Page 1

Dialectics 2014 Board of Directors Kyle Geroche

Tournament Director

Vanessa Cabacungan Kenneth Dizon Rhona Torres Tournament Conveners

Jericho Salazar

Communications Director

Donna Santy

Finance Director

Raphy Miranda

Marketing Director

Nathan Austria

Promotions Director

Janelle Macasieb Logistics Director

Ricka Dumelod Dean Villanueva Tabs Directors t: @debate4ust 09067220166

Official Invitation To the UST Debate Community: Greetings in the name of St. Thomas Aquinas! The Thomasian Debaters Council, the official debate varsity of the University of Santo Tomas, invites you to “Dialectics 2014: The Battle for Debate Supremacy” on January 25, 2013 for the Adjudication Test and Debate Seminar at the Commerce AVR and January 26 & February 2, 2013 for the tournament proper at the Civil Law Lobby . Dialectics is the largest and grandest debate competition for the debaters and adjudicators of the University to show their competitive spirit and at the same time learn from this year’s premiere debate tournament. This activity is in line with the purpose of encouraging students to participate in discussions relevant to the political, economic and social climate of both national and international issues. We hope to foster critical awareness among students in line with the goal of forwarding change through social actions. Attached herewith are the features and details of the tournament. Should you have further concerns or inquiries regarding this tournament, feel free to contact me at +639067220166 or email us at You may also visit the official website of the tournament,, and also our social media hubs for updates. We look forward in seeing you at the Dialectics 2014! Sincerely yours, VANESSA CABACUNGAN Tournament Convenor Dialectics 2014

Tournament Rules Debate Team Rule: A team composing of enrolled students of the university from the same college/organization may compete in the tournament. Composite Team Rule: A team composing of three students enrolled from any college can compete in the tournament. Adjudication Rule: ANYONE can compete as an adjudicator in the tournament. ALUMNI can compete as an adjudicator. N=1 Rule: Each team is required to send one adjudicator. Teams with no adjudicator are ineligible



Tournament Details Debate Format: Asian Parliamentary Tournament Cap: None Break Cap/ Organization: 3 Team Cap: None Elimination Rounds: 3 Number of breaking teams: 16 (Break to OctoďŹ nals) Registration Fee: PHP 900 Debater | PHP 500 Adjudicator (Inclusive of meals, debate kits, and passes to seminar and social events) Tournament Rule: N=1 (Number of team/s equal to the number of adjudicator/s). Teams with no adjudicator are ineligible to join.


REGISTRATION Pre-registration: On or before January 7, 2013 • Please fill-up the form located in our website, thomasiandebaterscouncil. • Teams that chose to pay the registration fee in full during PHASE 1 will be given a P200 discount. • Late registration is subjected to pay a penalty of 100 pesos per day. Phase 1 of Registration Period: January 6-18, 2013 • 50% Downpayment per team including adjudicator (PHP 1600) • Teams that chose to pay the registration fee in full during PHASE 1 will be given a P200 discount. Phase 2 of Registration Period: January 17-25, 2013 • Payment of the remaining balance (50% = PHP 1600) • Final list of debaters and adjes must be sent to usttdc@gmail. com during Phase 2 registration. For inquiries, please contact Vanessa Cabacungan (09067220166)

contact us

Location: 4H, Fourth Floor, Tan-Yan-Kee Building, UST, Manila Email: Facebook: Twitter: @debate4ust Cell No.: +639067220166

Dialectics 2014: The Battle for Debate Supremacy Invite  
Dialectics 2014: The Battle for Debate Supremacy Invite  

The official invitation for Dialectics 2014