__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

ISSUE 34

DAY OF DANCE

SALTAIRE ARTS TRAIL COLIN STRONGE VEG ON THE EDGE SALTAIRE STORIES

Apr | May 2019 FREE


Your local solicitors • Family Law • Personal Injury • Civil Litigation • Road Traffic Offences

• Residential Conveyancing • Wills & Probate • Fraud & Complex Crime • Criminal & Prison Law

Appointments available in both Bradford and Shipley

34 Westgate | Shipley | BD18 3QX | t: 01274 580 999 | f: 01274 595 715

www.birdanddaniels.com

Proudly part of the Petherbridge Bassra Group | www.petherbridgebassra.com


Non-Religious

Your Ceremony, Your Music, Your words When and where you want Written just for you, By Janice Thornton Contact Janice.thornton@humanistceremonies.org.uk 01274 584654 or 07954574767


Skipton Road, Steeton, West Yorkshire BD20 6PE

Luxury retirement living from £125,000

Situated in over four acres of attractively landscaped gardens and with easy access to the wider open countryside of the beautiful Aire Valley, Currergate Mews offers the ideal choice of a secure and luxurious concept for retirement living.

shared ownership and rental opportunities available

This exclusive modern development, particularly suited to the retired, consists of fourteen, each being finished in traditional Yorkshire Stone and specified to the highest quality standard.

Designed with your changing needs in mind, we can provide:

Currergate Mews lies within the grounds of Currergate Nursing Home, which is a Jacobean style Grade II listed building providing an oasis of peace and Snooker room Clubhouse, Fairmount Park tranquility. The mews properties are ideally situated and within easy reach of

• Meals delivered in your own home or enjoy them in our restaurant at Currergate Nursing Home

the rail and road networks, close to Skipton and Ilkley and more commercial centres and cities of Leeds and Bradford.

• Cleaning services • Day-care within Currergate Nursing Home • Care services up to 24 hrs a day if required • Maintenance, window cleaning, gardening and small repairs with our onsite team

High specification living • Fully fitted kitchen with dining area • En-suite master bedroom • NHBC warranty • 2 guest rooms • Lounge • Cloak and utility rooms • House bathroom

As featured in the Daily Telegraph’s ‘Top 10 New-build Retirement Schemes’

To arrange a viewing call 01274 599564 email enq@currergatemews.co.uk or visit www.currergatemews.co.uk


Contents

Distribution We print 5,000 copies of The Saltaire Review, which we distribute to over 300 high-footfall public venues including shops, cafes, bars, offices and cultural destinations. Over 18,000 people read each edition of the magazine.

Saltaire Collection

08

Advertise Back Page: £300* Page 3 / Inside Front: £175* Full Page: £125* Quarter Page: £40* *All prices plus VAT, discounts available for block bookings. For more information on how to advertise email enquiries@festivalpublications.co.uk.

Day of Dance

10 Submissions If you would like to contribute to the Bradford Review email enquiries@festivalpublications. co.uk We’re always delighted to hear from writers, photographers and anyone involved in a local group

18

or activity.

Saltaire Arts Trail

Disclaimer This magazine is published by Festival Publications Ltd. While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of content we accept no liability for any resulting loss or damage. Views expressed by contributors are their own and not those of the publisher. ©Festival Publications Ltd. All rights reserved. No reproduction or copying without permission.

24

Colin Stronge


A Governance Review! By Rob Martin

Thanks to everyone who signed the petition from the Campaign for Shipley Town Council – we have collected enough signatures! The petition requesting a Community Governance Review will now be handed to Bradford Council. The council must complete the review within twelve months. If the result is positive, then elections for a new Shipley Town Council could be held as soon as May 2020. This means candidates will be needed to stand for election – our next challenge! The council review will decide the number of councillors and if they will represent specific areas within the new parish of Shipley, e.g. the four polling districts. Town Councillors have a lot of work and responsibility with no pay, and plenty of hassle, so why be one? The main motivation for people to become Councillors is to “make things better”. They have powers to do a wide range of things but are not burdened with specific statutory duties. They are free to focus on key issues and make decisions which

6

they believe will benefit the people they represent. There are 19 town/parish councils in Bradford district, which work very effectively alongside Bradford District Council. Peter Allison (Wilsden Town Council) says: For me one of the greatest strengths of a town or parish council is that there are many things we can do for our area but there are few things we must do. This gives a local council the chance and the freedom to do those things, many of which are small and cost very little, that really make our local area a great place to live. Examples include supporting community centres and youth clubs, improving local parks etc. Would you like to help make Shipley an even better place to live? Could you share ideas and work with others to make practical changes? Please get in touch with the Campaign for Shipley Town Council at shipleytowncouncil@gmail.com


Shipley town centre to receive £1m ‘Healthy Streets’ investment Bradford Council has announced that Shipley town centre will be the focus of a £1m investment from the West Yorkshire Combined Authority’s (WYCA) ‘Healthy Streets’ programme. The funding, formally agreed by the WYCA Transport Committee on Friday, will be used to help transform the town centre using Healthy Streets principles. Healthy Streets was pioneered by Transport for London and seeks to put people and their health at the heart of discussions around the future of public streets and spaces.

