Page 42

bridge

NEW YEAR BRIDGE with Paul Mendelson Creating Connections Inspiring Success

WIMBLEDON, PUTNEY, BALHAM, THAMES DITTON AND STREATHAM Wimbledon, Putney, Balham, Kingston,

With the new year firmly established now, we are getting down to the important routine of playing our bridge and those who keep their heads, reap rewards…

Surbiton, Streatham and Hampton Court

EMAIL julie.eltham@theathenanetwork.com www.theathenanetwork.com EMAIL julie@theathenanetwork.com HELPFUL WIMBLEDON WEBSITES Love Wimbledon HELPFUL WIMBLEDON WEBSITES www.lovewimbledon.org Love Wimbledon London Borough of Merton www.lovewimbledon.org www.merton.gov.uk London Borough of Merton Citizen’s Advice Bureau www.merton.gov.uk www.nacab.org.uk Citizen’s Advice Bureau Merton Chamber of Commerce www.nacab.org.uk www.mertonchamber.co.uk Merton Chamber of Commerce Wimbledon Civic Forum www.mertonchamber.co.uk Wimbledon Town Centre www.wimbledoncivicforum.org.uk www.wimbledontowncentre.co.uk Wimbledon Society Wimbledon Civic Forum www.wimbledonsociety.org.uk www.wimbledoncivicforum.org.uk The Wimbledon Museum Wimbledon Society www.wimbledonmuseum.org.uk www.wimbledonmuseum.org.uk Wimbledon Community Centre Wimbledon Community Centre www.wimbledoncommunity.org.uk www.wimbledoncommunity.org.uk Volunteer Volunteer Centre Centre Merton Merton www.volunteercentremerton.org.uk Learning & Skills Council Charity Commission www.lsc.gov.uk www.charitycommission.gov.uk Charity Commission Wimbledon Choral Society www.charitycommission.gov.uk www.wimbledon-choral.org.uk Wimbledon Music Diary Local Police/Neighbourhood Watch www.wimbledonmusicdiary.com www.met.police.uk/saferneighbourhoods Wimbledon Choral Society The Wimbledon Guild www.wimbledon-choral.org.uk www.wimbledonguild.co.uk Local Police/Neighbourhood Watch Care Connect www.met.police.uk/saferneighbourhoods www.merton.gov.uk/living/care/careconnect The Wimbledon Guild www.wimbledonguild.co.uk Centre Court Care Connect www.centrecourtshopping.co.uk www.merton.gov.uk/living/care/careconnect IMPORTANT NUMBERS www.centrecourtshopping.co.uk Wimbledon Police St George’s Hospital 020 8947 1212 or (999) 020 8672 1255 IMPORTANT NUMBERS Merton Council Kingston Hospital Wimbledon Police St George’s Hospital 020 8947 8274 1212 4901 or (999) 020 020 020 8546 8672 7711 1255 NHS Emergency National Merton Council KingstonRail Hospital 111 08457 484950 020 8274 4901 020 8546 7711 NHS DIRECT National Rail 0845 4647 08457 484950 Sponsored by The Athena Network 44 feb-march 2012 | darlingmagazine.co.uk

COLLECT COPIESNorth AT OUR “HOTSPOTS”

S 532

* Nicholas & Steele 78 Durham Rd H AKQJ5 Tel: 07947 011879

D AK3 C 72

West * Maison St. Cassien, Wimbledon VillageEast S 6 S A4Tel: 020 8944 1200 H 10876 H 32 D J975 D 10864 * Southfields Gallery 223 Wimbledon Park Rd C 8643 South C KQ1095 Tel: 07947 675 059 S KQJ10987 H 94 Lane SW20 * Truckles Deli on Coombe Tel: 020 8605 2175 D Q2 C AJ

* Aromatica Italian Deli on Leopold Rd

DealerTel: South N/S0309 Game 020 8944 N E S W NB Please NB call first4Sto check stocks NB 6S

South might have opened a quiet 1♠ and let the auction develop slowly but, fortified by much Christmas left over cheap Champagne, he punted a strong pre-empt: 4♠. North, in love with her hand was not to be put off – she jumped straight to 6♠. The bidding might have been unsubtle, but the contract is excellent. West led K♣, and South made a quick plan. When South wins trick one with A♣, if he leads a trump, West will win and cash Q♣ to defeat the contract. So, South must discard J♣ from hand before drawing trumps. Dazzled by North’s beautiful hearts, he played to A♥, K♥ and Q♥, pitching J♣ – but West trumped with 4♠, and still had A♠ to defeat the slam. South’s plan was good, but not optimal. N/S hold seven hearts between them, but only five diamonds, so it is less likely that an opponent will be short in that suit. At trick 2, South should play Q♦ from hand, then cross to K♦ and play A♦, on which he can safely throw J♣. He pushes out A♠ and, when he regains the lead, draws the final trump. Happy days – all bodes well for the rest of the year! aceoftrumps.com

Profile for darling magazine

Darling Magazine Wimbledon - Feb-March 2016  

inspiring local women in Wimbledon

Darling Magazine Wimbledon - Feb-March 2016  

inspiring local women in Wimbledon

Advertisement