Page 1

Issue 15 Apr | May 2018 FREE


      

& FA M I LY F U N F E S T I VA L

Â?Â?Â?  Â?  ­€‚‚ƒ„ƒ  „ Â…  †  ‡Â?„ ˆ ‰† Š„‹   Â? *

€‚‚ƒ ‰�ƒ

�‘’‰�‹‘   ­‹Œ�‘‹ Š

ŒŒŒŽ ‘’‰‘Ž“‹Ž

With thanks to Simply Wood Fired for the photo

   Â   


Distribution We print 5,000 copies of The Harrogate Review, which we distribute to over 300 high-footfall public venues including shops, cafes, bars, offices and cultural destinations. Over 18,000 people read each edition of the magazine.

Advertise

Editor’s Note If you’re reading this, you survived ‘the Beast from the Beast’ – congratulations! It’s been a tricky time of year, hasn’t it? Hopefully now we’re well on the way to warmer, longer days. Perhaps this bright and breezy April/ May issue will bring you some spring cheer, even if the weather doesn’t!

Back Page: £349* Page 3 / Inside Front: £219* Full Page: £149* Quarter Page: £49* *All prices plus VAT, discounts available for block bookings. For more information on how to advertise email enquiries@festivalpublications.co.uk.

In this issue I reveal more about the exciting times ahead for Women On Tap - launched as a Harrogate beer festival in 2017 and now a wider initiative with a national profile. The inimitable DJ Trev is back doing his thing, and we hear more about plans for the 2018 StrEat Food and Family Fun Festival, now relocated to the Great Yorkshire Showground. We also present five great spring family days out, as recommended by Harrogate Mumbler, and we talk to Sally – the mum behind the Mumbler – about her journey so far and some future plans.

Submissions

Local musician, Jonny Skinner, makes his Harrogate Review debut with a piece on the live music scene in and around Harrogate, and we review a brand new EP, Perfect Storm, by local duo The Paper Waits. We also present an exciting range of event previews and listings, plus film review by Henry Thompson and some news on a new initiative from Harrogate Film Society.

While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy

We’re definitely used to crazy weather here in Yorkshire, and we certainly don’t let it stop us! April and May are jam packed, so wrap up warm, pack the wellies AND the suncream - just incase – and get out there as much as you can. See you in June. Rachel Auty

If you would like to contribute to the Harrogate Review email enquiries@festivalpublications.co.uk We’re always delighted to hear from writers, photographers and anyone involved in a local group or activity.

Disclaimer This magazine is published by Festival Publications Ltd. of content we accept no liability for any resulting loss or damage. Views expressed by contributors are their own and not those of the publisher. ©Festival Publications Ltd. All rights reserved. No reproduction or copying without permission.

Produced By...


Join the story Be part of the bigger picture by sharing your experiences with us. Post your pictures, tag your tales. Help us tell the world what a special place this is to live and visit. Just #myHarrogate and we will share your story.

#myHarrogate visitharrogate.co.uk/myharrogate


Latin America CELEBRATE THE FLAVOURS OF

50% OFF THE FOOD BILL

Happy Days!

* 2FOR1 ALL DAY ECVOECKTAILS RY DAY * LIVE MUSI C OF THE MON LAST SATURDAY TH FROM 9P M * HAVANA LO UNGE FRIDAY S FROM 7PM

1 JOHN STREET, HARROGATE, HG1 1JZ O1423 566 333 | HARROGATE@IGUANAS.CO.UK

IGUANAS.CO.UK

T&Cs apply. Las Iguanas Harrogate only. Offer applies to main courses from the a la carte menu only. Valid all day, every day, until 2O April 2018. Show this advert to your server to claim the offer. Cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer or discount. We reserve the right to change or withdraw this offer at any time.


Photo by Richard Coldwell

Food & Drink

Women On Tap: Join the celebration in 2018 By Rachel Auty Since launching last year, Women On Tap has exploded. The first ever Women On Tap Beer Festival was held at The Little Ale House in Harrogate on the weekend of 19-21 May 2017 and featured guest beers brewed by women or by breweries with female leadership alongside an art exhibition, live music, and some sell-out ticketed beer tasting sessions run by one of the UK’s leading beer experts, the awardwinning Melissa Cole. Funded entirely from a ‘rainy day’ jar for the first year and run on a shoestring, the way Women On Tap has started to reach and have a positive impact on women and the beer industry is beyond all initial expectations. The remit of Women On Tap has now been widened and there are plans to organise regular socials and pop-up events, and to collaborate more with people and organisations across the beer industry who share the same goals and values. The groundwork done in year one means there’s now huge potential to push forward and make a real difference. A Women On Tap crowdfunding campaign was launched on 8 March 2018 – International Women’s Day – to help fund the 2018 beer festival and to enable further development projects. The response has been strong and indicative of how important this initiative is to many. Thanks to this the Women on Tap brand is set to get bigger and the aim is to further amplify a representative voice to celebrate women in the beer industry with maximum impact. This year’s festival will be a five day party across five carefully

8

chosen venues over two Yorkshire towns with seven different events, all designed to educate, inspire, and spark important conversations. The Little Ale House will be the main festival venue once again with events also being held at Major Tom’s Social, North Bar Harrogate, Harrogate Brewing Co (Brewery and tap room), and Blind Jacks in Knaresborough. Looking beyond the festival, plans are afoot to run exciting pop up events across the year that fuse women in beer with women in arts. These will take place in exceptional bars and unique spaces across the north. There’s also an opportunity to collaborate ambitiously across the beer industry and align the Women On Tap name and ethos with some key industry events and brands. Future ambitions for WOT include investment initiatives, a short film and associated marketing campaign, a national conference and many more festivals. Women On Tap is not just about women in beer; it’s not just about creating a representative voice; and it’s not just for Harrogate, Yorkshire and the north. It is for everyone who shares what it stands for – and it’s about real impact and lasting change. It’s an exciting time for this homegrown Harrogate brand, now with a national profile. Join the celebration in 2018 and help make it the best it can possibly be. Women On Tap crowdfunding runs until 5 April. womenontap.co.uk


A Whole Lotta Lattes I am a big latte drinker. I’m no coffee evangelist and I am capable of operating without coffee - I just really like lattes. As such, whenever I meet friends, family or people I’m trying to sell expensive Star Wars collectable figurines to, I’ll suggest we go for a coffee. Gone are the days – largely – of asking for a latte and getting met with a theatrical roll of the eyes and a muttered “lah-di-dah the princess wants a latte”, before getting given a milky coffee. Or being asked to leave. The latte has developed over recent years. Serious latte drinkers have mainly stopped drinking them, and have moved on to flat white, because they “only really liked the early stuff that lattes did, and now lots of people are into them they are just not as good.” I, meanwhile, like to pretend I’m not a coffee snob. I genuinely do still occasionally like a C*sta or a St*rB*cks. For me, those two ubiquitous brands are almost outside of the coffee world. In the same way that a D*minoes isn’t really a pizza, a McD*nals isn’t really what you think of when you fancy a proper burger, and a song by Rih*nna isn’t really what you would call music; they have a time and a place and serve a purpose, and indeed sometimes are actually what you really fancy (if my girlfriend is reading, honestly, I never really fancy Rihanna. Although I bet SHE would actually read my articles). So whilst sometimes I fancy something easily achievable on nearly any street corner these days, other times I want something a bit more specialist. Harrogate has got some particularly fine coffee shops right now. They are well spread across the town, and whilst I’ve yet to try them all, the ones I have got to – Hoxton North, Baltzersen’s, LMDC and Westmoorland Specialist Coffee in particular - offer great cups. Whilst it isn’t a competition, the place that just edges it for me is Bean & Bud. On Commercial Street, it is in an area that, if anywhere was going to be labeled with the double edged tag of “Hipster” this area would be it (a nearby tattoists in North Star, super cool radical hairdressers in The BeeHive, numerous charity shops for me to buy second hand tweed, and a knitting shop for the ones who take it to the next level). Bean & Bud avoids any of the – mainly imagined and overly memed – pretentiousness of Hipster culture.

