Issuu on Google+

Dickinson State University Staff Senate Minutes July 23, 2009, 10:00 a.m. – Klinefelter Conference Room 107 Members Present: Michelle Baxter, Laurie Beach, Sandra Bertelsen, Nathaniel Bishop, Tara Buck Elk, Victoria Carlson, Deana Carstens, Christie Chernich, Johnna Douthit, Alicia Erickson, Kevin Holten, Aaron Johansen, Heidi Larson, Karen Madler, Kathy Meyer, Gayle Mork, Josh Nichols, Kyle Thiel, Daniel Walters Members Absent: Roberta Kudrna, Chris Meek, Yvonne Roth, Stacy Wilkinson, Anthony Willer Call to order: Meeting was called to order at 10:02 a.m. by President Christie Chernich. Adoption of Agenda: Aaron Johansen made a motion to accept agenda. Josh Nichols seconded. Approval of Minutes: Alicia Erickson made a motion to accept the minutes from the June meeting as well as the special meeting in July. Josh Nichols seconded. Introductions of New Senators: Christie Chernich welcomed new senators. All the senators introduced themselves telling which department they worked in and whether they were incoming or returning Senators. Distribution of By-Laws: A copy of the By-Laws were handed out to senators and are available on the Staff Senate home page. Election of Officers: Heidi Larson nominated for Vice President/President-elect. Heidi accepted. Laurie Beach made a motion to cease nominations. Tara Buck Elk seconded. Heidi Larson elected Vice President/President-elect. Johnna Douthit nominated for Secretary/Treasurer. Johnna accepted. Kathy Meyer was also nominated. Kathy declined. Alicia Erickson made a motion to cease nominations. Josh Nichols seconded. Johnna Douthit elected Secretary/Treasurer. TREASURER’S REPORT Heidi Larson reported on the current funding status. COMMITTEE REPORTS Continuing Education Committee: Christie Chernich reported. She gave an overview of what the committee does. The First Aid training that was scheduled a few weeks ago was postponed due to the tornado. The training will now be held Tuesday, July 28. A CPR class will be held in the fall. Emergency Management Preparedness Committee: Deana Carstens reported. She and Hal Haynes went to a meeting to find out more about NotiFind. The tabletop exercise has been cancelled. There will be a NotiFind test in the future. Employees can now update contact information through the HRMS system.

Budget Committee: Kathy Meyer reported. She explained what her committee does. She receivedd a request for Jean’s Day funds from House of Manna. Aaron Johansen made a motion, Josh Nichols seconded, to give $200 to House of Manna to use where needed. Senate voted and approved the motion unanimously. President’s Future Focused Planning Committee Committee: Josh Nichols reported. He hasn’t heard any updates. Staff Thoughts & Concerns Committee Committee: Johnna Douthit reported. The committee will look into the possibility of a Human Resource information forum in which employees questions regarding benefits could be answered. Old Business: 1. Campus Senate Report: Christie Chernich reported. The luncheons will begin again in fall after school starts. 2. Strategic Enrollment Planning Report: Christie Chernich reported. Noel-Levitz Noel will be on campus July 28 & 29. New Business: 1. NDUS Staff Senate: Christie Chernich reported. The Senate met in June. The NDUS Staff Senate Constitution and By By-Laws Laws are finalized. Each institution’s Senate has been asked to review the document and provide feedback. 2. Other: a. Meeting Time – There was some discussion regarding the Senate meeting time. Senate decided to meet the third Thursday of the month at 9 a.m. August’s meeting will be moved up a week due to the start of the semester. b. Pictures – Shanna Shervheim will be at the August meeting to take pictures for the Staff Senate Website. c. A concern was brought up regarding communication after the tornado. Some staff members felt they were not informed of how many DSU people were affected and how DSU could help out the victi victims. ms. Josh Nichols made a motion to turn this over to the Thoughts & Concerns Committee. Tara Buck Elk seconded. d. Committees – Senators volunteered for the open committee spots. ANNOUNCEMENTS 1. The next meeting will be held on Thursday, August 13 at 9:00 a.m. in Klinefelter Conference Room 107. 2. Congratulations to Rebecca Needham Needham, July Moments of Excellence winner. AJOURNMENT Christie Chernich adjourned the meeting at 11:18 a.m. (Josh Nichols,, motion; seconded by Laurie Beach) Respectfully Submitted,

Heidi Larson