Issuu on Google+

GOLF GUIDE

LOOK BETTER • FEEL BETTER • KNOW MORE M AY

2 0 1 4

S H A R P F O R M E N . C O M

JON HAMM IS BATTING 1,000 JASON COLLINS, MICHAEL SAM SPORTS HERO AND THE RISE OF THE NEW

EATING

LAS VEGAS p l u s

FISTFIGHTS,

MOTORCYCLES AND OTHER WAYS TO

PROVE YOUR

MANHOOD

19

WAY S T O

KILL IT ON THE GREENS

f e a t u r i n g

THE PGA’S PLAYBOY

MILLIONAIRE PUNCHY

KICKS THE SEASON’S

HOTTEST

SHOES THE SUMMER’S

BEST BEER ISN’T BEER


SPRING • SUMMER 2014 EDITION THE ESSENTIAL REFERENCE FOR THE DISCERNING MAN

2 3 6 PAG E S

$16.95 Ava i l a b l e o n n e ws s t a n d s or preview and order at SHARPFORMEN.COM


SHARP | EDITOR’S LETTER

JOINING THE CLUB

@MRJEREMYFREED LETTERS@CONTEMPOMEDIA.CA

FACEBOOK: FACEBOOK.COM/SHARPFORMEN TWITTER: @SHARPMAGAZINE INSTAGRAM: @SHARPMAGAZINE TUMBLR: SHARPMAGAZINE.TUMBLR.COM YOUTUBE: YOUTUBE.COM/SHARPMAGAZINE

ON

18 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

Not being much of a sportsman, it would be easy for me to write off golf as just another pursuit, like curling or archery, that many people enjoy but has little to offer me in the way of life enrichment. Yet, there’s something different about it. And it isn’t just the appeal of being able to combine drinking with play—see: curling. There’s something about the way people talk about their golf games: the far-off look they get in their eyes when, in the depths of winter, they speak of getting out on the greens again; the fierce competiveness; the childlike excitement of putting a new club to use. It’s a game that takes hold of people in a way that others don’t. The realization came when I spent a couple of days with a group of golf writers at the launch event for a new driver. Despite some pre-trip coaching from Sharp’s golf-enthused publisher and the driver being the height of ball-whacking technology, my performance at the driving range was pathetic. My fellow journalists were generous with their expertise, but to little avail (you’d think I would have worn better shoes, for starters).

After many misses, a few shots that flew sideways and much sliding about in my oxfords, something strange happened: I swung the club and it connected squarely with the ball, sending it soaring out across the range with a satisfying PING! It felt incredible. My reaction was immediate and indelible: I need to do that again. One of my fellow journos had been observing me and, seeing my obvious delight at doing golf with some degree of efficacy, said something that changed the way I saw the game. “You get it now? Every so often you hit the ball right. And then you spend the rest of the time trying to figure out how to do it again. That’s pretty much the game.” It all suddenly made a lot of sense: the obsession, the competitiveness, the boyish glee. If you’re a golfer, of course, you already know about all of this. In fact, you’ve probably stopped reading this and are already gazing longingly at the shiny new gear in this issue’s Sharp Guide to Golf. I don’t blame you. Perhaps I’ll see you out there this season. I finally got some golf shoes, so you know it’s serious.

SHARP IS ON THE AIR The Sharp Magazine Show is now on SiriusXM Canada Talks live every Tuesday at 11 a.m. Hosted by myself and Ward Anderson (of SiriusXM’s Ward & Al), it’s yet another chance to enjoy everything you love about Sharp, in a funny, conversational format. You can also download all of the episodes at sharpformen.com/sharpshow.

P H O T O : M AT T B A R N E S

JEREMY FREED Editor-In-Chief

I’VE PLAYED GOLF EXACTLY ZERO TIMES IN my life. The closest I’ve come, aside from games of mini-putt and having a go at the putting green at one of our Book for Men launch parties, is the handful of occasions I’ve attempted to whack balls at the driving range. With limited instruction (and always wearing inappropriate footwear—leather soles do not make for good golfing shoes, I’ve learned) they’ve been puzzling, frustrating experiences. They have also given me a great deal of respect for anyone who can not only hit a golf ball with any kind of regularity, but also hit it in the intended direction.


CONTENTS MAY 2014 | VOL.7 | ISSUE 2

FEATURES

THE SHARP GUIDE TO GOLF

74

The sun is shining, the grass is green(ish) and it’s time to get back on the fairway. Here are 18 invaluable ways to up your game this season (plus one for the 19th hole).

MAN TO MAN WITH JON HAMM A candid discussion about cricket, the American Midwest and being treated like a piece of meat, in which we discover that he both is and isn’t much like Don Draper.

88

91

Adam Scott seems to have it all—talent, looks, fortune. So why isn’t he cashing in?

The latest in drivers, irons, putters and tech to take your game to the next level.

PROS

80

90

A loose dog, an angry drunk and a man pushed to his limits. Writer Pasha Malla explores why men fight and what we gain when we choose not to.

Looking good on the course requires more than a polo and a pair of khakis: here’s how to do it right.

FISTS OUT

102

GEAR

FASHION

THE YEAR’S SHARPEST GOLF GEAR pg. 91

KICKING IT NEW SCHOOL

PHOTO: LIAM MOGAN

Electrify your spring style with these bold new footwear picks. (Just be sure to stretch first.)

20 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014


CONTENTS MAY 2014 | VOL.7 | ISSUE 2

ELEVATE YOUR FOOTWEAR pg. 102

GUIDE 36

WISDOM How Jon Favreau got what he wanted out of Hollywood (and life).

42

69

TELEVISION

57

DESIGN

48

JM&Sons’ rustic-modern furniture is what’s missing from your place.

VICES Are you ready for the summer of ginger beer?

44

BOOKS An outsider goes deep inside the world of poker—and finds it less exciting than you might expect.

50

46

56

WOMEN

58

CARS

FOOD You can cover all of the seven deadly sins in Vegas. Here, we help you with gluttony.

This summer’s coolest cars are superconcentrated fun.

64

Canada’s best new shoe store, tough watches and clothes fashioned by Darth Vader himself.

Wireless speakers are better sounding (and better looking) than ever.

Get yourself spruced up for summer with our top picks for your hair, skin and face.

70

FATHERHOOD Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall on things learned while running from a horde of hungry zombies.

72

SPORTS

STYLE

TECH

Don’t stand between Inbar Lavi and what she wants.

GROOMING

After the fallout from dog fighting, drugs and centaur portraits, Nicholas HuneBrown wonders if there are any heroes left in sports.

