Page 1

Scotland edition

Supporter

Review 2012/13

www.clicsargent.org.uk

How you helped children and young people with cancer over the last year


A big thank you for all your support From walking in kilts to organising bucket collections, your fundraising efforts have been phenomenal. And thanks to you, this year we’ve supported over 6,600 children and young people and their families. cc Liz Bow and her bucketeers raised over £2,300 in two days collecting at Sainsbury’s in Nairn in December 2012. It’s the most we’ve ever raised from a single bucket collection and we need more volunteers like Liz. You can join in with our Winter of Collections, from October to December, and help raise £200,000. To collect at a venue near you, go to www.clicsargent.org.uk/ bigbucketcollection

cc Last April and September, 2,000 people donned their tartan and walked 26 miles for five Scotland-based children’s charities, including CLIC Sargent. We were delighted to be chosen by organisers Kiltwalk as one of the charities to benefit from the £70,000 raised by this partnership in 2012. In 2013/14, Kiltwalk wants to raise £200,000 for CLIC Sargent. Get involved and sign up at www.thekiltwalk.co.uk cc In February 2013, Lesley Finn’s eight-year-old daughter Megan took to the stage to thank an audience of 180 women for their support for CLIC Sargent. Megan was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer in 2007 and Lesley started a fundraising group for us at the end of 2012. The family, based in Houston near Glasgow, have raised over £40,000 for the charity since they started fundraising.

Thanks for all your support this year. Find out how you can continue to help children and young people with cancer at www.clicsargent.org.uk 2


Welcome A message from Daphne Pullen, Chair of Trustees, and Lorraine Clifton, Chief Executive Hello and welcome to your Supporter Review. The past year has been an exceptional time for CLIC Sargent. It’s all thanks to the incredible commitment of our supporters, volunteers and staff, and the bravery and resilience of the children and young people with cancer, and families, we support. This year, you’ve helped us provide emotional, practical, financial and clinical support to over 6,600 children and young people and their families. And, despite a challenging economic environment, we’re delighted to say that we’ve reached an income of £22.26 million. That’s £1 million more than last year!

We want to be there for everyone who needs us, when they need us most. That’s why we need to grow.

We want to: cc Expand our support for over 16s cc Build two new Homes from Home in Northern Ireland cc Support children and young people who have survived cancer after their treatment. We will not be able to do these things without your support.

These are both amazing achievements and we couldn’t have achieved them without you.

Every child with cancer deserves our help – we hope you’ll continue to join with us in making this happen.

But we want to do so much more.

Thanks again for all your support.

At the moment, we can only support two out of three children and young people with cancer and their families – and we’re determined to change this.

Daphne Pullen

Lorraine Clifton

3


A day in the life of Anne, CLIC Sargent Senior Holiday Coordinator Last year, our team at Malcolm Sargent House, on Scotland’s Ayrshire coast, helped 464 families take a free break from the everyday challenges of childhood cancer. Anne shares a working day in her role. “If I’m starting a morning shift, I’ll usually begin the day by helping families get to their day trips okay. These might include trips to Arran or local activities like bowling. We assist families with booking travel, and offer some financial support for it, though it would be good to offer more. Then, I spend time catching up with young people and families staying at the house. We have great links with a local hospital so young cancer patients here have access to the care they need if they need it. I also organise our bereavement breaks, which I feel privileged to do. This year we tried a bereaved mums’ break and feedback was really positive. The mums were able to share their experiences with each other, as well as special memories of their children. We’ll try a dads-only version later this year.

4

The team deal with phone calls from families looking for holidays throughout the day. The holidays mean families can take a break from day-to-day life at home and spend special time together. We prioritise according to whether the family is having treatment or not, or if they’ve already had a holiday with us. Most apply through their CLIC Sargent Social Worker. When families return from their day trips, it’s great to hear about their adventures and what the day held for them over a cup of tea and biscuits. I end my day by handing over to the next shift. This is such a rewarding, humbling job. I’ll do all I can for the families coming through these doors.” We couldn’t offer families affected by cancer free holidays without your support. Thank you.


