Page 1

the

Bradford Review Issue 22

December 2016

Terence SORM Blanchard

World Curry DJ Yoda Festival

North Parade Meihaus Street Party


BE A BRADFORD MARKETS WINNER THIS CHRISTMAS AND GET YOUR LOYALTY CARD FROM ANY TRADER AT OASTLER OR KIRKGATE MARKET. We have some great prizes to give away including a£500 Cash Prize, Festive Hampers and lunchtime vouchers for some of our hot food stalls in our city centre markets!


the

Bradford Review Contents

ISSUE 22 December 2016

05 | Note From The Editor 08 | In The News 12 | SORM

18 | Meihaus Interview 22 | DJ Yoda Review

26 | Picks Of The Month 30 | What’s On?

40 | Best of Bradford 42 | Dean McPhee

On The Cover

This month’s cover image is by Adam Menzies. If you’d like to feature on the cover send your entry to submissions@thebradfordreview.co.uk. The deadline for submissions to the next issue is December 15th.

Submissions

If you would like to contribute to the Bradford Review email submissions@thebradfordreview.co.uk, we’re always delighted to hear from writers, photographers and anyone involved in a local group or activity.

Advertise

For more information on how to advertise email advertise@thebradfordreview.co.uk.

Disclaimer

This magazine is published by Festival Publications Ltd. While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of content we accept no liability for any resulting loss or damage. Views expressed by contributors are their own and not those of the publisher. ©Festival Publications Ltd. All rights reserved. No reproduction or copying without permission.

This Month’s Stats:

7,905 Visits

56,200

Impressions

30,271

Post Reach


Editor:

Haigh Simpson

Copy Editor: Rob Walsh

Design:

FoxDuo Design

Ad Design:

FoxDuo Design

Hello and welcome to issue 22 of the Bradford Review.

Distribution:

First and foremost I would like to say a big thank you to Kate Wellham and everyone who contributed to our special women’s issue in November. I think it was one of the best we have produced and we’ve had some superb feedback.

Words & Pictures:

Face Distribution Haigh Simpson, Phil Lickley Tim Walker

We also chose last month’s issue to introduce a fresh design for the magazine. Among the changes we have made is the introduction of specially illustrated front covers, and Bradford artist Adam Menzies has done a superb job with this month’s cover following on from Jean McEwans stunning effort in November. If you know anyone who would like the opportunity to design a cover for us please get in touch. This months issue has a bit of a musical theme, epitomised by a fantastic feature on Bradford’s School of Rock and Media. There are some super events to look forward to in December and I hope we can help you plan for a fun festive period. Haigh Simpson

Produced By...


Small College, BIG Future! OPEN DAY Weds 7th Dec 4.30-7pm

WE OFFER • Full-time courses - Enrol now for Sept 2017 start • Part-time courses - Enrol now for quals & leisure • Great Apprenticeship Vacancies - Updated Daily!

Shipley College, Salt Building, Victoria Road, Saltaire, Shipley, BD18 3LQ t: 01274 327281 e: studentservices@shipley.ac.uk w: www.shipley.ac.uk


In the News

New venue breathes life into Westgate

Bradford’s newest late night venue opened on 5 November, putting the spark back into an old pub premises that has been closed for more than 15 years. Westgate Social Club is based in what was once the New Packhorse pub on Westgate, Bradford, after a £200,000 refurbishment to transform the building. The venue also boasts a roof garden, where customers can relax and enjoy views across the city – with plans to install a separate bar that can be accessed from the terrace. Roy Davison, one of the venue managers, said, “It’s not a ‘Social Club’ in the oldfashioned sense of the word, but more of a social hub where people of all ages can get together and have some fun but equally, use the space to do their own particular thing.

8 In the News

Steampunk and Gothic Fair returns

Bradford’s Steampunk and Gothic Fair makes a popular return in December, raising funds for two deserving charities. The fair will take place at Brew Haus bar and Stein Bierkeller on Saturday, December 10, from noon to 5pm. The events are held in aid of Martin House Children’s Hospice, near Wetherby, and the Sophie Lancaster Foundation, which raises awareness of hate crime against people from alternative sub-cultures. The first Steampunk Fair in September attracted enthusiasts from across the UK and raised £600 – to be split equally between the two charities. With 25 stalls, spread over three floors, the December fair will feature a wide selection of both Steampunk and Gothic traders. Stalls will range from alternative arts, crafts and gifts to clothing, accessories and jewellery, soaps, candles and photographic prints.


Planning boost for city apartments

Funding boost for community film project

Bradford-based Make Your Mind Up have received funding from Big Lottery Celebrate fund for a community film project. The project is looking for people in Bradford to take part in workshops to learn film making skills and create short films that will be shown at community screenings. Director of MYMUP Alex said, “We are delighted we’ve

received Big Lottery funding for our project. We have made a number of short films that explored the importance of Mental Health in Bradford and now we want to use filmmaking to celebrate and share life in Bradford today.” Filmmaker Lewis Hackett will be delivering the workshops. He said, “The City of Film status is great

Plans to convert a derelict warehouse on Sunbridge Road into apartments has moved a step closer after Bradford Council approved the latest set of plans. The building is set to be transformed into living accommodation with 163 apartments.

Tributes paid to City legend

Bradford City paid tribute to club legend Bobby Campbell with a minute’s applause and a special video ahead of their 1-0 victory over Northampton Town on 22 November.

for Bradford and I’m really passionate about supporting people to get more involved in film production. The workshops we are offering will not only be a great introduction into film making but will also result in the completion of short films that people can come and see.” The film making workshops will take place in community centres throughout December with the films been shown early next year. To get involved email daniel@mymup.org

Visit our website for more up to date news www.thebradfordreview.co.uk

In the News 9


ADVERTISE HERE FOR

£89

Perfect Christmas Gifts Gift Vouchers Available instore shoe sizes from 2 to 8 UK - clothing sizes from 8 to 20 UK


Safe saving & affordable loans with your friendly local Credit Union: Ever wanted to save regularly but never seem to get round to it? Would you like to borrow from a place you can trust on terms you can afford? Bradford District Credit Union (BDCU) offers a great service to help you and your family manage your money in the best possible way.

www.bdcu.co.uk Tel: 01274 434100 Email: credit.union@bdcu.co.uk Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority. Members’ savings protected by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme. Bradford District Credit Union Ltd is also a member of the Financial Ombudsman Scheme.