Image by Rainbow Rice Photography

By DJ Trev

Welcoming to not just idiots like me with moustaches, but also mums and dads, professionals, seniors and any demographic you like, the staff know what they are at; indeed it was there that I first had it suggested to me that instead of filling my coffee with syrup, I actually tried it without. I was massively sceptical, but since they were suggesting it rather than lecturing me, I gave it a try, and never looked back. The same is true of all of Harrogate’s excellent coffee places. Having drank specialist lattes from Brighton to Glasgow, I’ve never seen anyone get sneered at for ordering a builders tea; I have seen people get advice when they wanted it, but there has never been anything pushy. … I think some online commentators really have quite fevered imaginations when it comes to places just giving people what they want. I can say without a doubt - having drank great coffee in lots of towns and cities across the UK - they are worth taking that bit longer to find, and I’ve yet to find a better one than we have right on our doorsteps here in Harrogate. Don’t feel bad for wanting something easy, but equally if you have the time, indulge yourself a little more, try something that isn’t 50% syrup, and really taste the thing. Maybe it won’t be for you, but that was what I thought first time someone asked “Have you tried it without the syrup?”… Rihanna fans can call Trev a bloody idiot every Friday at Revolucion De Cuba, where he plays old songs, and he does a highly inappropriate pub quiz every Sunday at 10 Devonshire Place. He also plays Saturdays in Manchester, but let’s be realistic, you are not going that far for that guy.


Food & Drink

StrEat Food & Family Fun Festival 26 - 28 May, Great Yorkshire Showground

Families and foodie fans visiting Harrogate this spring can expect to be taken on a gastronomic journey around the world as the StrEat Food & Family Fun Festival returns for a third year running to a new location over the Spring Bank Holiday (26-28). The UK’s largest and most prestigious Street Food Festival celebrates some of the best street food from around the world, combined with fun and funky entertainment for all the family – and there’s more to discover at this year’s festival. Visitors will be served superlative street food from more than 50 handpicked street food traders alongside quirky entertainment from novel street performers, live music and children’s activities. All manner of vehicles from horseboxes and AirStreams to Citreon H Vans and Campervans will serve a scrummy selection of street food from some 50 traders from around the world. Visitors can expect an array of colourful traders with character who will challenge the senses with a fusion of smells, tastes, sounds and food firsts –

there’s something for every appetite. From good grub to craft beer teepees and cocktail bars and much more – festival goers will experience an exciting energy and enthusiastic menu of food, fun and entertainment throughout this three-day event. Kick back in a vintage deckchair or put your feet up in the wheelbarrow loungers and let the mobile kettle cart pamper your pins with a warm footbath. Let the kids go for a ride in a bath tub, (yup, really!) The Naughty Tea Ladies, will be brewing up a storm on their specially adapted tricycle causing mischief and mayhem. A Wandering Band will take visitors on a magic carpet ride for an amazing musical trip crossing many corners of the earth. Acrobats, vintage fun fairs, coconut shies, magicians, comedy fortune tellers and so much more! Early Bird Tickets are only £5.00 for the whole weekend of fun but children go free. Tickets available on www.streatpr.co.uk

11


Food & Drink

Eat:Drink Harrogate guide to give boost to district’s food and drink industry Harrogate’s famous food and drink industry is being celebrated in a new publication due to be launched this April. Eat:Drink Harrogate will be a directory-style guide to the district’s best restaurants, cafes, bars and local producers and is designed to encourage visitors and residents to explore and enjoy the best of what’s available on their doorstep. The publication has been designed and produced by Festival Publications and FoxDuo Design, the team behind this very magazine, who have been working with lead sponsors Visit Harrogate and BadCo Brewery to integrate the guide into a wider promotional campaign for the industry. Over 60 food and drink businesses will feature in the guide, which is intended to become the first volume of an annual series. The Festival Publications/FoxDuo team have experience producing a similar guide in Bradford and have been blown away by the response from Harrogate businesses. Festival Publications director Haigh Simpson said, “Most of the people we have spoken to have immediately grasped what we are trying to do and thrown their support behind it. The food

12

and drink offer in Harrogate is something to be proud of and this publication can really help show that off.” Eat:Drink Harrogate will be available to pick up for free from all participating venues and cultural destinations across the district. It will also be replicated online through the number one Google ranked destination website, visitharrogate.co.uk. Visit Harrogate have been heavily involved in the development of the guide, which forms part of their wider campaign to develop the district’s tourism industry. Visit Harrogate’s Richard Spencer said “There are many great reasons to visit Harrogate but we have noticed in recent years the significant growth in the value of our eating and drinking market which now exceeds £60m. Coming here to enjoy our hospitality is as important to our visitors as our shopping experiences. Its also important to our local economy as it employs over a 1,000 people. This is why we will continue to provide our visitors with inspiring ideas of what and where to eat and drink and what local produce they can take home.


01423 566881 www.bluesbar.co.uk Sunday 1st April (3pm) DAE LA ROUX ... Sunday 1st April (6pm) RORY HOLL AND THE SONS ... Sunday 1st April (9pm) THE MATT GOLDBERG BAND ... Thursday 5th April THE BREEZE ... FRIDAY 6th April THE WOLVES ... Sunday 8th April (3pm) LEWIS FLOYD HENRY ... Sunday 8th April (6pm) OBLIVION ... Sunday 8th April (9pm) HOWLIN MATT ... Thursday 12th April THE RESONATORS ... Friday 13th April RED FISH ... Saturday 14th April CATFISH

Sunday 15th April (3pm) MOJO CATFISH ... Sunday 15th April (6pm) TEN SHEDS ... Sunday 15th April (9pm) DELTA GROOVE ... Thursday 19th April SCAPEGOAT KELLY ... Friday 20th April THE DOUBTFUL BOTTLE ... Sunday 22nd April (3pm) ASHLEY REAKS ... Sunday 22nd April (6pm) JOE CORRISTON ... Sunday 22nd April (9pm) ROB REYNOLDS ... Thursday 26th April THE PHIL DEAN TRIO ... Friday 27th April THE MIKE ROSS BAND ... Sunday 29th April (3pm) CHILLIFORNICATION

Sunday 29th April (6pm) MARTIN PLOCK ... Sunday 29th April (9pm) BEGGARS BUNCE ... Thursday 3rd May THE BREEZE ... Friday 4th May SUPERCELL ... Sunday 6th May (3pm) TOO WELL WORN ... Sunday 6th May (6pm) PETER & LOUISE ... Sunday 6th May (9pm) NIRVANA TRIBUTE ... Thursday 10th May THE RESONATORS ... Friday 11th May SWAMPGRASS ... Sunday 13th May (3pm) WASHBOARD RESONATORS ... Sunday 13th May (6pm) HELLFIRE JACK