James’ story When he was four, James was diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukaemia and he will continue treatment until 2015. CLIC Sargent Nurse Eleri supports his parents Mark and Naomi and younger brother Kyron. The family, who live in Holyhead, will soon be going on one of our caravan holidays. Naomi shares their story. “Eleri, our CLIC Sargent Nurse, has been absolutely fantastic. She understands what we’re going through.”

“We met Eleri the day we found out James had cancer. It’s down to her and James that we’ve got through this. James was oblivious to it all. He knew he was poorly but coped brilliantly.

Eleri has been absolutely fantastic. She has explained a lot of the information which can be overwhelming and she comes to the house to do James’ blood. She’s like a family member to us now. If we’ve got a problem, we can pick up the phone and she’s there for us. Eleri told us about the CLIC Sargent holidays and we will be going on a caravan break soon. It will be wonderful to spend some time together as a family. James is now in school full-time. He’s top of the class and has wowed everyone. He knows he has leukaemia, but is very independent and wants to learn. Cancer has made me realise life is too short. You have to appreciate what you’ve got and the time you have with your kids.” Thanks to you, we’re able to support James and his family. 5


How we help Facing childhood cancer can be a devastating experience for the whole family. Treatment is often gruelling, can start immediately and lasts for up to three years. It is often given many miles away from home and there can be an overwhelming amount to deal with on top of treatment – which parent should stay at the hospital, worries about work, childcare, where to stay, extra transport costs, school, and understanding medical jargon all add to the impact.

This fractured way of life can go on for months – and in many cases, years. The impact of childhood cancer may also last long after treatment ends. For many, this can mean a lifelong health condition or disabilities such as losing a limb, a learning disability, memory loss or fertility issues.

What we do At CLIC Sargent, we do all we can to help. We know that every child or young person with cancer is different. Families are different. Each cancer journey is different. We know this because we listen. And we ask the right questions to ensure we can provide the right support.

6


Thanks to your help and generosity, we provide: cc Emotional support from our care professionals to help the whole family cope with cancer and its impact on everyday life cc Information which tells families some of the ways a cancer diagnosis is likely to affect them, and who they can go to for help cc Financial support to help families deal with the financial impact of cancer cc Employment advice including help with speaking to employers about reducing working hours, working flexibly or taking unpaid leave if that’s necessary cc A telephone welfare advice service, providing information about benefits and welfare rights

cc Where available, support from our nurses, who coordinate both clinical and non-clinical care to maximise the amount of time children can safely spend at home, and ensure that treatments can be given closer to home where possible, and play specialists, who can also help children cope with treatment through play and activities. We also campaign and influence others to raise awareness of the needs of children and young people with cancer and to improve the support they and their families receive. We really can only provide these services with your help. Thank you.

cc Free accommodation at our eight Homes from Home – close to specialist hospitals so that families can be near their child during treatment cc Free holidays and specialist short breaks away from the everyday challenges of childhood cancer cc Education support to help children keep up with schoolwork during treatment 7


Our finances We’ve had an amazing year – thanks to you. We need to continue to increase our income to grow our services and meet our vision of supporting every child or young person with cancer. Our total income in 2012/2013 was £22.26 million, compared to £21.24 million in 2011/2012. That’s an increase of £1 million! £0.4m

Over £7m was raised from local community fundraising, national events, runs and challenges £2.6m was left to us through gifts in Wills We raised £2.6m by selling products in our shops, through mail order and online £3.4m came from individuals giving regular or cash donations

£2.9m £7.4m £2.9m

£3.4m £2.6m £2.6m

£2.9m was raised through our corporate partnerships £2.9m was raised through donations from trusts and foundations, special events and major gifts £0.4m was raised from our investments and other income

*Figures correct at time of going to print.

