Page 1

Thank you The Family Holiday Association thanks everyone who has given money, donated time and helped the charity during the year. Without your help, we would not be able to continue our work to help disadvantaged families.

Charitable Trusts and Foundations 29th May 1961 Charitable Trust Pamela Barlow Charitable Trust Sydney Black Charitable Trust The Bothwell Charitable Trust The Cadogan Charity CHK Charities The Coutts Charitable Trust The Davis Rubens Charitable Trust The Leopold De Rothschild Charitable Trust D M Charitable Trust The Eagle Charity Trust Arnold Edward Charitable Trust Maud Elkington Charitable Trust Enkalon Foundation Excel Fund The ExPat Foundation The Finderman Charitable Trust The Fifty Fund The Fitton Trust The Patrick Frost Foundation The G W Trust The Glossop Family Trust The Helianthus Charitable Trust The Alan Edward Higgs Charity

John James Bristol Foundation The Jarman Charitable Trust Sir James Knott Trust Morris and Margaret Kramer Memorial Trust Beatrice Laing Trust The Langtree Trust Paul Lunn-Rockliffe Charitable Trust The Michael & Harriet Maunsell Charitable Trust Meeting industry meeting needs Mary & Mike Monaghan Trust G M Morrison Charitable Trust The Leanne & Winston Newman Charitable Trust Pitt-Rivers Charitable Trust The Rothley Trust Joseph & Ann Slater Memorial Fund The Sir James Reckitt Charity Rest-Harrow Trust ESG Robinson Charitable Trust The Patricia and Donald Shepherd Charitable Trust The Sykes Trust Hugo Symons Charitable Trust The Taylour Foundation Traynor Foundation Edward Vinson 1957 Charity Settlement

Turnbull Wetherlam Charitable Trust White Family Charitable Trust Wilmcote Charitrust Wirrel Trust Companies 101 Holidays Andorra Resorts Argyle Recruitment Arnold Fisher Bourne Leisure Canvas Holidays Citybond Suretravel Compass Group UK Dellar Davies Steve Dunlop Photography Europ Assistance First Choice First Great Western Flagship Consulting Harp Wallen Executive Recruitment Malta Tourist Office Representation Plus Soundelivery Sparkler Teletext Ltd Thomson Airways bases: Belfast, Birmingham, Bournemouth, Bristol, Cardiff, Doncaster, Dublin, East Midlands, Exeter, Gatwick, Glasgow, Luton, Manchester, Newcastle, Stansted

Our council and patrons President Lady Mary Mumford Founders Joan Laurence BEM Patrick Laurence (deceased January 2008) Patrons Jean Boht John Carter Mr Justice Coleridge Mansukh Ganatra Professor K Holt John Jay Peter Long Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor Lord Pearson of Rannoch Libby Purves Lady Ruth Rendell Sir Jonathan Sacks, Chief Rabbi Prunella Scales Anthony Solomons Sir Harry Solomon His Honour Anthony Tibber Most Revd and Rt Hon Dr Rowan Williams, Lord Archbishop of Canterbury Council officers Chair – Ian Reynolds Vice Chair – Alison Rice Treasurer – Keith Graham Council members David Burling Tony Caplin Felicity Clarkson Richard Clegg Penny Cushing Pippa Isbell Martha Osamor Kristina Wallen

3 Gainsford Street London SE1 2NE Telephone: 020 3117 0650 info@FamilyHolidayAssociation.org.uk www.FamilyHolidayAssociation.org.uk Twitter @famholidayassoc Registered charity number 800262 A company Limited by Guarantee registered number 2301337 England Written and designed by Cottier Sidaway Printed by Clifford Martin Press

Got a smartphone? Follow this link to view a video about our work.

Getting a break Review of 2011


2011

2010

£

£

Incoming resources Donations and gifts

1,239,762

1,253,134

Trading operations

1

730

Investment income

6,526

6,053

13,214

0

1,259,503

1,259,917

Direct charitable expenditure

989,691

996,660

Fundraising and publicity

296,025

330,853

Disposal of Fixed Assets Total Resources expended

Trading operations Governance Total Movement for the year

Our holiday was brilliant During 2011, the Family Holiday Association helped 2,018 families take a much-needed break. One of those families was the Dintons. Their referral agent, David suggested he apply to the Family Holiday Association on their behalf. He used our new online application form to apply for a week-long break at a UK holiday park. David recommended that we help the family take a break to give Mum, Sue the opportunity to spend time with her two daughters and her husband without worrying about her other caring responsibilities. Sue cares for her own mother and her brother too. They both have Huntington’s disease and have numerous medical appointments. David felt that the family would benefit from some time away from their often hectic and stressful home life.

