Issuu on Google+

Big Country Children's Club Day Care of Children Crieff Hydro Hotel Ferntower Road Crieff PH7 3LQ Telephone: 01764 651727

Type of inspection: Unannounced Inspection completed on: 3 April 2015


Inspection report continued

Contents 1 2 3 4 5 6

Summary About the service we inspected How we inspected this service The inspection Other information Summary of grades Inspection and grading history

Page No 3 5 7 12 26 27 27

Service provided by: Crieff Hydro Childrens Club

Service provider number: SP2003002156

Care service number: CS2003010102 If you wish to contact the Care Inspectorate about this inspection report, please call us on 0345 600 9527 or email us at enquiries@careinspectorate.com

Big Country Children's Club, page 2 of 29


Inspection report continued

Summary This report and grades represent our assessment of the quality of the areas of performance which were examined during this inspection. Grades for this care service may change after this inspection following other regulatory activity. For example, if we have to take enforcement action to make the service improve, or if we investigate and agree with a complaint someone makes about the service.

We gave the service these grades Quality of Care and Support 5

Very Good

Quality of Environment 5

Very Good

Quality of Staffing 5

Very Good

Quality of Management and Leadership 5

Very Good

What the service does well The service is very well led by the experienced manager. The staff work well as a team and the lines of communication are effective. The manager is well supported by the assistant managers and by all members of the team. Relevant training opportunities are made available to all staff and we could see that these were having a positive impact on the outcomes for children. The service has strong routines which contribute to the health and well-being of the children using the service. We concluded that all of the above contributed to an enjoyable experience of the children who attend the Big Country Children's Club while on holiday at Crieff Hydro.

What the service could do better The service should continue to seek ways to involve children and their parents in assessing the service and contributing to improvement. The manager told us that she would like to expand the use of coaching as a way of developing the skills of staff. We would encourage her to do this.

What the service has done since the last inspection Since the last inspection the service has appointed a new assistant manager. The team has bonded well and all staff are being increasingly involved in making decisions about the direction of the service.

Big Country Children's Club, page 3 of 29


Inspection report continued The systems which were in place to help ensure the safe arrival and departure of children have been made more robust and are therefore safer for children.

Conclusion Big Country Children's Club provides a very good experience for the children who attend. The club has good arrangements in place to ensure a safe entry and departure to the club. Staff are very good at forming relationships with children in a short timescale. They are vigilant in their supervision of activities and provide lots of opportunities for children to choose games and toys to play with. Parents are given good information about how their children have enjoyed their play at the end of the sessions. Staff are kind and nurturing with the youngest children and offer a warm and welcoming playroom for them.

Big Country Children's Club, page 4 of 29


Inspection report continued

1 About the service we inspected The Care Inspectorate regulates care services in Scotland. Information about all care services is available on our website at www.careinspectorate.com. This service was previously registered with the Care Commission and transferred its registration to the Care Inspectorate on 1 April 2011. Requirements and recommendations If we are concerned about some aspect of a service, or think it needs to do more to improve, we may make a recommendation or requirement. - A recommendation is a statement that sets out actions the care service provider should take to improve or develop the quality of the service based on best practice or the National Care Standards. - A requirement is a statement which sets out what is required of a care service to comply with the Public Services Reform (Scotland) Act 2010 ("the Act") and secondary legislation made under the Act, or a condition of registration. Where there are breaches of Regulations, Orders or conditions, a requirement may be made. Requirements are legally enforceable at the discretion of the Care Inspectorate. Big Country Children's Club operated within modern, purpose built childcare premises. The facility is based within Crieff Hydro Hotel and is registered to care for a maximum of 140 children aged nought up to 16 years with the following use of rooms:A maximum of nine children aged nought to under two years to be cared for in the Creche Room. A maximum of seven children aged two up to 16 years to be cared for in the Den. A maximum of 109 children aged two up to 16 years to be cared for in the Open Plan Area. A maximum of 15 children aged two up to 16 years to be cared for in the Adventure Play Area. In addition to the indoor space there is an adjoining garden with overhanging roof providing a covered play area where the children can enjoy the outdoors in all weathers. Big Country also makes use of the facilities in the hotel grounds and the outdoor activity centre to further enhance outdoor experiences for children. Big Country's Children's Club 'Mission Statement' informs: 'Big Country will provide a safe, stimulating, happy and nurturing environment where children can play together happily and confidently.

