Page 1

A chance to learn, a chance in life

2013: THE YEAR IN REVIEW


A message from

our Founder and Life President

When I established this charity it was through a need to ensure that vulnerable children are cared for and protected. I am so very proud of the expert organisation that Children in Crisis is today, one that does not seek quick and easy wins, but that does whatever is necessary to ensure the wellbeing of all children. In March 2013 I was able to visit* Children in Crisis’s work amongst some of Liberia’s most impoverished and neglected communities. I visited schools built by Children in Crisis, staffed by teachers trained and supported by the charity, who were giving lessons to the brightest and most enthusiastic children you could ever hope to meet. I learned of the Parent Teachers Associations (PTAs) established in these schools, which are giving vital support to their children’s isolated teachers. Outside of the classrooms I met mothers who, thanks to our vocational training programme, are now running their own small but thriving businesses, earning money with which they can support their families and give their children a far better start in life.

In short I witnessed Children in Crisis working at every level within these communities to ensure that they are, for the long-term, able to educate, care for and protect their children. I would like to take this opportunity to give you my heartfelt thanks. It is your support that is being transformed into this wonderful, lasting change. Without such generosity and kindness none of this would be possible. Thank you

Sarah, Duchess of York, Founder and Life President

Children in Crisis 206-208 Stewart’s Road London SW8 4UB

Telephone +44 (0)20 7627 1040 Fax +44 (0)20 7627 1050

E-mail info@childrenincrisis.org Website www.childrenincrisis.org

Founder and Life President Sarah, Duchess of York

Registered office as address UK Reg Charity No. 1020488 Company No. 2815817


A message from

About

our Chairman

Children in Crisis

During 2013, Children in Crisis has continued to make a positive impact in so many ways to the lives of thousands of children in remote and forgotten places. This year I was lucky enough to visit* two of our programmes and see for myself the amazing work that you, our supporters, have enabled us to do in these extremely poor countries. It is wonderful to see first-hand that the money you have so kindly given is going directly to the places where it is needed most. As I complete my first full year as Chairman, I wanted to inform you of the changes that we have made to our Board of Trustees. I believe strongly that we have to work as efficiently as possible within the charity in order to be able to deliver the best outcomes for those we seek to help. This year we welcomed two new trustees to the Board and have worked on ensuring that Children in Crisis is run to the highest standards and with the best governance. With our new Board and strong management team we are well positioned to achieve so much together with your continued support.

Every child is equal and should be able to grow up cared for, educated and protected – wherever they are in the world. However, the reality is that far too many young, vulnerable people are deprived of a childhood and enter adult life without even the safety net that a primary education can provide. Since our foundation in 1993, Children in Crisis has worked to ensure the wellbeing of as many children as we can reach. We work within countries in which conflict and poverty have left children particularly vulnerable. We will usually be found within remote and hard-to-reach areas which have often been isolated from any other kind of outside help. We are a relatively small UK organisation that works with expert local partner organisations so as to be as effective as we can on the ground. Education is a powerful, transformative tool and is often at the heart of the support that we bring. We work alongside communities and parents to help identify and address the problems that threaten their children’s wellbeing, whilst always listening to and learning from the children that we are there to help. We leave change that is lasting and solutions that can be carried forward when we are gone.

Thank you

Alasdair Haynes Chairman

* both Sarah, Duchess of York and all of our Trustees paid for the costs of their visits to Children in Crisis’s programmes.

1


An introduction from our Chief Executive Imagine ignoring a young mother’s pleas for help in raising an income, because you came to build a school, not to offer other kinds of help. The school is built but the most needy cannot afford to attend. I have seen this.

We must always ask “are we achieving change in these children’s lives?” We should never focus solely on the instruments that we use.