STANDARDS 18

EDITOR’S LETTER 22 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

24

LETTERS

30

MAN ABOUT TOWN

112

BRAND DIRECTORY

114

RANK & FILE

P H O T O : M AT T B A R N E S

Don’t fear the small subtitles: Three new imports you should be watching, by any means necessary.


SHARP | LETTERS

EXCLUSIVELY AT SHARPFORMEN.COM BEFORE YOU READ ON, DON’T FORGET ABOUT WHAT’S HAPPENING RIGHT NOW AT SHARPFORMEN.COM

MODEL READER OK, let’s get this out of the way: I’m 70, slightly overweight, have an artificial left knee, fallen arches, and a touch of osteo... but I still want to be “cool.” You know, Steve McQueen/Thomas Crown Affair “cool” (which, incidentally, is a dreadful, dreadful movie. Whoever dressed whatzername ought to have been shot). Here’s my problem: your models are (1) impossibly thin, (2) need a shave, (3) look pouty, but mostly airhead-dumb, (4) appear to be on meds. L.L.Bean male models, for example, are (1) slim, but not thin, and (2) look as if they could put together a complete sentence. I envy people who have style. I envy people who can mix and match colours, fabrics and patterns that, on anyone else, would look ridiculous. I envy people who can look cool without looking as if they’re trying to look cool. But, perhaps Sharp could focus a little on those of us who are not size28-hipped, pouty-lipped druggies in need of a shave and a few calories; especially if you’re being distributed by the National Post, Canada’s best newspaper and the rag of choice for slightly right-of-centered, but cool, small-c conservatives. FRASER PETRICK // KINGSTON, ON

DAD-ABETES I know one more voice probably won’t make much of a difference to people like Greg Hudson (“I Hope I’m Old Before I Die,” April 2014), who haven’t taken care of their condition. But whenever it comes up, I feel obligated to put in my two cents: please, if you’re a diabetic, take care of yourself! My wife and I are now caring for my father—a guy who seemed invincible until he didn’t— and he often laments about how much he wishes he would have taken better care of his body back when it worked properly. Thanks for the story. It hit home.

WOMEN A WELCOME INTRODUCTION: CASSANDRA SCERBO Cassie starred in the cinematic masterwork Sharknado, which if you haven’t heard of it, you’re probably lying. Not surprisingly, she was the best part of that film, which included, for the record, Tara Reid, a shark and a tornado.

VIDEO HOW TO SURVIVE A ZOMBIE ATTACK In this issue’s fatherhood column, Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall heads to zombie camp to prepare for the inevitable undead apocalypse. Our cameras were there to capture the whole ordeal for your viewing pleasure.

FOOD/DRINK

STYLE

25 THINGS EVERY MAN SHOULD TASTE AT LEAST ONCE We aren’t fans of the term “Bucket List,” especially in the context of food—the words “bucket” and “food” rarely belong together—but a man still needs goals. Let these be among yours: the 25 Dishes Every Man Should Eat Before He Dies. Not directly before, mind you.

SUMMER STYLE SURVIVAL GUIDE The sartorial errors men make on vacation are legion: baggy swim trunks, socks with sandals, some atrocity known as capris. There’s no excuse for looking bad, even when you’re relaxing. Here are the best shorts, trunks, sunglasses, shirts…everything you need to look fresh this summer.

SEX SHE COMES FIRST In our ongoing pursuit of the essential information needed to live a full and happy life we introduce a new feature with the question: What happens when our online sex columnist partakes in a how-to class on female pleasure?

HENDERSON GUTHRIES // CALGARY, AB

T W IT TER @S HA R P MAG A ZIN E

FAC E B OOK / SHA RP FO RM EN

24 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

IN STAG R A M @SHA RP M AG A Z IN E

TUMBLR S H AR P M AG A Z IN E .T U M B L R .C O M

YO U T U B E / S H AR P M AG A Z IN E


SHARP | MAN ABOUT TOWN

CADILLAC GOES ELECTRIC CADILLAC REVEALED ITS NEWEST BABY, the 2014 ELR, to Canada at a celebration at UpCountry in Toronto. Guests glimpsed the plug-in hybrid’s lithe, razor-like exterior, and learned of the car’s extended-range electric vehicle technology, which allows it to drive over 480 km on batteries alone. Food was provided by Rodney’s Oyster Bar and The Food Dudes, while the bar was stocked by Belvedere Vodka and Peroni. Guests also left with the latest issue of Sharp and a custom pocket circle from Philip Sparks. Sexy car. Sexy party.

1.

2.

1. ROB ASSIMAKOPOULOS

4.

1.

AMERICAN CREW ALL STARS AMERICAN CREW HAS BEEN AS BUSY AS EVER keeping Canadian men well groomed. Jacob Rozenberg, winner of the 2013 American Crew Canadian All Star Challenge, and a team of stylists took “a little off the top” of Vancouver’s most fashionable at an event held at Moods Hair Salon in Yaletown. 1. MANA MANSOUR, GUEST 2. MIRANDA LIM, MANA MANSOUR 3. CURTIS HUNTER 4. MARY DOYLE, JACOB ROZENBERG, FRED LEE

30 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

P H O T O S : C A D I L L A C / K E V I N G O N S A LV E S

3.


SHARP | MAN ABOUT TOWN

SPRING STYLE AT TIGER OF SWEDEN TO CELEBRATE THE ONE-YEAR ANNIVERSARY OF its flagship Canadian retail location, Tiger of Sweden put its newest collection on display for a group of well-dressed party guests at the Toronto store. A trends presentation by Sharp’s Editor-in-Chief Jeremy Freed touched on the brand’s 110 years of history—and Tiger of Sweden’s new official clan tartan—while the audience enjoyed refreshments by Highland Park, Brugal Rum and Peroni.

1.

1. HOTO BLACK, 4KORNERS, AVI RAPHAEL, TYRONE EDWARDS, NICOLE DIVELLE 2. LESLEY CAMPBELL 3. ANYA MEL, BRANDON KAPLAN 4. LAURENCE SLAVIN 5. CHRISTINA WALTERS-ARSENEAU, MARY DUNNE, CAIT MACLACHLAN, MEAGHAN YUEN

3.

2.

4.

2.

3.

4.

HOLT RENFREW UNCRATES INDIA HOLT RENFREW’S DIRECTOR OF BRAND STRATEGY Alexandra Weston and renowned jewelry designer Waris Ahluwalia hosted over 500 guests for the opening of Uncrate India at Holt Renfrew Toronto. The Indian-themed party featured dance performances from Broken Dance as well as traditional Indian body art and accessories.

