Page 1

PHILANTHROPY & COMMUNITY INVESTMENT

ANNUAL REVIEW 2014/15 ANNUAL REVIEW 2015/16


IN 2015/16 EECF...

SUPPORTED 15,341 PEOPLE

ENABLED 1,395 PEOPLE

REDUCED ISOLATION OF 1,158 PEOPLE

HELPED 262 PEOPLE GAIN WORK EXPERIENCE

TO GAIN A QUALIFICATION

HELPED 151 PEOPLE IMPROVED HEALTH & INTO PAID EMPLOYMENT WELLBEING OF 2,535 PEOPLE 02


WELCOME

Howard Dawber Chairman

Tracey Walsh Chief Executive

The east end of London is such a vibrant and creative place to live and work but the social needs here remain some of the highest in London and the UK. As an ambitious and fast growing philanthropic foundation with a focus on uniting donors in order to better support those most in need, I continue to be delighted with the progress we make. By actively encouraging philanthropy amongst individuals and companies we have distributed our highest level of funding to date to local organisations, an increase of 78% on last year which is a great achievement. We have also implemented a new monitoring and evaluation system so that we are better able to demonstrate to our donors the impact their support has on those most in need. Supporting donors to collectively invest in the community is a key focus of EECF’s work as we believe that positive social change is best achieved when working with others. A good example is the innovative partnership we have established with the 20 Fenchurch Street Partnership and the building’s tenants and service providers. The initiative gives them all the opportunity to work together to address unemployment locally, and to achieve more than they could alone. The Fund is also a great opportunity for the community to secure funding to deliver high quality projects for a diverse range of beneficiaries. More information on the fund can be found on page 7. To conclude our successful year we were delighted that the London Borough of Tower Hamlets liberated S106 planning gain monies ring-fenced for EECF to establish an endowment for community investment. Special thanks go to Mayor John Biggs and the Planning team for their support. As always I want to express my gratitude to the Board of Trustees and the staff team for their tremendous efforts throughout the busy but rewarding year.

I always look forward to the time when we prepare our annual report as it is a great opportunity to reflect on our achievements. In 2015/16 not only did we distribute our highest level of grants to date – £830,000 – to organisations delivering strong and effective community initiatives but we also: published the latest round of our Vital Signs research, received long awaited S106 monies to create an expendable endowment to bolster our grant making activities and held a successful business breakfast in the beautiful Sky Garden at 20 Fenchurch Street, which led to the creation of a fund targeting unemployment. More information can be found on page 7. The impact of our grant making is clear to see throughout this report, with personal stories from just a few of our many beneficiaries, that I hope you find interesting and engaging.

03


FLEXIBLE GIVING For over 25 years East End Community Foundation has worked in partnership with donors to invest in key local community projects.

Individuals or Families

We can help you channel your philanthropic giving to the areas and issues you are passionate about.

Businesses

We identify key local community projects for you to support through donations or volunteering to complement your local corporate social responsibility programmes.

Public bodies and statutory organisations

We have years of expertise in managing Section 106 agreements and working in strategic partnership with councils and other public bodies to stimulate change.

Trusts or Foundations

Whether you want to work together to maximise impact, reduce administration through outsourcing or transfer your assets to create a lasting legacy, we are here to help.

04

Whether you wish to distribute funding for immediate impact or establish a long term legacy, EECF has a giving programme that is right for you.

Distribute funding for immediate impact

You can chose for your donation to be made available for immediate spend, usually awarded in grants over a 12-month period.

Establish a long term legacy

You can choose to contribute to an endowment, a permanent charitable resource that grows through your support. Your donation is invested and the dividend generated used for grant making year on year.

Grow your donation by up to 50% We have launched a unique Endowment Match Programme making ÂŁ1 million worth of match funding available to new and existing donors who choose to set up a new, or contribute to one of our existing, endowments. You could boost your donation by up to 50%.