FAQ’s How are councillors elected? Candidates submit a nomination form, signed by a Proposer and a Seconder. Elections are by secret ballot, normally coinciding with BMDC and other elections. To be eligible, you must be: At least 18 years of age and a British or Commonwealth citizen, a citizen of the Republic of Ireland or a citizen of another member state of the European Union. And either: You are a registered local government elector for the parish; or You have occupied land/premises as owner or tenant in the parish for 12 months; or Your principal or only place of work in the last 12 months has been in the parish; or You have lived in the parish or within 4.8 kilometres (3 miles) for the past 12 months. What do councillors do? They make decisions, they monitor the effect of those decisions, they get involved locally.

Bradford Council will work with local residents and partners to develop projects that will deliver Healthy Streets principles around air quality, safety, places to stop and relax, and walking, cycling and public transport.

Baildon street to be named in honour of Yorkshire cricketer A new street in Baildon is to be named in honour of a legendary Yorkshire cricketer. The street in Baildon will be name Brian Close Walk in honour of Brian Close, the former Yorkshire and England captain, who died in September 2015, aged 84. Brian Close captained Yorkshire to four County Championship titles and was at the time the youngest man to make his test debut for England when he was aged just 18. Throughout his long career he played in 22 test matches for England captaining seven.He scored almost 35,000 runs as a batsman and made 52 centuries. He also took 1,168 wickets as a bowler.


Saltaire Collection goes worldwide The Saltaire Collection is Saltaire’s volunteer run archive. They play an important part in preserving and disseminating the history of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Saltaire. The collection includes documents and objects recording the history of this important industrial village and the lives of the people who lived and worked there. Now they are about to make our collections accessible worldwide. For the first time both documents and images will be available to anyone, anywhere, through an online catalogue available through our new website. Until now students, researchers and family historians would have had to visit the archive, which is housed in Shipley College. They are still very welcome to visit but will now have the option of searching from their own computers and phones and can browse through images of Saltaire, maps and portraits as well as locating documents relating to the history of Salts Mill, the village, its owners and inhabitants. The collection contains about 5,000 items including original documents, photographs, maps and plans, newspaper cuttings, artworks, books and objects. After many years of hard work by many trustees and volunteers, as well as professional staff, a grant from the National Lottery Heritage Fund has allowed us to commission the new website. As well as the new online catalogue, this will contain news, reports on events and links to our social media accounts. Staff employed over the past two years under the same source of funding have supported a team of committed and knowledgeable volunteers in organising the collection on a more professional basis and expanding its work making available learning resources on Saltaire for schools, local residents and visitors. John Briggs, Chair of the Saltaire World Heritage Education Association, which manages the collection, has said, “Documenting as it does, the history of one of the world’s foremost industrial villages, the Saltaire Collection has always been of worldwide interest. We are delighted that 8

now both text and images will be accessible worldwide for students, researchers and anyone with an interest in Saltaire to view”. The Saltaire Collection recently had the pleasure of a visit from the well known TV historian Dan Snow who was coming to Yorkshire, to do a show in Ilkley and dropped in to see the team the day before. Dan was a courteous and enthusiastic guest, who had many questions about the village and its history, took many photographs and posted extensively on social media afterwards, commenting on Twitter, “One of Britain’s greatest historic sites: Saltaire. The utopian Victorian factory and village which provided workers with houses, jobs, healthcare, education and pensions. Revolutionary” Dan met with Zoe Silver from Salts Mill in the UNESCO World Heritage village and with Sheena Campbell, Saltaire’s World Heritage Officer. He then visited the People and Process exhibition where he was introduced to staff and volunteers from the Saltaire Collection and shown the archives items on display there. These include some of the Salt family china, various 1887 Royal Jubilee Exhibition souvenirs and textile sample pattern books. Many more documents and objects can be found in the archive Feeling blessed that the weather, although cold, was no longer wet, volunteers then took him on a flying tour of the famous industrial village, built by Sir Titus Salt in the mid nineteenth century. There was time for a brief visit to the archive,


Saltaire Collection Launch Event Tuesday 9th April, 6pm to 7.30pm. Jonathan Silver Building Shipley College TV Historian Dan Snow ‘The History Guy’ visits the Saltaire Archive at Shipley College

housed in Shipley College’s Exhibition Road site, before we had to bid him farewell as he had to make his way to Ilkley for his evening performance. Dan showed interest in all we had to show him and spoke to volunteers about their role in preserving the history of this world ranking industrial village and documenting the lives of the people who lived and worked here. At the end of his visit he told us, “What strikes me about Saltaire is that it is unique both in the ambition of its founder for a work and welfare community and also in the fact that there is just as much ambition in the present in maintaining this community.” After speaking of the aesthetic harmony and “good living” to be found in the village, he concluded that it had, “remained true to its principles, not just in the heritage fabric but in the ethos. It is an extraordinary and inspiring place” The Saltaire Collection is managed by the Saltaire World Heritage Education Association, a registered charity.