8


How we supported children, young people and their families in 2012/13 11%

Reducing the practical and financial impact of cancer treatment

36%

Supporting emotional wellbeing and resilience Maximising the time spent safely at home during treatment

33%

Enabling access to education, training and employment

20%

This includes the clinical, practical and emotional support provided by our health and social care professionals, our Homes from Home service, the holidays and short breaks and financial support we provide. It also covers the valuable information we provide on childhood cancer and its impact and our work to campaign and influence others to improve the support children and young people with cancer receive.

We provided emotional, practical, financial and clinical support to over 6,600 children and young people and their families. We couldn’t have done this without you – thank you. 9


Our key achievements in 2012/2013 Over 330 young cancer patients shared their views and stories to influence our work and help us

raise awareness of childhood cancer

Our welfare advice service dealt with

781 benefit, employment and other enquiries from parents of children with cancer and young people with cancer, helping them access an estimated

ÂŁ496,000 in benefit support

We’re reaching 15% more people than ever before with easily accessible information about the impact of a cancer diagnosis through our new website, which a

quarter of a million people have visited *Figures correct at time of going to print.

10


We helped 1,289 families stay close to their child during treatment at our

eight Homes from Home

We provided emotional and practical support to over

6,600 children and young people and their families

Our new booklet,

Making sense of it all, is helping young people dealing with a cancer diagnosis using information and tips from those who have gone through

similar experiences

We gave 5,083 grants to families accessing our services, which added up to over

ÂŁ1 million and helped pay for things like travel to

hospital appointments

Launched during December’s Childhood Cancer Awareness Month, our report,

No child with cancer left out, got politicians talking about how to improve primary school education for children with cancer 11


How you helped us last year More supporters like you The number of people who make a regular monthly gift to CLIC Sargent has grown by over 20% during the past year. That means a fantastic 25,000 people now give to us regularly, donating over £2 million a year.

TV campaign recruits more support Our first TV advert, which features children and young people with cancer who are supported by CLIC Sargent, has encouraged over 800 people to set up a regular monthly gift in the last year to support our work. Watch the advert at: www.clicsargent.org.uk/jack

12

J D Wetherspoon raises another £1 million In September 2012, J D Wetherspoon handed over another huge cheque to CLIC Sargent, highlighting their incredible on-going fundraising efforts for the charity. Since 2002, the pub chain has raised £6 million for our work, through customer and staff fundraising. They plan to raise a further £1 million a year for the next two years to support families affected by cancer.

Our amazing volunteers This year our 3,100 wonderful volunteers have done everything from staffing our shops to supporting families in their homes. They also help our office teams and organise fundraising events. Thank you to everyone who volunteers their time for us.


Supporters get a wig on for Wig Wednesday On 22 May 2013, thousands of supporters took part in our exciting new event, Wig Wednesday. By getting a wig on for the day with friends, colleagues and classmates, over £113,000 was raised to help fund our services and the day also featured on ITV’s This Morning. Next year we hope even more people will join the wig fun, so get 21 May 2014 in your diary now.

Jean’s long running support Our wonderful fundraiser and runner Jean Meredith was awarded the prestigious British Empire medal in the Queen’s New Year honours list for 30 years of support for charities. Jean and her husband Roy started supporting CLIC Sargent when their grandson was diagnosed with leukaemia at 16 in 2008. They’ve raised over £80,000 for various charities, including CLIC Sargent, and have completed an impressive 28 marathons.

Practice-a-thon reaches £1 million milestone Young people and schools around the UK have helped our music, singing and dance event Practice-a-thon reach a fantastic milestone. It raised £90,000 this year, surpassing £1 million since its launch in 2002. Thanks to everyone who put on a music event for CLIC Sargent.

