Issuu on Google+

ROYSTON CLINIC OPEN ALL DAY 13 Station Road, Royston, Barnsley S71 4EW

Low Cost Vaccinations Puppy and Kitten – Full Course £24.95

including Free ‘Spot On’ wormer/flea treatment (value £6.00)

BOOSTER VACCINATION £17.95

Tel: Barnsley 722773


2 – Royston Review, Friday, May 20, 2011

To advertise telephone (01226) 734666

Village welcomes new vicar ABOUT 150 people gathered in Royston for the induction of new vicar Matt Bullimore. Fr Bullimore, who will live at the vicarage, was made vicar by the Rt Rev Stephen Platten, the Bishop of Wakefield at the ceremony. He said: “Everyone has been incredibly welcoming. Royston has a really good feel to it.”

Fr Bullimore was welcomed by other vicars from the area, deputy mayor John Parkinson, police officers, and Notton parish councillors. The choir from St John the Baptist School sang at the service. Originally from near Dewsbury, he had been working in Sandal as Bishop Stephen’s domestic chaplain.

Flying high: Carlton Community College pupil Ben Brettoner, 15, with a Red Tail Hawk.

BUYING WINDOWS AND DOORS JUST GOT EASY! We simply call to measure, give a little helpful advice, leave and post you a quote… then wait for YOU to ring US!

Why Ben was perfect prey for Kes Project The place to be in Royston for a warm, friendly atmosphere

0

Photographs for Illustration Purposes Only

We manufacture, supply and fit: Windows, Doors, Conservatories with a 10 year guarantee

• Entertainment every Friday • Bingo • Pool • Darts • Snooker • Sunday Night Quiz with ‘Play Your Cards Right’ • Live Bands last Friday of month HOME TO THE BLUE SHOES EVERY WEDNESDAY

So join us for good quality drinks at fair prices at…

The Mid

Royston Windows Ltd.

01226 728885

www.roystonwindows.co.uk • email: roystonwindows@hotmail.co.uk 1 Industry Road, Carlton Industrial Estate, Barnsley S71 3PQ

Royston Midland WMC Alfred Street • Royston S71 4DP

01226 722433 B6428 Godley Street

Alfred Street

Midland Road THE MID

A STUDENT is hoping to get a job in falconry after following in the footsteps of Billy Casper from the film Kes – by forging a relationship with birds of prey. Carlton Community College pupil Ben Brettoner, 15, of Ollerton Road, Athersley North, took part in the eight-week course, The Kes Project, to get back on the straight and narrow after being involved in anti-social behaviour. Ben, who has an asbo, said: “I was messing about in school, and it spilled over to outside school.” He said he had enjoyed the course and he will now be presented with the Lantra Award which qualifies him to handle birds of prey. It is thought Dai Bradley, who played Billy Casper, may present the award. The scenario is similar to that of the movie, filmed in Barnsley and based on a novel by Barry Hines, in which Billy Casper hand-rears the kestrel. Before Carlton Community College was formed, Ben had been a pupil at Edward Sheerien, where parts of the film were shot. Ben said he became interested in birds of prey through his brother, who keeps a Harris Hawk. He added: “My behaviour has improved now I’ve found something I’m interested in and I’m happier.” Berneslai Homes officer Chris Corker, of Meadow Road, Royston, thought of the idea, as he keeps and shows birds of prey. He said: “I called it the Kes Project because the idea came to me at the school where Kes was filmed. Chris set up the course with SMJ Falconry which is based in Bradford but funded by Carlton Community College. It was fitted around Ben’s schoolwork and he was given guidelines on his behaviour at home as well as on the course and at school.


To advertise telephone (01226) 734666

Royston Review, Friday, May 20, 2011 –

3

Rabbit Ings project a success Rabbit Ings Country Park between Royston and Shafton is open following a three-year transformation.

The former Royston Drift Mine colliery and tip site, which is owned by Wakefield Council, has been transformed into a park

including walkways, cycleways, football pitches and 36,000 trees and shrubs. Ponds and wetland habitats have also been created as part of the £7.5m project. The site was opened by retired councillor Bill Newman.

