Page 44

Chapter 4: Classifications, Categories, and Special Awards; Police Tournaments 4.1 Classifications & Categories

Classifications, categories, and/ or special awards plans are used in many tournaments to provide a system for the equitable distribution of awards among competitors. Sponsors may create their own classification category system in an Approved tournament. Registered tournaments must use the NRA Classification system.

Group similarly skilled competitors

Classification: Under a classification system, shooters of similar skill levels are divided into groups and compete against each other for awards. The NRA National Classification System is described in detail in Section 19 of the rulebook for each discipline. The NRA maintains a record of scores fired for every shooter who competes in NRA-sanctioned events Scores are averaged (except Silhouette), and a classification is determined for each shooter based on the shooter’s skill. The most skilled are termed Masters (or High Masters in some types of shooting). The three other classes used in descending order are Expert, Sharpshooter, and Marksman. Metallic Silhouette shooters are classified Master, AAA, AA, A, and B. NOTE: The NRA classification system is based on scores fired in NRA-sanctioned tournaments. It has no relationship to qualification levels (shooting predetermined scores) achieved in any of the NRA qualification programs, although some of the names (marksman, sharpshooter, and expert) are the same. Scores fired in Leg (Excellence in Competition) matches are NOT used for NRA classifications. See Rule 1.7 (d). Categories: Shooters may also be grouped for competition based on a common characteristic. Several categories are defined in Section 2 of the rulebooks. The following are considered to be standard categories, depending upon what the tournament program lists. Every competitor will generally fall into one of the standard categories. 1) Civilian - as defined in Rule 2.2 2) Police - as defined in Rule 2.4. See Rule 2.4 in the NRA Police Pistol Combat rulebook for eligibility requirements for NRA Police Pistol Combat competition 3) National Guard - as defined in Rule 2.5 4) Regular Service - as defined in Rule 2.6 5) Reserve - as defined in Rule 2.7 In addition to the standard categories, there are special categories. Competitors may fall into more than one special category. Special categories most commonly used are listed below (not in all rulebooks). Tournament sponsors can add any


Chapter 4

Tournament Operations Guide

Women are a special category

Profile for National Rifle Association - Competitive Shooting

NRA Tournament Operations Guide  

Guide on how to efficiently run NRA Sanctioned Tournaments

NRA Tournament Operations Guide  

Guide on how to efficiently run NRA Sanctioned Tournaments

Profile for compshoot