Big Country Children's Club, page 5 of 29


Inspection report continued Based on the findings of this inspection this service has been awarded the following grades: Quality of Care and Support - Grade 5 - Very Good Quality of Environment - Grade 5 - Very Good Quality of Staffing - Grade 5 - Very Good Quality of Management and Leadership - Grade 5 - Very Good This report and grades represent our assessment of the quality of the areas of performance which were examined during this inspection. Grades for this care service may change following other regulatory activity. You can find the most up-to-date grades for this service by visiting our website www.careinspectorate.com or by calling us on 0345 600 9527 or visiting one of our offices.

Big Country Children's Club, page 6 of 29


Inspection report continued

2 How we inspected this service The level of inspection we carried out In this service we carried out a low intensity inspection. We carry out these inspections when we are satisfied that services are working hard to provide consistently high standards of care.

What we did during the inspection We wrote this report following an unannounced inspection that took place on 03 April 2015 between 08.45 and 17.00. We gave feedback on the findings of the inspection to the manager of the service. As requested by us the service sent us a completed annual return. The service also sent us a completed self assessment form. We provided the service with questionnaires for parents of children using the service. Two completed questionnaires were returned to us before the inspection. During this inspection we gathered evidence from various sources, including the relevant sections of policies, procedures, records and other documents: *supporting evidence from the annual return and the self-assessment *observations of the children at play *discussion with staff *discussion with children *observations of the interactions between children and staff *displays *self-assessment improvement areas *quality assurance paperwork *improvement plan *reports from previous Care Inspectorate inspections *newsletters *results of consultation with parents *all about me information *children's allergy record *medication forms *daily registers *staff training records *questionnaires and survey results *staff meeting minutes

Big Country Children's Club, page 7 of 29


Inspection report continued We spoke with various people about the service, including: * Staff * The manager, assistant manager and supervisors * Parents * Children We used the information gathered in the writing of this report.

Grading the service against quality themes and statements We inspect and grade elements of care that we call 'quality themes'. For example, one of the quality themes we might look at is 'Quality of care and support'. Under each quality theme are 'quality statements' which describe what a service should be doing well for that theme. We grade how the service performs against the quality themes and statements. Details of what we found are in Section 3: The inspection

Inspection Focus Areas (IFAs) In any year we may decide on specific aspects of care to focus on during our inspections. These are extra checks we make on top of all the normal ones we make during inspection. We do this to gather information about the quality of these aspects of care on a national basis. Where we have examined an inspection focus area we will clearly identify it under the relevant quality statement.

Fire safety issues We do not regulate fire safety. Local fire and rescue services are responsible for checking services. However, where significant fire safety issues become apparent, we will alert the relevant fire and rescue services so they may consider what action to take. You can find out more about care services' responsibilities for fire safety at www.firelawscotland.org

Big Country Children's Club, page 8 of 29


Inspection report continued

What the service has done to meet any requirements we made at our last inspection The requirement The provider must ensure that each accident and incident report is completed accurately and signed by the staff member witnessing the accident. The provider must also ensure that the completion of accident and incident records becomes part of the auditing process. This is in order to comply with: The Social Care and Social Work Improvement Scotland (Requirements for Care Services) Regulations 2011 SSI 2011/210 Regulation 4(1)(a)&(d) Welfare of users. Timescale for implementation: upon receipt of this report. What the service did to meet the requirement The service has implemented a new recording system for all accidents. They are now clearly displayed and are part of an audit process involving the safe and sound team from the hotel. The requirement is: Met - Within Timescales The requirement The provider must ensure that children are encouraged to wash their hands before eating food and particularly if they have been playing outside. This is in order to comply with: The Social Care and Social Work Improvement Scotland (Requirements for Care Services) Regulations 2011 SSI 2011/210 Regulation 4(1)(a)&(d) Welfare of users. Timescale for implementation: upon receipt of this report. What the service did to meet the requirement All staff informed that they must be vigilant in ensuring good hand hygiene. The requirement is: Met - Within Timescales

What the service has done to meet any recommendations we made at our last inspection During the inspection we noted that all recommendations from the previous inspections had been adequately met. Big Country Children's Club, page 9 of 29


Inspection report continued The annual return Every year all care services must complete an 'annual return' form to make sure the information we hold is up to date. We also use annual returns to decide how we will inspect the service. Annual Return Received: Yes - Electronic

Comments on Self Assessment Every year all care services must complete a 'self assessment' form telling us how their service is performing. We check to make sure this assessment is accurate. As requested by us a completed self assessment was received prior to the inspection. Information from this was used in the writing of this report. The service had highlighted their good practice and had identified the improvements that they were working on.