Imagine not bothering to talk to communities about their problems because you build wells and that is all you do. Why bother talking if you only have one product? I have seen this many times too. No doubt some might praise such approaches for being focused. But this is what you might call the dark side of ‘focus’. Doing one thing and doing it well sounds good in principle but faces problems in practice. People trapped within poverty do not lead ‘a la carte’ lives. Their problems are complex and interconnected. However, there are effective ways to provide help without losing focus. Children in Crisis’s focus is on children living in environments that most find too uncomfortable or unsafe to work in. Our aim is to protect children from abuse, exploitation and discrimination, to support them to read, write, think, pursue their life goals and to contribute positively to their communities. Our focus is on the outcome – we must always ask “are we achieving change in these children’s lives?” We should never focus solely on the instruments that we use. 2

What is the best starting point? Education is an excellent entry point. For Children in Crisis it is the tool that we frequently use to bring lasting, positive change to children’s lives, but it is not the only way in. There may be other more appropriate ways to start helping, which will result in actual useful and meaningful improvements. For example, we have been consulting and project-planning with Batwa communities in Burundi. The Batwa suffer terrible ostracisation and discrimination. As a result they have few livelihood opportunities, live in wretched shelters and are desperately poor. There is little income to pay school fees and anyway, the cost of sending children to school who could otherwise be earning money is – in the short term – simply too high for these families. The entry point for changing children’s lives in this case must be changing discriminatory attitudes, improving homes and helping parents to earn a decent income. There is little point focussing on the school until these things change.


C h i oi ld c ’s e

ts

n

n

u

re

Pa

it

y

v

l

oo

Koy Thomson Chief Executive

h

To focus on the desired outcome is a holistic approach. At first glance, this may not look as neat as the flawless models presented by some organisations, because the many and varied barriers to children’s lives thrown up by war and its consequences are not neat and not amenable to single solutions and single entry points. Our approach will be tailored to the situations in which we find children – vulnerable and struggling – ensuring that we focus on bringing the best possible change to their lives, the only focus that matters.

In this review of 2013 you will find thought pieces from our programme managers, each expanding on a different focus of Children in Crisis’s work; the child’s voice, the parents, the school, and the community. These articles are a continuation of my introduction. I hope that you will read these and see that no one focus stands alone in warranting our complete attention, each is as important as the other, knitting together as a jig-saw to make one whole – our desired outcome – the safety and well-being of each and every child that we work with. Sc

The only focus that matters

Children in Crisis’s approach is to focus on the outcome towards which we should always be working – the wellbeing of vulnerable children. It is always our intention to provide lasting change which can be sustained when we are gone. We believe that the provision of primary school education is often the best possible tool with which to achieve this, but our approach is not to solely focus on the education of children. We recognise that in order to ensure the well-being of children for the long-term, we need to work at many different levels, being sure to include a child’s parents, community and environment within our work.

om m

Children will succeed if they are progressively cared for and supported by one another, parents, the family, the community, and the state through good policies and good spending. Such approaches can be seen in our work in Sierra Leone, Liberia, the DR Congo, Burundi and Afghanistan.

The outcome is key

C

After discussion with a community, it may well be that a new school and improving teacher quality is the priority, but there are still many barriers to overcome. You still have to ask are all children benefiting? Who is not in school and why? Will the school be maintained and continually improved by the community, and what local government exists to support the school? What is to be done if children are hungry, tired, sick or not supported by their parents? Adult education, which builds parental confidence, ability to oversee homework and raises awareness on health issues may be just what children need; or a system of starter grants and shared contributions for the community to collectively build a new school classroom. What of the older children who have missed out on schooling because of war? Vocational learning may be more appropriate.

3


2013

A year in numbers

71

704

previously unsupported schools in DR Congo now being funded by the Congolese government in 2013 thanks to our joint advocacy work.

teachers and head teachers trained by Children in Crisis in 2013.

37,817

1,872

vulnerable children in Afghanistan, given care and protection in 2013 by social workers trained by Children in Crisis.

4

children now receiving a valuable primary education from the teachers trained by us in 2013.

23,004

people reached by our advocacy & awareness-raising work in 2013. We campaigned in DR Congo and Afghanistan on issues such as women’s rights and the importance for all children to be educated and protected.


493

women now able to read, write and support their children with their schoolwork thanks to the adult literacy classes we provided in 2013.

4

well-equipped, watertight primary schools built by Children in Crisis, giving hundreds of children a safe place in which to learn.

77 & 87

the route numbers for the buses to our London office. We love to meet supporters of our work, please come and pay us a visit in 2014.

