Page 1

Issue 28 Apr | May 2018 FREE


EXPLORE MORE CORNERS. THE NEW MINI 5-DOOR HATCH. The original style icon has been reimagined for exploring the city with your friends in tow. So, you get all the trademark attitude with more doors and more legroom. Full circle LED front lights and Union Jack inspired LED rear lights put real personality on the road. And the optional 7-Speed Steptronic transmission delivers very fast gear shifts for an even sportier feel. Our stylishly smart 6.5-inch full colour display connects to devices beautifully but, the optional Navigation Plus package with touchscreen display takes that connectivity to whole new levels with Real Time Traffic Information and MINI Concierge Service.

Book a test drive today, call 01274 892612 Browse: www.jct600.co.uk/mini Visit: 99 Sticker Lane, Bradford, BD4 8RU

Official Fuel Economy Figures for the MINI 5-door Hatch range: Urban 36.7-70.6 mpg (7.7-4.0 l/100km). Extra Urban 58.9-88.3 mpg (4.8-3.2 l/100km). Combined 47.9-80.7 mpg (5.9-3.5 l/100km). CO2 Emissions 136-92 g/km. *Figures are obtained in a standardised test cycle. They are intended for comparisons between vehicles and may not be representative of what a user achieves under usual driving conditions. MINI is a trading style of BMW (UK) Limited. Company registered number: 01378137. Registered office: Summit ONE, Summit Avenue, Farnborough, Hampshire GU14 0FB. VAT number: GB584451913. BMW (UK) Limited is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority in relation to its credit broking activities.


Skipton Road, Steeton, West Yorkshire BD20 6PE

Luxury retirement living from £125,000

Situated in over four acres of attractively landscaped gardens and with easy access to the wider open countryside of the beautiful Aire Valley, Currergate Mews offers the ideal choice of a secure and luxurious concept for retirement living.

shared ownership and rental opportunities available

This exclusive modern development, particularly suited to the retired, consists of fourteen, each being finished in traditional Yorkshire Stone and specified to the highest quality standard.

Designed with your changing needs in mind, we can provide:

Currergate Mews lies within the grounds of Currergate Nursing Home, which is a Jacobean style Grade II listed building providing an oasis of peace and Snooker room Clubhouse, Fairmount Park tranquility. The mews properties are ideally situated and within easy reach of

• Meals delivered in your own home or enjoy them in our restaurant at Currergate Nursing Home

the rail and road networks, close to Skipton and Ilkley and more commercial centres and cities of Leeds and Bradford.

• Cleaning services • Day-care within Currergate Nursing Home • Care services up to 24 hrs a day if required • Maintenance, window cleaning, gardening and small repairs with our onsite team

High specification living • Fully fitted kitchen with dining area • En-suite master bedroom • NHBC warranty • 2 guest rooms • Lounge • Cloak and utility rooms • House bathroom

As featured in the Daily Telegraph’s ‘Top 10 New-build Retirement Schemes’

To arrange a viewing call 01274 599564 email enq@currergatemews.co.uk or visit www.currergatemews.co.uk


Contents News & Updates News���������������������������������������������������������������������� 8 Shipley Town Council��������������������������������������� 9

Community Saltaire Festival���������������������������������������������� 12

Arts Exhibitions����������������������������������������������������� 16

Distribution We print 5,000 copies of The Saltaire Review, which we distribute to 15000 homes and over 200 high-footfall public venues including shops, cafes, bars, offices and cultural destinations. Over 18,000 people read each edition of the magazine.

Advertise Back Page: £349* Page 3 / Inside Front: £219* Full Page: £149* Quarter Page: £49* *All prices plus VAT, discounts available for block bookings. For more information on how to

Family Events

advertise email enquiries@festivalpublications.co.uk.

Events����������������������������������������������������������� 18

Theatre and Performance Truth Will Outs���������������������������������������������������� 27 Day of Dance������������������������������������������������������ 28 Events������������������������������������������������������������������� 29

Submissions If you would like to contribute to the Saltaire Review email enquiries@ festivalpublications.co.uk We’re always delighted to hear from writers, photographers and anyone involved in a local group or activity.

Advertise Film Golden Years Film Festival����������������������������������32 Jeremy Dyson��������������������������������������������������������34

Music Featured Events���������������������������������������������� 38 Music Listings������������������������������������������������� 40

Produced By...

For more information on how to advertise email enquiries@festivalpublications.co.uk.

Disclaimer This magazine is published by Festival Publications Ltd. While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of content we accept no liability for any resulting loss or damage. Views expressed by contributors are their own and not those of the publisher. ©Festival Publications Ltd. All rights reserved. No reproduction or copying without permission.


DO YOU BELIEVE? BRADFORD CITY FOOTBALL CLUB SEASON TICKETS & FREE MEMBERSHIP 2018/19

L TILL Y L I ON APR 9 6 £1 6TH

DO YOU BELIEVE IN PROGRESS ON AND OFF THE FIELD?

Season Ticket/Date Adult

DO YOU BELIEVE IN A BETTER MATCHDAY EXPERIENCE?

Senior/ Student

DO YOU BELIEVE IN THE BEST YOUNG TALENT FOR YOUR CLUB?

Junior Under 11

DO YOU BELIEVE IN AFFORDABLE FOOTBALL?

25 Year Holder

DO YOU BELIEVE IN A RETURN TO THE PREMIER LEAGUE ONE DAY?

Web Flexi *(online only)

Suite Membership

7th March – 6th April

7th April – 4th May

5th May – onwards

£169 £149 £99 £19

£199 £179 £129 £49

£299 £279 £229 £149

£124 £154 £184 £124 £124 £124 £75 £85 £100

ALL SEASON TICKETS COME WITH A FREE CITIZEN MEMBERSHIP PARADER

CITIZEN

CLARET & AMBER

FREE WITH SEASON TICKET £24 WITH SEASON TICKET £100 WITH SEASON TICKET CITIZEN MEMBERSHIP INCLUDES DISCOUNTS WITH CLUB PARTNERS 10% OFF AT THE CITY STORE MONTHLY EXCLUSIVE EMAILS WIN SIGNED MERCHANDISE INVITATION TO MEMBERSHIP EVENTS

• • • • •

Keep up to date on social media

@officialbantams

CLARET & AMBER MEMBERSHIP INCLUDES PARADER MEMBERSHIP INCLUDES CITIZEN BENEFITS PLUS CITIZEN & PARADER BENEFITS PLUS AN EXCLUSIVE BRANDED WALLET AN EXCLUSIVE “CLARET & AMBER” PIN BADGE AN EXCLUSIVE BCAFC PIN BADGE £20 ADDED TO YOUR TICKETING ACCOUNT AN EXCLUSIVE “PARADER” PIN BADGE A BEHIND THE SCENES STADIUM TOUR £15 ADDED TO YOUR TICKETING ACCOUNT ONE PLACE IN A MATCHDAY HOSPITALITY

• • • •

• • • •

Bradford City Football Club (Official page)


SALE AGREED


News & Updates

News and Updates

Bingley Music Live launches its Emerging Talent contest Ahead of announcing this year’s headliners, Bingley Music Live is once again on the hunt for music’s next big thing with the launch of its annual Emerging Talent competition. The Myrtle Park festival has once again teamed up with The Exchange arts venue in Keighley to host the contest which will take place over May and June to find the best artists and bands from across Yorkshire. The format of the competition remains the same as previous years. Applications will be whittled down to a shortlist of 24 artists/bands drawn into four heats. One act from each heat will go through to play in the final and will be joined by four other acts from across the heats. The eight acts will battle it out in the final and four acts will be selected to play at the festival. All winning acts will be determined by a panel of judges. The closing date for applications is 5pm on Thursday 5 April.

