Page 48

Through The Years 2006

The Eagles won their second straight MAC Championship title, giving them their 12th title in school history. Corey Nowitzke was MVP of the competition, taking first overall with a time of 26:52.6. Nowitzke also captured the top spot at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional with a time of 30:57.94, leading his team to a fifth-place finish. Coach John Goodridge was once again named Coach of the Year in the MAC. A total of six athletes were named All-MAC, finishing in the top 14.


The Eastern Michigan University men’s cross country team won its third consecutive MAC cross country title and its 13th in school history. The Eagles totaled 31 points to best runner-up Miami, who had 50 points. This was only the second time in school history that the Eagles won three consecutive conference titles. The Eagles, who joined the MAC in 1972, are now a perfect 4-0 when Central Michigan has hosted the MAC Championships. The Eagles had all juniors score and had three in the top seven to claim first team All-MAC and two additional runners earning second team All-MAC honors. The Eagles placed all nine runners in the top 30, with five being named to the All-MAC squads. Josh Perrin became the 12th individual and 16th overall winner for the Eagles, taking the victory with a time of 24:33. Josh Karanja took third, while David Brent took fifth to earn first-team All-MAC honors. Curtis Vollmar and Kyle Mena took home second-team All-MAC honors, while head coach John Goodridge took home Coach of the Year. At the NCAA Great Lakes Regional, the Eagles took seventh place as a team and Josh Karanja finished eighth overall, earning an at-large bid to the NCAA Championship where he finished 150th.



The senior class of 2008-09 won its fourth consecutive Mid-American Conference cross country title and the program’s 14th overall title. The Eagles won the title with a low score of 42 points over Miami, who totaled 56 points. Josh Karanja picked up an individual title becoming the 13th runner to win the program’s 17th individual title, the most of any conference school. Curtis Vollmar picked up his third-straight All-MAC award, while David Brent and Josh Perrin took home Second Team All-MAC awards. Brent was also awarded Academic All-MAC honors for his work both on the course and in the classroom. The Eagles were led by Karanja’s 32nd-place finish at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional Championship, as the Green and White finished seventh as a team.


The EMU men’s cross country team took second at the Mid-American Conference Championship. The Eagles scored 55 points, placing just behind Kent State. Senior Curtis Vollmar took fourth place, earning him All-MAC First Team accolades. He is one of only seven runners in EMU history to earn All-MAC all four years. Sophomore James Hughes and Junior Matt Hammersmith also earn All-MAC Second Team honors. At the NCAA Great Lakes Regional, Vollmar led the Eagles with a 17th place finish followed by true freshman Terefe Ejigu, with both runners earning All-Region honors.


The Eagles showcased a stellar 2010 campaign that featured four first place team finishes, most notably a first place MAC Championship performance for the Eagles’ 15th MAC Championship in program history. Terefe Ejugu was first to cross the finish line at 24:08 to become the 18th EMU runner to earn the Individual MAC

Championship, a feat last accomplished by Josh Karanja in 2008. Ejigu’s efforts earned him First Team All-MAC honors, while freshman Harry Dixon picked up second team accolades. John Goodridge was named the MAC Coach of the Year for the sixth time after leading his team to his sixth championship title during his tenure. At the NCAA Great Lakes Regional, Ejigu continued to shine with a 15th place, All-Region performance. The sophomore maintained his position in the top-five from the start of the race, but fell back a few positions in the final 800 meters for a still impressive 30:41.89 finish. Ejigu’s accomplishments would later earn him USTFCCCA All-Academic accolades -- marking only the second time an EMU harrier has ever earned the award. 2011

EMU returned to top form as the Eagles captured their second straight and 16th overall Mid-American Conference Championship. The Eagles were paced by Terefe Ejigu for the second consecutive conference championship, with a second place finish (24:16.0). Joining Ejigu and receiving All-MAC recognition was freshman Daryl Smith, whose strong second half of the season placed him among the best in the conference. The 2011 Eagles collected their sixth championship in seven years dating back to 2005. It was an historic season for Head Coach John Goodridge who was in his 11th year at the helm of the Eagles. The title marked the Eagles’ seventh under the watch of Goodridge, placing him only two behind legendary EMU Head Coach Bob Parks. Goodridge was also named the MAC Coach of the Year for the seventh time, as voted by his peers in the MAC.


The Eagles were able to secure a third consecutive MAC Championship title, scoring 59 points to hold a secure lead over runner-up Central Michigan. Terefe Ejigu finished his senior campaign with another MAC individual title, finishing in 24:44.50 while teammate Daryl Smith completed a 1-2 finish for the Green and White in 24:47.80. Both were named to the All-MAC First Team, while Harry Dixon took home second team honors and John Goodridge was named the MAC Coach of the Year. The team went on to take 13th at the NCAA, despite Ejigu bowing out following the 8K mark due to injury.


Head Coach John Goodridge was able to celebrate his birthday by tying EMU Hall of Fame coach Bob Parks in MAC Championship titles, taking the ninth of his tenure and the 18th in program history with 42 points. Grzegorz Kalinowski and Harry Dixon ended their careers as AllMAC First Team honorees after finishing third and fifth, respectively, while Warren Witchell and Willy Fink were named to the second team. Goodridge also picked up his ninth MAC Coach of the Year award. The team went on to take 10th at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional, with Witchell landing in the top-30 and Daryl Smith, Dixon, Kalinowski, and Fink finishing in the top-100.

Eastern Michigan University Men’s Country EEastern t Mi hi nUniversity U niversity i it Men’s Me Men’ nCross ’s Cross C Country Cou C unttry Michigan

17 Mid-American Conference Championships • 1973 • 1974 • 1986 • 1990 0 • 1991 • 1992 • 1993 • 1994 • 2000 • 2001 • 2005 200 0 • 2006 • 2007 • 2008 • 2010 • 2011 • 2012 005 18 Mid-American Conference Championships • 1973 • 1974 • 1986 • 1990 • 1991 • 1992 • 1993 • 1994 • 2000 • 2001 • 2005 • 2006 • 2007 • 2008 • 2010 • 2011 • 2012 • 2013

2014 EMU Men's Cross Country Digital Media Guide