WITH EECF Our professional team will help you set up a Donor Advised Fund which matches both your needs and those of the local community, maximising the value of your donation.

Direct your giving to support a particular organisation, borough or social issue

You can choose to give to support a particular charity or community group, focus your giving on a specific area or cause or make your donation available to projects identified by EECF to be most in need. You can top up your fund with a regular or one-off contribution.

Pool your giving with other donors for greater impact

Working in partnership and giving collectively with other donors increases your donation’s impact and reach, enabling you to fund a wide range of grassroots community projects. Find out more about our local giving funds on pages 10-11.

Create a bespoke philanthropic giving programme

EECF will work with you to create a bespoke giving programme based on your charitable or business interests. You can be as involved as you want in the grant-making process and have the option to visit projects and review applications with your own funding panel. See what other donors have been able to achieve on pages 6-9.

05


MULTI-DONOR FUNDS:

“I’ve always wanted to work in the airport because aviation is something I’ve always been interested in. Fight for Peace helped make my dream a reality and gave me the opportunity to finally go into the industry I have always dreamed about being in, but never thought would be possible.” Patience* Passenger Service Agency Training Participant, Fight for Peace Shortlisted for interview at London City Airport

06


PARTNERSHIP IN ACTION “The 20 Fenchurch Street Legacy Fund has already made a real and lasting difference to people from some of the most deprived areas of London. Together we have already supported 79 local people into employment and we look forward to continuing the positive impact on the local community.”

Paul Hewitt General Manager, 20 Fenchurch Street, Land Securities

£96,436

276 79

awarded to 5 community projects

people supported

people helped into work

43

people gained a qualification

T

he innovative 20 Fenchurch Street Legacy Fund was launched in July 2015. EECF worked with Canary Wharf Group and Land Securities to establish a bespoke philanthropic giving programme which pools contributions from multiple donors including building occupiers, service providers and visitors to the 20 Fenchurch Street building’s Sky Garden. Donations support a grants programme to tackle issues of unemployment and are also invested in an endowment to create a lasting legacy for East London. Using our expertise and local knowledge we visit local charities to compose a shortlist for the Fund grants panel. The panel composed of major donors then review our recommendations and make the final decision about which projects to support. We have been blown away by the success of the programme; the partnership was shortlisted for the Charity Times Awards 2016 Corporate Community Local Involvement Award after distributing £96,000 in its first year to community projects, helping 79 local residents into work. A full list of grants awarded can be found on page 13.

Supported by

07


DONOR ADVISED FUNDS: MATCHING “Lendlease is delighted with our partnership with EECF. They have been thoroughly co-operative and professional in managing our fund and have really strong connections with local charities, so advertising the fund in the communities around our development has been really effective.” Jason Vincent Community Development Manager – IQL Development, Lendlease

£22,488

9

awarded

projects supported

I

n 2015 multinational property company Lendlease established their community fund to support local people living in the area surrounding their International Quarter development at Stratford City. Their philanthropic fund promotes active and healthy communities in Stratford and New Town, West Ham and Forest Gate. EECF helped Lendlease identify key three local issues to support – health & wellbeing, arts & culture and education & learning – responding to feedback from the community as well as statistical data. Throughout the year, we support Lendlease by assessing applications for support from local projects, presenting recommendations to the Lendlease grants panel and reporting back on activities taking place.

One project supported by Lendlease was Salmagundi Films who delivered an intergenerational digital arts project with 50 residents from the E15 and E20 postcodes. The sessions helped build community cohesion and reduce social isolation for the area’s most vulnerable people.

“I am going to come to Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park all the time now – my Mum will be jealous of my trip round the park!” Salmagundi Films Project Participant

08

Harry, an elderly person living with dementia, attended the project with his wife of 51 years, Margaret. Both used new technologies and visited the Olympic Park for the first time. Margaret says the project helped her open up about living with Harry’s illness, meaning she “felt closer as a community group and met lots of new people”.


