Page 1

Abernathy Arts Center 254 Johnson Ferry Road, NW, Sandy Springs, GA 30328

Abernathy Arts Center

Abernathy Arts Center is Fulton County’s oldest neighborhood Arts Center dedicated to providing quality arts instruction to the community in a warm and friendly environment since 1974. A program of the Fulton County Department of Arts & Culture, Abernathy Arts Center offers a broad range of day and evening classes for adults and children, as well as other arts and cultural programming. The gallery features regular exhibits which provide exhibition opportunities for students, faculty, professional and emerging artists. Located at the corner of Abernathy and Johnson Ferry Road, NW in Sandy Springs, Abernathy’s campus includes a renovated farmhouse and the Annex with gallery and classroom space.


The Annex Gallery, nestled in the heart of Sandy Springs and built in 2001, programs up to 10 exhibits a year in partnership with local artists and arts groups as well as our students and instructors. Annual exhibits include Georgia Artists: A Juried Exhibit which is open to all adult artists in Georgia, Pin-Up Show, open to all age residents of Fulton County, and the Annual Youth Summer Art Weeks Exhibit which proudly displays the works of our 300+ summer campers. The gallery provides 160 feet of linear wall space as well as 1,200 square feet for threedimensional works. Abernathy Arts Center Gallery host 515 artists and accommodates nearly 2,800 gallery patrons annually.

Abernathy Arts Center The Abernathy Arts Center and other arts programs are supported by the Fulton County Board of Commissioners. Fulton County Board of Commissioners John H. Eaves, Ph.D. - Chair, District 1 (At Large) Emma I. Darnell - Vice Chair, District 5 Robert L. “Robb” Pitts - District 2 (At Large) Liz Hausmann - District 3 Tom Lowe - District 4 Joan P. Garner - District 6 William “Bill” Edwards - District 7 Zachary Williams - COUNTY MANAGER Fulton County Arts Council Charles H. Green, Chair Linda Dorsey, Vice Chair, District 4 Laurel Rummel, Secretary, District 2 Sabrina Moore, District 1 W. Imara Canady, District 1 Mr. Steven Guy, District 2 Joan Compton, District 3 Barbara Lyles-Anderson, District 4 Dr. Ruth Hilson Pace, District 5 Ms. Hattie Jay, District 5 Nancy Reynolds, District 6 Jacquee Minor, District 6 Malinda Logan, District 7 A.W. Davis, District 7 Fulton County Arts and Culture Dr. Michael Simanga, Director Ife Williams, Deputy Director Abernathy Arts Center 254 Johnson Ferry Road, NW Atlanta, Georgia 30328 404.613.6172 Contact: Lauren Bernazza, Program Director

Abernathy Brochure  

Abernathy Brochure