Lunch time menu choose any 2 dishes for £6.99

Wharf House, Wharf Street, Shipley

Tel: 01274 533 988

Open on

New Year’s Day from 12 noon

(last food order at 9pm)

Kids Eat Free 12pm to 5.30pm - 7 Days a week dishes available from the childrens menu T&Cs Apply

Open 7 Days a Week from 12 noon


Bradford’s School of Rock and Media The social enterprise breathing new life into Bradford’s music scene from their premises in Little Germany. by Tim Walker

12 Lead Feature


As a Bradfordian from birth, I have long been proud of the city’s rich cultural history, particularly in music and the arts. As a youngster I attended the Saturday morning drama classes in Little Germany, run by Bradford Playhouse. Our end-ofterm shows were mostly in a dark, atmospheric, Dickensian building at the end of Cater Street. The performances were always well-attended and even featured local drama legends such as Peter Firth and Martin Sadofski. Sadly, the building has seen much neglect over the last forty years, so it was with some excitement that I discovered it is now being given a new lease of life in 2016 with the opening of a music complex. SORM (School of Rock and Media) have taken the bold step of expanding their operations from their humble premises in Edward Street, working as a social enterprise alongside various organisations to make a significant contribution to Bradford’s growing music scene. John Bolton, Michelle Bolton and Tony Saunders took a few minutes out from their busy building schedule to show me around and answer a few questions about the move..

Tell me about the history of SORM. Where did you start and what was the initial philosophy of the organisation? Tony: Me and John met by fate, I think. I read an article in the Telegraph & Argus when John was working at Fagley Youth Club and there’d been a break in and they’d had all their equipment stolen. At the time I was the general manager of a car business but I wanted to help out to give kids some knowledge of music, so I rang him and said – it’s Tony from the Negatives, can I donate some guitars and cabs and come volunteer with you? He thought I was joking but I took some guitars down and it turned out his wife Michelle knew my wife but me and John had never met.

Then we started working with six or seven kids and formed a band called Scorpion Tears. It went well at first but the Youth Club were hard to work for.

So was SORM running from Fagley Youth Club? Tony: Well the idea evolved from there, but then we got talking to Pete Tate who John had worked with in the past through his community development and he was saying he had a garage unit at MAPA with a studio in it. So we cleaned it out and put rehearsal rooms in and a recording room to use for youth work for two days a week and that’s how it started really. Then we came up with the name School of Rock and Media and we stayed at MAPA for about a year. Then we outgrew MAPA as we just couldn’t get the kids in. We were charging them a pound each and getting a bit of funding, so we saved the money and started to look at bigger premises.

So when did it become a social enterprise? Tony: 2012 at MAPA. We set it up as a limited company at first but realised it was the wrong way to do it. Then Andy Peers from The Red Cross came in to help us set up as a social enterprise so that helped with the funding. Then Bradford Trident came in - they have equity in buildings all over Bradford so they offered us Edward Street at a favourable rent for the first three years.

Lead Feature 13


It was a big risk on our part but we took it on and within seven weeks we’d built three practice rooms and a production area and we stayed there for three years. It was really successful but the funding was getting harder – John Bolton writes all our bids - but the kids were coming from everywhere and before we knew it we were taking in maybe two to three hundred undernineteens every week.

What do the kids get from SORM when they come to you? Tony: Well because we’re a social enterprise we can subsidise the prices. So we were charging two pounds for kids to come and use the studios for three hours. So for example there’d be four kids coming in, wanting to play guitar, bass, drums and vocals, and me and John would put them together in a band and mentor them. We teach them how to get gigs, how to promote gigs, tell them about the music industry that we have grown up with and that people

14 Lead Feature

out there can be nasty and can con you. So the ethos behind it is that it’s not all about money – it’s more about having fun.

Do you see yourselves as an education facility as much as a music production enterprise? Tony: Of course. It’s leaning more towards education than a commercial studio for bands. We started working with people like Bradford College and Calderdale Music College, who were sending us degree students who were then helping us with production and helping the kids with CV writing, getting them into jobs etc. So I’d say it’s about eighty percent education and about twenty percent commercial at the moment.

What prompted the move from Edward St? Did you just outgrow the premises with the amount of kids coming in, or with your own abilities to deliver as well? Tony: Both. The type of people coming in


was changing. We still had some young bands recording and rehearsing but Bradford College and the University were sending us more drum workshops, vocal workshops, drama workshops. Michelle: Then several housing firms came to us, so we were going out to do workshops with them and giving back to people who couldn’t afford it.

How did you find the new premises at Cater Street? I remember the building as an arts centre from when I was nine years old, so I’m obviously fascinated by its cultural rebirth after such a long gap.

Tony: Yes, for the rehearsal and teaching facilities on these two floors, but the recording studio in the basement needs a lot of work so that should be about another two months. Obviously that’s a big part of our business too, with DJs and production.

Because I run a studio myself I’m aware that you collaborate with other Bradford music professionals and organisations. How important do you think that is?

Tony: I think that’s absolutely crucial. We’re really big on the regeneration of Bradford. I mean us three and yourself looked around the Odeon and we were like giddy kippers to tell the truth. We all thought - this is Tony: It was by accident really. We’d Bradford’s history and something we’d like been looking at the old Peel Park pub in to bring back to life. Like you, we know the Undercliffe but we wanted something more importance of the grassroots of Bradford’s central and the same people owned this music scene and that everybody’s got to building. When they showed it to us it was pull together. One single person cannot run derelict. It was full of pigeon poo, carcasses, the music scene in Bradford. SORM working mice – it was disgusting, so we turned it in conjunction with you at Voltage Studios down at first. Then they showed us the and others shows our support for the grass building next door, which was too big and out roots. There are some people who want to of our budget and another old dance studio work alone but they never succeed - what which was no good for disability access we need in this industry is teamwork. and we work a lot with the disabled, that’s a Michelle: It’s inclusion for everybody on big factor in the business, so that was really every level, regardless of abilities – that’s important to us. what we work towards. Michelle: They invited us to come and have another look at this place and they’d swept it Tony: Yes we should take away the word all out, so we started to see past all that and disability. Everybody’s got the ability to rock, visualise what we could do with the building. I say.

I know you have a non-profit label at SORM - as we have at Voltage - and we’ve put our label bands out gigging together Tony: We’ve put immense pressure on all our to promote new music. In what other team and we’re still fulfilling our workshops ways do you collaborate with other with the colleges and universities. We organisations? I know you do PA work hope to be up and running by the middle of too. October. How far do you have to go on the build now before it’s complete?

Michelle: Or by the first of October!

