Page 1

ISSUE 01 | JULY 2011

www.f11magazine.com

ISSUE 1 PREVIEW (14 of 84 pages)

FREE ONLINE PHOTO MAGAZINE www.f11mag.com

SIMON HARPER Business as usual CHRIS COAD Personal panoramas NICK SERVIAN Dummies for Windows


A work of art

Epson Stylus Photo R3000 Leave nothing to desire

2.3 times higher capacity than previous models

Advanced, simple media handling

www.epson.com.au

Unsurpassed quality

www.epson.co.nz


Welcome to f11 Magazine

Welcome to the first issue of f11 and thanks for joining us! You’re here because you’re curious, but mainly because you love photography. f11 is for professional and enthusiast photographers, designers and creative people working with images, and collectors of photography and ephemera. We want to see your work and hear your voice. We’re as hot for silver as we are for pixels so expect images from every origin – wet or dry, dark or light. And before you ask - yes, show us your Polaroids and your iPhone pictures! Create your images on the computer rather than in the camera? Photoshop and CGI artists, retouchers, graphic designers and illustrators are all welcome here. We share your passion as picture makers and we’re also astute observers plugged into imaging industry brands and suppliers. We’re not here for newbies. You won’t find articles on photographing the family cat or explaining depth of field. No inane photo competitions, no articles about how to win them either! We won’t help you choose the best digital camera under a hundred bucks, or offer tips for capturing baby’s first steps, or tell you why a tripod might be a good idea. We won’t extoll the virtues of starburst filters either. Instead we’ll show you superb images, review products that will appeal to you, and we’ll seek insight from leading exponents of the art. We’ll also cover associated technology stuff as we suspect you’re fond of gadgets and gizmos, large and small! All you need to do is subscribe to join our community and enjoy the benefits not available to casual readers here on our website. Subscribers are automatically entered into all of our prize draws, and receive an email when each new issue is released. It’s fast, easy and free to sign up and we’ll never provide your details to anyone else. Do it now! Be one of our first five thousand subscribers and you’re instantly in the draw to win an Oympus XZ-1 camera! Hope you enjoy issue one of f11. Tim

Issue 01 | July 2011 f11 Magazine P O Box 37-233, Parnell Auckland 1151, New Zealand www.f11magazine.com Editorial: editor@f11magazine.com Advertising Sales: sales@f11magazine.com Publisher/Creative Director: Tim Steele Design/Layout: Donna Hoyle & Claire Robertson of Donna Hoyle Design Web Developer: David MacLeod Contributors: Gary Baildon :: James Madelin Karim Sahai :: Malcolm Somerville Featured In This Issue: Robert Catto :: Chris Coad Simon Harper :: Nick Servian Notice To Readers & Advertisers: The publishers of f11 Magazine take every care in the production and of each issue of this title but we are not liable for any editorial error, omission, mistake or typographical error. In the case of advertising material supplied, we as publishers make no representation and provide no warranty as to the accuracy of descriptions or offers within. As publishers we accept no liability for any loss, which any person may incur while relying on the accuracy or description of any statement or photograph herein. The views expressed by all contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher. f11 Magazine reserves the right to decline any advertising for any reason. Copyright: All of the content published in this magazine is subject to copyright held either by the publisher in the whole or in part by the contributing photographers. Any infringement may incur legal action. No part of this magazine may be used in part or in full in any way without the express written permission of the publisher. Cover image © Simon Harper. RetouchING www.super-nz.com