YOUR NEEDS WITH COMMUNITY NEEDS “Ben cared enormously about the world in which he lived and especially those people whom he came into contact with. Even though Ben was humble about his pro-bono and community work he was passionate about helping others and we are so proud that his legacy can live on through this important memorial fund.” The Family of Ben Ogden; parents Andy and Pat, sister Amy and partner Stephanie

10 258 135

projects awarded funding

people supported

people gained a qualification

B

en Ogden was on his way to becoming a very successful solicitor, he passed his Legal Practitioners Course with flying colours and at the end of his two-year training contract with Allen & Overy he was taken on in their employment and pensions department. However, during his qualification break he tragically died in the Nepalese air crash on 28th September 2012. Without interfering with the success of his studies and training, in three years Ben contributed a huge amount to the community through charity and pro bono work. In 2015 Allen & Overy established the Ben Ogden Memorial Fund to continue Ben’s legacy of support, providing grants to voluntary and community organisations across Hackney and Tower Hamlets with a focus on improving access to, and opportunities in, education, employment and training.

“I would never have the confidence to speak to a corporate professional without Food for Thought.” Aemon, aged 17 Food for Thought project participant

09


LOCAL GIVING FUNDS: COLLECTIVE A local-giving fund which combines donations from a wide variety of donors including trusts, residents, businesses and philanthropists to support a range of small, local community organisations. As rates of unemployment and mental illness are significantly high in Hackney, the fund prioritises helping local residents get into work and training, improve their wellbeing and take part in community activities.

W

ith the support of our partners, and thanks to donations raised through a live crowdfunding event Hackney Giving awarded £108,164 to 25 community organisations from across the borough this year. We have ambitious plans to further expand the programme and help even more local residents and invite you to join the partnership to make this vision a reality.

2,940 36 35 1,151

people supported by Hackney Giving funded projects people helped into work

people gained a qualification people improved their health and wellbeing

Statistics show Hackney is one of the five worst areas in England for child obesity; but when you’re on a tight budget, it can be difficult to plan how to provide healthy and nutritious food for your family. Bags of Taste used their Hackney Giving grant to deliver two food courses for people in food poverty, to improve their wellbeing, teaching them to shop, cook and eat better for under £1 per portion. 52 local people took part after being referred by the Jobcentre, local food banks, learning disabled services and housing associations. By the end of the course 84% reported increasing their consumption of vegetables and 74% said they were saving on average over £10 a week on food, about £600 per year!

Supported by

10


GIVING FOR LOCAL COMMUNITIES A local-giving fund which combines donations from a variety of donors to support a range of small, local community organisations. As the borough has a significantly young population Newham Giving prioritises supporting positive school holiday activities, with fantastic results. Since launching in April 2014 Newham Giving has awarded £136,000 to local projects and engaged 2,000 children and young people.

G

enerous donations from major donor, Northern Trust, and fund partners Berwin Leighton Paisner, Clifford Chance and Tate & Lyle Sugars meant we were able to grow the grants programme in 2015 by 52%. The expansion of the programme was a great success with more people benefitting. Positive school holiday activities can help young people reduce antisocial behaviour, increase personal development and improve motivation to engage in learning at school. In 2016 we aim to build upon the success of this great programme by expanding to cover half term activities.

944 43 35 10

children and young people supported young people gained a qualification young people gained work experience projects supported

Looking after an ill or disabled family member is tough, especially when you are only 12. Yet this is the reality of daily life for Hassan, who looks after his father, who is blind. Thanks to funding, Hassan was able to have respite time at a Create Arts summer holiday workshop. He said: “When I come here, I stop thinking about stuff at home… When you’re caring for your parents, you’ve got to care for them full time. You can’t go out. With this, you can socialise with other people who understand, and because you have more in common, you can make more friends.”