8

Cannons return to Saltaire for World Heritage Day With this years WHD event, coinciding with the year of commemoration of the cease fire of WW1, will incorporate a WW1 theme. We have arranged for 20 WW1 re-enactors to set up a military camp in the park and to interact with visitors. Two military tents will be erected on the promenade to house stalls for The British Legion, Friends of Roberts Park, The Peace Museum, Bradford Museums & Galleries and St Hughs Children’s Centre. Street games of the era will be co ordinated by St Hughs and Museums and Galleries will be providing samples of home cooked war food. Local news sheets of April 1918 will be handed out by a paper seller the park will be decorated with bunting and propaganda posters of the day. A brass band will be playing from the bandstand while Saltaire History Club will be entrenched in the North Shelter providing a visual history of 1918. Street food will be supplied by Horse Box Pizza Company with wood burning stove and Brati House selling German sausage and doughnuts. The official unveiling of the cannons will be at 12 noon to the sound of a 20-gun salute from reenactor’s rifles.


News & Updates

Shipley Town Council campaign gathers pace The campaign for a Town Council for Shipley continues to move forward. Following our feature in Saltaire Review #27, meetings have continued behind the scenes to make sure that everything is set up to put the question to the general public of Shipley. Campaigner Rob Martin said, “There are three or four of us meeting up. We’re in the process of opening a bank account and we’ve put a bid in to the Shipley Area Committee for money for the insurance and the room hire and the leaflets that we have to do. We should know at the beginning of April whether we’ve got that bid. We’ll also be asking for donations to get going with designing a leaflet and making sure we’ve got the petition format correct. “Moving toward the public launch, we are looking for volunteers to make the campaign a success. We are also looking for local businesses and venues willing to put up posters and host petition sheets. “The campaign’s first public event will be a drop-in session on Saturday 28 April from 2 to 4:45pm at Shipley Library. People can

come and speak to us face to face and offer what support they can. We’ll have a number of people to talk to about what a town council means and how they can help the campaign.” The next steps, from around the middle of May to the end of July, will be obtaining signatures for the petition, and holding more meetings, probably also on Saturday afternoons. “People from other town councils have offered to come and answer questions, and make sure everybody is informed. Hopefully, we’ll have the petition in places where people can go and sign, such as shops and market stalls. We want to make sure people have all the information and are saying ‘yes’ for the proper reasons.” In the meantime, the campaign will be looking out for volunteers and those who can help in various ways. If you would be interested in helping in any of these ways, you can contact the campaign via social media or by email at shipleytowncouncil@gmail.com .

9


We have years of experience of providing solutions. That has taught us to target the problem, assess the evidence and advise. The result is tailor made for you. We hope to prevent a problem becoming a crisis.

FOR ALL YOUR LEGAL NEEDS Convenient parking nearby Close to Shipley station

34 Westgate, Shipley, Bradford West Yorkshire, BD18 3QX

Telephone: 01274 580999 www.birdanddaniels.com Email: info@birdanddaniels.com


OPEN DAY: Weds 2nd May, 4.30-7pm Small College, BIG Future

Find out about: • Apprenticeship vacancies for immediate start • Full-time courses now interviewing for September • Part-time courses starting all year round 01274 327222

enquiries@shipley.ac.uk

www.shipley.ac.uk

Exhibition Building, Exhibition Road, Saltaire, Shipley, West Yorkshire, BD18 3JW


Community

Saltaire Festival 2018 – The World in Saltaire: Saltaire in the World Words and photos: Claire Gibbons

The team at Festival Towers have done it again and are pleased to announce that 2018 Festival planning is already under way, with the dates for this year’s Festival, held across the World Heritage Site, being Friday 7 September to Sunday 16 September. Last year was possibly the busiest ever, despite the slightly damp weather on the opening weekend. Spirits were certainly not dampened as hundreds of people worked their way around the open gardens and sculpture trail and enjoyed food, drinks, music, local goods, and art in the many popups that took place in the village’s houses. And we are encouraging residents to get involved again this year and be part of the Open Gardens trail, where specially-curated sculptures and outdoor artworks are matched with participating gardens throughout the village. Residents can also submit ideas for Pop Up venues in village houses, which have become a popular addition to the first weekend over the last few years. Previous Pop Up houses have included cafes, arts and activity spaces, performance and music venues, and shops (with a focus on local, handmade, or vintage wares). Vicky Bower is the newly elected Chair of the Saltaire Festival Board after Ros Garside stepped down to look after the Events team and planning. Vicky is keen to have as many villagers and local residents as possible get involved in any way they can!

12

“We’ve got lots of ideas to make the Festival really special this year,” said Vicky. “It’s the time and dedication of all the volunteer teams and village residents that make the Festival so unique and a firm favourite in people’s calendars. “Our theme this year is The World in Saltaire: Saltaire in the World and you will see the theme reflected in many events and activities across the Festival and we hope that residents of the village will join us in celebrating the village and this year’s theme. “As well as the Open Gardens we are encouraging villagers to get together to create the snazziest snicket where a few neighbours get together to improve the areas at the back of their houses. And new for this year is the Festival poetry competition, which is based around this year’s theme. More details will be announced soon!” The Festival will begin to announce events in late May and the full programme will be released by the end of July, so keep your eyes out on social media and sign up to the monthly newsletter through the website. Pop the dates in your diaries and look out for details of events and activities in future editions. See you in September!


Community

13


We’re family when family can’t be there Companion Driving Service Want to get out and about? It’s so much more than help travelling from one place to another. Driving Miss Daisy is a comprehensive transport service that enables you to enjoy your life. The perfect choice if you… • Would like to go shopping or have several stops to make? • Have a hospital, doctor’s or other appointment to keep? • Are looking for a friendly & reliable driving service for the elderly? • Would you like a day trip with Driving Miss Daisy? • Would you like to go on a small group outing? • Would like to go to a Wedding/function - we can also assist family members.

Book your Daisy! 0333 014 6211

Ring Martin & Sally for Keighley & surrounding areas 07977 065316. All our vehicles have wheelchair access. We are proud to be Dementia Friendly. DBS checked, Dementia Friend, First-Aid trained, Fully Licensed, Manual wheelchair accessible.

www.drivingmissdaisy.co.uk Visit our Facebook page DrivingMissDaisyKeighley email: Keighley@drivingmissdaisy.co.uk

Be inspired by our range of courses/ events. Come and join us to celebrate food and drink. Little or lots of experience in the kitchen? – it doesn’t matter. Everyone very welcome.