5. 32 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

1. BROKEN DANCE 2. GALEN WESTON, ALEXANDRA WESTON AND WARIS AHLUWALIA 3. ZEINA ESMAIL, ELIZA GROSSMAN, CAITLAN MONETA AND RANI SHEEN 4. NOELLE KADAR

P H O T O S : T I G E R O F S W E D E N / M A U R I C I O C A L E R O ; H O LT R E N F R E W / G E O R G E P I M E N T E L & J E N N A M A R I E WA K A N I

1.


05.14

LOOK BET TER • FEEL BET TER • KNOW MORE

CERVÉLO RCA $10,000

Road Warrior

AN ULTRA-LIGHT FRAME TO PUSH YOUR LIMITS 34 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

YOU’VE BEEN PUTTING IN YOUR TIME, training all winter, spinning and pushing yourself beyond your limit on the stationary. Now it’s time to take to the open roads—and this is the bike you’ll do it on. Cervélo’s Rca frame (seen here with a full kit of top-notch components) was painstakingly researched and tested by the leading marque in Canadian cycling and is a sleek set of wheels if there ever was one. With its ultra-light composition (667 grams with paint and hardware) and stiffness in all the right places, this is the perfect bike for pumping up hills, ripping down the other side and seeing what you’re really made of. It’ll get you there all right; oh, yes, it’ll get you there. – COLEMAN MOLNAR For a gallery of the world’s most beautiful bikes visit Sharpformen.com/category/cars-tech


GUIDE | Wisdom

A MAN W O RT H LIST E NING T O:

Jon Favreau HAS FINE BALANCE BY GREG HUDSON

>

FROM A CULTURAL STANDPOINT, Jon Favreau is confusing. Or maybe surprising is a better word. Except that the distinction is purely semantic. Favreau is both. It’s like: you’re telling me that the guy who shows up as comic relief in random action movies and rom-coms, that goofy schlub, he’s the same guy who made Iron Man into a worldwide blockbuster franchise (granted, with some help from RDJ)? And that that guy, the action director, also directed Elf—the best Christmas film to be added to the holiday home-movie canon since A Christmas Story? And, sure, another thing that’s confusing (and surprising) is that the guy who made those hits also made Cowboys & Aliens. It’s as though there’s no defining narrative. But his newest movie, Chef, makes perfect sense as the follow-up to a string of billion-dollar movies. Favreau got his break writing and starring in the cult classic Swingers, about a struggling actor trying to find his mojo after a breakup. In Chef, which he wrote, directed and stars in, he’s a once-popular chef who loses it all then builds back his career and his integrity by opening a food truck. It’s kind of hard not to read into this, isn’t it? But it turns out that’s not necessary because he’s pretty open about everything. Which, considering his work, isn’t confusing or surprising at all. 36 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

This is a question you’re going to be getting a lot, but Chef seems like an intentional departure from big movies. I can’t remember a better experience. I was lucky enough that a story hit me. I haven’t had a full script hit me in one go since Swingers, where you’re scared to stop writing. I’ve started a lot of scripts. Some have lasted a page or two, some I’ve gotten halfway through and I just stop. This one, it hit me, I grabbed a notebook, I outlined the whole thing in one sitting and then I started writing it. I wanted to do something where nobody told me where to shoot it, who had to be in it, what it was to be rated or anything. I figured out the budget level I had to work at to control every aspect of it creatively. As you work on bigger and bigger films, it’s a very collaborative process, but it’s nice to be able to make all the decisions. Especially when that’s where I come from. When you start off doing little tiny movies, you have complete freedom. Then, as they get bigger… I thought with success you would have greater and greater freedom but, oddly, the converse is true. As you build brands up and as you make people money, they become very protective of those brands and you get less freedom with them. It’s the nature of how art meets commerce. Can you pinpoint when this script hit you? It’s going to sound weird, but I had been ruminating around about themes of the culinary world. There was something about the world of the chef that had been popping into a lot of what I had

been doing. There was something about the world of the chef that was intriguing to me because they encapsulate the conundrum of the creative visionary: someone who has a strong vision, but requires an audience to like what they’re cooking, otherwise they’re not doing a good job. They want to satisfy their own vision, but they also want to make other people happy. And then there’s also a business aspect to it that requires investment; there are reviews and social media. It crystallizes all the challenges of the creative process that were popping in my head. Then, the story hit me when I was meditating— and when you’re meditating you try not to think, you really try to have an empty mind for those 15 minutes. But it was having that clear head where those two neurons just connect—and then you have this fully formed idea. I’ve been a writer and a filmmaker for long enough to know that the ideas aren’t really something you can force, you can just keep yourself open to them. I was tapped into a lot of stuff, and I hadn’t really written something from my guts since Swingers. It was nice to make a movie for grownups, instead of trying to get the teenage crowd, which you have to do with the big ones. Here, I could make it pretty specifically for my tastes. I don’t want to suggest that you aren’t grateful for the blockbusters, but that must get pretty tiring, always worrying about broad audiences, marketing and things like that. Honestly, I found the best trick is to have enough variety that you never grow tired of any one thing. CONTINUED ON P.38

There are more men who are worth listening to at Sharpformen.com/category/culture


GUIDE | Books

Colson Whitehead Has Written the Best Book about Poker for People Who Don’t Care about Poker

DISPATCHES FROM THE GLAMOROUS LIFE OF A TOURING COMEDIAN

WARD ANDERSON (who is the co-host of the Sharp Magazine Show on SiriusXM Canada Talks) spent years touring North America on the stand-up circuit. His new novel, I’ll Be Here All Week, is about that, finding love and banging waitresses. Not necessarily in that order. Here’s a quick rundown of the realities of his life on the road.

BY GREG HUDSON

THE PAY: Inconsistent, if not laughable. More than one promoter has offered to pay me in drugs instead of cash.

>

UNLESS YOU REALLY UNDERSTAND it—and there’s a lot to understand—or have something riding on the game, poker can be an incredibly dull spectator sport (and, yes, its inclusion as a sport requires a very broad—and sedentary—definition of the word, despite the fact that it’s broadcast almost solely on sports networks). With a basic understanding of the rules, usually you have to be invested in the players to enjoy watching it. Having that, the game is ripe with narrative and metaphoric possibilities. It’s why it’s such a popular plot device in books and films. Skill and chance, suspense and risk, the omnipresent potential for redemption and loss. But, yeah, if you don’t know poker, it’s just a handful of pasty white dudes sitting around a table, wearing sunglasses indoors. Not exactly riveting. But in his new book, The Noble Hustle, Colson Whitehead proves that, with the right voice as your guide, it doesn’t matter how much you know, or care, about cards or who’s playing them. Because Whitehead could write about anything and it would be smart, surprising and riveting as hell. The Noble Hustle came out of a series of features Whitehead wrote for Grantland in 2011. Knowing that Whitehead, a 2002 MacArthur grant recipient and author of 2011’s Zone One (which remains the smartest

44 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

zombie novel ever written), played a bit of cards, the longform sports site offered to stake his $10,000 entry in the World Series of Poker. An outsider suddenly playing with the pros. You can feel the potential. “I haven’t been to school in 25 years. I don’t remember anything,” Whitehead says. “I remember character actors in bad movies, that’s pretty much where I keep all my trivia. And so, trying to absorb all this new knowledge, then ignoring it, then getting beat down, then coming around to standard wisdom, was new and exciting because I’m really just a weird guy that hangs around my house all day.” But it’s how Whitehead frames being an outsider that makes the story compelling. He writes as one incapable of feeling joy or excitement (anhedonia, as it’s known), a representative of a country whose national anthem is a defeated sigh. It would be too easy to talk about the world of high-stakes poker from the perspective of the uninitiated, so Whitehead takes it a step further. And, it turns out, following a person who can’t be thrilled through the rigours of world-class poker can be, well, thrilling.