Tony: We do PA for quite a lot of big

Lead Feature 15


grassroots festivals such as punk festivals. We work with John Banborough at Blackpool Music Festival and they’re a voluntary organisation. We work with a guy in Manchester who runs STP records and Ivan Harrison in Morecambe who runs the Nice ‘n’ Sleazy festival. He’s given us the job of making a Nice ‘n’ Sleazy live album which is twenty-six bands all mixed and mastered. Also we worked with you at Voltage on a video for the Purple Patch disabled charity, which was so successful at universities that they’re taking it around the UK now, and I think it won an award. Michelle: Also we work with Liz Robinson’s company which deals with sex education, testing and condom distribution – so not just music. Tony: Yes, we won a bid with the National Lottery to run a scheme with Bradford’s Eastern European population but we didn’t anticipate how many people would turn up. The first session was thirty-eight people – the second was ninety-eight. So we need these new premises! We just won a bid

16 Lead Feature

with Bradford Council to work with Eastern Europeans too, which is great because many of them are really talented and can play loads of instruments. Michelle: They’ve been suffering from a lot of discrimination too so it’s nice to be able to bring them here, because at our old premises the landlords told us there were too many people coming in.

One thing I find is it’s the diversity of the work in this industry that keeps me interested. Would you say the same? Michelle: Yes. There’s always something new coming through the door. Tony: Every day is different at SORM as I’m sure it is at Voltage. Plus I can see us working together more and more as we can offer the skill-sets and make it affordable. There are people out there charging extortionate prices to colleges and universities as they don’t know what’s available, but we can offer quality services without ripping people off and ultimately that’s what it’s all about.


ShortList

BFD CAMRA PUB OF THE YEAR 2012

TOP TEN UK PUB 2013 As featured in The Guardian’s Top Ten UK Craft Beer Bars

SERVING REAL ALE & CRAFT BEER MAMMA MIA'S PIZZA PIE & PEAS MEAT & CHEESE

FEATURED IN CAMRA’S GOOD BEER GUIDE

2013, 2014 & 2015

@thesparrowbd1

32 NORTH PARADE, BRADFORD, BD1 3HZ (01274) 270 772

www.thesparrowbradford.co.uk

Find us on Facebook


Meihaus by Haigh Simpson

Bradford alt pop/rock band Meihaus have spend the past two years establishing themselves as one of the city’s best live acts, performing at venues and events across the region. Their latest music video has just picked up an award at the Leeds Music Video Awards and they are set to release their first EP early next year. We caught up with them to find out more.

18 Lead Feature


Who are Meihaus? Meihaus are a five-piece alt pop/rock band from Bradford - we are Luke Womersley on vocals/guitar/keys, John Driscoll on drums/ vocals, Luke Haran on guitar/percussion/ production, Greg Jones on bass/vocals and Jonny Miller on guitar/vocals.

How would you describe your sound? Well, our sound has been compared to that of Fleetwood Mac a few times which is obviously very flattering, although we also take influences from more recent artists such as Tame Impala and Radiohead, amongst many others. There’s even some glimpses of early hip hop in there! We like to play around with quite experimental synth sounds too.

What part of Bradford are you all from? Luke W, John and Jonny all grew up in the Eccleshill area of Bradford. Greg and Luke H both hail from Wilsden.

What’s the best gig you’ve ever done? We’ve done some fantastic gigs so far - the 360 Club at The Library in Leeds never disappoints - always an excellent sound and the promoter, Richard, is a very fair bloke who really seems to have the bands’ best interests at heart. Other than that we enjoyed a great gig at a small venue in Manchester- technically Salford - called the Eagle Inn. The gig room is a sight to behold and the atmosphere is a bit special.

Do you have a favourite Bradford venue? That’s a tough one, given that many of Bradford’s music venues have struggled to stay open through some tough times. Thankfully the city seems to be bouncing back with places such as Al’s Dime Bar on North Parade hosting regular live music

to very lively and appreciative audiences. There’s still plenty of folk in Bradford who love live music, so hopefully we’ll see that upward trend continue.

Tells us about your new video! We’ve just released our new track Lost Boy, along with its DIY stop-motion video. It was made entirely by the band and a few friends and is our first attempt at making a music video independently. It took a team of 10 people 114 hours, over 3,000 post-it notes, 6,097 pictures and we built the set from scratch. Needless to say we didn’t want to look at another post-it note for a long time after we’d finished! It just won Best Concept at Leeds Music Video Awards 2016, so we must have done something right. The single’s up on Spotify, iTunes etc., but people can watch the video at www.youTube.com/ Meihaus

If you could support any band live who would it be? Probably the main current band we’d all agree on would be Tame Impala - we really like their music and we think there’d be some like-minded music fans in the audience.

What are your plans for next year? The first plan for next year is to finish and release our first EP - we’ve been playing around with some exciting ideas for a while now and really want to get them together and out there for people to hear. We should hopefully have something out there by springtime. Other than that, we’re keen to hit the summer festival circuit and play to as many people as possible. People can keep up to date with what Meihaus are up to at www.facebook.com/ MeihausMusic

Lead Feature 19


open Wed to Sat - 5pm till late Free Entry|Cocktails|Roof Garden|Pizza

Friday's - Dave Cooper Bringing a little bit of Mission to Westgate, Dave Cooper throws huge tunes all over our dancefloor for you to bounce on.

Saturday's - LEon Gods Jester Reid Free entry, cheap drinks, Leon on the decks, a roof terrace to chill on, and giant pizzas served til 10.30.

Westgate Social Club, 62 Westgate, Bradford, BD1 2QR


3 CASK CIDER, ALES, LAGERSPREMIUM RANGE & A OF SPIR ITS

RRY U C FREERY EVE NESDAY WEDM 6.30 FRO

25 North Parade BD1 3JL 07979 182599


DJ Yoda

The king of cut and paste brought his incredible History of Gaming audio visual show to Bradford as part of the first Yorkshire Games Festival. by Haigh Simpson


DJ Yoda brought his incredible History Of Gaming show to the National Media Museum as part of the first-ever Yorkshire Games Festival on Friday 11 November. Gaming fans packed into the Pictureville Cinema for an audiovisual tour through over 35 years of nostalgic clips, 8-bit anthems and some hilarious archive footage. Mixing footage and music live from the cinema’s stage, Yoda was clearly enjoying himself and it didn’t take long to win over the audience. This was a unique show crafted by someone with a genuine passion for gaming, delivered with skill and Yoda’s trademark humour.

One of the big appeals of the show was re-engaging with so many nostalgic soundtracks. Yoda managed to weave forgotten favourites seamlessly into a mixture of hip-hop beats and well-chosen pop, keeping the tempo high and the audience on their toes.

The journey began with a PacMan mash-up which blended in-game footage with some brilliant 80s footage to tell the story of the first blockbuster game. Looking back on a time where gaming didn’t take itself so seriously - and breakfast cereals were the ultimate marketing tool - was refreshing and highly amusing.

