Page 2

A2

Alexandria Recorder

News

August 26, 2010

Democrats to open headquarters By Amanda Joering Alley ajoering@nky.com Those

interested

Your Community Recorder newspaper serving the communities of southern Campbell County

in

learning more about the Democratic candidates in this year’s election will soon have a place to turn.

RECORDER

Find news and information from your community on the Web Alexandria – nky.com/alexandria Campbell County – nky.com/campbellcounty News Michelle Shaw | Editor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 578-1053 | mshaw@nky.com Chris Mayhew | Reporter . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 578-1051 | cmayhew@nky.com Melanie Laughman | Sports Editor . . . . . . . 513-248-7573 | mlaughman@nky.com James Weber | Sports Reporter. . . . . . . . . . 578-1054 | jweber@nky.com Advertising Debbie Maggard | Advertising Manager . . . 578-5501 | dmaggard@nky.com Michelle Schlosser | Account Rep . . . . . . . 578-5521 | mschlosser@nky.com Delivery For customer service . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 781-4421 Sharon Schachleiter | Circulation Manager. . 442-3464 | sschachleiter@nky.com Alison Hummel | District Manager. . . . . . . . 442-3460 | anhummel@nky.com Classified To place a Classified ad. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 283-7290 | www.communityclassified.com

The Campbell County Democratic Party is opening a headquarters at 644 Monmouth Street in Newport. The building, donated to the party, will open in the next couple weeks and stay open through the November elections. “We thought having this physical presence was really important,” said Sue Orth, the party chair. “This is an important election season, and we want people to have a place they can come to get literature and ask questions.” AMANDA JOERING ALLEY/STAFF

The Campbell County Democratic Party will soon open their headquarters at 644 Monmouth St. Orth said she also hopes to hold some candidate nights, where constituents can come meet those people running for office. Donna Hoffman, a candidate for magistrate in District 2, is one of many people who are helping get the headquarters up and running, because she said she

Meadowland Chiropractic pain relief & wellness center • • • • • •

New Yoga Classes Starting in June

859.635.6800

300 washington street | suite 4 | alexandria, ky. www.meadowlandchiropractic.com

CE-0000394669

Index

CE-0000414662

Massage Therapy - Now Available on Mondays!

Julie Flora, D.C.

sees the importance. “Having this visual presence is extremely important for our party and the candidates,” Hoffman said. “I always have people ask me where they can get candidate signs, and now they can come here to do that.” Orth said the headquarters has been on her agenda

Calendar ......................................B2 Classifieds.....................................C Life...............................................B1 Police reports..............................B8

Schools........................................A5 Sports ..........................................A8 Viewpoints ................................A10

for years, and she sees it as another way to help get candidates elected. “Campbell County is really one of the strongest Democratic holds left in the area,” Orth said. “We want people to know we’re still here and we’re not going anywhere.” For more information about the location and when it will be open, visit www.thecampbelldems.com or search for The Campbell County Democratic Party on Facebook.com.

PENDLETON

COUNTRY CLUB Voted one of the best golf courses in Northern Ky. A limited number of memberships are available. Pendleton is a private club with public course prices.

15 minutes South of Alexandria on US 27

Driving ra nge & Pra ctice gree Free with n Members hip

Men’s and Women’s golf league Social events throughout the year Beautiful club house

Discount Memberships Available For more information call: 859-472-2150 www.pendletonky.com

Fall Special Golf & Cart $24.00

Monday-Thursday • Please call ahead for tee time. CE-0000416750

alexandria-recorder-082610  

A PRECISION TUNE-UP BEST FRIENDS FOREVER B1 B E C A U S E C O M M U N I T Y M AT T E R S 5 0 ¢Thursday,August26,2010 Your Community Recorder...