f11 for Photographers and Aficionados | 1


The f11 team

Gary Baildon aka The Shooter was schooled in the dark arts of photolithography, before talking his way into a well-known Auckland studio in the heady 80’s. Most of the 90’s were spent in a plausibly deniable series of roles in the photo industry. After his disappointment at Y2K not signaling the end of the world, as we know it, he returned to shooting people, products and fast moving objects for filthy lucre. Helmeted and leathered, he’s often sat astride a rather large and imposing British motorcycle, the latest in a succession of fast toys. For shits and giggles he plays both drums and bass in bands you’ve never heard of, in places you’ve never been to. James Madelin is a former investment wanker, a reformed press photographer and a cunning linguist. He’s better known for his role as CEO and chief mad scientist at his company Enlight Photo. James is the inventor of the now world famous Orbis ring flash device, the indispensable Frio and a host of future products that shall, for the moment, remain top secret. When not jet setting around the world’s photo dealers promoting his latest indispensable photographic invention, James may be seen around town on two wheels in an effort to reduce his massive carbon footprint. He strenuously denies the use of bicycle clips and insists that his legs are unshaven. Karim Sahai is an accomplished photographer, a deeply conceptual thinker and an all-round clever guy yet he still insists on holding down a day job. He is one of those mysterious unsung heroes toiling away on the back lots of Wellywood as a visual effects artist for feature films. As you read this, he is most likely putting the finishing touches on a future blockbuster while planning his next expedition as his alter ego, the globetrotting travel photographer and adventurer. Although he failed to meet the selection criteria by being far too young and good-looking we decided to invite him to join the f11 team anyway. Malcolm Somerville spent far too much of his working life within the evil empire that once was the largest multi-national manufacturer in the photo industry. His resulting knowledge of photographic and chemical processes is so deep that he is still deemed to be a security risk. A past president of the NZIPP, and an active member of their Honours Council, Malcolm is the ultimate fixer, a go to guy for anyone wanting to know anything about professional photography and photographers. Malcolm has been a writer and industry commentator for many years and has the innate ability to spot a crock of the proverbial at 500 paces.

2

|

Issue 01 | July 2011


Tim Steele is the ringmaster of the new travelling circus that is f11 Magazine. A former high wire artist for corporate masters in the photo industry, he still suffers nightmares about delivering the physically impossible, occasionally under the whip of the seemingly insane, and always on behalf of the terminally unappreciative. A brilliant escape from the last of these gulags led him to consultancy in publishing, advertising and marketing. Tim has always been, and remains, in awe of the many professional photographers who continue to allow him to hang around their studios in exchange for odd jobs, lunches, and his personal speciality, free advice. f11 provides the ideal platform for him to do precisely this.

Featured in this issue

13

Nick Servian

Welcome

1

Dummies for Windows Fashion store mannequins around the world.

Meet the team

2

Contents

3

In plain sight

4

Editorial

6

Real Life Review

8

Simon Harper

31

A retrospective portfolio of his personal and commercial photography.

Chris Coad A collection of personal panoramic photography, all shot on colour film.

46

Contents

Chop Chop

24

Malcolm Somerville

57

AIPA

60

Karim Sahai

62

James Madelin

64

NZIPP

68

Gary Baildon

70

The Slack Page

76

f11 for Photographers and Aficionados

|

3


In plain sight IN ADVERTISING – Sony 3D Broadcast TVC Sony has worked with London agency Crayon to create this TVC for their 3D broadcast from Wimbledon. The ad mimics Sony’s original 2005 Bravia TVC set in San Francisco and featuring a cast of thousands, balls that is. Tennis balls on this occasion, naturally, and bouncing through the streets of suburban Wimbledon. Click on the screen to view the new ad or here to see the 2005 original. http://youtu.be/7DrFY3H-u8w

29 WAYS TO STAY CREATIVE If you’re in need of a little inspiration, or just need help getting through a flat spot in your day, there’s food for thought to be found here. A light hearted interruption to whatever pressing matters currently prey on your grey matter.

SELF PROMOTION – Jasmine Star Sure, skeptics will say this is too ‘schmaltzy’, too ‘American’ and way too slick a piece of self promotion but we say boohoo to those nay sayers and fiddledeedee to her detractors! This is unquestionably THE best piece of self-promotion that we’ve seen from a people photographer – bar none. Admittedly it helps that Jasmine Star is charming, persuasive, effervescent, talented and attractive but this is great marketing machinery in action.

VINCENT LAFORET ON custom DSLR VIDEO RIGS A series of short videos on configuring custom rigs for DSLR video. This is an intro to bolt ons for the DSLR film maker. Click on the screen to watch the intro, then below for the series. Part 1: http://vimeo.com/16983371 Part 2: http://vimeo.com/16984057 Part 3: http://vimeo.com/17016951 Part 4: http://vimeo.com/17017681 Extras: http://vimeo.com/17018770