The Playstation One era was handled particularly well, with games such as Resident Evil and Wipeout providing excellent fodder, as was the James Bond section, with N64’s Goldeneye predictably claiming the starring role.

An 8-bit remix of the Smiths’ This Charming Man was an unexpected highlight and one of many examples of Yoda’s ability to mix things up. The show was definitely one for the 80s kids and as we entered the era of the Super Nintendo and Sega Megadrive, the appearance of games like Golden Axe, Streets of Rage and Outrun drew whoops from the audience. It was also an opportunity to celebrate some of the era’s less celebrated games.. Michael Jackson’s Moonraker anyone?

The modern era of gaming was skimmed over in far less detail than the 80s and 90s were afforded, although key franchises such as Assassin’s Creed and Call Of Duty were given their dues. It’s hard to imagine these modern games will ever evoke the same sense of sentimental charm as their forebears, but it was incredible to see how far the industry has come in such a short period of time. And it made me feel lucky to have grown up in such a golden age for gaming. Looking around at the smiling faces leaving the auditorium it seemed the feeling was mutual.

Lead Feature 23


UNIVERSITY OF BRADFORD

“Home to some of the boldest and most interesting work in the region.” Yorkshire Post

SUPPORTING NEW WORK BY INNOVATIVE ARTISTS THEATRE * LIVE ART * DANCE * SPOKEN WORD

Our new Autumn/Winter 2016 season is now live at:

WWW.BRADFORD.AC.UK/THEATRE


Opening Soon @BakeryBradford facebook.com/artisanbaker

Simply Artisan

Market Pavilion, 1 Rawson Place, Bradford, BD1 3QQ


Picks of the Month

Sam & The Womp @ Al’s Dime Bar

Al’s Dime Bar welcomes the fantastic Sam & the Womp to North Parade on 7 December. Their debut single ‘Bom Bom’ shot straight to No 1 in the UK music charts in August 2012 and sold over a million copies worldwide. Trumpeter and chief rabble-rouser Sam Ritchie and singer/ songwriter Bloom De Wilde, of Sam and the Womp, are at Dime Bar to make you forget it’s December, and bring their unique style of Brass & Bass. Featuring support slots from local favourites Marc & Abi of Issimo Music, and Sleepy Jake & The Duvets. Topic Folk Club 17 November 8.30pm at Glyde House, Little Horton Lane, BD5 0BQ

The Voodoo Bats @ The Underground

The Underground Bradford is celebrating the launch of Bradford band The Voodoo Bats new single with a fantastic lineup of local bands on 16th December. The Voodoo Bats are an Indie Rock band from Bradford who have gone from strength to strength in recent years earning numerous air plays on radio stations such as BBC Introducing , BCB radio , Phoenix FM and many more. The band are rapidly making noise around Yorkshire and have some of the most energetic, maddest fans in the local scene. Support from some of Bradford’s greatest up-and-coming bands including The Escapades, Sleepy Jake & The Duvets and Evil Eye. £5 OTD Adv tickets - skiddle.com/e/12870743

26 Picks of the Month


Visit our website for more events www.thebradfordreview.co.uk

Peter Pan @ Epilepsy Action The Alhambra Theatre Reindeer Stampede The festive season wouldn’t be complete without a visit to Yorkshire’s number one family panto which this year is led by an array of comedy, television and musical theatre stars – Billy Pearce, Darren Day, Charlie Hardwick, Jon Lee and Lucy Evans.

Peter Pan marks Billy Pearce’s 18th pantomime season at the Alhambra Theatre. The multi-award-winning comedian, who plays the role of Smee, has enjoyed a hugely successful career on television and on stage, and has previously worked with Darren Day in the musical Stand-up. Recording artist, musical theatre and television star Darren Day has appeared in countless musicals in the West End and on tour, and was nominated for a Best Actor award for his role as Gideon in the acclaimed London Production of The Last Session. 17 December to 29 January www.bradford-theatres.co.uk

Now in its seventh year, the Epilepsy Action Reindeer Stampede is a 5km, festive family fun run raising money to help improve the lives of everyone affected by epilepsy.

After the success of recent years, this year’s run will take place in Lister Park in Bradford. A great way to kick off the festive season, the event is suitable for the whole family, with a mini-stampede for children under 8 years of age. On the day the park will be decorated throughout and carols performed at various points by local choirs and brass bands. Each runner will receive a mince pie and a medal as they pass the finish line and prizes will be available for the best costumes. Sunday 4 December, 10am. www.epilepsy.org.uk Picks of the Month 27


Independent record shop, real ale, craft beer & charcuterie counter Visit therecordcafe.co.uk for more info. @therecordcafe

Bradford CAMRA Pub of the Season Autumn 2015

45-47 North Parade, Bradford, BD1 3JH


What’s On? Thursday 1 December Topic Folk Club

8.15 pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Singers and musicians night. Free entry www.topic-folk-club.org.uk

Alexandria Maillot and Kirsten Ludwig

7pm, The Record Café, 45-47 North Parade From Vancouver Island, Canada, we’re joined by these two singer/ songwriters as part of their tour of the UK and Europe. If our last Canadian band is anything to go by, this is sure to be popular!

Mary Poppins

Various times, until 10 December, The Alhambra Theatre The magical story of the world’s favourite Nanny arriving on Cherry Tree Lane has been triumphantly and spectacularly brought to the stage with dazzling choreography, incredible effects and unforgettable songs.

Fri 2 December Funkin’ Soul

7pm - late, 1in12 Club Our monthly night of funk, soul, ska, hip hop and breakbeat returns with live band Stig of the Du’ alongside resident DJs Hashfinger, DJ Sleazy G and DJ Jon G. £3 members / £4 guests.

The Delius Festive Evening Fair

4pm Delius Arts & Cultural Centre This free, family-friendly event will be a music-filled evening with a seasonal open mic, mulled cider, delicious food and a select range of stalls and activities. www.artworkscreative.org.uk/ projects/events

30 What’s On?

Singers, Musicians & Poets night

8pm, The Castle Come sing a song, play a tune, recite a poem or come and relax, listen and enjoy the atmosphere whilst supping a pint of real ale.

Saturday 3 December

Life Over Death Fest Vol. 1

3pm-midnight, 1in12 Club A Benefit All-Day Festival celebrating anti-fascist resistance. Full lineup TBA. Entry price members £11/guests £12. For details on pre-booking tickets search Life Over Death Fest on Facebook.

Christmas Party

8pm till late, 1875 Bar SoulAsia Roadshow DJs playing R’n’B, Bollywood, bhangra plus more. Award-winning Roadshow of the North 2016.

Analog Bombs album launch

7.30pm, The Underground Join Analog Bombs plus support from Partisan for the launch of their longawaited debut album, Lower State Of Consciousness. £2 entry OTD.