Supported by

11


GRANTS AWARDED 2015/16 2%

20%

ARTS, CULTURE & HERITAGE

11%

COMMUNITY COHESION

YOUTH ENGAGEMENT

18%

9%

EDUCATION & LEARNING

Grants Awarded

REDUCING ISOLATION

April 2015 to March 2016

£831,124

8%

HEALTHY LIVING

29%

3%

EMPLOYMENT & TRAINING

OTHER

e.g. Equipment, Events, Sponsorship, Advice Services, Outings

Total number of grants awarded

70

£300,000

Total value of grants awarded

63

£258,313

60

£250,000 £227,276

50

50

£200,000

41

40

£173,725

£150,000

31

30

£100,000

20

11

10

9

£50,000 £27,422

0 £3 ,0 01 -£ 5,0 00 £5 ,0 01 -£ 10 ,0 00 £1 0, 00 1-£ 25 ,0 00

0 £8 0

£3 ,0 0 0£8 0

0£2 5

0£2

0 £3 ,0 01 -£ 5,0 00 £5 ,0 01 -£ 10 ,0 00 £1 0, 00 1-£ 25 ,0 00

£3 ,0 0 0£8 0

-£ 80 50 £2

0-

£2 50

0

0

50

£2,550

0

12

£141,838


GRANTS PROGRAMME

BEN OGDEN MEMORIAL FUND

ORGANISATION

PURPOSE DONOR ADVISED FUNDS Bethnal Green Spear Trust Spear Centre Lead Coach Circle Sports Publicis X Fight for Peace Vocational courses at Fight for Peace Leaders in Community Youth into Jobs Streets of Growth Earn Your Vision

IQL COMMUNITY FUND

ARTS FUND

COMMUNITY GRANTS

£20,000 £20,000 £17,436 £20,000 £19,000

BPACT Voyage Construction Youth Trust Create (Arts) Limited EFA London Innercity Films Leaders in Community Made in Hackney (AMURT UK) Map Squad Skyway Charity Student Hubs at SOAS

Young leaders for Safer Cities Budding Builders: Hackney A Wealth of Stages Parent Power: ESOL for Chisenhale Parents Write For Your Life Food for Thought Apprenticeship Programme VJ Peer Training Project SkyWay Futures Schools Plus

£2,000 £2,500 £2,259 £2,462 £2,500 £2,500 £2,490 £2,357 £2,500 £2,500

E20 Eagles Netball Club

£2,000

ZU-UK (Zecora Ura Theatre Company)

E20 Eagles Netball Club East Village Parents, Babies & Toddlers Group Healthy History Walking Tours Gardening on the Green Saturday Kids Cooking Club People of Homerton ICIC cycle trips and cycle sports Delivering the Olympic Legacy Aurora Orchestra Residency & Access Programme GAS station

Chain Reaction Theatre Company Eastside Community Heritage Echo Elevated Aspirations INUF - Independent Newham Users Forum Salmagundi Films St. Paul’s Church Stratford Stratford Arts Trust The Work, Skills and Independence Group CIC

Youth Theatre Museum on Wheels ShareEast Sessions Education Motivation Programme The INUF Men’s Group The Bridge E2015 Summer School Stratford Circus Access Programme Vocational training

£2,997 £2,900 £2,940 £2,999 £2,300 £2,992 £700 £1,660 £3,000

East India Over 50’s Consortium Musicus CIC SPLASH Arts SPLASH Arts

Equipment and project costs Spotlight Youth Music Project The Art Knit and Chat Club Hind Grove Art & Technology Club

£800 £3,000 £2,760 £1,583

Aberfeldy Food Co-op East London Chinese Community Centre East London Chinese Community Centre Hind Grove Over 50’s Social Club/ Ebeegees Leaders in Community Musicus CIC Poplar Peddlers Cycling Club Seeds for Growth Stebon Primary School Teviot Action Group Tower Hamlets Community Transport

Community Health Day Structured activities Day trip and festival celebrations Coach Hire Early Intervention project Spotlight Youth Music Project Community Cycling Training New Enterprise project SHINE on Saturday@Stebon Unity Club Connecting People Transport Club

