com

Iciar J. Carrasco cargocollective.com/iciarjcarrasco

Andreas Ervik flickr.com/photos/brianbeluga

Lloyd Stubber lloydstubber.com

Juan Chao juanchao.tumblr.com

Sasha Borodinova ducksvsrabbits.tumblr.com

Irakli Solomonishvili flickr.com/photos/pithaaa ----Sasha Mademuaselle mademuaselle.tumblr.com Lindsay Thomson flickr.com/photos/orcabitte

George Nebieridze is the creator of CZE magazine, feel free to contact him at: geo_nebieridze@yahoo.com

Amy Lloyd flickr.com/photos/amylloyd Sophie Curtis flickr.com/photos/sophiecurtis Claudia Fernandes cargocollective.com/dearclaudia

Thanks to all the photographers for supporting me by sending their incredible works and to those who give me permission of featuring their art at CZE magazine.

Jillian Becker flickr.com/photos/orphin Luke Winter dyroxy.com/journal Nastya Denisova flickr.com/photos/robokukla

Special thanks to Alexis Avedisian facebook.com/alexisavedisian v-e-l-l-u-m.com .

Michael Friberg michaelfriberg.com 199


THE


END


CZE Magazine, Issue #11 (Rainbow) Released by an independent publisher George Nebieridze, Tbilisi, Georgia, March 2012

CZE Magazine 11  

CZE Photography Magazine, Issue #12 (Rainbow) March 2012

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you