4

|

Issue 01 | July 2011


w w w. n i k o n . c o. n z

f11 for Photographers and Aficionados

|

5


Editorial

How do you start an online magazine? Well, it helps to know something about the selected subject, and the right people, so that’s a good start, and that’s followed by a year of solid research resulting in a business plan that looks a little like a road map and a lot like chicken scratchings. It’s been an experience not unlike a long car journey. Sometimes I’m driving, other times I’m being driven – trying to read the map. I’ve had my head down and now my stomach is lurching because I’ve been too long without seeing the horizon. Oh, and the jiggly bits of road are making me a tiny bit nauseous, so stop the car I want to throw up. The best bits however, have been truly awesome. Like the faith demonstrated by my photographer friends, some very old, some very new, lots in between, who have rallied around the idea, embraced it and graciously thrown their work on to the bonfire of vanity that such a publication, even an on-screen one, represents. I thank you all sincerely for your encouragement, support and stunning work. Now, go tell all your equally clever friends! Not one member of this rapidly growing, coffee-consuming, jive talking focus-group has called for a print version of f11. All agree that they want to read this on screen. As a lover of printed matter myself, someone who can become aroused just tearing the shrink wrap off a good magazine and sniffing the ink, I do see the contradiction but we move with the times and the technology.

6

|

Issue 01 | July 2011

The fact is, we now live significant portions of our lives somewhat vicariously on a series of screens, large and small, in a connected but often anonymous virtual world. If we work hard and enjoy a modicum of success then maybe that reality is 1920 pixels wide and 1080 high. Yet, in the midst of this pixelated curious mix of anonymity and notoriety the internet has taught us all the value and meaning of being part of a large community, made up of smaller communities, some as small as you, me and the other guy. We’re all in this pseudo religion that is the online world, and we variously frequent the great cathedrals, the churches, the shrines and the tiny chapels that represent holy places where priests and priestesses speak to our interests, great and small, deeply meaningful or deeply meaningless. My hope for f11 is that we can straddle two things, the sea that is the Tasman, geographically separating two incredibly similar nations, and that gulf between the deeply meaningful and the deeply meaningless. Expect both, but hopefully not in equal measure. This is a place for pictures and ideas, a meeting place for people who share a love of something. We’ll try to be deeply reverent of great images and even greater ideas, occasionally scalding by eliminating the poor ones, and always healthily skeptical of BS when we can see it for what it is. Subscribe, communicate, contribute – be a part of this community. TS tim@f11magazine.com


f11 for Photographers and Aficionados

|

7


REAL LIFE REVIEW

Fujifilm X100 Robert Catto No camera launched in the last couple of years has generated as much interest, as many column centimetres, or garnered as much web real estate as Fujifilm’s X100. This has been the most talked about launch for some time, the camera eagerly anticipated since being announced at the 2010 Photokina show. This retro-styled but very modern day digital rangefinder has found a market recently tightly held almost exclusively by Leica. Importantly, it has done so with a thoughtfully conceived and strategically price pointed product. What may have appeared as a brave move into a low volume sector may well transform that sector’s viability for other manufacturers by generating notable sales numbers.

So how does it measure up? We set out to discover if it’s bling for the bucks or bang for the bucks… Here in the first of our “Real-Life Reviews” we asked Canadian photographer Robert Catto, now Wellington based, for his candid observations on his recent purchase. Robert specialises in photographing the performing arts and live events and edits the GRINZ newsletter for photographers, www.grinz.co.nz

Fujfilm is to be congratulated for the thought that has gone into re-entering the professional and enthusiast space after a long absence. It has been a long time between drinks as the company withdrew from the DSLR space, producing nothing since the S5 in 2006. The X100 formula? Retro-look, a fast but fixed moderate wide angle lens, a large but still APS size sensor, a hybrid optical and electronic viewfinder and stylish accessories to match the period dress.

8

|

Issue 01 | July 2011

Self-portrait with the X100 on the day it arrived. Taken with the X100, 23mm lens, 1/125th at f/2 and 250ISO, in-camera .jpeg with processing in Adobe Photoshop CS5 and Alien Skin Exposure 3. © Robert Catto.


f11: Welcome to f11 Robert, good to have you here. Tell us about the X100 - what are your impressions? RC: Hey Tim – thanks for inviting me! I’m enjoying my X100 a lot, personally. I’ve been using rangefinders for my personal work for a few years now, with a Voigtlander Bessa, Hasselblad X-Pan and most recently the Epson R-D1, which takes Leica M-Mount lenses on a 1.5x crop sensor; but that’s gone completely untouched since I got my hands on the little Fuji. I’d say the best way to sum it up is that there are a lot of really great things about it, alongside some relatively minor niggles, which naturally annoy some people more than others. I’m in the ‘less annoyed’ camp.

