Page 1

GETTING THINGS DONE

Annual 2011/12 REVIEW

Photo © Getty / Lena Koller


45 years

OF GETTING THINGS DONE

In 1967, British dairy farmer Peter Roberts called a meeting around his kitchen table and took the bold step of founding Compassion in World Farming. Today Compassion is much more than a good kitchen table idea. We’re a fast-growing and influential INGO, present at many key decision making forums, from the United Nations to the World Trade Organization. With our global network of staff, supporters and partners we are able to tackle farm animal welfare around the world, from China to the USA. Compassion’s campaigns have already seen the beginning of the end in the European Union for many of the worst aspects of factory farming – the banning of barren battery cage for hens; the end to near-permanent close confinement of sows; the abolition of the horrifically restrictive veal crate. The EU has listened to our voice and enacted legislation on all these issues. And, to date, our tough, pragmatic engagement with leading food firms is set to benefit over 311 million farm animals every year. The world needs compassion in every nation, in every food company boardroom, in every farm, on every kitchen table. Join Compassion as we take the next big step and kick start a food and farming revolution. Join us and change billions of lives. Including yours. THANK YOU.

Philip Lymbery Chief Executive, Compassion in World Farming


Our job is not finished The biggest cause of animal cruelty on the planet is factory farming. Worldwide, we estimate that 2 out of every 3 farm animals are confined in factory farms: Nearly

4 billion laying hens are confined in tiny, wire cages each year

Nearly

40 billion chickens are reared intensively each year in dark, overcrowded sheds

Nearly

700 million pigs are confined each year in cages or overcrowded, filthy conditions.

We will not rest until all farm animals are protected from cruelty. Your support allows us to investigate and expose the true costs of factory farming, calling to account those with the power to change our food system. Together, we are getting things done for the farm animals who need protecting from cruelty. Philip with Huckle the rescue hen

3


BARRENAGES BATTERY C E NC

ILLEGAL SI

2 1 0 2 N A J

MORE THAN

130 MILLION HENS ARE ALREADY OUT OF BARREN BATTERY CAGES DUE TO THE BAN.


Defending Europe’s hens The barren battery cage is one of the oldest and cruellest of factory farm systems. Globally, nearly 4 billion hens suffer in these cramped wire prisons; unable to nest, move freely, or even stretch their wings. On 1st January 2012, following years of intense campaigning, the barren battery cage finally became illegal across the European Union. Hundreds of millions of animals will benefit from this remarkable piece of animal welfare legislation. Already, the number of Europe’s hens spending their lives in alternative systems has risen to more than 130 million – an incredible result. This single piece of European legislation is being felt all around the world – Europe’s decision to outlaw the barren battery cage now paves the way for further, global reform.

The challenges we face

Getting things done

Our campaign to rid Europe of the barren battery cage is not over. Some EU countries are still not compliant with the ban, and we will not rest until all of Europe’s hens are out of cages altogether.

As the deadline loomed ever closer, our Defend the Big BIG MOVE Move campaign made sure that Europe did not waver from implementing this landmark legislation.

WHAT WE NEED TO DO

DEFEND THE

Over 485,000 emails were sent by supporters to MPs and MEPs; over 91,000 postcards were produced in 14 different languages to send to Europe’s politicians and 14,732 of Compassion’s campaigners flooded Defra’s email inbox with messages demanding action against illegal egg producers. Millions of people have been encouraged to buy free-range or cage-free eggs and many major multi-national food companies have taken a stand and gone ‘cage-free’. More than 26 million hens are set to benefit each year as a result of our Good Egg Award winners’ policies. Compassion has now extended its Good Egg Award programme to Australia and New Zealand. Working in partnership with the RSPCA Australia and Royal New Zealand SPCA, we awarded 38 new companies for their policy to source only cage-free eggs.

Compassion will continue to expose and shame any countries and producers yet to comply with the barren battery cage ban in Europe. We will continue lobbying the European Commission to outlaw the import and sales of illegally-produced eggs from non-EU countries as well as non-compliant EU producers. We will continue to expand our Good Egg Award programme to encourage more companies and the public sector to ditch caged eggs from their supply chains.