Taking the views of people using the care service into account During the inspection we observed the children at play. We could see that they were enjoying the range of activities that were on offer to them during their two hour sessions. We spoke to a number of children during our visit and they told us, "I really like the chute. I can make the balls go out of the pool." "I like bouncing on the trampoline." "The staff give us really good things to do." "The cars are good outside. I am looking for the key in my pockets." The children were happily moving about the different areas of the club and were going in and out choosing from activities and resources.

Taking carers' views into account Before the inspection we sent questionnaires to the service and asked that they be given out to parents. We received two completed questionnaires before the inspection. A parent commented, "The Big Country team provide a fantastic holistic approach to childcare which has hugely benefited my child."

Big Country Children's Club, page 10 of 29


Inspection report continued We spoke to parents as they dropped off and arrived to collect their children. They told us; "My children are really happy to be here." "I am confident that the children are safe in the club." "I think that there is a good handover at the end of the session." "The activities are good, particularly outside." "Here is the proof, the children are happy and have had a great time."

Big Country Children's Club, page 11 of 29


Inspection report continued

3 The inspection We looked at how the service performs against the following quality themes and statements. Here are the details of what we found.

Quality Theme 1: Quality of Care and Support Grade awarded for this theme: 5 - Very Good Statement 1 We ensure that service users and carers participate in assessing and improving the quality of the care and support provided by the service. Service strengths We found that the service was working to a very good standard in the areas covered by this statement. We saw very good evidence of how children and their parents were involved in improving the service. Crieff Hydro had very effective ways of capturing information from guests following their stay. We saw that very positive comments had been received on the Big Country experience for children. We saw the feedback which had been returned through survey monkey, questionnaires, emails from parents and trip advisor reviews. We saw that a very informative website was available for guests to use. It contained information about the activities on offer and photographs of the area which was used by the club. Parents were invited to download the parent consent forms and complete these before their arrival to the club. We heard parents being given good information and advice from the very experienced and knowledgeable reception staff. Information about the club and its staff was displayed on a large TV screen above the reception desk. Parents and children are invited to comment on their experience by leaving comments on cards in the entrance to the Kids Club. These comments are used to make improvements to the Kids Club experience. Big Country Children's Club, page 12 of 29


Inspection report continued We saw that children have completed a range of questionnaires and feedback sheets following their attendance at the service. We saw that their comments were positive. They had made some suggestions about activities they would like to see on offer in the club. Some of these ideas had been acted on. We heard staff and parents exchanging information about their children as they were dropped off. Parents were comfortable and relaxed and staff were clear and confident. They asked relevant questions and re-assured parents. When children were collected from the club we heard staff give a brief outline of how the child had settled and what they had done. Parents told us that they appreciated this and were delighted with how quickly staff got to know their child. During the inspection we heard children being asked for their ideas and choices. The staff were respectful and accommodating. They were seen to show a group of children where a selection of games was stored and the children selected something which was of interest to them. A parent told us that would like to have been able to put both of their children to play in the same area despite being of different ages. The staff were seen to have a flexible approach to this and allowed children to be together to support each other where necessary to avoid them becoming upset while away from their parents. Parents were made aware of how they could make a complaint about the service. We concluded that the service had a very good approach to involving parents and children in assessing the quality of care. We saw evidence that feedback had been used by the staff to improve the experience. Areas for improvement We would encourage the service to continue to seek the views of parents and children on the experience that they offer and to share these with visitors to the club. During the inspection we discussed that the manager intended to try to form a parent's forum from the group of parents who used the Kids Club on a more regular basis. We would encourage the service to consider how this could be achieved. Grade awarded for this statement: 5 - Very Good Number of requirements: 0 Number of recommendations: 0