1 in 3 families cannot afford a one-week break away from home

121

42,922

19,167

7,078

1,305,004

1,377,513

(45,501)

(117,596)

3,044

8,730

Funds brought forward

719,750

828,616

Funds carried forward

677,293

719,750

Fixed assets & investments

370,847

291,574

Net current assets

306,446

428,176

Total funds

677,293

719,750

Change in valuation of investments

Summary balance sheet

Expenditure 2011

76% Direct charitable

23% Fundraising and publicity 1% Governance

Auditors Carter Backer Winter Enterprise House 21 Buckle Street London E1 8NN Solicitors Berwin Leighton Paisner Adelaide House London Bridge London EC4R 9HA Bankers Barclays Bank plc 99 Hatton Garden London EC1N 3DN Caf Bank Kings Hill West Malling Kent ME19 4TA Investment managers James Capel Investment Management HSBC Investment Bank plc 6 Bevis Marks London EC3 3JQ

Thomson travel shops Travel Bulletin Travel Daily Travel Trade Gazette and ttglive Travel Weekly TravelMole TravelTime World TUI Travel PLC Vertical Systems Legacies Mrs Jane Burton Mary Elizabeth Colville Anthony Ronald Edwards Hilary Howard Fry Miss Muriel Large Douglas & Joy Read Joan Rebecca Rowan Irene Mary Smith Local groups North London Friends of the Family Holiday Association Rotherham Holiday Aid Sheffield Family Holiday Fund Other groups and associations ABTA – the Travel Association The Dutch Church Grays Convent School Institute of Our Lady of Mercy

Resolution – First For Family Law UNISON There for You Travel Industry Fundraising Forum Roger Allard Eric Campus Alison Cryer Jackie Murphy Mandy Nickerson Ronnie Simkins Jacqueline Steadman Kristina Wallen London Marathon Team 2011 Philippa Baines Sean Butler Tania Dean Shona Eldridge Andy Fraser Cali Gill Peter Harper Peridot Harrison Jac Heale Ewan Henesy Rebecca King Jayne Lambert Andrew Mitchell Jayne Molyneux Matthew Nolan Pat Prendiville Sharon Ritchie Gordon Ritter Paul Stocker

Alice Thackray Graham Thurman Andrew Williams Rupert Williams James Worrall Graham Wright Family Policy & Programme Committee Felicity Clarkson Penny Cushing Helen Ford Eleanor Frost Lorraine Gibson Joan Laurance BEM Martha Osamor Nick Woodall Staff John McDonald, Director Patricia Appleby James Astley Michelle Barnes Hazel East Tracy Green Joe Hipgrave Sarah Johnson Thea Joldersma Emma Rowland Rosie Smith


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 3

The family spent a week in a caravan at a holiday park at the British seaside. When they returned home we asked Tilly, aged 10 to tell us all about her break. “We went to the seaside and stayed in a caravan. It was just me, my Mum and Dad and my sister. We never go anywhere just us, because my Mum looks after my Granny and my Uncle Tom. They are poorly with Huntington’s disease. “We live near them and I love visiting them. We play snakes and ladders and ludo. Sometimes we have to stay at home while Mum takes them to hospital. She’s gone for ages and we have to stay with Dad or a neighbour. It’s sad that Granny and Uncle Tom have to go to the hospital a lot. “When we go anywhere, it’s always with them. We all went to the seaside for a day last year. We went on a coach and ate sandwiches on the beach. Going on holiday with them is difficult, says Mum. This year when Mum said we could go on holiday me and my sister were excited. Then she said Granny and Uncle Tom weren’t coming. We were a bit sad about that.

“We had lots of fun and Mum kept saying how great it was. We went to a brilliant beach where we collected lots of shells, we rode karts and we walked through a forest to reach the coast – it was amazing. “Mum was really happy and smiley all the time we were there. And when we got home she was too. She said she felt really relaxed. When we walked through the woods, Mum and Dad even held hands. They never do that! Now they sometimes do when they watch TV. Me and my sister think it’s a bit too lovey-dovey, but we like that they’re so happy. “While we were away we sent Granny and Uncle Tom postcards. When we got home, we went straight round to see them. It was fun telling them all about our holiday. And they really liked the photos we had taken at the beach. Granny has one on her mantelpiece. “Mum and Dad often talk about our holiday too. Mum calls it ‘our wee break’ and says it made a big difference. I love telling all my friends about our holiday.”


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 4

Making it happen The Family Holiday Association believes everyone should be able to enjoy a break and leisure activities regardless of their circumstances. We have been helping struggling families, like the Dintons, take a break since 1975. In that time, we have helped more than 130,000 parents and children take a break. A break away from home can: ● reduce stress ●

make families healthier and happier

boost confidence levels

help families talk and share worries and ideas

create valuable memories

help families learn new skills and improve their chances of finding jobs.