£640 £1,250 £800 £250 £5,000 £2,000 £4,958 £4,500 £2,458 £5,000 £5,000

East Village Residents Association

INSPIRING COMMUNITIES FUND

AWARD

Eastside Community Heritage ecoACTIVE Education Helping Hackney Health Innercity Films Interlinkx cic S7 Academy of Community Excellence Stratford Arts Trust

£3,000 £3,000 £3,000 £3,000 £2,550 £2,000 £2,945 £2,951 £3,000

13


GRANTS PROGRAMME

LONDON DOCK COMMUNITY FUND

DISPOSSESSED FUND

ORGANISATION PURPOSE Afro-Brazilian Arts & Cultural Exchange Cultural Exchange Project Institute Hush Hush Chefs Community Christmas Event Purple Moon Drama Venue Hire for theatre showcase Shadwell Basin Outdoor Activity Centre Summer Adventure Project 2015 SocietyLinks Summer Programme St Katharine’s Trust Equipment and Organisational Overheads The Rooted Forum Shadwell Youth Club Summer Programme The Rooted Forum East Girls Project Wapping High School Festival of Code DONOR DIRECTED FUNDS Half Moon Young People’s Theatre Early Years Dance and Drama Play Association Tower Hamlets Outdoor Play Project St Nicholas Church Children & Families Project Women’s Environmental Network Aberfeldy Workshops

AWARD

Limehouse Girls Football Club Sev Necati Training Tower Hamlets Youth Sport Foundation

Limehouse Laces Women & Young People’s Safety Solutions PETA Training Programme

£3,300 £4,300 £5,454

Friends of Woodberry Down Greatfield Residents Association High Hill TRA Wilton Estate TRA

Weekly elders activities Community market Positive activities for young people Craft and Cultural activities

£2,270 £5,000 £5,000 £5,522

Crossroads Care Down’s Syndrome Association Right To Play SUMMER AUCTION FUND Saving Faces Seeds of Peace

Young Carers Programme WorkFit & DSActive Programmes Coach Training Programme School Education Programme London Conference

Bags of Taste Cooking Classes Capoeira Angola Capoeira sessions Chigwell Court TA Rainbow suppers Creative Wick Hub67 project Gainsborough Children’s Centre Community Christmas Event Gascoyne 2 TRA Community Christmas Event Hackney Playbus Early Years Support Programme Hackney Wick Football Club Football Club Hackney Wick Football Club Community football fitness sessions Hands Inc Exercise and social events Inside Hackney Hackney Wick development Sev Necati Training Women & Young People’s Safety Solutions Voice of Youth Music Project Well Street Community Project Trainee traders stall WESTRA Well Street Winter Festival WESTRA Community Christmas Event EECF FUNDS EECF SPONSORSHIP FUND Stairway to Heaven Memorial Trust Stairway to Heaven Memorial

ISLE OF DOGS SUMMER PROGRAMME

14

Cafe Forever Island House Mudchute Association SPLASH SPLASH Arts St Paul’s Arts Trust

Football Sessions Summer Street Dance Development Project Summer Activities Summer Activities Summer Arts and Drama Project Alice in Wonderland Summer Theatre School

£250 £200 £250 £2,800 £2,500 £250 £3,100 £3,100 £2,000 £6,000 £11,070 £5,000 £5,000

£25,000 £25,000 £10,000 £10,000 £16,219 £4,667 £700 £900 £900 £1,000 £1,000 £5,000 £1,000 £1,000 £850 £950 £2,333 £750 £500 £1,000 £750 £8,000 £2,590 £4,270 £3,440 £500 £2,530 £1,180