13


Gifts in Wills – our inspiration Jonathan Plumtree, Vice Chair of our Board of Trustees, shares his reason for supporting CLIC Sargent. “On 12 March 1999 I raced home from work following a worried call from my wife Nicola. We went to Southampton General Hospital where my 15-month-old son Samuel was diagnosed with a rare form of leukaemia. We knew from the outset that the prognosis was very poor. CLIC Sargent was there for us from the start, and we stayed that very night at their Home from Home near the hospital, which is visible from the children’s ward. Samuel’s treatment included two bone marrow transplants, meaning many months away from home. CLIC Sargent helped by providing a place for us in their Home from Home so we could continue staying near Samuel, play specialists to help him understand and cope with his treatment, and nurses who gave some treatments at our home, when he was able to leave the hospital. Once we knew Samuel’s second bone marrow transplant had 14

not worked, we brought him home for the last time. A CLIC Sargent Nurse supported us through those last difficult days of Samuel’s life. We are fortunate to have two beautiful, healthy daughters and have found comfort following Samuel’s death in getting involved with CLIC Sargent, initially through local fundraising events. I became a Trustee for the charity in 2004, and Vice Chair in 2012. We had no hesitation about including a legacy to CLIC Sargent when we wrote our Wills. As a Trustee, I know that legacies like ours generate funds for the future. They help the charity move closer to its vision of a world where all children and young people with cancer live life to the full.” Please call 0845 125 2625 to request a free booklet about leaving a gift in your Will to support families affected by cancer.


Cassey’s story “When they said it was a ‘large tumour’, I realised how bad it was,” says mum of three, Janet. Janet’s daughter Cassey was 15 months old when she was diagnosed with the rare cancer neuroblastoma. Janet and her partner Ricardo were told that their daughter’s chances “At CLIC Haven you can have of surviving were 50 per cent.

a little break and some time to yourself. It’s wonderful, you feel you are at home, but the hospital is very accessible.”

The Guernsey-based family, which includes brothers Kemtjude, 12, and Clifford, who is eight, had to temporarily move Janet, mum of two-year-old Cassey to Southampton for Cassey’s treatment. Their CLIC Sargent Social Worker Tricia provided them with information about cancer as well as emotional support. She also suggested that they stay at CLIC Haven, CLIC Sargent’s Home from Home in Southampton. While Janet was with Cassey in hospital, Ricardo stayed in CLIC Haven with the two boys. “It was just such a relief,” said Janet. “At CLIC Haven you can have a little break and some time to yourself. You feel you are at home, but the hospital is very accessible. The staff are accommodating, and it is really clean. “All the support we have had from CLIC Sargent has been very helpful to us,” says Janet. “I do not know what we would have done without them.”

Your support has helped Cassey’s whole family deal with the life-changing impact of cancer. Find out more about how you can help families like hers on page 22.

15


New developments Two new Homes from Home for Northern Ireland

Providing more information online to support families

It’s an ambitious aim and, one year after we set it, with your help we’re almost half way to opening two Homes from Home in Belfast.

Since September 2012, over a quarter of a million people have visited the revamped CLIC Sargent website – that’s 15% more people accessing our information than on our previous website. They’re also buying more from our online shop which is helping to fund our work with families affected by cancer.

So far, our Northern Ireland appeal has raised £1.8 million of the £3.7 million we want to reach by 2014. If we acheive this target, we will be able to open and run two homes for children and young people with cancer and their families close to the main hospitals in Belfast.

Other new features include: cc Instant sign-up for CLIC Sargent events

This year, we bought two properties cc Interactive maps and event and in the next 12 months, with your listings, helping you find out support, we’ll open a children’s Home what’s happening locally from Home and start developing cc More practical information for a young people’s one. young people with cancer, and their parents, including how to Thanks to everyone who has manage work and education. supported the project so far – we couldn’t have got to where Visit our online shop to buy we are now without you. everything from key rings to Find out more about how you can support the Northern Ireland Homes from Home appeal at www.clicsargent.org.uk/niappeal