We work in partnership with a range of organisations to give parents and children a holiday or day trip. By providing vouchers and grants and working alongside other organisations, we help over 2,000 families take a break each year. We work with charities like NSPCC and Barnardo’s and other referral agents, such as health visitors, social workers and teachers, who help the families book their holidays. They also help us gather feedback, to monitor and improve our services.

During 2011, we helped

2,018 families take a break


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 5

Jayne Watson Referral agent

Each year, we offer: ● seven-night holiday park breaks with partners like Butlins and Haven ●

short breaks of three and four nights in self-catering accommodation, again at selected UK holiday parks

direct grants, in limited cases, towards any type of break, for example a visit to relatives

last-minute breaks, in the UK or overseas, given by travel companies for families who can travel at short notice

group breaks, organised by a referral agent for a group of families.

During 2011, we helped 2,018 families take a break. We also achieved some significant milestones, such as the launch of the Giving Britain a Break report by the All-Party Parliamentary Group on social tourism, the establishment of a database of research into social tourism and the purchase of three new caravans.

“I’m a community development officer for a regeneration project in Camp Hill, Nuneaton. A large part of my job is to engage with families and encourage them to participate in their communities. “I discovered the Family Holiday Association recently. Thea [Joldersma, Programme & Policy Manager] sent an email to Warwickshire County Council about funds and it was perfect timing for me. Some families won’t let their children go away without them, which often means they don’t get a break, so family breaks are brilliant. “Many of the families we work with are at crisis point. Everybody in the world knows a holiday does you good. It’s seen as a mainstream activity and it isn’t. Helping families with a holiday gives them something to look forward to. It gives them time away from their circumstances. It’s a time for them to strengthen their relationships, to bond with each other. It’s no different to any other family; it’s what any family goes on holiday for, but for the families we work with, the benefits are bigger.”


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 6

In partnership Without our partners, much of our work would be impossible. We are pleased to collaborate with like-minded sponsors and organisations. They help us provide families on low incomes with holiday and leisure opportunities, a concept known as social tourism, as well as working with us to promote awareness of the importance of holidays.

Feel Good breaks These group breaks are aimed at improving the quality of life for families struggling with a range of issues and problems.They give disadvantaged families opportunities to enjoy a fun, relaxing break while being introduced to new activities around the themes of eating well, being active and feeling good. 37 families from Nuneaton, Rotherham and Sheffield enjoyed a Feel Good break during 2011. They visited locations that included Crowden and Castleton YHAs in Derbyshire and Habershon House in North Yorkshire. We will continue to develop and improve these opportunities, gathering feedback from organisers and hosts, as well as the families themselves.

All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on social tourism Thanks to the APPG, the Family Holiday Association witnessed a real milestone, with the launch of the report Giving Britain a Break in October 2011. This report is the result of the APPG’s inquiry into the social and economic benefits of social tourism. In the spring and summer of 2011, they gathered evidence from more than 25 interested organisations to produce the report and raise awareness of this concept, which is already widely understood in much of Europe. As the APPG’s chairman, Paul Maynard MP said at the launch, “We are but at a starting point. We aim to build the foundation on which much will subsequently be erected. There must be recognition that raising awareness of


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 7

what we are talking about, and placing it on the political agenda, are crucial objectives before we go any further.” You can read all the evidence and download a copy of the report from our website FamilyHolidayAssociation.org.uk under the Social Tourism tab. There for You We are also proud to partner There for You, the welfare arm of the trade union, UNISON. Under the banner of Wellbeing Breaks over 100 UNISON members were provided with a much-needed break. Improving our understanding Sarah Johnson, our KTP Research Associate has had a busy year. Now over halfway through a two-year Knowledge Transfer Partnership with the charity and the University of Nottingham, Sarah has conducted research, attended conferences, written and presented papers and established the Social Tourism Knowledge Bank. Launched in the autumn, the Social Tourism Knowledge Bank is the first online database of social tourism literature. Hosted on our website at FamilyHolidayAssociation.org.uk, under the Social Tourism tab, the database is freely available to everyone. It is constantly being updated to reflect developments in the evidence and literature on social tourism and its benefits. To fulfil her aim of increasing the evidence base for social tourism, Sarah has undertaken several research projects, including a large survey measuring the impact of breaks for families against

Paul Maynard MP – All-Party Parliamentary Group

“Twelve months ago I had never heard of ’social tourism’. I suspect that there will be those who read our report Giving Britain a Break, who are as unaware of the concept as I was before I met the Family Holiday Association. “What attracted me to this endeavour over a year ago, in addition to the persuasiveness and vision of the charity, was the way in which the issue represented an overlap between social policy and tourism policy – two personal interests of mine. “But it would be naïve to not address the fact that we are living in constrained economic times, with no giant pot of money at the Government’s disposal. What this report has tried to do is put forward a range of ideas grounded in the evidence we have collected that will not necessitate vast sums of Government expenditure.”