Big Country Children's Club, page 13 of 29


Inspection report continued

Statement 3 We ensure that service users' health and wellbeing needs are met. Service strengths We found that the service was working to a very good standard in the areas covered by this statement. A range of procedures were in place to support staff in making sure children's health and well-being was appropriately addressed. These included infection control, child protection and first aid. Staff were seen to be putting these into practice during the play sessions. Before entering the playroom all parents were asked to complete a consent form for each of the children. The form asked for parents to share information about their childs' health and well-being needs. This information was held by the service reception. Contact information for each child was comprehensive. Fuller individual profiles were being developed for some of the younger children attending. Staff were aware of the development milestones for these children and their learning and achievements were being tracked. Staff were beginning to make observations of the children and to share these with parents. We have made some suggestions as to how this could be developed further. These are described further in this report. Food allergies were recorded by the reception staff at the beginning of each session and this was shared immediately with all of the relevant staff in the playroom. Children could bring a snack into the playroom. We saw that children were asked to wash their hands prior to eating their snack. Food brought into the playroom was checked to ensure that it did not pose any risk to children with food allergies. We were pleased to note that all children were encouraged to drink water during their play sessions. We saw children taking water to drink and we were told that during the warmer weather all children were given water after a session of playing outside. We felt that this contributed to the health and well-being of the children. The staff were seen to be respectful and spoke quietly and encouragingly to all of the children. Some activities were prepared in advance of the children coming into the playroom. We heard staff encouraging children to suggest ideas for other games and activities. We saw younger children choosing books and asking to have stories read. Most staff responded happily to these requests. The children had a very good choice of active and energetic play both outside and indoors. Big Country Children's Club, page 14 of 29


Inspection report continued We saw the children move freely around the different areas. Staff were vigilant in ensuring that appropriate adult child ratios were maintained in each area. Staff had clear roles in the playroom and outdoor area and this helped to ensure that the children were safe in the different parts of the club. We saw that all staff had a caring and nurturing approach to the children. They worked hard to settle the youngest children and were happy to sit in quiet areas with them and encouraging them to play. We observed some very good interactions between staff and children. Where children were unsettled for some time we were pleased to note that the staff contacted parents to return to the playroom. The service were rarely asked to administer medication to children using the club. They had the correct procedures in place to make sure that if they were requested to do so it was done safely. All staff had some training in medical interventions such as the administration of an EpiPen. We saw that a previous requirement had been met. Children returning from playing outside were seen to wash their hands before beginning to play inside. We concluded that the service had good systems in place to help ensure the health, safety and well-being of the children. Staff were aware of the systems and were seen to follow them. Areas for improvement During the play session the service did not provide any snacks or meals for the children. Some of the children who were in the under two area were beginning to stay for longer periods of time. We would suggest that the service should consider how they will encourage and support healthy eating by supplying appropriate snacks such as fruit rather than allowing children to eat less healthy alternatives. We would encourage the service to continue to look at how they can support the learning and development of the young children who are with them for extended periods of the day. We discussed how their approach to staff training could further enhance this. We noted that the service had a copy of the document Building the Ambition, National Practice on Early Learning and Childcare, Children and Young People (Scotland) Act 2014. We would suggest that using this as a training guide would support staff and guide further improvements in the service. Grade awarded for this statement: 5 - Very Good Number of requirements: 0 Number of recommendations: 0 Big Country Children's Club, page 15 of 29


Inspection report continued

Quality Theme 2: Quality of Environment Grade awarded for this theme: 5 - Very Good Statement 1 We ensure that service users and carers participate in assessing and improving the quality of the environment within the service. Service strengths We found that the service was working to a very good standard in the areas covered by this statement. Evidence gathered for quality statement 1.1 was also considered for this quality statement. We noted that the parents of the youngest children were beginning to become more involved in the service and were being encouraged to share their views and suggestions. We heard examples of children asking for games, books and activities and the staff responding positively to these requests. Areas for improvement Evidence gathered for quality statement 1.1 was also considered for this quality statement. Grade awarded for this statement: 5 - Very Good Number of requirements: 0 Number of recommendations: 0