After a welcome reception, the archivist, Anna Bowman, will give an overview of the new website. This will be followed by an opportunity for guests to view the website and images from the archive, with volunteers on hand to guide people through as well as telling the stories of one or two of the more interesting items in the archive. The Saltaire Collectiion have invited funders, supporters, board members and volunteers but would like to extend an invitation to anyone with an interest in Saltaire and its history. You can register for a free ticket at www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/thesaltaire-collection-goes-worldwidelaunch-event-at-shipley-collegetickets-56602545738


Community

Day of Dance Returns!

10 10

Due to an outpouring of support when organisers suggested that 2018’s Day of Dance would be the last, the popular event lives to see another day. Saturday 13th April will see the glorious Victoria Hall in Saltaire once again pound to the sound of tapping, jiving, dancing feet as the Day of Dance returns for its 47th event. Catherine, from Yorkshire CND which coordinates the event explained a little about the history of the event, “The Day of Dance was initiated by one of our supporters, local dance teacher Louise Eaton, decades ago as a fundraiser for us and other charities. It grew to be a mammoth event, with over 50 workshops plus an evening of dance related entertainment. However over the years, Yorkshire CND took on more and more of the organising. Simultaneously, attendance had dropped to the point where the amount of time it took to organise it meant less time for campaigning and it just wasn’t justifiable. But so many people had put so much time in over the years, and it was such a well loved event, that we realised we had to give it our all to ensure a fantastic finale. This ‘Last Hurrah’ ended up being more successful that we could have hoped. Lots of people signed up to help put on another event, and Victoria Hall, our long-standing venue, also offered to help us out with reduced costs. We now have a team of volunteers giving their time, plus a long list of people who’ve offered to help on the day. So Day of Dance is back, and it’s genuinely by

popular demand!” Something of an institution in the area, thousands of people have flocked to Saltaire over the years, to have a go at one of the diverse dance workshops on offer at the event. From favourites like the Bollywood and Strictly Come Dancing, to Lancashire Clog, Circle Dance, 5Rhythms, Charleston, and Victorian Dance, to new workshops such as Hoop Dance or Family Musical Theatre, there’s something to tickle the dancing feet of everyone. And if you aren’t much of a dancer, there’s also singing workshops, ukelele, or yoga. The event finishes off with an early evening Ceilidh, which is popular with families, but fun for everyone. Many of the tutors, who give their time for free, are local dance teachers and have been involved with the Day of Dance for many years. Day tickets cost £20-23 or individual workshops are from £5.50-7 (£4 children) A full programme is available online at www.yorkshirecnd.org.uk/dayofdance Or


Free 15 and 30 hour Early Education places for 2, 3 and 4 year olds

It’s Official! Ofsted have rated us a “GOOD” Nursery 2017

Situate d John S on next to treet, Wycliff Primar e y Scho ol

Quality childcare and flexibility for the needs of parents and carers. Catering for children aged 0-5 years, large rooms to explore area available all day.

alternatively contact Yorkshire CND and learn and an01274 outdoor 730395. Tickets can be bought on the day.

www.facebook.com/leelasladybirdsltd | 01274 597957 www.leelasladybirds.co.uk

Exclusive Offer for Saltaire Review Readers!

15%

Lunch menu £8.99

off total bill

Wharf House, Wharf Street, Shipley

Tel: 01274 533 988

Kids menu now available

How to Claim Your Discount This offer is on bookings only. Customers must quote this advert when they book and bring it with them to make sure they receive their discount. Offer not available in conjunction with any other offers.

gluten free & Vegan dishes avilable

*Voucher from 1st March - 30th April 2019

Open 7 Days a Week from 12 noon

11


21

HEATHER

Located at Holding Space in Saltaire, a beautiful converted Victorian warehouse building transformed into a dedicated centre for yoga, vegan food from Dandelion Cafe, holistic health and the arts.

BEGINNERS COURSES DAYTIME/EVENING CLASSES 7 DAYS A WEEK VINYASA, ASHTANGA, HATHA, YIN, RESTORATIVE & GENTLE YOGA STYLES REGULAR THEMED WORKSHOPS YOGA FOR RUNNERS & CYCLISTS OUTDOOR SUMMER SESSIONS YOGA RETREATS MEDITATION & RELAXATION AERIAL YOGA YOGA FOR PREGNANCY, MUM & BABY, TODDLERS GUEST TEACHER WORKSHOPS FAMILY YOGA KIDS & TWEEN AFTER SCHOOL CLUBS

www.heatheryoga.co.uk

Holding Space, John Street, Saltaire/Shipley, West Yorkshire, BD18 3HU

hello@rdcsolicitors.co.uk www.rdcsolicitors.co.uk

Legal Specialists Helping You With: • Residential And Commercial Property Services • Family Law • Wills, Trusts, Tax and Probate • Dispute Resolution • Employment Law Whatever legal services are required, our approachable professional team can help. Bingley Office 30 Park Road, Bingley, West Yorkshire, BD16 4JD. T: 01274 723858

Bradford Office City Hub 9-11 Peckover Street Little Germany, West Yorkshire, BD1 5BD, T: 01274 735511

SMALL ENOUGH TO CARE. LARGE ENOUGH TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

Ilkley Office 9 New Brook Street, Ilkley, West Yorkshire, LS29 8DQ, T: 01943 601173.