75

charity football matches kicked-off in support of our work. 5


Where we work & who we help Jeanne In 2010, Children in Crisis opened a new school for Bijojo community, high up on the impoverished and remote Plateau of eastern DR Congo. The school is built from durable materials and designed to last for generations to come. On a return visit to Bijojo school in February 2013 we met one of its pupils, Jeanne Nyamarembo. Jeanne remembers the day of the school’s inauguration as one of the happiest of her life; big celebrations, important guests and a brand new school. She told us that before that day they had very poor school buildings and that the new school has had a big influence on her and the other children’s education.

Sierra Leone Liberia

More and more parents are sending their children to the school, the teachers are punctual and happy to teach and the children no longer feel the cold or the rain. Bijojo school is thriving – as well as acting as a primary school in the morning, Bijojo’s parents have arranged for it to be used as a secondary school in the afternoon – which Jeanne now attends. She wants to go to university and become a doctor, she realises that she faces a struggle to do this but is determined to keep on studying. 6

Democratic Republic of Congo


Shafiq During a visit to our Community Based Education Centres (CBECs) in Afghanistan in November 2013 we met Shafiq. Through accelerated learning, the CBECs give out-of-school children like Shafiq a full primary education in just three years, after which he can go to government secondary school. He has to work to help his family, but the CBEC teaching hours enable him to both work and study. This is what he told us: Everything is going well for me in my class and I like my teachers very much. When I’m not at the Centre then I work collecting metal from the rubbish. I do this all morning and then I go home for lunch then come to study at the Centre.

Afghanistan Burundi

When I finish at the studying I want to go to government school and pass my exams and then I want to be a teacher. I want to be a teacher because our teacher here works very hard with us and I want to be the same with other students. Yesterday my mother was very happy. She said that she never thought that it would be possible for her child to study part-time and work as well. She said ‘I kiss the teacher’s hand’. The thing that makes me so happy is when all the family are together and we get to discuss things together. That’s when I’m happy. I want to say thank you for all the hard work that the organisation has done. 7


Liberia

Right: vocational training is empowering vulnerable women to create a better life for themselves and their children.

2013 Highlights and challenges In 2013 we continued to work in collaboration with our experienced and dedicated local partner, FAWE Liberia, to reach remote communities in the rural south eastern county of River Cess. The year saw the launch of exciting new work benefiting thousands of vulnerable women, children and families across the county.

8

Training teachers, principals and School Literacy Specialists

Promoting literacy through locally generated reading materials

For many children in River Cess County, primary school represents their one, vital chance in life to learn to read and write. Sadly, due to many challenges within Liberia’s post-conflict education system, very few children in River Cess are leaving primary school with a functional level of literacy, cutting them off from a world of information and possibility. To address this, in 2013 we launched the Our Words Library project, which continues our work training rural teachers – but with an increased focus on literacy.

One major obstacle to children learning to read and write in River Cess is the absence of reading material at home or in school. The Our Words Library project will address this by providing schools with libraries of long-lasting, laminated stories. To ensure the library materials are engaging and locally relevant, we are mobilising children and communities to generate their own stories. These will be printed and distributed to each school to form their own ‘Our Words Library’ and will help children learn to read and write and enjoy these skills for years to come.

We trained 72 teachers in how to deliver engaging, child-centred lessons, with added sessions on teaching and assessment of reading. Of these 72 teachers, 28 were also trained to become School Literacy Specialists, giving them knowledge and skills to act as literacy champions in schools and communities, leading extra-curricular activities such as reading clubs and spelling competitions. We also provided training for 15 principals in how to support teachers, run schools effectively, and make schools a safe place for children.

Vocational training

Children from Logan Town’s new school will be part of the Our Words Library project, helping to generate a library of long-lasting reading material.

2013 saw the scale-up and expansion of our vocational training programme, empowering vulnerable women in remote, rural communities across River Cess to improve their livelihoods and create a better life for themselves and their children. This year 509 women took part, learning new skills such as tailoring, baking, soap-making and hairdressing, as well as benefitting from


literacy, numeracy, and business skills training. Graduates also received business start-up kits and regular follow-up visits to support them in establishing and maintaining businesses.

A water pump is providing children with clean, safe drinking water at Logan Town’s new school.