Product Photography for Creative Enterprises Training 10am Delius Arts & Cultural Centre The second instalment of training opportunities by The Handmade Alternative, supported by Artworks Creative Communities and Two28. Spaces are limited so please book. www.artworkscreative.org.uk/projects/ events

Lullaby - Sonic Cradle

7pm, Kala Sangam Lullaby – Sonic Cradle is a contemporary musical exploration of nighttime sounds interspersed with lullabies from India. Inspired by the songs Indian women sing to their babies whilst working in the fields, Lullaby has been created through a collaborative process involving local communities,

professional musicians and technology. The result is a show that creates a restful, tranquil and immersive musical experience with interactive visual effects that will delight all ages. Tickets £7.50 standard, £20 family (2 adults & 2 children), £5 concessions. www.kalasangam.org

Saltaire Vintage Home & Fashion Vegan Indian Street Food Kitchen Takeover at Bradford Brewery

6pm, Bradford Brewery For the first time, the lovely Sonia Sandhu will be taking over Bradford Brewery’s kitchen with her delicious, homemade vegan Indian street food

Fair

9.30am - 4pm, Victoria Hall, Saltaire More than 40 stalls of genuine vintage fashion and homewares from the 1920s to the 1980s, at this popular vintage fair established in 2007. £3 on the door / £2 for concessions. £2 in advance from the website. www.roseandbrownvintage.co.uk

The Playhouse Christmas Party

7.30pm, Bradford Playhouse Come and join us to celebrate the festive season. There’ll be food, drink and much merriment!

Reggaematic Roots Night

10pm - 4am, The Mill Reggae, dub and roots vibes, powered by the Apache Hi-Fi XL system.

Baga Chipz

8.30pm, The Sun Hotel Outrageous Cabaret Every Saturday Night at The Sun from 8.30pm

Black Falcon w/Ekhobos & DJ Brownie

7pm, Black Swan Black swan favourites take the stage with another awesome show! Supported by the Ekhobos. Plus we’ve DJ Brownie to finish the party till 1am...it’s is gunna be awesome


Sunday 4 December

1in12 Presents: Acoustic in the Library

7pm Doors, 1in12 Club A cosy night of acoustic in the 1in12 library space featuring Alicia Edelweiss (Austria-based singer/ songwriter on her first UK tour), Me Rex (London experimental anti-folk) and Gerrard Bell-Fife (haunting melodies from Bradford’s finest). £3 members/£3.50 guests

Epilepsy Action Reindeer Stampede

10am, Lister Park, Bradford Now in its seventh year, the Epilepsy Action Reindeer Stampede is a 5km, festive family fun run raising money to help improve the lives of everyone affected by epilepsy. www.epilepsy.org.uk

Saltaire Live Presents: Cara Dillon

£18, Victoria Hall Cara Dillon returns to Saltaire with her new seasonal album Upon A Winter’s Night. Cara and her band will be performing Celtic hymns & Christmas songs in a show designed to capture a traditional festive spirit.

Monday 5 December Beehive Poets

8.30pm,The New Beehive Poetry-readaround. The New Beehive Inn, Westgate Bradford. Bring your poems to share. www.beehivepoets.org.uk

Janet Senior History Talk

Glyde House, Bradford The trial of two Bradford MPs accused of vote-rigging in mid-Victorian Bradford. With coffee and cake, £5 per person.

Tuesday 6 December

Yorkshire Gig Guide’s Open Mic

7pm, Factory St. Studios A night of live music and Open Mic, with featured bands - Nick Hall, Bradford singer/songwriter and the Jackson Palmer Band. Open mic, all

welcome from solo artists to bands. www.factorystreet.co.uk/musicevents/

Coffee Concert

11am, Bradford Cathedral The last of this season of concerts with The Gentlemen of the Cathedral Choir. Concerts are preceded by coffee & cake from 10.30am. All welcome - free entry - donations appreciated. 01274 777720 www. bradfordcathedral.org @Bfdcathedral www.facebook.com/stpeterbradford

Grassroots Poker

7.30pm, Glyde House A dedicated area league where members play poker to win leader board points & qualify for the local area finals. We play in the Library Bar of Glyde House (opposite the ice rink) in Bradford city centre. Newcomers are always very welcome and we’ll teach you how to play if you don’t know.

Christmas Concert

7 - 9.30pm, Bradford Grammar School Our Christmas Concert is open to everyone and features our choirs, ensembles, big band and senior orchestra – guaranteed to get you in the festive spirit. Refreshments will be served during the interval. www.bgschristmasconcert.eventbrite. co.uk

Wednesday 7 December Wednesday @ One

1pm, Bradford Cathedral The season of weekly lunchtime organ recitals draws to a close with concert organist Keith Hearnshaw. Recitals start at 1pm and are free with a retiring collection. 01274 777720 www.bradfordcathedral.org @ Bfdcathedral

Sam & The Womp

7pm, Al’s Dime Bar Their debut single Bom Bom shot straight to No 1 in the UK music charts in August 2012 and sold over a million copies worldwide. Trumpeter and chief rabble-rouser Sam Ritchie and singer/songwriter Bloom De Wilde, of Sam and the Womp, are at Dime Bar to make you forget it’s December, and bring their unique style of Brass & Bass. Featuring support slots from Marc & Abi of Issimo Music, and Sleepy Jake & The Duvets.

Murderpuss!

7pm, The Black Swan One half of the black swan management, Ryan goes 31 and we wanna celebrate! Murderpuss takes our stage and blows off the roof! Then we’ve our own DJ Poprocks and DJ Ray to run the show and to get the party going till 1am! This is gunna be awesome! Doors open at 4pm... keeping Bradford live

Thursday 8 December

The Gift Of Christmas – Papercut Demonstration by Luke Owens 10am to 3pm, Bradford Cathedral Come and watch the artist at work and chat to him about his intricate designs. All welcome - free entry - donations appreciated. 01274 777720 www.bradfordcathedral.org @Bfdcathedral www.facebook.com/stpeterbradford

Dan Burnett

www.facebook.com/stpeterbradford

8pm, Al’s Dime Bar Over the last few years, Dan Burnett has written and recorded music for TV & film, and has gigged extensively throughout the UK, Europe and the USA. His blues/soul/funk music is appreciated around the globe. All we want to know is, can you get down and drink with the Dimers!

Bradford Brewery Quiz Night

Marxism and Ecology

8pm, Bradford Brewery Join us at the Brewery every Wednesday from 8pm for our weekly Pub Quiz! Our loveable quizmaster Alison makes it unlike any other...Free food as always, with a cash prize and beer to be won. www.facebook.com/BradfordBrewery

7pm The Bradford Hotel Capitalism, socialism and the future of the planet. Martin Empsom explores Karl Marx’s understanding of the environment and his approach and powerful insights for those who believe that capitalism is the biggest barrier in the struggle to save the planet.