16

calendars and help fund our work at shop.clicsargent.org.uk


Anas’ story When Anas was four years old, he was diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukaemia. Now nine, he completed his treatment three years ago and is doing well. Anas lives with his mum Khadija, dad Adel, brother Momo and sister Lara in Dundee. Here, Khadija shares how CLIC Sargent supported her family during and after Anas’ treatment. “We’ve always been close as a family and suddenly, when Anas was ill, I couldn’t spend as much time as I wanted with my other two children. We went to Malcolm Sargent House in Prestwick four times, “Going to Malcolm Sargent which was just so lovely. House, you don’t need to worry, When your child is going because you know that all the through treatment, you are support is there.” Khadija, Anas’ mother worried about being too far from your treatment centre, in case they pick up an infection. But going to Malcolm Sargent House, you don’t need to worry, because you know that all the support is there. They have everything a child likes to do: toys, activities, a play area, a huge garden, and the beach at the back is just beautiful. Even now, if you ask Anas where he wants to go on holiday, he’ll say Prestwick. It’s very peaceful and relaxing. When he finished his treatment, a new Anas came to life. He’s a very lively boy now, thanks to everybody who supported us.”

Thanks so much for helping families like Anas’ take a free break from the everyday challenges of childhood cancer. Find out what else you can do to support children with cancer on page 22. 17


Get set...

GO!

Whether you run a 10k or marathon, climb a mountain, swim a lake, skydive or cycle for CLIC Sargent, you’ll be helping children and young people with cancer. Join us:

Call

0845 602 4770

Email challenges@clicsargent.org.uk or run@clicsargent.org.uk Visit www.clicsargent.org.uk/events /CLICSargentChallenges /CLICSargentRunning

www.clicsargent.org.uk Registered charity number 1107328 and registered in Scotland (SC039857)


Honour’s story Honour was diagnosed with a rare ovarian childhood cancer when she was 12 years old. She’s now 14, has been clear of cancer for over a year and lives with her mum, Rachel, and two younger brothers, Elliott and Abraham, in Millisle, Northern Ireland. Rachel shares her daughter’s story. “The news that Honour had cancer floored our family. Elliott was so scared he had nightmares and Abraham didn’t want to go to school. It was all I thought about, morning, noon and night. But Honour took it in her stride – she has dealt with it all so well. Our first contact with CLIC Sargent was through our social worker Bridget. She explained everything and pointed us in the direction of the help that we could get. She helped us get a financial grant from the charity. It paid for things like getting taxis to the hospital in Belfast, which cost up to £60 a day. There is still a dark cloud. But we try to stay positive. It’s good to know that CLIC Sargent is there and that we have options for help.”

Thanks to everyone who has supported our Northern Ireland Homes from Home appeal so far. Visit www.clicsargent.org.uk/niappeal to find out how you can help families like Honour’s stay together during treatment.

19


Making children and young people’s voices heard No child with cancer left out By sharing our report No child with cancer left out online and at events, you’ve helped raise awareness of why children with cancer need better support in schools. We’ve also got politicians talking about it.

We received lots of local and national media coverage and Labour MP Mark Tami called a debate in the House of Commons. He urged the government to act on our key recommendations.

This includes the need for better emotional support for children with Lots of you supported and promoted cancer in schools, something which was backed by Education Minister the report about primary school Elizabeth Truss MP. She said children education, which was developed with cancer deserve as good an with the help of 60 children who education as any other young person. shared their personal experiences, through social media and at Creating change fundraising events. After the report was published, This helped the report make an we met with the Department impact when it was published in for Education to help shape new December 2012, during Childhood guidance for local authorities on Cancer Awareness Month. meeting the educational needs of children with health issues. We also worked with politicians to develop a more co-ordinated approach to alternative education which will benefit young cancer patients.

