__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Issue 38 Oct |Nov 2018 FREE

Now to distributed , Thornton , y le ck a h T Idle, y le g in B Shipley, y & Keighle

the

Bradford Review


BMW Service

WE MAKE YOUR MOT LESS TESTING. £49.95 FOR AN MOT AT JCT600 BMW.

Did you know our price for an MOT is just £49.95? Along with guaranteed quality, a BMW MOT gives you added extras that you simply won’t find elsewhere. • No extra hidden charges • A post-test wash and vacuum • The reassurance of knowing that your car will only be worked on by BMW Trained Technicians To book an MOT test please call JCT600 BMW on 01274 895591. JCT600 BMW Call: 01274 895591 Browse: www.jct600.co.uk/bmw Visit: 99 Sticker Lane, Bradford, BD4 8RU Terms and conditions apply.


RS E B LY EM N M O

BRADFORD

EAT FOR FREE

! y a d h t r i b r on you VALID DURING YOUR BIRTHDAY MONTH WHEN DINING IN A PARTY OF 4 OR MORE IN OUR RESTAURANT!* FULL DETAILS AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE.

DRINK

EAT

£5 BET

WWW.NAPOLEONS-CASINOS.CO.UK/BRADFORD 18+

* T’s and C’s Apply.


Contents News & Updates News����������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� 7

Shows & Exhibitions The Dengineers��������������������������������������������������������������� 11 Saltaire Inspired Makers fair�������������������������������������������� 12 Museums at Night����������������������������������������������������������� 13

Food & Drink Saltaire Brewery������������������������������������������������������������� 18

Film

Distribution We print 7,000 copies of The Bradford Review, which we distribute to over 300 high-footfall public venues including shops, cafes, bars, offices and cultural destinations in Bradford, Idle, Thackley, Thornton,Shipley, Bingley & Keighley. Over 25,000 people read each edition of the magazine.

Advertise Back Page: £349* Page 3 / Inside Front: £219* Full Page: £149* Quarter Page: £49* *All prices plus VAT, discounts available for block bookings. For more information on how to

City of Film��������������������������������������������������������������������� 20 Widescreen Weekend����������������������������������������������������������� 22

Theatre & Performance Joolz Denby���������������������������������������������������������������������������� 26 Iain Bloomfield����������������������������������������������������������������������� 30 Women of the World Festival����������������������������������������������� 32

Submissions If you would like to contribute to the Bradford Review email enquiries@festivalpublications.co.uk We’re always delighted to hear from writers, photographers and

Theatre Listings����������������������������������������������������������������������� 36

Arts Exhibitions���������������������������������������������������������������������� 38 Chloe Dewe Matthews����������������������������������������������������� 39

Music Issimo�������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� 40

anyone involved in a local group or activity.

Disclaimer This magazine is published by Festival Publications Ltd. While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of content we accept no liability for any resulting loss or damage. Views expressed by contributors are their own and not those of the publisher. ©Festival Publications Ltd. All rights reserved. No reproduction or copying without permission.

Events Listings������������������������������������������������������������������������� 44

Produced By...


Skipton Road, Steeton, West Yorkshire BD20 6PE

Luxury retirement living from £125,000

Situated in over four acres of attractively landscaped gardens and with easy access to the wider open countryside of the beautiful Aire Valley, Currergate Mews offers the ideal choice of a secure and luxurious concept for retirement living.

shared ownership and rental opportunities available

This exclusive modern development, particularly suited to the retired, consists of fourteen, each being finished in traditional Yorkshire Stone and specified to the highest quality standard.

Designed with your changing needs in mind, we can provide:

Currergate Mews lies within the grounds of Currergate Nursing Home, which is a Jacobean style Grade II listed building providing an oasis of peace and Snooker room Clubhouse, Fairmount tranquility. ThePark mews properties are ideally situated and within easy reach of

• Meals delivered in your own home or enjoy them in our restaurant at Currergate Nursing Home

the rail and road networks, close to Skipton and Ilkley and more commercial centres and cities of Leeds and Bradford.

• Cleaning services • Day-care within Currergate Nursing Home • Care services up to 24 hrs a day if required • Maintenance, window cleaning, gardening and small repairs with our onsite team

High specification living • Fully fitted kitchen with dining area • En-suite master bedroom • NHBC warranty • 2 guest rooms • Lounge • Cloak and utility rooms • House bathroom

As featured in the Daily Telegraph’s ‘Top 10 New-build Retirement Schemes’

To arrange a viewing call 01274 599564 email enq@currergatemews.co.uk or visit www.currergatemews.co.uk


News and Updates News & Updates

Bradford Literature Festival attracts record audiences

Bradford City Runs is back this October

The 2018 Bradford Literature Festival attracted record audiences of 70,349 representing a 40% increase on the 2017 Festival. The Festival’s BAME audience has also grown, with 51% of 2018 audiences coming from black or minority ethnic backgrounds.

Bradford City Runs is back this year on Sunday, 28 October.

Festival Director, Syima Aslam said, “I’m delighted with the success of this year’s festival which demonstrates a significant step-up that we as a team are exceptionally proud of. Each year BLF brings together some of the greatest writers, thinkers and personalities to create a festival of ideas, imagination and conversation which is also a fantastic showcase for the city of Bradford, from its incredible heritage and beautiful architecture, to the strength of its communities and the passions and creativity of its people. It has been a great pleasure to welcome new audiences, many of whom may never have thought about visiting Bradford before, and to know that we are sending them home inspired, challenged and uplifted, having experienced the many amazing things that our city has to offer.” The festival’s unique ethical pricing policy, which provides free tickets to anybody in receipt of benefits or living in social housing, those living on a state pension, refugees and asylum seekers as well as discounted tickets for students, senior citizens, and the disabled, has proved to be an effective way of encouraging socio-economically diverse audiences.

The annual festival of running has a choice of three distances: a 5km, a 10km and a half marathon, along with a special kids’ mile run, all on closed roads in and around City Park in the city centre. The route will take in parts of Little Germany and the Broadway Shopping Centre, as well as the University of Bradford, Bradford College, City Hall and the multiaward winning City Park. Councillor Sarah Ferriby, Bradford Council’s Executive Member for Healthy People and Places, said: “This is an incredibly popular event with runners of all abilities and families taking part. It’s unique in that offers a variety of distances and a special race for children. We would urge people to get signed up and get their running shoes ready for October.” www.bradfordcityruns.co.uk

7


CALLING ALL CITY CENTRE BUSINESSES...

URGENT! THE BRADFORD BID BALLOT CLOSES ON OCT 11 Don’t miss your chance to change Bradford for the better

CLEAN | SAFE | ALIVE | PROMOTED @bradford_bid

BradfordBID

bradford-bid bradfordbid.co.uk


#UnlockYourPotential with Shipley College

OPEN DAY Thursday

8th

November 4:30-7pm

Find out about:

• Full-time courses now interviewing for September 2019 • Part-time courses starting all year round • Apprenticeship vacancies for immediate start 01274 327222

enquiries@shipley.ac.uk

www.shipley.ac.uk

Salt Building, Victoria Road, Saltaire, Shipley, West Yorkshire, BD18 3LQ


Shows & Exhibitions

The Dengineers 20 October - 4 November, National Science & Media Museum Live show with presenter Lauren Layfield on 22 October

The National Science and Media Museum in Bradford is creating an October half term experience like no other as it teams up with the hit CBBC programme The Dengineers to take a closer look at the show and how it plans, designs and builds amazing dens. From 20 October – 4 November the museum will be exploring the kids’ DIY series through a host of free interactive and creative activities, including a visit by presenter Lauren Layfield on the 22 October (free, booking required). One of the most popular programmes on CBBC since it first aired in 2015, The Dengineers gives viewers the chance to design and build the den of their dreams, assisted by presenters Lauren and Joe Tracini, along with a team of experts. Over October half term, visitors to the National Science and Media Museum will use the show’s template of planning, designing and building for a range of interactive workshops and demonstrations, including 3D modelling, choosing the best materials and tackling engineering challenges.

Other events include a live personal appearance by Lauren on 22 October, as she introduces her favourite dens and reveals a few behind-thescenes secrets. The museum is also presenting a brand-new live event - The Big Idea Engineering Show, which looks at designing, building and creating in fun and inspiring ways. John Darnbrough, Learning Programmes Developer at the Museum, said: “We love The Dengineers at the National Science and Media Museum, so it’s really exciting to be partnering with them for our school holiday activities. “If you’re a fan of the show and want to learn more about the techniques they use to create the best dens, or simply just love watching Lauren and Joe, we’re definitely the place to visit in October half term.” Full details available at www.scienceandmediamuseum.org.uk

In addition, throughout two galleries and the foyer there will be screenings of exclusive The Dengineers clips and special introductions to the activities from Lauren and Joe.