After championing Compassion’s ‘Cows Belong in Fields’ campaign, I realised that factory-farmed cows are only part of the intensive farming problem, and I wanted to do something to emphasise that something as fundamental as being reared ‘free-range’ should be every farmed animal’s birthright.

BILL ODDIE

5


pic -pigs fav front cover?? or piggies asleep

700 MILLION PIGS

ARE FARMED INTENSIVELY WORLDWIDE.


Europe’s pigs are counting on Compassion From the moment intensively reared pigs are born, they can endure tooth clipping and tail docking without anaesthetic. As they grow up, they are often overcrowded in barren, dirty pens with very little bedding material. Pregnant sows are often kept in narrow, metal sow stalls for their entire pregnancy. They have no room to turn around, are hungry because their food is restricted and have no bedding for comfort. Following decades of campaigning, Compassion achieved a UK-wide sow stall ban in 1999. On 1st January 2013, the rest of Europe must follow Britain’s lead as the European sow stall ban is implemented.

The challenges we face

Getting things done

Figures released by the European Commission suggest that at least nine out of the 27 EU nations are not expected to be compliant with the new legislation by January 2013.

In July 2011, eight UK pig producers were rewarded with Compassion’s first Leadership in Pig Welfare Award. As a result of their commitment, 248,000 pigs are set to benefit each year.

Compliant farmers are at risk of being outpriced by illegally-produced imports. As much as 80% of the UK’s imports come from countries where welfare standards for pigs are much lower.

WHAT WE NEED TO DO

In October 2011, Compassion complained to the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) about a UK national advertising campaign that claimed pork sold under the Red Tractor assurance scheme was “high welfare”. The ASA agreed with our assertion that the advert was misleading and consequently banned it. In June 2011, we welcomed new EU-wide legislation to make it compulsory to label the country of origin on all fresh pork, lamb and poultry meat. Denmark and the Netherlands, the biggest pig producers in Europe, have now claimed they are ready for the EU sow stall ban.

Compassion’s Project Pig campaign aims to achieve full compliance on the upcoming sow stall ban, and ensure all Europe’s pig welfare laws are enforced. We will continue working towards legislation that requires food labelling to include country of origin, method of production, and where the animal was born, reared and slaughtered.

We will continue to challenge the food industry to raise standards of pig welfare.

I grew up beside a farm in the Lake District where I was a cowgirl until I was 18. I was obsessed with horses and farms. I get very angry about factory farming, because people want ever-cheaper food, but they don’t know what animals have to go through. This is why I have been such a staunch supporter of Compassion in World Farming for years.

KATE FORD

7


REE N FOR A F CAMPAIG

TURE

RANGE FU

OVER

70

%

OF THE WORLD’S MEAT CHICKENS ARE RAISED IN FACTORY FARMS EACH YEAR.


All animals need space to range Worldwide, around 55 billion chickens are reared for their meat each year, including more than six billion in the European Union and around 900 million in the UK. As young as just one day old, factory farmed meat chicks are put into sheds with as many as 50,000 other chicks. They will never have access to the outdoors. As they grow rapidly in size, overcrowding worsens to the point where the shed floor can barely be seen. They often suffer leg, lung and heart problems and are slaughtered at around just six weeks.

The challenges we face

Getting things done

The USA alone produces nearly nine billion chickens a year – 95% of all its farm animals – and nearly 50% more than the number of chickens reared throughout the whole EU. The US State of Georgia is the poultry factory farming capital of the world, producing some 1.4 billion chickens for meat a year – that’s more than the entire UK. Yet there are no welfare laws for chickens in America. In Europe, meat chickens are offered some minimal protection through animal welfare law, but it is food companies who have real power to improve standards for millions of these animals over the next few years.