Big Country Children's Club, page 16 of 29


Inspection report continued

Statement 2 We make sure that the environment is safe and service users are protected. Service strengths We found that the service was working to a very good standard in the areas covered by this statement. The service had good systems in place to ensure the safe arrival and departure of children to the club. Entry to the playroom was monitored by playroom staff and reception staff. Children were accompanied in to the playroom by their parents where they were registered by a member of staff. Each child was given a high visibility vest to wear which showed which area they were playing in. This made it very obvious to staff which children were their responsibility and which area of the playroom the children should be in. Children were divided by age into the different areas of the playroom. Each part of the playroom was equipped with good quality toys, games and resources. We were told that children had been consulted about which resources should be bought. The playrooms were bright, well decorated and well maintained. We saw that a very wide range of activities were on offer and that the children had the choice to play indoors or to go outside into a very attractive garden area which was fully enclosed. This allowed the children to participate in active play and outdoor games. The staff told us that they used other areas of the hotel and its grounds to increase the range of experiences and activities. Adequate toilets and nappy changing areas were available in both playrooms with handwashing for the children. We saw children using the toilets independently, younger children were supported by staff. Sleeping arrangements were in place for younger children. Small beds were available with the linen being used once only before being sent to the laundry. Regularly attending children also slept in beds or cots. Their linen was kept in a named box and was laundered at the end of each week. We noted that the staff had a strong commitment to making sure that all of the children attending the service were kept safe. We saw that when incidents occurred the management were responsive and very quickly discussed issues with staff and made any necessary changes. We saw evidence of this in the minutes of meetings.

Big Country Children's Club, page 17 of 29


Inspection report continued

The service identified an area of potential risk to children leaving the service at the end of a session. They reviewed their procedure and immediately took action to minimise this. We saw that parents were given a small "credit card" when leaving their child. This was to be returned before the children could be collected by the parent. We saw that parents were respectfully asked to return to their room and find the card before their child was brought to them. Reception staff radioed into the playroom when children were to be brought out to meet their parent. The staff were very clear with the children and re-enforced the rules which had been made to keep them safe. The children told us, "The rules are no running in case you bump and no throwing the balls." "The grown ups watch while we go down the slide." "Only one person is allowed on the chute." We saw that accidents and incidents were recorded and details shared with the parents by telephone when they happened or at the end of the session. A signed copy was held by the service and one given to the parents. They told us that they were confident in the ability of the staff to keep their children safe. An appropriate number of staff had attended certified First Aid training and were available in the playrooms. We were very pleased to see that in response to a requirement made at a previous inspection the service had reviewed their practice in recording and reviewing accidents. These were clearly displayed in such a way as to show where most accidents had taken place and the age group of the children involved. This information was audited, involving the resort safe and sound manager, and any necessary action taken to reduce the incidence. Areas for improvement We did not observe a nappy change during the inspection. Staff had all been trained in the correct procedures for changing nappies. We would recommend that the manager reviews the service policy on nappy changing to ensure that it follows best practice guidance. This is available on the Care Inspectorate website www.hub.careinspectorate.com.

Big Country Children's Club, page 18 of 29


Inspection report continued Grade awarded for this statement: 5 - Very Good Number of requirements: 0 Number of recommendations: 0

Big Country Children's Club, page 19 of 29


Inspection report continued

Quality Theme 3: Quality of Staffing Grade awarded for this theme: 5 - Very Good Statement 1 We ensure that service users and carers participate in assessing and improving the quality of staffing in the service. Service strengths We found that the service was working to a very good standard in the areas covered by this statement. Evidence gathered for quality statement 1.1 was also considered for this quality statement. We saw from questionnaire and survey results that parents and children were very positive about the staff and their skills. Parents told us, "The staff are great with the kids." Areas for improvement Evidence gathered for quality statement 1.1 was also considered for this quality statement. Grade awarded for this statement: 5 - Very Good Number of requirements: 0 Number of recommendations: 0

Big Country Children's Club, page 20 of 29


Inspection report continued

Statement 3 We have a professional, trained and motivated workforce which operates to National Care Standards, legislation and best practice. Service strengths We found that the service was working to a very good standard in the areas covered by this statement. During the inspection we observed motivated staff working well with groups of children of different ages and interests. All of the staff we spoke to confirmed that they enjoyed working in the club and they felt that they all worked well as a team. All staff wore coloured sweatshirts and were therefore clearly identifiable to children and parents who came into the service. This was particularly important due to the limited time that the children had to become familiar with the staff. Staff were recruited following an interview and by references being followed up. Interviews were done by the Management Team of the service. The administration of the recruitment process was the responsibility of the People Team within the hotel. We saw that the service had a robust induction programme which was completed with all new staff. The staff we spoke to confirmed that this was helpful. The induction was carried out by senior staff with additional written information for the new staff member to refer to. All staff had been trained in child protection. In our discussion with them they demonstrated that they had the appropriate knowledge of the procedures to follow if a concern should arise. The service manager was the child protection co-ordinator and was very aware of her role and responsibilities. Staff told us that they were very confident to approach her with any child protection concerns that they had. Staff were encouraged to help support each other by observing practice in the playroom. They were encouraged to be sufficiently confident to highlight when things were not being done correctly. We noted that the staff team was very large and comprised of full time, part time, permanent and seasonal employees. The managers had worked hard to ensure that all team members felt involved and included in the service.

