Page 1

WM RM8.00 | EM RM10.00

VOL2 NO4

VOL2 NO4

The Second Penang Bridge

RM8.00

A Marvel of Malaysian Engineering Towards ASEAN Economic Community & Beyond Interview with Tan Sri James Foong,

Retired Federal Court Judge

ISSN:2289-3628 KDN NO:PP14083/07/2013(032799)


EUMCCI REVIEW IS PUBLISHED BY

EUMCCI REVIEW IS PRODUCED FOR EUMCCI BY

EU-Malaysia Chamber of Commerce & Industry (EUMCCI) Suite 3.03, Menara Atlan, 161B Jalan Ampang 50450 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Tel: +603-2162 6298 Fax: +603-2162 6198 E-mail: eumcci@eumcci.com Website: www.eumcci.com

MPH Group Magazine (M) Sdn Bhd (771396-H) Lot 1, 1st Floor, Bangunan TH, No. 5 Jalan Bersatu, Seksyen 13/4, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor DE, Malaysia Tel: 603-7960 7334 Fax: 603-7960 3278 E-mail: ganesan@mph.com.my

Chairman Fermin Fautsch

Chief Executive Officer Dato’ Ng Tieh Chuan

MPH Group

MPH Group Publishing

Deputy Chairman Daniel Pans Dato’ Andy Seo

MPH Group Magazine

Senior Marketing & Sales Executive Lilian Ng

Honourary Treasurer Dato’ Robert Teo

General Manager V S Ganesan

EUMCCI Board

General Manager Kuah Sze Mei

Chief Operating Officer Swaminathan MV

Board of Directors/Representatives Artur Dabkowski Maria Liew Allan Jensen Olof Rapp Vojtech Hromek Saif Malik Jari Niemi Stellios Plainiotis Loong Caesar Ron Anderson Borja Solans Werner Somweber

Senior Editor Vimala Seneviratne Editor Sharmila Valli Narayanan

Minna Saneri - Editor Stefanie Braukmann Zaiton Hj Idrus Rozitaayu Zulkifli

Deputy Creative Head (Magazine) Stephanie Yap Senior Creative Designers Ng Seng Chee, Ngan Pooi Kuan

Production Editor Shamsul Hidzry O Khairuddin Senior Sales Manager Ng Wee Ming

Editorial Commitee

Creative

Head of Department Amy Heng

Creative Designer Amanda Fong Seok Mei

Circulation & Retail Distributors General Manager Tai Kwai Meng

Sales Managers Faridah Ismail Rebecca Gun

Submissions

Articles and other materials of interest to the general membership are actively solicited and may be sent to the Chamber. All materials submitted for publication are subject to editorial review and revisions.

Reproduction

General Manager (Finance) Kelvin Chong

Assistant Sales Managers Shubhashnee Radha

Manager Koh Sook Khuen

Finance

Accountant Barbara Tay

No part of the EUMCCI Review may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical without prior written permission.

Circulation

3,000 copies of the EUMCCI Review are distributed, on a quarterly basis to EUMCCI members, all Embassies, industry associations and government officials with whom the Chamber has dealings as well as to European Chambers Worldwide.

Online Partner

It is also sold in all major bookshops.

Printer

MPH Group Printing (M) Sdn Bhd (142270-H) No 31, Jalan 2/148A, Taman Sungai Besi, Industrial Park 57100 K.L Tel: 603-7987 0966 Fax: 603-7984 0966 E-mail: sales@mphprinting.com.my

Distributors (Malaysia) MPH Distributors Sdn Bhd (5048-A), Ground Floor, Bangunan TH, No. 5 Jalan Bersatu, Seksyen 13/4, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor DE, Malaysia Tel: 603-7958 1688 Fax: 603-7954 8215 E-mail: distributors@mph.com.my Advertising Enquiries

V S Ganesan / Ng Wee Ming Tel: 603-7960 4278 Fax: 603-7960 3278 E-mail: ganesan@mph.com.my All writers automatically agree to indemnify EUMCCI and MPH Group Magazine (M) Sdn Bhd against any loss, costs, expenses (including legal fees), damages and liabilities that might arise from their own incapacity, negligence, breach of contract or other civil misdeeds. We reserve the right to edit all articles. All rights reserved. Copyright © 2014/2015 by EUMCCI and MPH Group Magazine (M) Sdn Bhd. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form without prior written permission from the publisher. The views expressed in the articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of EUMCCI and MPH Group Magazine (M) Sdn Bhd. EUMCCI and MPH Group Magazine (M) Sdn Bhd accept no responsibility for unsolicited manuscripts, photography, illustration and other editorial materials.


EDI T OR’S NO T E Looking Forward

10

4

When EUMCCI had an “office warming” reception on 11 th February 2015 for the chamber’s new office, it brought back lots of memories for me. I remember EUMCCI’s first office 12 years ago: it was a single room with three staff! Our new office at Level 10, Menara Atlan is more spacious and reflects the growth of EUMCCI over the years. If you haven’t visited us yet, do drop by. The new office has been getting the thumbs up from members.

16

I would like to thank everyone who attended the reception where our guest of honour was YB Dato’ Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI) who took time off from his busy schedule to honour us with his presence. I would also like to thank Datuk Dr. Rebecca Sta Maria, Secretary General of MITI, and the many Ambassadors and Commercial Counsellors from embassies who joined us for the evening. We have lined up lots of exciting events this year. Golf enthusiasts will be pleased to know that the EUMCCI Golf Challenge is back. Look out for it on 12th April 2015. EUMCCI has always championed ASEAN and the AEC. We are pleased to announce the theme for this year’s EU-Malaysia Forum 2014 is “Meeting challenges for growth in ASEAN” to be held on 16th April. Another major event which we have lined up is the ASEAN-EU Business Summit to be held on 23rd August 2015. For more information on this and other events of EUMCCI, visit the website at www.eumcci.com Our cover story for this issue is on the Second Penang Bridge, an engineering marvel that was featured in the National Geographic Channel’s Megastructure programme. Read about the challenges that were faced in building this bridge, starting from page 4. Look out for more exciting events and other activities that EUMCCI has planned for the year. Hope to see you soon in one of the upcoming events!

Minna Saneri Editor

25

CONTENTS 2

Editor’s Note

4

The Story Behind The Second Bridge

10

Towards ASEAN Economic Community & Beyond: A Panel Discussion

14

EU Shines At IGEM 2014

16

A Life Dedicated to Law: Interview with Tan Sri James Foong

20

Country Focus: Kingdom of Belgium

22

Belgian Economic Mission VIP Networking Night

24

What Members Say

25

Chamber News

34

Corporate Partner

38

New Corporate Partner

40

Calendar of Events


-


COVER STORY

THE STORY BEHIND THE SECOND BRIDGE The construction of Jambatan Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah (JSAHMS) or the Second Bridge connecting Penang to the mainland stands as a testament to the world class standards of the Malaysian construction industry. The managing director of Jambatan Kedua Sdn Bhd (JKSB), Dato’ Ir. Dr. Ismail Mohamed Taib, tells Sharmila Valli Narayanan of the challenges faced in constructing the second bridge and the high environmental standards that were taken to ensure that the 4Rs (Respect, Reuse, Reduce and Re-environment) were adhered to. Photography by V. Chanthiran

I

n 1995, the then Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohammad, announced that a second bridge linking Penang Island to the mainland in Seberang Prai was needed. It would take 11 years before the

4

EUMCCI REVIEW

plans for the second bridge would finally be unveiled during the Ninth Malaysian Plan in August 2006. Besides providing an alternative route linking the Penang Island to the mainland, the bridge will also serve as a catalyst for the socio-economic

development and growth in the Northern Corridor Economic Region (NCER). The ground breaking ceremony for the Penang Second Bridge was performed on 12 November 2006 by the fifth Prime Minister, Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.


building the structure on top of that. So you’ve got to wait for one party to finish building enough foundation before the next could start. And all other works could not begin until the full structure was up. CHEC and UEM were two companies from different countries with different working styles. So it was a challenge to manage them. We had never managed anything on this scale so it was also a learning process for us to handle the technical details and to manage a huge team.

Jambatan Kedua Sdn Bhd (JKSB) was appointed as the concessionaire to construct, manage, operate and maintain the Second Penang Bridge. JKSB’s other responsibilities included ensuring that the bridge is to be completed on schedule and within the approved budget. JKSB was incorporated on 9 July 2008 and is wholly owned by the Ministry of Finance Incorporated. Dato’ Ir. Dr. Ismail Mohamed Taib was appointed as the managing director of JKSB by the Ministry of Finance in March 2009. He is seconded from Jabatan Kerja Raya (JKR or Public Works Department) to JKSB. “I was the Head of the Civil Engineering, Structure and Bridge Design at JKR,” recalls Dr. Ismail about the fateful day when he received a call from the Ministry. “I was asked whether I would like to join the team for the construction of the Second Bridge and I said no problem. It was a dream come true project for any civil engineer. I thought I was going to be in charge of the technical aspects of the bridge. I was surprised when I was told I was going to helm the project as the managing director of JKSB.” The next five years would be the most challenging years of Dr. Ismail’s career, but it was also very fulfilling. It was also a sharp learning curve for him because he had no blueprint to follow. When the Second Bridge, which was officially named Jambatan Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah (JSAHMS), was finally opened on 1 March 2014, the project with a total length of 24 km (16.9km of its length over water) became the longest bridge in not only Malaysia but also in Southeast Asia. It was a proud moment for the

entire country and for all the parties that were involved in the building of the bridge. He sits down with EUMCCI Review to talk about the challenges and the achievements in the construction of this bridge. EUMCCI REVIEW (ER): What were some of the challenges involved in the construction of the Second Bridge that were not present during the construction of the first Penang Bridge? Dato’ Dr. Ir. Ismail Mohamed Taib (DI): There were many challenges, but I will highlight a few major ones. Firstly, there’s the length. The first bridge’s overall length was 13.5km, of which 8.4 km length was over water. The Second Bridge’s length over water is 16.9 km – that’s almost twice the length of the first bridge. That by itself – building over water -- is a challenge. The overall length of the Second Bridge project is 24km. The construction of the Second Bridge was a challenge by itself because we used the horizontal split construction method for the bridge with two major contractors working on different levels. The construction of the main navigation span, substructure and foundation works for approach span was done by China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC). The Superstructure works of approach span were done by a Malaysian construction company UEM Builders Bhd. To put it in layman’s term, CHEC was building the foundation and the pillars and UEM was

Another challenge was the ground condition. When you are designing a bridge you always choose the best location to build it. Unfortunately, the best location had already been taken by the first bridge! The location we were given required extra work such as constructing the world’s deepest bored piles. At the deepest point in the sea, we had to set bored piles at depths of 127 meters. In fact, we had to pile right down to the bedrock level of the sea. For the first bridge, the deepest pile was only 60 meters! This was a huge challenge for the contractors from China because the longest bored pile they have ever done was 60 meters. It was a new experience for them and for us. The first bridge took three and half years to complete. By right, we should have taken seven years since ours was twice as long. But we did it in five years. Some quarters complained that we were late and yes, we were by several months. Those delays were due to circumstances beyond our control. But the bridge itself was built within the allotted time. Finally, there was the people’s perception towards us and the project. People had no confidence we could complete the project on

“The first bridge took three and half years to complete. By right, we should have taken seven years since ours was twice as long. But we did it in five years.” EUMCCI REVIEW

5


COVER STORY

“Another thing that JKSB can be proud of is that it pushed the local contractors and consultants to buck up and deliver the highest standard possible.”

