Page 1

Member Transactions

Recruitment

Department News

ISSUE

7

SEPTEMBER 2010

MONTHLY NEWSLETTER EXCLUSIVELY FOR DISTRICT BRANCHES

In This Issue 2010 Save Our Members Program

P.2

APA Fellowship Applications

P.2

DB/SA Website Tips

P.2

DID YOU KNOW?

P.3

2011 Dues Billing

P.3

August Transaction Activity

P.3

Membership Department Calendar

P.4

DBUpdate

2010-2011 APA Components Directory Online NOW!

APA Membership Department 1000 Wilson Boulevard Suite 1825 Arlington, VA 22209 membership@psych.org Ph 888.357.7924 Fax 703.907.1085


Save our Members Campaign –2010 Retention Effort One to one contact with members makes a difference! Dues drop retention efforts are underway. Membership Coordinators forwarded district branches the Save Our Members Campaign kit. Please review this information with your Council and continue with your local retention efforts. The kit includes: • Membership Department timeline for retention efforts. • Suggestions for organizing a district branch/state society calling campaign. • Speaking points, steps, and a script for members calling members. • Overview of APA Membership Benefits. • Frequently Asked Questions about the dues and APA. A GREAT OPTION FOR MEMBERS • Dues Payment Options form (scheduled payment plan). • Response Tracking Form (photocopy and provide to your callers). • Form to document DB retention efforts. We encourage you to task your local leaders with contacting their colleagues today! The Save Our Members information is also posted on the DB-SA Staff page.

Please Remember: The Drop section of the Membership Activity Report (MAR) also has a listing of the pending drops. Please contact your Membership Coordinator or Susan Kuper to obtain updated drop lists for the calling program.

2010 DB Fellowship Review

DB/SA Website Tip Membership Website The DB/SA's website is continually updated with resources to assist DB/SA's with membership processing and promotions.

The 30-day review period of APA Fellowship applications will end October 29th. Contact Tara Spencer with questions.

Don’t Forget! The Office of Communications and Public Affairs (OCPA) has created articles for APA DB/SA use. Insert them onto your website and/or include in newsletters. Feedback is welcome and can be sent to Beth Casteel. Click here for the September Newsletter/Website inserts.


DID YOU KNOW?

Members should update their Member Profile contact information no later than December 1, 2010! Electronic ballots will be sent on December 22, 2010.

PRESIDENT-ELECT: Jeffrey L. Geller, M.D., M.P.H. Dilip V. Jeste, M.D. SECRETARY: Roger Peele, M.D. Sidney H. Weissman, M.D. AREA 2 TRUSTEE: Jack Drescher, M.D. James Nininger, M.D. AREA 5 TRUSTEE: James Greene, M.D. Gary Weinstein, M.D. MEMBER-IN-TRAINING TRUSTEE-ELECT (MITTE): Kurt Cousins, M.D. David Driver, M.D. Alik Widge, M.D.

For more information on the elections process, please visit the election section of the APA website under Association Governance or send an email to election@psych.org. Beginning November 2, 2010, members can view the entire Annual Meeting Advance Registration Packet online. The site will be constantly updated as specific details on the scientific program are finalized. Members can view posters of their colleagues research online at www.posterview.com/apa. Psychiatrists are the least likely to be sued. Read an interesting article in Psychiatric News. As of the end of August 638 Members-In-Training have advanced to General Member status in the 2010 year.

2011 Dues Billing The First 2011 invoices will be mailed on October 1st to the following. International Canadian MIT ECP GMs/Others

Total

1,386 1,016 2,846 2,914 12,884

21,046

August Transaction Activity Gains (enrollments and reinstatements): -Medical Students - 58 -Members-in-Training - 127 -General Members & Others -77 -Internationals - 3

Losses (resignations and drops): -MS - 1; MITs - 1 -GMs & Others - 5 -Internationals - 0

MT-GM Advancements: 156 DB Transfers: 38


Membership Department Calendar MAR/MIUR SENT

SEPTEMBER 27

Fellowship Applications to DBs

SEPTEMBER 27

COLUMBUS DAY –APA CLOSED

OCTOBER 11

MAR/MIUR SENT

OCTOBER 12

EFT/ DB dues reports in mail – Sept. MAR/MIUR SENT

OCTOBER 25

Fellowship Comments Due

OCTOBER 29

Dues Relief Recommendations Due

Your APA Membership Team Area 5 (SC, TN, Uniformed Services, VA) Area 6 (CA) Area 7 (OR)

Yolanda Anderson, Membership Coordinator yanderson@psych.org Area 1 (CT, MA, ME, NH, ON, Quebec & Eastern. Canada, RI, VT) Area 7 (ID, W. Can, UT, NW, AK, MT, WY)

Joell Gallardo, Membership Coordinator jgallardo@psych.org Area 3 (MD, DE, NJ, PA, DC) Area 4 (MO) Area 5 (LA)

Sundee Hancock, Membership Coordinator shancock@psych.org Area 4 (IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, ND, OH, SD, WI) Area 7 (HI, AZ)

Traci Hill, Membership Coordinator thill@psych.org Area 2 (NY) Area 7 (WA and NV)

Chermuir Kennedy, Membership Coordinator ckennedy@psych.org Area 5 (AL, AR, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, OK, PR, TX, WV) Area 7 (CO)

Peggy Wardell, Membership Coordinator mwardell@psych.org Susan Kuper, Director of Membership skuper@psych.org Tony DeSantis, Assistant Director, Membership Finance & Data Systems adesantis@psych.org Louise Martin, Membership Development Manager lmartin@psych.org Karen Silver, Membership Billing Manager ksilver@psych.org Tara Spencer, Membership Administrative Manager tspencer@psych.org Benjamin Elliott, Membership Administrative Coordinator belliott@psych.org

2010 September DB Update  

The Essential APA Membership Department and District Branch Newsletter

Advertisement