Big Country Children's Club, page 21 of 29


Inspection report continued

On the day of the inspection the assistant manager held a morning briefing meeting before the first session began. Information was clearly shared and responsibilities allocated. All of the staff were aware of their role and who was the leader of their team during that session. At the end of the sessions the staff team were asked to reflect on the sessions and to share any ideas of how to improve any activity or area. We saw that this was recorded and reviewed by the management team. Staff meetings were regularly held with minutes being shared with everyone in the team. Regular training events were held. Staff training was a priority for the manager and from our discussions it was clear that it was valued by staff. The manager was collecting reading materials on childcare and development and was encouraging staff to read these. Staff benefitted from a good range of appropriate training. Some of this was delivered in house by the managers. Some of the courses were offered by Perth and Kinross Council and staff had access to online training. The managers and staff confirmed that the service was committed to supporting and encouraging relevant training and learning for staff. Staff had recently been trained in Pre Birth to Three and in Baby Massage both of which gave a good insight into early child development. We saw that staff were using their learning while working with the under two children. Areas for improvement We would encourage the service to continue to access training for all of the staff to further develop staff skills and to enhance the experience of the service users. If the service continues to offer places to younger children then we would advise that staff training should involve Getting It Right For Every Child and the SHANARRI wellbeing indicators. (The Scottish Government have put the well-being of children and young people at the heart of Getting it right for every child. The approach uses eight areas of wellbeing (Safe, Healthy, Achieving, Nurtured, Active, Respected, Responsible, Included) in which children and young people need to progress in order to do well now and in the future. These are often written as SHANARRI as an abbreviation.) Grade awarded for this statement: 5 - Very Good Number of requirements: 0 Number of recommendations: 0

Big Country Children's Club, page 22 of 29


Inspection report continued

Quality Theme 4: Quality of Management and Leadership Grade awarded for this theme: 5 - Very Good Statement 1 We ensure that service users and carers participate in assessing and improving the quality of the management and leadership of the service. Service strengths We found that the service was working to a very good standard in the areas covered by this statement. Evidence gathered for quality statement 1.1 was also considered for this quality statement. Areas for improvement Evidence gathered for quality statement 1.1 was also considered for this quality statement. Grade awarded for this statement: 5 - Very Good Number of requirements: 0 Number of recommendations: 0

Big Country Children's Club, page 23 of 29


Inspection report continued

Statement 4 We use quality assurance systems and processes which involve service users, carers, staff and stakeholders to assess the quality of service we provide Service strengths We found that the service was working to a very good standard in the areas covered by this statement. Responsibility for the service was taken by the manager, supported by a team of assistant managers and supervisors. The management team worked well together and met regularly to discuss the performance of the service. The management team had a high profile in the service and spent much of their time in the playrooms. Staff confirmed that the management team were very approachable and supportive. We found the manager to be highly experienced in childcare and kept herself updated on legislation and best practice. She showed great commitment to providing regular and relevant training for all of the staff. She had high expectations of all of the staff in the service. All members of the management team had clear roles and responsibilities which were shared with the whole staff team. Strong systems for quality assurance were in place to assess the performance of the staff and the experiences of the service users. We saw that there were regular opportunities for discussion and review between hotel managers and the service and between the Big Country staff team. Minutes of these meetings were available for us to see. Managers shared information with staff and addressed any areas of concern. We saw that regular observations were carried out by managers in the playrooms. Interactions between staff and children were observed and evaluations completed. We saw how the information collected during these observations helped to identify training sessions for the staff. We saw that the manager had a robust approach to dealing with any concerns raised by parents. She followed the guidelines set out by the People Team within the resort and staff were supported and advised on how to adapt their working practices.