DI: I cannot comment on NCER but let me tell you why the location of the Second Bridge was chosen. A feasibility study was done on the best alternative alignments for the bridge. It was finally decided that the southern route which connects Batu Kawan on the mainland with Batu Maung on the Penang Island, would be chosen. This was done to promote the socioeconomic development in the southern part of the island. Traditionally, most of Penang’s development has centred on the northern part of the island. The Second Bridge will provide a balanced development across the island.

According to Penang Property Talk, the most popular property website in Penang, the property prices in Batu Kawan has shot up. Batu Kawan is an emerging hot spot and it will be fully developed in 10 years. One of the major projects is the One Auto Hub, a project by PKT Logistic Group. This will consist of United Kingdom’s University of Hull campus, a hotel, automotive logistics facilities, warehouses, jetty and an animal sanctuary. Another exciting development is the Aspen Vision City which will see the opening of the first Ikea store in the northern region.

time. I had senior officers from JKR who looked at the challenges we faced and felt sorry for me. They too had no confidence in us. Only the Ministry of Finance had faith in us and I am so glad that we have managed to stay the course and complete the project. ER: The Second Bridge is a high impact project (HIP) under the Ninth Malaysian Plan. The bridge is supposed to be a catalyst for the socioeconomic development of the NCER. It’s coming close to a year since the bridge opened. How has the impact been on NCER so far?

The Penang International Technology Park will also be built. Penang Development Corporation is working with the Singapore Government to build low cost housing. Batu Kawan will also be an industrial hub. So far, there are six factories there. One of the first factories to be built there was a pre casting factory for UEM, which will serve the northern region. Over at Batu Maung, major property developer Mah Sing Group Bhd’s Southbay development is a mixed project with retail shops, high-end residential suites, resort bungalows and three-storey super link houses. There will also be spillover effects from Batu Maung to other areas further inland like Sungai Ara, Teluk Kumbar and Gertak Sanggul. These were all previously once less-desirable locations for residential areas.

6

EUMCCI REVIEW


Within the next five years Batu Kawan will be a changed place and the southern part of Penang will also undergo an economic transformation, thanks to the Second Bridge. ER: The toll complexes of the Second Bridge are the first in Malaysia to be awarded a Platinum rating by the Green Building Index (GBI). What were some of the features used to achieve this Platinum rating? DI: Did you know that we are the first toll concessionaire in the world to win the Platinum rating by the GBI? In 2013 we also won the Green Apple Award, given by the Green Association in United Kingdom, one of the most prestigious NGOs that recognises, rewards and promotes best environmental practices around the world. It was a conscious decision to not only have green toll complexes, but also to have high environmental standards during the construction of the bridge. We had various environmental consultants like the Fisheries Impact Assessment (FIA) to conduct a comprehensive monitoring regime. For example, the number of fauna species before the construction of the bridge was around ten. After the bridge was built we did another survey and found that now there are more than 20 species of fauna in the water including oysters! And the oysters were bigger. Dolphins never disappeared during the construction; we could still see them cavorting in the waters. This shows how successful we were in reducing any negative impacts on the marine life during the construction of this mega project. Some of the environmentally friendly practices we used during the construction was the use of the Industrialised Building System (IBS), where everything was cast in a factory and then brought to the site. We used green cement, which uses ash from burnt coal as part of its ingredients. The ash came from a power plant in Klang. Green cement is very good to be used in marine areas. Silt curtains were used to prevent silt from going into the sea. Once a month, an independent environmental consultant would do an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) on the area. As for the toll complexes, 80 per cent of the building was built using IBS. All these

buildings have high roofs, which allows for natural air to flow through the buildings to keep them cool. Other “green” features that have been included are solar cells on top of the roofs for producing electricity and solar air conditioning which uses less energy to name a few. We used double glazing for the glasses in the building, which lets in the light without the heat. During day light there is no need to switch on the lights in the building. All lights used are sensor based. In other words, if there is no one in the room, the lights go off automatically.

could find it here in Malaysia they used it. For me personally, one of the amazing experiences working on this project was to discover just how much can be done in this country! ER: What were some of the groundbreaking technologies that were used to construct the bridge? DI: We used High Damping Rubber Bearing (HDRB) to replace the conventional mechanical plot bearings. HDRB withstands earthquake higher than 7.5 on the Richter scale. HDRB has been used for buildings, but only recently for bridges in Japan. But those bridges are not in the scale of the

As with any green technology, the initial inlay is expensive, but we are confident of being able to recoup the cost of going green in about 10 years. ER: How much of local materials were used in the construction of the bridge? DI: People don’t believe it when I tell them that 90 to 95 per cent of the materials were locally sourced. Most parts of the bridge are made from concrete – Malaysia has many cement factories. The steel reinforcements were made in Malaysia. I was even surprised that the stainless steel crown structure could be built in Malaysia. The contractors sourced around for cheaper materials without compromising the quality and whenever they

“Within the next five years Batu Kawan will be a changed place and the southern part of Penang will also undergo an economic transformation, thanks to the Second Bridge.” EUMCCI REVIEW

7


COVER STORY

Second Bridge. The Second Bridge is the longest bridge in the world to use HDRB. We have also patented together with the Malaysian Rubber Board (MRB) the locking device which used HDRB. Some of the advantages of using HDRB are that it has the ability to withstand large displacement in bilateral and rotational direction. It is a good energy dissipater that is also durable and requires minimal maintenance. And it is made from natural rubber. HDRB was designed at the Tun Abdul Razak Research Centre (TARRC) in the United Kingdom at a laboratory of the MRB. The bored piles which I talked about earlier, which had to be piled at its deepest at 127 meters were also a first for this region and among the deepest in the world. The fact that we did it is amazing.

“Dolphins never disappeared during the construction; we could still see them cavorting in the waters. This shows how successful we were in reducing any negative impacts on the marine life during the construction of this mega project.”

The people involved in the day to day of the construction of the bridge – the engineers, supervisors and so on were all Malaysians. The bridge superstructure was designed here in KL. Independent consultants from overseas told us that we have built a world class structure. That is something to be proud of. ER: What are the things that JKSB should be proud of in completing this bridge? DI: Ninety five per cent of the work was completed on time and the end product is truly something that Malaysians can be proud of. During the entire process of building the bridge, we were transparent in our dealings. The Penang state government was happy with us. We overspent only five per cent of the budget. When you compare ours to some other Government projects that is more than 20 per cent over the budget, I think JKSB did very well.

Another thing that JKSB can be proud of is that it pushed the local contractors and consultants to buck up and deliver the highest standard possible. If we were not satisfied with their work, we refused to pay up. This did not make us popular with some; others complained that they have never worked under such exacting standards for a local project but those who persevered realised they had pushed their standards really high. And they were amazed at themselves that they could do that. ER: The bridge was featured in the National Geographic Channel’s Megastructure programme. How did it feel? DI: We felt very honoured that they considered the Second Bridge worthy to be featured in the programme. It gave us international recognition and publicity that Malaysia is capable of doing something like this. ER: With the Second Bridge project successfully completed, will JKSB use its knowledge and experience to seek out other projects in the region and beyond? DI: Yes of course we will foray into other markets. We are in contact with Indonesia, which has a few bridge projects in mind, one of which is to build a bridge to connect the southern tip of Sumatra to the western part of Jawa. We’ll see how it goes. Another market to explore is India, which also requires massive infrastructure programmes. EU

8

EUMCCI REVIEW


SAFE, COMFORTABLE & FRIENDLY JAMBATAN SULTAN ABDUL HALIM MU’ADZAM SHAH Jambatan Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah was officially opened by Y.A.B. Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Bin Tun Abdul Razak, the Prime Minister of Malaysia on 1 March 2014. The project’s overall length is 24km of which 16.9km is a marine bridge. It links Batu Kawan on the mainland to Batu Maung on the island and it is the longest bridge in Southeast Asia. Jambatan Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah will not only provide an alternative route for users to commute to Penang island from the mainland and vice versa but it also is a catalyst for the socio economic growth and development in Penang, especially in the southern part of the state.


FEATURE

TOWARDS ASEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY & BEYOND ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) becomes a reality in 2015. AEC is envisioned as an economic block where goods, services, capital and skilled labour can move easily within the ASEAN countries. But in reality has AEC been able to achieve all that it sets out to do? These were some of the hard questions that were raised at this panel discussion.

Towards ASEAN Economic Community & Beyond Panel Discussion Date: 20th November 2014 Venue: Royale Chulan

Kuala Lumpur

Event partner: EU-ASEAN

Business Council

Platinum sponsors:

Qatar Airways & Siemens

I

n 2015, ASEAN will step into a new era when the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC), with its goal of regional economic integration becomes a reality. According to ASEAN’s official website, AEC is envisaged as having these key characteristics:

The panel of speakers from left: Mr. Daniel Pans, Mr. Saik Malik, Mr. Chris Humphrey (moderator), Ms. Soria Osman and Dr. Fraser Thompson.

• • •

into a region with free movement of goods, services, investment, skilled labour, and freer flow of capital.”

A single market and production base. A highly competitive economic region A region of equitable economic development. A region fully integrated into the global economy.

