Page 8



8th-graders examine careers Eighth grade students from all three of Oak Hills’ middle schools visited Bridgetown Middle School to talk with local business people and learn about a variety of careers. The day left a lasting impression on the students. They have been given the opportunity to learn about the many options available to them after graduation. A career fair such as this one makes it possible for the students to have one-onone time with experts in the profession of their choice. With a number of business and industries represented, students had the chance to explore many options and ask questions of the exhibitors. When asked what she had learned at the career fair, Holly Reuss said, “I learned that no matter what your job is, you are always important in society and you should just do the best job you can do.” Emily Metz, a language arts teacher at Bridgetown Middle School, coordinated this year’s event. “We want to thank the many parents, business partners, alumni, board members and community members who came out to represent their career and interact with our students,” she said. “This experience really opens their eyes to the variety of possibilities that their future holds.” Special thanks to all of the professionals who came out to encourage the students to follow their dreams and keep an open mind to all the opportuni-

SCHOOL NOTES C.O. Harrison Elementary School

Chasity Reule talks with school board member and Jan Hunter at the eight-grade career fair. PROVIDED

Shane Knauber and Tanner Garrison at the career fair. PROVIDED

Eight-graders Haley Scott, from left, Carlie Hulette, Kayla King and Gabi Lepof at the career fair. POVIDED

ties available to them. » Tony Metz – GE Aviation » Dave Berger – GE » Ruth Ann Henderson – Cincinnati Metro Housing Authority » Emily Beinkemper – Serenity Salon » Cheryl Selby – Green Township Library » Mike Scherer – Green Township Fire Department » Diana Cron – Glenway Animal Hospital » Doug Neal – Great

American Opportunities » Anne Gray – Rumpke » Abbie Roedersheimer – College of Mt. St. Joseph » Rick Ahlers – Cheviot Savings Bank » Chris Murphy – Northern Kentucky University Theater Department » Peggy Frey – Sibcy Cline » McDuffie Strickland – Cincinnati Martial Arts Academy » Sandy Brannon – Cin-

cinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center (Clinical Laboratory-Hematology Department) » Brent MacDonald – Xavier University » Nick Accurso – Anonymous Skate Shop » Scott Celender – Green Township Police Department » Bob Hyland – Buechner, Haffer, Meyers, Koenig Co., LPA, » Debby Simms – retired Oak Hills teacher » Grechen Aichele – Meadows HCC Inc. » Steve Bernosky – Teva Pharmaceuticals » Holly Halpin – Oak Hills School psychologist » Laura Domet – Diamond Oaks » Gilbert Salem – United States Secret Service » » George Brunemann – engineering consultant firm NgEK Inc. » Bernie Bouchard – Hamilton County judge

Forty fifth-grade students have earned the Presidential Academic Fitness Award, the highest academic honor attainable by an elementary student. To qualify, a student must have attained an A- average in fourth and fifth grades and passed all parts of the fourthgrade Ohio Achievement Test. They received a certificate signed by President Barack Obama and a pin at the Fifth-Grade Recognition Ceremony. Recignized were Caleb Abel, Gabe Amason, Grace Armentrout, Darrien Bockting, William Butler, Andy Casias, Paula Connelly, Michael Connolly, Ella Dastillung, Jack Dastillung, Kelen Dietrich, Caroline Eichhorn, Alexander Engel, Zack Gault, Shea Gilkey, Taylor Glover, Colin Goodman, Natalie Gunther, Josh Hetzel, Lexi Hetzel, Mya Karle, Olivia Lang, Lily Lang, Kalianne Lloyd, Ashley Longbottom, Natalia Lui, Katie Nerlinger, Brianna O'Brien, David Partin, Connor Quesnell, Layne Rippy, Camryn Schablein, Julian Schmackers, Dalal Shalash, Dylan Smith, Emily Tirey, Logan Vickrey, Madison Watson, Jack Wigginton and Stephen Wubbolding.

St. Dominic School

In addition to numerous awards and scholarships from area Catho-

lic high schools, the class of 2013 received several scholarships and awards from the St. Dominic PTO, St. Dominic Athletic Association and the Smith family. Jacob Wells received the William Elsaesser Award, which is based on written recommendations by adults who are aware of the student’s constant service, not only to school, but also to the greater community. The following students were awarded the Michael J. Pohlkamp Memorial Scholarship for exceptional effort in academics and athletics, based on recommendations from coaches and teachers: Peyton McCarthy, Renee Rodgers, Dane Vatter and Jacob Wells. Gage Hammann and Jillian Kloepfer were awarded Jack & Dorothy Smith Scholarships for their commitment to education, honor, humility, humor, spirituality and integrity. The Father Stockelman/Sister Mary Ruth Scholarships are based on overall highest grade-point averages of the class of 2013. The recipients were Hannah Doll, first, and in a three-way tie for second: Jillian Kloepfer, Dane Vatter and Andrew White. The St. Dominic class of 2013 gathered a total of over $105,450 in scholarships and awards.


Ice Box Dairy Bar Balloon Artist on Saturday and Sunday from 4-8 and FREE Bounce House for children under 12 Great food and fun for everyone!

• and mor hot ot ddo dogs • fries • onion rings • nachos • chicken fingers g more! or

Ice Box Dairy Bar

50¢ off

Ice Box Dairy Bar SENIORS




Hours M-F 10am-10:30pm and Sat-Sun 10am-11pm State Route 128 and US 50 Behind Kroger


Delhi press 062613  
Delhi press 062613