Issuu on Google+

ATTENTION LEAVING CERTS! The wait is over. Welcome to 3rd level education and what should be the best years of your life! The Government are proposing to re-introduce 3rd level tution fees; crippling you with debt and denying thousands of you access to education.

= €37,500* = €32,000

Current average cost of a 4 year degree (accommodation, food, bills, books etc.) Proposed 4 Years of fees (average €8,000 per academic year)

TOTAL COST OF YOUR 3RD LEVEL EDUCATION (including fees) = €69,500 Over the past 6 weeks, Ireland’s Students’ Unions have contacted every T.D. seeking their personal position on the proposed re-introduction of 3rd level fees. Below you will find your local T.D.’s response and whether they think you should be denied access to 3rd level education by crippling you with a €70,000 debt. NAME

Carlow - Kilkenny Aylward Hogan McGuinness Nolan Alexandra White Cavan - Monaghan Conlon Crawford Ó Caoláin O’Hanlon Smith Clare Breen Carey Dooley Killeen Cork East Ahearn O’Keeffe Sherlock Stanton Cork North-Central Allen Kelleher Lynch O’Flynn Cork North-West Creed Moynihan O’Keeffe Cork South-Central Clune Coveney Lynch Martin McGrath Cork South-West O’Keeffe O’Sullivan Sheehan Donegal North-West Blaney McDaid McHugh Donegal South-West Coughlan McGinley Dublin Central Ahern Brady Costello O’Sullivan Dublin Mid-West Curran Gogarty Harney Tuffy Dublin North Kennedy O’Brien Reilly Sargent Dublin North-Central Bruton Haughey McGrath Dublin North-East Broughan Flanagan Woods Dublin North-West Ahern Carey Shorthall Dublin South Kitt Mitchell Ryan Shatter Lee Dublin South-Central Ardagh Byrne Mulcahy Snodaigh Upton Dublin South-East Andrews Creighton Gormley Quinn Dublin South-West Hayes Lenihan O’Connor Rabitte Dublin West Burton Lenihan Varadkar Dún Laoghaire Andrews Barrett Cuffe Gilmore Hanafin

PARTY

PHONE

EMAIL

POSITION ON FEES

Bobby Phil John M.J. Mary

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Green Party

051 - 898 118 056 - 777 1490 056 - 777 0672 059 - 914 2691 059 - 917 3721

bobby.aylward@oireachtas.ie philip.hogan@oireachtas.ie john.mcguinness@oireachtas.ie mj.nolan@oireachtas.ie mary.white@oireachtas.ie

No Response No Response Refused To State Position Refused To State Position In Favour Of Fees

Margaret Seymour Caoimhghín Dr. Rory Brendan

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Sinn Féin Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil

042 - 975 4090 047 - 71911 042 - 966 1530 049 - 436 2366

margaret.conlon@oireachtas.ie seymour.crawford@oireachtas.ie caoimhghin.ocaolain@oireachtas.ie roryohanlon@oireachtas.ie minister@agriculture.gov.ie

No Response No Response Opposed To Fees Fees After Graduation Consulting Education Minister

Pat Joe Timmy Tony

Fine Gael Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil

065 - 686 8466 065 - 689 1199 065 - 869 1115 065 - 684 1500

pat.breen@oireachtas.ie joe.carey@oireachtas.ie timmy.dooley@oireachtas.ie tony.killeen@oireachtas.ie

No Response No Response Undecided Consulting Education Minister

Michael Edward (Ned) Sean David

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Labour Party Fine Gael

021 - 488 3592

michael.ahearn@oireachtas.ie ned.okeeffe@oireachtas.ie sean.sherlock@oireachtas.ie dstanton@eircom.net

No Response Awaiting Response Opposed To Fees Fees After Graduation

Bernard Billy Kathleen Noel

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Labour Party Fianna Fáil

021 - 439 7972 021 - 450 2289 021 -421 1200

bernard.allen@oireachtas.ie billykelleher@eircom.net kathleen.lynch@oireachtas.ie noel.oflynn@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation Consulting Education Minister Opposed To Fees Consulting Education Minister

Michael Michael Batt

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil

026 - 41835 029 - 51299 021 - 487 1393

michael.creed@oireachtas.ie michael.moynihan.td@oireachtas.ie minister_okeeffe@education.gov.ie

Fees After Graduation No Response Fees After Graduation

Deirdre Simon Ciarán Micheál Michael

Fine Gael Fine Gael Labour Party Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil

021 - 489 0000 021 - 431 3100 021 - 436 6200 021 - 432 0088 021 - 437 6699

deirdre.clune@oireachtas.ie simon.coveney@oireachtas.ie ciaran.lynch@oireachtas.ie minister@dfa.ie michael.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation Fees After Graduation Opposed To Fees No Response No Response

Jim Christy P.J.

