Page 1


FERNEYHOUGH Coloratura for oboe & piano Score

No. 7123

Photo © Sisi Burn


Brian Ferneyhough (b. 1943) studied at the Birmingham School of Music, the Royal Academy of Music, in Amsterdam with Ton de Leeuw, and with Klaus Huber at the Basel Conservatoire. The Gaudeamus Composers’ Competition in The Netherlands awarded Ferneyhough prizes (1968–70) for his Sonatas for String Quartet, Epicycle and Missa Brevis. Ferneyhough has taught composition at the Musikhochschule in Freiburg; the Civica Scuola di Musica, Milan; the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague; the University of California, San Diego; Stanford and Harvard. Notable works include Shadowtime, an opera for the Munich Biennale (2004); the Fifth String Quartet, for the Arditti String Quartet; Plötzlichkeit, for orchestra, premièred at the Donaueschingen music festival; and Chronos Aion.


Brian Ferneyhough

Brian Ferneyhough ( *1943) studierte an der Birmingham School of Music und der Royal Academy of Music sowie bei Ton de Leeuw in Amsterdam und bei Klaus Huber an der MusikAkademie Basel. Für seine Sonaten für Streichquartett sowie für Epicycle und die Missa Brevis erhielt er Kompositionspreise der niederländischen Stiftung Gaudeamus (1968–1970). Ferneyhough lehrte an der Musikhochschule Freiburg, an der Mailänder Civica Scuola di Musica, am Königlichen Konservatorium Den Haag, an der University of California in San Diego sowie in Standford und Harvard. Zu seinen bekanntesten Werken zählen die für die Münchner Biennale entstandene Oper Shadowtime (2004), sein Streichquartett Nr. 5 (für das Arditti-Quartett), das in Donaueschingen aufgeführte Orchesterwerk Plötzlichkeit sowie Chronos Aion.

Edition Peters No. 7123

w w w.e d i t i o n p e t e r s .c o m


Extract. For oboe and piano, by Brian Ferneyhough. Full work available to purchase from Edition Peters. Tel: 020 7553 4000 Email: sales@edit...