The website further states that, “The AEC areas of cooperation include human resources development and capacity building; recognition of professional qualifications; closer consultation on macroeconomic and financial policies; trade financing measures; enhanced infrastructure and communications connectivity; development of electronic transactions through e-ASEAN; integrating industries across the region to promote regional sourcing; and enhancing private sector involvement for the building of the AEC. In short, the AEC will transform ASEAN 10 EUMCCI REVIEW

But in reality, how many of these goals have been met? How close is the AEC to becoming an economic powerhouse everyone expects it to become? According to the experts who spoke at the “Towards ASEAN Economic Community and Beyond” panel discussion, there is still a long way to go before AEC can rightly take its place among the powerful trade blocks in the world. No one denies the economic potential of ASEAN. According to Dr. Fraser Thompson, senior fellow at the McKinsey Global Institute (MGI), ASEAN is seen as the “next factory of the world.” Foreign companies are excited about the potential

of the ASEAN market. “The size of the consumer household is around 81 million. By 2030, this is expected to double to 163 million,” he said. Saif Malik, Managing Director of Origination & Client Coverage (OCC) and Co-Head of Wholesale Banking in Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia, said that ASEAN is the seventh largest economy in the world. “ASEAN is where the action is,” he declared. Barriers To Full Integration Lack Of A Harmonised System Of Tariffs Although on paper the idea of the AEC is attractive and viable, in reality, AEC has not come into full fruition yet because of a number of reasons. “When the EU companies do come to this region, they come


across a number of practical barriers that stand in their way like foreign investment restrictions in many sectors which is a big barrier,” explained Thompson. The biggest barrier faced by the business community and the one most often talked about is the lack of a harmonised system of tariffs and non tariff barriers. Daniel Pans, Group Managing Director and owner of DPO International, knows all too well about the problems of not having a harmonised system of tariffs especially in relation to the food industry. He spoke of some of the challenges faced in the supply chain in ASEAN. Among them: •

• • • •

A volatile regulatory environment that announces changes without warning and explanation. Inconsistent law enforcement in various ASEAN countries. Quotas on food products in certain markets. Different halal standards within ASEAN. Product registration requirements that are different in some ASEAN countries. Some countries require detailed information while others do not. “Many exporters are reluctant to share information while others complain it is time consuming and tedious,” he said.

and Drafting Section, Royal Malaysian Customs Headquarters. “In terms of AEC, AHTN is one of the perimeters to measure the integration of ASEAN economies,” said Soria. “The harmonised system or HS is used by 79 countries of the World Trade Organisation.” Soria did acknowledge that there could be delays in implementing some of the measures in the AHTN because of the national requirements of some of the member countries of ASEAN and of bilateral agreements between some member countries within ASEAN. Despite these challenges, Soria said that The Royal Malaysian Customs has a scorecard which is a monitoring system that keeps it on track to the AEC. “We are asked to show whether we have carried out certain measures as directed in the AHTN.” She said that one way to speed up the AHTN was to transfer certain responsibilities of

each country’s Customs department to an ASEAN secretariat that will make the decisions regarding tariffs for all ASEAN countries. Whether this idea is workable when the spirit of nationalism among individual ASEAN countries is strong is debatable. The 10 countries in ASEAN with wide economic disparities among them need to strike a balance between safeguarding national interests and furthering ASEAN’s trade priorities. This is a challenging task, especially for the developing economies in ASEAN. Slow Path To Financial Integration “The path to financial integration has been a slow progress; however, it is better than having no progress at all,” informed Saif Malik. He pointed out to the success of some Malaysian financial institutions like CIMB bank which have made its presence felt in other countries in ASEAN. But these success stories are too few and far between.

ASEAN Harmonised Tariff Nomenclature (AHTN) The implementation of AHTN in stages would solve some of the problems regarding the lack of the harmonisation of tariffs, said Soria Osman, the Deputy Director of Customs, head of the Classification, Tariff

Mr. Fermin Fautsch giving his welcoming remarks.

Dr. Fraser Thompson: Awareness of ASEAN among business community is low.

Mr. Saif Malik: ASEAN can learn from EU about financial integration.

EUMCCI REVIEW 11


FEATURE

“The concern for ASEAN is what safeguards to put into place to protect the weaker economies in the region. The economic disparities among the ASEAN countries are bigger than the countries in the EU,” explained Saif Malik. ASEAN can learn a lot from the EU in terms of how it handled financial integration said Saif Malik. “ASEAN has to look at the positive and negative aspects of the EU experience. Even if ASEAN finds a good model to follow for its financial integration, the process will take a time. I certainly do not see it happening within this year. AEC is a work in progress and to do it right, it might take years and go way beyond 2015. At present there is a wide gap between the political vision of ASEAN and the economic vision of the member countries.” Chris Humphrey, the Executive Director of the EU-ASEAN Business Council hoped that the financial integration of AEC happens because it can help fund the SMEs in the region and develop them. “SMEs play a big part in increasing the intra ASEAN trade and this aspect has not been fully exploited yet in ASEAN. Financial integration will also make it easier to fund the many infrastructure projects that this region needs,” he opined. A Lack Of Pan-ASEAN Feeling Dr. Thomas revealed that when he gave a talk to Singapore SMEs, he asked how many

More than 50 participants attended the event.

of them knew about AEC. He was shocked to discover that only a handful did. One of the biggest criticisms of ASEAN is that it is championed by its leaders but the awareness does not extend to ordinary citizens. “The majority of businesses are not fully prepared for ASEAN integration and they need more information,” said Dr. Thomas. “People here don’t think of belonging to the region, but to individual countries,” explained Pans. “A change of mindset is needed urgently. There is a need for greater awareness and knowledge in the region about the region. This is a prerequisite to

a successful AEC. Right now the private sector is looking too much towards the Government to raise awareness about AEC. The business community must start believing and acting as if they believe in ASEAN and AEC. We need to do more work to create awareness about AEC among business communities and the ordinary folks. The message has to be driven home to the ground level about the importance of economic integration of ASEAN for the people’s future. ” AEC’s Place In The World Despite the various challenges, plans have been afoot to ensure that AEC becomes a reality. Whether it will be able to fulfil the vision to become a region with a free flow of goods, services, capital and labour as envisioned by the politicians by 2020 or by 2030, AEC is inevitable. With the world grouping itself into a series of economic blocks, it is no longer a question of whether AEC will come into being – it must happen for ASEAN’s survival.

Mr. Fermin Fautsch, chairman of the EUMCCI with the panel of speakers.

12 EUMCCI REVIEW

“No country can think it can make it alone in economically. Even Germany, the most powerful economy in Europe feels it needs the EU,” said Pans. “ASEAN needs an economic block like the AEC if not it risks being irrelevant.” EU


FEATURE

EU SHINES AT IGEM 2014 IGEM 2014 is the biggest exhibition so far for the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA) and the EU Pavilion took centre stage.

IGEM 2014 Date: 16th to 19th October 2014 Venue: Hall 5, Kuala Lumpur,

Convention Centre.

W

hen the inaugural International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition and Conference Malaysia (IGEM) was held in 2009, few expected that it would become one of the most important exhibitions on green energy and eco products in the region. Every year it has grown bigger in size. EU has had a commanding presence at IGEM since it first started. This year’s IGEM 2014 is reported to have generated RM1.2 billion worth of business transactions, attracting more than 600 companies and organisations and around 60,000 visitors. The exhibition was organised by the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA) with Greentech Malaysia and Expomal International Sdn Bhd as co-organisers.

Mr. Prakash Chandran, H.E. Luc Vandebon and Ms. Minna Saneri.

The EU Pavilion The EU once again had one of the largest pavilions at the International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition and Conference Malaysia (IGEM) whose theme this year was ‘Creating Green Wealth.’ The four day event which was officiated by the Deputy Prime Minister YAB Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin kicked off on 16th October 2014.

The Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin at the EU Pavilion. Shaking hands with him is Mr. Prakash Chandran, CEO Siemens while next to him is H.E. Luc Vandebon.

14 EUMCCI REVIEW

The EU Pavilion attracted a lot of attention including even from the DPM, Tan Sri Muhyiddin himself, who visited the pavilion. Since EU countries are globally taking the lead in driving the green agenda, it makes a lot of sense for EU countries, represented by EUMCCI, to have a large presence here. According to the latest edition of the Global Green Economy Index, nine out of the 10 greenest countries in the world are in Europe with Sweden taking the title of the greenest country. Other European countries in the top 10 list are Norway, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Austria, Finland, Iceland and Spain.

The impressive EU Pavilion.


Market Research Report on the Energy Utilities Environmental Services 2014.

The EU Ambassador’s Cocktail The EU Ambassador’s Cocktail hosted by EUMCCI during IGEM and attended by stakeholders, representatives of companies and ambassadors served as a backdrop for the launch of the Market Research Report on the Energy Utilities Environmental Services 2014.

H.E Luc Vandebon and Ms. Minna Saneri unveil the Market Research Report on the Energy Utilities Environmental Services 2014.

The report, an EUMCCI initiative, focuses on Malaysia’s long term goals of adopting an inclusive, low-carbon economy through the use of green technology to monitor, maintain and conserve energy, as well as to reverse the negative effects on the environment. In the Global Green Economy Index 2014, Malaysia ranked 35 out of 60 countries. Greentech Malaysia said that this report “aims to highlight the depletion of natural resources and climate change, while promoting energy efficiency and low carbon emissions initiatives.” It also said that Malaysia stands to benefit if it emulates EU in its leadership in renewable energy and sustainability. It stated in its press release that, “Malaysia can ramp up its green transformation and open up many opportunities for business initiatives to expand and grow, thereby benefitting national economies, local and international manufactures and natural environment.” EU

H.E Daniel Dargent, the ambassador of Belgium with H.E Luc Vandebon.

H. E Holger Michael, the ambassador of Germany.

H.E Nicolai Ruge, the ambassador of Denmark with H.E Luc Vandebon. EUMCCI REVIEW 15


INTERVIEW

S

erenity is the first word that springs to mind when one meets Tan Sri James Foong for the first time. Looking younger than his 68 years, there is a particular calmness in the way he speaks and carries himself. Tan Sri Foong reminds one of a headmaster who can silence a class of unruly students just by his presence. He graduated from the University of London with LLB (Honours) in 1969 and was called to the English Bar by the Honourable Society of the Inner Temple and admitted as an Advocate Solicitor to the High Court of Malaya in 1971. He had a very distinguished career in the legal field. But he almost did not take up law, he reveals to EUMCCCI Review. EUMCCI REVIEW (ER): What attracted you to law? Tan Sri James Foong Cheng Yuen (JF): Actually, my first interest was in commercial art which I wanted to study in Australia. Even today when children tell their parents they want to study art, they face resistance so you can imagine how my father felt when I told him in the 1960s that I wanted to study commercial art. He told me that he was willing to send me to England to study law.