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fine Gael

023 - 41399 023 - 33465 028 - 35236

jim.okeeffe@oireachtas.ie christy.osullivan@oireachtas.ie pj.sheehan@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation In Favour Of Fees Fees After Graduation

Niall Dr. James Joe

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Fine Gael

074 - 912 7754 074 - 912 5132 074 - 915 5968

niall.blaney@oireachtas.ie jim.mcdaid@oireachtas.ie joe.mchugh@oireachtas.ie

No Response No Response Fees After Graduation

Mary Dinny

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael

074 - 972 4270 074 - 953 1025

tanaiste@entemp.ie dinny.mcginley@oireachtas.ie

Refused To State Position Fees After Graduation

Bertie Cyprian Joe Maureen

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Labour party Independent

01 - 837 4129 01 - 837 4129

bertie.ahern@oireachtas.ie cyprian.brady@oireachtas.ie joe.costello@oireachtas.ie maureen.osullivan@oireachtas.ie

No Response Refused To State Position Opposed To Fees In Favour Of Fees

John Paul Nicholas Mary Joanna

Fianna Fáil Green Party Independent Labour Party

01 - 618 3792 01 - 621 9966 01 - 635 4148 01 - 628 0765

john.curran@oireachtas.ie paul.gogarty@oireachtas.ie mary.harney@oireachtas.ie joanna.tuffy@oireachtas.ie

Consulting Education Minister Opposed To Fees No Response Opposed To Fees

Michael Darragh Dr. James Trevor

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Green Party

01 - 890 2277 01 - 845 7741 01 - 843 7014 01 - 890 0360

michael.kennedy@oireachtas.ie darragh.obrien@oireachtas.ie james.reilly@oireachtas.ie trevor.sargent@oireachtas.ie

Opposed To Fees In Principle Awaiting Meeting Fees After Graduation Opposed To Fees

Richard Sean Finian

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Independent

Not Listed 01 - 846 4004 01 - 837 8028

richard.bruton@oireachtas.ie sean_haughey@education.gov.ie finian.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation Consulting Education Minister Opposed To Fees

Tommy Terence Dr. Michael

Labour Party Fine Gael Fianna Fáil

01 - 618 3557

thomas.p.broughan@oireachtas.ie terence.flanagan@oireachtas.ie michael.woods@oireachtas.ie

Opposed To Fees No Response Refused To State Position

Noel Pat Róisín

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Labour Party

01 - 604 0503

noel.ahern@oireachtas.ie minister.carey@taoiseach.gov.ie roisin.shorthall@oireachtas.ie

Consulting Education Minister No Response Opposed To Fees

Tom Olivia Eamon Alan George

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Green Party Fine Gael Fine Gael

01 - 298 2304 01 - 668 3088 01 - 618 3097 01 - 613 0051

tom.kitt@oireachtas.ie olivia.mitchell@oireachtas.ie minister.ryan@dcmnr.gov.ie alan.shatter@oireachtas.ie george.lee@oireachtas.ie

Refused To State Position Fees After Graduation Opposed To Fees No Response Fees After Graduation

Seán Catherine Michael Aengus Mary

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Sinn Féin Labour Party

01 - 456 8736 01 - 454 0920 01 - 454 6223 01 - 625 9320

sean@ardagh.org catherine.byrne@oireachtas.ie michael.mulcahy@oireachtas.ie aengus.osnodaigh@oireachtas.ie mary.upton@oireachtas.ie

Refused To State Position No Response No Response Opposed To Fees Opposed To Fees

Chris Lucinda John Ruairí

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Green Party Labour Party

chris.andrews@oireachtas.ie lucinda.creighton@oireachtas.ie minister@environ.ie ruairi.quinn@oireachtas.ie

No Response Fees After Graduation Opposed To Fees Opposed To Fees

Brian Conor Charlie Pat

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Labour Party

01 - 462 6545 01 - 459 6285 01 - 618 4032

brian.hayes@oireachtas.ie conor.lenihan@oireachtas.ie charlie.oconnor@oireachtas.ie pat.rabitte@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation Refused To State Position Opposed To Fees Opposed To Fees

Joan Brian Leo

Labour Party Fianna Fáil Fine Gael

01 - 618 4006 01 - 671 8142 01 - 810 3717

joan.burton@oireachtas.ie minister@finance.gov.ie leo.vradkar@oireachtas.ie

Opposed To Fees No Response Fees After Graduation

Barry Sean Ciaran Eamon Mary

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Green Party Labour Party Fianna Fáil