Sunday 13th May (9pm) STRANGERS IN PARADISE ... Thursday 17th May SCAPEGOAT KELLY ... Friday 18th May CROWDOG ... Sunday 20th May (3pm) THE ALL STAR 45’s ... Sunday 20th May (6pm) JURI JUICES ... Sunday 20th May (9pm) THE BONDURANTS ... Thursday 24th May NOT THE HOUSE BAND ... Friday 25th May THE BLUEFLIES ... Sunday 27th May (3pm) BLUEPHUNK ... Sunday 27th May (6pm) CHRIS MARTIN ... Sunday 27th May (9pm) GERRY JABLONSKI

Mondays - Jam Night Hosted by Martin Rose | Tuesdays - Acoustic Sessions Wednesdays - Paul Middleton Angst Band | Saturdays - Jed Thomas Blues Band The Blues Cafe Bar, 4 Montpellier Parade, Harrogate, North Yorkshire HG1 2TJ


A HAPPY PLACE IN HARROGATE, NOW OPEN UNTIL 2AM FRIDAYS AND SATURDAYS

OH -SO F INE 3 TILL 9

£20

(PM )

BOT T L E O F P ROS ECCO

B OT TOM LESS BR U N CH B OOKI N G S AR E LI M I TE D TO 2 H O URS, COM M E N C I N G FR OM TH E TI M E OF OR DE R I N G YO U R FI RST DR I N K . YOU S H OU LD CH OOS E ONE DI S H FR OM O UR BR E AKFAST & BR UN C H M E N U OR ON E B UR G E R, PI Z Z A OR S ALAD FR OM O U R M AI N M E N U AN D E ITH E R A 12 5M L GL ASS OF PR OS ECCO, BE LLI N I , M I M OS A OR BLOODY M ARY TO GAR N I S H AT O U R C R E ATI ON STATI ON . YO U R DR INK W ILL BE R E PL ACE D ON C E I T’ S FI N I S H E D. PR I C ES AR E PE R PE RSON AN D FOOD AN D DR I N K CAN N OT BE S H AR E D. ALCOH OL S E R V E D TO OV E R 18 S ONLY . PR OOF OF ID MAY BE R EQUI R E D. M AN AG E M E N T R ES E R V E TH E R I G H T TO AM EN D OR CAN C E L TH I S OFFE R AT AN Y TI M E W I TH O UT N OTI C E . B OOKI N G S M UST BE M ADE AT LE AST 24 H O U RS I N ADVAN C E .


Shows & Exhibitions Shows & Exhibitions

The Harrogate Spring Flower Show 26-29 April, Great Yorkshire Showground Rated Britain’s top gardening event by Which?, Harrogate Spring Flower Show will run from 26 – 29 April 2018 at the Great Yorkshire Showground. Featuring beautiful show gardens, over 100 plant nurseries, great shopping, live entertainment and stunning floral art, it is the first major event in the gardening calendar. Amble along The Avenue to admire the stunning new 2018 spring show gardens, offering the very best in design as well as plenty of great ideas to take home.

The Harrogate Vintage Fair 7 April, The Wesley Centre, Harrogate Hot on the heels of their incredibly successful November Fair, Yorkshire Vintage Fairs are returning to The Wesley Centre on April 7 with an even classier, sassier full-on vintage event. With two floors showcasing some of the best vintage sellers from across Yorkshire, there will be fashion, homewares, jewellery, vinyl and furniture spanning the best vintage decades, from the decadent Art Deco 1920s, to the homespun 1940s, to the bright bold 1980s. The Fabulous Miss G, Daniella Gallagher, will return to perform her stunning vintage diva set and if you’ve always hankered after getting up close to the glamour and energy of Strictly, make sure you don’t miss out on this opportunity to watch The Swing Kids’ jaw dropping dance showcases, which will also be hosted throughout the day. For those that would like to try their hand at swing dancing, The Swing Kids will also be performing just outside the front of the Wesley Centre, with an open invitation to experienced and novice swing dancers to join in their mini swing dance ‘social’.

The spring flower show also hosts Britain’s biggest exhibition by florists and flower arrangers, with hundreds of fabulous individual works of art and spectacular large scale displays.

Feeling hungry after all the vintage excitement? Kendall’s pop up vintage tearoom will be making a welcome return to the Wesley Centre foyer for the event too.

www.flowershow.org.uk

www.yorkshirevintagefairs.com

And remember, there’s no need to dress up vintage to enjoy all the fun, but for those who do we will be offering a prize for the best dressed.

15


Public Relations, Journalism, Fundraising and Event Management Services to Businesses and Good Causes.

Contact us now info@causeuk.com | 07531 948014 www.causeuk.com


'Let us help you see the wood for the trees'

Greenwoods Solicitors 'Over 25 years in practice' Residential and Commercial Conveyancing Business Leases & Renewals Transfers of Equity Remortgages Wills and Probate Lasting Powers of Attorney

90 High Street, Knaresborough, HG5 0EA 01423 862975 | www.greenwoodslaw.co.uk


Family

Harrogate In the Spring: Easter family days out by Sally Haslewood (Harrogate Mumbler)

Naturally being Harrogate born and bred I’m biased, but there is nowhere better than our town in the spring, especially when you’ve got a young family. As those crocuses pop up on the Stray, followed by the daffs (the great swathes of yellow daffodils on the verges at the side of Wetherby Road as you leave the bypass never fail to bring a smile to my face!)So, after the “Beast from the East” and a long cold winter I’m ready to get the kids togged up and to get outside this spring. Here are my top six local things to do in April and May.

1

RHS Garden Harlow Carr Crag Lane, Harrogate, North Yorkshire HG3 1QB

This has always been a faithful staple for me, both when the kids were pre-school aged and now they are that bit older there is still loads to do and plenty to keep them amused. Not only that I can treat myself to a yummy Bettys Fat Rascal while I’m there! You can enjoy Easter at the garden from 30 March to 16 April with lots of activities from stories and Easter crafts to amazing birds of prey demonstrations, plus the delicious Lindt Bunny trail! Over the Easter weekend Easter Bunny will be joined by some real bunnies, ducklings, lambs and goats. After Easter there is still tons for kids to do, with the tree house, the play areas, the stream walk, the adventure play areas and of course, lots of garden to explore!

2

Peter Rabbit Easter Adventure Mother Shipton’s Cave, Knaresborough

Mother Shipton’s opens daily from 26 March and it is a great family day out. You can follow the Mother Shipton’s Easter trail and meet characters from Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit stories. As you walk through magical woodland props and characters will bring the story of the mischievous bunny to life. Actors will be stationed as characters in the park to interact with children and help families complete a themed adventure quiz sheet. Hop skip and jump through Mr McGregor’s Marvellous Easter garden. Fun for all the family, the Easter Trail is on every day from Monday 26 March to Sunday 15 April. The Park opens 10am to 4.30pm (last admission 3.30pm).

18


Family

3

Harrogate Mystery Treasure Trail

A fantastic way to explore the streets of Harrogate as a budding detective, following the trail, looking for clues and trying to solve the mystery and discover whodunnit? The clues are hidden on buildings, statues and other permanent features in town. The two mile trail takes around two hours to complete, starting and finishing at Crescent Gardens in front of the Tourist Information Office. There is also a Treasure Hunt Trail in the Valley gardens which is only 1.2 miles and suitable for younger children. The trail guides can be downloaded at www.treasuretrails.co.uk.

4

Family Funteering at Brimham Rocks

Spend a day with the Rangers learning traditional countryside crafts at this beautiful National Trust site. This is a great opportunity for the whole family to learn something new about the environment and why it is important to look after it. You will have the opportunity to use traditional tools and have a go outdoor cooking, make flower prints, craft with birch bark, and make a camp fire without leaving a trace behind. The Spring dates for Family Funteering are 25 March, 15 April and 13 May (11am-3pm). The event is free of charge but if you are not a member of the National Trust the cost for car parking is £6 for 4 hours or £8 all day.