SHIPLEY INDOOR MARKET HALL Find us in Shipley town centre entrance behind the clock tower. Pushchair and wheelchair access behind market block on Westgate. Haberdashery Cafe Books & Jigsaws Sweets Sewing Alterations Mobile Phones Bespoke Celebration Pie Specialists

Pet Shop Jewellery Collectables Crafts Children’s fun area Wool Watch Batteries & Straps

Come and join our community of retailers. Units available to Let. Ask about our taster week, try trading free of charge. Call Ryan on 01274 590877 or mobile 07521 667016


EE ide p FR gu ma l i in ai m d tr an

Open Houses Trail

Our famous Open Houses challenge the concept of art galleries. Residents and local artists across Saltaire village open up their Grade II listed homes, letting you enjoy contemporary art by artists selected from across the UK. See map overleaf for locations Sat, Sun & Mon, 10am - 5pm

Sat 25 - Mon 27 May 2019 Makers Fair

Arts Trail Pullout

Open Postcard Exhibition

Our biggest Makers Fair to date (with 70 Makers across 3 rooms) promotes the best independent artists, makers and designers, displaying and selling their contemporary and original creations. Victoria Hall Sat 11am - 5pm; Sun & Mon 10am - 5pm

Our annual Postcard Exhibition offers everyone, whatever their age, experience or level of skill, the chance to exhibit. Postcards are sold in aid of local charity The Cellar Trust. United Reformed Church; Sat - Mon

We are also delighted to welcome back:

Saltaire Arts Group Saltaire Methodist Church; Sat - Mon

Leeds Photographic Society Salts Mill: The Spinning Room; Sat - Mon

www.saltaireinspired.org.uk


Map & Locations Open Houses 1

Piazza, Salts Mill

11 Nordish

2

1 Victoria Terrace

12 49 Caroline Street

3

Mill Building (windows)

13 6 Titus Street

4

21 Edward Street

14 6 Harold Place

5

14 Caroline Street

15 Flat 3, 66 Victoria Road

6

Saltaire Makers Space

16 24 Victoria Road

7

1 Hirst Mill (BD18 4DA)

17 2 Myrtle Place

8

24 Mary Street

18 Too Nice to Use

9

43 Ada Street

19 Tambourine Coffee

10 16 Titus Street

Leed s and Liver pool

Sk ip to n

Albert Avenue

A lb

Arts Trail Pu Da lla m Av en ue

A

Victoria Hall

Car Park

B

Salts Mill

Toilets

C

Methodist Church

Cafe/Bar/Restaurant

D

United Reformed Church

Cash Point

E

Almshouse Gardens

Bus Stop

F

Wash House Gardens

G

Roberts Park

Saltaire Arts Trail Information Point at Victoria Hall

H

The Craft House

I

61 Albert Road (garden)

7

(Approx 0.5 mile walk)

C a rl to n

Avenue

S a lt a ir e P ri m a ry Schoo l

6

A lb e rt R oad

Facilities

A lb e rt R oad

Event & Exhibition Venues

T

S h ir le

K a th e

M y rt le P la c e

D Information correct at time of print. Please refer to our website for the most up to date information. Activities may be subject to change and may be affected by bad weather. Please take care when walking around the village as surfaces may be slippery when wet. Map illustrated by Rachel Webb, www.saltspress.com