01 - 618 3856 01 - 284 5333 01 - 284 6060 01 - 618 3566 01 - 679 7777

barry.andrews@oireachtas.ie sean.barrett@oireachtas.ie ciaran.cuffe@oireachtas.ie eamon.gilmore@oireachtas.ie minister@welfare.ie

No Position No Response Opposed To Fees Opposed To Fees Consulting Cabinet

021 - 463 2867

01 - 832 3357

01 - 219 5841 01 - 618 4247

NAME

Galway East Burke Ulick Connaughton Paul Kitt Michael Treacy Noel Galway West Fahey Frank Grealish Noel McCormack Pádraic Ó Cuív Éamon Higgins Michael D. Kerry North Deenihan Jimmy Ferris Martin McEllistrim Tom Kerry South Healy-Rae Jackie O’Donoghue John Sheahan Tom Kildare North Brady Áine Durkan Bernard Fitzpatrick Michael Stagg Emmet Kildare South Ó Fearghaíl Seán Power Seán Wall Jack Laois-Offaly Cowen Brian Enright Olwyn Flanagan Charles Fleming Sean Moloney John Limerick East Noonan Michael O’Dea Willie O’Donnell Kieran O’Sullivan Jan Power Peter Limerick West Collins Niall Cregan John Neville Dan Longford-Westmeath Bannon James Kelly Peter O’Rourke Mary Penrose Willie Louth Ahern Dermot Kirk Séamus Morgan Arthur O’Dowd Fergus Mayo Calleary Dara Flynn Beverley Kenny Enda O’Mahony John Ring Michael Meath East Byrne Thomas McEntee Shane Wallace Mary Meath West Brady Johnny Dempsey Noel English Damien Roscommon-South Leitrim Feighan Frank Finneran Michael Naughten Denis Sligo-North Leitrim Devins Jimmy Perry John Scanlon Eamon Tipperary North Coonan Noel Hoctor Máire Lowry Michael Tipperary South Hayes Tom Mansergh Martin McGrath Mattie Waterford Cullen Martin Deasy John Kenneally Brendan O’Shea Brian Wexford Browne John Connick Sean D’Arcy Michael Kehoe Paul Howlin Brendan Wicklow Doyle Andrew McManus Liz Roche Dick Timmins Billy Behan Joe

GUIDE TO RESPONSES

PARTY

PHONE

EMAIL

POSITION ON FEES

Fine Gael Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil

091 - 847 437 090 - 967 9249 090 - 967 8147 091 - 844 360

uburke@eircom.net paul.connaughton@oireachtas.ie michael.kitt@oireachtas.ie noel.treacy@oireachtas.ie

No Response Fees After Graduation Fees After Graduation No Response

Fianna Fáil Independent Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Labour

091 - 771 020

frank.fahey@oireachtas.ie noel.grealish@oireachtas.ie padraig.mccormack@oireachtas.ie aire@pobail.ie

Refused To State Position No Response No Response No Response Opposed To Fees

Fine Gael Sinn Féin Fianna Fál

068 - 40154

jdeenihan@eircom.net martin.ferris@oireachtas.ie tom.mcellistrim@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation Opposed To Fees No Response

jackie.healy.rae@oireachtas.ie john.odonoghue@oireachtas.ie tom.sheahan@oireachtas.ie

Opposed To Fees Ceann Comhairle (Impartial) No Response

091 - 568 688

Independent Ceann Comhairle Fine Gael

066 - 947 3221 064 - 61971

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Labour Party

01 - 618 3057 01 - 628 6063 045 - 888 438

aine.brady@oireachtas.ie bernard.durkan@oireachtas.ie michael.fitzpatrick@oireachtas.ie emmet.stagg@oireachtas.ie

Opposed To Fees Fees After Graduation In Favour Of Fees Opposed To Fees

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Labour Party

045 - 432 289 045 - 432 289 059 - 863 2874

sean.ofearghail@oireachtas.ie sean.power@oireachtas.ie jack.wall@oireachtas.ie

Refused To State Position Consulting Education Minister Opposed To Fees

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil

057 - 932 1976 057 - 912 2326 057 - 862 0232 057 - 873 2692 057 - 862 4391

taoiseach@taoiseach.gov.ie olwyn.enright@oireachtas.ie charles.flanagan@oireachtas.ie sean.fleming@oireachtas.ie john.moloney@oireachtas.ie

No Response Fees After Graduation Fees After Graduation No Response Fees After Graduation