5

Lambing Live at Birchfield Farm Summerbridge Nr Harrogate, HG3 4JS

See what life is like on the farm at one of the busiest times of the year. All the breeding sheep will be in the sheds ready to give birth and if you’re lucky you will see a lamb being born. During the day all the farmers will be on hand to answer any questions about the sheep. Pet lamb feeding is held at 11am and 2pm everyday and as well as new born lambs there are lots more animals to see around the farm. You can also take a stroll through the woodland walk and try your hand at den building. £2 per person entry (under 1s FREE) Everyday except Monday throughout April.

19


COMING SOON

enquiries@festivalpublications.co.uk | festivalpublications.co.uK

Discover for the first time Ripon and the Cathedral’s History illustrated through stunning artworks

Ripon Cathedral In the Frame Thursday 24 May to Sunday 3 June riponcathedral.org.uk/intheframe

Black Dyke Band in Concert at Ripon Cathedral

Sunday 9th June at 7.30am Tickets available online at

riponcathedral.org.uk/event/backdykebandconcet


The

Gardener’s Friend

Bespoke coaching for you in your garden Contact Esther

Homemade French pâtisserie, fresh ground coffee, grab & go lunches and gourmet prepared meals to cook at home. Unit 19a Victoria Shopping Centre, Harrogate, HG1 1AE.

on 01423 317 929 or visit www.thegardenersfriend.co.uk

01423 566059

le-gourmet-ad-design-nov16.indd 1

What will your Canadian adventure look

like?

Inspirational holidays tailored to fit your personal interests and style Contact : jacquie@bakewelltravel.co.uk 07711494891 | www.bakewelltravelharrogate.co.uk

60 TOWER STREET, HARROGATE 01423 501500 LINGERIE-ROOM.CO.UK

17/11/2016 14:


Family

The mum behind the Mumbler by Haigh Simpson

Having lived away for 12 years, Sally Haslewood found herself a little bit out of the loop when she returned to Harrogate in 2011. With a toddler and a new-born baby to entertain, she was keen to get out and about but was surprised by the lack of good information around kids activities Harrogate. This frustration gave birth to the Harrogate Mumbler, which has since grown from a humble Facebook group to a local institution with over 17,000 members, a website that attracts 10,000 visitors a month and a successful Awards evening. The Mumbler brand has also been franchised out across the UK, helping connect thousands of parents. We spoke to Sally to find out how she made it all happen. How did the idea for Harrogate Mumbler come about? I moved back to Harrogate in 2011 (4 days before I gave birth to my second daughter!) I was astounded to discover that there wasn’t an easy way to find out what was going for kids. With a toddler and a new-born baby I needed to get out and about. Unfortunately, when I wanted to find out where local playgroups were I had to first of all find my local children’s centre and then go and pick up a printed list from them. There were national parenting websites available but they didn’t have detailed information about Harrogate and a lot of the information that they did have was out of date. I decided to create a Harrogate parents Facebook group so that I could find out from other parents what was going on. I also needed to make friends (which sounds really tragic, but it was true!)

22

My mum came up with the name and in August 2011 Harrogate Mumbler was born! It wasn’t in any way a business idea at that point. It was purely so that I could chat to other parents, ask for local recommendations and find out what was going on for families. How did you turn that idea into a reality and what were the early days of the Mumbler like? Over the following year I was amazed by how popular the Harrogate Mumbler Facebook group became. It had gone from me and the 4-5 other mums that I knew, to over 1000 members. They were all chatting, sharing information and crucially, supporting each other, regardless of the different parenting choices they made.


Were you surprised how quickly it established itself with the Harrogate community? Family

Yes I was, however it was obvious that there was a massive need for it. It’s common these days to live away from your family and to not have your mum or aunties to call on for advice. Nowadays we need to create our own communities and build our own groups of friends to help and support each other. Being a parent can be lonely and Harrogate Mumbler can really help with that. You’ve now got over 17,000 members of the Mumbler Chat Group on Facebook, which is nearly a quarter of the population of Harrogate! Do you feel pressure as an influencer? Not really. As a Yorkshire lass I speak as I find but I don’t believe in using social media to criticise or “name and shame”. I’ll always stay true to the principles of Mumbler which is being kind and supportive. If I don’t have anything nice to say then I simply don’t say it. I only recommend people, services or products if they have a great reputation, that have been recommended by other Mumblers or that I have used them myself. Obviously Mumbler is a business and we earn revenue from advertisers but that doesn’t mean we will advertise for just anyone! The Mumbler awards have also been a huge success, why did you set those up and how do they work? I set those up with the help of my friend and colleague Liz (Liz Theakston Events) in 2013 so that we could recognise and celebrate the very best parenting related businesses in our town.

Sally Haslewood, founder and owner of Harrogate Mumbler

The 2018 Mumbler Awards will be on 23rd November and the nominations will open in the summer months. What’s next for the Mumbler? More of the same! I have gone from a single site in Harrogate to a national brand. I now have 23 other Mumbler towns across the UK, each one franchised by a local parent who is replicating what I created in Harrogate. Ultimately I’d like every town in the UK to have a Mumbler and then take the concept abroad. I’d love a stronger presence in the rest of Yorkshire, I’m actively looking for a Bradford Mumbler as well as Barnsley, Doncaster and Sheffield.

The Harrogate Mumbler Awards are voted for by the public and so are extremely coveted. If a business wins or is highly commended, then it really shows how great their customer think that they are.

23


Family

Mumbler Franchise owners at the 2017 Mumbler conference. Founder Sally is front row left. As a truly family friendly business, baby Hazel (daughter to Katrin Oldridge, Norwich Mumbler) joined us for the day!

What does the day-to-day running of the Mumbler involve? Is it difficult to keep tabs on everything that is going on now it has got so big? No not really, I’ve got an absolutely fantastic team around me and they help me keep it on track. At HQ it’s a total family affair: My husband David is Commercial Director and he really drives the business forward in terms of strategy and direction. He brings the business experience and is without doubt the one who gave me the confidence to “go for it.” My sister Emily is our franchise director (and owner of our sister site York Mumbler) she helps me find the perfect new Mumbler franchisees. I also have three support staff and of course 23 amazing franchisees who teach me as much as I teach them. You must get a lot of invites and perks, do you ever get sick of doing ‘Mumbly’ things? Not at all. It is absolutely wonderful! I am so grateful for the opportunities that Mumbler has created for me but most importantly it is brilliant for my family life. If I get invited to do something with my kids then it’s a win-

24

win. I am doing my job that I absolutely love and as the same time I am spending time with my family. I know how lucky I am. Finally, how do you manage to juggle all this with being a mother? Sometimes successfully, other times it’s a total car-crash! Running Mumbler means that I can work totally flexibly and be there for my family. When I need an extra pair of hands my mum is close by and I’ve got an amazing bunch of mates who are on hand to help with school pick-us and vice versa. There really is no such thing as having it all when you’re a mum, you just do your best for you and your family. If the kids are happy, well fed and wearing matching socks then it’s a win! www.harrogate.mumbler.co.uk


fo o d • eth i c s • a r t • r et ail • courses 14 COMMERCIAL S TREET HARRO GAT E HG1 1T Y www.beanandbud.co.uk | @bea na nd bud


V I O L E T DESIGNER AGENCY PRE-OWNED | NEW | LUXURY LABEL WOMENSWEAR | ACCESSORIES

VIOLET, 14 CHELTENHAM MOUNT, HARROGATE, HG1 1DL T: 01423 568307

W: WWW.VIOLETSTORE.UK

VIOLETSTOREHARROGATE

@THISVIOLETLIFE


Exhibitions Arts

Explore Art at York Open Studios

Ripon Cathedral: In the Frame

Sat 14 & Sun 15 April and Sat 21 & Sun 22 April, various locations in York

24 May - 3 June, 10am-5pm Ripon Cathedral

Spend a leisurely weekend exploring the creative spaces of furniture makers, painters, potters, sculptors, jewellers and lots more at the 2018 York Open Studios. Over 100 artists and makers invite you to see behind the scenes at this popular free event when they open up their studios on two weekends, Sat 14 & Sun 15 April and Sat 21 & Sun 22 April 2018.