THE ACCOMMODATIONS: Precarious. The lodgings for one club I worked at were in such a shady part of town, the club owner locked us in at night from the outside and let us out in the morning. THE FOOD: Portion controlled. Some clubs will only comp your food if you order from the kids’ menu. THE DOWNTIME: Epic. I’ve been to South Dakota several times. I’ve never seen Mount Rushmore, but I’ve been to every shopping mall near it. THE AUDIENCES: Sometimes lacking a sense of humour. A guy I teased once in the front row jumped onstage and choked me in front of the rest of the audience. No one helped me because they thought it was part of the show. It would have been a pretty good bit. THE BUG: Potent. Get me in front of 300 people laughing and applauding, and all of the above doesn’t matter.

Dominate the tables with tips from World Poker Series champ, Jonathan Duhamel, at Sharpformen.com/themanual


GUIDE | Women

A WEL C OME I N T R ODUCTION

Stay Out of Inbar Lavi’s Way BY TRISTAN BRONCA

>

46 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

PHOTO: BENNY HADDAD

IT’S A CLICHÉ AT this point: young actress leaves her home to make it in the big bad world of Los Angeles. But at least Inbar Lavi, who left Israel and landed in a tiny apartment in America, had fun with it. “It felt like I was in a video game,” she says before she explains—quite endearingly— how she intended to win by blowing away anything that stood between her and success. “It could be fear, financial problems, the disappointment of not getting the roles that I want, or the physical and mental drain. All those things are obstacles and I kill them. I kill them all!” Scrappy, isn’t she? Now, she’s set to appear in the FOX series Gang Related, where that kind of attitude might come in handy. For more welcome introductions, go to Sharpformen.com/category/women


GUIDE | Vices

The Gingers Are Coming

1 2

IT’S NOT ALE, IT’S BEER BY COLEMAN MOLNAR

3

EVEN IF YOU HAVEN’T SIPPED IT straight, you’ve had non-alcoholic ginger beer in cocktails like the Dark and Stormy and Moscow Mule. Its sweet and spicy tones also work wonders alongside just about anything done on the grill. And now, as brewers begin to release their limitededition summer tipples, we’ve honed in on four of the very best booze-infused choices for your sipping pleasure.

4

1. BEAU’S NO.39 SARGON

Stare down the Mesopotamian warrior king depicted on the bottle while you savour the heat of organic ginger. Partially aged in rum barrels, this is a seasonal English-ale emulation of a Dark and Stormy—spicy and sweet, fresh and dry. (6 PER CENT ABV)

2. CRABBIE’S ORIGINAL AND SPICED ORANGE GINGER BEER

Brewed in the UK and matured for six weeks, Crabbie’s Original Alcoholic Ginger Beer, presented in 500 ml bottles, is sweeter than some, but still packs that ginger punch. They also have a new variant, Spiced Orange, which is a bit spicier. Both are best on ice with a wedge of citrus. (4 PER CENT ABV)

3. PHILLIPS GINGER BEER

Packaged in 650 ml bottles, this Van Island native ale is light in colour and heavy on flavour. Sip sensitively and you’ll pick up on some interesting herbal and floral notes—that is, if you can get past the burn. (5 PER CENT ABV)

4. GRANVILLE ISLAND BREWERY’S GINJA NINJA

PHOTO: LIAM MOGAN

Vancouver’s Granville Island Brewery makes a seasonal gingerstyle lager, which is available from the end of March to August. It’s golden in colour, with a ginger and citrus nose and a dry, peppery finish. On the ginger scale, this one weighs lightly, perfect for those with heat-sensitive palates (and an affinity for puns). (5.5 PER CENT ABV)

48 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

Still thirsty? Find summer cocktail recipes at Sharpformen.com/category/fooddrink


GUIDE | Food

BLUE RIBBON SUSHI BAR & GRILL The Vegas outpost of the ever-growing New York restaurant empire is a monument to the splendours and subtleties of Japanese cuisine. The comprehensive array of sushi and sashimi is, predictably enough, exquisitely fresh and delicious, but it’s Blue Ribbon’s signature fried chicken, drizzled with wasabi and honey, that you’ll be raving about. 3708 S. LAS VEGAS BLVD. BLUERIBBONRESTAURANTS.COM

Sin City: Gluttony Edition

THE RESTAURANT SCENE IN LAS VEGAS COMES OF AGE Honey Salt’s My Wife’s Favorite Salad

BY YANG-YI GOH

YOU’RE GOING TO VEGAS. You’re thinking: fly in for a couple of days, play a few hands of Hold ’em, pop some bottles by the pool, maybe catch a show or two, quote some Swingers while feeling a little old. Notice anything missing from this scenario? We sure do. Right now, Las Vegas is experiencing a culinary renaissance. Sin City is now home to a pitch perfect mix of low-key local eateries, glitzy celebrity chef-led dining rooms and, yes, all-you-can-eat buffets, serving up just about every kind of food and drink you could desire. For a city built on flash and hyperbole, there’s a surprising wealth of lip-smacking substance to be found.