SOUTH ASIAN COOKING

HEALTHY EATING

LEARN TO BREW CRAFT ALE

Starts Wed 18 Apr (6 eve classes)

Sat 21 Apr (one day)

Sat 12 May (one day)

VEGAN NIGHTS

BREAD MAKING

ITALIAN KITCHEN

Thurs 17th May (eve)

Sat 19 May (half day)

Starts Wed 6 June (4 eve classes)

SPANISH COOKING

WILD FOOD COOKING

Sat 16 Jun ( half day)

Sun 24th June (afternoon/eve)

#Lovecooking #Homecooking #Craftale #Foraging #Baking get-cooking.org.uk email us admin@get-cooking.org.uk or call us (or text) 07595 510039 Twitter @GCooking Facebook GetCooking/UK Instagram OfficialGetCooking


Arts

Exhibitions

City Girls

Sarah Harris - Coast to Dale

Until 1 June, National Science and Media Museum

10 May - 10 June, Bradford Cathedral

The thrill of anticipation, a sharp intake of breath, ecstatic celebration: Nudrat Afza’s photographs capture the awesome highs and crushing lows of matchday at Bradford City Football Club. Over two years, Afza has photographed hundreds of female fans, capturing evocative portraits and atmospheric crowd scenes which offer a glimpse of real lives enriched by football. City Girls is a celebration of the passion, commitment and camaraderie of these women and their team. scienceandmediamuseum.org. uk/halfterm

Sarah Harris’s latest collection of screen prints, Coast to Dale, celebrates the diversity of her home region, paying particular attention to the relationship between manmade and natural elements that are entwined into our landscapes. The exhibition will go on show at Bradford Cathedral from 10 May to the 10 June, with an artist talk being held on the 18 May. Working from her original pen drawings, each print is a limited edition and hand printed by the artist in her Rawdon studio. The work is often mistaken for other printing processes due to the use of fine line and detail that is not often associated with the medium of screen printing. Harris has developed an approach which utilises this method to create contrast and depth alongside an often limited colour palette to evoke feelings which are both modernistic and nostalgic. Having lived most of her life in Shipley, Harris had originally trained as a fashion designer going on to work in marketing and design, until an evening class at Leeds College of Art, and a period of unemployment, led her to sell her prints six years ago. Since then she has had her work shortlisted for the Royal Academy Summer Exhibition, won an award at the New Lights art prize and People’s Choice at the Flourish Award for excellence in printmaking. Last year her solo exhibition in the Cellar Gallery at Cartwright Hall proved to be one of the gallery’s most successful shows. sarahharrisprints.co.uk

16


Arts

Saltaire Arts Trail 5 - 7 May, Saltaire Saltaire Arts Trail returns slightly earlier this year, bringing the UK’s finest artists, makers and designers to the unique spaces of Saltaire. The famous Open Houses trail challenges the concept of art galleries; residents and local artists across Saltaire village open up their Grade II listed homes, providing the chance to see art and meet artists in an intimate, domestic setting, whilst getting a glimpse of life behind the doors of the UNESCO World Heritage Site. In Victoria Hall, The Makers Fair promotes the best independent artists, makers and designers from across the UK, displaying and selling their contemporary and original creations. Showcasing new designs in

ceramics, jewellery, glass, silver, metal, books, paper, leather, wood, plastics, furniture, textiles, accessories, printmaking and photography, this years Makers Fair is the biggest yet, with 70 exhibitors across three rooms. The weekend will be packed with a programme of specially commissioned installations and exhibitions, from artists responding to Saltaire’s unique spaces and heritage. Salts Mill will host a specially commissioned piece, The Work of Salts by Alke Schmidt, as part of her Wonder and Dread exhibition, currently showing at Bradford Industrial Museum. For the third year, the open Postcard Exhibition offers everyone a chance to exhibit a miniature artwork, and the programme will also feature exhibitions from local groups, including Saltaire Primary School, Saltaire Art Group and Leeds Photographic Society. saltaireinspired.org.uk

Painting Essentials Workshop 21 April & 19 May Kala Sangam In this half-day workshop you will learn how to use Chalk Paint™ to create a range of different effects including distressing, clear and dark waxing, crackle effect, aging and the distinctive shabby chic look. By the end of the workshop you will have the all the skills you need to create your own beautiful, painted furniture! All materals provided. Refreshments and homemade cake provided and 10% off all paint and related products on the day. For information on this or other workshops visit www.my-vibrant-home.co.uk

17


Exclusive Offer for Saltaire Review Readers!

15%

Lunch menu £7.99

off total bill

Wharf House, Wharf Street, Shipley

Tel: 01274 533 988

Kids menu now available

How to Claim Your Discount This offer is on bookings only. Customers must quote this advert when they book and bring it with them to make sure they receive their discount. Offer not available in conjunction with any other offers.

gluten free & Vegan dishes avilable

*Voucher from 1st April - 31st May 2018

Open 7 Days a Week from 12 noon

COTTINGLEY FURNISHERS

WWW.COTTINGLEYFURNISHERS.COM

T: 01274 561 680 - Cottingley Bar, Bradford Rd, Bingley, BD16 1PA


Lead WITH the NCS The Challenge is looking for local people to work on the NCS Programme this Summer. NCS works with a mission to empower 15017 year olds.

Friendly informal co-working in Bradford city centre from ÂŁ15 pcm Contact us at hello@assemblybd.com for a free trial day Market Pavilion Rawson Place Bradford. BD1 3QQ 07429 542234 hello@assemblybd.com assemblybd.com @assemblybd

A place to make things and meet people.

We have seasonal opportunities from entry level to manager roles, including the Youth Programme Leader role. Earn extra money over the summer!

(ÂŁ85-150 per day). Flexible working dates and locations Youth Programme Leader is a 10-14 day roles in Leeds, Bradford and Wakefield. Apply via: http://www.ncsthechallenge.org/staff2018/

Multi-media marketing agency specialising in print publications

N E W S L E T T E R F O R T H E B R O A D WAY B R A D F O R D

SEPTEMBER 2017

A B I G B R A D FO R D W E LCO M E T H E B R O A D WAY I S E X C I T E D T O W E L C O M E A L L N E W A N D R E T U R N I N G ST U D E N TS TO B R A D F O R D. The student population in Bradford is well over 30k presenting a great opportunity for retailers and restaurants. The Broadway will be welcoming students at Bradford University Freshers Fair and hosting the Student Lock-In.

R E TA I L E R M E E T I N G The Broadway is hosting our Autumn retailer meeting at The Midland Hotel on Wednesday 27 September at 3pm. We look forward to seeing you.

WAY M O R E S AV V Y The Broadway is hosting one of the biggest shopping nights of the year on the 21 September 6pm to 9pm - Student Lock-In. Over 42 retailers have confirmed participation. On the evening exciting brands and activities include; The Alhambra, The Media and Science Museum, Hollwood Bowl, Emoji mascot, DJ truck, The Undergound music venue plus plenty of bargains and competitions. A detailed brief will be circulated in the coming days to help you welcome student shoppers to your store.

STUDENT LOCK-IN 21 SEPTEMBER 6PM - 9PM

SINCE 2011

UP TO 25% OFF

Print Advertising | Brochure Design | Social Media Campaigns Social Media Training | Video for Social Media | Copywriting

NORTH PARADE, BRADFORD. festivalpublications.co.uk


A R TS TRAIL A

event Open Houses Our famous Open Houses challenge the concept of art galleries. Residents and local artists across Saltaire village open up their Grade II listed homes, letting you enjoy contemporary art by artists selected from across the UK. See map overleaf for locations Sat, Sun & Mon, 10am - 5pm

e iv us ut cl -o ide Ex ll u pu i g in m

Saltaire

5-7 May 2018

MAY DAY BANK HOLIDAY WEEKEND Note: Earlier than usual! Special Exhibitions

Alke Schmidt: The Work of Salts Alke Schmidt returns to the Saltaire Arts Trail with a large new site-specific work inspired by the history of Salts Mill past and present. The Work of Salts is the final piece in Alke’s current exhibition at Bradford Industrial Museum, entitled Wonder and Dread. This work situates local stories from Bradford’s wool industry in a global context, linking its industrial heritage with the present and where our clothes are made now. Salts Mill: People and Process Gallery, 3rd floor; Sat - Mon