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 8

established measures for well-being. She has also been demonstrating the importance of evidence and research into social tourism by attending the European Network for Social Policy Analysis conference in Valencia, where she gave a presentation on social tourism in the UK. Her presentation was based on an article written with academic colleagues, which will be published in the near future. Sarah also attended the European Social Tourism Forum in Malta. There she gave a wellreceived presentation to the Social Tourism Research Alliance. European Holiday Experience This year, three families from Delce School in Rochester enjoyed a European Holiday Experience. They travelled to Flanders, Belgium in August 2011. This was part of a long-running partnership with the school.

Visit England We hope to work with Visit England, the English tourist board, on researching and promoting social tourism. With this in mind, Programme & Policy Manager, Thea Joldersma attended the EU Tourism Officer (EUTO) study tour of Italy in October. It was a valuable opportunity to exchange information, learn, network and identify other potential partners for our work. Together with Phil Evans from Visit England, Thea has helped to draft the EUTO social tourism statement. You can find this on our website, under the Social Tourism tab. We are also pleased to have collaborated with organisations, such as Willow Foundation, Scouts Holiday Homes Trust and Newstraid, during 2011.

1 in 5 families cannot even afford a day trip


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 9

Putting the fun into fundraising We feel very privileged that so many organisations and individuals support our work and fundraise for us. Their efforts and contributions help us to give deserving families a break away from home. We always like to show our appreciation for your generous and often innovative fundraising. As part of thanking our supporters, last year, we invited representatives from TUI Travel PLC to a reception at the House of Commons. At the reception in July, HRH Princess Alexandra presented Peter Long, TUI Travel PLC’s Chief Executive with an award recognising the fundraising efforts of the company’s staff and customers (picture overleaf).


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 10

TUI UK & Ireland TUI UK & Ireland is the parent company of well-known brands Thomson and First Choice, and across the business so many staff and customers have generously donated, danced and baked to help us continue our important work. Thomson Airways crew and passengers have collected over £700,000 in spare change over the last two years. In 2011, the Overseas team handed over a massive cheque for £65,000. Among many other uses, this money will benefit families staying in our Combe Haven caravan this season, a caravan originally purchased by the Overseas Team in 2010. Staff at Thomson and First Choice shops in high streets all over the UK have been cycling, walking, running, jumping from planes and sleeping in haunted houses to raise money. Just Go The Just Go team raised an amazing £11,000, which sponsored our caravan at Presthaven Sands. Two of our staff members met some of the Just Go fundraisers at the caravan in the autumn. They were all impressed at what their support had achieved. Canvas Holidays Magnificent fundraising efforts by Canvas Holidays over the past two years means we will soon have our first caravan in Scotland. We hope the caravan will host around 30 families every year.

Video This year, we were pleased to launch a new short film with a powerful message to be used by our corporate supporters. The film is voiced by actor Nicola Stephenson and was produced by The Fantastics. It is available on our website and via YouTube. Thomson Airways is also showing a version of the video on its flights. It will have been viewed by many thousands of people. Appeals As always, we have run several mailing appeals this year. They were important in helping us to purchase and fit out three new caravans, replacing caravans that had provided great services but were looking a bit tired. We have a fleet of 12 caravans, and we have plans to replace more of these, based in Skegness, during the coming year. Remembering the Family Holiday Association in your will Many people remember us in their wills for which we are always grateful. Leaving money to the Family Holiday Association will allow even more families to get a break in years to come.


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 11

Events Our supporters love a good, long run, and during 2011, many of them completed the London Marathon on our behalf. The London Marathon 2011 team raised a fantastic £40,000. Throwing yourself out of a plane is another popular fundraising method. 16 brave people, representing TUI and HomeAway UK, went skydiving to raise money for us in June. As well as raising a lot of smiles, their adventure also raised £6,000. Big Give Thanks to the Reed Foundation, we took part in the Big Give Christmas Challenge 2011. During the first week in December, the Big Give website matched donations pound for pound. Old and new supporters came up trumps and gave generously – and got their donations doubled. We would like to thank the Reed Foundation and TUI Travel PLC for donating the money to create the matched fund from which we drew, and all the supporters who took part. The Challenge raised over £17,000 from the donations, the matched funds and gift aid.