WHAT WE NEED TO DO

In 2011, Compassion uncovered the truth about Georgia’s ‘hidden’ chicken farms. In February 2012, Compassion USA launched our first American campaign, Georgians for Pastured Poultry. Our Good Chicken Award winners’ commitments to using higher welfare chicken are now set to benefit more than 239 million animals each year. Notable progress was made in Italy, with household names such as Coop Italia and AMADORI winning a Good Chicken Award. Our research into the nutritional benefits of higher welfare chicken supported findings that slower growing breeds of chicken (that tend to be found in less intensive farming systems) can contain around 25% less fat.

Compassion will continue to push the European Commission to enforce existing chicken welfare laws and for legislation to protect chickens used for breeding. Compassion USA will lobby for chickens to be included in animal welfare legislation. We are working with WSPA to develop a business benchmarking tool on farm animal welfare so that investors can make compassionate investment decisions. We are working with the RSPCA, WSPA and the Soil Association to get mandatory labelling on all meat and dairy produce across Europe. This will enable consumers to make informed choices regarding how their food is produced.

In the UK, consumers are waking up to their power. We are beginning to understand that the way we shop will change farming, will change the landscape around us. And if we make good decisions, it’ll really change things for the better, including animal welfare.

HUGH FEARNLEY-WHITTINGSTALL

9


MORE THAN

1

MILLION PEOPLE

IN EUROPE SIGNED THE 8-HOUR PETITION TO END LONG DISTANCE TRANSPORT.


Live transport is no holiday for animals The impact of factory farming on animals is not limited to the confines of the chicken shed or industrial pig unit. Millions of animals are crammed into ferries and lorries and taken en masse across oceans and continents. These overcrowded journeys can last for days with animals suffering from exhaustion, dehydration, pain and stress - often without sufficient food or water. Transport regulations to protect farm animals urgently need to be improved and enforced.

The challenges we face Last year, over 80,000 live animals were exported from the UK for slaughter or further fattening to countries where animal welfare standards are often lower. In 2011, more than one million sheep and cattle were transported from the EU to Turkey in just one year. One investigation found that a shocking two thirds of vehicles used broke EU animal welfare transport regulations. In January 2012, a ship set off from Brazil with 5,600 cattle on board, destined for slaughterhouses in Egypt. As the result of a truly harrowing journey, an estimated 3,000 died and survivors endured a journey of more than five weeks.

Getting things done

In March 2012, more than half of Europe’s MEPs voted to adopt a formal policy calling for an 8-hour journey limit time. This follows years of lobbying by Compassion and animal welfare groups across Europe. Winners of our Good Dairy Award include commitments to reduce journey times for dairy calves or end such transport. In April 2011, Compassion’s investigators trailed and filmed trucks overloaded with sheep and lambs from Romania to Greece – a journey lasting up to 32 hours in searing heat and with disregard to welfare laws on rest and rehydration.

WHAT WE NEED TO DO Compassion will continue to investigate the cruelty of long distance live transport and lobby the EU to strengthen animal transport laws and properly enforce existing legislation. We will work with the OIE (World Organisation for Animal Health), the World Bank and the UN Food and Agriculture Organization to improve the implementation of animal welfare guidelines on transport and slaughter. We will also hold to account OIE member countries who are failing to meet their commitments to welfare guidelines for transport and slaughter.

I am extremely proud to have been a supporter of Compassion in World Farming over the years. Working together we have all achieved some amazing victories for farm animals – like when in 2005, we helped put an end to subsidies for EU farmers who were transporting live cattle to the Middle East. We must keep working to end live exports and long distance journeys, once and for all.

JOANNA LUMLEY

11


MORE THAN

212,000

COWS AND CALVES

ARE SET TO BENEFIT EACH YEAR AS A RESULT OF OUR GOOD DAIRY AWARD WINNERS’ POLICIES.