Open Postcard Exhibition Our annual Postcard Exhibition offers everyone, whatever their age, experience or level of skill, the chance to exhibit at Saltaire Arts Trail in aid of a worthy local cause. The Exhibition will be launched on Friday 4 May by Skipton Camerata Orchestra with a travelthemed classical concert. Find out more, including how to take part at saltaireinspired.org.uk United Reformed Church; Sat - Mon

Makers Fair

We are also delighted to welcome back:

Our biggest Makers Fair to date (with 70 Makers across 3 rooms) promotes the best independent artists, makers and designers, displaying and selling their contemporary and original creations. Victoria Hall Sat 11am - 5pm; Sun & Mon 10am - 5pm

Saltaire Arts Group Saltaire Methodist Church; Sat - Mon

Leeds Photographic Society Salts Mill: The Spinning Room; Sat - Mon

www.saltaireinspired.org.uk


Map & Locations Open Houses 1

Piazza, Salts Mill

11 61 George Street

2

The Art Rooms

12 64 George Street

3

Saltaire Canteen

13 16 Titus Street

4

76 Victoria Road

14 15 Victoria Road

5

7 William Henry Street

15 6 Harold Place

6

10 Amelia Street

16 Flat 3, 66 Victoria Road

7

21 Edward Street

17 Flat 5, 65 Victoria Road

8

14 Caroline Street

18 24 Victoria Road

9

75 Albert Road

19 Tambourine Coffee

Sk ip to n

Albert Avenue

20 Butterfly Rooms

A lb e r

10 36 Ada Street

Leed s and Liver pool

Da lla m Av en ue

A

Victoria Hall

Car Park

B

Salts Mill

Toilets

C

Methodist Church

Cafe/Bar/Restaurant

D

United Reformed Church

Cash Point

E

Almshouse Gardens

Bus Stop

F

Wash House Gardens

G

Roberts Park

Saltaire Arts Trail Information Point at Victoria Hall

H

The Craft House

C a rl to n

Avenue

S a lt a ir e P ri m a ry Schoo l

A lb e rt R oad

Facilities

A lb e rt R oad

Event & Exhibition Venues

T

S h ir le y

K a th e

M y rt le P la c e

D Information correct at time of print. Please refer to our website for the most up to date information. Activities may be subject to change and may be affected by bad weather. Please take care when walking around the village as surfaces may be slippery when wet. Map illustrated by Rachel Webb, www.saltspress.com

A6 50

Gord

on


Roberts Park G River A ire

Can al

St Bing

C a r o li n

E

&

Garden

s

ds

S tr e e t Rhodes

n St

S h ip le y C o ll e g e

16 17

Saltaire Road

Saltaire

A R TS TRAIL event

d

Lee

e S tr e e t

Maddo

A

M a w so

E x h ib it io

V ic to ri a H a ll

A

Roa

rd/

15

18

ley

dfo

od St

n Road

Lo c k w o

Harold Place

A lm s Houses

G e o rg e

19

H e n ry S t

St G e o rg e

Ada St Upper

oad ire R

3 4

T it u s S t

ia R o a d

n Te r r a c 20 e

St

14

C

Jane St

Dove S tr e e t

St

G e o rg e

Ada St

H e le n S t

M a ry S t

e

St

ia R o a d

Salta

School

V ic to r

e ri n e S t

B

5

S h ip le y C o ll e g e

13 T it u s S tr eet

H

Salts Mill

2

Bra

Lo w e r S chool

H ig h e r

12

nce S tr e e t

y S tr e e t

11

n

V ic to r

W h it la m

10

it u s S tr eet

C o n s ta

S tr e e t

e S tr e e t

St

C a ro li n

F

W il li a m

8

6

A m e li a

7

Train Stati o

rm 2

G e o rg e

S tr e e t

E d w a rd

St

S tr e e t

P la t fo

rm 1

c k s S tr e et

P la t fo

ce

Fanny

H e rb e rt

rt R o a d

St

9

t Terr a

D

ia R o a d

Alber

1

V ic to r

United Reformed Church

Sat 5 Mon 7 May 2018


Workshops, Demonstrations and Family Activities Free activities for all ages Bradford School of Art tutors and Makers Fair artists will be creating a pop-up studio space outside Victoria Hall. Come and try your hand at a variety of of art techniques, including pinhole photography, printmaking, textiles, pottery and sculpture. Also, outside Victoria Hall and in Roberts Park, Sponge Tree will be running fun creative activities for our younger visitors. Some free activities are bookable in advance. Victoria Hall Gardens / Roberts Park Draw Saltaire with Jake Attree Draw the village in monochrome and colour with well known Yorkshire artist Jake Attree. Sessions are bookable in advance. Out and about in Saltaire

facebook.com/saltaireinspired @SaltaireArt Saltaireinspired VISIT

saltaireinspired.org.uk Saltaire Inspired is a registered charity no. 1150701

Where’s Titus? And the Creatures return! Friends of Saltaire Primary School invite children to follow their treasure hunt , finding hidden Titus Salt figures dotted around the village. And once again, look out for a trail of little knitted Creatures, created by volunteers, and cunningly hidden around the village, waiting to be found and claimed. Or come and knit your own on Sat and Sun at Victoria Hall Out and about in Saltaire

Demonstrations and Workshops A selection of artists and makers will be demonstrating their working techniques across the weekend at The Makers Fair. The Craft House are offering bookable workshops in weaving and felting, as well as drop-in pom pom workshops. Venues vary - see website for details FUNDERS & PARTNERS

Paint the Village Red Live or work in Saltaire? You are invited to add a dash of colour over the weekend - a shop display, a bit of window dressing, even just a pot of flowers on a sill. Any colour as long as it’s red - to match our bunting, flags and gazebos! Out and about in Saltaire


A Machine for Empathy THEATRE IN THE MILL

Our new Spring/Summer 2018 season is now live

Visit bradford.ac.uk/theatre for more details


Supporting the arts BradfordGrammar.com @BradfordGrammar

EXCELLENCE OPPORTUNITY HAPPINESS Arts subjects may be under threat nationally, but they are thriving at BGS. Learning is an active process which promotes creative thinking. We embrace this.

26


Theatre & Performance

Shipley Little Theatre: Truth Will Out 7 April, 7.30pm The Kirkgate Centre Further performances will take place at Bradford Playhouse (Friday 13 and Saturday 14 April, 7:30) and Ilkley Playhouse (Friday 20 April, 7:30) Take care if you’re near the Kirkgate Centre on Saturday April 7th: it’s going to be murder! Shipley Little Theatre (SLT) will be premiering their new murder mystery, Truth Will Out, set at the height of the roaring ‘20s. Following SLT’s tour of Eddie Lawler’s Making Light last autumn, the innovative theatre group kick off another short tour at their Kirkgate Centre base, before moving on to more performances at Bradford Playhouse and Ilkley Playhouse. Written by local author, Lauren K. Nixon, the play opens with Lord Robert and Lady Anne Nithsdale hosting a dinner party for family and close friends to show off their new guest, the mysterious alleged spiritualist Alexei Vasiliev. After dinner the family can’t wait for the charismatic Russian to call forth the ghosts of the departed. But everyone in the house hides dark secrets and when Vasiliev threatens to reveal them, mysticism gives way to murder! The police are on the spot, but faced with involvement from the spirit world, they are keen to enlist support from the audience to solve Alexei’s murder and root out the other secrets lurking in this stately home. Is Lord Robert as proud and upstanding as he appears? Is the engagement of young Freddie Nithsdale to heiress Amelia Dyer all it’s cracked up to be? And just what is Mr Batt the butler up to? Author Lauren says, “Everyone loves a good crime thriller: just take a look at the TV schedules any evening. However, it’s usually a passive experience, while this is an interactive murder mystery evening, Truth Will Out will test your powers of deduction as you question the suspects and examine the evidence to sniff out the murderer.”