School construction and rehabilitation In 2013, we celebrated the completion and inauguration of an impressive nine-classroom school in Logan Town, complete with staff room, kitchen, library, storeroom, separate latrines for boys and girls and a water point. The new school is now providing a safe, child-friendly learning environment for over 350 children. During 2013, we also launched a four-school rehabilitation project, which involves the renovation of four school buildings and the construction of latrines and water points in each school. As well as improving learning environments for children, this project will tackle common diseases linked to poor sanitation and unclean drinking water, which often result in children missing school due to illness. Mobilising Parent Teacher Associations (PTAs) To ensure the success and sustainability of our work with schools, it is essential to mobilise and build the capacity of PTAs to play a leading role in improving education for children. In 2013, we trained 162 PTA members from 15 schools in how to plan and deliver positive changes in their schools and communities. We also provided additional mobilisation sessions for PTAs engaged in school construction and rehabilitation work. PTAs are vital to the success of community construction projects, both in terms of mobilising the community to support the project and contribute locally available materials, and in terms of ensuring the maintenance of the structures for years to come. Charlotte Morgan-Fallah Programme Manager

2013 in numbers - Liberia: 17 schools were supported by our work, reaching over 3,400 children. 72 teachers and school principals were trained to give children a quality education. 509 women took part in our vocational training programme. 162 PTA members were trained and mobilised to support their children’s education.

1 new school constructed and 4 are under renovation, including provision of water points and latrines.

9


Focused on the outcome

The child’s voice I am sad when the armed men come – we have to be ready to flee. It used to be bad, but now it is getting better. Denise Neemah, Gitigarawa, South Kivu, January 2012.

Denise's words will stay with you forever. Especially when they are spoken directly to you and especially when the speaker is an earnest 11 year-old primary school pupil. Children are at the heart of everything we do at Children in Crisis, yet sometimes children’s voices are very difficult to hear. Within our target countries, tradition dictates that children are a cog in a very hierarchical structure. They are taught that respecting your elders is what counts. From an adult’s point of view, children do not have a voice worth listening to – they are just children after all. Add in the difficult dimension of equality between males and females and we find ourselves working in a very complex arena. In the Plateau region of South Kivu in DR Congo for example, values attributed to girls are modesty and obedience – they should be rarely seen and never heard. Is it so important? In a recent evaluation of our programmes in DR Congo we interviewed children to find out what effect our work has had on their lives. This boy is telling us his hopes and dreams for his country’s future. 10

So why is it important to listen to children? It can seem like a platitude to say that children are the future, but the fact is they are, and this is especially true for children from a very young age in the countries within which Children in Crisis works. Children will have their own responsibilities that play a key role in their family’s day-to-day survival; collecting firewood and water, working


At Children in Crisis, we are working very hard to ensure that the children we are working with are listened to and heard. We involve children in the monitoring and evaluation of our programmes; for example, in Sierra Leone pupils speak about the changes they have seen at their schools and where there are still problems. In Afghanistan, we have worked with children in refugee camps to find out what the major dangers and worries are in their lives. These types of approaches require trained, motivated staff as well as appropriate working methods – important components of the support that we provide for our local partner organisations. Involving children from the start Even harder than listening to children is to involve them when we are developing programmes, and then to have activities led by children. Our new programme in Liberia will involve children working with local theatre groups to create their own stories that will be turned into reading cards to build up schools’ own ‘Our Words Libraries’. Similarly, returning to Denise, it was her comment about fear that was the seed for a future programme in the DR Congo centred around peace, rights and equality. This programme will have a large child-led component helping children shape their solutions for a safer future.

This is why we listen: For me, the most important thing about children’s voices is that children want to be heard. Ramazan Ali, a teenage volunteer in one of our Community Based Education Centres in Kabul was asked why he volunteers there: I have a plan to help people so that I can help this country. I hope that Afghanistan will get better and I know I need to help. My father died and now I want to help others, I believe there is hope in the younger generation. Such powerful voices have to be heard. Amy Parker Programme Manager Puzzled by the jigsaw piece? See pages 2 & 3 to learn more.

C h i oi ld c ’s e

Working with children means working alongside them. It is very easy to fall into the trap of thinking we [Children in Crisis], parents or community leaders know all and know best. However, sometimes listening to adults is not enough to understand what it is that is scaring or hurting children, or what may have lasting effects on them. Being listened to builds confidence and motivation. We need children to want to talk and to think and solve problems, so that as adults they are able to lead and develop their communities.

Children’s responsibilities such as looking after younger siblings, often take precedence over and above their rights to education and play.

v

in fields so that the family can eat at the end of the day, looking after younger siblings. It is sad, but these responsibilities take precedence over and above their rights to education and play.