A LIFE DEDICATED TO LAW When Tan Sri James Foong Cheng Yuen retired from the Malaysian Judiciary in 2012, he had served 22 years as a judge, of which the last three years as a Judge of the Federal Court. Prior to that he was a Judge of the Court of Appeal for five years and a Judge of the High Court for 14 years. Starting his career as a lawyer in 1971, he dedicated his life to the law. He talks to Sharmila Valli Narayanan about how he almost did not take up law, his decision to leave his lucrative private practice to enter Government service and of the importance of sensitivity. Photography by V. Chanthiran

16 EUMCCI REVIEW

My family brain washed me into going to England instead of Australia because at that time, Australia was not a popular educational destination among Malaysians. It was considered more in the boondocks while England, and in particular London, was the place to be. It was like the centre of the world, with Europe next door. So I opted for England and law. And I have never regretted my decision. ER: How was your experience as a student in England? JF: London was the place to be in the 1960s for young people. It was the era of the Beatles, the mini skirt and the youth revolution. Every weekend I would spend myself partying from Friday night to Sunday evening. I would then return to my college on late Sunday night to attend


“I accepted the job because every law student will know the very special place that judges occupy in the study of law.”

lectures on Monday morning! Everyone expected me to fail, but what they did not realise was that I worked hard throughout the week and the weekend was my reward. I have many fond memories of my time in England. ER: You had a successful private practice from 1971 to 1990. You were appointed Judicial

Commissioner in 1990. What made you accept the position especially when it meant leaving a lucrative private practice? JF: At that time the basic salary for a Judicial Commissioner was in the range of RM5,000, which was much lower than what I was earning. When I got the offer, my wife and I sat down and asked ourselves how were we going to live with such a drastic pay cut? When I shared my concerns with the Chief Justice at that time, Tun Hamid Omar, he laughed and said, “Don’t worry, just buy salt, rice and pepper.” What he meant was that we would be living in judicial quarters, everything would be free. We need not spend money to entertain and I would just have to do my job. I accepted the job because every law student will know the very special place that judges occupy in the study of law. The study of law involves referring to cases that were presided by other judges, both foreign and local. When citing cases, students will quote judges such as

Lord Denning, Tun Suffian, etc. Every law student admires that position of judgeship. I would say most lawyers would one day want to aspire to be a judge. I had that aspiration in me. Another factor that made me accept the offer was as a lawyer, who came from the Bar, I have no idea what the judiciary is all about. We as lawyers make submissions and get the judgements from the judges, but we do not know how the judges work: How they come to a decision; what kind of lives they lead… these were intriguing to me. Finally, in accepting the offer, I saw it as an adventure. It certainly was an adventure to survive 22 years in very trying times. ER: So how was the adventure? JF: I learned a great deal of things which can only be experienced by a judge. In social gatherings, many people reveal things which they normally would not reveal to others just because I am a judge. Then there are people who resort to all sorts of things, some of it involves

EUMCCI REVIEW 17


INTERVIEW

“London was the place to be in the 1960s for young people.”

‘black magic’ in the hope that it would sway me to be more sympathetic to their case. One day I found a headless chicken in my compound. I thought nothing of it and threw it away. It was only later I was told of its significance: it was supposed to make me more sympathetic towards the accused! Did it work? No, because I gave my judgement based on the law. But people are desperate and they will resort to all sorts of things. I have found all sorts of things sprinkled on my doorstep! And you cannot prevent people from approaching you when you least expect it.

18 EUMCCI REVIEW

Some judges just chase them away, but I could not do that because my nature is such that I find it extremely difficult to do. They are sometimes your relatives or family friends who have helped you. The only way to discourage them was to make myself “very unreliable”. When someone tries to influence me on a case, when the time comes for the case to be heard, I make sure I am not there to hear it. I either get another judge to take over the case or I make myself unavailable by going off to some seminar or I won’t work on that day so that it becomes difficult for the case to be heard in front of me. When this happens too often, people brand you unreliable and stop approaching you. ER: How is life after retirement? JF: It is another phase in my life and I thank God that I am still able to work. I am currently the chairman of Bina Putri Property Sdn Bhd and this keeps me pretty busy. I took up a practising certificate so now I do a lot of legal consultation and a fair bit of arbitration. I and a few partners have formed a company. We are committed to give seminars on legal subjects – it is our way to contribute to society.

ER: What has life taught you? JF: It all boils down to one thing: To be sensitive to people. At the end of the day you are dealing with human beings. In the course of my life there were knocks and heavy blows caused by my insensitivity – either through words or actions -- to others. But if one were to be too sensitive one would not be oneself. Life can be so boring and uninteresting if one were to consider the feelings of so many – you cannot please everybody. One judge told me that whenever I walk I should look down and not up so that I would not step on anybody’s toes. I thought about it. What kind of life is that to be so restricted? If there is wrong right in front of you, should you be silent so that you will not cause offence? Is that what you want to in life? I have learned that you can still speak your mind, but you need to be more circumspect, more temperate in your delivery, tone and in the choice of words that you use. Living in a multiracial society like ours, these are things we need to bear in mind when we address controversial issues. A little sensitivity on our part goes a long way in putting across our point. EU


FACILITIES OFFERED BY EXIM BANK EXIM Bank is the only development financial institution (DFI) that is mandated to do cross border transactions. Here are the facilities offered by EXIM Bank.

Conventional banking facilities Buyer credit Buyer credit enables Malaysian exporters and contractors a chance to bid for overseas contracts and tenders. This credit will be given directly to the foreign buyers or finance institutions to make it more convenient for Malaysian goods and services importers. Loan disbursements will be made directly to the local exporter or contractor. Project/contract/investment This facility is available to locally owned and controlled companies, as well as Malaysian joint venture companies abroad who bid and carry out projects/ contracts or investments in another country. The facility provides financial support to Malaysian investors/contractors undertaking projects overseas such as infrastructure, manufacturing and other development projects. Bank guarantee Is made available to facilitate the issuance of bonds or surety for overseas contracts (i.e advance payment bonds and performance bonds) undertaken by Malaysian contractors. This allows the contractors to raise funds overseas. Supplier credit Malaysian manufacturers, exporters and suppliers of locally manufactured goods, can take advantage of this facility to support their export trade financing requirements through EXIM Bank’s trade financing facility. The facility offers PreShipment and Post-Shipment Financing. The former finances working capital for production of goods, while the latter finances the export bill after shipment has been made.

Export of services The Export of Services facilities can be used by Malaysian owned and controlled companies engaged in the provision of services for the global market such as information technology services, construction, telecommunication, management or other technical professional services. Export credit refinancing (ECR) This scheme provides an alternative short term pre and post shipment financing to direct/indirect exporters to promote the export of manufactured products, agricultural products and primary commodities. It is available at a competitive interest rate to a manufacturer or trading company with ECR credit line duly established with any participating commercial bank. Credit insurance facilities Exporter trade credit insurance (Export) It is an insurance policy that acts as an “umbrella” protection for exporters who make regular exports to overseas importers from losses incurred due to buyers’ failure to make payment. Bank letter of credit policy (BLCP) BLCP will assist in securing payments of the Irrevocable Letter of Credit (ILC) to your bank. It covers participating banks that negotiate ILC issued by foreign banks against the foreign issuing bank’s failure to reimburse payment to the beneficiaries (i. e. Malaysian exporters) under the ILC.

contracts for exports of capital goods, turnkey project, construction works or rendering services abroad, against the risk of non-payment by the overseas buyer. Minimum credit is from one to 10 years. Overseas investment insurance (political risk insurance) This is a policy to cover the risk of noncommercial losses or business established abroad by Malaysian companies. The risks include restrictions, transfer, war, civil disturbance and a breach of contract, as well as the right of ownership. Islamic Banking EXIM Bank follows the Shariah concept in Islamic banking • Overseas project/contract financing-i • Buyer financing-i • Malaysia Kitchen Financing-i • Term financing-i • Supplier financing-i • Import financing-i • Export credit refinancing-i (ECR-i) • Bank guarantee-i • Letter of credit-i • Forward credit exchange-i • Trust receipt-i • Export services-i

Specific Policy It is a form of credit insurance that insures Malaysian exporters who undertake

EUMCCI REVIEW 19


EU COUNTRY FOCUS:

KINGDOM OF

BELGIUM 2014

was a good year for Belgium in Malaysia. A Belgian Economic Delegation headed by HRH Princess Astrid visited Malaysia in November 2014 and the visit made news in all the major papers and television channels. “The visit was a big success. There were around 300 people in this delegation which included the Deputy Prime Minister Didier Reynders, Secretary of State for Foreign Trade, representatives of business federations from different regions in Belgium and more than 200 business people representing more than 150 Belgium companies,” reveals H.E Daniel Dargent.

The visit achieved all three of its set objectives, which was firstly, to improve bilateral contacts between the two governments at an official level; secondly, to promote the image of Belgium in Malaysia – which it undoubtedly achieved given the wide press coverage it received – and finally, to bring the business community of the two countries together. This, of course, was the most important objective of this mission – to increase the opportunity for trade for the benefit of both countries. “The Belgian business representatives in the delegation told us that they were very happy with the business to business

H.E Daniel Dargent

contacts that they made here. We also held sectoral seminars in different areas such as healthcare, agrofood, halal economy and finance and green technology. High ranking Malaysian corporate representatives and Government officials attended the seminars. The Belgian business delegates were very pleased with the high level attendance from the Malaysian side,” said Dargent. He revealed that the last time that such a high level Belgian delegation had visited Malaysia was in 2002. Although currently almost 75 per cent of Belgium’s trade is with Europe, over the last few years Belgium has aggressively sought to diversify its trade to other regions like Asia. The Belgian Foreign Trade Agency report for 2013 states that, “Asia remains Belgium’s most important market outside Europe.” During this time exports to Malaysia increased by 26.9 per cent to €606.4 million while Malaysian imports to Belgium were €704.1 million, an increase of 12 per cent. Belgium’s main exports to Malaysia are chemical products, base metals, plastics and foodstuffs. Top Belgium imports from Malaysia are machinery and equipment such as transmission apparatus for radio-telephony, radiotelegraphy, radio-broadcasting, etc.; plastics, optical instruments, textiles and timber to name a few. Currently, there are about 50 Belgian companies present in Malaysia. “Some

20 EUMCCI REVIEW


Belgium at a glance: Official Name Independence: Recognised: Capital and largest city Official language Population Government Monarch Prime Minister Legislature Upper House Lower House

: Kingdom of Belgium : Declared from the Netherlands: 4th October 1830 : 19th April 1839 : Brussels : Dutch, French and German : 11, 198, 638 : Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy : Philippe of Belgium : Charles Michel : Federal Parliament : Senate : Chamber of Representatives

of these companies such as Oleon NV and Biotec International Asia, have invested a substantial amount in the oleochemical sector of the palm oil industry,” adds Dargent. Another Belgian company Lhoist, a leading lime producer, is investing more than RM700 million as part of the first phase of its business expansion in Malaysia and the region. Improving trade with other regions is of vital importance to Belgium which has one of the most open economies. Despite its small size and population, it is among the world’s top exporters and importers ranking 12th and 13th in 2013, according to the World Trade Organisation.