A6 50

Gord

on


Roberts Park G River A ire

Can al

United Reformed Church

e 17

H

19

St Bing

H e n ry S t

&

Garden

s

d

S tr e e t

Saltaire Road

15

Saltaire

AR TS TRAIL event

Roa

ds

Rhodes

n St

c k s S tr e et

A

S h ip le y C o ll e g e

A

ley

Lee

e S tr e e t

Maddo

V ic to ri a H a ll

M a w so

C a r o li n

n Road

S tr e e t

E

A lm s Houses

G e o rg e

n Te r r a c 18 e

rd/

14

ia R o a d

Dove S tr e e t

dfo

od St

Harold Place

16

Jane St

Lo c k w o

13

C

oad ire R

12

T it u s S t

St

Ada St

Salta

St

V ic to r

e ri n e S t

School

St

10 T it u s S tr eet

G e o rg e

e y S tr e et

G e o rg e

Ada St

H e le n S t

M a ry S t

nce S tr e e t

Upper

C o n s ta

S h ip le y C o ll e g e

11

ia R o a d

T it u s S tr eet

Lo w e r S chool

H ig h e r

8

Bra

V ic to r

W h it la m

St

9

B

E x h ib it io

F

e S tr e e t

n

Salts Mill

W il li a m

5

C a ro li n

Train Stati o

rm 2

G e o rg e

4

3

rm 1

St

S tr e e t

E d w a rd

St

S tr e e t

P la t fo

A m e li a

I

P la t fo

ce

Fanny

St H e rb e rt

b e rt R o ad

ullout

D

ia R o a d

t Terr a

1

V ic to r

Alber

2

Sat 25 Mon 27 May 2019


Workshops, Demonstrations and FREE Family Activities Drawing Saltaire: Icons, Nature and People Watching Victoria Hall; Sat - Mon,10am & 2pm A series of three workshops with well-known Yorkshire Artist Jake Attree. Advance booking essentail for these popular sessions. ÂŁ10 per session, or ÂŁ15 for two, book at saltaireinspired.org.uk

Sculpting Demonstration The Craft House, 101 Saltaire Road; Sat & Sun 11am - 2pm Free Sculpting Demonstration by Bradford-based figurative Sculptor and special effects artist Darren Grassby. Toadstools, gargoyles, fairy doors and dragons emerge as Darren sculpts and chats about his work and inspiration. FREE event - drop in

-------------------------------------------------FREE Family Activities Various venues; Sunday, all day Sponge Tree and special guests are excited to offer a range of creative play, stories and dancing activities for our younger visitors. FREE activities - see trail guide for details

Makers Fair Demonstrations Victoria Hall; Sat - Mon Demonstrations throughout the weekend by selected designer-makers exhibiting in the Makers Fair. FUNDERS & PARTNERS

saltaireinspired.org.uk Saltaire Inspired is a registered charity no. 1150701

-------------------------------------------------The Knitted Creatures Return! Across the village; Sat - Mon Look out for a trail of little knitted Creatures, created by volunteers, and cunningly hidden around the village, waiting to be found and claimed.


15% OFF CUT & BLOW DRY RECOMMEND A FRIEND AND RECEIVE £5 OFF YOUR NEXT VISIT *Terms & conditions apply. Wednesdays only Present this offer to the salon

www.casaespresso.co.uk


Saltaire Arts Trail Saltaire Arts Trail returns on the late May Bank Holiday weekend, from Saturday 25 – Monday 27 May, bringing the UK’s finest artists, makers and designers to the unique spaces of Saltaire. The famous Open Houses trail challenges the concept of art galleries; residents and local artists across Saltaire village open up their Grade IIa listed homes, providing the chance to see art and meet artists in an intimate, domestic setting, whilst getting a glimpse of life behind the doors of the UNESCO World Heritage Site. Applications are received from artists across the UK, and are selected by an independent panel, and with most artists present over the weekend, visitors are able to see the artwork and meet the artists in a relaxed domestic environment. Meanwhile in Victoria Hall, The Makers Fair will host some of the best UK independent designermakers, displaying and selling their original contemporary craft and design creations. We chatted to two designer-makers who exhibited for the first time in Saltaire Inspired’s Winter Makers Fair - back in November – both winning special awards at the event.

18


Victoria Oatway Founder of Bobbie Print - winner of the ‘Best Newcomer’ award at the Winter Makers Fair in 2015. Starting as a small collection of hand pulled screen prints, the collection has grown to include stationery, risograph prints, enamel lapel pin and textile accessories. By choosing where possible to print with small, independent manufacturers in the UK, our products bring together the authenticity and craftsmanship of various printing techniques with a playful design aesthetic to create an authentic and unique piece of art”. “Being originally from Yorkshire I always take every opportunity to come back home and the Winter Maker’s Fair was a real treat. Not only was in it Saltaire which is such a lovely setting, but having the fair itself inside the Victoria Hall made it really special and the location perfectly complemented the variety and high standard of crafts and products available. I’m really looking forward to coming back in May”.

Georgina Nurse Eliza Lamb’s effortlessly striking display of understated garments won creator Georgina Nurse the ‘Best Display’ Award at the Winter Makers Fair. We are very much looking forward to returning to the Makers Fair in May. The Winters Makers Fair was a great experience and we had an incredibly positive response for our first event. It was also great to meet the other talented makers exhibiting at the fair”. Our considered items of clothing are designed to be timeless and not to follow short run fashionable trends. All garments are fully lined and made from 100% natural fabrics, which are both aesthetically pleasing and gentle on the environment. Garments are never rushed and care is put into each piece, keeping in mind traditional techniques in construction and design. Each dress is made to order, which helps reduces waste by avoiding any unwanted products”.

