Page 11


Switch: Percussion Concerto APR. 5-7, 2019

Shostakovich 5 MAY 17-19, 2019

Miguel Harth-Bedoya conductor Colin Currie percussion Andrew Norman visiting composer

Miguel Harth-Bedoya conductor Pablo Sáinz Villegas guitar

DVOŘÁK Carnival Overture ANDREW NORMAN Switch (Concerto for Percussion) MARTINŮ Symphony No. 1 Colin Currie says “Switch,” Andrew Norman’s concerto for percussion, “behaves like no other concerto I know.” Experience the FWSO premiere of this work and watch Currie move from one side of the stage to the other as he plays a variety of percussion instruments. Plus, Miguel Harth-Bedoya conducts Martinů’s Symphony No. 1, which journeys from mysterious to lyrical to brooding, culminating in a rhythmic and exciting finale.

KODÁLY Dances of Galánta RODRIGO Fantasía para un gentilhombre SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 5 Shostakovich said of his fifth symphony, “I think it is clear to everyone what happens in the Fifth. The rejoicing is forced, created under threat. It’s as if someone were beating you with a stick and saying, ‘Your business is rejoicing, your business is rejoicing…’” Experience this glorious work with Miguel Harth-Bedoya and the FWSO in a simply stirring season finale. Plus, delight in the return of guitarist Pablo Sáinz Villegas in Rodrigo’s zesty and dance-filled Fantasía para un gentilhombre.



Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra 18-19 Season