Discover for the first time Ripon and the Cathedral’s history illustrated through stunning artworks. Featuring special guest Adam Schoon, an expert on BBC Antiques Roadshow, who will be sharing his wealth of knowledge.

This year new artists include painter Iain Wills and printmaker Michelle Hughes whose linocut prints are inspired by nature and the great British countryside. Other printmakers include Dan Howden, recipient of the Anthony Dawson Young Printmaker of the year award and Gerard Hobson with his beautifully designed images of nature and wild animals. Discover hidden parts of York, from historic streets, to leafy suburbs and country cottages whilst tracking down studios of all shapes and sizes! As well as being a fantastic chance to see original artworks and perhaps commission a bespoke item for you and your home, you could also trigger a new interest.

The Cathedral will also welcome back artist in residence Rob Pointon who has exhibited work all over the world . You will be able to watch him working on his next masterpiece painting live in the Cathedral. Independent Antique Valuer, Mark Littler will also be in Ripon for a special valuation day where you can come and have your items valued by him. www.riponcathedral.info

www.yorkopenstudios.co.uk

27


Theatre & Performance

Lean on Pete

Film

Film Review with Henry Thompson The period immediately after the Baftas and Oscars is a lean one for attention-grabbing releases, with the industry focusing on Cannes. However, there are interesting exceptions. Writer-director Corey Finley’s first film, Thoroughbreds (2017), tells a story about two privileged teenagers who set about disposing of a sadistic stepfather. The filmmaker provides a gripping and unflinching look at how the evolving relationship between the teenagers darkens as they settle on their plan. In a follow-up to 45 Years, Harrogate born filmmaker Andrew Haigh has a new and very watchable release in May titled Lean on Pete; a carefully constructed and well-written story about a teenager and a horse. Fans of Sergio Leone can indulge themselves with a big screen re-release of A Fistful of Dollars (1964). The film made Clint Eastwood a star and opened a new chapter in the study of film genre- the spaghetti western! From the CIA sponsored ‘Dirty War’ to the 2001 economic crash, by way of the Falklands War, Argentina has offered a troubled landscape of political malfeasance, corruption and deprivation for its filmmakers to respond to. Along with Juan José Campanella and Fernando Solanas, Lucrecia Martel has been

28

at the fore-front of a group of Argentinian independent filmmakers who have recently sought to offer perspectives on the country’s life and history. Martel’s new film Zama, adapted from Antonio di Benedetto’s eponymous 1956 novel, is an immersive portrayal of an eighteenth century Spanish colony and its local magistrate Don Diego de Zama. The film’s visual palate and elliptical narrative combine to capture what Martel suggests is a paradox and legacy of empire- de Zama’s desolate paradise is nothing more than a prison he wants to escape from. He has gone to the end of the earth with moral rectitude only to find he does not belong; he may sooth himself with the illusion of bringing justice but there is nothing there for him apart from the dream of getting back home. And closer to home, a new film initiative kicks off in the North Bar, Harrogate on Sunday 8th April with a screening of Donnie Darko (2001). This film is being screened as part of the ‘Flash Film’ season sponsored by Harrogate Film Society culminating with a screening of Oliver Stone’s Mexican cartel thriller Savages (2012) on 22nd July. Henry Thompson is Research Fellow in film at the University of Manchester. His acclaimed book on American film director Oliver Stone (co-authored with Ian Scott) was released in 2016.


T N E V E N E P O T X E N turday 19 May Sa

th

10am-2pm

Deciding what to study after leaving school? With an amazing range of Courses and Apprenticeships to choose from, let our team find the right one for you. www.harrogate-college.ac.uk

01423 879466

oncourse@harrogate.ac.uk

FREE OF CHARGE

OPENING TIMES:

WEDNESDAY 6PM-9PM & FRIDAY 11AM-2PM 01423 878301 / HARROGATE COLLEGE, HORNBEAM PARK AVE, HARROGATE, HG2 8QT


EVERYTHING BLOOMS IN SPRING

Including the housing market! Now’s a great time of year to sell your home, so do it with Myrings, call us now for a FREE valuation.

EL

2018

Y E A R S

I

N

20 BU

S

1998

E B R AT I N G

C

Sales 01423 566 400 Lettings 01423 569 007

SINE

S


·

Free Marketing Appraisals · ·

·

Professional Photography ·

· ·

Web Marketing

Open 7 Days A Week Full Colour Brochures

Distinctive ‘For Sale’ Boards

Local Radio & Harrogate Property Guide · ·

Feedback and Contact

Prime Central Harrogate Location ·

Sales Progression

Myrings Estate Agents 10 Princes Square, Harrogate, HG1 1LX Web myrings.property @myringsestate | @myringslettings @myringsestateagents | @myringslettings


Theare & Performance

Theatre & Performance

The Last Resort 21 April, 2.45pm & 7.45pm, Harrogate Theatre Last Resort is an alternative future for Guantanamo Bay. The waterboarding has stopped, the noise has been turned down and the military base has been reclaimed as a holiday destination. You, the audience, are the holidaymakers. You will sit in a deckchair, you will get a rum cocktail on arrival and you will feel the sand between your toes. The actors will be your tour guides. Join 2Magpies Theatre as they take you through the tropical haze on a unique multi-sensory package holiday. This is an extraordinary rendition and it is allinclusive. Last Resort is a menacing fiction, made entirely of unimaginable fact. This immersive show was developed through a research process bringing together artists, academics and human rights organisations including Reprieve. Commissioned by The Lowry. harrogatetheatre.co.uk

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea 1-19 May, Harrogate Theatre A sea-monster is sinking warships in the mid-Atlantic. Their vessel capsized, Professor Aronnax (the most famous oceanographer in Europe) and Ned Land (King of Harpooners) find themselves adrift and lost on a stormswept ocean. Rescued by the mysterious Captain Nemo and held captive aboard his fantastic ship the Nautilus, their perilous voyage begins. Jules Verne’s prophetic novel of sub-sea adventure foreshadows our own atomic-age as the unrivalled technology of the Nautilus is put to ever-more destructive use by the dark genius of Captain Nemo. His quest? To rid the world of all mankind. Caught in a race against time, Aronnax and Land must destroy the Nautilus before Nemo’s appalling vision comes true. Following a sell-out production of The Invisible Man in 2017 Thunder Road once again brings daring and delight to another timeless cult classic, a cautionary tale of science, exploration, madness, and courage. This voyage is not to be missed. harrogatetheatre.co.uk

32


Listings Hurry Up, Jess Harrogate

Hurry Up, Jess is no ordinary play. The show will be performed in a series of bedrooms throughout Yorkshire and the North West. Sounds crazy, right? But ‘Hurry Up, Jess’ could be taking place just around the corner, down the street, or even right next-door to where you live.