Besides helping to improve trade between the two countries, Dargent is also passionate about promoting the message of moderation and peace between nations. “Belgium and Malaysia agree on the importance of moderation and of the need to promote dialogue and understanding among people, authorities and nations,” says Dargent. “We see Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib as a promoter of dialogue about the importance of moderation among countries. The Belgian Government has invited the Malaysian Prime Minister to visit Belgium this year. Economic growth is of course important for any country. But I think you first must have peace and security – those are vital prerequisites for growth.” EU

Belgium’s contribution to the world: • Flemish painters such as Robert Campin, Rogier van der Weyden, and Jan van Eyck, to name a few, brought the Renaissance movement out of Italy to Northern Europe. During the Baroque style in the late 16th and 17th century, Flemish painters such as Peter Paul Rubens and Anthony van Dyck were among the most prominent painters in Europe. Belgium’s contribution to the art world continued in the 20th century with painters such as James Ensor, Paul Delvaux and Rene Magritte who were famous for their surrealist paintings. • Belgian chocolates and pralines are beloved all over the world with brands like Côte d’ Or, Neuhaus, Leonidas and Godiva which are world famous. • Belgium is also famous for its beer, producing over 1,100 varieties. It is home to the world’s best beer, the Trappist Beer of the Abbey of Westvleteren. • Hergé created the comic strip Adventures of Tin Tin in the 1920s and since then it has been translated into over 50 languages. The adorable Smurfs are a Belgian creation as well. • It’s hard to imagine jazz without the saxophone, which was invented by a Belgian, Adolphe Sax. • We have Belgium to thank for introducing the world to waffles, French fries and Brussels sprouts. Famous Belgians: • Audrey Hepburn, the beloved Hollywood fashion icon and screen legend was born in Brussels and spent part of her childhood there. Another Belgian export to Hollywood is Jean-Claude Van Demme, the martial art expert turned actor. • Eddy Merckx, five times Tour de France winner is considered one of the greatest cyclists of all time. • Kim Clijsters and Justine Henin are world famous tennis players who have achieved the number one ranking in the world of women’s tennis. • Belgians have won the Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine (Jules Bordet in 1919, Corneille Heymans in 1938 and Albert Claude and Christian De Duve in 1974); in Physics (Francois Englert in 2013) and in Chemistry (Ilya Prigogine in 1977). Information courtesy of Belgian Foreign Trade Agency & Wikipedia

EUMCCI REVIEW 21


BELGIAN ECONOMIC MISSION VIP NETWORKING NIGHT The Malaysian Belgian Luxembourg Council (MBLC) organised a VIP Networking Night in conjunction with the Belgian Economic Mission headed by HRH Princess Astrid, sister and representative of His Majesty King Philippe.

From left: H.E Luc Vandebon, Mr. Alexander Stedtfeld, Mr. Daniel Loh and Mr. Daniel Pans.

T

he Belgian community in Kuala Lumpur was excited and rightly so. The Belgian Economic Mission headed by HRH Princess Astrid, sister and representative of His Majesty King Philippe was visiting Malaysia with a delegation of about 300 people to boost economic ties between the two countries. The last time such a large economic mission from Belgium visited Malaysia was in 2002. In conjunction with the visit, MBLC organised the VIP Networking night that was held on 24th November 2014 at the Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur.

From left: H.E Daniel Dargent, Mr. Daniel Loh, YB Senator Dato’ Sri Abdul Wahid Omar, Mr. Daniel Pans, Her Royal Highness Princess Astrid of Belgium and H.E Luc Vandebon.

Among the over 300 guests who attended the event were ministers and officials from both Belgium and Malaysia who aims to strengthen the cooperation and long standing relationships between the two countries. Belgian Ministers, including HE Didier Reynders, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, HE Pieter De Crem, Federal Secretary of State for Foreign Trade and HE Cecile Jodogne, Secretary of State for Foreign Trade and Investment for the Brussels-Capital Region were also present to lend support for the Belgian business

community to further develop its presence in Malaysia as well as foster new partnerships with local enterprises. VIP key speakers for the event included YB Senator Dato’ Sri Abdul Wahid Omar, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of Economic Planning, H.E Luc Vandebon, Ambassador and Head of the Delegation of the European Union to Malaysia and Daniel Loh, Managing Director of BASF (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd. One of the main speakers of the night, HE Luc Vandebon, shared many indispensable insights into the EU-ASEAN trade, one of which was the importance of looking for new markets for EU. He said that “for EU businesses, diversifying export markets is the key to survival as 90 per cent of future economic growth will take place outside Europe”. Guests helped themselves to an array of finger food while they mingled with friends, networked among business associates and hoped for a photo opportunity with Princess Astrid. EU

Over 300 people turned up for the event! 22 EUMCCI REVIEW

Information and pictures courtesy of DPO International


Looking for a business partner in the European Union? VOL 2

NO 2

RM10.00 WM RM8.00 | EM

EUMCCI Review is a magazine that is the voice of a business community that is vibrant, dynamic and is expected to grow by leaps and bounds. Generally, analysts believe that the EU-Malaysia trade relations is set to see tremendous growth.

MAR – MAY 2014 RM10.00 WM RM8.00 | EM

AEC 2015: ns What it mea for Malaysia

Interview with ca Sta Maria, Datuk Dr Rebec l of MITI Secretary-Genera

e with Celebrating Europ e Fest Tastes of Europ

H NBURG EDISCOTL AND

& Denmark Investment Forum 2014

Country Focus: EU-Malaysia Trade

I Trade Issues Launch of EUMCC tions 2014 VIP Luncheon: and Recommenda Guan Eng Penang CM Mr Lim ts

EUMCCI Review is distributed on a quarterly basis to EUMCCI members, all Embassies, industry associations and government officials with whom the Chamber has dealings with as well as with European Chambers worldwide. It is also sold to the public in all the leading bookshops in Malaysia. EUMCCI Review is an excellent medium to showcase your company, products or services. Rest assured that your products and services will reach a very nice market that you are targeting.

wooing the touris How Penang is ting in education “We have to change our back and inves ption society’s perce of corruption.”

May 2014. Commencing 28th with our will be delighted Qatar Airways you over 1,000 in-flight you step on board Indulge yourself with From the moment winning cabin comfortable seats. choices. Our award spacious cabins and and tantalizing menu flight. entertainment options,will care for you throughout your crew seamlessly you can also travel benefit oneworld alliance a member of the airport lounges and Now that we are , access over 550 worldwide s program. flyer to over 800 destination and well-established frequent from a generous ys.com/my please visit qatarairwa To book your ticket travel agent. or contact your preferred

, Dato’ Hisham Nordin for Corruption Director of NKRA

anti-corruption “The results of ourvisible in a few years.” measures will be Minister in

Low, Senator Datuk Paul s Department Prime Minister’

World’s 5-star airline.

Advertise with EUMCCI Review and grow from strength to strength. 2015 is a special year for EUMCCI Review as it celebrates its 12th year. Be a part of the celebration and advertise with EUMCCI Review.

Target Market

Distribution

Business community with a vested interest in the growth of trade and investment between EU and Malaysia.

• • • • • •

Magazine Details Frequency: Quarterly Issue: • Mar • Jun • Sep • Dec

all EU Bilateral Business Councils / Chambers all Embassies all EU diplomats Business information counters at KLIA & MIDA EU Delegations & EuroChambers in SEA Chambers of Commerce in Europe, Government agencies & organisations in Malaysia • European Business Organisation Network and EU-ASEAN Business Council • Hotels executive lounges

Advertising Rates (Full Colour) Position Inside Front Cover Inside Back Cover Outside Back Cover Full Page – Rob Half Page Quarter Page

Casual Rates RM8 000 RM6 000 RM10 000 RM3 500 RM2 500 RM1 500

2 Times RM7 000 RM5 000 RM9 000 RM3 325 RM2 375 RM1 425

For enquiries please call: Ganesan @ 012 3739422 MPH Group Magazine (M) Sdn Bhd (771396-H) Lot 1, 1st Floor, Bangunan TH, No. 5 Jalan Bersatu, Seksyen 13/4, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor DE, Malaysia Tel: +603-7960 7334 Fax: +603-7960 3278 E-mail: ganesan@mph.com.my

4 Times RM6 000 RM4 000 RM8 000 RM3 150 RM2 250 RM1 350


WHAT EUMCCI MEMBERS SAY These people have found it worthwhile to be members of EUMCCI.

AGNES YEOW-FOURNIER, Managing Director, Essor Aerospace

SAIF MALIK, Managing Director of Origination & Client Coverage (OCC), Co-Head of Wholesale Banking in Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia, Board of Directors/Representatives of EUMCCI.

“I have been a member since 2009. When I first joined EUMCCI, the impact on my business was more indirect. EUMCCI organises lots of events where I could network and expand my business contacts. What I like about EUMCCI is that it is a high profile chamber that provides us, especially those from smaller companies like mine, an excellent platform to network with Government agencies. On our own we would not have the opportunity to meet such influential people. For this I am very thankful to EUMCCI. For me personally, one of the best things to have happened was when the Aerospace Committee was formed. That’s when I could feel the positive impact on my business. The Aerospace Committee is very active and I try to attend as many events and meetings of this committee. I have a chance to network and to look for business prospects. I have been involved in other chambers and business association. In my opinion, EUMCCI is one of the better run chambers of commerce. The networking opportunities offered by the EUMCCI help us to build business relationships which eventually lead to finding the right business partners and securing deals. This is what I am experiencing now for my business. In my book, EUMCCI is number one!” EU

“Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia has been a long standing member of the EUMCCI and my predecessor also participated actively in many forums of the Chamber.

JONATHAN KAN, CEO of Fairs & Events Management Sdn Bhd

“I am in the logistics and transportation business and EUMCCI has a very active Logistics and Transportation (Supply Chain) Committee. There are many issues that affect this industry and my participation in EUMCCI helps me to voice out my concerns for this industry. EUMCCI is very well respected among the various Government agencies, so I know that our concerns reach the right people in the Government. The many events organised by EUMCCI are also a great place to network and find new business opportunities. In short, being a member in EUMCCI has helped me and my business.” EU

24 EUMCCI REVIEW

Although I have only been in Malaysia for about 20 months, I feel that I can positively contribute to the EUMCCI in terms of many important initiatives the Chamber will be driving forward. My role as the Head of the Wholesale Bank for Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia allows me to come across and interact with many key individuals/players of the Malaysia Corporate and Government fields. I feel I could bring my diversified experience and knowledge of over 13 years in the Financial Sector space to the EUMCCI Exco. Finally, I would like to conclude confirming my commitment to the efforts and initiatives which EUMCCI has led through the years and look forward to a successful year for the EUMCCI and its members.” EU


CHAMBER NEWS

“OFFICE WARMING” RECEPTION FOR EUMCCI’S NEW PREMISES

E

UMCCI has moved up – not only metaphorically in the esteem of its many members and business partners, but also literally – by relocating to its new and bigger premises at Level 10 of Menara Atlan, Jalan Ampang Kuala Lumpur.

