Issuu on Google+

Fri 14th Feb

Homework We are delighted that the latest round of assessments show that most students are making good progress across the Academy. We are having a drive on making sure homework is set and trying to ensure students write their homework in their planners and complete this. Please support us in this drive. If students are unable to access online resources at home that they need to complete homework or need a quiet place to work then the LRC is open from 7.45am- 8.30am, 12.50pm -1.30pm and 3.40 – 4.30pm. Computers need to be booked if students wish to use these. The Sixth Form area will be available during half term, except on Fri 21st Feb, if any Year 11 students wish to use this for a quiet place to study. If you feel your child is not getting enough homework then please contact their Head of School: Creativity – Mr Cook, Discovery – Mr Mullis, Leadership – Mrs Edwards, Values – Mr Bugg, Year 7 – Mr Wells. Curriculum We are in the final stages of producing the new curriculum which is heavily shaped by government guidelines. We will be holding a parents meeting during the next half term to explain how this will work and the impact this will have on your child. Mr Dolding will confirm arrangements for the meeting in the near future. Year 8 Parents Evening & Options Evening Due to the planned changes within the curriculum the date of the options evening was postponed so a new date for this will be communicated shortly. We will also be holding a Year 8 parents evening and the date of this will also be communicated after half term Fundraising You may have seen the recent press coverage of student Amber Reeve who used her initiative to raise awareness and money for Macmillan Cancer Support by having her head shaved to celebrate her 16th birthday. Amber has already raised over £500 with donations still coming in. Well done Amber, this is a great achivement. Safer Schools Update With the increased use of the internet amongst young people and some of the issues this may bring I would like to ask if you would be interested in a parental input on internet safety. If you are interested please email office@cityacademynorwich.org and if enough people would like this I can run a session. PC Howard

The Guardian School We'd Like competition Mr Thompson and the students who took part in the Guardian ‘School We'd Like’ competition at the London and South East regional final on Thursday 30th January at The Museum of London have been notified that they are one of three schools through to the final which takes place in March. This is a schools competition to encourage students and teachers to work together to develop an idea that would improve school life for the wider school community. Winners will receive £5,000 to make their idea happen. We wish them luck and will keep you informed of the outcome.

 


Fri 14th Feb

                        

What’s On? Mon 24th Feb – First day back at school Tues 25th Feb & Weds 26th Feb, Investigating Coastal Management, Happisburgh and Overstrand Tues 25th Feb – Alternative Curriculum, UEA Walk Tues 25th Feb – UEA Boys in Sport visit Thurs 27th Feb – STEM Camouflaged Learning Event Fri 28th Feb – Science Museum / Old Operating Theatre, London Fri 28th Feb – Author Talk by Debbie McCume, CAN Mon 3rd March – Hayley Long Author visit, CAN Tues 4th March – Schoolastic Book Fair, CAN Tues 4th March & Weds 5th March – Year 9 & Year 10 Parents Evenings, 4.30pm – 6.30pm Thurs 6th March – World Book Day Mon 10th March – Year 9 G&T day, UEA Tues 11th March GCSE Leisure & Tourism Visit, London Tues 11th March – Norfolk School Games, Swimming Thurs 13th March – Norfolk School Games, Athletics Sat 22nd March – Spring Family Fun Day Mon 24th March – Year 8 HPV Vaccinations Thurs 27th March – A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Theatre Royal Fri 28th March – Live Music / CD launch, CAN Sat 29th & Sun 30th March – Duke of Edinburgh Bronze Practice Expedition Tues 1st April – Alternative Curriculum Orienteering, Holt Weds 2nd April – Year 7 Parents Evening, 4.30pm – 6.30pm Fri 4th April – The Big Freeze Sleepover Mon 7th April – Mon 21st April – Easter Holidays Tues 22nd April – Back to School

 

Exams Tues 25th Feb – French Controlled Assessments Tues 4th and Thurs 6th March – Btec Science Exam

If you have any major concerns please do not hesitate to contact me. Please also remember to use your child’s Head of School for any issues or concerns. Many thanks David Brunton Principal principal@cityacademynorwich.org

 


Newsletter 14 feb 14