20


What we’re doing next We’ll continue to campaign on education to make sure children and young people with cancer get the support they need at school Key findings from and will continue to seek the views No child with cancer left out of young cancer patients, where We spoke to around 300 parents and possible, as part of this work. We’ll: children across the UK to identify cc Publish another report challenges in helping children keep to show what challenges up with their education when they teenagers with cancer have cancer, and re-integrate into face at secondary school school life when they return. cc Research what impact cancer cc Many children feel left out has on young people’s education, when they go back to employment, training and skills. primary school after they Around the UK have treatment for cancer cc Wales – We’ve started work to cc More than one in three parents influence the Welsh government’s said their child had been bullied or proposal for the reform of special teased because of the effects of educational needs (SEN) treatment, such as losing their hair cc Scotland – A total of 24 MSPs cc Over a third thought their child backed a motion supporting the did not receive the extra help they recommendations in our No child needed to keep up with school with cancer left out report after their diagnosis and treatment. cc Northern Ireland – We’re involved in partnerships to influence new SEN legislation and to get the voice of young people with cancer heard. 21


Please continue your support for CLIC Sargent Make a donation We rely on your donations to fund our vital work supporting children and young people with cancer, and their families. From one-off donations to regular gifts, and organising fundraising events to gifts in Wills, every donation makes a difference.

Sign up for a run or challenge Whether you decide to run a 10k or marathon, climb a mountain, swim a lake, skydive or cycle for CLIC Sargent, you’ll be helping children and young people with cancer.

Volunteer Offer your time and skills, and learn something new by volunteering for us. We have a wide choice of opportunities, from helping in our shops, offices and Homes from Home, to promoting our work and fundraising in your local community. To find out more about how you can get involved with any of the above, please visit our website www.clicsargent.org.uk

22

Shop online In July 2012, we re-launched our online shop with a fantastic new look. To thank all our supporters and celebrate the first year of the new shop, we are giving 10% off purchases with the discount code SR13.

Use your mobile and raise money for children with cancer You could help us extend our support for children with cancer simply by talking on the phone, thanks to our partnership with Donate Mobile. If you switch providers to Donate Mobile, we receive 10% of whatever you spend, at no extra cost to you.

Get your wig on next May! Don’t forget to put 21 May 2014 in your diary, and join us for Wig Wednesday 2014.


Why we support CLIC Sargent Geraldine is part of the Ralston family from Airdrie, who coordinate a fundraising committee for CLIC Sargent: “We support CLIC Sargent because we like to help families who, like us, receive an awful cancer diagnosis. The whole family benefit from the help CLIC Sargent provides. It impacts everyone and the help received gets everyone through the journey together.” Billy, affectionately known as “Oor Billy”, is a volunteer and fundraiser based at Malcolm Sargent House:

Ina is the general manager of Ramada Encore, a hotel in Inverness: “We are very proud to be supporting CLIC Sargent by taking part in Wig Wednesday. It is a fantastic idea because it is so easy for everyone to get involved and raise some money for an excellent cause. I want to raise as much money as possible to help CLIC Sargent to keep doing the amazing work they do.”

“After I lost my wife to cancer I decided to devote all my spare time to helping out at Malcolm Sargent House which is an amazing holiday home for children and their families on the beautiful Ayrshire coast. At the age of 71, I recently completed a sponsored skydive for the charity – which I would recommend to anyone!”

Want to do something to help children and young people with cancer? To find out more visit www.clicsargent.org.uk 23


Whether you’ve donated, taken part in an event, volunteered or decided to include a gift to CLIC Sargent in your Will, you have helped us achieve so much this year – and we can’t thank you enough. You are helping to support thousands of children and young people like James, Cassey, Anas and Honour. Without your help, we can’t be there for them and their families. Whatever you choose to do to support CLIC Sargent, please continue. You help us make a difference to families affected by cancer every day. Thank you.

B 13AC177a

www.clicsargent.org.uk Registered charity number 1107328 and registered in Scotland (SC039857)


CLIC Sargent Supporter Review 2013 Scotland  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you