40%

Over of families say the best thing about their break is spending time together as a family

Tracy Green TUI UK & Ireland Fundraising Liaison Manager

“I was seconded to the Family Holiday Association from TUI UK & Ireland. As I come to the end of my secondment year, I can look back at a lot of successes which have helped a record number of families get a much-needed break away. “It’s been a real pleasure seeing how much work my TUI colleagues have put into their fundraising for the charity. It’s also been great seeing TUI and the Family Holiday Association collaborating on the research and public affairs work which culminated in the publication of the report, Giving Britain a Break, from the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Social Tourism.”


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 12

Joint statement from Director and Chairman Despite the economic gloom, the Family Holiday Association has been able to help a record number of families in 2011 with well over 2,000 being helped with a break away from home. Thousands of children and their parents experiencing that much-needed holiday that they otherwise could never have managed has produced lots of happy memories that will last forever.

But we know that we need to do more than help just those families we can touch directly. Over two million families miss out on a break each year because of poverty and yet we know that a simple holiday at the British seaside can make a real and lasting difference to both children and parents. As a result of our work in gathering support for the importance of holidays, speeches have been made in the House of Commons, ministers have been questioned and a full-scale parliamentary inquiry has been launched into the benefits that holidays might provide for the one in three families who currently miss out. During the summer an All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) of MPs and members of the Lords held a ‘select committee style’ inquiry that received written evidence from 25 significant organisations – government departments, major charities and travel bodies such as Visit England, Visit Scotland and ABTA. It then went

on to hold four oral evidence sessions in the Commons where MPs heard from a wide range of witnesses who answered a range of points put to them about how access to a break away from home made a real difference to peoples’ lives. The APPG’s report, Giving Britain a Break was launched at a Westminster reception in October. It was widely reported in the media, including a report on the BBC Radio 4’s respected PM programme and with stories appearing in The Times and the Daily Telegraph. The response from Government has so far been muted, but the work to raise awareness of the importance of holidays has only just begun. Our work with partners and universities continues to produce important evidence that we can use to further develop our argument that policies at both local and national level should respond to and reflect the fact that a


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 13

Ian Reynolds

John McDonald

Chair of Trustees

Director

holiday is a very cost-effective and potent family intervention. Building happier stronger families is but one side of the case for improving access to a break. As demonstrated by evidence provided to the APPG by countries such as France, Belgium and Spain, helping that significant portion of the population who don’t currently participate in holidays can also produce significant economic benefits for domestic tourism. The case we can make for holidays can only get stronger and more persuasive.

the charity delivering impressive results, but without our partners and donors we could only achieve a fraction of what we do. We would like to thank them and acknowledge the important part they all play in helping improve the lives of so many families throughout the UK.

Ian Reynolds Chair of Trustees

John McDonald Director

The charity depends on a wide range of people and organisations to deliver all the positive results this annual review highlights. Patrons, trustees and staff members all play an important role in

ÂŁ1

Every spent on supporting families on holidays in the UK could result in tax revenue for the UK Exchequer

ÂŁ1.50 additional


FHA ANN REV 2012_AR 12/04/2012 16:57 Page 14

Financial statement Council’s (Trustees’) Statement The financial information shown here is a summary extracted from the Consolidated Financial Statements of the Family Holiday Association for the year ending 31 August 2011. These summarised accounts may not contain sufficient information to allow for a full understanding of the financial affairs of the charity. For further information the Consolidated Financial Statements, the auditor’s report on those statements and the Council’s report should be consulted, copies of

Income 2011 23% Individual donations 2% Legacies 4% Local groups 13% Trusts 50% Corporates

6.5% Events 0.5% Investments & interest 1%

Disposal of Fixed Assets

these can be obtained from the Family Holiday Association, 3 Gainsford Street, London SE1 2NE. The Council approved the Consolidated Financial Statements on 21st March 2012 and the annual report and accounts have been submitted to the Charity Commission. The Consolidated Financial Statements have been audited and have been given an unqualified audit report by our auditors. Signed on behalf of Council

Keith Graham, Treasurer 21 March 2012

Auditor’s Statement As auditors to the Family Holiday Association, we have reviewed the summarised accounts shown here and consider that they are consistent with the Consolidated Financial Statements on which we gave our opinion.

Carter Backer Winter LLP. Enterprise House, 21 Buckle Street, London E1 8NN


2011

2010

£

£

Incoming resources Donations and gifts

1,239,762

1,253,134

Trading operations

1

730

Investment income

6,526

6,053

13,214

0

1,259,503

1,259,917

Direct charitable expenditure

989,691

996,660

Fundraising and publicity

296,025

330,853

Disposal of Fixed Assets Total Resources expended

Trading operations Governance Total Movement for the year

Our holiday was brilliant During 2011, the Family Holiday Association helped 2,018 families take a much-needed break. One of those families was the Dintons. Their referral agent, David suggested he apply to the Family Holiday Association on their behalf. He used our new online application form to apply for a week-long break at a UK holiday park. David recommended that we help the family take a break to give Mum, Sue the opportunity to spend time with her two daughters and her husband without worrying about her other caring responsibilities. Sue cares for her own mother and her brother too. They both have Huntington’s disease and have numerous medical appointments. David felt that the family would benefit from some time away from their often hectic and stressful home life.