Betty 7 April, 7.45pm Harrogate Theatre Betty lives in memories; she finds warmth and solace there, away from her widowed existence and empty house that was once full of life. Increasingly becoming detached from her reality Betty finds her memories begin to unravel, with no real grasp on reality and a memory that is slipping away, what has she got left? Through seamless use of mask, mime, puppetry and gesture, this one woman show told by Betty’s granddaughter takes you on a journey of love, life and loss.

A Spoonful Of Sherman 10-11th April. 2.30pm & 7.30pm Harrogate Theatre Three generations of Sherman songwriting is brought to life in this delightful show.

If I say Jump 11 April, 7.45pm Harrogate Theatre A bold and exhilarating tale of contemporary Britain, If I Say Jump is a show for anyone who has ever asked themselves “why did I just do that?” It skilfully blends storytelling, comedy, original music and a live soundscape to chart a morally ambiguous quest for peace and wellbeing in a chaotic time.

12-14 April, 11am & 2pm Harrogate Theatre The year is 1991. Tom is 11 years old. His Dad is a magician and Tom is his assistant. Using handmade magic tricks, live music and a rabbit called Horace, this nostalgically inventive show tells the story of a real magician who’s greatest trick will be making sure there’s food on the family table.

The Last Resort 21 April, 2.45pm & 7.45pm Harrogate Theatre Last Resort is an alternative future for Guantanamo Bay. The waterboarding has stopped, the noise has been turned down and the military base has been reclaimed as a holiday destination. You, the audience, are our holidaymakers. You will sit in a deckchair, you will get a rum cocktail on arrival and you will feel the sand between your toes. We will be your tour guides.

Menopause The Musical 26 April, 7.30pm Royal Hall An all-singing, all-dancing comedy set in a department store, where four women with seemingly nothing in common, meet by chance and make fun of their woeful lives experiencing ‘The Change’. They soon bond as they realise that the menopause is no longer ‘The Silent Passage’, but an unavoidable stage in every woman’s life.

Seriously Dead 1 May, 7.30pm Harrogate Theatre The play tells the hilarious tale of Thelma Henderson deceased who cannot gain entry through The Pearly Gates as the system has gone digitised and she has the incorrect paperwork. Thelma is told to wait by the scrapyard gates until the issue

can be resolved but she finds herself a rather reluctant Guardian Angel watching over her school friend and the one true love of her life, Billy Blenkinsopp.

The Midnight Soup 18-19 May, 7.45pm Harrogate Theatre The Midnight Soup tells the story, of an unremarkable woman, who every day, sat down to meticulously record the facts of her life in a diary, until one early summer day, she chose to end her own life. The Midnight Soup is the love letter of a grandson to his grandmother, it is also an edible memorial, celebrating a life lived to the rhythm of the seasons.

Theatre & Performance

31 March, 5pm & 7pm Oatlands

My Dad, The Magician

Twice Upon a Time 19 - 26 May, 7.30pm Pateley Playhouse, Church Lane, Pateley Bridge A brand new whodunit, detective drama by our own award winning writer Keith Burton.

Two: Performed By Reform Theatre 22-26 May, 7.45pm Harrogate Theatre From the award-winning writer of Little Voice and Road comes Two, a gritty yet heartwarming look at northern life filled with pathos and humour.

We are Bronte 29-30 May, 7.45pm Harrogate Theatre Morecambe and Wise meets David Lynch in this madcap reimagining of the myth, presented in Publick Transport’s playful and irreverent style.

33


'What this company can achieve in a theatre space is astonishing' Manchester Evening News

A cautionary tale of science, exploration, madness and courage. This voyage is not to be missed.

THU 10 - SAT 19 MAY BOX OFFICE 01423 502116 www.harrogatetheatre.co.uk* (*ÂŁ1.75 transaction fee applies)

A5 ad Harrogate Review.indd 1

Adapted by Rob Johnston Based on Jules Verne’s prophetic novel of sub-sea adventure

21/03/2018 11:46


Comedy & Literature

Berwins Salon North: Present 26 April, The Crown Hotel, Harrogate From surviving in an age of anxiety to exploring power in a hyper-connected world, the next Berwins Salon North seminar promises to explore what makes us tick with the theme, Present. CNN picked Jeremy Heimans’ concept of “new power” as one of 10 ideas to change the world. He was named a young global leader by The World Economic Forum at Davos, and is the founder of Avaaz, an online political movement with more than 40 million members. Based in New York where he is co-founder and CEO of Purpose, he is at Berwins Salon North to show how power works in our hyper connected world- and how to make it work for you and the things that you care about. Aaron Gillies has been featured in and written for The Poke, Buzzfeed, The Telegraph, The Guardian, The Huffington Post, amongst many others. The author of How to Survive the End of the World (an Anxiety Survival Guide), Aaron will with warmth, skill and humour, examine the impact of anxiety, and give readers some tools to fight back. Co-founder Helen Bagnall will also be celebrating six years of Berwins Salon North with a look back on some of the amazing guest speakers. The series continues with the theme Future on Thursday 24 May at 7.30pm, featuring the economist and broadcaster Dharshini David, professor of molecular genetics Johnjoe McFadden, and professor of behavioural science, Nick Chater. harrogateinternationalfestivals.com

Whatever Happened to Vandal Raptor? 24-25 April, Harrogate Theatre In 2016 punk poet Henry Raby visited the British Library’s exhibition on punk which presented the genre as a packable relic. To kick back, Henry celebrates 40 Years of Punk Rock by breathing life into the spiky spirit of resistance. Henry tells the tale of fictional band Vandal Raptor. They were the greatest 4-piece dinosaurthemed punk band in the scene. Snarling through songs and snapping strings, they sang about changing the world…until they broke up. Our story finds them 10 years later accidentally reunited in their old stomping ground. Has their passion for DIY and protest gone extinct, or still roaring loud? harrogatetheatre.co.uk

35


Music

Got Any Live Music On?

The resurgence of Harrogate’s gig scene by Jonathan Skinner

Got any live music on? A question we don’t hear a lot in bars, however there has been a resurgence of live music in Harrogate and surrounding areas over the last few years. When I first started playing in Harrogate some 17 years ago there were staple venues you could go to that you knew would have live music on a weekend (and some a week night) there was Jack & Danny’s, The County, The Little Wonder, Harrogate Arms, Carringtons and more recently Rehab all places that supported the local music scene and had regular live music. Then the inevitable happened - the recession, the

36

swinging axe of the executioner that ended so many amazing venues, sure they had sticky carpets bad beer and the toilets needed some tlc but they were the foundation of our scene and as it turned out so very important. As the bars fell away the music scene took a slight dip Harrogate was a tough place to get a show, Monteys were selective about who they had play (and rightly so, a venue with a legion of devoted customers it had to be to


