Page 1

Scott Prince adds Author to his list of achievements

by Tracie Edmondson


risbane’s Scott Prince has given Rugby League fans another reason to choose him as the 2013 Harvey Norman Favourite Son, winning a literary award today for his work on a children’s book. Prince, one of nine finalists for the Favourite Son Award to be presented in the lead-up to the Harvey Norman Women in League Round of the Telstra Premiership next week (May 17-20), was honoured as a State Library of Queensland’s 2013 black&write! Indigenous Writing Fellows. The fellowship was awarded to Prince and primary school deputy principal Dave Hartley for their co-authored children’s book Deadly D and Justice Jones – Making the Team. Already almost 5000 Rugby League fans have made their selection via www.nrl. com/favouriteson for the Favourite Son Award with voting closing last night (Thursday, 9 May). The winner will be announced on Tuesday, 14 May, at the 2013 Harvey Norman Women in League Sydney lunch with Prince, Dene Halatau (Bulldogs), Dallas Johnson (Cowboys),

Scott Prince co-author of Deadly D and Justice Jones – Making the Team with his daughters after the 2013 All Stars at Suncorp Stadium. Image: Rhonda Hagan

Anthony Minichiello (Roosters), Ben Creagh (Dragons), Danny Buderus (Knights), Roy Asotasi (Rabbitohs), Bryan Norrie (Storm) and Simon Mannering (Warriors) all nominated for the honour. The Favourite Son Award recognises the contribution of an NRL player at Premiership level who embodies the values and qualities of a true Rugby League Ambassador, both on and off the field. The Harvey Norman Favourite Son finalists are nominated by game staff (media, player education and welfare and

community) and are voted on by Rugby League fans. “All of these players deserve recognition, but it is up to Rugby League fans to make the call on who is awarded Harvey Norman Favourite Son this year,” said Ms Trish Crews, NRL General Manager, Community, Culture and Diversity. “We encourage all Rugby League fans to get online before Thursday to vote for the player whose integrity and leadership on and off the field make women proud to be associated with the game.” The Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award

was established in 2009 and past winners include Hazem El Masri (2009), Nathan Hindmarsh (2010), Petero Civoniceva (2011) and Luke Burt (2012). The seventh annual celebration of the Harvey Norman Women in League initiative pays tribute to the thousands female volunteers, officials, players, employees and administrators at the heart of the game. For more information on upcoming events and Harvey Norman Women in League please visit

Page 1

Scott Prince winning author  

Prince won the 2013 black and write Indigenous Writing Fellowship for a children's book he co- Deadly D and Justice Jones – Making the Team.