11


Afghanistan

A tailoring class – the CBECs provide literacy lessons and vocational training for local mothers, usually the first formal education they will have ever received.

2013 Highlights and challenges This year Children in Crisis has continued to build on the positive relationships and experiences developed over sixteen years of working with some of the most vulnerable children in Afghanistan. Out-of-school children We are now midway through our Community Based Education Centre (CBEC) project providing education for children who have never before been able to attend school. This year all children sat and passed their grade two and grade three examinations, they have now entered grade four. It has taken time for us to gain trust and support within communities, particularly in relation to the education of women and girls that is provided by the CBECs. One of the girls attending classes told us:

12

Occasionally, ingrained beliefs do remain. Within At first, my one of the communities family did not allow that we work, the me to join the centre for Mullah withdrew education. They said that it was his daughter from not important for girls to go to classes. Rather than school or to get an education. After being intimidated several visits of team leader and by his status, teachers now my family agree the Afghan team to allow me to go. arranged several meetings to discuss

and explore the position of women and girls within Islam and the right of all children to an education. The Mullah eventually agreed to return his daughter to the class. He has now become an ambassador for the project, preaching in Friday prayers about the importance of girls’ education and ensuring that all parents within the community send their children to school.

A classroom stove keeps children warm during their lessons at one of our five CBECs in Afghanistan.


Protecting the rights of all children This year has seen the continued development of our work with children in conflict with the law. We have focused on preventing the unnecessary detention of children. Conditions for children in detention are shocking and overcrowding is common. The juvenile prison in Kabul was built to house up to 60 children but now holds over 200.

Our Child Protection Coordinator, Zarmina Behrose, received an award recognising her commitment and dedication to protecting children in Afghanistan.

We worked with two organisations to conduct research into perceptions of child detention in Afghanistan. 90% of community members and 91% of juvenile justice professionals consulted do not believe that children should be detained for minor crimes and should be rehabilitated in their community through institutions such as Mosques and schools. We have secured funding from UNICEF to use the findings of this research to develop a system of alternatives to unjust, damaging detention. In 2013 we were delighted that the dedication of our Afghan staff was recognised when our Child Protection Coordinator, Zarmina Behrose, received an award for ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Afghan Community’ at the Afghan Professionals’ Network ‘Unsung Heroine’s Awards’. This award goes some way to recognise the quality, commitment and courage of our team in Afghanistan. Put bluntly, some of the children we work with are difficult kids. Those who find themselves in a classroom for the first time and do not know how to hold a pen, who have committed a crime or who have suffered systematic abuse are not easy to help. They may be challenging but they are children, and our Afghan staff team rise to the challenge every day to ensure these children are protected and grow up to create a better future for themselves and, ultimately, a better future for Afghanistan. Bethan Williams Programme Manager

2013 in numbers - Afghanistan: 297 previously out-of-school children passed their grade three exams at our 5 CBECs. 216 women attended literacy classes at our CBECs, for most this is the first education they will have ever received.

Homework support classes, helping children when illiterate parents cannot, had attendance figures as high as 1,200. Our child protection project provided care and support for 248 children. 13


Focused on the outcome

The school If we are to ensure that children are protected and given space to live full and prosperous lives, we must appreciate the structures that constitute children’s worlds. One such institution is the school. Children in Crisis is proud to report that this year alone, we have worked in 163 schools across four countries, helping 37,817 children. It is important to understand the different elements that make up a school and acknowledge the impact that conflict has had on these elements. This ranges from the tragic destruction of thousands of school buildings to the near-collapse of the teaching profession. If we are to effect long-lasting sustainable change then we must identify and address the many wide-ranging issues that impact on the ability of schools to provide for the effective teaching and nurturing of children. A community income generation scheme in Sierra Leone grows and sells groundnuts, revenue from which is used to improve and maintain their village school. 14

The state of the schools that we replace.

