Spirit of Giving Newsletter Winter 2020

Page 1


Spirit of Giving The CHRISTUS Spohn Health System Foundation Newsletter

Our PATH Forward Capital Campaign Chairs and Cabinet Members celebrate completion of campaign with a special cake cutting during Annual Donor Recognition event at the Corpus Christi Yacht Club on February 4th.

CHRISTUS Spohn Foundation Honors Major Donors at Annual Donor Recognition Event The CHRISTUS Spohn Health System Foundation’s Annual Donor Recognition reception, held on Tuesday, February 4th at the Corpus Christi Yacht Club, brought together major donors, friends and CHRISTUS Spohn Associates who have given and raised funds toward Our PATH Forward Capital Campaign as well as funds used to purchase new state-ofthe-art equipment for various departments at CHRISTUS Spohn. During the event, Karen Bonner, Vice President for Philanthropy, honored the Our PATH Forward Capital Campaign Chairs and Cabinet Members for their incredible financial support, guidance and leadership in successfully completing our campaign. American Electric Power Foundation and AEP Texas were honored as the 2019 Outstanding Corporate Donor for their 30 years of support of CHRISTUS Spohn Foundation’s events and Our PATH Forward. The 2019 Outstanding Family Foundation was awarded to the Diana and Harry W. Hamilton Foundation for their 30 years of financial support and volunteer service on the Foundation Board. Dr. John Hornung was honored as the newest member of the Dr. Arthur E. Spohn Society, which Winter 2020

recognizes the foresight and generosity of those who include CHRISTUS Spohn Foundation in their estate plans through bequests, life insurance, charitable gift annuities, and other life income plans. For more information on making a gift to CHRISTUS Spohn and how to become a member of the Dr. Arthur E. Spohn Society, please visit www.christusspohnfoundation.org.


CHRISTUS Spohn Foundation Honors Major Donors at Annual Donor Recognition Event


Spirit of Giving

Stephen “Tio” Kleberg, Charlie Duke, and South Texan of the Year, Red Steagall, pose for a quick photo during South Texas Charity Weekend auction.

South Texas Charity Weekend Provides Spohn Kleberg with Exceptional Support The South Texas Charity Weekend (STCW) event returned to Kingsville on January 24 and 25, 2020 where hundreds of participants enjoyed shooting opportunities including a released bird hunt and shooting clinic, plus a market, dinner, a live and silent auction, and a brunch. Each year, the South Texas Charity Weekend Chairs and Committee recognize an outstanding individual or couple who have made a significant impact on South Texas and who have been intimately involved in the event over the years. That individual or couple is named the South Texan(s) of the Year. This year, Red Steagall was honored as South Texan of Year for his commitment to the preservation of our agricultural community and recognition of his love for the land, America, individual

freedom, and private property. To date, STCW has provided gifts totaling more than $7 million to CHRISTUS Spohn Hospital Kleberg that have helped the hospital provide highquality health care for the Kingsville community and surrounding counties. This year, proceeds from the event are going toward the Spohn Kleberg Renovations Project that includes the purchase of a new MRI and renovations of the first floor medical and surgical inpatient unit.

Beeville Ladies Night Out Proceeds to Benefit CHRISTUS Spohn Beeville Endoscopy Suite CHRISTUS Spohn Hospital Beeville welcomed new general surgeon, Dr. James W. Schlotter, to the team late last fall. Dr. Schlotter is a committed and passionate surgeon who brings years of surgical experience utilizing ultrasound and scanners to Beeville and who shares CHRISTUS Spohn’s commitment to excellent compassionate care. Thanks to the arrival of Dr. Schlotter in Beeville, the number of surgery cases has increased dramatically especially endoscopy and colonoscopy cases. Proceeds from this year’s Beeville Ladies Night Out annual fundraising event, “Mardi Gras,” will go toward refurbishing the Endoscopy Suite at Spohn Beeville, which includes purchasing more equipment to meet the increasing demand of endoscopy and colonoscopy cases. As in previous years, attendees will enjoy great food, drinks and music, a fabulous silent auction, unique shopping, and more at the Bee County Expo Center, 214 S FM 351 in Beeville, Texas. The evening Winter 2020

begins at 5:30 p.m. with a VIP reception for shopping and a social hour. Doors open for general admission at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, February 25. Tickets may be purchased by phone at 361-881-3611, online at christusspohnfoundation.org/blno, at the Wicker Basket in Beeville, and the CHRISTUS Spohn Hospital Beeville Gift Shop. For more information, please contact Patricia Cano at 361881-3611 or email patricia.cano@christushealth.org.


600 Elizabeth Street Corpus Christi, TX 78404

Non-Profit Org. U.S. Postage PAID Permit No. 880 Corpus Christi, TX

FOUNDATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS Bill Colston, Jr., Chair Gregg Robertson, Chair-Elect Richard P. Thomas, Treasurer Allison Webster, Secretary Robert T. Cuevas, At-Large Matt N. Adler Rajan Ahuja Jordan Anderson Mary Jane Carlisle Regina Garcia Janet Herbst, BSN, RN John P. Jackson Linda Jordan Richard Leshin Judy K. Long Trey McCampbell Carol McLaughlin Jessica A. Morrill Rick Rogers Phyllis R. Roseman Gregg Silverman, M.D., F.A.C.C Felix Tapp Blaire B. Turnbull Hector Villarreal Kathleen White Brad Womack Ex-Officio Osbert Blow, MD, PhD, FACS, President & Chief Medical Officer CHRISTUS Spohn Health System Karen Bonner, VP for Philanthropy

FOUNDATION EMERITUS MEMBERS Frank Armstrong Bettye Baria* Nancy L. Beauchamp Osbert Blow, MD, PhD, FACS Tom Carlisle Fielding B. Cochran* Elinor Donnell* Bruce Hawn Frank P. Horlock, Jr.* Richard King III * Joe Lewis, M.D. Lou Adele May Maureen Miller Elizabeth Nisbet* Daniel A. Pedrotti Phillip M. Plant Rabbi Kenneth D. Roseman Alice Sallee Alan J. Stoner Chela Storm Kirkby Townsend Karen Urban *Deceased


Spirit of Giving