Page 4

contents departments

8

7 Between Us 13  Program 19  discover us. discover you. 20 About the Alliance Theatre 21  Board of Directors 22 Sponsors 24 Annual Fund 27 Woodruff Circle 28 Staff

visit

feature 8 Black Lives Matter, Then and Now Playwright Jiréh Breon Holder revisits the era of the Freedom Riders in his Alliance/Kendeda Awardwinning drama, Too Heavy for Your Pocket. By Julie Bookman

the Encore Atlanta website for more about Atlanta’s arts & entertainment culture. We have features, news, profiles, columns and more … encoreatlanta.com

AMP CREATIVE EDITOR

Kathy Janich

kathy@encoreatlanta.com

AMP SALES PUBLISHER

Tom Casey

tom@americanmediaproducts.com VICE PRESIDENT

Ginger Roberts

ginger@americanmediaproducts.com DIRECTOR OF MARKETING & SOCIAL MEDIA

Stephanie Smith

stephanie@americanmediaproducts.com BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT

Maryclaire Andres

maryclaire@americanmediaproducts.com

PRODUCTION MANAGER

Mark F Baxter

mark@americanmediaproducts.com DIGITAL MANAGER

Ian Carson

ian@americanmediaproducts.com PRODUCTION ASSISTANT

Whitney Stubblefield

whitney@americanmediaproducts.com CONTRIBUTING WRITER

Julie Bookman

ENCORE ATLANTA is published monthly by American Media Products Inc. CHAIRPERSON Diane Casey PRESIDENT Tom Casey SECRETARY Evan Casey TREASURER Kristi Casey Sanders CONTROLLER Suzzie Gilham

8920 Eves Road, #769479, Roswell, GA 30076 | Phone 678.837.4004 Fax 678.837.4066 Copyright 2017 AMP Inc. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part is strictly prohibited. Encore Atlanta is a registered publication of AMP Inc. The publisher shall not be liable for failure to publish an ad, for typographical errors or errors in publication. Publisher reserves the right to refuse any advertising for any reason and to alter advertising copy or graphics deemed unacceptable for publication.

2 ENCOREATLANTA.COM

Profile for Encore Atlanta

THE ALLIANCE THEATRE :: Too Heavy for Your Pocket  

Encore Atlanta is the official show program for the Fox Theatre, the Alliance Theatre, the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, The Atlanta Opera, th...

THE ALLIANCE THEATRE :: Too Heavy for Your Pocket  

Encore Atlanta is the official show program for the Fox Theatre, the Alliance Theatre, the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, The Atlanta Opera, th...