To celebrate the occasion, EUMCCI held an office warming reception on 11th February 2015 at its new premises. The new office marks another chapter in the growth of EUMCCI which started off with a single room 13 years ago.

Guest of Honour for the evening was YB Dato Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry. Several ambassadors from EU countries and Trade Counsellors as well as the Secretary General of MITI, Datuk Dr. Rebecca Sta Maria, were also among the 60 guests who attended the reception. In his welcoming remarks, EUMCCI Chairman, Mr. Fermin Fautsch said that the new office has been receiving a lot of positive remarks and feedbacks from

its members and stakeholders. He also thanked the platinum sponsors Siemens Malaysia, Medini and Häfele for their ongoing support. YB Dato Sri Mustapa Mohamed in his short speech expressed his wish for closer cooperation with EUMCCI and said he welcomes input from its members. “I would like to hear from the business community especially those who export to other ASEAN countries about their experiences in exporting to those countries – what they

are doing differently that perhaps Malaysia should take note of,” he said. He also acknowledged that the harmonisation of standards among the ASEAN region still has a long way to go. “A lot can be learned from EU in terms of harmonisation of standards,” he added. The highlight of the evening was the cake cutting ceremony by the Minister. Guests stayed around to enjoy the cake and sample other European finger food and mingle with fellow members and guests. EU

EUMCCI REVIEW 25


CHAMBER NEWS

EU-KETTHA BREAKFAST 2014 At this year’s EU-KeTTHA Breakfast , the Minister of Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA), was briefed on the latest development on the Green Technology from Europe.

EU-KeTTHA Breakfast 2014 Date: 18th October 2014 Venue: EU Business Lounge, EU

Pavilion Hall 5, KLCC

T

he EU-KeTTHA breakfast series has become one of the highlights of the IGEM (International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition & Conference Malaysia) for EUMCCI over the last few years as it gives European industry leaders a good opportunity to network with some senior officials from the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA). The attendance of the Minister of KeTTHA together with other senior officials from the Ministry and from other energy-related Government bodies and GLCs to the breakfast meeting demonstrates the good working relationship between EUMCCI with KeTTHA and Green Tech Malaysia. The EU-KeTTHA Breakfast networking session was by invitation only. This year’s event was attended by more than 40 participants. The special guest for the morning was YB Datuk Seri Panglima Dr. Maximus Johnity Ongkili, the Minister of Energy, Green Technology and Water. Before sitting down for breakfast, the Minister was shown a short presentation on the Green Technology from Europe 2014 which highlighted the latest European innovations and achievements in Green Technology. When it comes to Green Technology, Europe is way ahead compared to the rest of the world. The Global Green Economy Index (GGEI) which has been publishing its listing of the

26 EUMCCI REVIEW

most green economies of the world since 2010, has published its latest list. As usual, EU countries, which have been topping this list since 2010, feature prominently in the top 10 list where eight of the 10 countries are from the EU. Malaysia is seriously trying to shore up its green credentials as it realises that Green Technology is the way of the future. The breakfast and networking session that followed the presentation gave the Malaysian officials and the European business community an opportunity to exchange many views.

After the breakfast session, the Minister was given a tour of the SIEMENS’ and the EU Pavilion exhibitor’s booths. The Malaysian delegation that came for this event included Green Tech CEO Ir Ahmad Hadri Haris, CEO of SEDA (Sustainable Energy Development Authority Malaysia), Ms. Catherine Ridu; CEO of PAAB (Pengurusan Aset Air Berhad), Hj Nor Ifuan Md Nor, CEO of Suruhanjaya Perkhidmatan Air Negara, Dato’ Teo Yen Hua, Director Energy Management and Industry Development Department of the Energy Commission (Suruhanjaya Tenaga), Mr. Mohd Elmi Anas and CEO of Indah Water Konsortium Sdn Bhd, Datuk Ir Abdul Kadir Mohd Din. EU


AUTOMOTIVE COMMITTEE MEETS WITH MAI

O

n 9th October 2014, EUMCCI’s Automotive Committee met up with Mr. Madani Sahari of the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI) at the MAI office in Cyberjaya to discuss several matters pertaining to the industry. About 12 representatives from the Committee were present at the dialogue. One of the outcomes of this meeting was a proposal put forward by MAI for both parties to meet more regularly to enable more feedback and exchange between both parties. Another topic of discussion during the meeting was the introduction of Euro 4 and Euro 5 oils to the Malaysian market. The Automotive Committee felt that it was imperative that Malaysia upgraded its engines to Euro 3 and above, to really

benefit from the fuel efficiency. It was agreed that EUMCCI Automotive Committee would release a media statement with MAI’s support explaining the benefits of using better quality fuel like Euro 4 which will in

turn lead to better fuel savings. The general consensus was that if consumers are well informed of the benefits of using Euro 4 and Euro 5, they would want to make that switch naturally. EU

MGTC GREEN FINANCE STUDY MISSION

F

ollowing its last successful visit on a “green study mission” to Europe in 2013, Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (MGTC) arranged another such visit to Europe in October 2014. This time, MGTC went on a “Green Financing Study Mission” to the United Kingdom, which took place from 27th - 31st October 2014 and consisted of a team of seven people. EUMCCI coordinated the visit for the team. During their time in the United Kingdom, the Malaysian visitors met with several prominent green financing institutions to educated themselves about the latest in green financing and how it can bring about a change for the better in the financial world. EU EUMCCI REVIEW 27


CHAMBER NEWS

CSR OUTREACH PROGRAMME WITH KLCC themselves just how meticulous KLCC is in ensuring it disposes its waste in the proper way without harming the environment in any way. From the visitors’ perspective this part of the programme was also fascinating as they were taken to areas of the KLCC especially its “back rooms” which are not accessible to the public. The day ended with a delicious lunch spread and visitors networking amongst themselves. EU

The Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre played host to EUMCCI and several other companies as arranged under EUMCCI’s CSR outreach programme held on 28th November 2014 at the KLCC. The purpose of the event was for KLCC to showcase the activities under its CSR programme. The programme started with a welcome speech by the centre’s new general manager Mr Alan Pryor. This was followed by a presentation by Ms. Rasima Abd Rashid, the Safety, Health and Environment (SHE) manager. She elaborated on the company’s CSR activities since 2009 and also presented the CSR plans for 2015. Since 2015 will also coincide with KLCC’s 10th anniversary, the company plans to expand its CSR activities for 2015 by having at least 10 programmes – at a rate of one per month – for the duration of the year. Green issues have been one of the top priorities within the company’s CSR programme. Several activities like the observation of Earth Day, the planting of trees and the environmentally friendly disposal of home electronic appliances 28 EUMCCI REVIEW

were very well received by the staff as well as the public. KLCC has also been playing its part in greening the world since 2009, by taking part in tree planting activities at the Forest Research Institute of Malaysia (FRIM). As of 2014, it has planted more than 350 trees. During the Q&A session, several participants from the floor congratulated KLCC on having an active green agenda as part of their CSR activities. They felt that KLCC should leverage its brand name to create more awareness about the benefits of recycling and conservation among the public. After the presentation, guests were given a short tour to some of the waste storage areas at KLCC. The visitors could see for


THANKING MEMBERS AND STAKEHOLDERS

T

he EUMCCI held a year end evening of appreciation for its members and stakeholders. The cocktail for the Members’ Appreciation Evening was held on 3rd December 2014 at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre while the Stakeholders Engagement Event was held at the poolside on the roof top at the Capri by Fraser in Bangsar South on 4th December 2014.

Stakeholders Engagement Event

Both events were well attended and guests enjoyed the cocktail and food while mingling and networking with one another. At the Stakeholders Engagement Event, a lucky draw was held where the grand prize was a Ricoh portable copier. The lucky winner was Tengku Badariah who received the prize from Mr. Fermin Fautsch, the Chairman of EUMCCI. EU Seen at the Members’ Appreciation Evening

EUMCCI REVIEW 29


CHAMBER NEWS

EUMCCI VISITS JOHOR

S

ince its establishment in 2006, Iskandar Malaysia (formerly known as Iskandar Development Region – IDR) has created a lot of buzz about the many business opportunities available in this southern development corridor in Johor.

In order to get an overview of the development blueprint for the state and to look for business opportunities, EUMCCI organised a trip to Iskandar Malaysia (IM) on 28th October 2014. On arrival at Kota Iskandar in Nusajaya, the EUMCCI delegation was given a briefing by the officials at the Johor State Investment Centre (JSIC) on the major investments and projects in IM and learned that as of May 2014, IM has attracted RM14.9 billion worth of investments.

Two of the major projects that were highlighted during the briefing were the Tanjung Langsat Port and the Pengerang Integrated Petroleum Complex (PIPC). Both these projects will contribute to turning IM into one of world’s major oil and gas hubs. After the presentation, the visitors were treated to a lunch at the Horizon Hills Golf and Country Club, hosted by Medini

Iskandar Malaysia, an urban township that is being touted as Malaysia’s single largest urban development. Later the visitors were given a tour of some of Medini’s flagship developments like Malborough College Malaysia, Kota Iskandar, Puteri Harbour, 1 Medini, Pinewood Studios, Sunway Iskandar, M6 & M7 Buildings, Legoland, Afiniti, Gleneagles and Educity. EU

EUMCCI YEAR END COMMITTEE REVIEW

T

he EUMCCI end of year Committee review meeting took place at the EUMCCI office. Speaking at the start of the meeting, EUMCCI Chairman, Mr. Fermin Fautsch, said that, on the whole, 2014 had been an eventful year with all the committees conducting various activities throughout the year, thus contributing to making EUMCCI one of the most active business chambers. For 2015, one new committee has been added to the list of the EUMCCI committees: Research and Innovation, which highlights the importance of research and its links to

30 EUMCCI REVIEW

industry, as well as of building networks between industry and the academia. The committee’s first meeting will take place in March 2015. The other matter discussed during the review meeting was the EU-Malaysia FTA. Mr. Fautsch informed that both parties were working hard towards reaching an agreement and that an announcement would be made soon by MIDA on this matter. A major event will be ASEAN-EU Business Summit, to be held on 23rd August 2015. This event will be one of the highlights for

the business community here. Expect more interesting and exciting events from the EUMCCI Committees in 2015. EU


EXCLUSIVE CORP PARTNER BENEFIT

Exclusive Corporate Partner Benefits Network: With over 30 events each year, the Chamber enables members to meet leaders in business and political spheres. Communicate: The EUMCCI Quarterly Review reaches over 3000 companies, associations and stakeholders in hard copy and online. The EUMCCI e-bulletin is sent to over 6000 business leaders bi-monthly. Exposure: The Chamber is online at www.eumcci.com, on Facebook and Linked In. Advertise with us on our website and in our publications. Member perks: Attractive discounts from our member companies and vetted partners. Influence: Raise issues via Committees and dialogues. Online listing: All members are entitled to a listing in our online directory with a weblink direct to their own website. To become a Corporate Partner contact us: member@eumcci.com; +603 2162 6298 or visit www.eumcci.com to sign up online.