11


Shows & Exhibitions

Saltaire Inspired Makers Fair 9 &10 November, 4 - 8.30pm, Victoria Hall, Saltaire

12

Saltaire Inspired’s ever-popular Makers Fair returns to Victoria Hall with new dates for 2018, as the first ever Winter Makers Fair takes place on 9 & 10 November. After a successful trial last year, the event will include a Friday evening shopping event (4pm – 8.30pm), as well as a full day on Saturday.

from our visitors, and lots of people have asked if we run a Christmas event – we hope that this November Winter Makers Fair, with its festive feel, will provide a relaxed and enjoyable alternative to the busy high street for those who want to make a start on their Christmas shopping!”.

Victoria Hall will be filled with 48 top designer-makers from the North and further afield, showcasing a range of high quality, skilfully handmade contemporary craft and design that you won’t find on the high street. Regular visitors to the Makers Fairs (held in May at the Saltaire Arts Trail, and in the autumn) will know that whilst some of the exhibitors will be familiar faces, organisers Saltaire Inspired make sure that each event includes new designer-makers and fresh ideas.

The Makers Fair offers a unique shopping experience with the opportunity to chat to the makers themselves, watch demonstrations and feast your eyes on captivating ceramics, irresistible jewellery, sumptuous textiles, masterful original printmaking, stylish homewares and lots more, all of it original in design and construction. This is your chance to browse, buy or even commission something special for yourself or as a gift.

Makers Fair co-ordinator Samantha Pickard said, “We work with a panel of independent curators to select the exhibitors for each Makers Fair, so that the range of contemporary craft that we offer remains fresh, varied and interesting. The event has developed a reputation for presenting the best quality contemporary craft that the region has to offer, and we work really hard to maintain that. We love getting feedback

Saturday will see the return of the popular Art Tombola, with the chance to win some stunning prizes donated by exhibitors, and there will also be the chance (on both days) to stock up on this year’s new set of Saltaire Living Advent Calendar Christmas Cards. Entry is just £1 (under 16s free). Information on the event and exhibitors can be found at the Saltaire Inspired website www.saltaireinspired.org.uk.


Museums at Night: Lantern Parade 26 October, Lister Park, Bradford

The theme for this year’s event, ‘There is no planet B’, was decided at community visioning events where many people discussed the struggles of living on this planet, both personally and environmentally, locally and globally. Cecil Green artists create lead lanterns inspired by our theme and many creative Bradford people create their own lanterns in the weeks leading up to the parade.

Shows & Exhibitions

Cecil Green Arts will host the 6th Lister’s Lantern Parade in Lister Park on 26 October, an event that seems to be growing year on year.

There are lots of community lantern making workshops at Cecil Green Arts HQ at 28 – 30 Darley Street and with community groups around the city. The Darley Street space is open every Tuesday from 4pm- 6pm and every Thursday from 6pm-8pm for anyone wanting to make a lantern for the parade. Once again this year Cecil Green Arts have partnered with Cartwright Hall to hold lantern making workshops on parade day 26th October and as part of the Big Draw on the 25th October. The Cartwright Hall galleries will be open late as part of Museums at Night. The event starts in the park at 5.30pm with local choirs performing. The parade will begin at 6.30pm with live music during the parade from the Peace Artistes, Jamba Samba and Orixa Bloco. For the first time Cecil Green Arts will be installing a fire drawing, intrigued? Come along and see the spectacle.will be provided by Bradford Grammar School. www.bradfordmuseums.org

Christmas Craft and Gift Fayre 18 November, 10am-4pm, Victoria Hall Saltaire Craft Fayres Yorkshire are once again hosting the Christmas Craft and Gift Fayre at Victoria Hall. The main hall will be filled with stalls offering a wide selection of crafts ideal for Christmas presents or decorations for your home. With wall art, soft furnishings, candles, clothes, and hand blended teas you are sure to find something you’ll love. The friendly stall holders will be happy to help you make your choice! Come and enjoy a slice of home baked cake, a mince pie or a biscuit at the cafe, where you can sit and take in the fantastic main hall at Victoria Hall. While you are enjoying the stunning surroundings one of our stalls will have a painting table to keep the kids entertained. craft.fayre.yorkshire@gmail.com

13


Shows & Exhibitions

The Broadway’s lighting up Christmas From 10 November, The Broadway Bradford

Bradford will be full of yuletide cheer at The Broadway this Christma with a full programme of festive events for all the family. There are Christmas activities of every kind each weekend in December but if you want to be part of it all from the beginning, the Festive Launch takes place on Saturday 10 November. With some famous faces, panto performances and some great giveaways, we’ll be kicking off the season in style. Then on the 24 November the Storm Troopers will be back with a vengeance. Beware all shoppers – the Storm Troopers will be storming The Broadway scaring everyone they meet. You’ve been warned! If it gets to Saturday 30 November and you still haven’t tackled your Christmas shopping, you can make the most of Black Friday. With amazing offers and discounts from loads of your favourite stores, you won’t want to miss out on these huge savings. If your little ones are desperate to see Santa, why not bring them along for a meet and greet over brekkie? Breakfast with Santa will be taking place every Saturday morning through December – it’s a real winner with the kids, so be sure to get in there quick.

14

December sees The Broadway hosting a

programme of magical appearances – see The Snowman and The Snowdog on 1 December, Titan is back by popular demand on 8 December with his unique blend of comedy, street theatre and music. Then on 15 December make sure you have your camera at the ready to capture a real Christmas moment with an incredible animatronic Snow Lion. On Saturday 22 December Broadway will be hosting a Festive Sing Along. With our Christmas lights twinkling, the smell of mulled wine in the air and yuletide song all around, this is guaranteed to get you in the mood for Christmas. Loved by all – young and old, the Festive Sing Along is one for all the family. And to add to our jam-packed Christmas schedule, The Light Cinema is showing the greatest hit movies. Christmas movies are big hits with the children and they’re a lovely way to get them excited about the season. Better still, you can pre-book tickets online. Whatever you’ve got planned over Christmas, visiting The Broadway is a must. So come on down and feel the magic. www.broadwaybradford.com


Yorkshire’s Open Air Pools By Alison Wainwright, Dipitus copywriting service Whether you argue the word ‘lido’ should be pronounced (lee-doh or ly-doh), it is indisputable that the weather this summer was perfect for making use of Yorkshire’s three outdoor pools. This article briefly examines their history and looks into their future.


The rise of lidos The 1920s saw the first women swim across the Channel, fifty years after the first man, and changing attitudes allowed women to abandon bathing in billowy dresses for swimming in practical suits. In the 1930s people first saw the health benefits of outdoor activities such as hiking and swimming, and so most of the UK’s lidos were built around this time. Otley Lido was the first of Yorkshire’s existing pools to open, built on the banks of the River Wharfe in 1924. Ingleton pool opened in 1934. It was built on manor land by the river, later donated to the Parish Council for a peppercorn rent which is still paid today - 5 pence a year. Ilkley Lido opened in 1935 and is now Grade II listed as being a ‘largely intact example of a 1930s lido built in an unusual timber-framed vernacular style in an upland rural location’, with its unusually shaped pool, the fountain, and its café design.

Post-WW2 Many pools closed for the duration of the Second World War and were slow to re-open, if at all. However, they were still popular and new pools were built, such as Helmsley in 1969. Helmsley is Yorkshire’s largest heated open air pool at 25m. Ingleton was originally larger at 30m, but in 1974, it was virtually rebuilt as part of a refurbishment, and reduced to 20m to keep the cost of the newly installed heating down.

does have funds for ongoing improvements, and new changing blocks were built in 2005 and the seating was upgraded in 2013. Helmsley is also run as a charity. It will be 50 years old next year and is showing its age, with a leaking tank, among other issues. Fortunately its future looks good after high takings from nearly 12,000 visitors this summer and additional funding will allow repairs to commence this autumn. Ilkley Lido receives up to 4000 visitors a day according to The Friends of Ilkley Lido website​. It made this summer’s The Telegraph list 17 Of Britain’s Best Outdoor Swimming Pools, but was later criticised in the Ilkley Gazette for the poor condition of the changing rooms and toilets. The indoor pool has been closed all summer for refurbishment, so it’s hoped that these issues will be addressed by Bradford Council, though the issue of transferring the site to private ownership has been raised. The Friends Of Otley Lido formed as a Community Interest Company in 2016 with plans not just to restore the lido, but to make it better than before. It is to be run on renewable energy, have a retractable roof, public toilets for the park, and a gym, café and dance studio. The Friends held an Open Day on 4 August to showcase their vision, hear people’s memories of the old facilities, and obtain feedback on the new plans. The Friends are currently a third of the way to raising the £55,000 capital needed for a feasibility study. Once they have established that the pool is a feasible project they will apply for Heritage Lottery Funding to support the restoration.

2019

Otley Lido closed in 1993. The pool is filled in but you can still see its tiled outline. The buildings are in disrepair, making it a blot on the landscape of the picturesque Wharfemeadows Park.

The pools all closed at the beginning of September, though Helmsley offers unheated swims until later in the season.

Twenty First Century

There’s a 95 mile cycle route between Helmsley and Ingleton, via Otley and Ilkley. Helmsley offers free swims to anyone who has cycled from the other two lidos, and may hold an official cycle event next year to celebrate its birthday.

