Page 33

Junior Golf News Merielle Gojo of Cherry Hills Village (Cherry Creek HS) — CSU-Pueblo (NCAA Div. II) TJ Hicks of Greenwood Village (Cherry Creek HS) — Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Ariz., NCAA Div. II) Jordan Jennings of Montrose (Montrose HS) — Colorado State University (NCAA Div. I) Trey Kuntz of Sterling (Sterling HS) — Northeastern JC (Junior college) Morgan Palermo of Parker (Ponderosa HS) — Oklahoma City University (NAIA) Aubri Braecklein, winner of the 2020 CGA Women’s Stroke Play, will play her college golf at Georgia State.

In Braecklein’s case, a big 2020 no doubt helped land her at a Division I program — just as a former Jefferson Academy golfer, current LPGA player Jennifer Kupcho, earned a spot at DI Wake Forest. Braecklein made some history in June by winning the CGA Women’s Stroke Play at age 17 as she became the youngest champion of that event in more than a dozen years, before which detailed records weren’t kept. Though Braecklein didn’t win any of the JGAC majors in 2020, she notched three runner-up finishes, placing second in the Colorado Junior Amateur, the Colorado Junior PGA and the JGAC Tour Championship. She was also ninth in the Colorado Junior Match Play. Braecklein won two JGAC tournaments in 2020 and was never outside of the top 10 in an Alliance event. She won the JGAC Tour Girls points race by a whopping 682 points. The National Letter of Intent signing period runs through August 1. This year’s recruiting process has been altered due to Covid-19, with the NCAA suspending in-person recruiting until at least January 1 for Division I programs. Below is a list of Coloradans and JGAC members who have signed NLIs or have committed to play college golf for specific programs. This list will be updated.

Sloane Post of Centennial (Arapahoe HS) — Northern Colorado (NCAA Div. I) Grace Young of Highlands Ranch (Valor Christian) — Rhodes College (Tenn., NCAA Div. III) OUT-OF-STATE PLAYERS SIGNING WITH COLORADO-BASED PROGRAMS Colorado State University Men Christoph Bleier of Linz, Austria, a member of the Austrian national team who stands 102nd in the men’s World Amateur Golf Rankings University of Colorado Men Frederik Eisenbeis of Cologne, Germany, a member of the German national team who won the 2019 Berlin Open Jack Holland of Keysborough, Australia, a two-time state school champion Dylan McDermott of Granite Bay, Calif., the 2019 Junior Tour of Northern California Boys Player of the Year Colorado State University Women Pemika Arphamongkol of Thailand Romina Villanueva Escalada of Atizapan de Zaragosa, Mexico Lacey Uchida of Hilo, Hawaii University of Denver Women


Clara Gestsdottir of Iceland, a member of the Iceland national team

Aubri Braecklein of Northglenn (Jefferson Academy) — Georgia State (NCAA Div. I)

Colorado Christian University Men

Emma Bryant of Aurora (Eaglecrest HS) — University of Denver (NCAA Div. I) Gavin Buttshaw of Aurora (Cherokee Ridge HS) — Concordia (Neb., NAIA) Owen Cornmesser of Fort Collins (Fossil Ridge HS) — Colorado School of Mines (NCAA Div. II) Kaden Ford of Colorado Springs (Discovery Canyon HS) — Southern Virginia (NCAA Div. III)

December 2020

Xavier Bighaus of McKinney, Texas Adam Duncan of Bakersfield, Calif. Ben Fowler of Fayetteville, Ark. Camron Reddell of Keller, Texas Colorado School of Mines Jackson Parrish of Henderson, Nev.


Profile for Colorado PGA

The SUMMIT - Colorado PGA Magazine - December 2020