EUMCCI Member – Get – Member Campaign 2015 Reach Out. Connect. Refer. Every time you refer a new member, you strengthen EUMCCI. A vital and growing EUMCCI membership means greater recognition of our collective VOICE. Why not reach out and share the same valuable opportunities with your colleagues? We know that you understand the value of your EUMCCI membership and now is the perfect time to reach out to your professional contacts and invite them to join EUMCCI. And, when you refer a new member, we want to reward you for every successful sign-up. What’s In It for You? You are the greatest testimony to the benefits of being an EUMCCI member. By referring others, you will: • Expand your network of industry peers • Strengthen EUMCCI—A vital and growing membership means greater recognition of the Chamber and OUR collective VOICE • Receive recognition for your recruitment efforts • Receive an exclusive complimentary invitation to our VIP event for every successful sign-up. Please fill in the information below and email to marylopez@eumcci.com or fax: 603-2162 6198 A: Referrer’s Information: Name

:_________________________________________

Designation

:_________________________________________

Company

:_________________________________________

Email Address :_________________________________________ Tel

:_________________________________________

B: I’m referring: Name

:_________________________________________

Designation

:_________________________________________

Company

:_________________________________________

Email Address :_________________________________________ Tel

:_________________________________________

THANK YOU

EUMCCI REVIEW 31


BOOSTING HUMAN CAPITAL

IN THE SABAH DEVELOPMENT CORRIDOR SEDIA is the driving force behind the human capital development in Sabah to increase the state’s competitiveness as a preferred investment destination.

The facilities at the Sabah Agro-Industrial Precinct meant for developing agri-entrepreneurs

University College Sabah Foundation is one several institutions that SEDIA has been collaborating with in human capital development

T

he Sabah Development Corridor (SDC), located within the state of Sabah in Malaysia, was launched in 2008 to accelerate the economic and social development of Sabah by leveraging its rich natural endowment, strategic geographical location and diverse multicultural background. The Sabah Economic Development and Investment Authority (SEDIA), established in 2009 has been tasked as the one-stop authority to plan, coordinate and monitor the SDC development; as well as promote investment into SDC.

collaborating with government ministries and agencies, and academic, training and research institutions, including MOSTI, PEMANDU, MIMOS and Biotechcorp. SEDIA has been collaborating with University College Sabah Foundation (UCSF) in providing education, training, R&D, innovation, commercialisation and outreach programmes as follows: •

• To strengthen Sabah’s competitiveness as a preferred investment destination, SEDIA lays the foundation for an innovative and knowledge-driven service-based economy through human capital development. Towards this end, SEDIA has been

32 EUMCCI REVIEW

The Sabah Animation Creative Content Centre is equipped to allow students to gain filming experience

The development of creative industry, including new media, fine arts, visual arts and performing art; and The transformation of agro-industry in Sabah through knowledgeintensive and prudent use of Sabah’s rich and diverse natural resources.

To support human capital development in the creative industry, SEDIA has also

assisted the development of short film production and digital content animation through the establishment of an incubator facility at UCSF; while another incubator facility for agro-biotech industry has been developed at Sabah Agro-Industrial Precinct, Kimanis. Addressing the human capital requirements of investors in the SDC has seen the introduction of the National Talent Enhancement Programme (NTEP), through cooperation with PEMANDU, aiming to provide job emplacement for degree and diploma holders initially in the fields of engineering. SEDIA has also been working and negotiating with local and foreign research, skills training and higher learning institutions to participate in human capital development programmes, especially in the Sandakan Education Hub. EU


A place of

Business, Culture and Nature The Sabah Development Corridor (SDC) was established in 2008 with the aim of promoting sustainable economic growth, distributing wealth in the state and unlocking its vast wealth of diversified resources that can bolster tourism, agriculture and manufacturing reinforced by the introduction of the Government Transformation Programme(GTP), Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) and the Tenth Malaysia Plan. The state of Sabah is a breathtaking, warm and welcoming place for tourists and investors alike. A region from which to build a better world. SDC is definitely the corridor to expand your business in Sabah.

Come and discover the secrets of Sabah: How your holiday can turn into an exciting business opportunity!

Sabah Economic Development and Investment Authority (SEDIA) Lot 1, Wisma SEDIA, Off Jalan Pintas-Penampang P.O.Box 17251, 88873 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, MALAYSIA Phone: +6088450650 Fax: +6088450699 info@sedia.com.my www.sedia.com.my


CORPORATE PARTNER

POLISH FASHION

BRAND GABRIELLA AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA

G

abriella might not be a household name in Malaysia yet but it is one of the most well-known Polish fashion brands having won the ‘Best in Poland’ award twice. Gabriella specialises in tights and stockings and its products are beloved by Polish women. It is also beginning to make inroads into other European markets. Good news for Malaysian women who love high quality tights and stockings. Gabriella is now available in high-end departmental stores. The products are made from high quality yarn, slips on easily and has a luxurious feel and look. EU

ONE WORLD HOTEL WINS TWO

O

ne World Hotel ended 2014 with a bang by winning two coveted international titles in December 2014. The first award was given at the World Luxury Hotel Awards 2014 held in Cape Town, South Africa where it won the ‘Luxury Hotel and Conference Centre for the Continent: Asia’. This is the second time in the last three years that One World Hotel has won this award. The World Luxury Hotel Awards established in 2006, is recognised as the world’s most prestigious awards for the luxury hotel segment of the hotel industry.

34 EUMCCI REVIEW

COVETED TITLES

One World Hotel also did Malaysia proud by winning the ‘World’s Leading & Meeting Conference Hotel’ award at the 21 st World Travel Awards Grand Final Gala Ceremony 2014 held in Anguilla, in the northern Caribbean. Known as ‘The Oscars’ of the travel industry, One World Hotel beat out 20 other world class hotels and resorts to win the titles. The winners of both awards were selected based on votes received from travel and tourism industry professionals and consumers.EU


UNIVERSITY OF NOTTINGHAM

MALAYSIA CAMPUS HOSTS DISTINGUISHED SPEAKERS ON ISLAMIC FINANCE

T

he Centre for Islamic Business and Finance Research (CIBFR) of the University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus, hosted an Industry Forum with renowned speakers in the field, namely Dr. Zamir Iqbal (Head, World Bank Global Centre for Islamic Finance) and Mr. Zahid Rehman (Assistant Secretary General, Islamic Financial Services Board (IFSB) among others. Addressing the audience, Dr. Zamir Iqbal highlighted that the asset quality is important for Islamic banks and observed that a majority of the Asian Islamic banks’ loan portfolio is rather poor, compared to its conventional counterparts. Sharing the same sentiment, Mr. Zahid acknowledged that IFSB is working

closely with Islamic banks to develop and implement a capital adequacy framework and stress testing mechanism for IFIs. A panel discussion which was moderated by CIBFR Director, Dr. Nafis Alam, with panelists, Dr. Humayun Dar (CEO Edbiz Consulting, UK), Mr. Faizal Karbani (CEO, Simply Shariah, UK) and Dr. Wan Nursufiza (Director, Strategy of Asian Institute of Finance) deliberated on ways to bridge the gap of demand and supply in the Islamic financial system. CIBFR was established in 2014 as a specialised research institute to conduct quality research in the area of Islamic business and finance. EU

Dr. Zamir Iqbal.

INTERNATIONAL SOS

REFRESHES BRANDING TO MARK ITS

30TH ANNIVERSARY

T

he International SOS Group has unveiled a refreshed brand to mark its 30 years with a fresh, contemporary look for its next period of growth and innovation. Its tagline, “Worldwide Reach, Human Touch.” remains at the heart of the new brand proposition. International SOS helps thousands of clients adopt robust, preventative workplace programmes: Medical and travel security plans tailored to the needs of their people, locations and operations. These programmes help keep employees safe and well, and assist business continuity. When immediate help is required, International SOS provides organisations with the world’s leading 24/7 medical and travel security assistance services. Formed as AEA International in Singapore in 1985 with the aim of providing international-standard medical care and emergency medical assistance, the company has come a long way and has transformed the medical assistance market while at the same time pioneering new services. In 1999, the company was renamed International SOS. EU EUMCCI REVIEW 35


CORPORATE PARTNER

KUALA LUMPUR CONVENTION CENTRE TURNS 10!

M

alaysia’s premier convention centre, The Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre (the Centre), celebrates a decade in the business this year with a year-long programme of activities for those who have contributed directly and indirectly, to its growth and success. From staff appreciation and corporate social responsibility events to marketing and promotional packages such as discounts on ancillary charges for Day Conference Packages (DCPs), complimentary mocktails for Banquets, Exhibition Loyalty Value-Added

Programme tier upgrades and much more, the facility is showing their appreciation to everyone for their continuing support and patronage. The Centre, well-known for its innovative and creative banqueting presentations, is offering clients another ‘one-of-akind’ experience: A customised menu of appetisers and desserts ready at the table after guests are seated, followed by the main course of a hot sharing platter; giving event hosts the flexibility to

choose the order in which the courses are served. In a nutshell, what this does is to provide event hosts a choice of not having guests queue up at the buffet station, guests choose from a selection of small bites, but not in the traditional stand-up cocktail fashion and, this recognises the Malaysian heritage of sharing food and offering it in an elegant manner. For more information on the Centre’s special marketing and promotional packages and newest banqueting offering, visit www.klccconventioncentre.com. EU

MICHAEL PAGE MAKES A DIFFERENCE IN CAMBODIA Cambodia trip is part of Michael Page’s ongoing corporate social responsibility initiative to give back to the community. More than RM30,000 were raised for this project which enabled the team to provide 800 villagers with access to clean water on an ongoing basis

I

n December 2014, the team from Michael Page Malaysia travelled to Cambodia with a mission to install

36 EUMCCI REVIEW

water filters in Siem Reap. The money for this project came from funds raised for the MAD (Make A Difference) Experience. The