Ingleton pool made it into The Guardian’s 10 Of The Best Lesser-Known UK Lidos list this summer. It is part of the Ingleton Rural Community Association, a charitable organisation, and is kept going by local volunteers. It

Whether by bike or otherwise, when the warm weather returns remember to visit your nearest lido to support Yorkshire’s outdoor swimming heritage.


Food & Drink

Discover the work behind the beer From sampling Saltaire’s high-quality Yorkshire beers at the source to witnessing what goes into making its much-loved brews, there’s no better time to discover the wonderful world of great tasting, internationally award-winning beer. This year Saltaire opened the brewery gates to beer fans, offering exclusive behind-the-scenes access and letting visitors see the impressive, newly developed brewery, home to a semiautomated 40-barrel brew kit. Brewery tours allow guests to experience an intimate, tutored tasting where they can indulge in the finest cask and keg beer while learning about the quality ingredients and intricate processes involved. The beer industry is so fast paced today, with fascinating launches of exciting products and interesting recipes. Saltaire’s tours offers an insight into this while delving into its heritage and discussing favourites and what makes them taste so great. Events and hospitality manager at Saltaire Brewery, Alice Phillips, said: “We want to make Saltaire Brewery the best it can be, not just the beer but the brewery experience. We want people to enjoy beer right at the heart of where it’s made.” Saltaire Brewery’s famous and loved Beer Clubs are a sell out each month with regular MTB Cycle Yorkshire social rides and street food pop ups, drawing in ale lovers and craft beer fans from West Yorkshire and beyond. The Tap Room has a bar and bottle shop stocked with top ales and craft beers from highly regarded breweries around the world. Open Tuesday until Sunday, it’s the perfect place to try out the latest releases from across the globe. For more information or to book brewery tour and Beer Club tickets, visit www.saltairebrewery.com

18

Saltaire Brewery Beer Club Saltaire Brewery’s monthly ‘mini beer festival’, Beer Club, takes place on the last Friday of each month. See inside the brewhouse, drink its finest cask and keg beers right at the source and soak up the Fridayfeeling atmosphere. Guest breweries have included North Brewing, Thornbridge, Buxton, Verdant, Northern Monk and Marble with wine, prosecco and cider available at every event for those fancying an alternative tipple. With a delicious hog roast and a guest street food vendor every month, relax into a different kind of Friday night at Saltaire Brewery. Beer Clubs kickstart at 4.30pm with last orders taken at 10pm. A sell out event each month, don’t miss out on the next Beer Club! For more information or to purchase tickets, visit saltairebrewery.com.


Bradford CAMRA Pub of the Year 2017 est. 2014

Independent record shop, real ale, craft beer & charcuterie counter Visit therecordcafe.co.uk for more info. @therecordcafe 01274 723 143

45-47 North Parade, Bradford, BD1 3JH


Film

Film

Sit back and spot Bradford District in this autumn’s top TV series and box office films… By David Wilson, Director of Bradford UNESCO City of Film

You can’t fail to have noticed white vans and production vehicles in locations across the city throughout the summer months, not least a 40m crane in front of City Hall in what has been the busiest summer ever for the Bradford film office. One of our missions is to grow and support more film production in and around the city - and if this summer is anything to go by Bradford is in firm favour with filmmakers around the world. What appeals about Bradford to film producers are our diverse locations, from a Grade 1 listed building like City Hall to iconic natural landscapes like the moors - and all within close proximity. We appreciate that sometimes filming brings added disruptions and so I’d like to say a heartfelt thanks from the City of Film team to residents and businesses alike for tolerating this inconvenience. However, in every production I come into contact with, the crew always comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of people in our city. These productions are important for Bradford - putting us on the international production map and bringing in income for local businesses. We were delighted to host Bollywood blockbuster Gold’s entire production team in Little Germany which resulted in close to 4,000 hotel bed nights in a three-month period of the production.

20


Spot the Bradford locations in these productions out now and coming soon… Film

Official Secrets, starting Keira Knightley (watch out for at the cinema later in the year) shot in City Park and City Hall.

Channel 5’s GPs behind closed doors - whole series shot in Bradford in Great Horton.

Netflix’s series, The Innocents - shot in Addingham, Keighley and Skipton

C4’s Ackley Bridge – shot in City Park and City Hall

Bollywood movie Gold - shot in Odsal Stadium, Lister Park, Little Germany and the Midland Hotel

ITV Series Victoria (due out in the autumn) shot in city centre.

BBC Series, Gentleman Jack (due out in the autumn) shot in the city centre

BBC1’s ABC Poirot murder series (due out later in the year) shot in the city centre.

www.bradfordfilmheritage.com

ee

Fr

100 years of Bradford film at your fingertips

21


Film

The National Science and Media Museum’s worldrenowned celebration of cinema technology, today announces the programme for its 22nd edition of Widescreen Weekend (11-14 October 2018), featuring special guests, classic films, blockbusters, restorations, and anniversary screenings galore, all showing in widescreen format thanks to the museum’s unique cinema facilities. The festival opens with a 50th anniversary screening of Sergio Leone’s classic spaghetti western, Once Upon A Time in the West (1968), the movie that Quentin Tarantino credits with inspiring him to take up filmmaking. Showing from a 35mm print, it also launches a strand of westerns selected by guest curator and cinema historian Sir Christopher Frayling, including a three-strip Cinerama screening of the epic How The West Was Won (1962), Forty Guns (1957), as well as a modern interpretation of the genre - the Coen brothers’ No Country for Old Men (2007). Christopher Frayling, who will introduce the opening night film, among others, said: “On the big screen, Once Upon A Time in the West - Leone’s masterpiece - is a powerful aural and visual experience: watching it in 2018, as part of the Widescreen Weekend festival is a very stylish way of celebrating its 50th anniversary.” Closing the festival is another 50th anniversary screening, the film that made Barbra Streisand a star - Funny Girl (1968, dir William Wyler) - introduced by comedian and actress Maureen Younger. Maureen will draw on her own experiences as she gives a lively introduction to this Oscarwinning tale of the life of Fanny Brice.

22

Other special guests over the four days include Walt Disney Studios’ Director of Library Restoration and Preservation, Theo Gluck, who will be discussing the importance of protecting the artistry of historic films.

Keighley Film Club provides monthly screenings of art, documentary and independent films that would not be screened in Keighley. For an annual fee of £12 members get a £1 reduction from all films shown at Keighley Picture House in addition to Club screenings which are held on the third Sunday of each month at 6pm at the Picture House. Upcoming Films... The Lies We Tell (15) October 21st Filmed in Bradford. A trusted driver must deal with his dead boss’s Muslim mistress but her dark past is lulling him into a life or death showdown with her notorious ex-husband’s gangster cousin. The More You Ignore Me (15) November 18th A story about mental illness in a relationship set to the music of the Smiths. Is Alice’s dreamily romantic love for Morrissey an escape from her psychotic mother or a milder version of the same affliction? Based on a comedy novel by Jo Brand.

Film Club

Widescreen Weekend festival

Keighley Film Club


Film

Strangeways Here We Come + Q&A 8 October, 8pm, Light Cinema, Bradford Meet the cast and crew of the hilarious upcoming film Strangeways Here We Come at the Light Cinema Bradford’s one-off Q&A screening. Directed by Chris Green and starring Elaine Cassidy, Michelle Keegan and Stephen Lord, the film sees the desperate residents of Salford’s Owen Street estate sucked into debt and trapped by evil loan shark Danny Nolan. After deciding that the only way to free themselves is to kill him off, the group resort to just that in the violent aftermath of a messy house party. Yet reality hits the following morning when they need to hide the body. With nervous hilarity, guilt and stumbling paranoia setting in, along with an uncompromising woman asking awkward questions, the residents begin to crack under the pressure. But they’ve not seen nothing yet. www.lightcinemas.co.uk Halloween: 40th Anniversary Screening 10 October, 8.45pm Picturehouse, National Science & Media Museum This iconic horror film returns to the big screen in time for All Hallows’ Eve, screening from a digitally restored and remastered print, including a pre-recorded introduction from the director, John Carpenter.

Bohemian Rhapsody in IMAX From 24 October Picturehouse, National Science & Media Museum A foot-stomping celebration of Queen, their music and their extraordinary lead singer Freddie Mercury, who defied stereotypes and shattered convention to become one of the most beloved entertainers on the planet.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show 31 October, 8.45pm Picturehouse, National Science & Media Museum When all-American couple Janet and Brad’s car breaks down outside an Old Dark House, they’re in for a night of frights and frolics at the hands of Dr Frank N. Furter and all manner of kinky Transylvanians in this cult musical comedy.