Dairy cows need protecting Industrialised dairy farming causes unimaginable suffering to cows worldwide. Millions of cows spend their entire lives indoors, with little or no access to outdoor pasture. They are forced to stand or lie on barren floors and fed an unnatural diet, simply to produce more and more milk. In the UK, male calves are often considered a ‘waste’ product and may be destroyed soon after birth or exported to be reared for veal in systems that would be illegal in the UK. Shockingly, there are no specific welfare laws to protect Europe’s 23 million dairy cows.

The challenges we face

Getting things done

Commercial milk production is increasing rapidly, especially in southern Asia, and there is an alarming global trend towards USstyle zero-grazing systems.

Compassion’s high profile campaign, Cows Belong in Fields, resulted in the UK’s first mega dairy farm planning applications – Nocton Dairies in Lincolnshire and the Cwrt Male Farm in Carmarthenshire – being rejected.

In the UK, the dairy industry is in crisis: many farmers receive less per litre of milk than it costs to produce. As farmers struggle to survive, the number of dairy farms in the UK has fallen while the average farm size has increased. Mega dairy farms put traditional farmers out of business, unable to compete on lower prices.

Our groundbreaking project with the RSPCA, Beyond Calf Exports Stakeholder Forum, is seeing new markets being secured for British male dairy calves to be reared for higher welfare veal within Britain. In 2011, we launched our Good Dairy Award – rewarding food companies who have made a commitment to producing and sourcing higher welfare dairy; and where male dairy calves are not treated as ‘waste’.

WHAT WE NEED TO DO Compassion is campaigning for new European legislation specifically tailored to protect dairy cow welfare. Compassion is developing a strategic vision for humane and sustainable pasturebased farming, incorporating humane farming alternatives for male calves. We will continue to influence supermarkets, manufacturers, food service companies and public bodies to take responsibility for improving dairy cow and calf welfare in their supply chains. We will continue to contest all planning applications to build mega dairy farms in the UK.

I initially joined Compassion in World Farming in 2010 to support its award-winning Cows Belong in Fields campaign. Since then, the more I’ve learnt about the terrible cost of intensive farming, the more committed I’ve become to supporting this charity. Compassion speaks for us all, as they campaign for laws to end all forms of animal cruelty and work hard to put farm animal welfare at the heart of the food industry.

WILLIAM ROACHE

13


NEARLY A

1/3

OF CEREAL HARVESTS GO TO FARM ANIMALS. THIS COULD FEED 3 BILLION PEOPLE.


Factory farming: The true cost Factory farming is the single biggest cause of animal cruelty on the planet. Yet against the backdrop of a population explosion and soaring food prices, there is a very real risk that even more intensification of our farming is mistakenly accepted as the unpleasant but necessary solution to feeding the world. We need to farm like tomorrow matters, prioritising compassion for the wellbeing of farm animals with a realistic, evidence-based appreciation of how the world really works – so that we farm in a way that is safer, fairer, greener.

The challenges we face In 2011, the planet saw the seven billionth child being born. This means we need to feed more people in a way that respects our right to healthy food, that doesn’t involve cruelty and suffering and doesn’t destroy our planet. Factory farming ideology argues that the only solution to feeding the world’s population lies in further selective breeding to create ever higher yields, cloning, taking animals off the land and cramming them into small intensive, conveyor-belt units.

Getting things done

In 2011, Compassion’s Gobbledygook campaign exposed how UK tax-payers were funding government research into the ‘sustainable intensification’ of the livestock industry. Compassion’s own research, and an increasing body of academic opinion, demonstrates how factory farming undermines our food ecology. For example, it diverts grain and other precious resources from people who need it most and wastefully feeds it to animals. If this same grain were fed to people, it could meet the needs of three billion of the world’s hungry.

WHAT WE NEED TO DO Through Compassion’s Raw campaign, we will work with others to showcase all the arguments against factory farming and fight for more humane, sustainable methods of food production. We will investigate and expose the true costs of factory farming, calling to account those with the power to change our food system. We will continue to lobby the EU to ban the sale of food from cloned animals and their offspring.

After extensive lobbying, important changes have been made to an EU Agriculture Committee report which will increase the likelihood of higher welfare farming being favoured when distributing agricultural subsidies.