Bobbie Print and Eliza Lamb are amongst the line-up of 70 exhibitors in May, showcasing new designs in ceramics, jewellery, glass, silver, metal, books, paper, leather, wood, plastics, furniture, textiles, accessories, printmaking and photography over three rooms at Victoria Hall. Visitors can browse, buy or even commission something special for themselves, or as a gift, and can meet the makers, see demonstrations and even win a beautiful handmade creation in the Art Tombola (Sunday & Monday). For the fourth year, the Saltaire Arts Trail will hold an open Postcard Exhibition, offering everyone a chance to exhibit a miniature artwork, at the United Reformed Church (find out how to get involved at saltaireinspired.org.uk). The programme will also feature exhibitions from local groups, including Saltaire Primary School, Saltaire Art Group and Leeds Photographic Society. As always, there will be plenty of chances to get involved and try your hand. As well as bookable workshops, there will be free taster sessions and demonstrations in a wide range of art and crafts, and fun drop-in family activities around the village with regular contributors Sponge Tree. www.saltaireinspired.org.uk

19


Shipley Catholic Club 19 Bradford Road, Shipley. BD18 3PJ (opposite Avondale Road) Telephone number 01274 581190

Catholic Club

Friday 5th April 9pm

Friday 26th April 9pm

Friday 24th May 9pm

Last Orders

The Aligators

Motus

Classic Rock N Roll.

Playing Rock & Roll/ Blues music anywhere that will have us

All welcome and free entry

Guest Ales changed Weekly


Veg On The Edg e Saltaire gardening group Veg On The Edge has had a bumper year, with no fewer than six community vegetable-growing sites now underway in waste spaces around the village. The original Sunday School Garden in Caroline Street car park, the well-known garden on Platform One of Saltaire Station – popular with commuters – and the Wash House garden on Caroline Street are all well-established local fixtures. Produce this year has included the usual peas, beans, tomatoes, onions, greens and salad leaves, as well as tomatillos, corn and horseradish (all at Platform 1) and artichokes (at the Sunday School Garden). Fig and apricot trees and a coffee plant are also planted at Platform One, where the theme is Sir Titus Salt’s trade links with distant countries, but have yet to be very productive! Most of the plots include herbs, but the best selection is to be found at the Wash House garden. The Japanese Garden outside the Jonathan Silver Building on Exhibition Road is in less of a prominent position, but is now wellestablished and productive. Get your yellow courgettes and squashes here in summer, as well as all sorts of exotic edible leaves, wasabi and berries of various sorts, including wineberries and loganberries! At the start of the year, the Baker Beds at the end of Caroline Street were relatively newly established and a foraging hedge had been planted and raised beds built and filled. Sadly

the hedge was accidentally destroyed over the summer, but this should prove to be only a minor setback: it has already been replaced with a new hedge last autumn, which should establish itself over the next few years to provide sloes, hazel nuts, plums, crab apples and rosehips for anyone who fancies sloe gin, crab-apple jelly, rosehip syrup or just a few hazel nuts or plums for the fruit bowl! The newest bed, outside the Makers’ Space on Carlton Avenue, is only a few months old and has recently been filled with an apple tree, herbs and edible flowers. Tradition was followed and a wassail was performed with the tree being doused with cider to bring a good harvest! The gardens are for the benefit of local people, whether or not they are group members, and also for anyone who happens to walk past, and we hope that everyone who needs or wants the produce will feel free to pick it. At the moment there is relatively little to be harvested, but there are still edible leaves at Platform 1, the Sunday School Garden and the Baker Beds – where there’s also a little purple sprouting broccoli left – for commuters to pick on their way home. Seedlings are already underway for the coming season, and will soon be planted out. If you see something you like and it seems ready to eat, help yourself! Veg On The Edge is always on the look-out for new volunteers – if you’d like to help out email hello@vegontheedge.org , or just come along to the Caroline St car park on Wednesday evenings at 6pm!

21


Warrior: Tori Day Tori Day lives in Saltaire with her family. She has published her book ‘Warrior’ after a rollercoaster journey to conceive. It’s based on her personal diary. She believes many people suffer in silence when experiencing fertility issues, resulting in feeling lonely and isolated. She hopes that by speaking openly and honestly about what she went through, she might encourage others to do the same and feel a little less alone. We caught up with Tori to find out more.