GRANTS PROGRAMME

ISLE OF DOGS SMALL GRANTS

STUDY SUPPORT FUND

VITAL GRANTS

TOWER HAMLETS GRANT CHEST

ORGANISATION 2nd East London Scout Group Chinese Association of Tower Hamlets Cubitt Town Bangladeshi Cultural Association Docklands Sailing & Watersports Centre George Green’s School George Green’s School Island House Craft Club Island House Playgroup Isle of Dogs Bangladeshi Assoc. & Centre Isle of Dogs Bangladeshi Assoc. & Centre Neighbours In Poplar Spitalfields Crypt Trust SPLASH play St Paul’s Arts Trust St. Matthias Community Centre The Parish of the Isle of Dogs Will Crooks Tenants and Residents Association Friends of Island History Island Advice Centre Island Advice Centre Isle of Dogs Bangladeshi Assoc. & Centre Neighbours In Poplar Neighbours In Poplar SPLASH St. Matthias Community Centre Strafford Friendship Club Women’s Environmental Network

PURPOSE Youth activities Social Activities Bangladeshi Victory day celebrations Fundraising Costs afternoon tea events E14 Club Equipment Equipment EID Party Summer day trip for children Christmas & New Year meals and parties Cooking equipment Afternoon Tea Picnic IT Equipment Insanity sessions Berlin Parish Cultural Exchange Programme IT equipment Fundraiser/administrator Debt & Housing Advice Drop-in Sessions Tower Hamlets Trainee Advice Work Project Advice Services Older People’s Project Healthy Living Project SAFE Employment Support Phase 2 St. Matthias Peace Building Project Luncheon Club Vitamin G - Green Care

Bethnal Green Academy Bethnal Green Academy Langdon Park School Morpeth School Morpeth School Oaklands School Sarah Bonnell School

Year 11 Maths - Academic Year 14/15 Term 3 Year 11 Maths - Academic Year 15/16 Term 2 Year 11 Maths and English Year 12 A-level History Year 12 & 13 BTEC Sport Year 9 Maths Year 10 English, Science & Maths

SPLASH

SPLASH Youth Engagement Project

£10,000

Afro-Brazilian Arts & Cultural Exchange Institute Bethnal Green Sharks Swimming Club Bethnal Green Spear Trust Causeway Irish Housing Association East London Chinese Community Centre Eden Bow Hackney Wick Festival In2scienceUK Island Advice Centre It’s Your Life Ladies Who L-EARN Leaders in Community Limehouse Boxing Academy Limehouse Community Forum Limehouse Girls Football Club Neighbours In Poplar Poplar Youth & Community Development Association Purple Moon Drama Purple Moon Drama School Home Support

Cultural Exchange Project Equipment, organisation costs, social activities Empowering to Employment Gardening equipment Day trip and festival celebrations Craft and sports equipment Winter Party at Hub 67 In2scienceUK Tower Hamlets Tower Hamlets Trainee Advice Work Project Sewing Group Mentoring Programme Early Intervention project Equipment Equipment Football equipment Healthy Living Project

£430 £785 £9,328 £714 £490 £400 £200 £9,900 £4,000 £800 £10,000 £5,000 £800 £800 £770 £2,000

Equipment Venue Hire for theatre showcase May 2016 Production Tower Hamlets School Home Support

AWARD £800 £800 £200 £800 £744 £800 £600 £400 £200 £250 £800 £357 £703 £490 £800 £450 £800 £7,000 £6,500 £4,000 £5,000 £6,500 £4,500 £10,000 £6,000 £5,000 £2,506 £3,457 £4,000 £4,000 £3,885 £2,912 £3,960 £3,360