Preview by Mike Farren

27


Theatre & Performance

Day of Dance: The Last Hurrah! Saturday 28th April will see the glorious Victoria Hall in Saltaire once again pound to the sound of tapping, jiving, dancing feet as the Day of Dance returns for its 46th event. Something of an institution in the area, thousands of people have flocked to Saltaire over the years, to have a go at one of the diverse dance workshops on offer at the event. From favourites like the Charleston and Strictly Come Dancing, to Lancashire Clog, Breton, Arbeau, Circle Dance, 5 Rhythms, Bollywood, and Street Dance, to new dances such as Body Groove or Gipsy Skirt, there’s something to tickle the dancing feet of everyone. And if you aren’t much of a dancer, there’s also singing workshops, ukelele, drumming or a relaxing yoga. The event finishes off with an early evening Ceilidh, which is popular with families, but fun for everyone. Many of the tutors, who give their time for free, are local dance teachers and have been involved with the Day of Dance for many years. One such tutor, Angela Buckle, has taught classes including Swing Jive and Charleston at all 46 events. “I love teaching at the Day of Dance because there’s a really great atmosphere, with hundreds of people all trying out new things, having a go, and

28

having loads of fun in the process!”. Another tutor, Yannick Minvielle-Debat, re-discovered his native Breton dancing as a participant at the Day of Dance some years ago, and now returns as a tutor to share his love of the dance-style. “I have a great affection for the event, and there’s always a good handful of people every year who discover a new hobby when they enjoy one of the classes”. This Day of Dance could be the last hurrah for the event as organiser Catherine explained, “Yorkshire CND has been involved with this event as a major fundraiser since its inception, but since the loss of our dancer volunteer who initiated it, and increasing costs, it’s just not viable in its current form going into the future” “However we know how well-loved this event is, and we also really appreciate all the tutors who have given their time for free to help us raise funds over the years. So we felt we had to give the Day of Dance the sendoff it deserves, and are going all out for a fantastic finale this spring. In the background we’ll be searching for other volunteers, or a way of continuing the spirit of the event in some way, but in the meantime, we mean to make this day really special” A full programme is available at www.yorkshirecnd.org.uk/dayofdance, or alternatively, pick up a leaflet from various venues including tourist offices and Victoria Hall, or contact Yorkshire CND


Bingley Arts Centre Home of Bingley Little Theatre

Bingley Gilbert & Sullivan presents

SING-A-LONG, Pirates of Penzance, Iolanthe and Mikado Sat 21st April 7:30pm Tickets: £5

Mikron Theatre Co presents

Get Well Soon Fri 27th April 7:30pm Tickets: £13 Conc: £11

Hey Presto - Family Magic Show Sat 28th April , 7:30pm Tickets: £11 Conc: £9

Bingley Little Theatre presents

Nude with Violin by Noel Coward Mon 21st May - Sat 26th May 7:30pm Tickets: Front stalls: £9.00 Conc: £8.00 Rear Stalls: £8.00 Conc: £7.00

Beer Festival Friday 1st June 6pm, Saturday 2nd June 12 noon and 5pm

Sara Packham Theatre School presents

Cinderella Sat 9th June 2:30 & 7:00 pm and Sun 10th June 2:00 & 6:00pm Tickets: £10.00 Conc: £8.00

Bingley Arts Centre, Main Street, Bingley, BD16 2LZ | Box office 01274 567983 Mon to Friday 11:00am to 3:30pm

www.ticketsource.co.uk/bingleyartscentre | www.bingleyartscentre.co.uk


Download the app - The Live Room at Saltaire for more details and buy tickets!

The Live Room @Caroline Club

'The best all round roots music club in West Yorkshire'

Friday 6th April

Korby Lenker (USA) Friday 20th April

Michael Chapman Friday 27th April

Rachel Baiman & Molly Tuttle (USA) Sunday 13th May

Birds Of Chicago (USA) Friday 18th May

Gilmore & Roberts and Jake Morley Friday 25th May

John Jones & The Reluctant Ramblers Friday 1st June

Heidi Talbot & John McCusker

at the

Join our Chorus @theliveroom.info and receive all the benefits including ÂŁ2 off every gig!

www.theliveroom.info t: 07791 596671 | 07855164182


Writer and theatre maker Javaad Alipoor presents his 2017 Scotsman Fringe First Award-winning play The Believers Are But Brothers at Theatre in the Mill 25 April -28 April. The shows use of WhatsApp live group chat, putting technology at the core of the performance, has been shortlisted for The Stage newspaper’s Innovation Award. The performance has gained wide ranging and diverse national and international acclaim including a recent 5 star review from the Financial Times and feature in the New York Times. We live in a time where old orders are collapsing: from the postcolonial nation states of the Middle East, to the EU and the American election. Through it all, tech savvy and extremist groups rip up political certainties. Amidst this, a generation of young men find themselves burning with resentment, without the money, power and sex they think they deserve. This crisis of masculinity leads them into an online world where fantasy, violence and reality collide. Co-director Kirsty Housley comments, ‘In times of increasing political polarisation, where the way we communicate and the way we receive information is changing faster than we can keep pace with, we have tried to look at how these things are connected. How the way we communicate and the tools we use to interact with the world are in turn shaping the world we inhabit. Is there something about the internet that

favours the extreme? What do we even mean by extremism? Believers creates different groups in different forms, and begins to nudge at what can only be said online, and what can only be said face to face.’

Theatre & Performance

The Believers Are But Brothers written and performed by Javaad Alipoor

The Believers Are But Brothers envelops its audience in this digital realm, exploring the blurry and complex world of extremists, journalists and fantasists in an electronic maze of meme culture, 4chan, the alt-right and ISIS. This bold one-man show weaves together their stories to reveal a vast web of resentment, violence and power just one click away. As part of the performance, audiences will be invited to join a WhatsApp group for the show. This is optional but will enhance the experience. (After each show, the WhatsApp group if cleared and phone numbers deleted from the phones used by Front of House). Writer and performer Javaad Alipoor comments ‘After taking this show to London, where it played at one of the country’s most important new writing venues, I feel really honoured to be able to bring it to my home town, and my home theatre. This is the first play that I have ever made somewhere else, and then brought back to Bradford and it feels like a real homecoming. I wrote and researched it here, and think it will land the most here, that’s why I’m so excited to begin its national and international journey in Bradford.’ After touring to Plymouth Theatre Royal and Theatre in the Mill, the show goes on to tour across the UK as well as to Sweden and Canada. 25 April – 28 April at 7.30pm, Theatre in the Mill, University of Bradford. For tickets visit bradford.ac.uk/theatre or call 01274 233200.

31


Film

Film

An exciting programme of film screenings, talks and events make up the the 2018 Golden Years Film Festival at Picturehouse Bradford. The five day festival hosted by Bradford UNESCO City of Film in partnership with Picturehouse at the National Science and Media Museum will run from Monday April 16 to Friday April 20. The festival – aimed at an older audience but open to all – has a retro theme for 2018 featuring iconic films, people and places from the sixties and seventies. The programme includes a documentary on ice skating king John Curry, feature films including a special widescreen Cinerama experience and an opportunity to delve into the Marks and Spencer archives with a look at fashion from the era. Leading film experts will be hosting talks including Professor Duncan Petrie from the University of York and experts from the Remembering 1960s British Cinema-going project at University College London. bradford-city-of-film.com

32

Vintage Sundays presents Ingmar Bergman: The Touch 6 May, 1pm National Science and Media Museum Now restored in its original bilingual version, Bergman’s rarely seen chronicle of a passionate affair is a major rediscovery. A happily married mother of two, Karin (Andersson) surprises herself by responding in kind to an unforeseen profession of love from David (Gould), an archaeologist visiting Sweden whom her doctor husband Andreas (von Sydow) has befriended. But love, however toxically exhilarating, is seldom simple, and deceit and David’s volatile temperament take their toll.