HONEY SALT

Tucked in a nondescript strip mall 20 miles off the Strip, Honey Salt is about as far as you can get from the stereotypical larger-thanlife Vegas vibe. Instead, the

offbeat interiors—exposed brick lines the dining area, while vintage baseball cards serve as wallpaper in the bathroom—and a comfortfood-heavy menu combine for a homey, intimate

50 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

ambience that’s decidedly Portlandian. The tweely named My Wife’s Favorite Salad—topped with duck confit and a fried egg—and the astoundingly juicy brickoven chicken (served with a heap of mac ’n’ cheese) shouldn’t be missed. 1031 S. RAMPART BLVD. HONEYSALT.COM

N9NE STEAKHOUSE

Even with a newly remodeled dining room, this Palms institution remains a quintessentially old-school Las Vegas experience—in the best way possible. Much of the praise can be laid at the feet of genial executive chef Barry Dakake, who’s quick with a story, or three,

about his A-list regulars, and delivers a first-rate rib-eye cooked to perfection. 4321 W. FLAMINGO RD. PALMS.COM

GORDON RAMSAY BURGR

You’re probably about as tired of gourmet burgers as you are of Gordon Ramsay’s infantile antics, but this laidback establishment in the heart of the strip somehow makes them both seem as relevant as ever. The burgers themselves are succulent and novel—especially “The Hog,” which comes topped with Mangalitsa pork, sharp cheddar and a slathering of apple butter. Paired with one of the joint’s towering

For more of the world’s greatest places to eat, check out Sharpformen.com/category/fooddrink


GUIDE | Tech

Bring the Party with You A WIRELESS SOUND SYSTEM FOR EVERY PLACE YOU WANT TO BE THIS SUMMER BY CHRIS VANDERGAAG

1

JAWBONE BIG JAMBOX

1 2 3 4

5

Best For: The Backyard Rugged and stylish with a big, clear voice, Jawbone’s Big Jambox is designed to be carted around. Basic black is standard, or choose from 9 colour choices for the grill, and 13 for the chassis and buttons. ($250)

2

DYNAUDIO XEO 5

Best for: The Living Room A perfect storm of wireless versatility and audiophile performance. These otherworldly aluminum-chassis amplified tower speakers—complete with digital signal processing—easily outperform many top-end wired tower speakers. ($4,500)

3

SONOS PLAY:5

Best for: The Office The Sonos Play:5’s power and fullbodied sound will command your attention in any room. This iOS-andAndroid-friendly device packs a five-driver speaker system, providing a premium music listening experience. About what you’d expect from people who consulted with the tech wizards at Skywalker Ranch. ($450)

4

JABRA SOLEMATE

Best for: The Beach The perfect all-round solution for bringing your music everywhere. Sporting a heavy-duty rubber tread on its underside, this box has deep bass and impressive overall sound quality for its size. ($160)

5

MARSHALL STANMORE

Best for: The Garage (but only if it’s the right kind of garage) Evoking the styling of the amps for which Marshall is known and loved, the Stanmore is powerful and robust and likely to be the coolest-looking object on your bookcase.

($400–$500)

THE SHARP POSITION:

CAN WE PLEASE STOP PRETENDING WEARABLE TECH WILL BE A THING? 56 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

REMEMBER BLUETOOTH HEADSETS? This great idea in theory (fewer car accidents) was a horrible thing in practice because we looked ridiculous wearing them. While Bluetooth earpieces have since been relegated to the e-scrap heap, wearable tech’s assault on all things elegant and decent continues. Smartwatches, Google Glass—both are great ideas, neither useful enough to sufficiently counter how ridiculous they make us look. No doubt the tech companies are feverishly working on a way to implant our mobile devices directly into our brains, but until that happens (or they come up with a device that doesn’t make us look like B-movie cyborgs), we’re going to stay away. And so should you. You know what sounds good on an updated sound system? The Sharp Magazine Show. Listen at Sharpformen.com/sharpshow


05.14

LOOK BET TER • FEEL BET TER • KNOW MORE

ASTON MARTIN V12 VANTAGE S

Five highrevving reasons why smaller is better than ever BY MATT BUBBERS

DOWNSIZING IS A MISERABLE word, but it needn’t be. Forget for a moment the connotations of stagnant growth, layoffs and the difficult adjustments to doing more with less. Thanks to a host of technological advancements in the automotive world the latest crop of performance cars make no apologies for their diminutive stature. These hot new machines may be small, but their engines— and performance—are anything but.

58 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014


CARS | Big Power, Small Packages

TO DRIVE GREATNESS: ASTON MARTIN V12 VANTAGE S

>

YOU’LL KNOW A GREAT SPORTS CAR WHEN, and only when, you drive one. The Aston Martin has the looks and the pedigree, but does it have, well, “it”? Updating the V12 Vantage to “S” spec means tweaked suspension; a reworked, seven-speed automated manual gearbox; and increased top-end urgency from the naturally aspirated V12 motor. Open the door and you notice the soft Alcantara steering ENGINE: wheel, the cabin that fits like a glove. Feel the anticipation as all 6.0-LITRE V12 12 cylinders ignite, and feel, too, the instant throttle response that POWER: hardwires car to brain. The reworked engine hungers for the red 565 HP line, hunts it. The speed. My god, the speed. One thought keeps GEARBOX: running through my mind: This is my new favourite sports car. Nothing else this side of a million-dollar supercar delivers such 7-SPEED AUTO PRICE: a rush. If it’s possible for you to do so, you need to drive a great $195,900 sports car, preferably a V12 S. Your life may never be the same.

SPECS

NO COMPROMISE: PORSCHE MACAN TURBO

ASTON MARTIN ON ICE

We know, it sounds like a recipe for a rather expensive disaster: putting a V12 Vantage S on ice. Surely it’ll powerslide itself so far into a snowbank you’ll have to wait till summer to get it out. The reality is far more fun. Aston Martin has a new ice-driving school in the picturesque ski town of Crested Butte, Colorado. With a car as capable as the V12, there’s no better way to learn to control it than on a frozen field, where professional instructors coach you through the finer points of automotive ice dancing—and keep you out of the snowbanks.

THE SUV HAS FINALLY COME OF AGE. The sport utility vehicle began as a barely disguised truck, became a capable family hauler, then a luxury product, and now, with the Macan, perhaps the best all-round vehicle in the world. Try as we might, it’s impossible to find a downside to the Macan Turbo. Not only is it laugh-out-loud fast, with 400 horsepower and typical Porsche turbo power delivery—meaty, relentless, jet-engine-esque—but it actually handles, too. SUVs aren’t meant to do that. But with the available adjustable air suspension, the Macan Turbo easily kept up with a 911 Carrera on Porsche’s factory test track in Leipzig, Germany. (And there’s no way the 911 Carrera could keep up with the Macan when the going gets rough.) This new compact SUV from ENGINE: Porsche may be the Cayenne’s 3.6-LITRE little sibling, but it doesn’t lose BI-TURBO V6 out on the practicality front— POWER: there’s still enough room for 400 HP a family of four with luggage. even the fuel economy GEARBOX: Hell, is respectable. In fact, at this 7-SPEED AUTO point, the term SUV seems like PRICE: an insult—the Macan is a whole $82,20O new breed.