Frankenstein Unbound 35mm 28 November, 7pm Picturehouse, National Science & Media Museum An ambitious and spectacular return from ‘The King of the B-Movies’ and ‘The Pope of Pop Cinema’, this was Roger Corman’s final film as a director, and his first in almost two decades. Physicist Dr. Joe Buchanan (John Hurt) accidentally travels back in time to 1817, finding himself in a small Swiss village where he meets not only Dr. Victor Frankenstein (Raul Julia) and his famous monster, but also Mary Shelley (Bridget Fonda), Percy Shelley (Michael Hutchence) and Lord Byron.

www.bradfordfilmheritage.com

ee

Fr

100 years of Bradford film at your fingertips

23


Artwork by HustlerByName

ALTERNATIVE BLACK FRIDAY 2018

Friday, 23rd November – 10am – 6pm Saturday, 24th November – 10am – 4pm FREE! FREE! FREE! Coinciding with the world-wide phenomenon of Black Friday, Buy Nothing Day was created as an international protest to consumerism. Artworks Creative Communities and Bradford District Credit Union invite you to join us at our ‘currency free zone’ event, with a local twist, ‘Alternative Black Friday’. Take the weight off your credit card and rediscover how much fun you can have without spending. In the highly pressurised world of Christmas preparation and the rollout of Universal Credit what better time to come together, get some advice about money, find out what free stuff is available in Bradford and enjoy creative activities. Find us at the former Aspire-I building, 1-3 John Street (on the corner, Westgate-side), Bradford BD1 3JT For further information and/or to find out how you could be involved contact Deborah@artworkscreative.org.uk / 01274 256919 or Ian.Brewer@bdcu.co.uk


TRIO ENTERTAINMENT LIMITED IN ASSOCIATION WITH BRADFORD PLAYHOUSE PROUDLY PRESENT

Harry Potter’s “Percy Weasley” Eastender’s “Lucy Beale”

MELISSA SUFFIELD

CHRIS RANKIN

The Truly Wicked

BETHANY BURROWS

as The Scarecrow

as Dorothy

as The Witch of The West

Musical Theatre Star

X Factor’s & Reality Tv Star

as The Tin-Man

as The Wizard of Oz

GARY AMOS

LIAM HALEWOOD

TICKETS FROM £12.50

FRIDAY 21ST DECEMBER - SUNDAY 30TH DECEMBER BRADFORD PLAYHOUSE CHAPEL STREET, BRADFORD, BD1 5DL

BOOK ONLINE: WWW.BRADFORDPLAYHOUSE.ORG.UK CALL THE BOX OFFICE: 01274 800415


Joolz By James Collingwood

Joolz Denby is a performance poet, artist and novelist. She has published and recorded poetry and performed from a young age. She did all the artwork for the band New Model Army and her books Stone Baby and Billie Morgan have won awards. She currently also runs a tattooist studio on North Parade, Bradford

Hi Joolz When did you first start performing?

Your stuff is more character and stories than ranting?

When I was 11. I was at school in Harrogate and they regarded me as a poetry prodigy. Ted Hughes critiqued my work. No pressure! At the age of about 16 I was in a performance group called Krax that toured. I already had it in my head that that is what you can do. And I even had a guitar player behind me at that age.

That was the point. You didn’t have to conform to a set style. Ranting poetry exists now in the south but it’s different, what they’ve done with it now is they’ve stuck to a particular style which we didn’t. It was about what anybody could bring to the table. We didn’t like things that were overly personal either. Not “me me me. Look at me.”

Was it hard to get gigs in the early days?

Tell us more about Steven Wells.

This was the 70s. There was a real explosion of anything creative. Like arts happenings, poetry, music, drawing. We played all types of weird venues.

The thing about Swells was he was a very funny guy to be around. He was just a force of nature. People would be gobsmacked with things that he did. But there was no malice in him, so he could get away with it. You may have heard the story of how he started working at the NME. The NME were not

How did the ‘Ranting Poetry’ label come about? It was Swells (performer and journalist the late Steven Wells) really. We all shared a house together. Swells came in one day and went “I’ve got an idea – we need to tear this ivory tower, academic poetry scene apart!”. At first it was a boy’s club. Swells wanted me to do a poster and I thought I’m not just going to do a poster mate! It was a broad umbrella – poetry and comedy. The poetry was a backlash against poems about two academics talking about divorce in Tuscany which meant nothing to me. I suppose before the Bradford poets there were the Liverpool poets. Yeah, I always quite liked Roger McGough. He wrote me a nice letter once. Nice guy.


looking at employing men at the time, so he wrote his articles to them under the name Susan Williams. When they wanted an article from “Susan” they phoned him up and I had to be “Susan”. He’d be listening in and whispering in my ear telling me what to say – asking for more money from them etc. I was glad when that ended. When they found out Susan Williams was really him I took the photograph of him dressed up as a girl. Full photograph. He was the worst girl! He also used to make band names up all the time for the NME. We used to have this game - who’s got a good band name? New Model Army were nearly named Barry Jetsons Third Bollock at one point! Seriously though he used to pick a band name and ask what genre we think the band was e.g. are they Swedish death metal, light indie, American college and then write a review. I don’t know if any were published! It must have taken a lot of confidence to perform in those days? None of us lacked confidence. We maybe lacked confidence in the work. You’d have proper agonies about making the work as good as possible but on stage it was doing what we wanted to do. And with my background in biker gangs I never lacked confidence. With the other poets Dave (Little Brother) was a brilliant comic in the Stanley Holloway style. It was really genius. And Willie Beckett was a very conventional but theatrical Arthur Brown style performer. The Poetry In Motion gigs that I organised at the Vaults Bar really crystallized it all. The owners thought there wouldn’t be an audience but there was a queue round the block. People like poetry. Well, they like engagement with the human voice. They like a person up there speaking to them and telling stories. About Little Brother. We always thought he had the most commercial talent and would succeed but his

health was never good. We weren’t commercial. He was a bright star in Bradford and people’s memories are short. He’s underappreciated like Andrea Dunbar. I fought the council tooth and nail to get a writing room in the old Central Library in memorial to Andrea. New Model Army are underappreciated as well. Bradford needs to recognise its heroes I knew you had a studio, but I didn’t know it was in the centre of Bradford. Yes, it’s nice and small - I get people from all over the world. Tattoo chat and a cup of tea! I still make albums and perform as well. Next year we’ve decided to do RED SKY COVEN again which is a touring show we’ve always done. They booked it in Newbury and Bury and it sold out in 24 hours. There are always people who want to listen to stories.


Exclusive Offer for Bradford Review Readers!

15%

Lunch menu £7.99

off total bill

Wharf House, Wharf Street, Shipley

Tel: 01274 533 988

Kids menu now available

How to Claim Your Discount This offer is on bookings only. Customers must quote this advert when they book and bring it with them to make sure they receive their discount. Offer not available in conjunction with any other offers.

gluten free & Vegan dishes avilable

*Voucher from 1st October - 30th November 2018

Open 7 Days a Week from 12 noon

e R e w e When w

s R E h BroT presents

by Ben TaGoe TUESDAY 6 TO SATURDAY 17 NOVEMBER 2018

Open August 2018

Cafe Co-working Art room The new place to enjoy vibrant, local and seasonal food, tea and coffee, along with opportunities to work, share ideas and collaborate.

"an uplifting story of the importance & healing power of friendship"

The Underground

9 Duke Street, Bradford, BD1 3QR

Open 8am–late Monday–Saturday and 10am-4pm Sundays. Come in and see us!

Tuesday 6 November 7.30pm & Saturday 10 November 2pm And on tour - To book go to

www.freedomstudios.co.uk

★★★★ Yorkshire Post

Bread + Roses 14 North Parade, Bradford BD1 3HT


Lister’s Lantern Parade Museums at Night ‘There is no planet B’ Friday 26th October 2018 | Parade at 6:30pm at Lister Park, Bradford entertainment in the park from 5:30pm Free entry CecilGreenArts

The Big Draw Family Drop In: Play!

Come and see the Cecil Green Arts exhibition in the Cellar Gallery, on now until April 7th

at Cartwright Hall Art Gallery

Pyramid lantern making

Thurs 25 Oct, 11 - 3pm (this takes 2 hours minimum)

Round lantern making

Fri 26 Oct, 11 - 1pm & 3.30 - 5pm (these can be made in half an hour)

www.bradfordmuseums.org BradfordMuseums 01274 431212


Theatre & Performance

Iain Bloomfield By Rob Abbey

After calling time on a sucessful 14 year stint as artistic director at Theatre in the Mill, Iain Bloomfield is about to launch his first production through his own performance company Two Tonne. The Netherlands is a reimagining of a play Iain originally co-created almost a decade ago and explores experiences of parents of people living with learning difficulties. What have you been working on since moving on from 14 years as Artistic Director at Theatre in the Mill? Well, after such a long time I wanted both a change of pace and of focus. It’s important to properly let go of something like the Mill job and I wanted time to really think about what next, what my priorities (in theatre and not in theatre) were. My Mum has Alzheimer’s and a lot of the focus has been on caring for her. That matters a whole heap. That said I also directed development versions of Rasta Liv for Marcus Hercules at Home, Manchester and Skip Rap for Alan Clay which toured. Both were great experiences and the sense of freedom they both offered was, personally, immense. Principally though, my main focus has been launching Two Tonne, a new performance company that aims to build on the conversation model I developed at TitM. I’m currently in the mid-stage of developing our first production, The Netherlands, which will be a (very!!) updated

30

version of a show I made eight years ago with Lucy Hind. I’m in the middle of a ton of conversations with parents of people with learning difficulties, we’ve auditioned and cast (Northern actors only) and I’m just starting on the first redraft of the script. We’re also in discussions with venues and artists about the next two shows. The point of Two Tonne is to be collaborative, not just with other artists but with people who will be our audiences - from the get go.