PLUMBING & HEATING

• Servicing and landlords’ certificates • Full central heating systems • Bathrooms • Showers • Taps • Gas fires in surround • Gas hobs • Part P

Football history: Mick Birkinshaw has traced the trophy he is pictured with, right, in 1981.

Recovered charity trophy ‘should be played for again’ THE Royston and Monckton Charity Cup trophy will be displayed at the library in Royston. Mick Birkinshaw, was secretary of Royston Social, which won the trophy in 1981. Project manager of the reclamation scheme at Rabbit Ings, Mick has traced the trophy to the Barnsley and District Football Association (BDFA) and will display it, along with other memorabilia, in the lifelong learning centre on Station Road. Mick said: “Part of the Rabbit Ings Project was to replace long disused football pitches complete with new changing facilities. “I think if the trophy isn’t played for it should be on permanent display along with other memorabilia such as old photographs, medals, shirts or press cuttings.” The trophy was established in 1921 and was traditionally played for on the Monckton Sports Fields. Only the top eight teams in the area could compete for it but the competition ended about 15 years ago and the fields went out of use. Mick wrote to the BDFA and the lifelong learning centre and the trophy was handed to the Royston and Carlton Community Partnership. Mick said: “The arrival of the cup to its ancestral home along with the new pitches on the old Monckton site might inspire someone to start the competition again. “It is a beautifully designed trophy and a type they don’t make any more and should be played for in competition.” Past winners of the trophy include Royston Social, Royston Cross, Monckton Athletic, Lundwood WMC, Grimethorpe Ex-Servicemen’s Club, South Hiendley, Shafton WMC, Redfearns, Monk Bretton Colliery and Carlton United. Mick is now looking for information on the cup winners, particularly a team called Winn St, who won the trophy in the 1955 to 1956 season. Contact him on 740077.

‘It is a beautifully designed trophy and a type they don’t make any more and should be played for in competition’

PETALS

FLORAL DESIGN Flowers for

all occasions FREE LOCAL DELIVERY IN ROYSTON Friendly, professional service OPENING TIMES:

Monday to Friday 8.30am-5.00pm Saturday 8.30am-3pm 10 High Street, Royston, Barnsley S71 4RA

Tel: 01226 709284

0796 8064 586 REGISTER

Richard Armstrong GREENSIDE GAS SERVICES


4 – Royston Review, Friday, May 20, 2011

To advertise telephone (01226) 734666

Display records miners’ efforts

Running start for councillor

AN ARCHIVE featuring a banner from the 1984 to 85 miners’ strike has opened in Royston. The archive, at Royston Lifelong Learning Centre, is a permanent display by the Royston branch of Women Against Pit Closures. Coun Graham Kyte said: “I would put Women Against Pit Closures right up there alongside the Bryant and May Match Girls, the Suffragettes and other movements which made a significant impact on our way of life. “Sadly the strike was lost and the pits closed but what they did to try and prevent these things happening had a massive impact. ”It is right and proper that their efforts should be recorded for future generations.” The archive has been created in collaboration with pupils from Carlton Community College and the history group.

Mother-of-three and breast cancer survivor Tracey Cheetham is looking forward to serving Royston after being elected. Lynsey Bradford found out her plans.

New councillor: Tracey Cheetham.

“I was absolutely over the moon,” says Tracey Cheetham, recalling the moment her name was called out as councillor for the Royston ward. “I’m really looking forward to getting stuck into it. I’ve had my induction and been sworn in and I’ve tried to hit the ground running and make sure I can start doing something straight away.” Tracey, wife of Coun Tim Cheetham, is involved with the church and enjoys the morning school run. She had campaigned across the borough throughout Barnsley Central by-election, which saw Dan Jarvis elected as MP. Tracey added: “The by-election gave me a chance to meet people I wouldn’t normally. “Campaigning in Royston was really good because I got to meet lots of people. Lots of people said they remembered me, which was nice.” She is determined to do her best for Royston. “I want to make sure Royston has a strong team of councillors that can take the message to the town hall, that no-one forgets, and has a strong voice for the people there. “Cuts are really affecting people at local level and we need to be representing them,” she said.