f11: What are your thoughts on image quality? How does it compare to your Canon cameras and the L series lenses you use every day? RC: Well, obviously I’d been looking online at info about this camera for a while before getting my hands on it. I’d seen a lot of files floating around, and was trying not to get my hopes up – it’s very hard to gauge things like that if you haven’t seen the situation they’re actually faced with, and shot a comparison with a camera you know well. In my experience, it’s been very, very good; in just about any situation, at least in terms of raw (or RAW) image quality, it’s up there with some of the very best dSLRs available.

f11: How does the X100 fit within your range of equipment? Did you buy it as a plaything, for a specific application or perceived need? RC: I wanted it for my carry-everywhere camera; funnily enough, I’ve wound up using my iPhone a lot of the time for personal work, too! So I find myself having to think about when the iPhone will be fine (or when I’m wanting to post something to Facebook immediately), and when I want to pull out the ‘real’ camera. But it’s nice having one so small and light, that

still delivers the goods when real image quality is needed. I very rarely carry an SLR if I’m not working, now. I’d rather travel light with this in my jacket pocket, whenever I can.

f11: Tell us about the low light performance. Given your style of photography, does it measure up to your DSLR’s? RC: When I first got mine, I took it into the kind of situation I’d normally shoot with an SLR – by which I mean to a dimly lit stage – and what I immediately thought in reviewing the images was that it lay somewhere between my 1D Mark III and the newer Mark IV; funnily enough, a few days later the DxOMark site put one through its paces, and their results were exactly the same! So the image quality lies halfway between a 2007 pro camera and a 2010 pro camera, each costing about four times as much – without even including a lens! That’s very, very good for a compact body, in any case.

f11: That electronic viewfinder, gimmick or great? How are you working with the focus and viewing tools available? RC: I really like it! The overlaid info screen on the viewfinder window is great when you want to see the real world directly, and the LCD is there when you need it – for macro work, primarily. I think the best thing about it though is the instant review – you can ‘chimp’ (review what you just shot) without even removing the camera from your eye. That’s possibly the least-mentioned feature of the camera, but it’s definitely one of my favourite things about it!

f11: Some reviewers have been critical of the autofocus speed. Your thoughts? RC: Well, I think we’ve got to be a bit realistic here; coming from dSLRs alone, you might find it slightly slower; but coming from a manual-

f11 for Photographers and Aficionados

|

9


Eli ‘Paperboy’ Reed plays live at Bodega in Wellington, 30 Apr ‘11. X100, 23mm lens, 1/125th at f/4, 1600 ISO. Adobe Camera Raw conversion, processed with Alien Skin Exposure 3. © Robert Catto.

focus rangefinder like the Epson, it’s pretty snappy. Certainly faster and more accurate than my manual focus ever was! Compared to most other cameras close to it in size, it’s pretty darn good. I think possibly only the Panasonic GF1 series would beat it, but I haven’t got that much experience with them; and unless you add the external viewfinder, you’re holding those out at arm’s length, which is just wrong!

f11: There has also been criticism of the controls, menu structure and firmware? How have you found these? RC: Overall, it’s a great camera – it’s just that some functions that are relatively common are buried in menus, or split over two menus, where most photographers would rather have immediate access to them. I’m thinking mostly of ISO / Auto ISO here, which are in two different places; and yes, you can access the ISO setting from the Fn button on top of

10

|

Issue 01 | July 2011

the camera, but you have to choose ONE thing to access with that button and for me, it’s the Neutral Density filter, which lets you shoot shallow depth of field on a bright day. That said, there’s been one major firmware update already that sped the camera up overall and fixed a number of things people had been criticizing, so it seems like Fuji are listening to comments on the camera and making improvements. I expect more improvements to the menu system will come with future updates as well.

f11: On balance, is the X100 an expensive compact, or value priced pro camera? RC: Oh, completely a pro camera. Let’s face it – what’s the cheapest 35mm (equivalent) f/2 lens you can find? With the X100, they’re practically throwing the body in with the lens! And there’s a lot to like about the ‘free’ body, as well as the lens.

Real Life Review :: Fujifilm X100 :: Robert Catto


Andrew Savage & Dan Adams play with their band, The Dickens, at Happy in Wellington, 23 Mar ‘11. X100, 23mm lens, 1/125th at f/2 and 3200ISO. In-camera .jpeg, processed in Photoshop CS5 and Alien Skin Exposure. © Robert Catto.