As stated by MAD, “water is a fundamental human need affecting not just health but education and income for people living in poverty. When children fall ill from dirty water they are unable to go to school and when women spend hours each day collecting water they are kept away from an income generating job.” Currently, almost one in six people globally, or more than one billion people, do not have access to clean water. Michael Page and MAD want to help change this. EU


TELESTE’S NEW ACQUISITION

T

eleste has acquired Mitron Group Oy Ltd, the Finnish provider of public transportation information systems and modern display solutions. The acquisition strengthens Teleste’s abilities to answer rail operators’ growing demands of endto-end solutions that enable more efficient operations with enhanced passenger services and security throughout the rail ecosystem. Together, Teleste and Mitron form one of the leading providers of rail-specific end-to-end solutions. Such a solution includes passenger information and CCTV systems both in rail cars and

at the station, and supports real-time connectivity with live video transmission between rail cars and station as well as wireless data offload from rail cars. Benefits for rail operators include improved safety of operations and passengers, rapid and correct situation awareness, as well as better quality of passenger services through e.g. live onboard entertainment. High standard and quality of the solution are guaranteed by the IRIS certification that has been granted to both companies. For more information about Teleste’s end-to-end rail solution, visit www.telesterail.com.EU

DWI EMAS’ B.E.ST. CAMPAIGN

H

ow much potential do young people have? Dwi Emas International School - in its role as the first entrepreneurial school in Malaysia - sought to find out. In late 2014, the school started a competition to find the world’s Best Entrepreneurial Student (in short the B.E.ST.), and the response was overwhelming. Participating students had a shot at winning full and partial scholarships to Dwi Emas Primary, Secondary as well A Level programme in three, age-respective categories. Students were asked to submit short videos explaining their idea for a new business, product, service and so on and then let the internet public vote for the best idea in order to advance to the second round. The competition was tough throughout, but there was certainly no shortage of brilliant entries. Everything from ideas for instant online tutoring apps to education programmes for teenagers with special needs, the B.E.ST. brought out the brightest kids and there were many of them! For a full list of all the winners and their entries visit www.theentrepreneurialschool.com. EU EUMCCI REVIEW 37


NEW CORPORATE PARTNERS

Allied Moving Services (M) Sdn Bhd

Allied Pickfords is one of the largest and most respected providers of moving services with presence in more than 40 countries and handling over 50,000 international moves every year. First established in 1989, Allied Pickfords’ Malaysia is supported by 31 employees. As part of our commitment to workforce diversity, our Malaysia office employees 7 different nationalities. And in keeping with our corporate commitment to community giving, we contribute to various local non-profit organizations. Allied Pickfords is part of SIRVA Worldwide Relocation & Moving, leading provider of company relocation services and moving solutions, providing more than 300,000 relocations per year to companies, government employees, and individual consumers. Person in Charge: Mr. Gabriel Gan Corporate Account Manager Address: No.10, Jalan 3/32A, Batu 6 ½ Mukim Batu, Jln Kepong 52100 Kuala Lumpur. Tel: 603-6253 6553 Fax: 603-6257 8221 Email: enquiry@alliedpickfords.com.my Website: www.alliedpickfords.com.my

Ambassador Worldwide Movers Sdn Bhd

Ambassador is a prominent international removals, logistics and transportation specialist. Person in Charge: Mr. Jimi Nelson Dhillon, Managing Director Address: 1 Lot 1641 Jalan 1, Taman Jasa Utama Off Jalan Sungai Tua, 68100 Batu Caves, Selangor. Tel: 603-6187 2233 Fax: 603-6186 8566 Email: movers@ambassador.com.my Website: www.ambassador.com.my

International Association for Counter Terrorism and Security Professionals / Centre for Security Studies Eco Business Park 1 Development Sdn Bhd

EcoWorld is a public listed Malaysia company involved mainly in township development, integrated commercial development and business parks. With 4,926 acres of land bank in Klang Valley, Iskandar Malaysia, Penang and now heading internationally at London and Sydney, Eco World is set to become an international eco property developer. Person in Charge: Ms. Hoe Mee Ling, Divisional General Manager Address: Eco Business Park 1 Development Sdn Bhd 01-03, Level 1,No.10, Jalan Setia Tropika 1/21, Taman Setia Tropika, 81200 Johor Bahru, Johor. Tel: 607-235 2552 Fax: 607-232 3631 Email: mlhoe@ecoworld.my Website: www.ecoworld.my

38 EUMCCI REVIEW

Southeast Asia Regional Office The IACSP-CSS is a counter terrorism and security professionals’ think tank cum security consulting and training organization. The IACSP-CSS provides support and expertise in the current evolving international and national security threats to governments, private and non-governmental organizations by developing innovative and effective counter measures. The IACSP-CSS works include traditional and non-traditional security measures to support business continuity. Person in Charge: Mr. Andrin Raj, SEA Regional Director Address: Block E-8-6 Megan Avenue 1 No: 18 Jalan Tun Razak, 50400, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Email: andrin.raj@iacspsea.com or andrin.raj@stratad.net Website: www.iacspsea.com General Email: iacsp@iacspsea.com


Quantium Solutions International (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd GAC Cargo Systems (Malaysia) Sdn.Bhd.

Established in 1994, GAC Malaysia is part of the GAC Group, a global provider of integrated shipping, logistics and marine services. GAC Malaysia provides a one-stop shop option for all logistics and distribution needs, offering complete door to door service and cross trade. In addition to a comprehensive range of shipping services such as ship agency, offshore agency, dry docking support and transfer services, it offers other marine related and value added services including logistics, spares coordination, ship broking and cargo security and insurance. GAC Malaysia also operates a bonded/non-bonded warehouse facility, which is functional and cost competitive as a regional consolidation and distribution hub. It employs over 100 staff in 10 offices throughout Malaysia, including its main office in Petaling Jaya. Person in Charge: Mr. John Tansey, Managing Director Address: B-801-2, Tower 2, Wisma AmFirst, Jalan SS7/15, Kelana Jaya, 47301 Petaling Jaya, Selangor. Tel: 603-7492 1000 Fax: 603-7492 0202 Email: malaysia@gac.com Website: www.gac.com

Scania (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd.

Bulk mailing come with value added services such as fulfillment, data printing and warehousing. Address: Quantium Solutions International (M) Sdn Bhd Axiz Plaza Level 2, No.5, Jalan Penyair U1/44, Off Jalan Glenmarie, 40150 Shah Alam, Selangor. Tel: 603-5569 6901 Fax: 603-5569 6910 Email: eveyln.chew@quantiumsolutions.com Website: www.quantiumsolutions.com

One World Hotel Person in Charge: Mr. Ho Hoy Sum, General Manager Address: One World Hotel First Avenue, Bandar Utama City Centre, 47800 Petaling Jaya, Selangor. Tel: 603-7681 1111 / 603-7712 2222 Fax: 603-7712 2226 Email: sales@oneworldhotel.com.my Website: www.oneworldhotel.com.my

Scania is one of the world’s leading manufacturers of trucks and buses for heavy transport applications; marine, industrial and power generation engines; and financial services. Our strategic focus is on customer profitability by providing sustainable transport solutions.

Sirius International (M) Sdn Bhd

Person in Charge: Mr. James Armstrong, Managing Director Address: No.1, Jalan Tiang U8/93, Bukit Jelutong Industrial Park, 40150 Shah Alam, Selangor. Tel: 603-7845 1000 Fax: 603-7845 2000 Email: SMYenquiries@scania.com Website: www.scania.com.my

Person in Charge: Ms. Julie Chin, Director of Marketing Address: Lot 1214, Seksyen 40, Batu 10, Lebuh Raya Persekutuan, Off Jalan SS7/2, 47300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor. Tel: 603-7865 5787 Fax: 603-7865 0774 Email: Julie.chin@dwiemas.edu.my Website: www.dwiemas.edu.my

Sirius International (M) Sdn Bhd was incorporated in 2010 in Malaysia. The company owns and manages both Sri Emas International School as well as Dwi Emas International School.

EUMCCI REVIEW 39


CALENDAR OF EVENTS

Here is the line up of recent and upcoming events organised or supported by EUMCCI. The dates and venues for the upcoming events have not been finalised. Please refer to the EUMCCI website – www.eumcci.com – for latest updates on the events.

Recent Events: EUMCCI Member’s Appreciation Evening Date: 3rd December 2014 Time: 6.00pm to 8.00pm Venue: Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre Stakeholders Engagement Event Date: 4th December 2014 Time: 4.00pm to 7.00pm Venue: Capri by Fraser, Bangsar South EUMCCI End of Year Committee Review 2014 Date: 23rd January 2015 Time: 9.00am to 11.00am Venue: EUMCCI Conference Room Defence and Security Breakfast Talk Date: 4th February 2015 Time: 9.00am to 11.00am Venue: EUMCCI Conference Room BMW Malaysia Open – Interchamber Networking Evening Date: 3rd March 2015 Time: 6.00pm to 8.30pm Venue: The Royal Selangor Golf Club

Upcoming Events: VIP Luncheon with YBhg Datuk Azman Mahmud: “The weakening Ringgit: How the Government is poised to tackle the problem.” Date: 26th March 2015 Time: 12.00pm to 2.00pm Venue: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel EUMCCI Golf Challenge 2015 Date: 12th April 2015 Time: 6.30am to 3.00pm Venue: Kelab Golf Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah EU-Malaysia Trade & Investment Forum 2015: “Meeting challenges for growth in ASEAN.” Date: 16th April 2015 Time: 9.00am to 2.00pm Venue: TBC An update on the Economy with YB Senator Dato’ Sri Abdul Wahid Omar Date: 7th May 2015 Time: 12.30pm to 2.30pm Venue: Doubletree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

JOINTLY ORGANISED BY:

Note: All events are correct at the time of printing. The events might be subject to change due to unforeseen circumstances. Please check EUMCCI website at www.eumcci.com for the latest updates on events or direct inquiries to events@eumcci.com or eumcci@eumcci.com or call +603 - 2162 6298

40 EUMCCI REVIEW


-


EDINBURGH SCOTLAND

Commencing 28th May 2014. From the moment you step on board Qatar Airways you will be delighted with our spacious cabins and comfortable seats. Indulge yourself with over 1,000 in-flight entertainment options, and tantalizing menu choices. Our award winning cabin crew will care for you throughout your flight. Now that we are a member of the oneworld alliance you can also travel seamlessly to over 800 destinations worldwide, access over 550 airport lounges and benefit from a generous and well-established frequent flyer program. To book your ticket please visit qatarairways.com/my or contact your preferred travel agent. World’s 5-star airline.

Profile for EUMCCI

Eumcci review vol2 no4  

Eumcci review vol2 no4  

Profile for eumcci
Advertisement