Why is it important to you to work with artists from the North of England on The Netherlands and your following Two Tonne work? I’m not from the North, not even the northern hemisphere, so finding it, having been raised for a time in North Essex (an experience I didn’t much enjoy) was a very significant thing for me. I was Uni-educated here, learned my trade here, ran a touring theatre company and a development venue here - so I’m invested in the place, ts people and its


I’ve got a pretty substantial legacy of supporting northern artists to break the mould, to find new ways of making and sharing theatre and questioning what it can be and who it is for. I’m not about to abandon that. How has it felt to revive a show you wrote about personal experience 10 years ago? Has your connection to the subject changed? The last ten years have seen massive changes in this country. Ten years of austerity, Brexit, the steady rise of the far right across the world. It’s also brought significant change for my learning disabled daughter - from being in a small village primary school aged nine through a horrible secondary school experience to standing at the doorway of womanhood and stepping into independence in a thoroughly hostile environment. It’s a genuinely scary prospect. The last iteration of the show feels, in retrospect, like a very sheltered viewpoint - I was and am proud of it - it captured some beautiful things about parenthood (Lucy has a learning disabled sister and we used a great deal of written material from her late mum alongside my experience) but as I said above things have shifted very considerably socially and politically since then and I want this version - which will reflect a much wider range of lived experience to capture that. As a society we claim to value the individual but my conversations keep coming back to the fact that we don’t. Since the non-invasive test for Downs Syndrome was introduced not one child with DS has been born in three Scandinavian countries. What does that say about what we value? I also keep coming back to the fact that, time after time, supposed experts take little or no notice of parents’ experience and understanding of their own children. It’s certainly been my experience.

The Netherlands opens up conversations about parenting, and about the experiences of families with learning disabilities in their lives. Why is this important to talk about now? Partly see above but mostly because there is a shocking lack of support for these families. The aim of touring this piece is to start conversations that build solidarity, and connectedness - “You aren’t alone”.

Theatre & Performance

stories. They matter. They matter both in themselves and as a counterpoint to the south eastern hegemony of culture, power and narrative.

Further, I hope that that solidarity can begin to challenge the loud voices both political and professional that are not listening to and slowly abandoning people in this position. We are educated, research-capable, articulate adults and we’ve had a really difficult time fighting for the needs of our child. I am coming face to face with a ton of people who have not had that advantage and it’s not a system that they can get much from which, frankly, is scandalous. Further, the response to the question “And how are you?” to parents has been remarkable. It’s hardly ever been asked and these are people facing a hugely tough life experience not with the child but with the world. How can local people get involved? Spread the word about the show to friends and family! Come and see performances at MTG Studios, Bradford (26 & 27 October 2018), Theatre Deli, Sheffield (7 November 2018), Interplay, Leeds (15 November) Join the conversations after the performances and on social media (www.twotonne.com / @ TonneTwo)

31


Theatre & Performance

WOW – Women of the World Bradford is coming back! 17-18 November, Various locations

32

WOW – Women of the World festival is returning to Bradford for the third time on 17 - 18 of November. The two day festival celebrates and recognises the achievements of women and girls and takes a frank look at what stops them from achieving their potential, through a programme of talks, performances, workshops and panels.

ideas about what they wanted to see at the festival. Saliha Rubani, programmer of the festival, said organising the events was a ‘celebration in itself and described how the programme is shaped by the women and men who have shared their ideas, collaborated and got involved with the festival over its tenure in Bradford.

The WOW – Women of the World festival, founded in 2010 by Southbank Centre’s Artistic Director, Jude Kelly CBE, is the biggest gathering of women and girls across the globe, reaching over 1.5 million people in 20 cities across five continents. From Brazil to Bradford, 2018 marks the centenary of female suffrage, and the festival is expected to be as compelling as ever.

There is an air of confidence in the city at the moment, as women are taking back control of the narrative around Bradford. Whether this be through events like Common Wealth Theatre’s Radical Acts, The Brick Box’s Bubble Up weekender or the launch of the Bread + Roses cooperative, people are staying true to Bradford’s radical history and women are very much at the forefront.

Last year the festival brought women, men, boys and girls from all over Bradford together under one roof for an electrifying weekend designed to provoke thought, encourage debate and inspire change. As well as being an uplifting celebration, the festival doesn’t shy away from the hard hitting issues that affect women and girls, not only locally, but nationally and Internationally too.

With this year’s WOW Bradford around the corner, the festival aims to inspire women and girls to continue to influence and change the landscape of Bradford, and tell the stories of the city, on their own terms.

The programme is inspired by a series of Thinkins in March, where Bradford residents and communities came together to share

Keep up to date with WOW Bradford on Twitter @WOW_Bradford, Instagram @WOWBradford and Facebook / WOWBradford. Tickets can be bought in person from Kala Sangam and Alhambra Theatre or online at bradford-theatres. co.uk.


Women of the World Festival S AT 17 – S U N 18 N O V E M B E R 2 0 18 WOW – Women of the World festival celebrates women and girls, and looks at the obstacles that stop them from achieving their potential. Join us for an inspiring line-up of over 45 different talks, discussions, performances and workshops to engage, challenge and inspire.

#WOW BR ADFORD @ W O W_ B R A D F O R D @WOW T WEE TUK

Funded by


Theatre & Performance

Tech Styles

A Taste of Honey

19 & 20 October Kala Sangam

24-26 October

Having been a fast-growing underground event for the past four years, Tech Styles – the ultimate hip hop event – comes to Kala Sangam for the first time this October.

A Taste of Honey is the first play by the British dramatist Shelagh Delaney, written when she was 19. The play was first produced by Joan Littlewood’s Theatre Workshop and was premiered at the Theatre Royal Stratford East on 27 May 1958.

Experience the best breakin (breakdance) the UK has to offer as Bboys, Bgirls and crews from across the country gather together in the centre of Bradford to battle it out. Dancers will be joined by international guests from around the globe, street artists, local musicians and the best DJs around. In the run up to the event there will also be amazing workshops where you can learn to dance. Get inspired and learn more about the history of hip hop. You will see live graffiti art, watch some of the best dancers in the UK jam, listen to inspiring talks and hear music from the best local hip hop musicians. On Saturday be part of the audience for one of the most incredible live experiences you’re likely to have as some of the best breakers battle it out to see who will be the champions! This all-ages event is guaranteed to be an amazing experience whether you come alone, with friends or the whole family.

34

Bradford Playhouse

A Taste of Honey is set in Salford in North West England in the 1950s. It tells the story of Jo, a seventeen-year-old working class girl, and her mother, Helen, who is presented as crude and sexually indiscriminate. Helen leaves Jo alone in their new flat after she begins a relationship with Peter, a rich lover who is younger than her. At the same time Jo begins a romantic relationship with Jimmy, a black sailor. He proposes marriage but then goes to sea, leaving Jo pregnant and alone. She finds lodgings with a homosexual acquaintance, Geoffrey, who assumes the role of surrogate father. Helen returns after leaving her lover and the future of Jo’s new home is put into question.


Theatre & Performance

When We Were Brothers 6 & 10 November The Underground, Bradford

Freedom Studios are thrilled to be touring When We Were Brothers by Ben Tagoe this autumn after an acclaimed run at The Underground earlier this year. When We Were Brothers is portrayal of a friendship, growing up, and the impact of mental health. Moving and funny, When We Were Brothers resonated with audiences and critics. True to Freedom Studios’ ethos of taking great shows to non-theatre spaces, When We Were Brothers will be going to community venues in the Yorkshire region from 6 to 17 November – pubs and community centres in Leeds, Barnsley, Doncaster and Harrogate. Freedom Studios are also excited about the show returning to The Underground in Bradford where audiences can sit and enjoy a drink whilst watching the show. When We Were Brothers tells the story of Danny and Tommo; they’ve been friends since they were eight years old. Played, fought, had each other’s backs. Like brothers. Now they’re grown up. Danny’s down in that London and Tommo is off work and back at his old bedroom. But Tommo’s mum, Julie, is really worried about him, and Danny may be the only one who can help… Ben Tagoe (Coronation Street, Lucky Man) started his writing journey on the Freedom Studios Street Voices writing course. After a successful career writing for Red Ladder, Leeds Playhouse, and TV, he’s returned to Freedom Studios with this one hour intimate personal play. When We Were Brothers has been long-listed for the prestigious Alfred Fagon Award.

35


Theatre & Performance

Theatre Listings Jackie Hagan - This Is Not A Safe Space

24 Hour Show 2018 (participants)

Often Onstage - Figs in Wigs

4 - 5 October, 7.30pm

19-20 October Bradford Playhouse

25 October, 7.30pm Theatre in the Mill - Bradford

24 Hour Show is Bradford Playhouse’s annual theatre creating challenge, in which they produce a full theatrical show overnight. It’s a great opportunity for those who are new to theatre to get a taste. It is also a great challenge to those with a lot of experience.