Music

survive) Scruffy Murphys stopped doing live music altogether and many more that simply evolved to not have a space for live music in their weeks plan or just ceased to exist, only a few managed to maintain a live music offering. Over recent years more bars have changed their stance on local music acts and have started to have dedicated music nights, Montey’s and The Den included. I asked Colin Spiers (Montey’s) and Rob Taylor (The Den) why supporting local artists is so important: Colin said “The music policy of a licensed venue should be a bit like the dress code of most young teenagers - outwardly making a statement about what they want to be. Our music policy at Montey’s isn’t for everyone – it’s not meant to be! But those who get it, love it.” “Our live music scene is literally the personification of our music policy. It’s not just about the music, but the linking with the personalities and providing a venue for likeminded people to come together and showcase and appreciate their counterparts ideas and talents. It gives us as the venue the opportunity to connect with both the people who care enough to make music as well as the ones who care enough to choose to leave the house to watch it.” “For us as the venue, it’s one of the best opportunities we have to connect directly with

our customers, as well as to learn from them about where our ever evolving music policy needs to go. “But on a much more basic level, when a band, a crowd and a venue come together on the right event it just rocks!” Rob added “Being a live music venue, we truly value the local music scene and artists. We have a platform & want to push & support the local talent out there.” “We’re aiming to achieve more than ever before this year, hosting a new open mic night ‘Plug & Play’ & some day festivals are also in the pipeline. These as well as our live music performances on weekends, alongside our ‘live music lovers’ privilege cards, ensure The Den looks after both the artists & the customers who support the scene. “It’s exciting for us as a venue to be a part of the journey & growth of artists & promote something we truly believe in. All of us at The Den want to play a key role in helping the local music scene flourish.” With local venues and live music nights popping up all over our town and with a host of exciting prospects coming from it I think its safe to say Harrogate is enjoying one of its most fruitful times musically and socially. There’s literally always a bar open and a live set about to be played, so the answer is YES - we have got some live music on, take your pick!!

37


Music

Music

6 April, Warehouse Recording Co., Harrogate One of the UK’s finest BluesHarrogateRock Guitarists: The band’s Southern, Blues-Rock sound encompasses Dirty Riffs, Raw, Husky Vocals and Screaming Guitar Solo’s.

Sunday Series Finale: James Bartlett 15 April, The Old Swan Hotel, 11am

Harrogate International Festivals’ renowned Sunday Series draws to a close on April 15. The series finale features pianist Martin James Bartlett, playing Rachmaninoff and Beethoven. The Sunday Series, now in its 25th year, has built an astounding legacy for bringing the finest classical musical talent from around the world to Harrogate. Martin James Bartlett, a BBC Young Musician of the Year in 2014, has been described as ‘not only a prodigy of the piano but an accomplished artist who counts among the greats of his generation’. At just 21, Martin has performed with the BBC Symphony and Royal Philharmonic Orchestras. He first performed with Harrogate Festival in 2015 and made his BBC Proms debut in the same year. harrogateinternationalfestivals.com

38

Kris released a self-titled demo EP in 2015 which started to garner the attention of Blues fans around the UK. The first full-length album ‘Lucky 13’ was released in April 2016 and reached number 2 in both the iTunes and Amazon Blues charts. Kris has recently signed to Provogue Records/ Mascot Label Group and will be releasing his next album in 2018. warehouserecordingco.com

Featured Event

Kris Barras Band


Live Music

The Paper Waits: EP Review By Andrew Cameron If you’re into the local music scene it’s vastly likely that you’ll have heard at least one song from The Paper Waits, either catching the duo live or hearing one of Rufus Beckett’s fantastic solo sets. The Perfect Storm packages their unique folk, almost folk-jazz style into a bitesize take-home EP, ideal for brooding in a remote cottage with a whisky, in front of a log fire while dark clouds loom threateningly overhead. Or just in your car - whisky not recommended.

T H E PA PER WA I T S PER F E C T S T OR M

Spine-tinglingly strong vocals from Ellie and Rufus and atmospheric, understated production from Homefire Studios balance each other beautifully, with Rufus’ crisp guitar work providing the foundation of the musical “feel”; everything in there is intentional, and expertly-crafted. The lead track, Devil On My Shoulder, is the perfect showcase of their talents and the one I was most familiar with before listening to the EP. Smart songwriting and harmonies, plus the sharing of lead vocals on the verses make it clear how well these two work together. On Feed My Ways, Ellie’s soaring, ethereal voice carries the listener on a journey that feels nearly sinister, yet warmly welcoming. This is the band at their jazziest, but still with their own unique flavour. The final track Perfect Storm is a gorgeous, evocative ballad with snares and cymbals smashing through like waves created by the titular meteorological event. It’s slow but never plodding; sad but never maudlin; fifth thing but never sixth thing. Conclusion? Breathtaking, mysterious, quality local music. Perfect Storm EP is now available on Spotify

39


Music Listings Music

Flamenco Thief at Starling 6 April, 8pm Starling Independent Coffee House The West Country’s most talented expostman delivers a beautiful mezze of styles with his percussive licks, loops and love of diverse music styles.

Acoustic Sessions with Jake Pattinson 8 April, 8pm Montey’s Rock Cafe Playing both covers and originals and inspired by the likes of The Rolling Stones, Tom Petty and Bob Dylan. There’s a lot of ways to spend a Sunday evening and a lot of them are dull. This isn’t, this is ace and you need to be there.

Wesley Lunchtime Recitals – Graham Barber, organ 9 April, 1pm Wesley Centre, Harrogate As one of Britain’s leading concert organists with an international reputation, we are delighted to welcome Graham Barber as he gives us a rare chance to hear the superb Wesley Chapel organ played by a professional. The programme is varied and will include works by Malcolm Riley, JS Bach, Francis Jackson and Percy Whitlock.

An Evening Of Live Music With Me, Thee &E 13 April, 8pm Starling Independant Beer & Coffee House Me, Thee & E, are a songwriting duo, formed in the summer of 2017. Their take on the ‘singersongwriter thing’ spirals out of a love of jazz, classical and folk music. From Bach to Porter, Bob Fox to Bob Dylan, Charlie Parker and back again, Tom and Evie have performed and absorbed as much as they could.

40

Islands In The Stream: Music Of Dolly Parton & Kenny Rogers 14 April, 7.30pm Royal Hall This thigh-slapping stage show brings together the beloved glamour and personality of Dolly, along with Kenny’s charisma and energy with hit after hit including: Jolene, Ruby, 9 to 5, Lucille, Here You Come Again, The Gambler, I Will Always Love You, Coward of the Country, plus the smash hit Islands in the Stream.

Ericbana / Scum / Pleasant Boys / The 7ups

Russell Watson Canzoni D’amore 20 April, 7.30pm Royal Hall Having sold more than seven million albums worldwide, Russell Watson is firmly established as the UK’s best-selling classical crossover artist of all time.

Geriant Jones Live at Starling 20 April, 8pm Starling Independent Beer & Coffee House

14 April, 7.30pm Regency Live

Born to the daughter of an Opera Singer in the Welsh valleys, Geraint John Jones is a Berlin-based Street Musician, Stage Performer and Coffee Shop singer.

Ericbana and Scum celebrate the release of their split EP ‘From the Ground’. Support from Pleasant Boys and The 7ups.

Collavoce & The Radio Pensacola Band

Catfish at the Blues Bar Harrogate 14 April, 8pm The Blues Bar British Blues Award winners Catfish have carved a reputation for themselves as an excellent live band with a phenomenal frontman in 23 year old guitarist/vocalist Matt Long who plays with a real passion for the blues.

Live Music from Los Lads! 14 April, 8pm Revolution de Cuba Hailing from Sheffield, Los Lads will get you on your feet in no time, dancing to their unique fusing of modern songs with a Latin influence!

21 April, 7.30pm Trinity Methodist Church Join Collavoce & The Radio Pensacola Band as they celebrate and explore the wonderful songbook of the 40s and 50s! Bring your dancing shoes!