Featured Film

Golden Years Film Festival 2018


We pride ourselves at The Quays to serve all food sourced locally, from John Kearns butchers, Haighs bakery and other local businesses, until 2pm weekdays and 3pm Saturdays. Over the past couple of years we at The Quays have dedicated ourselves to building a solid reputation of serving top quality food at affordable prices both to eat in or to take away. We also offer our services to provide an extensive outside catering availability which has proven very popular amongst local businesses. Looking to have the place to yourself? The Quays is available for all private hire requirements, from birthdays, christening and wedding receptions to simply private parties. With a fully licensed bar and extremely flexible workforce, we can cater to your every need.

Open Mon - Fri 8-3, Sat 10-4

Shipley Catholic Club 19 Bradford Road, Shipley. BD18 3PJ (opposite Avondale Road) Telephone number 01274 581190

NEW MEMBERS WELCOME Prize bingo Saturday night.

Ukulele practice & Quiz Wednesday night.

Available for Baptism parties, funerals etc. Catering available

Quiet meeting room for up to 20 people. Two snooker tables. Disabled access ramp & toilet. Ample parking. Guest Ales changed Weekly


Jeremy Dyson: Ghost Stories Film

by James Collingwood

Leeds-born, Ilkley resident Jeremy Dyson is one quarter of the brilliant League of Gentlemen and a fiction writer, dramatist, script editor and now film maker. Together with his friend Andy Nyman he has written and directed the film Ghost Stories (partly filmed at Salts Mill) which opens nationwide on 6th April. Ghost Stories started as a stage play terrifying audiences in Liverpool and the West End. The film has been shown at film festivals and has already received critical acclaim. I talked to Jeremy about Ghost Stories. Hi Jeremy. First, can you tell us something about the gestation period of Ghost Stories? We started writing the script in 2009. The theatrical life of the play was between 2010 and 2015. It opened in Liverpool for two weeks and then transferred to the Lyric Hammersmith in the West End, then was produced internationally. I know horror films were a big inspiration for you in the past. Did you always have an idea Ghost Stories was going to be a film?

34

We knew quite early on that it was a very cinematic idea, but we were also quite disciplined about focussing on the play. Getting the play right. But then when it went into the west end and was successful we got hot and we got offers from Hollywood studios which was obviously a temptation. But we sort of thought we didn’t want to give up the control that we had. Because what is great about the play is that we wrote and directed it exactly how we wanted to do it. Then if it was going to be a film we had to do it the same way. We had to forgo those offers- they would never have let us do it how we wanted to do it. We waited until all the rights reverted to us and then just wrote

for ourselves. We made a shortlist of British film companies who would be good to make it and top of the list was Warp. They made films such as Dead Man’s Shoes which we liked. Screen Yorkshire and Lionsgate also got on board. We shot a ten-minute show reel which Lionsgate put out. That was very useful. Martin Freeman was also at the top of our list of actors. Fortunately, Andy knew him and Andy had worked with him on the Eichmann Show. We sent a script to Martin’s agent and hoped for the best. The big thing was getting an international name. That turned out to be Martin. That was the journey. A four-year journey. I believe the film is shot on location in Saltaire and Leeds. Did you always plan to shoot in West Yorkshire? It was a happy accident really. Well not quite an accident but not part of any plan. There are certain places you can shoot and get European money. One of the first places we looked at originally was Wales. Then it was Yorkshire. When we weighed it up we could have shot in West Yorkshire or South Yorkshire. It was down to location. We had a brilliant location guy who had done stuff for Warp. One of the first places we went to was


Film

Bingley then to Salts Mill which we loved and stayed at. Of course, for me it was wonderful because I live in Ilkley. Andy’s from London but his family are from Leeds. So, it had a very personal touch. What were the main differences in making the play and making the film? With the film we had to let go of elements of the play. Film is so different to theatre. In the theatre the audience has to use their imagination whilst in film you show everything. It was a big job, but we were very happy with the outcome. The film is very much its own thing. We liked the idea of them being different things so if you’ve seen the film and then saw the play they would still feel quite different with fresh surprises. And that works the other way around. They are definitely different things. Did any specific horror films influence Ghost Stories? Me and Andy met when we were 15 and had a love of horror films. Anthology horror films, Amicus productions, Dead of Night, From Beyond the grave. An American Werewolf in London is also a great film. They were all in the mix but not directly. We weren’t paying homage. We didn’t really look at that many films when we were preparing. We looked more at art for influences. What have you got planned after Ghost Stories opens? Me and Andy have some projects coming up There’s also the League of Gentlemen tour which we are all enthusiastic about. We were very enthusiastic about the Christmas specials We felt it was now or never. It just felt like the right time. Ghost Stories opens in cinemas on 6th April nationwide.

35


STEVEN WELLS THE LATE STEVEN WELLS - SWELLS TO HIS FRIENDS - WAS RAISED AND EDUCATED IN BRADFORD. HE STARTED OUT AS A RANTING POET AND FANZINE WRITER CALLING HIMSELF SEETHING WELLS. AS A REGULAR WRITER FOR THE NME HE BECAME PERHAPS THE BEST ROCK JOURNALIST OF HIS GENERATION. JAMES COLLINGWOOD SPOKE TO HIS FRIENDS AND COLLEAGUES - JOURNALIST, NOVELIST AND COMEDY WRITER DAVID QUANTICK (NME, HARRY HILL, THE DAY TODAY, VEEP), ABOUT HIS PAL.

David Quantick Can you tell us a bit about the early days at the NME and how you first met Swells. Was he a regular presence at the NME office in the early days? Swells was based in Bradford at first, writing as Susan Williams (NME even ran a photo of him in stockings as ‘Susan’). Then he appeared in London and was increasingly around. I think he was still doing live shows as well as writing reviews.

How did the comedy writing come about? Is there anything in particular you’re most proud of collaborating on? Steven and I were writing our own stuff, and then one day in the office he came up to me and said something like, “You’re the least crap writer here, we should do something together.” So we wrote a big piece called TV:OD, about pop culture and kids’ TV and all that. And that became the column Culture Vulture, also known as Ride The Lizard, and Ride The Puffin. Armando Iannucci read it and offered us work on his radio pilot, On The Hour. We worked on that and then The Day Today on TV.

I’m proud of everything we did. Ride The Lizard was funny and rude and smart. Swells invented the word ‘saddo’ for it. We also came up with ‘SexKylie’ and, best of all, ‘shitgibbon’, which I revived years later for Veep, and it became an insult for Donald Trump.

The impression I got at the time and from rereading some of his reviews and interviews is that Swells didn’t like music that didn’t say anything (he specifically says in a Belle and Sebastian Stuart Murdoch interview, if it’s just about the music then what’s the point?). That’s a simple way of putting it but do you agree that was one of the ways he judged music? Did he really dislike certain bands with a vengeance? Swells did love music that said something, musically or lyrically, whether it was AC/ DC or Public Enemy. He had a strong dislike of ‘twee’ music, like Belle and Sebastian, but he loved pop, soul and anything with attitude.