Often Onstage is an offbeat facetious romp that explores the ins and outs of theatre through the medium of dance. Expect nods to the new, bows to the bard, blood baths and drag kings

Theatre in the Mill, Bradford From the award-winning creator of Some People Have Too Many Legs, a new show about life on disability benefits – celebrating the wonky, the unruly and the resilient

One Last Dance (An Chéad Damhsa) Instant Dissidence 8 October, 7.30pm Theatre in the Mill, Bradford A perambulating dance between Guildford (the city Instant Dissidence’s Rita Marcalo lived in when she arrived in the UK as an Erasmus student in 1994) and Cloughjordan (the rural Irish village that she is moving to post-Brexit).

New Queers On The Block: Bradford 10 October, 7.30pm Theatre in the Mill New Queers On The Block is a new touring scheme showcasing a selection of the artists in a celebration of all things queer.

Where We Began Stand and Be Counted Theatre 12 - 13 October, 7.30pm Theatre in the Mill, Bradford When every citizen is ordered to return to their place of birth, Where We Began examines where we could end up.

Riptide - The Lucky Ones: Lailah 22 - 28 October Meet at Theatre in the Mill, Bradford A one-week open residency followed by a 48 hour performance. The Lucky Ones is a bold new form of theatre. Your city becomes the backdrop and your choices directly influence your story.

Suggs - What A King CNUT 23 October, 7.30pm King’s Hall and Winter Garden, Ilkley Fame is a tightrope and Suggs has fallen off many times. With help from Deano his trusty pianist, he tells his story in words and music with the help of some Madness classics and a couple more what he wrote all on himself.

Commonweal present Vive la Zad - James Brady Theatre in the Mill, Bradford 23 October, 7.30pm James Brady reflects on his experience of visiting, la Zad – a utopian experiment of collective common living in rural Western France.

36

Funny Girl - The Musical 24 October, 7.30pm Pictureville Cinema, National Science & Media Museum Featuring ‘an unforgettable star turn’ (The Times) from Sheridan Smith, this semi-biographical musical is based on the life and career of Broadway star, film actress and comedienne Fanny Brice (a role made famous by Barbra Streisand), and her stormy relationship with entrepreneur and gambler Nick Arnstein.

The Super Muslim Comedy Tour – Bradford 28 October, 6pm The Bradford Hotel Hold on to your hats and hijabs as the Super Muslims are arriving! An uproarious evening of halal entertainment awaits you at the Super Muslim Comedy Tour this October. We’re assembling a league of super funny Muslims from both sides of the Atlantic to bring you a night of hilarity.


Doctor Dolittle the family musical

Join in the mayhem this Halloween with Doctor Dolittle and his animal friends. This family musical will take you on a journey from Puddleby on the Marsh to the high seas of the Caribbean.

Confessions Of A Cockney Temple Dancer 3 November, 7.30pm Kala Sangam In this funny and honest solo, Complicite Associate, Shane Shambhu combines Indian dance and stand-up comedy to lead audiences on a revealing journey of his life. From unlikely dance student to ‘rude boy’ to international performer.

The Bradford Playhouse Presents Chicago 7-10 November Bradford Playhouse This sharp-edged satire features a dazzling score that sparked immortal staging by Bob Fosse.

Badapple presents The Thankful Village Comedy-Drama 8 November, 7.30pm Bingley Arts Centre The return of the original comedy-drama by Kate Bramley with songs and music by Sony Award-winning songwriter Jez Lowe starring Frances Tither, Zoe Land and Sarah Raine.

Kala Sangam, St Peter’s House, Bradford, BD1 4TY 8 November, 7.30pm Every year Bradford organisations Kala Sangam, Mind The Gap and Theatre in the Mill support a large number of artists to create high quality, innovative, entertaining new work. Join us at Bradford Scratch to see a selection of performances that have been created through this support.

Under Their Feet: A Suffragette Story (Fresh Aire Productions) 14 November, 7pm Bradford Cathedral 1910. A protest for the right to vote. Two feisty women wait in the dark for twenty-two hours to confront Prime Minister Asquith. Find out how Miss Runciman and Miss Hitchcock get on in this re-imagining of a true story.

Sid - 5Pound5 Theatre 21 November, 7.30pm Theatre in the Mill, University of Bradford Hero worship and reality collide in a punk rock clash!

Not An Open Mic Night - Women’s Comedy Workshop 23 November, 8pm Theatre in the Mill, University of Bradford At Not An Open Mic Night, you’ll see a wide variety of comedy from a diverse range of comedians; developed at Theatre in the Mill’s Women’s Comedy Workshop.

Stephen K Amos: Bouquets & Brickbats 23 November, 8pm Bingley Arts Centre Highly acclaimed stand-up comedian Stephen K Amos hits the road this autumn with his brand new tour, Bouquets and Brickbats.

The King And I: From The London Palladium 29 November

Theatre & Performance

3 November, 2.30pm Bingley Arts Centre

Bradford Scratch

Pictureville Cinema, National Science & Media Musem Enjoy the greatest show from the golden age of musicals from the comfort of Pictureville. Reprising her Tony Awardswinning role of Anna, Broadway Queen Kelli O’Hara takes to the stage alongside Tony and Oscar nominee Ken Watanabe as The King and Tony Award winning Ruthie Ann Miles as Lady Thiang.

Ankusha and Other Mysteries - Kamala Devam Company 29 November, 7.30pm Kala Sangam Ankusha and Other Mysteries present their signature contemporary dance pieces Ankusha and Babushka vs. Renaissance Man, alongside a new classical Bharatanatyam solo Jati-Swari-Leela and a showing of the acclaimed dance film The Art of Defining Me.

Consent - Irregular Arts 30 November, 7.30pm Theatre in the Mill In a post-‘#metoo’ scratch performance Jenny Wilson explores how we begin to build a culture of consent.

37


Arts

Exhibitions

Bradford Armistice Exhibition 24 October - 10 November, Mechanics Institute Library, 76 Kirkgate Almost everyone living in Bradford today will have a connection with WW1. The Mechanics Institute on Kirkgate is building on its heritage in staging an Armistice Exhibition for Bradford which will share remembrance with all communities in the city. The exhibition will tell the story of Bradfordians meeting people from across the world with pictures, stories and artefacts. Items on show come from many sources. The West Riding Ruggers and the Embroiderers’ Guild will bring their interpretations of peace and war to stand alongside items from the Peace Museum. The Textile Archives are delving into Bradford College records for stories of their students who went to war. Some of the 220 old boys of Bradford Grammar School who died in the conflict will also be represented. Family Activity Saturdays will have a variety of challenges for children and we also have 1578 commemorative bookmarks to give away: each represents one day of the conflict. Dates: October - 10 November, The24Bradford Tarot Tuesdays Saturdays 10.00 - 4.00 at the Mechanics Institute 5 October - 1 November, Library, 76 Kirkgate, BD1 1SZ. Entry is Free. The Brick Box Bar Refreshments available for groups who book ahead. In 2010 artist Mike Barrett photographed ww.bradfordmuseums.org volunteers at Bradford Playhouse (now The Priestley) as characters from the Major Arcana of the Tarot pack using background scenes of the City of Bradford. He completed the project this year and you can see all 22 A4 prints in a new exhibition on the walls of the Brick Box Bar. The exhibition opens at 7pm on Friday 5 October and will be up on the walls of our cosy little bar until 1 November. There’ll be free Tarot readings and related japery on the opening night.

38


5 October - 7 January, Impressions Gallery, Bradford From melting glaciers to nuclear bunkers, In Search of Frankenstein reveals the present-day landscape that once inspired Mary Shelley’s groundbreaking novel. In the bicentennial year of its publication, Impressions Gallery presents a speciallyexpanded version of Chloe Dewe Mathews’ acclaimed exhibition, first shown at The British Library, London. Dewe Mathews was inspired by the novel’s genesis in 1816, when Mary was holidaying on the shore of Lake Geneva with her future husband the poet Percy Bysshe Shelley and companions, including Lord Byron. The peculiar climactic conditions of The Year Without Summer—the repercussions of a volcanic eruption in the Dutch East Indies—forced Shelley and her companions to remain indoors, competing to write the best ghost story. Despite the efforts of the more experienced male writers, it was the eighteen-year-old Mary who created the monster that would become one of literature’s most enduring creations. Travelling to Lake Geneva and the Swiss Alps two centuries later, Dewe Mathews photographed the snow-covered mountains—not only from the outside, but also from within. Her images reveal

Theatre & PAArtserformance Arts

Chloe Dewe Mathews: In Search of Frankenstein

a network of eerie subterranean bunkers, built in the Cold War to shelter the entire population of Switzerland in the event of a nuclear disaster. The miles of tunnels and chambers remain equipped and on standby, their curious apparatus evoking the electromechanical laboratory of Dr Frankenstein. These images stand in stark contrast to Dewe Mathews’ pale and fragile landscapes of mountains, lakes and glaciers. As well as her photographs, the exhibition includes Dewe Mathews’ collection of vintage Alpine photographs and prints, a curated display of historical Frankenstein books from around the world and facsimiles of handwritten pages from Mary Shelley’s original manuscript The Geneva Notebook, now part of the Bodleian Library at Oxford University. Chloe Dewe Mathews says, “The questions Mary Shelley was asking in her book seem just as relevant today. I hope my work will spark debate on the same issues: about human nature, man-made disaster and our continuing destructive impact on the natural environment.” www.impressions-gallery.com

39


Music

The Adventures of Issimo Issimo consists of core members Abi Uttley and Marc Otway backed by a group of Issimites. The pair formed after they had both competed in the finals of a nationwide battle of the bands. Uttley and Otway finished first and second respectively in the solo act category, and went on to form Issimo. Having already gained attention with shows at Latitude Festival, Cornbury Festival, and Beat Herder festival, 2018 will see the release of their debut album The Adventures of Issimo which brings together a unique blend of exotic sounds into a uniquely vibrant and dynamic mix held together by strong rhythmic core of driving rock, ska and latin beats

40

Can you tell us a bit more about how the band came to be and its journey so far?

well we worked together and ended up officially forming Issimo.

