Page 26



Contact Information- District office, 9048 Dover Rd., Apple Creek, (330) 698-3001, Superintendent- James Ritchie Treasurer- Mark Dickerhoof


Meetings- Fourth Monday, at Waynedale High School Although it is located in Holmes County, the Holmesville Elementary School is part of the Southeast Local School District of Wayne County. The school serves students living in Prairie Township and a small area close to Fredericksburg. Amish children make up



Contact Information- 6871 SR 241, Millersburg, (330) 6740752, Principal- Galen Kauffman Student Population- 89, in grades K-12 More Information- Students meet in six classrooms: kindergarten, grades one and two, grades three and four, grades five and six, grades seven and eight and grades nine through 12. Students complete subjects such as math, science, English, social studies, Bible and word building. The school focuses on Christian character training and outstanding academic

about 10 percent of the student body. Following their sixth-grade year, students from Holmesville go to John R. Lea Middle School and then to Waynedale High School, both of which are located just southeast of Apple Creek, along with district offices. The Southeast Local School District serves approximately 1,500 students.


Contact Information- 8141 E. Jackson St., PO Box 8, (330) 279-2341, fax (330) 279-2023. Enrollment- 148 Principal- Christa Frantz

accomplishments. The school also participates in athletics, and other various contests and competitions.


Contact Information- 6102 CR 207, Millersburg, (330) 6744893 Principal- Mr. Drew Student Population- 68, in grades K-11 Board Members- Nathan Miller, Alan Miller, Robert Croft, Morris Miller, Mahlon Lapp

CHILD CARE & PRESCHOOLS Bright Beginnings Preschool- 4876 SR 39, Berlin, (330) 2314243; hours: Mon.-Thu, 9 a.m.-3:15 p.m., Morning classes, 9 a.m.-11:30 a.m., Afternoon classes, 12:45 p.m.-3:15 p.m. ; Elaine Rennie, teacher; school-year preschool for children ages three through five and Pre-K. Building Blocks Child Care Center- 212 N. Broadway St. Sugarcreek, OH 44681; (330) 852- 2190 Holmes County Preschool- Operated by the Tri-County Educational Service Center, 741 Winkler Dr., Wooster, (330) 345-6771; two preschools in Holmes County; both sites offer classes for children ages 3-5, and the staff is certified through the Department of Education in Early Childhood and Elementary Education; preschool follows the West Holmes school calendar. * Holmes County Training Center Preschool, 8001 TR 574, Holmesville, (330) 674-3046; hours: weekdays, 9:00 a.m.-2:30 p.m.; Leeann Weigman, director; two school-year classes for preschoolers ages 3-5 with disabilities. *Millersburg Elementary, 430 E. Jackson St., Millersburg, (330) 674-2046; hours: weekdays, 9 a.m.-3 p.m. Timothy Wigton, principal; school-year program for children ages 3-5 with disabilities. Millersburg Elementary Public Preschool, (330) 674-0246 Monday/Wednesday, 8:30-11:00 a.m. for children three yearsold by Aug. 1 or 12:00-2:30 p.m. for children four to five yearsold; Tuesday/Thursday, 8:30 a.m.-2:30p.m. for children four to

Page 24

five years-old by Aug. 1. Students pay tuition. * Berlin Elementary School, 4978 W. Main St., Berlin, (330) 674-0246; weekdays, 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m., school-year program for children ages 3-5 with disabilities. Kno-Ho-Co Ashland Community Action- (330) 377-4567,; Operates Head Start centers during the school year for children ages 3-5; from low-income families in Holmes and Ashland Counties. *Glenmont Head Start Center- Glenmont Community Building, 108 Main St., Glenmont, (330) 377-4567; Cheryl Latham, supervisor. *Millersburg Head Start Center- 224 N. Clay St., Millersburg, (330) 674-9100; Janet Mossor, supervisor. Child Care Resource Network- 1260 Monroe St. NW at the Monroe Plaza, New Philadelphia; PO Box 6215, (330) 3648882,; Sherri Guthrie, childcare services manager; a program of COAD (the Corporation for Ohio Appalachian Development), this network coordinates and facilitates training for childcare providers, enabling them to get into business and stay in business. Also the network puts parents with childcare needs in touch with childcare providers. The program covers a ten-county area, including Ashland, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Tuscarawas, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Knox and Wayne.Wednesday, 9:15-11:30 a.m. and 12:45-3 p.m.;

Holmes County Today: The 2016 Community Guide  

A guide to services and life in Holmes County, Ohio, published by Spectrum Publications, a division of The Daily Record.

Holmes County Today: The 2016 Community Guide  

A guide to services and life in Holmes County, Ohio, published by Spectrum Publications, a division of The Daily Record.