I support Compassion in World Farming’s vision for fair food and farming, being so aware of the cruelty that we mete out to animals in order to increase our profits. I hope we will learn that we are related to the animals and to nature and if we destroy the balance, we are ultimately going to suffer and pay the price.

ARCHBISHOP EMERITUS DESMOND TUTU

15


THANK YOU Compassion in World Farming receives no government funding. We are only able to carry out our vital work because of our incredible supporters who share our vision of a world without factory farming – and who entrust us to do the right thing for all farm animals, now, and in the future.

Note from the trustees The information on the next page is intended to give an overview of the charity’s allocation of resources and income sources. The full 2011/12 accounts are available on request. Reserves and Investment Policy Compassion in World Farming has set a minimum level of reserves of three months’ planned operating expenditure. We avoid investing in companies which impact negatively on farm animals and the environment.


2011/12 INCOME £6,590,641 MILLION

Regular Giving 16% Trusts and Foundations 3% *Tubney Charitable Trust restricted grants 34%

Appeals & Donations 15% Gift Aid 6%

Raffles & Events 2%

Investment & Other 2%

Legacies 22%

*Restricted grants committed to ongoing projects.

2011/12 EXPENDITURE This is how Compassion allocated resources in 2011/12

Food Business Engagement 18%

Campaign & Lobbying 28%

Public Education 25%

Investigations 2% Research 7%

Governance 2%

Fundraising 18%

As a supporter of Compassion for many years, I know how great their achievements for farm animal welfare have been in the UK and abroad. But I know their work cannot be funded by donations alone. They rely on gifts left to them in Wills to continue to make strides forward to end suffering for good.

RICHARD BRIERS

17


Compassion: the charity that’s inspiring a 21st century Agricultural Revolution Your remarkable commitment to Compassion in World Farming is truly vital. It is only because of your support that we are able to continue challenging factory farming. Together, with our growing community of supporters around the world, we are getting things done; and making a real difference for farm animals. Thank you.

Over 311 million farm animals are set to benefit each year as a result of Compassion’s Good Farm Animal Welfare Award winners’ commitments

Our superstar dancing cows film was watched more than

1 MILLION times worldwide

45 TRUSTS & FOUNDATIONS generously funded our work in 2011/12

621

FOOD COMPANIES ACROSS EUROPE ARE WINNERS OF A GOOD FARM ANIMAL WELFARE AWARD

112,231 people receive our e-news and action updates

56,852

8

online petitioners and activists are spearheading our movement for change

267,924 lobbying actions were sent by email in 2011/12

@


The Compassion in World Farming family: USA, France, Ireland, UK, The Netherlands, Italy, Czech Republic, Greece, South Africa, China, Australia

500%

306 volunteers raised

Between 2009 and 2011, sales of RSPCA Freedom Food higher welfare chicken increased five-fold, from £12.4million - £73.8million.*

5x increase

£52,234 through events such as Bake with Compassion in 2011/12

* Source: Ethical Consumerism Report 2011

46,136 ‘likes’

currently on facebook

2,475

visionary supporters have pledged to remember us in their Will

5,500

new donors joined us in 2011/12

5

We commissioned landmark research studies that expose intensive farming as not only affecting farm animals, but also damaging our planet, our resources and our people.

THANK YOU to all our donors, campaigners, funders, friends and followers


GETTING THINGS DONE

Annual 2011/12 REVIEW

Your support allows us to investigate and expose the true costs of factory farming, calling to account those with the power to change our food system. Together, we are getting things done for the farm animals who need protecting from cruelty. THANK YOU.

Compassion in World Farming River Court Mill Lane Godalming Surrey GU7 1EZ UK Tel: +44 (0) 1483 521 950 (office hours Monday to Friday, 9am – 5pm) Email: supporters@ciwf.org Web: ciwf.org Registered Charity Number 1095050.

Compassion in World Farming, Annual Review, 2012  

Compassion in World Farming, Annual Review, 2012

Advertisement