SPECS

60 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014


READY FOR TAKEOFF:

ULTRA-MODERN CLASSIC: THE AUDI S3

MERCEDES-BENZ GLA 45 AMG

A DECADE AGO, a car like this would’ve gone over gangbusters in Europe. A smart-looking sporty subcompact from Audi? Oui! Danke. You and I would not have had the option of owning one because you can bet that, a decade ago, a car like this wouldn’t have come to Canada. Powering the S3—the sportiest member of the new A3 family—is a turbocharged 2.0-litre, four-cylinder engine punching out 290 horseENGINE: power, which can propel this little rocket from 0 2.0-LITRE to 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds. With a six-speed, TURBO I4 dual-clutch automatic and quattro all-wheel POWER: drive, the S3 will give bystanders quite a shock. 290 HP Rarely does such an understated automobile pack such performance. GEARBOX: But it’s not just about power: it’s about the 6-SPEED AUTO handling, the ride, the style. It’s about the whole PRICE: concept of luxury in a subcompact car. What else $44,000 have we been missing out on? -COLEMAN MOLNAR

WE’D JUST BEEN SHOT FROM A CANNON—TWICE. Or, at least that’s what it felt like to test the Race Start Launch Control in the 2015 Mercedes-Benz GLA 45 AMG. It works like this: with all systems set to maximum sportiness, do something you’re never supposed to do. Left foot hard on the brake, right foot hard on the throttle. The world’s most powerful producENGINE: tion four-cylinder engine fizzes and snarls its 2.0-LITRE way to optimum RPM. Sidestep the brake and TURBO I4 355 horsepower is transferred to the tarmac POWER: through a seven-speed transmission and the 355 HP 4Matic all-wheel-drive system. In 4.8 seconds, you will have traveled from a GEARBOX: dead stop to 100 km/h. Rinse, repeat, giggle mani7-SPEED AUTO acally. No, it’s not necessary when pulling away PRICE: from a traffic light, but it does make an otherwise $54,000 (EST.) mundane event rather heart-pounding. –JOE KNYCHA

SPECS

SPECS

POCKET ROCKET, REBORN: BMW M235i

>

LONG BEFORE BMW BECAME A NOTED SUPPLIER of luxury sedans to the world’s banking elite, the German company made a name for itself in Canada by selling small cars that punched way above their weight. With the M3, now in its fifth generation, getting ever larger with each redesign, space opened up in the lineup for BMW to get back to making the sort of car that so endeared the company to drivers in the first place. The M235i is the most affordable entry into BMW’s M division lineup; the little brother to the M3. But make no mistake, there’s nothing little about its personality. On a racetrack, the turbocharged ENGINE: 3.0-LITRE TURBO I6 motor gives the newest M the muscle of POWER: a much larger machine: 322 hp and 330 322 HP lb-ft of torque propel it to 0 to 100 km/h GEARBOX: in just 5.0 seconds. Factor in the supple 6-SPEED MANUAL ride and extensive options list and you’ve OR 8-SPEED AUTO got the best of both BMW worlds: a PRICE: luxury car and a performance car in one $45,000 perfectly sized package.

SPECS

PREDECESSORS: 2002 TURBO Style icon.

M3 (E30) Racecar for the road.

1 SERIES M COUPE Unhinged oversteer demon. MAY 2014 / SHARPFORMEN.COM 61


05.14

THE THREE SHOES ON THIS PAGE HAVE A FEW THINGS IN COMMON. First and foremost, they’re all beautiful—that much is obvious. They also share a distinguished pedigree: handmade in Europe from full-grain leather using top-notch Goodyear-welted construction. But, perhaps the best common denominator? The cost. Each pair clocks in at just $350 a pop, remarkably reasonable for footwear of this quality. That’s the basic philosophy at Loding, a celebrated French atelier that opened its very first North American location in Toronto earlier this year: well-made, great-looking stuff at a fixed price point. Alongside its selection of fine footwear, Loding carries a small assortment of stylish clothes and accessories: Egyptian cotton dress shirts, silk ties and cufflinks—all priced on the same model. It’s an elegant, egalitarian system, one that results in a far more civilized shopping experience—something we can all appreciate. Vive la France. – YANG-YI GOH

64 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

Casual Friday? Check out the season’s best designer sneakers at Sharpformen.com/category/style

P H O T O : M AT T B A R N E S

ONE-PRICE WONDERS

LOOK BET TER • FEEL BET TER • KNOW MORE


Heroes of Menswear | STYLE HEROES OFR MENSWEA

CHRIS HAYDEN

TENSEN

D E S IG N

ER

ANAKIN SKYWALKER IS A FASHION DESIGNER

Believe it or not, his clothes are pretty great P H O T O : H AY D E N C H R I S T E N S E N / G E O R G E P I M E N T E L / G E T T Y I M A G E S

BY YANG-YI GOH

>

HAYDEN CHRISTENSEN HAS BEEN ON LUNCHboxes. He’s had his own action figures, his own fridge magnets, had his face plastered on billboards from São Paulo to Singapore. The guy was Darth Vader, for chrissakes. And yet, none of it can quite compare to the first time he saw someone wearing a piece of clothing he designed. “I was driving around town,” Christensen remembers, “and I saw someone wearing one of my jackets. I’ve had some neat experiences in life, but having designed something that someone else bought and wore and embraced? I got a real kick out of that.” This spring marks the second season of Hayden Christensen for RW&CO., an ongoing collaboration between the Thornhill, Ontario-raised actor and the nationwide retail chain. It’s an undertaking that goes far deeper than your standard-issue celebrity endorsement: Christensen has been hands-on at every stage of the line’s development, regularly flying in to the label’s Montreal head office to direct the design team, choose fabrics and inspect samples.

“The whole process was a bit overwhelming at first,” the 33-year-old admits. “I have a bit of an obsessive-compulsive personality, and this was a great means for me to obsess over tiny little things: the stitching, the buttons, the zippers. I’d take the samples back home and really live with them to see how they felt, how they functioned. I tried to be as considerate as possible about every single detail.” Walking through the new collection, that level of commitment is immediately evident. Christensen’s first at-bat, released last fall, had a rugged, outdoorsy feel, inspired by the farm he owns in southern Ontario. For spring, however, he’s turned to his adopted home of Los Angeles as his main muse. It’s a versatile range of batik-print button-downs, patterned shorts and well-tailored sweats: the kind of tastefully laid-back clothes you want to spend the whole summer wearing. While Christensen’s new side gig in fashion is keeping him busy, he hasn’t abandoned his film career. Last year, he founded a production company called Glacier Films, and has three movies set to hit theatres in 2014. None of them—understandably—has anything to do with galaxies far, far away. “Yeah, no Star Wars t-shirts allowed,” he says with a laugh. Later on, though, Christensen pauses while considering a menacing pair of all-black leather sneakers, the very first shoes he’s designed. “Alright, alright,” he smirks. “I guess I did let a little Darth Vader into the collection.” MAY 2014 / SHARPFORMEN.COM 67