Big Country Children's Club, page 24 of 29


Inspection report continued

A quality assurance calendar was available for us to see. This helped to ensure that all aspects of the operation of the service were monitored at some time through the course of the year. We saw evidence of improvements being made as a result of this monitoring. The manager told us that senior staff were regularly involved in informal observations and giving feedback to staff on their performance and how they could change things to help improve their interactions with the children and their parents. In order to improve the experience for all children using the service a number of department objectives had been identified. These were directly linked to the business plan for the whole resort. We spoke to staff who confirmed that they felt valued by the management team and that they were well supported in their training and personal development. In response to a recommendation made at a previous inspection the manager had begun a system of annual appraisals with all staff. We saw that staff had been asked to evaluate their own practice and then had the opportunity to discuss this with managers. We felt that this focus on staff skills and experience helped to improve the outcomes and experiences for the children attending the service. We found that the manager was very well prepared for the inspection process and had a very good system for collecting and for sharing the evidence matched to the care standards. This practice was to be commended. Areas for improvement We would encourage the management team to continue to support and challenge their staff through their system of appraisal and training. As the service grows and develops there will be a need to address further staff training to support the learning experiences of children spending longer sessions in the playrooms. In previous sections of this report we have suggested relevant materials to support this. Grade awarded for this statement: 5 - Very Good Number of requirements: 0 Number of recommendations: 0

Big Country Children's Club, page 25 of 29


Inspection report continued

4 Other information Complaints No complaints have been upheld, or partially upheld, since the last inspection.

Enforcements We have taken no enforcement action against this care service since the last inspection.

Additional Information None noted.

Action Plan Failure to submit an appropriate action plan within the required timescale, including any agreed extension, where requirements and recommendations have been made, will result in the Care Inspectorate re-grading a Quality Statement within the Quality of Management and Leadership Theme (or for childminders, Quality of Staffing Theme) as unsatisfactory (1). This will result in the Quality Theme being re-graded as unsatisfactory (1).

Big Country Children's Club, page 26 of 29


Inspection report continued

5 Summary of grades Quality of Care and Support - 5 - Very Good Statement 1

5 - Very Good

Statement 3

5 - Very Good

Quality of Environment - 5 - Very Good Statement 1

5 - Very Good

Statement 2

5 - Very Good

Quality of Staffing - 5 - Very Good Statement 1

5 - Very Good

Statement 3

5 - Very Good

Quality of Management and Leadership - 5 - Very Good Statement 1

5 - Very Good

Statement 4

5 - Very Good

6 Inspection and grading history Date

Type

Gradings

9 Jul 2013

Unannounced

Care and support Environment Staffing Management and Leadership

4 - Good 5 - Very Good 4 - Good 4 - Good

7 Aug 2012

Unannounced

Care and support Environment Staffing Management and Leadership

4 - Good 4 - Good 4 - Good 4 - Good

11 Jul 2011

Unannounced

Care and support Environment Staffing Management and Leadership

4 - Good Not Assessed Not Assessed 4 - Good

Big Country Children's Club, page 27 of 29


Inspection report continued 19 Apr 2010

Unannounced

Care and support Environment Staffing Management and Leadership

4 - Good 4 - Good 4 - Good 4 - Good

20 Aug 2009

Unannounced

Care and support Environment Staffing Management and Leadership

3 - Adequate 3 - Adequate 3 - Adequate 3 - Adequate

2 Jul 2008

Unannounced

Care and support Environment Staffing Management and Leadership

4 - Good 4 - Good 4 - Good 4 - Good

All inspections and grades before 1 April 2011 are those reported by the former regulator of care services, the Care Commission.

Big Country Children's Club, page 28 of 29


Inspection report continued To find out more about our inspections and inspection reports Read our leaflet 'How we inspect'. You can download it from our website or ask us to send you a copy by telephoning us on 0345 600 9527. This inspection report is published by the Care Inspectorate. You can get more copies of this report and others by downloading it from our website: www.careinspectorate.com or by telephoning 0345 600 9527.

Translations and alternative formats This inspection report is available in other languages and formats on request.

Telephone: 0345 600 9527 Email: enquiries@careinspectorate.com Web: www.careinspectorate.com

Big Country Children's Club, page 29 of 29


BIG Country Inspection Report