Can you tell us what Swells’ principles were as a writer? Who were his influences, in your opinion? Steven was a left-wing writer, aggressively so. He was a republican, he was pro-feminism, he was a socialist (SWP for a long time) and he could argue his corner and frequently did. But he was also very intelligent, and very funny, which meant he could never be tied down to one way of thinking or one attitude. Swells wasn’t an unthinking left wing mouthpiece. He wasn’t an unthinking anything.

Can you tell us what Steven thought of his Bradford roots and upbringing? Was he glad to get out is what I’m trying to say! Do you think his Bradford background influenced the way he wrote? Steven was very proud of his Bradford roots. His Northernness was really important – he was always explaining to people that it wasn’t homophobic to call someone a ‘Southern pouf’. He was also funny about the North – he once said of a friend of ours, “She’s from Yorkshire, and you know what they say in Yorkshire - laughing’s all right for them as likes laughing.” He was the funniest and smartest person I’ve ever known. I literally owe him my career. I wish he was still here. He’d be having a great time commenting on Donald Trump and Theresa May and Jeremy Corbyn and TV and the charts… and we’d be having a great time listening to him.

“HE BECAME PERHAPS THE BEST ROCK JOURNALIST OF HIS GENERATION. 37


Music

Music Events

6 April, 8pm, Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire

Michael Chapman (born Leeds 1941) first became known on the London and Cornish folk circuits in 1966. Playing a blend of atmospheric and autobiographical material, he established a reputation for intensity and innovation. Signed to EMI’s Harvest label he recorded a quartet of classic albums including the influential Fully Qualified Survivor, featuring the guitar of Mick Ronson (David Bowie) and Rick Kemp’s bass (Steeleye Span), which was John Peel’s favourite album of 1970. Chapman is known as one of the UK’s best finger picking style guitar players. As part of a continuing musical lineage that includes the likes of Ralph McTell, John Martyn, Davey Graham & Bert Jansch, Chapman is still touring and recording new material. Collaborations with Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth) and the American ‘primitive school’ of guitar players, including the late John Fahey , and also Jack Rose, opened up a whole new audience of US-based admirers. Appearing on recordings with Hiss Golden Messenger and Steve Gunn has cemented Chapman’s position as a pivotal figure in roots, folk and acoustic guitar playing over the last 50 years.

38

The Horse Loom, Stephanie Hladowski & Andy The Record Club Abbott

The Triangle, Shipley 13 April, 7pm, The Saturday 4th November, Triangle 8pm.

It may not be the Wigan Casino, and mayand not see Breathtaking folkyou guitar many pairs of high-waisted, vocals from Northumberland’s Thebell-bottom Horse Loomtrousers, of John but Peelon 4th November andSaturday Fugazi favourites Craneyou enjoy a night of andcan Thedefinitely Unit Ama. Compelling soul and Northern Soul music acoustic fingerstyle mastery from The Record Club at the touching on Jansch/Basho/ Triangle in Shipley. Curated Kottke punctuated by dark British by one of our members, storytelling. Anne-Marie, this Northern Support from soul-stirring Soul night will be packed with Shipley singer Stephanie classics you will and won’t Hladowski whose collaborations have heard. And as the decks range from British and European are there for all, make sure folk with Alasdair Roberts, The you bring your own favourites Family Elan and guitarist Chris to play too, from Harold Joynes, to dub with Inspirational Melvin to Rita & The Tiaras Sound. and everything in between. Andy Abbott (That Fucking Tank / Nope) will also be performing baritone fingerpicked acoustic journeys.

Featured Event

TLR Present...Michael Chapman


Music

Record Store Day 21 April, The Record Cafe, Bradford

Record Store Day is in its eleventh year, and everyone at The Record Café is delighted to be bringing this annual global event to Bradford for the fourth year in a row.

This year, there’s over 500 new releases hitting the shelves including limited edition picture discs, unreleased tracks, remixes and one-off artworks.

For those that don’t know, Record Store Day is the one day of the year when over 200 independent record shops all across the UK come together to celebrate all that’s great about their shops.

The anticipation of rare releases has seen people queuing down streets from the early hours, even the night before, around the country, around the world, and in Bradford. It has been a fine sight opening up the last few Record Store Days to see a larger queue each year outside The Record Café. A queue that’s also been forming earlier each year.

Special vinyl releases are made exclusively for the day and many shops host artist performances and events to mark the occasion. Thousands more shops celebrate the day around the world, in what has come the biggest record buying event on the music calendar. What started out as a campaign in the US in the dark, vinyl-less, internet days of 2007, to get people interested in buying physical music from the surviving ‘bricks and mortar’ stores has become a monster. Last year an extra 32,500 vinyl albums were sold in the week of the event. 12” single sales rocketed from 2,000 to 89,000.

One of the reasons The Record Café was founded was to bring Record Store Day to Bradford. To end the frustration of having to travel to Leeds, Huddersfield or Manchester to take part in the event. They have grown, and learnt, each year, and hopefully, with live music from Liverpool’s Nick Ellis (possibly one of the finest musicians in Liverpool right now) DJs all day, great people and a great selection of records, 2018 will be the best Record Store Day yet.

39


Music

Music Listings Topic Folk Club

Topic Folk Club

5 April, 8.30pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane

12 April, 8.30pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane

Singers & Musicians night. 8.15 pm start. Free entry.

Kieran Halpin. Prolific songwriter whose songs have been covered by a multitude of artists all over the world. A stalwart of the folk scene. £6 (£5 for Topic members)

TLR Present...Korby Lenker 6 April, 8pm Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire

Waiting For Wednesday (Full Band)

Korby tours constantly — logging more than 100 shows per year for the last five years — and has shared the stage with Willie Nelson, Ray Lamontagne, Nickel Creek and many others.

13 April, 8pm The Underground Bradford

The Fargo Railroad Co.

The Fargo Railroad Co. are a southern rock / americana inspired four-piece band from Sheffield. Established in 2013 they have already gathered a loyal fan base and continue to add to their numbers playing shows throughout the UK.

G.O.D Soundsystem 7 April, 10pm - 4am The Mill, Bradford The G.O.D Soundsystem return to the Mill nightclub for a night of jungle, drum & bass and dubstep.

The Record Club 7 April, 8pm The Triange Play records meet friends. 1st Saturday of the month.

Frankie Heart Northern Soul & Motown Night 7 April, 7pm The Salt Cellar Another fantastic night of Northern Soul & Motown

Noche Latina! 13 April, 8pm Caroline Street Social Club

27 April, 8pm Victoria Hall, Saltaire

A big welcome back to dance teacher Ben Fas who will be showing the way on the dance floor.

FormerRecord lead-singer Club of The Bellowhead Jon Boden visits The Triangle, Shipley Saltaire on his Aftergolw Saturday 4th the November, album tour with newly 8pm. extended 11 piece Remnant Kings It mayline-up.Featuring not be the Wiganthe talents former Casino,ofand you Bellowhead may not see bandmates Sweeney many pairs Sam of high-waisted, and Paul Sartin, plus but Leveret’s bell-bottom trousers, on Rob Harbron, the band also Saturday 4th November you includes stringenjoy and brass can definitely a night of sections bring theSoul album soul andtoNorthern music to theThe stage, along withatother from Record Club the material from Jon’s backTriangle in Shipley. Curated catalogue andmembers, line-ups. by one of our Anne-Marie, this Northern ‘Vivid lyrics, striking imagery, Soul night will be packed with fascinating ideas, challenging classics you will and won’t arrangements & Boden’s have heard. And as the decks characteristically striking are there for all, make sure vocals.’ FRoots you bring your own favourites to play too, from Harold www.saltairelive.co.uk Melvin to Rita & The Tiaras and everything in between.