1 in 3 families cannot afford a one-week break away from home

121

42,922

19,167

7,078

1,305,004

1,377,513

(45,501)

(117,596)

3,044

8,730

Funds brought forward

719,750

828,616

Funds carried forward

677,293

719,750

Fixed assets & investments

370,847

291,574

Net current assets

306,446

428,176

Total funds

677,293

719,750

Change in valuation of investments

Summary balance sheet

Expenditure 2011

76% Direct charitable

23% Fundraising and publicity 1% Governance

Auditors Carter Backer Winter Enterprise House 21 Buckle Street London E1 8NN Solicitors Berwin Leighton Paisner Adelaide House London Bridge London EC4R 9HA Bankers Barclays Bank plc 99 Hatton Garden London EC1N 3DN Caf Bank Kings Hill West Malling Kent ME19 4TA Investment managers James Capel Investment Management HSBC Investment Bank plc 6 Bevis Marks London EC3 3JQ

Thomson travel shops Travel Bulletin Travel Daily Travel Trade Gazette and ttglive Travel Weekly TravelMole TravelTime World TUI Travel PLC Vertical Systems Legacies Mrs Jane Burton Mary Elizabeth Colville Anthony Ronald Edwards Hilary Howard Fry Miss Muriel Large Douglas & Joy Read Joan Rebecca Rowan Irene Mary Smith Local groups North London Friends of the Family Holiday Association Rotherham Holiday Aid Sheffield Family Holiday Fund Other groups and associations ABTA – the Travel Association The Dutch Church Grays Convent School Institute of Our Lady of Mercy

Resolution – First For Family Law UNISON There for You Travel Industry Fundraising Forum Roger Allard Eric Campus Alison Cryer Jackie Murphy Mandy Nickerson Ronnie Simkins Jacqueline Steadman Kristina Wallen London Marathon Team 2011 Philippa Baines Sean Butler Tania Dean Shona Eldridge Andy Fraser Cali Gill Peter Harper Peridot Harrison Jac Heale Ewan Henesy Rebecca King Jayne Lambert Andrew Mitchell Jayne Molyneux Matthew Nolan Pat Prendiville Sharon Ritchie Gordon Ritter Paul Stocker

Alice Thackray Graham Thurman Andrew Williams Rupert Williams James Worrall Graham Wright Family Policy & Programme Committee Felicity Clarkson Penny Cushing Helen Ford Eleanor Frost Lorraine Gibson Joan Laurance BEM Martha Osamor Nick Woodall Staff John McDonald, Director Patricia Appleby James Astley Michelle Barnes Hazel East Tracy Green Joe Hipgrave Sarah Johnson Thea Joldersma Emma Rowland Rosie Smith


Thank you The Family Holiday Association thanks everyone who has given money, donated time and helped the charity during the year. Without your help, we would not be able to continue our work to help disadvantaged families.

Charitable Trusts and Foundations 29th May 1961 Charitable Trust Pamela Barlow Charitable Trust Sydney Black Charitable Trust The Bothwell Charitable Trust The Cadogan Charity CHK Charities The Coutts Charitable Trust The Davis Rubens Charitable Trust The Leopold De Rothschild Charitable Trust D M Charitable Trust The Eagle Charity Trust Arnold Edward Charitable Trust Maud Elkington Charitable Trust Enkalon Foundation Excel Fund The ExPat Foundation The Finderman Charitable Trust The Fifty Fund The Fitton Trust The Patrick Frost Foundation The G W Trust The Glossop Family Trust The Helianthus Charitable Trust The Alan Edward Higgs Charity

John James Bristol Foundation The Jarman Charitable Trust Sir James Knott Trust Morris and Margaret Kramer Memorial Trust Beatrice Laing Trust The Langtree Trust Paul Lunn-Rockliffe Charitable Trust The Michael & Harriet Maunsell Charitable Trust Meeting industry meeting needs Mary & Mike Monaghan Trust G M Morrison Charitable Trust The Leanne & Winston Newman Charitable Trust Pitt-Rivers Charitable Trust The Rothley Trust Joseph & Ann Slater Memorial Fund The Sir James Reckitt Charity Rest-Harrow Trust ESG Robinson Charitable Trust The Patricia and Donald Shepherd Charitable Trust The Sykes Trust Hugo Symons Charitable Trust The Taylour Foundation Traynor Foundation Edward Vinson 1957 Charity Settlement

