Page 1

Heriot-Watt University - Scottish Borders Campus, School of Textiles and Design, High Mill Academic Buildings C ALENDAR FOR Academic Year 2013 – 2014 2013

SEMESTER 1

12 August – 8 September

On-line Registration for continuing students with ‘proceed’ decisions.

w/c 9 September

FRESHERS/INDUCTION WEEK

Wednesday 11 September

On-line Registration for undergraduate students and taught postgraduate students

Monday 16 September

SEMESTER 1 COMMENCES FOR ALL UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS

Thursday 19 September Monday 7 October

SEMESTER 1 COMMENCES FOR ALL TAUGHT POSTGRADUATE STUDENTS Local Holiday (Academic Buildings Closed) *subject to approval

Friday 6 December

TEACHING ENDS

Monday 9 December – Friday 20

ASSESSMENT SUBMISSIONS

Monday 9 December – Friday 20 December Friday 20 December

Examinations commence

Wednesday 25 December 2013– Thursday 2 January 2014 inclusive

Academic Buildings Closed (Open again on Friday 3 January 2014)

2014

SEMESTER 1 ENDS

SEMESTER 2

Monday 13 January

SEMESTER 2 COMMENCES

Thursday 30 January

Assessment Board

Thursday 4 April

Teaching ends

Friday 18 April

Good Friday Holiday (Academic Buildings Closed)

Monday 21 April

Easter Monday (Academic Buildings Closed)

7 April – 25 April

STUDENT EASTER VACATION

Monday 5 May

Examinations: w/c 28 April Year 4 only, w/c 5 May Year 3 only, w/c 12 May Years 1 & 2 only May Day Holiday (Academic Buildings Closed)*

Friday 23 May

SEMESTER 2 ENDS

Thursday 29 May

Years 3 & 4 Examination Board (external examiners visiting on 28 & 29 May)

Saturday 31 May, Monday 2 June & Tuesday 3 June Tuesday 10 June

Degree Show Exhibitions (Private View – Friday 30 May) (*subject to change) Years 1 & 2 Examination Board

Friday 20 June

GRADUATION

Friday 27 June

Local Holiday (Academic Buildings Closed from 12 Noon)*

28 April – 23 May

Monday 28 July

Local Holiday (Academic Buildings Closed)*

7 – 15 August

Resits

Thursday 21 August

Resit Examination Board

The University is currently reviewing the buildings closed days at SBC and there may be changes to those listed Monday 2nd June is no longer listed on the Calendar as a local holiday. The academic buildings will be open. Staff can either take this day as a holiday or take another day in lieu.


Semester Week Number

SEMESTER 1 - 2013 Week Commencing (12 weeks teaching & 2 weeks assessment)

1

……………………………… .………………………………………. Monday 16 September

2

………………………………… …..………………………………… Monday 23 September

3

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 30 September

4

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 7 October

5

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 14 October

6

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 21 October

7

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 28 October

8

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 11 November

9

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 18 November

10

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 11 November

11

…………………………………………………………………………. Monday 25 November

12

…………………………………………………………………………. Monday 2 December

13

Assessment Submissions ………………………………………….. Monday 9 December

14

Examinations ………………………………………………………… Monday 9 December SEMESTER 2 – 2014 (12 weeks teaching & 4 weeks assessment)

15

……………………………… .……………………………………….. Monday 13 January

16

………………………………………. …..…………………………… Monday 20 January

17

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 27 January

18

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 3 February

19

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 10 February

20

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 17 February

21

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 24 February

22

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 3 March

23

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 10 March

24

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 17 March

25

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 24 March

26

………………………………………………………………………… Monday 31 March (Monday 7 April – Tuesday 25 April Student Easter Vacation)

27

Final year examinations ……………………………………………. Tuesday 28 April

28

Year 3 examinations ………………………………………………..

29

Year 1 & 2 examinations …………………………………………… Monday 12 May

30

…………………………………………………………………………. Monday 19 May

Published 11th January 2013 (version 2)

Monday 5 May


Hw calendar2013 2014  
Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you