Groovers in the Heart 14 April, 8pm The Kirkgate Centre April edition of this Springs Triple whammy at the Kirkgate Centre, all the stuff we know you love and Funk, Soul Disco frenzy on the dancefloor with special guest DJs, Victoria’s secret pop-up cocktail bar, fun, frolics and surprises galore!

Front Room Disco 21 April, 9.30pm Kirkgate Centre, Shipley Will Oddsocks presents a night of dancing music at the Kirkgate Centre

Topic Folk Club 26 April, 8.30pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane The Twangles. Three fine musicians,Kevin Loughram, Phil Snell and David Bowie Jnr, all known individually to Topicgoers, bring heir exciting sound for a group debut. £6 (£5 for Topic members).

40

John Boden & The Remnant Kings

Featured Event

7 April, 8pm Al’s Dime Bar

Waiting for Wednesday will bring their full band to The Underground and will be playing all the tracks from their new EP live for the first time. With support from Felka.


TLR Present..John Jones & The Reluctant Ramblers 25 May, 8pm, Caroline Street Social Club

Disco Machine Gun

Zang

27 April, 8pm The Underground, Bradford

5 May, 9pm The Fox

Legendary Bradford band Disco Machine Gun make a welcome return with special guests.

ZANG are a four-piece instrumental band playing a random hip heavy hammond organ hybrid of acid jazz, soul, blues, r&b, pop, dance and much more.

SID celebrate The 1 in 12 Buildings 30th Anniversary 27 April, 12pm - 1am The 1 in 12 Club Sloths In Docs are proud to be part of the celebration of The 1 in 12 Buildings 30th Anniversary of being knee deep in shit on Albion Street. A whole day starting with chilled acoustic punk rising throughout the day to a loud and boisterous close.

Memory Drawings, Isnaj Dui + Guests 6 May, 2pm The Triangle, Shipley

Music

John Jones, the charismatic lead singer of award-winning Oysterband, has been an avid walker for many years. In 2009, John combined his love of walking with his music and led a group of walkers and musicians from his home on the Welsh Borders, via the Wychwood Festival in Cheltenham, to the Big Session Festival then in Leicester. They walked during the day and either played a gig or enjoyed their own session in the evening. Walks have continued every year and now John and his band of intrepid walkers and musicians return to his native Yorkshire to continue the Spine of England Walking Tour he began in 2011, some six years ago.

TLR Present...Birds of Chicago 13 May 7.30pm Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire Birds of Chicago, the collective centered around Allison Russell and JT Nero, reassert the simple notion - radical in these times - that beautiful words and music can still tap deep veins of emotion.

TLR Present...Gilmore & Roberts 18 May 8pm Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire

27 April, 8pm Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire

Spend a lovely afternoon at the beautiful the Triangle in Shipley listening to music from dulcimer-led neo-classical group Memory Drawings playing an acoustic matinee show. In support will be Isnaj Dui who conveys a minimal yet capturing sound using flutes, homemade dulcimers and electronics and one more act to be confirmed. Entrance will be £4 and marvellous beer is available from the shop downstairs. Kids are welcome and please note that the show will begin at 2pm and will be done and dusted by 5pm.

Two stunning singers, songwriters and multi-instrumentalists join forces for a very special UK tour.

Topic Folk Club

Skank N Skran

10 May, 8.30pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane

Plumhall. Long-established local duo with superb original songs and wellchosen covers, favourites on the local acoustic music scene. A great night guaranteed. £6 (£5 for Topic members).

TLR Present...Rachel Baiman & Molly Tuttle

29 April, 12pm - 1am The 1 in 12 Club Celebrating 30 years of the 1in12 Club on Albion Street, activities, food, and music throughout the day, open to all ages, and then taking a heavier turn come evening playing some heavier dubs and a bit of jungle.

Phil Hare. Long-established on the folk scene, with inimitable vocal style and fine guitar accompaniment, humorous and entertaining. £6 (£5 for Topic members).

Contemporary folk/acoustic duo Gilmore & Roberts combine awardwinning songwriting with astounding musicianship and their trademark harmonies to create a powerful wall of sound.

Topic Folk Club 24 May, 8.30pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane

www.topic-folk-club.org.uk

www.topic-folk-club.org.uk

Advertise Here: from £50 per issue

41


Music

Groovers in the Heart is beating strong! 14 April & 12 May, The Kirkgate Centre, Shipley

There’s a lotta love growing for the Groovers in the Heart soul, funk and disco party nights which have been happening at the Kirkgate Commmunity Centre in Shipley. It all started off last autumn with a posse of party people who were looking for an opportunity to have a proper good dance in Shipley with a friendly, fun and funky club night feel. Each event has given the crowd different guest DJs playing great tunes with a soul, funk & disco party vibe. Tony Safari of Trainer Trouble brought the house down in December playing his vinyl rare grooves, and in November female duo ‘Buffet - it’s a nice spread!’ with Jenny Harris and Maria Spafadora had the floor bouncing with their eclectic mix of party tunes. Regular Groovers have been treated to a changing selection of fabulous cocktails from the Victoria’s Secret Pop-up Cocktail Bar which has been lovingly constructed with found, scrounged and re-purposed materials. The variations on the classic mojito always go down well, as does the prosecco by the glass or bottle together with the very reasonable prices!

42

Satisfied Groovers have given some great reviews: “Another absolutely stonking Groovers night last night. Pure joy on that dance floor. Aching bones worth it everytime…“ “Fantastic night last night. Enjoyed it more than words can say. Can’t believe I have to wait a month for next time. More events please! I would travel to where ever it takes!” “Absolutely fantastic event - almost 4 hours of complete and utter dancing joy. Excellent music, happy, friendly people and cheap drinks. What else are you looking for? Now a permanent fixture of my social life, can’t wait for next month!” The Groovers team have planned their next event for Saturday April 14th and a bonus date by popular demand on Saturday May 12th to complete the Spring season. Tickets are released online a month before each event. If you miss these, then you’ll have to wait until Autumn when there are 4 dates in September, October, November & December. www.buytickets.at/grooversintheheart


Go to your happy place #JCT600andMe

With over 3,000 nearly new and approved used cars, you’ll be happy you trusted JCT600.

www.jct600.co.uk

Boston | Bradford | Castleford | Chesterfield | Doncaster | Grimsby | Harrogate | Hull | Leeds Lincoln | Newark | Newcastle | Rotherham | Sheffield | Teesside | Wakefield | York


BEST NEW COMEDY WINNER TONY AWARD®

WINNER BROADWAY WORLD US AWARD

WINNER OLIVIER AWARD

WINNER WHATSONSTAGE AWARD

WINNER BROADWAY.COM AWARD

WINNER MOLIÈRE AWARD WINNER BROADWAY WORLD UK AWARD

★★★★

‘GENUINELY HILARIOUS. BOY, DOES IT HIT THE FUNNY BONE’ DAILY TELEGRAPH

★★★★★

THE

‘I FEARED I WAS GOING TO HYPERVENTILATE’

LO WEST END RU NGES ’S C NNIN T O M EDYG ! (Cur

DAILY MAIL

rent

ly )

MON 18 - SAT 23 JUNE 2018 01274 432000 bradford-theatres.co.uk Bkg fees apply

The Saltaire Review | Issue 28| Apr/May 2018  
The Saltaire Review | Issue 28| Apr/May 2018  
Advertisement