STYLE | Timepieces

CITIZEN Eco-Drive Scuba Fin $425

LONGINES HydroConquest $1,150

SEIKO Astron GPS Solar $2,950

TAG HEUER Formula 1 $1,900

GUESS Sport $145

MOVADO Circa Chronograph $1,295

A QUARTZ > GOLDMINE

Tough timepieces for your outdoor adventures BY ARIEL ADAMS

OMEGA SPACEMASTER Z-33 68 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

CUT THE QUARTZ WATCH SOME SLACK, would you? While the world’s most desirable watches are now by and large mechanical (that is, automatic self-winding or manual wound—not battery powered), before the advent of cheap, mass-produced movements in the mid-1980s, quartz timepieces were the height of cool. Nowadays, the main advantage to a quartz piece (aside from being more accurate than a mechanical watch) is durability. Since they have fewer (if any) moving parts, they can stand up to more abuse, making them ideal sports watches (not to mention they’re resistant to pesky doorframes). Digital technology also makes possible a slew of complications that remain out of the reach of even the most sophisticated mechanical movements. Here are a few worthy of your collection.

As the maker of the first timepiece worn on the moon, Omega created its Z-33 as a thoroughly modern space watch to carry on that legacy. As an astronaut’s timepiece is called upon to perform functions far and above that of a mechanical watch, Omega opted for a quartz movement (capable of containing complex timing features and alarms) and a light, durable titanium case. $5,900

Do you know your bezel from your lugs? Get informed at Sharpformen.com/category/style


Grooming | STYLE

SPRING CLEANING

Time to mow the lawn, trim the hedges and other grooming metaphors BY TRISTAN BRONCA

>

P H O T O S H O T W I T H T H E C A N O N 7 0 D . F O R O U R R E V I E W V I S I T S H A R P F O R M E N . C O M / T E C H . P H O T O : C H A N N I N G TAT U M /A N I TA B U G G E / G E T Y T I M A G E S

DESPITE YOUR BEST INTENTIONS over the winter months, your skin has cracked, your lips have chapped and you’ve probably neglected your barber. Now that you’re dusting off your spring wardrobe, get your skin ready for fair weather, too. 1.This BODY REHAB SCRUB from JACK BLACK ($40) has a dual function, with arnica, sea salts and Epsom salts working as both an exfoliate and a soothing agent for muscles. You know, those things you just started using again.

THE SPRING CUT YOU NEED, AND HOW TO GET IT:

As the reign of the high and tight fades (so to speak), the haircut for spring is a little different. It’s still clean and classically inspired, and close-cropped on the sides and back, but it’s shorter on top— less Boardwalk Empire and more Jump Street-era Channing Tatum. A small dollop of AMERICAN CREW GROOMING CREAM ($20) will give you the effortless look you want.

2. MUSGO REAL GLYCERINE LIME OIL SOAP ($10 at MenEssentials.ca) is a natural cleanser with just a hint of alcohol, enough to remove dirt and dead skin without drying your wind-parched face. 3. A good mask is the most effective way to remove winter grime that’s deeply embedded in your skin. THE CLARIFYING CLAY MASK from BAXTER OF CALIFORNIA ($20 at MenEssentials.ca) is designed to do just that. Suck it up and use it. Your skin will thank you.

3

4

1 2

4. The harmful effects of the sun are well known. But after a harsh winter, it’s nice to remember there are benefits to sunlight, too. Old Mr. Sun reinvigorates pasty complexions and strengthens blemish-prone skin. This URTH FACE BALM ($42 at MenEssentials.ca) provides just the right amount of protection for spring.

A NEW FACE FOR SPRING

Beards serve a purpose in the wintertime, and make sense both aesthetically and practically. They are the Harris tweed of the grooming world. Which also means, come spring, they should be put in storage. Just in time, the facial hair obsessives at Gillette have come out with a new edition of their five-bladed Fusion Proglide über-razor. Using patented new Flexball technology, the razor’s head swivels in four directions, gliding along contours of your face you haven’t seen since October. – GH

For organic solutions, check our list of the best natural grooming products at Sharpformen.com/category/style

MAY 2014 / SHARPFORMEN.COM 69


GUIDE | Fatherhood

ZOMBIE CAMP PART II: THE DAD SHALL RISE A father prepares for his son’s worst fear

BY SHAUGHNESSY BISHOP-STALL • ILLUSTRATION BY PAUL BLOW

MY HEART IS BURSTING. I stumble out of the bush, right into a wooden post, glancing off it and grabbing onto another. It’s some sort of lookout. I see the ladder and a closed hatchway. I scramble up. The panel budges just barely. There’s something heavy on top of it. I push and scrape and launch off the rung until it moves some more and I can squeeze through, throwing my pack up ahead of me. It’s like a spartan tree house—nothing there but the tractor wheel that had been blocking my way. The zombies shouldn’t be able to climb, but I pull up the ladder anyway, heave the wheel back in place and collapse, spread-eagled. Then I just lie there, gasping for breath, listening to the slaughter. And this, in my shame, is what I’m thinking: You can’t save them. They’re done for anyway. Just stay here until it is over. The shrieks and screams are bloody birds through the air. 70 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

A half-hour ago, though it seems like forever, the morning air was still, and I was still a hero—or at least thinking and acting like one. Corporal Deidter, Canadian Armed Forces, who’d trained us the day before in field tactics, was giving us the rundown: there’d been an outbreak overnight. Worst-case scenario: people turned to zombies turning people into zombies, rabid and hungry and heading this way. Our mission was two-fold: Survive the day and prepare a sustainable society for the brutal days to come. If and when the dinner bell tolled, it meant the zombies had breached the perimeter. I was fine with that. When it comes to stuff like zombie survival, I’ve always had a great deal of confidence. The self-deprecating nature of this column, in which I try desperately to attain skills before my son Zev realizes how few I possess, rarely allows for such notions. But if life has taught me anything, it’s that hubris and haplessness are not paradoxical.