ROYSTON MEADSTEAD

CHILDREN’S CENTRE DAYCARE Our DAYCARE has been judged OUTSTANDING by Ofsted.

We are open Monday to Friday 8.00am to 6.00pm. We offer a safe, secure and stimulating environment for children aged 3 months to 5 years. We offer full day care, sessional care and wrap around service. Our specially designed facility has a variety of excellent resources, all provided by fully qualified practitioners and a qualified teacher. We would like to invite you to come along and take part in one or more of our FREE activities, such as:

• FAMILY SUPPORT • BABY MASSAGE and BABY YOGA • DAD’S GROUP • BREASTFEEDING GROUP • LITTLE TREASURES PARENT and TODDLER GROUP • YOUNG PARENTS’ GROUP • HERE WE GO 1-2-3 • GRANDPARENTS’ GROUP • PARENTING PROGRAMME

To arrange a visit and enquiries for daycare places, please contact:

Tracey Moore, Children’s Centre Manager or Kerry Wood, Assistant Daycare Manager Royston Meadstead Children’s Centre Meadstead Drive, Royston, Barnsley S71 4JS

Tel: 01226 722153 • Fax: 01226 700499


To advertise telephone (01226) 734666

Royston Review, Friday, May 20, 2011 –

5

Tel: 01226 384129

Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning ServiceMaster has 50 year’s experience in the carpet cleaning and upholstery cleaning industry. Alan Sutton bought a franchise in the company 23 years ago to bring the ServiceMaster cleaning services to Royston and the surrounding Barnsley area. Carpets, floors and upholstery are all subject to heavy use and there comes a time when more than a routine vacuum is needed to improve their appearance. Professional cleaning every six to twelve months helps to prolong the life of flooring and upholstery and to protect your investment.

Whether you require a full carpet clean or a single stain removal, the highly trained team use specialist equipment and expertise to remove not only the dirt but shampoo residue and water from your carpet, so that your carpets stay cleaner for longer. SPECIAL OFFERS: Have one carpet cleaned at normal price (average lounge £60.00 + VAT) and get a second carpet cleaned for just £1*. Have a three piece suite cleaned and get a carpet cleaned for just £1*. *Subject to terms and conditions.

Mounts of Royston 143-145 Midland Road. Tel: 01226 722262

MOUNTS OF ROYSTON, 143-145 Midland Road, is one of the area's main retailers of high seat and recliner chairs for the elderly and infirm. It's a family run business, known for its honesty and reliability, which has been providing excellent service since 1955. There's a good selection of products in store including the latest rise and recline sensor safety chair from Royams. Friendly and experienced staff are on hand to help and advise customers on the best products to suit their individual needs. The store caters for a wide range of budgets, chairs start from £199. There are always bargains to be

found and some discontinued lines sold at reduced prices. Mounts also sells floor coverings, specialising in Amtico and Karndean and quality Axminster/Wilton carpets, plus non-slip safety flooring for shower/wetrooms and bathrooms. The shop is open Monday to Friday. Viewings can be arranged out of shop hours by appointment and home visits can be arranged for those unable to get to the store, with no obligation to buy. Sameday delivery is available on stock items. Mounts are now selling chairs online at www.fairymountfurniture.co.uk

Jamie Attwood Family Butchers 164 Midland Road. Tel: 01226 722610

JAMIE ATTWOOD FAMILY BUTCHERS, at 164 Midland Road, is owned by Jamie and Lynsey Attwood. Jamie has been in business for more than 20 years and has won numerous awards. Most recently Jamie picked up four Gold Awards for his sausages at the BPEX Roadshow in Newark. The judges marked the sausages at above 95 per cent for taste, quality and appearance. His beef, pork, lamb and poultry is virtually all locally produced, and the beef is on the bone, and matured, for a full flavour. Jamie and staff are happy to offer advice on different cuts of meat and how to cook them.

