Issuu on Google+

North Coast Journal CALIFORNIA LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS ASSOCIATION OCTOBER DINNER MEETING

LIGHTING DEMONSTRATION Jeff Calhoun from FX Luminaire will be illuminating us with an outdoor lighting demonstration at the John Deere office grounds in Petaluma. Come and enjoy the magic of the night!!!!!

Where: Redwood Business Park 1425

No McDowell Petaluma Ste# 125 (across from Applebee’s)

When: Tuesday October 25th 6:30 PM $15 per person – includes a Johnny Garlic’s catered dinner

RSVP is required…See flier inside SAVE THE DATE - Saturday December 3rd Doubletree Hotel in Rohnert Park

a return to the

Old Fashioned Holiday Party

DINNER, DANCING and a reason to get dressed up!!!

th

North Coast Chapter Events

November 9 – Masters Golf Tournament @ Foxtail Golf Course in Rohnert Park November 15th - New Member & Student Dinner – Location to be announced December 3rd - Holiday Party and Board of Director Induction @ Doubletree Hotel in Rohnert Park CLCA North Coast Chapter

www.clcanorthcoastchapter.org

OCTOBER 2011


PRESORTED STANDARD MAIL U.S. POSTAGE PAID PERMIT #105 PETALUMA, CA

CLCA North Coast Chapter P.O. Box 1621 Sebastopol, CA 95473

RESPECT THE EARTH…

RECYCLE

OCTOBER 2011 In this Issue Page 4.…………GSky Teams with Natural Resource Defense Council Page 5-6……….Masters Golf News and Application Page 11…………Landscape Industry Show Page 15…………Nursery Associations want H2B Rules Rescinded Page 16…………Winery Wastewater Becomes Fruit of Their Labor Page 18…………CLCA Endorses Grass-Cycling Concept Page 20…………Fun Finds – Products & Such “This Publication is Printed on Recycled Paper” North Coast Chapter of the California Landscape Contractors Association


Page 2


Page 3 North Coast Chapter Board Members

Immediate – Past President Charlie Thompson Cagwin & Dorward (415) 892-7710 Charlie.Thompson@cagwin.com President Charlie Thompson Cagwin & Dorward (415) 892-7710 Charlie.Thompson@cagwin.com Secretary Lyndsey Kornmaier Coast Landscape Mgmt. (707) 332-8999 lyndsey@coastlm.com Treasurer Lisa Stratton Cagwin & Dorward (415) 798-1753 lisa.stratton@cagwin.com Web Guru & Golf Guy Michael O’Connell O’Connell Landscape (707) 462-9729 ocl@oclandscape.com

Associate Member Chair Kevin Kohl Ewing Irrigation (415) 457-9530 kkohl@ewing1.com Membership Co-Chairs Jeff Hausman Gardenworks, Inc. (707) 974-5799 jeff@gardenworksinc.com CLT State Committee Liaison Dave Iribarne City of Petaluma (707) 778-4591 diribarne@ci.petaluma.ca.us Programs Chair Ben Kopshever Sonoma Mountain Landscape (707) 695-2429 sonoma_mountain3@msn.com Legislative Chair Kjell Kallman Grab n’ Grow (707) 333-7694 kjell@soilandrocks.com

Education Chair Salvador Ledezma Jr. Gardenworks, Inc (707) 974-5800 slj@gardenworks-inc.com Chapter General Board Members Jeff Jones John Deere Landscapes (925) 595-6115 jjones@johndeerelandscapes.com Luis Lua Cagwin & Dorward (415) 720-6624 lelua99@yahoo.com Will Jenkel Lampson Tractor (707) 206-2294 wjenkel@lampsontractor.com Owen Mitchell Mitchell Landscapes (415) 717-6214 mitchland@att.net Tyler Doherty Cal West Rentals (707) 694-9108 tyler@calwestrentals.com

Awards Chair Brigid Flagerman Bertotti Landscaping (415) 720-0065 brigidf@bertotti.com

North Coast CLCA Executive Director & Journal Editor

Connie Salinas P.O. Box 1621 Sebastopol, CA 95473 Phone 707-829-5487 Fax 707-829-5487 heyconniesalinas@hotmail.com

CLCA 2010 State Officers PRESIDENT Robert Wade, CLP,CLIA Wade Landscape Phone: (949) 494-2130 WLI2006@gmail.com PRESIDENT-ELECT Eric Watanabe Majestic Pools & Landscape (818) 831-1390 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Sharon McGuire Phone: (800) 448-2522, ext. 13 FAX: (916) 446-7692 sharonmcguire@clca.org


Page 4


Page 5


Page 6


Page 7


Page 8

The North Coast Chapter’s 2011 partners We would like to thank and acknowledge the following for signing on with our new Sponsorship Program thus far!!! DIAMOND PARTNERS Hunter/FX Luminaire Wyatt Irrigation Horizon PLATINUM PARTNERS John Deere Landscapes Ewing Irrigation GOLD PARTNERS LCIS CONTRACTOR PARTNERS Cagwin & Dorward (2) Gardenworks Inc.

The North Coast Chapter would like to thank all the above companies who have become “Sponsor Partners” in this, our first year offering the program.


Page 9


Page 10


Page 11


Page 12


Page 13


Page 14


Page 15


Page 16


Page 17


Page 18


Page 19

HAVE A GREAT 4TH OF JULY


Page 20


Page 21

Russ Clarke Sales Representative


Page 22

3500 PETALUMA HILL ROAD SANTA ROSA, CA 95404 (707) 543-8400 www.wzsupply.com


Page 23


North Coast Journal October 2011