What’s On? 31


Topic Folk Club

8.30pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Roger Davies. Hugely popular local singer/songwriter with his own take on local people/events. www.topic-folk-club.org.uk

UnCommons #2

8pm - 11pm, Delius Arts and Cultural Centre UnCommons #2 - Art, Music, Wearable Technology Party. Afterparty for National Media Museum’s Lates exploring wearable technology in a German church with immersive virtual reality audiovisual exploration for smartphones from Annabeth Robinson and Marlo De Lara. Dead Air Party silent gig featuring Chrononautz, Algobabez and more. £5 / pay-as-you-feel. www.bradford.ac.uk/music and www. artworkscreative.org.uk/projects/events

Friday 9 December Tom McKenzie

8pm, The Castle Tom is a singer-songwriter from Bradford. He performs both original songs and covers around Yorkshire. His songs range from acoustic folk to indie and he has performed in many venues including York Racecourse, Leeds University Union and Bradford Centenary Square, with radio play on BBC Leeds, BBC York, BCB, Redroad, Bishop FM and Phonic FM.

Jazz at the Delius: Adrian Ingram’s Cookbook

7.30pm Doors, Delius Arts & Cultural Centre The last instalment of Jazz at the Delius sees a grooving double bill, beginning with Calvin Travers and closing with Adrian Ingram’s Cookbook. £10 (£8 Conc.) | £5 Student.

Saturday 10 December

Monday 12 December

8pm, Als Dime Bar Tom and the boys are back, to sing, drink, try steal their bullhorn back from over-zealous dime bartenders...... it’s all good fun.

7-9pm, Bradford Cathedral Held in the Cathedral for the second year running, our talented musicians will perform a selection of readings and carols for your enjoyment. Refreshments will be served after the performance. Everyone is welcome.

Good Citizens

Griff’s Magic Theatre

9pm - 3am, The Mill All-vinyl underground 60s and 70s psychedelic, rock, soul and progressive. £5/£3.

Kascarade album launch

8pm, The Underground Kascarade will be live in their home town of Bradford for a pre-Christmas celebration of live music to celebrate the release of their new album. This event is absolutely FREE! With support from Simon Stubbs. Turn up and enjoy some great live independent new music.

Rebel Cat Events

7:30pm Doors, 1in12 Club Rebel Cat presents its fourth gig featuring Sods Law (DIY punk from Derby), Failed State (hardcore punk from Bridgend) and Subvision (Hardcore Punk from central Scotland). £4 members/£5 guests

The Ladybears of Leeds Christmas Show

8.30pm, The Sun Hotel Outrageous Cabaret Every Saturday Night at The Sun from 8.30pm

Fallen

10pm, Trash, Bradford Live rock music from Fallen. £4 adv. £5 on the door.

www.artworkscreative.org.uk/projects/ events

Send us your event listings...

Nine Lessons and Carols

www.bgscarolservice.eventbrite.co.uk

Beehive Poets

8.30pm, The New Beehive Visiting poets Peter Pegnall and Bob Horne join the Beehive Poets. Admission by £3 donation www.beehivepoets.org.uk

Del & Rodney: The Comedy Dinner Show

7.30pm, The Alhambra Theatre A live situation comedy dining experience, performed in Restaurant 1914. This hilarious evening of pure theatrical improvisational comedy and caricature is fabulous entertainment... complete with a three-course meal. www.bradford-theatres.co.uk/

Tuesday 13 December

Acoustic North Open Mic Night

8pm, Glyde House Open mic performers play 2 numbers each and our featured artist plays for approx. 30/40 mins. Depending on numbers attending, we continue with more open mic performers. Sessions attract top musicians as well as new artists from across West Yorkshire. Free entry.

Ted & Co: The Comedy Dinner Show

7.30pm, The Alhambra Theatre Performed in Restaurant 1914 as you dine, Ted & Co - The Christmas Comedy Dinner Show includes a three-course meal and hilarious entertainment with pure theatrical improvisational comedy and caricature.

If you have an event you would like to feature in our listings please email events@thebradfordreview.co.uk. All listings are free of charge and are administered on a first come first served basis.

32 What’s On?


Saltaire Live Presents: Albion Christmas

8pm, Victoria Hall Ashley Hutchings, Simon Nicol, Kellie While & Simon Care with an evening of seasonal music, carols & stories capturing the spirit of a more traditional Christmas. The ideal evening for those seeking an antidote to shopping centres & Slade.

Wednesday 14 December Wednesday @ One

1pm, Bradford Cathedral The season of weekly lunchtime organ recitals draws to a close with concert organist Keith Hearnshaw. Recitals start at 1pm and are free with a retiring collection. 01274 777720 www.bradfordcathedral.org @ Bfdcathedral www.facebook.com/stpeterbradford

Thursday 15 December Topic Folk Club

8.15 pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane Jez Lowe and the Bad Pennies Christmas Show - Snowed In. Top quality seasonal entertainment from one of the North East’s finest performers and his band www.topic-folk-club.org.uk

Crazy Crafters - Knitting / Needlework Group

Meet the 1st & 3rd Thursdays every month at Glyde House, come along and have a natter while you knit away, or we welcome all forms of wool and needlecraft, not just knitting. New Members always welcome, and for further detail please contact Su Mitchell 07767 087142 or email semitchell00@gmail.com

Friday 16 December

Singers, Musicians & Poets night 8pm, The Castle Come and sing a song, play a tune, recite a poem or come and relax and listen and enjoy the atmosphere whilst supping a pint of real ale.

34 What’s On?

The Voodoo Bats (Taking Over) single launch

8pm, The Underground The Voodoo Bats are an indie rock band from Bradford who have gone from strength to strength in recent years, earning numerous airplays on radio stations such as BBC Introducing , BCB Radio , Phoenix FM.. and the list goes on. The band are rapidly making noise around Yorkshire and have some of the most energetic, maddest fans in the local scene.

Nervous ‘Orse

8pm, Al’s Dime Bar Back at Dime Bar, no doubt to a big Christmassy crowd.

JATP Jazz

8.30pm, Glyde House JATP Jazz presents Andre Canniere Sextet. £7 entry.