£430 £394 £775 £10,000

15


GRANTS PROGRAMME

TOWER HAMLETS GRANT CHEST

ORGANISATION PURPOSE Setpoint London East Equipment Shadwell Basin Outdoor Activity Centre Integration Project Shadwell Youth Organisation Equipment costs Shanghati Literary Society Annual poetry festival St Peters Community Wellbeing Projects Exercise and Fitness Classes St. Matthias Community Centre Phase 2 St. Matthias Peace Building Project Stepney City Farm Farm Club Teviot Action Group Unity Club The Geezers Club Organisation Costs Tower Hamlets Volunteer Police Cadets Duke Of Edinburgh Award The Yard Theatre Ltd Kitchen equipment The Yard Theatre Ltd Front of House team Tower Hamlets Friends & Neighbours Wellbeing Activities for the Vulnerable and Elderly Tredegar Community Centre Day trip Wadajir Somali Community Centre Employment Advice & Support Programme Woman’s Trust Women’s Counselling Women’s Environmental Network Vitamin G - Green Care LOCAL GIVING FUNDS African Health Policy Network No Empty Spaces Bags of Taste Cooking Courses Beersheba-Living Well Living Well Diabetes Network Brougham Road Youth Project Youth Club Circle Sports Training Programme Congo Peace Fund Women Skills For Life Project Day-Mer, Turkish & Kurdish Community Here to Work Centre Evergreen Play Association Crowdfunding: Play activities Future Frontiers Hackney Schools Programme Hackney Men’s Carers Group IT Project Hackney Migrant Centre Drop-in Advice Service Hackney Pensioners’ Convention A Platform for Elders’ Involvement Hackney Playbus Under Fives ‘Stay and Play’ Individio Media Limited Youth Media Create at Acoustic Sundays Ladies Who L-EARN Mentoring Programme Made in Hackney (AMURT UK) Community Classes Morland Estate and Blanchard Way TRA Morland Community Garden Mouth That Roars Co-Facilitator’s Project Poached Creative Volunteer Programme Roj Women Association Women’s Support Service Sev Necati Training Women & Young People’s Safety Solutions Crowdfunding: Women & Young People’s Safety Sev Necati Training Solutions St Luke’s Church New Starz Healthy Living Project The Big House Theatre Company (TBH) The Open House Project The Crib Crowdfunding: Five Oh Band Project Wayside Community Centre Sewing Equipment and activities Aston-Mansfield Beckton Skills Centre Bonny Downs Community Association Create (Arts) Limited FAITH Drama Productions New Choices for Youth Newham Community Renewal Programme Rights & Equalities in Newham (REIN) Theatre Royal Stratford East West Silvertown Village Community Foundation

16

AWARD £800 £8,713 £800 £640 £660 £2,000 £2,000 £5,000 £250 £8,000 £750 £7,500 £7,500 £250 £9,996 £8,600 £4,079 £5,000 £4,667 £5,000 £5,000 £5,000 £2,250 £5,000 £2,964 £5,000 £1,400 £4,991 £700 £5,000 £4,960 £5,000 £4,970 £3,000 £5,000 £5,000 £4,928 £3,775 £2,814 £4,999 £5,000 £2,636 £4,110

Summer Programme 2015 Build it, Race it, Go Kart Project Go Wild Summer Play Scheme 2015 inspired:arts The Den Community BMX at Gooseley Playing Fields Street Vibes/Street Fit Football for Peace Streets Festival

£9,400 £9,400 £9,400 £7,000 £9,000 £2,200 £8,300 £7,900 £8,000

Britannia’s Got Talent

£9,400


FINANCE 12%

23%

COMPANIES

INVESTMENT INCOME

Incoming Resources

5%

INDIVIDUALS including Gift Aid

9%

April 2015 to March 2016

£2.4 million

OTHER INCOME

9%

TRUSTS & FOUNDATIONS

42%

LOCAL PUBLIC AUTHORITY* 2015-16

2014-15

Incoming Resources Donations and legacies

£1,814,294

£622,948

Other trading activities

£58,449

£11,178

£574,529

£554,517

Investments Total Income

£2,447,272 £1,188,643

2015-16

2014-15

Resources Expended Raising funds

£225,668

Grant making

£953,796 £464,625

Other charitable activities

£309,965 £435,601

Total Expenditure

£93,070

£1,489,429 £993,296

The summary financial statement above is not the full annual report and financial statements. This is a summary of information derived from EECF’s Statement of Financial Activities and the Balance Sheet for the year ended 31 March 2016. * The London Borough of Tower Hamlets liberated £993,000 of S106 planning gain monies ring-fenced for EECF to establish an endowment for community investment.