What prompted you to turn your diary into a book? I’ve always loved writing, as a child I used to write stories and staple together the pages to make them into books. I was an avid journal keeper throughout my teenage years, this continued sporadically through adulthood, and when my husband and I starting struggling to conceive, it ramped up with a vengeance, my pen scribbling out all my angst, despair and hope onto the pages of my journal. Our daughter was born three years and three months after we started trying to conceive. During those bubble like, sleep deprived months, I found myself again reaching for the notebook. I had an overwhelming urge to write. I knew, I had to tell my story. Not only did I finally have something to write about, but writing about it could also help people. What would you say to others who are struggling to conceive? Read my book! ;-) Seriously, I’d say be kind to yourselves. Like many, my fertility struggles crept up on me. I’d never had any reason to think there’d be a problem, my periods had always been regular and I was fit and healthy. After the months passed by, my hopefulness and excitement slowly morphed into frustration, fear, and eventually, obsession. I would dream of seeing two lines on a white stick and of having a lovely round belly, full of a baby. Then I’d wake and feel grief wash over me. Then guilt. I hadn’t lost anything, I didn’t have any right to feel grief. I needed to get a grip. Sadly, I’m sure this cycle of thinking will be familiar to many. It’s not helpful that we beat ourselves up for feeling sad about something that is sad. The last thing we need is to make ourselves feel worse. I’d say give yourself a break, allow yourself to be sad and angry then go do something fun or selfindulgent - you deserve it. Lots of love and support to you. Warrior is available from Giddy Arts in Saltaire, or on Amazon. Follow Tori on Twitter @ToriDayWrites. Read her blog at www.toridayblog.wordpress.com

22


Colin Stronge Colin Stronge recently took on the head brewer role at Salt Brewing, bringing over a decade of experience from his time at Marble Brewery Black Isle, Buxton Brewery and Northern Monk. We caught up with him to find out his ambitions for Salt and delve into his brewing past.

24


How did you get into brewing? By accident really! I had always enjoyed industrial lagers and Guinness and when I was working in a brew pub after university I took up a role in the brewery for the pay cheque rather than the love of beer! But that soon changed as I fell in love with the processes. This love was deepened when I moved to Manchester’s Marble brewery and began working with people with a real care and passion for their work. How much has the scene changed since then? Immeasurably. Back then there were less than 600 breweries in the UK and very few were spending more on hops than malt, something that is probably the opposite case today. The developments in the public perception of beer and craft beer especially have dramatically changed and, to match this, the development of new styles and flavours; techniques and technologies to achieve these styles; are a world apart from where my brewing career started. What does the head beer role at Salt involve? A little bit of everything. From the actual brewing of the beers, the overseeing of all the brewing processes, designing recipes, ordering ingredients, overseeing the upkeep of the brew kit, managing the brewery’s three yeast strains to meeting with the public, talking with bars sales teams and doing the occasional interview How exciting is it to be part of something so new? Was that part of the attraction for you? Most definitely. I’ve worked in several jobs where the brewery had an established name and reputation to keep up. That comes with it’s own pressures; and in some cases the reputation of the previous brewer almost forms how one approaches beers there. After speaking to the team here they had made it clear that we were starting with a clean slate and that the brewery would be mine to play with as I wished. There are a lot of fun ideas floating around and new beers we want to create as a team, and to help develop the Beer Factory as a real destination venue for great beer.

What are your ambitions for the Salt Brew brand? To really utilise the brewery and venue to create something truly special. The flexibility of the kit means that we can use ingredients and techniques that not everyone can easily utilise and we plan to make the best of that and ensure that we become known as brewers of not just diverse and exciting beers but of beers of consistently excellent quality too. Which of the beers you have been involved with are you most proud of? Marble’s “Janine’s One” (3.9%) was a bit of a milestone for the time and a beer people still ask myself and the other Marble guys about Buxton’s “Rain Shadow BA with Jalapeño and Cocoa” (12%) was made in the spur of the moment when tasting a beer and imagining flavours that would work together and it turning out every bit as good as you hoped it would. Buxton/Arizona Wilderness “Deep Rainbow Vally” (9%) was a true collaboration, made with both breweries teaching each other something along the way; foraged and new ingredients, new techniques and a lot of work that all turned out to be so worth the time put in. What’s the most underrated beer you’ve tried? Whim’s “Hartington IPA” (4.5%) I love all whim’s beers but this is one a few beers that I will almost exclusively drink when I find it on cask, no matter what else is on the bar.

OUT MAY 2019

25


OPEN DAY Weds 1st May, 4.30-7pm

Small College, BIG Future

Find out about:

• Apprenticeship vacancies for immediate start • Full-time courses now interviewing for September • Part-time courses starting all year round 01274 327222

enquiries@shipley.ac.uk

www.shipley.ac.uk

Exhibition Building, Exhibition Road, Saltaire, Shipley, West Yorkshire, BD18 3JW


Music Highlights

Withered Hand + Joe Tilson 16 May, Salt Beer Factory Withered Hand is the songwriting output of Dan Willson. A cult figure in the Scottish music scene since 2009, Dan has released two widely acclaimed albums, New Gods (2014) and Good News (2009) and several lo-fi EPs. Currently working towards his third full length album, Withered Hand continues to tour in the UK and further afield, playing in venues ranging from concert halls to living rooms.

Dave Haslam Book Event 2 April, The Record Cafe Hacienda DJ Dave Haslam will be at the Record Café, reading from his autobiography, ‘Sonic Youth Slept On My Floor’, talking about his life and career and signing copies of the paperback edition, which hits the streets 21stMarch 2019. ‘Sonic Youth Slept On My Floor’ was proclaimed Book of the Year by DJ Gilles Peterson; described as “Witty, sometimes dark, revealing, insightful” by journalist Everett True; and as “utterly endearing” in the Sunday Times.

