Page 1

tales of true love

Photography by Heather Waraksa f lu t t e r m ag . c o m

19


ruby + greg Montauk, New York / Photography by Heather Waraksa

We are over-the-moon excited to bring you a wedding that’s filled with a floral wonderland of dreams and sings to the spirit of the Indian Summer. Inspired by the whimsical energy of Alice Temperley's wildly beautiful parties, casual garden romance, glamour, color, and sheer merriment, we have no doubt you’ll swoon! Married on the eve of a new moon (a symbol of new beginnings), Ruby and Greg’s bohemian Montauk wedding will have you dancing to the tune of your wild heartbeat.

20

f lu t t e r m ag a z i n e


love gone (flower) wild “Our wedding was essentially a garden party by the sea, which was actually my dream from the beginning. We both love the ocean and Greg would have been happy to be married on the beach, but I wanted to be surrounded by trees and flowers, flowers, and more flowers! We were married under a wild cherry tree standing amidst a circle of scattered rose petals. I'm so happy we chose a place that holds special memories for both of us even before our wedding day.” — Ruby

ten little ladies Instead of a formal bridal party, Ruby and Greg had ten flower girls, ages two to nine, all family members or friends' children. Their 19-month-old son served as ring bearer. Ruby's inspiration for the flower girls was La Belle Époque. They wore assorted white vintage Edwardian lawn dresses from the early 1900s that Ruby found on eBay and Etsy.

oh so suite! Artist Happy Menocal designed custom heraldry for the couple—a delicate wreath of roses, daisies, and stars with a butterfly and a guitar, all encircling an initialed banner with a tiny bumblebee on top. Happy also designed the deliciously darling wedding menus that doubled as place cards.

f lu t t e r m ag . c o m

21


for goodness sakes‌ Ruby and Greg had a collection of confections from Brooklyn-based bakery Nine Cakes. The wedding cake had lemon curd and strawberry buttercream and was topped with fresh berries. Hazelnut cakes with layers of apricot-peach purÊe and vanilla buttercream, as well as a chocolate and vanilla groom's cake decorated the sweet display. As a nod to the couple's favorite neighborhood bakery Almondine, they also had a big heart-shaped raspberry tart and an assortment of pastries.

22

f lu t t e r m ag a z i n e


an ode to autumn “September gives us the peak of summer flowers with bits of that slow slide into the beautiful decay of early autumn — this was translated through the exuberant garden roses, zinnias, dahlias, and echinacea that we used across the florals for the event.” — Floral Designer, Sarah Ryhanen of Saipua f lu t t e r m ag . c o m

23


24

f lu t t e r m ag a z i n e


love is in the details Together with Firefly Events, Ruby and Greg planned an unforgettable weekend of events where no details were spared and every moment was as heart-fluttering as the next. It was a glorious celebration of their love.

ITINERARY

thursday, september 10 Ruby and Greg welcome their earliest arrivals to a fiesta at Tacombi restaurant in Montauk for a festive, intimate and cozy evening.

friday, september 11 a true New England clambake

sweet eating etiquette

The official "welcome to the weekend" party kicked off at Solé East with a family-style New England Clambake complete with darling details and a delicious spread of local bounty: lobsters, fish and farm-fresh vegetables. Saipua sourced a wooden board from an old barn in upstate New York. Calligrapher Virginia Lucas Hart then designed the menu with her romantic script. Throughout the evening the couple's friends played live bluegrass music. It was a soulful hit! For dessert, guests enjoyed root beer floats (Ruby's favorite!) and also pies from Four & Twenty Blackbirds in Brooklyn. Late night s'mores and songs around the fire pit were the icing on the cake. “Together these two welcome festivities were a combined nod to our deep love of Mexico and the ocean and an excuse to spend precious time with our guests before the big day.” — Ruby

r all! lobsters fo family—style fare

Greg Humphrey's Electric Trio

Ruby + Greg

saturday, september 12 The wedding party of a lifetime commences with Ruby + Greg's Indian Summer dream.

late night s'mores


CREDITS

Photography Heather Waraksa heatherwaraksa.com

Venue + Catering SolĂŠ East soleeast.com

Event Planning + Design Firefly Events firefly-events.com

Floral Design Saipua saipua.com

Bride’s Dresses Claire Pettibone clairepettibone.com Sarah Seven sarahseven.com

Cake Nine Cakes ninecakes.com

Band Big Fat Gap bigfatgap.org

Groom's Band Electric Trio greghumphreys.blogspot.com

Custom Heraldry / Save-the-Dates / Menus Happy Menocal happymenocal.com

Invitations Sesame Letterpress sesameletterpress.com

Calligraphy Jen Huang jenhuangart.com Tucci Cursive tuccicursive.com

Rentals Broadway Party Rental broadwaypartyrentals.com Fire & Creme fireandcreme.com Rent Patina rentpatina.com American Tent Co. americantentcompany.com

26

f lu t t e r m ag a z i n e

Ruby and Greg  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you