Wilful Missing Christmas Party & Midland Road Nursery School Fundraiser

A catch-up with friends, some snacks and some music – what’s not to like. Festive drinks, singing Santa and a funk & soul DJ from London! All in the lovely German church that is Delius Arts & Cultural Centre. £5 on the door. www.artworkscreative.org.uk/projects/ events

Saturday 17 December

A Musical Christmas Feast from Bradford Festival Choral Society and City of Bradford Brass Band 6pm Bradford Grammar School Get into the Christmas spirit with traditional Christmas carols and exciting arrangements of favourite seasonal melodies accompanied by seasonal refreshments. What better way to end a day of Christmas shopping! bradfordfestivalchoralsociety.org.uk

G.O.D Soundsystem

10pm - 4am, The Mill Jungle, Dub and DnB night.

Peter Pan

Various Times, until 29 Jan, The Alhambra Theatre King of Bradford pantomime Billy Pearce boards the Jolly Roger and

heads to Neverland to star alongside Darren Day, Charlie Hardwick and Jon Lee in this year’s swashbuckling Alhambra Theatre pantomime Peter Pan.

Sunday 18 December

Nine Lessons And Carols

4pm, Bradford Cathedral A traditional service telling the Christmas story with readings and music from across the centuries. All welcome – free entry – retiring collection. 01274 777720. www. bradfordcathedral.org @Bfdcathedral www.facebook.com/stpeterbradford

Monday 19 December Beehive Poets

8.30 p.m, The New Beehive Remembering Gerard Benson - a reading and talk facilitated by Cathy Benson and Beehive members. www.beehivepoets.org.uk

The City Carol Service

6pm, Bradford Cathedral An opportunity for all those living, working or visiting the city to join the Lord Mayor, the West Yorkshire Fire & Rescue Service Band and the Cathedral Choir for an hour of preparation for Christmas. All welcome – free entry – retiring collection. 01274 777720. www. bradfordcathedral.org @Bfdcathedral www.facebook.com/stpeterbradford

Tuesday 20 December

Alex Eden’s Blues Jam

8pm, Factory St. Studios Alex Eden (Crosscut Saw) will be hosting this special blues jam. Once a month you’ll be able to get up with the house band, join in, dance and enjoy some quality blues with some of the finest blues musicians in the country. www.factorystreet.co.uk/musicevents/

Grassroots Poker

7.30pm, Glyde House A dedicated area league where members play poker to win leader board points & qualify for the local


area finals. We play in the Library Bar of Glyde House (opposite the ice rink) in Bradford city centre. Newcomers are always very welcome and we’ll teach you how to play if you don’t know.

Wednesday 21 December Abiders ft. Velveteens

8pm, Al’s Dime Bar The Abiders, featuring the Velveteens, are bringing their strictly 60s covers to Dime Bar to spread some Christmassy joy!

Thursday 22 December Topic Folk Club

8.30 pm Glyde House, Glydegate, Little Horton Lane BD5 0BQ Bric-a-Brac - foot-stomping original and traditional songs and tunes from this excellent young band featuring Bradford’s own Bella Gaffney. Plus the Holbeck Moor Mummers with their seasonal offering. www.topic-folk-club.org.uk

Friday 23 December Listen Up!

9pm-2am, Bradford Brewery Trainer Trouble/DIG! DJs plus special guests playing funk, soul, afro, reggae, hip hop and disco records to late night Bradford. Free entry. www.facebook.com/listenupbradford

Saturday 24 December

Annual Christmas Eve Cathedral Choir Recital

1pm, Bradford Cathedral The Cathedral Choir sing an entertaining mix of carols and other seasonal music this annual Christmas Eve concert. All welcome – free entry – retiring collection. 01274 777720. www.bradfordcathedral.org @Bfdcathedral www.facebook.com/stpeterbradford

Beer And Hymns

7:30 until late, Bradford Brewery It’s a time of celebration and goodwill. come join our Graeme for a festive beer and some hymns. See Facebook and Twitter for more information www.facebook.com/BradfordBrewery

Sunday 25 December Christmas Drinks

Saturday 31 December New Years Eve

9pm until late, Bradford Brewery The party of all parties. Bon voyage and farewell to our manager Ally. Let’s give her a party to remember and the celebration of a New Year. Dress code - anything goes as long as you look fabulous, you know Ally loves a bit of sparkle. DJs, food and good beer. www.facebook.com/BradfordBrewery

New Year’s Eve Party

11pm till late, 1875 Bar NYE after party till late with awardwinning roadshow DJ. See in 2017 in style and dance the night away till early morning. Free entry.

Blend Masquerade

10pm - 4am, The Mill New Years Eve party featuring reggae, disco, house, breaks and hip hop. Bring a mask.

3pm-6pm, Bradford Brewery It’s our staff/family Christmas at the brewery so, if you’ve had enough of Christmas food and TV, take a stroll into Bradford and call into the Brewery and have a beer with staff and friends. www.facebook.com/BradfordBrewery

Thursday 29 December

Saltaire Live Presents: Salsa Celtic

8.15pm, Victoria Hall Playing in Saltaire two nights before they play Edinburgh’s Hogmanay street party, Salsa Celtica is a band that does what it says on the tin - a dozen musicians from Scotland, Ireland and Latin America, each bringing the sounds of their own musical heritage to the mix.

Send us your event listings...

If you have an event you would like to feature in our listings please email events@thebradfordreview.co.uk. All listings are free of charge and are administered on a first come first served basis. What’s On? 37


MORE TO EXPLORE. THE MINI COOPER 5-DOOR HATCH WITH FLEXIBLE FINANCE. The MINI Cooper 5-door Hatch delivers the same go-kart handling with more handles. Aside from two extra rear doors, it seats three people in the back, has more leg room and is packed with iconic design and hi-tech innovations. MINI Select Representative example: MINI Cooper 5-door Hatch. Term of agreement 47 monthly payments On the road cash price* Customer deposit