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Labour Party Fianna Fáil

061 - 454 488 061 - 204 040 061 - 312 316 061 - 317 106

michael.noonan@oireachtas.ie minister@defence.irlgov.ie kieran.odonnell@oireachtas.ie jan.osullivan@oireachtas.ie peter.power@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation Refused To State Position No Response Opposed To Fees Awaiting Minister’s Proposals

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Fine Gael

061 - 300 149 069 - 77671

niall.collins@oireachtas.ie john.cregan@oireachtas.ie daniel.neville@oireachtas.ie

No Response Refused To State Position No Response

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Labour Party

044 - 57575 043 - 45070 090 - 647 5000 044 - 934 3987

james.bannon@oireachtas.ie peter.kelly@oireachtas.ie mary.orourke@oireachtas.ie willie.penrose@oireachtas.ie

No Response No Response In Favour Of Fees Opposed To Fees

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Sinn Féin Fine Gael

042 - 933 9609

minister@justice.ie seamus.kirk@oireachtas.ie arthur.morgan@oireachtas.ie fergus.odowd@oireachtas.ie

No Response No Response Opposed To Fees Fees After Graduation

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael

096 - 77613 094 - 902 7035 094 - 902 5600 098 -25734

dara.calleary@oireachtas.ie beverley.flynn@oireachtas.ie enda.kenny@oireachtas.ie john.omahony@oireachtas.ie michael.ring@oireachas.ie

Refused To State Position Fees After Graduation No Response Fees After Graduation Fees After Graduation

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fianna Fáil

041 - 981 3520 041 - 988 2727 01 - 825 6259

thomas.byrne@oireachtas.ie shane.mcentee@oireachtas.ie mary_wallace@health.irlgov.ie

Issue Should Be Debated No Response Refused To State Position

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Fine Gael

046 - 924 0852 046 - 943 1146

johnny.brady@oireachtas.ie minister@transport.ie damien.english@oireachtas.ie

Refused To State Position Refused To State Position No Response

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fine Gael

071 - 966 2608 090 - 662 2245

frank.feighan@oireachtas.ie michael.finneran@oireachtas.ie denis.naughten@oireachtas.ie

No Response Consulting Education Minister Fees After Graduation

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fianna Fáil

071 - 915 2970 071 - 915 1011 071 - 918 9224

jimmy.devins@oireachtas.ie john.perry@oireachtas.ie eamon.scanlon@oireachtas.ie

No Response Opposed To Fees No response

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Independent

067 - 32943 0504 - 22022

noel.coonan@oireachtas.ie maire.hoctor@oireachtas.ie michael.lowry@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation In Favour Of Fees Opposed To Fees

Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil

062 - 62892 062 - 31904 052 - 29155

tom.hayes@oireachtas.ie martin.mansergh@oireachtas.ie mattie.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation Refused To State Position In Favour Of Fees

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fianna Fáil Labour Party

051 - 844 860

ministersoffice@dast.gov.ie john.deasy@oireachtas.ie bwk@eircom.net boshea@eircom.net

Refused To State Position No Response In Favour Of Fees Opposed To Fees

Fianna Fáil Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Fine Gael Labour

053 - 923 5046 051 - 445 724 053 - 948 3966 054 - 924 3558

john.browne@oireachtas.ie sean.connick@oireachtas.ie michael.darcy@oireachtas.ie paul.kehoe@oireachtas.ie brendan.howlin@oireachtas.ie

No Response In Favour Of Fees No Response Fees After Graduation Opposed To Fees

Fine Gael Labour Party Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Independent

0404 - 66622 01 - 276 0583 01 - 286 3211 059 - 648 1016

andrew.doyle@oireachtas.ie liz.mcmanus@oireachtas.ie dick.roche@oireachtas.ie billy.timmins@oireachtas.ie joe.behan@oireachtas.ie

Fees After Graduation Opposed To Fees No Response Fees After Graduation No Response

Upfront Fees Fees After Graduation Opposed To Fees No Response

042 - 932 8859 041 - 984 2275

051 - 855 964 051 - 381 913

Payment of fees each academic year prior to start of term Payment of fees after graduation through either student loan or higher additional taxes No change to current situation where the State pays your 3rd level tution fees No response despite several letters and phone calls over a 6 week period (as of 14/08/09)

ENSURE YOUR VOICE IS HEARD – CONTACT YOUR LOCAL TD! A Message from Ireland’s Students’ Unions IT Sligo Students’ Union

IT CARLOW STUDENTS’ UNION

* Source: Bank of Ireland estimated cost of living (excluding Student Registration Fee)

UCDSU Irish times ad.indd 1

14/08/2009 16:30:23


Irish Times Fees Advert