Emma Johnson and the Gildas Quartet 12 April, Bradford Cathedral Described by The Times as ‘Britain’s favourite clarinettist’, Emma Johnson is one of the UK’s biggest selling classical artists, having sold over half a million albums worldwide. The Gildas Quartet has performed to critical acclaim across the UK and Europe and they are fast establishing themselves as one of the most exciting young ensembles to emerge in recent years. 28

It’s a personal story, but it’s also part of a collective history. He encounters inspiring characters including Tony Wilson, Nile Rodgers, Neneh Cherry, Tracey Thorn, Mark E Smith, Ian Brown, and John Lydon. John Peel takes him to see Public Enemy; Sonic Youth sleep on his floor; Morrissey comes to tea. He has a gun pulled on him at the Hacienda, a drug dealer threatens to slit his throat; and, in an unexpected twist, he sells his records and moves to Paris where a crew of lesbians save his life.


The Trials of Cato 18 April, Glyde House The Trials Of Cato, a band that arrived fully formed and functioning from Beirut in the winter of 2016, have since torn a shape very much their own into the canvas of the UK folk scene. Originally from North Wales and Yorkshire, whilst living in Lebanon they spent a year boiling down the roots of their sound into a hybrid of traditional influences that intrigued Lebanese audiences in the country’s biggest venues.

TLR 7th Birthday: The Little Unsaid 5 May, Caroline St Social Club

The Record Club 6 April & 4 May, The Triangle A couple of Record Club events coming your way soon. On Saturday 6th April dig out your vinyl with an Elements theme. From the celestial to the atomic, Earth Wind & Fire to Nirvana’s Lithium, there’s plenty to experiment with! The following month on Saturday May 4th it’s Science Fiction night. Another evening of vinyl-only free play awaits with tunes and artists loosely based around this popular genre, the more tenuous the better. May the fourth be with you…!

The Little Unsaid made their TLR debut back in December 2016 as part of a double bill of Yorkshire-born musicians. Fronted by songwriter, John Elliott, they are a band with an original sound and international outlook. The Little Unsaid have spent the last year touring Europe, leaving audiences emotionally rapt with a live show that’s been described as ‘a thumping depth of passion’. Their sound is all their own but echoes the intensity and melancholic overtones of greats such as Nick Cave and Leonard Cohen. 2017’s critically-acclaimed Imagined Hymns & Chaingang Mantras album was recorded with Radiohead engineer and film score producer Graeme Stewart. The Little Unsaid embrace elements of rock, folk, electronica, jazz and alt-pop. One of the UK’s must-see rising live acts and recent winners of the Steve Reid award for Innovation.

29


Workshops & Exhibitions Script Writing Workshop Tuesday evenings at The Kirkgate Centre in Shipley, from Apr 30th – May 21st Have you got a great idea for a TV series or movie, but you don’t know where to start? Run by industry professionals, Script Writing for Beginners is a series of workshops designed to help new writers find their voice and kick-start their writing. Led by experienced TV script writer , Pippa McCarthy, students will learn how to develop story, create compelling characters and find out a few industry-insider secrets along the way. For bookings, please contact: writeshop1@gmail.com or +44 (0) 7873 253531

Bob Mark Photography Exhibition Cap & Collar, Saltaire West Yorkshire’s first micro-pub is currently host to a small exhibition of photos by local photographer Bob Mark. The images vary from abstract (quite a few of those) to seascape, industrial landscape, “ macro” and even one street photograph, with locations varying from Shipley to the National Arboretum in the Cotswolds, Nuremberg, Tyneside, Corfu Town and the coast of the Black Sea. Photographs are on sale in their simple current cardboard frames for £20 each, with proceeds to the HALO Trust charity for whom Bob provides medical training to teams clearing minefields in post-conflict zones around the world. “ 30


Download the app - The Live Room at Saltaire for more details and buy tickets!

The Live Room @Caroline Club

'The best all round roots music club in West Yorkshire'

SUNDAY 14TH APRIL MEGSON

FRIDAY 19TH APRIL MOLLY TUTTLE

FRIDAY 26TH APRIL JOHN SMITH

SUNDAY 5TH MAY TLR 7TH BIRTHDAY: THE LITTLE UNSAID

SUNDAY 12TH MAY KRIS DREVER

FRIDAY 17TH MAY PHARIS & JASON ROMERO (CAN)

SUNDAY 19TH MAY YOLA

FRIDAY 31ST MAY THE WILLOWS

Join our Chorus @theliveroom.info and receive all the benefits including £2 off every gig!

www.theliveroom.info t: 07791 596671 | 07855164182


Profile for Festival Publications

The Saltaire Review | Issue 34 | April/May 2019  

The Saltaire Review | Issue 34 | April/May 2019  

Advertisement