Marc: I met Abi in 2012 at an open mic night in Yeadon. At the time I was writing and performing a solo artist and Abi was just getting back into singing. The landlady of the pub wanted to book us to do a show together so we ended up rehearsing together for the gig and from there people kept booking us together as a duo. We started making music together, originally for us as separate solo artists. Some of our earlier Issimo recordings were originally intended to be Marc Otway songs and Abi Uttley songs but after a while we realised how

Abi: It was clear from the sounds we enjoy and the music we wanted to create that we would need some Issimites, starting with drums, bass, keys, tenor sax, alto sax and trumpet, but on the album we explored using wide range of latin percussion, trombone, baritone guitar (which is a new favourite), and an instrument that originates in Afghanistan called a rubab, which was very difficult for us to acquire. Although Marc composes and arranges all of our material, it was nice to be in the studio with the Issimites and a real thrill


You seem to be proud of your Bradford roots and very supportive of local events. Do you enjoy being a Bradford band? Abi: I am a Bradford lass born and bred and even though I have been all over the world, I will always come home :-) Bradford has such a diverse and interesting music scene. Also the community all looks out for each other and is very supportive of one another. Which is how music should be. I believe that coming from Bradford has enriched my own music tastes, from being a wee lass I was performing at Melas, dancing in West Indian Carnivals and watching friends perform on the hip/hop and garage scene. I was also once in a ‘Crew’ myself called Stealth Mode and tried my hand at MCing (although I wasn’t very good) and that was my first experience of writing songs with other people. Yes, I think we are lucky in Bradford to have such a rich music scene and I only wish I had more free time to go and listen What’s your favourite venue to play and why? Marc: Thats a difficult one to answer! The thing that really makes the gig is the audience. If the audience is having fun then it’s really easy for us to enjoy ourselves on stage! Which is why we like playing in Bradford, because theres usually a lot of live music lovers in the audience! But I wouldn’t say I have a favourite venue Abi: Yes, we play as a duo most of the time, but occasionally play as a big ensemble so different venues suit us at different times. Although I would say that all the Bradford venues are much more personal than other cities and really go out of their way to help promote and make sure its a good night. We recently did our album launch at Trash and Dom the manager ordered pizzas for the audience!! Don’t think we would get that in other cities.

What is your most memorable gig to date and what would be your dream gig? Marc: There’s a few to choose from! Our single launch gig for Carpe Diem at Bentley’s Live Lounge was pretty epic! We have a lot of fond memories of the festival gigs we’ve done over the years as well so I suppose our dream gig would be headlining some mega festival. Abi: There have been so many memorable ones but one of my personal favourites was playing an acoustic support slot at Grassington festival, it was one of those rare moments where there were over 300 people in the audience, they had never seen us before but every single person was 100% into the music from start to finish. Another one was this year, when we headlined Guisley Festival. I wasn’t expecting it to be so big but it was and it was the first time we aired the album with rubab and baritone guitar. Dream gig? A live recreation of the entire album... with latin percussion, choir, with dance troupes etc ..There would be around 40 people on stage...I imagine I will never be allowed to do this.

Music

for me to hear them occasionally go off script and on their own creative journeys within the music. I particularly enjoy listening back to some of these moments and still feel excited remembering the buzz in the studio that fed everyone else’s creativity at the time. We were luck enough to work with Roni Spackowski at Peak Studios, the whole creative process was intensified by his edgy experimentation and him challenging us to try new things.

Tell us something we don’t know about Issimo? Marc: The dog on the front of the Walking On The Sky EP and on the front of the new album is actually Abi’s beloved pooch the late Buster ‘Prof. Klumpsovpu’ Bustington. Buster’s backing vocals can be heard on Pretty Simple from that EP, if you listen closely he’s all over that track! Abi: He was also in the music videos If You Know How and Walking On the Sky too! Multi-talented dude, RIP Buster x. What’s next for Issimo? Marc: I suppose the fun thing about being in this band is we never really know what’s next. The past six years of working together have taken us on some really unexpected and exciting adventures hence the album title, The Adventures of Issimo. But watch this space - we’ll be announcing some big gigs in the not too distant future!

41


ill s w t Scle ie r v Ci ter In

Music

Music

Appassionare 20 October, Bradford Cathedral

Bella Gaffney and Polly Bolton 18 October, Glyde House

Bradford born mezzo soprano Helen Anne Gregory brings operatic group Appassionare to Bradford by popular demand after a charity concert in the area last autumn. Helen’s musical journey started in the city while at Woodhouse Grove School and there were many school performances at the Cathedral, so it remains a special venue for her. Appassionare includes four UK opera singers, all soloists with impressive careers. Joining Helen are soprano Lorna Rushton, tenor Richard Belshaw, bass-baritone Robert John Edwards and pianist extraordinaire Jonathan Ellis. They will be performing some of the most beautiful and powerful music from the operatic repertoire, including music by Bizet, Mozart, Puccini, and Verdi from operas such as Carmen, La Boheme, Madame Butterfly, The Pearl Fishers and Rigoletto. Helen says: “To hear opera live and up close is an experience like no other”. The second half of the concert will be a mix of treats from the worlds of musical theatre and operetta, and is sure to include something for everyone. www.bradfordcathedral.org

42

Bradford’s own Bella has teamed up with the superb mandolin player Polly Bolton to form a duo that is taking the acoustic music scene by storm, and deservedly so. Celtic Connections Danny Kyle Award winner Bella Gaffney writes folk-inspired songs which she performs along with her own original arrangements of traditional pieces. She is known for her solo performances and until recently has been part of the energetic and talented young folk band, Midlandsbased Bric-a-Brac. York-based Polly Bolton first picked up the mandolin as a child and has been touring internationally in various line ups since her early teens. She is one third of progressive bluegrass/acoustic trio Stillhouse . This is without doubt a partnership made in heaven: as well as their outstanding musical talents they exhibit a joy in playing together which transmits itself to their audience. This will be a superb night.. www.topic-folk-club.org.uk


Music

Music Listings Fresh Thursdays Coffee Concert: The Songs of Max Reger

Flea Market & Box Jellys Split Single Launch

2 October, 10.30am coffee and cake; 11am concert Bradford Cathedral

5 October, 7.30pm The Exchange, Keighley

Live Music with Dave McKinley + Guest 3rd October, 1pm Union Mall, Student Central, University of Bradford Join UBU every Wednesday at 1pm in Student Central for the best breaking acts.

Topic Folk Club 4 October, 8pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Singers & Musicians night. Free entry.

JATPJazz present... UBUNYE 5 October Glyde House, BD5 0BQ Ubunye (‘one-ness’) unites singers hailing from Kwa Zulu Natal in South Africa (now Huddersfield-based) with gospel and R’n’B players from Yorkshire, in an inspirational blend of jazz, Isigqi traditional Zulu music - and Afro-pop. £7 / £5 (members)

44

Flea Market and Box Jellys launch FLEABOX; a split 7” single through One Step Outside Records featuring Team Scarlet and Anti-Social respectively. The two poppy fuzzy bands conjured up the idea of teaming up to release music together whilst on tour in the far reaches of Burnley rock city.

The Record Club 6 October, 8pm The Triangle, Shipley Play records meet friends. There’s a different theme every month, check the page for this months, bring some records if you like or just come along and enjoy the tunes (or not!) that other people bring. Easy going good times & free pakoras. The ultimate not out out night out, come & dance. First Saturday of the month. Free entry.

Kath Edmonds - ‘We Shall Overcome’ 7 October, 3pm Malik House, Bradford Kath Edmonds playing live for ‘We Shall Overcome’ in Bradford at Malik House, Manor Row in Bradford. A fantastic event supporting and highlighting the great work that local charities do across Bradford and beyond. Seven hours of local music, acoustic artists and chilled Sunday vibes.

Gnod R&D Takeover Golden Cabinet 6 October, 7pm Kirkgate Centre, Shipley Golden Cabinet have handed the reins of their next event over to the mighty GNOD’s Research & Development department. GNOD and their various side projects, such as Ahrkh, Negra Branca, Druss and Dwellings, have played for Golden Cabinet a number of times over the last five years, so they felt it would make sense to invite them back to take over the whole evening. Few other groups could soundtrack a supernova as convincingly as the Salford-based collective. And witnessing a GNOD show is a transcendental barrage of volcanic psychedelia; the gig equivalent to having your amygdala replaced with a palantir and letting Sauron’s will smash your future and your past together with hellish zeal. Gnod will make you dance like St Vitus. They are that good.