The butchers also sells cooked meats, homemade pasties, sausage rolls and a selection of sandwiches, freshly prepared on the premises each day. Jamie has also started making his very own fresh pork pies, spending months tweaking the recipe to achieve a winning combination of tasty meat and perfect pastry. Over the years Jamie has attracted many regular customers who return for high quality meat and top customer service. Jamie Attwood Family Butchers is open 7.00am - 5.00pm weekdays and 6.30am - 2.00pm on Saturdays.

British Willow Floral Design 113 Midland Road. Tel: 01226 722024 Willow Floral Design offers a stunning choice of flowers and gifts for all occasions. Based on Midland Road, owner Diane Hall and her talented team create beautiful bouquets and arrangements, specialising in contemporary styles, which can be delivered direct to the door. Local delivery is free. National and international delivery is also available. Brides-to-be are given undivided

attention as they relax in the shop’s friendly surroundings while staff take care of all their wedding wishes. All funeral enquiries are handled with care and sensitivity by the dedicated team of florists. For special occasions or just because, Willow Floral Design’s gorgeous gift range includes individual floral displays, Me to You Bears, greeting cards and helium balloons.

Flooring

Go Flooring 1 Kirkfield Way, Royston. Tel: 01226 384129 GO Flooring offers a full, professional service for all your floor covering needs. There is a wide selection of carpets and laminates for customers to choose from, including a range of designer floor coverings, plus a new selection of high quality rugs by Plantation. Flying the flag for Britain, Go Flooring stock British made BMK carpets and the iconic Union Jack flag rug by Plantation. Customers can browse the collections at the

welcoming showroom on Kirkfield Way, Royston. Free estimations are available as well as a home sample service. Go Flooring's experienced, uniformed fitters complete all jobs to the highest standards, which include a professional fitting and full clean up service. Furthermore Go Flooring offers its customers a special aftercare service to ensure their investment is looked after, well into the future.


6 – Royston Review, Friday, May 20, 2011

To advertise telephone (01226) 734666

The Bike Factory For all things biking

Factfile…

One stop shop for photo fix

Closed Sunday through Racing Season

Available Processes:

We are a small imaging company located in Grimethorpe, Barnsley, South Yorkshire. We were formed in 2007 and have only recently established a presence on the internet. We offer photo retouching and manipulation services to home and business users who would like to bring out the best in their photo’s. Often after you take a photo you may wish that your subject was better lit or that you could remove that annoying mark on your shirt. Hindsight is a great thing you may think. Well it is when you can do something about it. There is no need to fret about your beautiful photo being ruined as most problems can be simply fixed with a little touchup, so visit our gallery and see some of the types of photo manipulation. We can also do specialist greeting cards. We offer free quotation services so it won’t cost you a penny to find out if it can be fixed or not. Please browse through the site and look at our previous work to see if there is anything that you like and please contact us if you have any questions.

Telephone: 01226 728030 Website: www.eatmydirt.co.uk Email: emduk@hotmail.co.uk

The Bike Factory, aka Eat My Dirt, was established six years ago and is run by partners Ian Willetts and David Hill. It sells a range of off-road bikes, quads and monkey bikes as well as helmets and safety gear. The business at 141 Midland Road now offers a new graphic service and vehicle signing. Servicing and repairs to off-road bikes and scooters are also available.

Factfile…

Photo-Graft

Business: The Bike Factory Opening hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm Sat 9am-4pm

Business: Photo-Graft Opening hours: Weekdays 8am-5pm Telephone: 01226 717123 Website: www.photo-graft.com Email: rdonatron@yahoo.co.uk

• Red eye removal • Removal of skin blemishes • Removal of stretch marks • Removal of wrinkles or crows feet • Eye enhancement, teeth whitening, skin smoothing • Stray hair across the face removal • Photo restoration of old or damaged photos • Enlarge or reduce picture size • Collage creation, sepia effect • Black & white into colour • Many more effects and enhancements are available on request. • Specialist greetings cards for all occasions. • One to one tutoring in Photoshop

Completed Work Options • Put your photos onto CD or DVD • Email you your photos and send back original via registered post • Have your photos printed professionally and then sent back to you. • More finishing options are available on request.