17


OUR OTHER SERVICES Join EECF as a business or statutory member and get access to great benefits EECF is a membership organisation, ensuring we remain accountable to our donors and the diverse community we serve. Businesses and statutory organisations can apply to become members of EECF and take advantage of a series of benefits which including voting rights at our AGM, volunteering brokerage services and access to exclusive knowledge-sharing and networking events.

“State Street actively encourages staff to take part in volunteering in the local community which is wonderful… The team I was part of assisted in garden maintenance and planting in both the courtyard and roof top gardens. Truly, it doesn’t matter if the time you give is related to your work based skills or not, just giving your time really can make a difference, even if small, as collectively great things happen.” Tracy Doherty, New Business Coordinator for European New Business, State Street Global Advisors

Join EECF’s philanthropy club and collectively invest in community needs Individuals can become members of our exclusive philanthropy club, the 100 Club, and donate in an easy and strategic way to local charities and network with like-minded people at EECF events. Each member pledges £1,000 per year of which £500 is used immediately to support local needs and £500 is invested in an endowment, creating a lasting legacy.

“I like that I can make a regular donation to worthwhile causes as part of a group of like-minded people, where EECF plays a key role in identifying the right projects to support.” Steve McCool, 100 Club Member

18


MEET THE SERVICES TEAM OUR OTHER Our team OurWalsh staff Tracey Chief Executive

Jude Fox Finance & Operations Manager (not pictured) Chantell Mills Callard Development Director Luke Mitchell Grants Officer Paige Murphy Grants Manager Kyrsten Perry Place Based Giving Manager Pictured from left to right (Back Row) Chantell Mills Callard, Holly Wilkinson, Suzannah Wade, Tracey Walsh, Luke Mitchell (Front Row) Poulia Tsakiri, Kyrsten Perry, Paige Murphy

Tracey Primus Community Engagement Manager (not pictured) Poulia Tsakiri Office Coordinator Suzannah Wade Events Coordinator

Our trustees Howard Dawber (Chairman) Duke Chifiero (to 01.10.15) Sister Christine Frost Zena Cooke (from 22.03.16) Sophie Fernandez (from 25.04.16) Ian Fisher Gabrielle Harrington Forhad Hussain (from 22.07.15) Eric Sorensen Manali Trivedi Katherine Webster Hamza Yusuf (to 29.04.16) Guy Nicholson (from 03.06.16)

Canary Wharf Group Credit Suisse SPLASH London Borough of Tower Hamlets City of London Corporation Société Générale Christ Church London Borough of Newham Royal Docks Trust Northern Trust Financial Conduct Authority London Borough of Hackney London Borough of Hackney

Holly Wilkinson Development Officer

Thank you Our volunteers Special thanks go to Jackie Thornton and her team of volunteers at our Exchange Project, our Company Secretary John Dawson, the Board or Trustees and our co-opted Board Members Adrian Greenwood, Peter Hewitt-Penfold and Peter Exton for their contributions throughout the year. We would also like to thank our active contributors Stella Bailey, Rita Bensley, Dan Jones and Dinesh Visavadia for their support and advice.

19


East End Community Foundation would like to thank all our corporate partners and fundholders for their support.

East End Community Foundation Jack Dash House 2 Lawn House Close London E14 9YQ Tel: 020 7345 4444 Email: info@eastendcf.org www.eastendcf.org EastEnd_CF Company No: 8104415 Charity No: 1147789

Accountant: Accountability Europe Ltd Bankers: Barclays Bank PLC Auditors: PKF Littlejohn Investment Managers: Investec CCLA Rathbone Sarasin & Partners

EECF Annual Review 2015-16  

In 2015-16 East End Community Foundation distributed over £830,000 to local charities and community groups across the East End, our highest...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you