Miles Gilderdale & The Blueflies 27 April, 5pm Montey’s Rock Cafe A rare opportunity to see one of the UK’s most talented guitarists in his native Yorkshire! When not performing as part of Grammy nominees Acoustic Alchemy, Miles loves to let loose with his own band. Expect outstanding classic rock, rhythm and blues and even a bit of funk & soul.


Someone Like You Adele Story

27 April, 7.30pm Royal Hall

3 May, 7.30pm Harrogate Theatre

This award winning production features a sensational line-up of musicians and artistes, and together with a powerhouse and breathtaking performance in the spirit of Whitney, deliver a show that exceeds expectation on every level.

Hand-picked by Adele herself on Graham Norton’s BBC Adele Special, the outstanding Katie Markham has the show-stopping voice and captivating charisma to deliver all your favourite Adele hits in an enthralling concert performance.

Rob Reynolds - Music in the Barn!

The Barber Of Seville Swansea City Opera

27 April, 9pm The Knox

4 May Harrogate Theatre

Award-winning singer/songwriter Rob Reynolds has performed with the likes of Midge Ure, Errol Brown, Hazel O’Connor, China Crisis, Procul Harem, Paul Carrack, Glen Tilbrook and Hugh Cornwell.

Sung in English the production is set in period Seville, with outrageous 18th century costumes that complement the fizz and flare of Rossini’s musical genius, it is perfect both for the established operagoer, and those seeking to engage with opera for the first time.

The Elo Experience Greatest Hits And More 2018 28 April, 7.30pm Royal Hall The ELO Experience are the world’s foremost tribute to The Electric Light Orchestra. With a sensational string section, a stunning light show and large screen projection to take you on a magical musical journey through time.

The Hollies: A Highway Of Hits 29 April, 7.30pm Royal Hall With lead singer Peter Howarth commanding centre stage for almost fifteen years, the Hollies have been entertaining capacity audiences around the globe every single year for well over fifty years - as always driven by Bobby Elliott’s powerhouse drumming and led by Tony Hick’s masterful guitar playing and vocals.

Hell Fire Jack & Chambers @ Blues Bar, Harrogate 13 May, 8pm The Blues Bar Hell Fire Jack return to the Blues Bar for a night of high octane brutal blues. Joined by sister doom duo Chambers.

Live Music

Whitney - Queen Of The Night

Marti Pellow - Private Collection 22 May, 7.30pm Harrogate Convention Centre Marti Pellow is not a singer songwriter that is about yesterday or today, he strives to be about tomorrow and that is why he has longevity in his career and continues to push himself; be it on a Broadway stage, writing a new musical, making new records, starring in the West End or touring - all of this ties together for him and it’s all about the music.

The Chicago Blues Brothers Back In Black 4 May, 7.30pm Royal Hall Back with a brand new production with an all new elaborate stage set the Chicago Blues Brothers are taking you back to 1980 to finish the concert at the Palace ballroom hotel. This show is a powerhouse two-hour song-fest with over 40 hits performed live on stage in the concert that never finished.

41


Music

See you at the Circle Bar 14 April & 2 June, Harrogate Theatre

Circle Live is a monthly live music showcase in Harrogate Theatre’s Circle Bar. The thinking behind this initiative – which began in 2015 - is that it’s great way for Harrogate Theatre to support local musicians whilst inviting people to spend some downtime enjoying the stunning 118-year-old theatre building. Over the years Harrogate Theatre has been open to the public in various ways and guises. There are times when the bar was open outside of show times, and even food was served. In its day, The Stalls Bar was a beacon for bands and live music lovers. Today however, due to a number of reasons including the loss of a kitchen facility plus operational and financial limitations, the bars tend to only open for pre-show and interval drinks. This is undoubtedly a waste – Harrogate Theatre has sat at the heart of the town since 1900 and it retains many of the original features and quirks it was built with. The aim of Circle Live – and a number of other similar initiatives in the pipeline – is to throw open those doors once again and connect with the local community beyond the realms of ‘seeing a show’. Circle Live is a free entry,

42

non-ticketed event, and everyone is invited to pop in post-shopping or pre-evening out and enjoy a coffee or a few locally produced beers at their leisure. The live music scene in Harrogate is vibrant and punches well above its weight, with the likes of The Den, Montey’s, The Blues Bar, and so many others hosting regular sessions. What’s more Harrogate Theatre programmes a range of incredible original artists, tributes and musicals as ticketed events across the town every year. However, Circle Live is different. This is a spotlight on some of the very best lesser-known home-grown talent in one of Harrogate’s oldest and most stunning spaces; this is an opportunity for local musicians to perform in one of the town’s leading live entertainment venues; and this is about Harrogate Theatre throwing open its arms and saying to the local community ‘come inside and enjoy your theatre’. Circle Live takes place on a Saturday roughly once a month between 4-6pm. Upcoming dates are 14th April, 2nd June, 7th July. See harrogatetheatre.co.uk.


Official government fuel consumption figures in mpg (litres per 100km) for the Mercedes-Benz range: urban 16.2(17.4)-72.4(3.9), extra urban 23.9(11.8)-88.3(3.2), combined 20.5(13.8)-134.5(2.1). CO2 emissions 322-48 g/km. Official EU-regulated test data are provided for comparison purposes and actual performance will depend on driving style, road conditions and other non-technical factors

The Mercedes-Benz A-Class. ‘A’ is for ‘Amazing’. Drive away today in a dynamic compact car that has front wheel drive, exemplary performance and low CO2, packed with technology to keep you connected and peace of mind knowing you are driving a car with world class safety. Packed with safety features, you can drive with confidence knowing you and your passengers have the likes of the Collision Prevention Assist (CPA) system, which uses radar technology to provide collision warnings, helping to keep you all safe.

Mercedes-Benz A180d AMG Line Representative Example. Based on 5,000 miles per annum. 48 Monthly Payments of

£279.00

Duration of Agreement

48 Months

Customer Deposit

£1,500.00

Total Amount Payable**

£25,027.00

On the Road Price

£21,982.83

Purchase Activation Fee*

£10.00

Retailer Deposit Contribution

£100.00

Miles per annum

5,000

£10,025.00

Representative APR

5.0%

£20,382.83

Fixed Interest Rate

4.9%

Optional Purchase Payment Amount of Credit

*

Please contact us today to book a test drive. Finance offer based on a Mercedes-Benz Agility Agreement for a Mercedes-Benz A-Class 180d AMG Line, on 5,000 miles per annum. Vehicle condition, excess mileage and other charges may apply. *Payable if you exercise the option to purchase the car. **Includes optional purchase payment and purchase activation fee. Orders/Credit approvals on selected models before 31.03.2018, registered by 30.06.2018 excluding Mercedes-Benz A45 models. Guarantees and indemnities may be required. Offers cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer. Some combinations of features/options may not be available. Please contact your dealer for availability. Terms and conditions apply. Credit supplied subject to status by Mercedes-Benz Financial Services UK Limited, MK15 8BA. JCT600 (South Yorkshire) are a licensed credit broker and may introduce you to a limited number of lenders who may be able to help finance your purchase. These lenders may pay us a commission for the introduction. Model shown for illustration purposes only and may show optional extras. Calls will be recorded for training purposes.

Mercedes-Benz of Harrogate, Leeds Road, Harrogate HG3 1EP 0843 902 6352 www.mercedes-benzofharrogate.co.uk


Profile for Festival Publications

The Harrogate Review | Issue 15 | Apr/May 2018  

The Harrogate Review | Issue 15 | Apr/May 2018  

Advertisement