Turnbull Wetherlam Charitable Trust White Family Charitable Trust Wilmcote Charitrust Wirrel Trust Companies 101 Holidays Andorra Resorts Argyle Recruitment Arnold Fisher Bourne Leisure Canvas Holidays Citybond Suretravel Compass Group UK Dellar Davies Steve Dunlop Photography Europ Assistance First Choice First Great Western Flagship Consulting Harp Wallen Executive Recruitment Malta Tourist Office Representation Plus Soundelivery Sparkler Teletext Ltd Thomson Airways bases: Belfast, Birmingham, Bournemouth, Bristol, Cardiff, Doncaster, Dublin, East Midlands, Exeter, Gatwick, Glasgow, Luton, Manchester, Newcastle, Stansted

Our council and patrons President Lady Mary Mumford Founders Joan Laurence BEM Patrick Laurence (deceased January 2008) Patrons Jean Boht John Carter Mr Justice Coleridge Mansukh Ganatra Professor K Holt John Jay Peter Long Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor Lord Pearson of Rannoch Libby Purves Lady Ruth Rendell Sir Jonathan Sacks, Chief Rabbi Prunella Scales Anthony Solomons Sir Harry Solomon His Honour Anthony Tibber Most Revd and Rt Hon Dr Rowan Williams, Lord Archbishop of Canterbury Council officers Chair – Ian Reynolds Vice Chair – Alison Rice Treasurer – Keith Graham Council members David Burling Tony Caplin Felicity Clarkson Richard Clegg Penny Cushing Pippa Isbell Martha Osamor Kristina Wallen

3 Gainsford Street London SE1 2NE Telephone: 020 3117 0650 info@FamilyHolidayAssociation.org.uk www.FamilyHolidayAssociation.org.uk Twitter @famholidayassoc Registered charity number 800262 A company Limited by Guarantee registered number 2301337 England Written and designed by Cottier Sidaway Printed by Clifford Martin Press

Got a smartphone? Follow this link to view a video about our work.

Getting a break Review of 2011


2011

2010

£

£

Incoming resources Donations and gifts

1,239,762

1,253,134

Trading operations

1

730

Investment income

6,526

6,053

13,214

0

1,259,503

1,259,917

Direct charitable expenditure

989,691

996,660

Fundraising and publicity

296,025

330,853

Disposal of Fixed Assets Total Resources expended

Trading operations Governance Total Movement for the year

Our holiday was brilliant During 2011, the Family Holiday Association helped 2,018 families take a much-needed break. One of those families was the Dintons. Their referral agent, David suggested he apply to the Family Holiday Association on their behalf. He used our new online application form to apply for a week-long break at a UK holiday park. David recommended that we help the family take a break to give Mum, Sue the opportunity to spend time with her two daughters and her husband without worrying about her other caring responsibilities. Sue cares for her own mother and her brother too. They both have Huntington’s disease and have numerous medical appointments. David felt that the family would benefit from some time away from their often hectic and stressful home life.

1 in 3 families cannot afford a one-week break away from home

121

42,922

19,167

7,078

1,305,004

1,377,513

(45,501)

(117,596)

3,044

8,730

Funds brought forward

719,750

828,616

Funds carried forward

677,293

719,750

Fixed assets & investments

370,847

291,574

Net current assets

306,446

428,176

Total funds

677,293

719,750

Change in valuation of investments

Summary balance sheet

Expenditure 2011

76% Direct charitable

23% Fundraising and publicity 1% Governance

Auditors Carter Backer Winter Enterprise House 21 Buckle Street London E1 8NN Solicitors Berwin Leighton Paisner Adelaide House London Bridge London EC4R 9HA Bankers Barclays Bank plc 99 Hatton Garden London EC1N 3DN Caf Bank Kings Hill West Malling Kent ME19 4TA Investment managers James Capel Investment Management HSBC Investment Bank plc 6 Bevis Marks London EC3 3JQ

Thomson travel shops Travel Bulletin Travel Daily Travel Trade Gazette and ttglive Travel Weekly TravelMole TravelTime World TUI Travel PLC Vertical Systems Legacies Mrs Jane Burton Mary Elizabeth Colville Anthony Ronald Edwards Hilary Howard Fry Miss Muriel Large Douglas & Joy Read Joan Rebecca Rowan Irene Mary Smith Local groups North London Friends of the Family Holiday Association Rotherham Holiday Aid Sheffield Family Holiday Fund Other groups and associations ABTA – the Travel Association The Dutch Church Grays Convent School Institute of Our Lady of Mercy