Mob 07956888284 www.graftdigital.co.uk

THE BIKE FACTORY • 125cc Monkey Bikes from £999 on the road • Kids Dirt Bikes from £325 • MX Spares and Sales • Quads and Helmets • Pit Bikes • Moto, X • Clothing • Boots • Also now make MX Graphics

www.eatmydirt.co.uk 141 Midland Road, Royston S71 4BY (The Old Burberry Factory)

Telephone: 01226 728030

ROYSTON

POCKETS SNOOKER CLUB & SPORTS BAR • • • • • • • • • •

L

Park View

POCKETS SNOOKER CLUB

Victoria Road

Filey Avenue

Milgate Street Midland Road

14 FULL SIZE SNOOKER TABLES 2 AMERICAN POOL TABLES 2 ENGLISH POOL TABLES LUXURY LOUNGE AREA FULLY AIR CONDITIONED LICENSED BAR TABLE SERVICE HOT AND COLD BAR SNACKS LIVE SPORT ON BIG SCREENS Open NOW Luxury Darts Gallery

DARTS

POOL • SNOOKER • DARTS • LOUNGE • BAR

TEL: 01226 700189

POCKETS SNOOKER, CORNER OF MIDLAND ROAD AND VICTORIA ROAD, ROYSTON, BARNSLEY S71 4PX


To advertise telephone (01226) 734666

Royston Review, Friday, May 20, 2011 –

To advertise telephone Jillian on 01226 734608 J.K. Construction

All general building work Fully qualified to the highest standards Joiner manufactures all types of wood

Telephone 01226 206044

REDLINE TAXIS

SPECIAL OFFERS

Bargain Roll End Specialist

Nails

£16 for Overlays £25 with Tips £14 for Calgel Toes

Carpets, vinyls, rugs and more...

Call in and see us at 10 New Street, Royston (opposite the Co-op) Open: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm and Saturday 9am - 12 noon

01226 701701

Call: FORAAFLOOR FLOOR THAT THAT WON’T WON’T FOR COST YOU YOU MORE! COST MORE!

limited period only.

ROYSTON PLUMBING

of Royston

CAR & 8-SEATER MINIBUS AVAILABLE Local and long distance runs, coastal runs. 24-hour airport services. Clean and comfortable vehicles. B.M.B.C. Licensed. Fully insured.

ROYSTON CARPETS

Spraytans Only £15.00

24 HOUR EMERGENCY WORK All domestic plumbing including: Taps # Overflows # Bathrooms # Outside Taps # Sinks etc.

#

Call Steve or Doug on:

01226 202611 – 07799342112

NO CALL OUT CHARGE

AVAILABLE HERE

Latest 260watt Sunbeds

P&D

WORKWEAR

WHERE QUALITY MEETS VALUE Safety Footwear and Clothing plus Window Cleaning Equipment See our online catalogue www.pndworkwear.co.uk Supply to Public and Business. Shop at: 1 Cross Lane, Royston. OPEN: Mon. & Tues. 09.00-17.30 Wednesday CLOSED Thursday & Friday 09.00-17.30 Sat. 09.00-13.30

Tel. 01226 725024

Dootsons of Cudworth

01226 709999

1 Church Street, Royston, Barnsley, S71 4QU

Specialising in Bridal Make Up – Special Occasions Covering Royston and the surrounding area. Over 15 Years Experience. Weekend and Evening Appointments Only.