GUIDE | The Reluctant Fanatic

IN A WORLD WITHOUT HEROES

It’s been a while since professional sports stars could be role models. That’s changing. BY NICHOLAS HUNE-BROWN • ILLUSTRATION BY DAN RAFTIS

FOR A BRIEF BUT FORMATIVE PERIOD— shortly after I had stopped idolizing Gobo the Fraggle, but before I knew about Billy Corgan—I was fairly certain Thurman Thomas was the greatest individual to ever tread the earth. The Buffalo Bills running back was a genius in the backfield, the hero of the not-quite-good-enough football team that broke my young heart four times in a row in the early ’90s. There he was on Sunday afternoons, juke-stepping linebackers and careening off the secondary, breaking records and leading off the sports reports that were beamed into my Toronto living room from television stations across the border. To an eight-year-old doomed to love the Bills, it was simple and straightforward: he was a hero. 72 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

A kid’s hero worship of a sports star is a specific kind of love. You love your parents, you love your sister, maybe you have some nascent lust for your babysitter, but the adulation for a muscled stranger, some adult man you’ve never met, is a strange new thing. When you idolize an athlete, you don’t just want to hang out with him; you want to become him. You imagine yourself as Wendel Clark—your consciousness somehow transplanted into his 200-pound body—scoring the game-winning goal in game seven of the Stanley Cup finals. You emulate your hero’s every move, wearing your jersey half-tucked like Gretzky, jogging around the playground with your tongue hanging out like Jordan. You try to know everything there is to know about him, memorizing his stats, watching his replays, in a bid to somehow eliminate the distance


74 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014


Ma

Ch

Masculine

Charming

Ha Handsome

Fu Funny

In

Intimidating

Jh A Scientific Study of

Jon Hamm

Ru

Mo Modest

PHOTO: YU TSAI / GET TY IMAGES

Rugged

At Athletic

An Exploration of How He is the Man, and the Effect He Has on Other Men By Greg Hudson

MAY 2014 / SHARPFORMEN.COM 75


MEN FIGHT. We’re not the only ones, of course, but the idea of being a man has always been tied in one way or another to the idea of fighting. We asked some of Canada’s best writers to investigate aspects of what it means to be a man today—something personal and universal. Here, Pasha Malla takes on violence, and what it means when a man wants to fight, but doesn’t need to.

SHARPFORMEN.COM 80


MANHOOD EXPLORED: Pa r t 3

The Fighter

PHTOTO: GET TY IMAGES

By PA S H A M A L L A


The Sharp Guide to Golf ON-LOCATION PHOTOGRAPHY BY MATT DOYLE • STYLING BY ALVARO SALAZAR • GROOMING BY ZEE CLEMENTE STUDIO PHOTOGRAPHY BY LIAM MOGAN • GEAR SELECTION BY SCOTT KRAMER

86 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014


PHOTO: MARK NOLAN/GET TY IMAGES

18 ways to make 2014 your best season ever

MAY 2014 / SHARPFORMEN.COM 87


2

Your clothes should fit. It sounds simple, but far too many golfers wind up wearing blousy, oversized ensembles, thinking they need the extra room for movement. You don’t. Your golf garb should be as trim and tailored as everything else in your wardrobe. LEFT: COTTON POLO SHIRT ($345) BY ERMENEGILDO ZEGNA; COTTON CHINOS ($175) BY CARLOS CAMPOS; COTTON-BLEND BELT ($40) BY BEN SHERMAN; LEATHER GOLF SHOES ($240) BY ECCO. RIGHT: NYLON-COTTON BLEND JACKET ($625) BY BURBERRY BRIT; COTTON CHINOS ($100) BY BEN SHERMAN; LEATHER GOLF SHOES ($240) BY ECCO.

90 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014


The Sharp Guide to Golf

3 GET A BAG YOUR CADDY WILL WANT TO CARRY. Handcrafted in Italy from the finest alligator leather, this is a golf bag worthy of a museum. TRECCANI MILANO, $42,000.

4

RIDE AROUND THE COURSE LIKE A BOSS. The be-all and end-all of luxury golf carts, designed and constructed to feel and handle like a real car. The built-in refrigerator to keep your refreshments cold doesn’t hurt, either. GARIA, $12,200. MAY 2014 / SHARPFORMEN.COM 91


FANCY FOOTWORK SIMPLE OUTFIT, BOLD CONTRASTING KICKS. THAT’S THE TICKET TO FLAWLESS SPRING STYLE. WE TAPPED GUILLAUME CÔTÉ, THE NATIONAL BALLET OF CANADA’S PRINCIPAL DANCER, TO DEMONSTRATE THE LOOK WITH ACROBATIC APLOMB. PHOTOGRAPHY BY MATT BARNES 102 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY APRIL 2014 2014

STYLING BY MARK ANDREW SMITH


NIKE

LUNAR FLYKNIT CHUKKA ($200)

WOOL-ANDLEATHER BASEBALL JACKET ($495) BY NEEDS&WANTS; COTTON SHIRT ($60) BANANA REPUBLIC; COTTON SWEATPANTS ($110) BY ROOTS. APRIL MAY 2014 / SHARPFORMEN.COM 103


PRESENTS

THE SPRING/SUMMER 2014

Style Manual The Complete Guide for the Well-Dressed Man 45 PAGES OF

The suits, shoes, coats and accessories you need now + Our rules for looking your absolute best

ONLY AVAILABLE IN

SHARP: The Book For Men Spring/Summer 2014


SHARP | RANK & FILE

ST R WO TH Y

PHOTO: SCARLET T JOHANSSON/ VENTURELLI/GET T Y IMAGES

MO

OUR HIGHLY SCIENTIFIC RANKING OF THINGS THAT DO AND DO NOT DESERVE YOUR ATTENTION

1. X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST Because every actor is in it. And because Jennifer Lawrence in blue body paint is sexier than it has any right to be.

2. RUN CLUBS You’ve already got the DayGlo sneakers, now go terrorize some stroller moms with a bunch of other sweaty dudes.

3. MAY TWO-FOUR WEEKEND The unofficial beginning of summer. If it snows this weekend, it’s the first time a man has any right to complain about the weather.

4. THE 98TH INDIANAPOLIS 500 Without the billionaire arms-race mentality of Formula One, IndyCar is arguably the purer form of high-speed sportsmanship. Plus, this could be James Hinchcliffe’s year.

5. FESTIVAL SEASON

6. TERRIBLE GOLF SHOES

Y

114 SHARPFORMEN.COM / MAY 2014

TH

Now who will proofredd this mergazine?

Let’s all go have a few half-hearted laughs to pay for Adam Sandler to build himself another go-kart track or buy his kids fur coats or something.

R WO

7. UNPAID INTERNSHIPS

8. A NEW ADAM SANDLER MOVIE

ST

A new breed of golf shoes has finally accepted the bowling shoe’s challenge of which can be the least appealing sports footwear.

LEA

Two world-class festivals take place this month: Cannes and the Cooper’s Hill CheeseRolling Festival. One has participants falling all over themselves while chasing the cheddar, whereas, at Cooper’s Hill, they use a nice Double Gloucester.


Sharp Magazine May 2014