Page 36


2 0 1 3

Conference recognizes past, current students Current students and recent graduates were recognized at the 2013 Association of College Personnel and Administrators Conference in Las Vegas. Lena Kavaliauskas (Crain) was announced as Outstanding Graduate Student. A pair of 2013 graduates, Brian Lackman and Michael Dupont, earned first place in the Case Study Competition while current students Lacey Carnahan, Ed Pittman and Drew Rizzo placed third. In addition, 2010 graduate Amanda Mollett was recognized as an Outstanding New Professional. Stephen Wanger (center), associate professor in educational leadership, received the 2013 Regents Distinguished Teaching Award for the College of Education.Wanger, who teaches in the higher education program, also received the College of Education’s Teaching Excellence Award this year. With him are professor Jesse Mendez, head of the School of Educational Studies, and Dean Pamela “Sissi” Carroll. YoonJung Cho, associate professor in educational psychology, and Carrie Winterowd, professor in counseling psychology, received the College of Education’s 2013 Research Excellence Award.

2013 grad helps with article Chris Armstrong, 2013 therapeutic recreation graduate, published an article in the summer issue of Stroke Connection, a publication from the American Heart Association and the American Stroke Association. Armstrong interned at Valir Physical Rehabilitation Hospital in Oklahoma City. He assisted his supervisor Margaret Kierl on the article, which outlines simple ways that recreation therapy can assist in the recovery of stroke victims.

Toby Brown, technology, was selected as the Frank and Carol Morsani Outstanding Staff Award winner for the college.

Doctoral student wins $500 award Jon Martens, a doctoral student in occupational education studies was awarded a Love of Learning Award worth $500 from the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Martens is one of 147 recipients nationwide and plans to apply the funds toward computer equipment to support his doctoral dissertation.

4 COE students named Seniors of Significance Four College of Education seniors were selected as Oklahoma State University Seniors of Significance for the 2012-13 academic year by the OSU Alumni Association. Kylie Ann Castonguay, Chelsea Garcia, Lauren McIntire and Zechariah D. Wright were recognized for excellence in scholarship, leadership and service to campus, bringing distinction to OSU.

Online video series wins Emmy NASA Now, an online video series for students, was honored with an Emmy Award from the Lower Great Lakes Chapter of the National Association of Television Arts and Sciences for production excellence in the category of Informational/Instructional: Program/ Series or Special in 2012. NASA Now is written, created and produced by a team of Oklahoma State University education and production specialists located at several NASA Centers.

4880 education magazine[1]  
4880 education magazine[1]  

Official magazine of the College of Education at Oklahoma State University