Page 6

FAIRYTALES FOR WILDE GIRLS Allyse Near

Publisher: Random House Australia Genre: YA/New Adult gothic horror Pub date: June 2013 Format: PB Rights available: World excl ANZ, film/tv, audio Rights sold: Russian (AST) Word count: 80,000 words approx

A girl with anime hair. A boy with a sketchbook. A forest possessed. ‘Near’s writing is clever and sharp, with just the right amount of reality and whimsy, blended with the dark fantasy of masters such as Gaiman and Angela Carter … There’s nothing predictable about this story, from the style of the writing to the characters to the story itself. It’s a cobbled path leading deep into a forest, where the reader is never quite sure what each stone will bring. This is a brilliant debut that will appeal to both adult and young-adult fantasy lovers.’ Australian Books + Publishing ‘A beguiling crossover novel with a fantastical mix of imaginary and flesh-and-bone characters… Near's debut is a dark concoction: a heady brew of Edgar Allan Poe, the brothers Grimm and Angela Carter.’ The Sydney Morning Herald ‘Fairytales for Wilde Girls is a rare thing in the mass of YA fairytale books – completely unique and unpredictable, with a haunting beauty that will prey on your mind… Fans of Neil Gaiman and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will adore Near’s fantastical world, and those who love the Brothers Grimm will appreciate her own carefully constructed fairytales…. [This] is a treasure of a novel. We just don’t recommend that you read it before bed.’ Marama Whyte, www.hypable.com There's a dead girl in a birdcage in the woods. That's not unusual. Isola Wilde sees a lot of things other people don't. But when the girl appears at Isola's window, her every word a threat, Isola needs help. Her real-life friends – Grape, James and new boy Edgar – make her forget for a while. And her brotherprinces – magical creatures seemingly lifted from the pages of the French fairytales Isola idolises – will protect her with all the fierce love they possess. It may not be enough. Isola needs to uncover the truth behind the dead girl's demise … before the ghost steals Isola's last breath. About the Author: Born in 1989, Allyse Near counts Neil Gaiman, Jeffrey Eugenides, Francesca Lia Block and the Brothers Grimm among her biggest literary influences. She obtained a Bachelor of Arts from Deakin University, majoring in Professional and Creative Writing, and won Deakin’s inaugural Judith Rodriguez Prize for Fiction for her short story Venus In The Twelfth House. Throughout 2010 she was mentored by multiple-Aurealis Award-winning author Jane Routley, and published short pieces in a number of literary journals, including Verandah, Short and Twisted, and Etchings. Allyse writes deconstructed pulp-fairytales that almost always revolve around women, the wilderness and witchcraft. Her début novel, Fairytales for Wilde Girls, will be published by Random House Australia in 2013. She is currently working on Saturnalia, a YA reimagining of the Snow White mythos-meets-Rosemary’s Baby. She blogs at thehexorcist.tumblr.com 6 Curtis Brown Australia / annabel@curtisbrown.com.au / www.curtisbrown.com.au

Curtis Brown Australia FRANKFURT CATALOGUE (Children's)  

October 2013