Compared to other compacts I’ve had (Canon’s G9, S90 and Leica’s D-Lux 4 for example), it simply stomps all over them for usability, enjoyment and image quality. I’d probably still be happy with my R-D1, if the files from this weren’t so much better!

f11: Best and worst points? What are your loves and hates? RC: Love the size and weight, the look and feel of it; and I’d like a few changes to the menu system as we discussed, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say I hate that about it. Look, frankly, it’s like any camera – the more time you spend with it, the more you understand how it functions, and the better your relationship with it gets. There are quirks to learn and work with (or around) on the X100, it’s true; but that’s the case with most cameras, really. You just want to get to the point where your attention is on your subject rather than the camera…

f11: Is it a keeper or this year’s toy? RC: I think it’s a keeper, but I tend to say that about all my cameras…did I mention I’ve bought an average of one new camera every six months, since 2002? This is definitely one of the better ones I’ve chosen, though – or else I’m still in the honeymoon period! Put it this way – I just spent three weeks travelling in Canada and the US, and it’s the ONLY camera I took. That should tell you something about the image quality, usability, and my overall feeling for it. It might be love, but it’s still pretty early in the relationship to use words like that…

f11: Thanks Robert, keep in touch! See more of Robert’s work at www.catto.co.nz, follow his blog at http://catto.co.nz/blog, join him on Twitter at @robertcatto, or visit http://facebook.com/catto.co.nz

f11 for Photographers and Aficionados

|

11


Made in Germany

NEW: LEICA M9 The freedom to capture the decisive moment. Utterly focused, the boxers dance about the ring. Rhythmic, lithe, and elegant, full of moments of beauty and power – the perfect stage for the Leica M9. Quiet, discreet, compact – reduced to the essentials – it lets the photographer become part of the action. Yet although the M9 is the world’s smallest system camera with a 24 x 36 full-format sensor, it’s a giant in terms of performance: uncompromising image quality, superior rangefinder technology, and excellent lenses make the M9 the perfect tool to capture the decisive moment. For more information, visit www.m.leica-camera.com Contact Lacklands Ltd for your nearest Leica dealer

Lacklands Ltd / 09 6300753 / www.lacklands.co.nz / info@lacklands.co.nz


f11 Magazine for mobile users! While we think the best way to consume f11 is by browsing the page ip version on our website – on a lovely large screen – many are choosing to use mobile devices for ease, portability and convenience. That’s why we make a PDF version of each issue of f11 available on our website.

www.f11magazine.com

For the best iPad experience, we recommend that you download this PDF and open it in iBooks – a free application available from Apple.

You can even collect every issue of f11 and store these in your iBooks Library for access anywhere and any time.

In this way, you can store, and then read f11 on an aeroplane, at the beach, or anywhere you like – even when you’re away from an internet connection.

All of this is also possible on your iPod Touch or iPhone, as these devices offer the same functionality.

Of course, if you’re online it’s an even richer experience as all of our links to advertisers websites and video content work at the tap of a nger.

For users of other tablets and Android devices, simply access the PDF le from your Acrobat Reader or PDF compatible reader software. f11 for Photographers and Aficionados

www.f11magazine.com

|

13


New, Online and Free! Introducing f11 Magazine for photographers and acionados! SUBSCRIBE NOW!

f11 is a FREE online magazine presented in a page ip format. The magazine is primarily intended for Australian and New Zealand readership, but will accept subscribers from any country.

f11 is aimed directly at professional and enthusiast photographers, designers and creative people working with images, and collectors of photography and ephemera.

14

f11 contributors shoot, collect, live, eat and breathe pictures. They are also astute observers and experienced commentators on the imaging business. |

Issue 01 | July 2011

www.f11magazine.com

We show images from a wide range of photographers and share their ideas, opinions and techniques. Readers can expect images of every type and origin, silver and pixels, wet and dry, dark and light, Polaroid and iPhone! One of the rst 5,000 subscribers will win an Olympus XZ-1 digital camera! VISIT NOW, JOIN US AND SUBSCRIBE - IT’S FREE! All this and more – free to read online or download as a PDF every month.

AVAILABLE ONLY FROM OUR WEBSITE! (NB COMPLETE ISSUES ARE NOT AVAILABLE AT ISSUU WEBSITE)

www.f11magazine.com

f11 Magazine :: Issue 1 :: Preview  

Features work by professional photographers Chris Coad, Simon Harper and Nick Servian. It carries a Real Life Review of the Fujifilm X100 by...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you