48 months £195.00 £15,151.98 £195.00

JCT600 deposit contribution

£1,400.00

Total amount of credit

£13,556.98

Option to purchase fee^

£1.00

Optional final payment^

£6,732.69

Total amount payable

£17,492.69

Rate of interest

5.9% fixed Representative 5.9% APR

To discover more please call 01274 263600 or visit www.jct600mini.co.uk

JCT600 99 Sticker Lane, Bradford BD4 8RU

MINI FINANCIAL SERVICES Official Fuel Economy Figures for the MINI Cooper 5-door Hatch: Urban 47.9 mpg (5.9 l/100km). Extra Urban 70.6 mpg (4.0 l/100km). Combined 60.1 mpg (4.7 l/100km). CO2 Emissions 109 g/km. Figures may vary depending on driving style and conditions. JCT600 Ltd is a credit broker and not a lender. Finance example is for a MINI Select agreement for a MINI Cooper 5-door Hatch, with a contract mileage of 8,000 miles per annum and excess mileage charge of 4.67p per mile plus VAT. Applies to new vehicles ordered between 1 October and 31 December 2016 and registered by 31 March 2017 (subject to availability). Retail customers only. *On the road cash price is based on manufacturer’s recommended retail price and includes 3 year MINI Retailer Warranty, MINI Emergency Service, 12 months’ road fund licence, vehicle first registration fee, delivery, number plates and VAT. ^Optional final payment and option to purchase fee not payable if you opt to return the vehicle at the end of the agreement (vehicle condition, excess mileage and other charges may be payable). Finance available subject to credit acceptance to UK residents aged 18 or over. Guarantees and indemnities may be required. Terms and conditions apply. Offer may be varied, withdrawn or extended at any time. ‘MINI Select’ is a form of hire-purchase agreement provided by MINI Financial Services, Summit ONE, Summit Avenue, Farnborough, Hampshire GU14 0FB. You will have a 14 day statutory right to withdraw from the agreement. JCT600 Ltd commonly introduce customers to a selected panel of lenders including MINI Financial Services. We may receive commission or other benefits for introducing you to such lenders. This introduction does not amount to independent financial advice. Calls will be recorded for training purposes. Image shown for illustration purposes only.


Orde your r

car n ow

BROWSE. TRY. BUY. View over 4,000 vehicles online at

www.jct600.co.uk CE

L E B R AT I N G

70 YEARS

Aston Martin | Audi | Bentley | BMW | Ferrari | Kia | Lotus | Maserati | Mazda Mercedes-Benz | MINI | Peugeot | Porsche | SEAT | smart | Vauxhall | Volkswagen


The best of Bradford by Haigh Simpson

MyLahore

Mamma Mia

MyLahore have been serving up a unique blend of British Asian deliciousness for over a decade.

Mamma Mia has been preparing and serving authentic italian food in Bradford for over 30 years and thanks to a recent refurb, the city centre restaurant is as popular as ever.

From the way they cook to the way they design their menus MyLahore really stands out. Their funky approach to food means you can mix things up a little with MyLahore – just as their passionate chefs do every time they create a new mouth-watering dish. Their unique menu offers a healthy modern twist on Asian food and a hybrid of British puddings with national curry dishes, catering for the next generation of British Asian consumers and mainstream markets.

40 The Best of Harrogate

The menu offers a range of Italian favourites including authentic pizzas and an extensive range of vegetarian dishes. All the pasta and pizza doughs are made fresh on the premises using authentic recipes and ingredients sourced direct from Italy. A blackboard of special dishes changes frequently, offering seasonal produce and fish with the occasional creative surprise from the Massimo family kitchen! .


The Sparrow

Cona Restaurant

Bradford’s original bier cafe opened in north parade back in May 2011. Les and Mark had a simple aim – to provide good quality and ever-changing beers, supported with locally sourced platters and snacks in a unique environment.

Cona is a stylish, upmarket restaurant located in Little Germany that prides itself on creating beautiful dishes using the best ingredients around.

More than five years down the line this is what The Sparrow continues to do. There are eight ever-changing beers on tap, three classic Czech pilsners and a wide selection of both classic and cutting edge bottles and cans, wines and spirits and soft drinks including the finest full roast Italian bar blend coffee. All of The Sparrow’s food – from free pie and peas on Bradford City home games through artisan scotch eggs to European meat and cheese platters – continues to be sourced locally.

The experience at Cona begins in welcoming understated surroundings, a space that celebrates the simplicity of world class products in both the kitchen and the dining environment. Menus are product-driven, serving seasonal, innovative and classic dishes on clear understanding of flavour. Above all else the food should impress through its sheer simplicity and restraint.

The Best of Harrogate 41


A Quick Chat with

Dean McPhee

Dean is a solo guitarist. He has released music on the Hood Faire, Blast First Petite and Folklore Tapes labels. He works as part of the Youth Homelessness Team for the Leaving Care Service in Bradford. Favourite Bradford venue?? It would be impossible to name just one. A few favourites off the top of my head are the Delius Arts Centre, Fuse Art Space, The Kirkgate Centre, The 1 in 12 Club, the Bradford Playhouse and Merchants Quay.

Favourite place to eat out in Bradford? I like falafel wraps and enjoy going to places like Pakeezah, Judi Bakery and Oasis to pick one up while I’m out and about.

Name a famous Bradfordian Adrian Edmondson. I’m a big fan of comedy and I absolutely loved The Young Ones when I was a kid – especially Vyvyan and his random acts of violence and destruction.

Bradford event you could not live without? I really like the Threadfest and Recon Festivals. It’s great to see all the diverse and unusual music that’s brought to Bradford from around the world when these events take place.

Bradford business you admire I really like The Triangle in Shipley. It sells an incredible array of excellent beers from around the world as well as delicious food from the Edward Street Bakery.


PRESTON STREET | BRADFORD | BD7 1LU

DECEMBER EVENTS SATURDAY DECEMBER 3RD

REGGAEMATIC ROOTS NIGHT

POWERED BY THE MIGHTY APACHI HI-FI XL SYSTEM

10PM-4AM £5 • SATURDAY DECEMBER 10TH

GRIFFS MAGIC THEATRE

ALL VINYL UNDERGROUND 60S+70S PSYCHEDELIC ROCK/SOUL/PROGRESSIVE

9PM-3AM £5/£3 • SATURDAY DECEMBER 17TH

G.O.D. SOUNDS SYSTEM

10PM-4AM (DETAILS ON EVENT PAGE) • SATURDAY DECEMBER 31ST

NEW YEARS EVE - BLEND MASQUERAVE

REGGAE/DISCO/HOUSE/BREAKS/HIP-HOP - BRING MASK

TICKETS £15 (DETAILS ON EVENT PAGE) WWW.THEMILLBRADFORD.COM


COMEDY DINNER SHOWS

Restaurant 1914 at the Alhambra Theatre Join us for these fantastic dinner events that combine great food with hilarious comedy! Doors 7pm, events start 7.30pm. Tickets: £46.50* (includes three-course dinner) Entertainment by Laughlines Comedy Entertainment

Monday 30 January

Del & Rodney Your hosts for the evening look like Del, Rodney, Uncle Albert and friends - the crème brûlée of Peckham! A great night out packed with funny live songs, laughter, music, and interaction.

Tuesday 31 January

Edmund & Queenie Step back in time to Medieval Britain where your host for the evening is Queen Elizabeth I, who majestically sits on her high throne throughout your meal. Guests are cordially invited to meet and greet and bow to the Queen, but watch out, she may have your head!

*inclusive of booking fees

The Bradford Review | Issue 22 | December 2016  

A free, monthly events and culture magazine for Bradford

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you