Call Julie on

TEL. BARNSLEY 723157 or direct on 07815 760204

ROYSTON D.I.Y. PICTURE FRAMING BERGER PAINT ELECTRICAL PLUMBING KEY CUTTING GARDENING TOOLS

07717 664447

and much more

144 Midland Road, Royston, Barnsley S71 4QJ.

Telephone 01226 722617

Call in for a test drive

Introductory offers on new proton cars for March delivery 11 reg. AIR CON

£9,995

5 DOORS PARKING SENSORS

LPG

£6,995

ALLOYS

Contact Dootsons of Cudworth

YOUR NEWLY APPOINTED PROTON MAIN DEALER FOR BARNSLEY!

The Garage, Barnsley Road, Cudworth, Barnsley S72 8UU.

Telephone : 01226 717365 or 01226 711152 Weekend Mobile 07757 437793 e-mail: dootsons@googlemail.com

THE NEW DUAL-FUEL PROTON GEN • 2 ECOLOGIC

7


8 – Royston Review, Friday, May 20, 2011

To advertise telephone (01226) 734666 ADVERTISER’S ANNOUNCEMENT

Where caring comes first Ethos Holly Tree Lodge is one of several homes owned by Redrose Care Ltd. The philosophy of the company is to provide a homely, friendly, safe and supportive environment for our residents and relatives while maintaining respect and dignity. We aim to maintain the highest standards of care and well-being for every resident through our trained and dedicated management and staff team. We’re proud of our homes and we’re proud of our people. We are sure you will be too.

Management and Staffing The home is run by registered manager Lynne George, who has extensive experience in residential care, especially in dementia care, and holds a registered managers award, NVQ 4 in Care and Management. Holly Tree Lodge also employ R.M. nurses and R.G. nurses. All care staff have either achieved NVQ 2 or are working towards it. Kitchen staff are working towards NVQ in hostelry. All staff have excellent skills and knowledge in caring, particularly in dementia care.

Health Care We have our own local GP who visits the home on every Tuesday for non urgent cases, but is on call 24 hours a day for

emergency cases. You would be welcome to join this GP practice, but you are also welcome to keep your own GP if it is in the catchment area. A district nurse visits the home on a regular basis and will meet the nursing needs you may require.

Environment A home is not just about great facilities, it’s about people and personality, laughter and warmth. That’s what makes our home a lively and enjoyable place to live. At Holly Tree Lodge each resident has their own room which will be newly decorated and furnished, each resident can choose their own decor. Many rooms have TV points and telephone points can be connected to individual rooms. You have the choice of four lounges, well situated around the home to enable you and your family to enjoy your family visits or just enjoy the different views from the large windows overlooking the gardens. For those wanting some quiet time one of the lounges is a quiet room with no TV or radio, allowing for peace and quiet. The home is also enhanced by a lovely, secure and secluded garden where residents can walk around without coming to harm and a sitting area that visitors can also enjoy with the residents. The home caters for 34 residents. Our

home is arranged over two floors with access to the first floor by convenient passenger lift or by the two staircases. Holly Tree Lodge now also has a EMI Nursing Unit, to provide continuity of care for the residents with dementia.

Activities Activities are carried out in-house seven days a week and we encourage you to maintain the hobbies which interest you, or maybe learn new hobbies. We also have outings throughout the year such as trips to local interests. In-house entertainers visit the home on a regular basis, playing the keyboard, so you can enjoy a sing-along to music from the 40s to 50s.

Other services We have a hairdresser who visits the home on a weekly basis, at reasonable cost. We have a chiropodist who visits the home every six weeks, there is a small charge for this service.

Mealtimes We have a choice of menus which meets all the nutritional dietery needs of every individual. All meals are prepared with local fresh produce. Refreshments and snacks are available throughout the day.

Soon opening Holly Tree will soon be extended to include an additional ten beds in its nursing unit and an additional six residential ensuite bedrooms.

We are here Sceptone Grove

Holly Tree Lodge EMI Care Home Lynne George – Manager Sceptone Grove, Shafton S72 8NP

Tel. 01226 712399 Fax 01226 718054 • Email lgeorge@redrosecare.co.uk


Royston Review - Barnsley Chronicle Feature - 20th May 2011