Resolution – First For Family Law UNISON There for You Travel Industry Fundraising Forum Roger Allard Eric Campus Alison Cryer Jackie Murphy Mandy Nickerson Ronnie Simkins Jacqueline Steadman Kristina Wallen London Marathon Team 2011 Philippa Baines Sean Butler Tania Dean Shona Eldridge Andy Fraser Cali Gill Peter Harper Peridot Harrison Jac Heale Ewan Henesy Rebecca King Jayne Lambert Andrew Mitchell Jayne Molyneux Matthew Nolan Pat Prendiville Sharon Ritchie Gordon Ritter Paul Stocker

Alice Thackray Graham Thurman Andrew Williams Rupert Williams James Worrall Graham Wright Family Policy & Programme Committee Felicity Clarkson Penny Cushing Helen Ford Eleanor Frost Lorraine Gibson Joan Laurance BEM Martha Osamor Nick Woodall Staff John McDonald, Director Patricia Appleby James Astley Michelle Barnes Hazel East Tracy Green Joe Hipgrave Sarah Johnson Thea Joldersma Emma Rowland Rosie Smith


Thank you The Family Holiday Association thanks everyone who has given money, donated time and helped the charity during the year. Without your help, we would not be able to continue our work to help disadvantaged families.

Charitable Trusts and Foundations 29th May 1961 Charitable Trust Pamela Barlow Charitable Trust Sydney Black Charitable Trust The Bothwell Charitable Trust The Cadogan Charity CHK Charities The Coutts Charitable Trust The Davis Rubens Charitable Trust The Leopold De Rothschild Charitable Trust D M Charitable Trust The Eagle Charity Trust Arnold Edward Charitable Trust Maud Elkington Charitable Trust Enkalon Foundation Excel Fund The ExPat Foundation The Finderman Charitable Trust The Fifty Fund The Fitton Trust The Patrick Frost Foundation The G W Trust The Glossop Family Trust The Helianthus Charitable Trust The Alan Edward Higgs Charity

John James Bristol Foundation The Jarman Charitable Trust Sir James Knott Trust Morris and Margaret Kramer Memorial Trust Beatrice Laing Trust The Langtree Trust Paul Lunn-Rockliffe Charitable Trust The Michael & Harriet Maunsell Charitable Trust Meeting industry meeting needs Mary & Mike Monaghan Trust G M Morrison Charitable Trust The Leanne & Winston Newman Charitable Trust Pitt-Rivers Charitable Trust The Rothley Trust Joseph & Ann Slater Memorial Fund The Sir James Reckitt Charity Rest-Harrow Trust ESG Robinson Charitable Trust The Patricia and Donald Shepherd Charitable Trust The Sykes Trust Hugo Symons Charitable Trust The Taylour Foundation Traynor Foundation Edward Vinson 1957 Charity Settlement

Turnbull Wetherlam Charitable Trust White Family Charitable Trust Wilmcote Charitrust Wirrel Trust Companies 101 Holidays Andorra Resorts Argyle Recruitment Arnold Fisher Bourne Leisure Canvas Holidays Citybond Suretravel Compass Group UK Dellar Davies Steve Dunlop Photography Europ Assistance First Choice First Great Western Flagship Consulting Harp Wallen Executive Recruitment Malta Tourist Office Representation Plus Soundelivery Sparkler Teletext Ltd Thomson Airways bases: Belfast, Birmingham, Bournemouth, Bristol, Cardiff, Doncaster, Dublin, East Midlands, Exeter, Gatwick, Glasgow, Luton, Manchester, Newcastle, Stansted

Our council and patrons President Lady Mary Mumford Founders Joan Laurance BEM Patrick Laurance (deceased January 2008) Patrons Jean Boht John Carter Mr Justice Coleridge Mansukh Ganatra Professor K Holt John Jay Peter Long Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor Lord Pearson of Rannoch Libby Purves Lady Ruth Rendell Sir Jonathan Sacks, Chief Rabbi Prunella Scales Anthony Solomons Sir Harry Solomon His Honour Anthony Tibber Most Revd and Rt Hon Dr Rowan Williams, Lord Archbishop of Canterbury Council officers Chair – Ian Reynolds Vice Chair – Alison Rice Treasurer – Keith Graham Council members David Burling Tony Caplin Felicity Clarkson Richard Clegg Penny Cushing Pippa Isbell Martha Osamor Kristina Wallen

3 Gainsford Street London SE1 2NE Telephone: 020 3117 0650 info@FamilyHolidayAssociation.org.uk www.FamilyHolidayAssociation.org.uk Twitter @famholidayassoc Registered charity number 800262 A company Limited by Guarantee registered number 2301337 England Written and designed by Cottier Sidaway Printed by Clifford Martin Press

Got a smartphone? Follow this link to view a video about our work.

Getting a break Review of 2011

2011 Annual Review  

Family Holiday Association 2011 Annual Review

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you