Featured Event

Una Barry (soprano) and Graham Barber (piano) present a concert of songs and piano solos by German Romantic composer, Max Reger.


TLR Present...Blue Rose Code 26 October, 8pm Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire

Topic Folk Club present…The Hometowners 11 October, 8pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane

Topic Folk Club present...Bella Gaffney & Polly Bolton. 18 October, 8pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane

A return visit from these four lads from across t’border with their wit, banter, stories and songs, many with an Irish flavour. £6 (£5 for Topic members).

Stunning partnership of two fine Yorkshire musicians. Bella, wellknown to Bradford audiences, for Polly it’s a Topic debut. £6 (£5 for Topic members).

Smiley & The Underclass

JATPJazz present... ARTEPHIS

13 October, 7.30pm The Underground, Bradford Formed in 2014 in the infamous melting pot of London’s Ladbroke Grove, Smiley & The Underclass are a punky reggae explosion from a world on fire. Their musical call-to-arms invokes a passion and honesty rarely seen in these times of cardboard cut-out pop pollution.

19 October Glyde House, BD5 0BQ RNCM Alumni Artephis are a forward looking, contemporary ensemble casting late 60s/ early 70s Miles Davis influence onto a Christian Scott / Antonio Sanchez / Brian Blade Fellowship Band musical plane yielding an eclectic sound of explosive groove and light-footed nuance.

Groovers in the Heart

£7 / £5 (members)

13 October, 8pmThe Kirkgate Centre, Shipley

http://jatpjazz.blogspot.com

Get up, get down, get groovy! It’s the October edition of Groovers and we’re excited as always to be hosting special guest Trainer Trouble with incredible DJ superpowers and a magnificent collection of vinyl tunes, all personally selected and tried and tested to get your feet happy on the dance floor!

Pink Floydian - The Exchange Keighley 20 October, 7.30pm The Exchange, Keighley One of the most impressive tributes we’ve ever seen, with a dedication to the Pink Floyd sound and high quality musicianship not often witnessed.

Music

A nomad both geographically and musically, Ross writes from the heart eschewing any specific genre and the twelve songs on new album The Water Of Leith, addressing themes of love, loss, travel, home, accepting the past and embracing the future, are painted with colours of folk, jazz, soul and pop; an eclecticism that has become a hallmark of Blue Rose Code and has seen him compared to John Martyn, Van Morrison and Tom Waits.

Arcus Quartet at Bradford Cathedral 24 October, 7.30pm Bradford Cathedral As a new addition to the Northern Tour Take II, the Arcus Quartet will be making their Bradford debut in the Anglo-Saxon splendor of Bradford Cathedral.

Topic Folk Club present... The Foxglove Trio Thursday 25 October Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Traditional and contemporary folk songs with melodeon, cello, guitar and bodhran, vocal harmonies and imaginative arrangements. £6 (£5 for Topic members).

Halloween@Trash 27 October, 8pm Trash! Bradford Expect ghoulish gore and great fucking music and some surprises on the way.

Topic Folk Club 1 November, 8pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Singers & musicians night. Free entry.

45


Music Listings Music

JATPJazz present...Dan Whieldon Quartet 2 November Glyde House, Bradford, BD5 0BQ Pianist Dan Whieldon’s new band playing contemporary pieces.

Jizzy Pearl/Love/Hate, Dead Man’s Whiskey 2 November, 7.30pm The Underground, Bradford Jizzy’s first visit to Bradford for several years!

TLR Present...Moore Moss Rutter 2 November, 8pm Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire Widely regarded as three of the best players, innovators and performers in traditional folk amongst a precociously gifted generation, their finely-crafted arrangements wield a rare potency.

Black Falcon Album Launch + Support 3 November, 8pm Trash! Bradford Bradford’s very own Black Falcon hit Trash Bradford for their 2018 new album launch. With Support From Son Of Boar and The Stellar Converters.

The Festival of Remembrance 4 November, 5pm Bradford Cathedral Join The City of Bradford Brass Band, The Military WAGS Choir (Catterick Garrison) and Bradford Cathedral Choir as we remember those who died in armed conflict.

46

Topic Folk Club present...The Heathen Kings. 8 November, 8pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Leeds-based trio with original, contemporary and traditional material with an array of instruments. £6 (£5 for Topic members).

Disco Galores Machine Gun on Ice 16 November, 8pm The Underground, Bradford Disco Machine Gun & Galores will be taking over the Underground for one special night.

SOS Soul on Sunday 18 November, 3pm - 9pm

DRIFT ft Kyoka / Grischa Lichtenberger / YTAC 14 November, 8pm Fuse Art Space, Bradford Fusing heavy electronics, hypno-chaotic grooves and pristine frequency control within a unique, audio-visual environment, an intoxicating, hyper-sensory experience.

King Of Pop starring Navi 15 November, 7.30pm The Alhambra, Bradford Don’t miss the world’s number one Michael Jackson tribute artist with his incredible Live band & Dancers. Navi once received a standing ovation from Michael Jackson himself! Michael also chose Navi as his official body double and decoy.

Topic Folk Club present...Jack Blackman 15 November, 8pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Exciting young performer making a return to the Topic. His guitar playing has been described as “exceptional” and “brilliant”. £6 (£5 for Topic members).

The Underground, Bradford DJs Playing 60s/70s Northern Soul & Motown Floor Fillers.

Peter Bruntnell Trio feat. BJ Cole 18 November, 8pm Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire NME claimed that ‘Peter Bruntnell’s records should be taught in schools’ and if you ask the likes of Rumer, Peter Buck, Scott Mccaughey, Willy Vlautin, Jay Farrar, John Murry or Kathleen Edwards they’ll all agree that Peter Bruntnell is a writer with rare and mysterious qualities.

Bradford Blues Club 22 November, 8pm Al’s Dime Bar, Bradford Live blues music hosted by New Brunswick Blues finalists Chris James & Martin Fletcher.

Topic Folk Club present...Roger Davies. 22 November, 8pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Well-known to Topic audiences, and the acoustic music scene generally, Roger returns with his original take on Yorkshire people and places. £6 (£5 for Topic members).


Music Listings Music

JATPJazz /Glyde House present...Eirik Svela Group 23 November Glyde House, Bradford, BD5 0BQ LCM alumna Eirik, an established jazz guitarist in Norway, visits Bradford as part of a UK tour. Adults £7 NUS £5 www. jatpjazz.blogspot.com

Martha Tilston 24 November, 8pm The Exchange, Keighley With a voice like spiderwebbed hollows and lyrics that inspire and captivate, Martha Tilston has developed a successful musical career with a large and loyal following worldwide.

Topic Folk Club present...Clay Liftin’ 29 November, 8pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane A recently-formed talented Irish roots band based in Huddersfield. Songs and tunes with bodhran, whistles and fiddle. A Topic debut. £6 (£5 for Topic members). www.topic-folk-club.org.uk

TLR Present... WinterFolk: O’Hooley & Tidow 30 November, 8pm Caroline Street Social Club, Saltaire Belinda and Heidi’s songwriting has been described by The Guardian as ‘exceptional’ and The Independent as ‘defiant, robust, northern, poetical, political folk music for the times we live in.’

48

Children of Africa 2 October, 6.30pm Bradford College A choir of African children is returning to Bradford as part of a UK tour. The Singing Children of Africa will perform a mixture of traditional African and contemporary songs and dances at Bradford College next month. The choir is made up of 24 pupils aged between nine and 14 years of age who attend the Joluarabi School in the north of Kenya which was set up by the charity Educate the Kids. The charity supports children who otherwise would have no hope of attending school and gaining an education. The youngsters are no strangers to Bradford College having thrilled staff and students with performances at the college for the last two years. As well as singing and dancing, the youngsters will also speak about their life in Kenya, where some walk up to eight miles a day to attend school. Although free, tickets for the concert need to be booked via Bradford College.


THE

B RA D F O R D ’ S B E E R C A F É S U N DAY M U S I C S E S S I O N S T H U R S DAY Q U I Z NEW BEER GARDEN 3 2 N o r t h Pa ra d e, B D 1 3 H Z

KIRKSTALL BREWERY

T/ I @ t h e s p a r row b d 1


The hassle free way to try out your next car.

JCT600 Home Test Drive Let us bring the happy place to you. Visit www.jct600.co.uk

Audi | BMW | Kia | Mazda | Mercedes-Benz | MINI | Peugeot | SEAT | smart | Vauxhall | Volkswagen Boston | Bradford | Castleford | Chesterfield | Doncaster | Grimsby | Harrogate | Hull Leeds | Lincoln | Menston | Newark | Rotherham | Sheffield | Shipley | Wakefield | York

51


Profile for Festival Publications

The Bradford Review |Issue 38 |Oct/Nov 2018  

The Bradford Review |Issue 38 |Oct/Nov 2018  

Advertisement