Build a school, but then...? Firstly, children need a safe structure in which to learn, protecting them from the elements and creating a comfortable and practical learning environment. In 2013 Children in Crisis has built four schools in DR Congo and Liberia, giving 1,146 children a school they are proud to belong to and which is a world apart from the dilapidated structures that they replaced. A school building is of course nothing without teachers. The quality of an education system rests on those who stand at the front of the classroom every day. However, the reality within the countries in which we work is that a large proportion of teachers have never received any kind of formal training (63% in our target schools in Sierra Leone for example). Children in Crisis therefore works with incumbent teachers, supporting them to improve upon their knowledge and skills, through training and mentoring programmes. We see this as essential if we are to avoid another ‘lost’ generation of children. Leaders need support Another element of schools that absolutely cannot be ignored is that of school leadership. Imagine an orchestra without a proficient conductor; order would very quickly disintegrate into cacophony. The same can be said for schools. School leaders need supportive frameworks in order to perform well and whilst


many of the head teachers we work with are motivated to create brilliant schools for their children, the multitude of challenges they face can be overwhelming. By providing comprehensive and relevant training schemes, Children in Crisis supports head teachers to fully understand their role and think through ways in which to fulfil their responsibilities. At the same time, we acknowledge the necessity for head teachers to be answerable for the way in which they manage their school and its resources. In the Plateau region of DR Congo for example, head teachers are often selected through nepotistic systems and become the weakest link in the school. We support the legal structure of school governance, be it a School Management Committee or Parent Teacher Association, to hold head teachers to account. Community owned and supported

l

oo h

By working so earnestly alongside the people whom we aim to support, Children in Crisis has inevitably begun to understand the wide range of problems which schools face. This has led us to address the multitude of root causes in order to bring about significant change. We are privileged to be invited to work alongside the most important institutions in the world, schools.

Sc

Finally, the importance of the relationship between the school and the local community should not be underestimated and is something that Children in Crisis works to support and strengthen. In the rural, isolated regions in which we work, there is often a complete absence of government investment in and support of schools. In cases such as these, we seek to support communities to ensure that their schools can survive. In Sierra Leone, we support communities to set up ‘Community Education Support’ (CES) groups, who implement small-scale projects, such as planting a rice field or rearing goats, the proceeds of which are then plugged back into the school. Community response to these initiatives is overwhelming, and the difference between schools with CES groups and schools without is marked.

We support and train incumbent teachers, a large proportion of whom have never received any kind of formal training.

Amanda Jones Programme Manager Puzzled by the jigsaw piece? See pages 2 & 3 to learn more.

15


Democratic Republic of Congo 2013 Highlights and challenges This year has been Children in Crisis’s 7th year working in the Plateau region of South Kivu, eastern DR Congo, in partnership with Eben Ezer Ministry International (EMI). Our commitment to providing and improving primary school education for children on the Plateau is as strong as ever and we are seeing some wonderful, long-lasting changes. School construction, teacher training and community-based work on promoting education, child and women’s rights all continue, alongside scrutinising and learning from the impact of our work so far. Teacher training Changes are afoot in the schools on the Plateau. The Children in Crisis/EMI teacher training programme is well-known across this vast area and is used as a reference point by head teachers, teachers, pupils, parents, other development organisations and local education authorities alike. Our approach of delivering high quality training workshops and then supporting teachers and school management post-training has resulted in schools that are now delivering the National Curriculum and teachers who arrive on time and plan lessons. There is a discipline that focuses on nurturing the rights and responsibilities of children, and parents are starting to understand 450 teachers and 19 head teachers were trained by Children in Crisis in 2013. 16

the value of education for both their sons and daughters. Children enjoy learning at school and have ambitions for their own future and that of their region. Challenges of course persist. Access to school remains elusive for the poorest of families and teachers still need further support and training to ensure that the education they are delivering is of the highest possible standard. As we look forward to the future with Plateau schools and communities, we can be sure that the incredible change we have already achieved will provide a firm basis from which to continue to develop. Theatre in Education (TIE) & advocacy Delivering messages which challenge and change damaging traditional attitudes amongst largely illiterate populations can be very challenging. However, through the use of theatre workshops, the TIE Team has continued to work closely with community volunteers and local leaders to deliver powerful awareness-raising messages on the themes of education for all (especially for girls), women’s role in decision-making and the negative impact of early and forced marriage. On the latter theme, we saw a significant development in the shape of a joint accord banning early


Education sector development

Kalingi Primary School is now providing a safe, comfortable learning and teaching environment for pupils and teachers alike.

marriage signed by community Pastors as a direct result of the training they received from the TIE team. As the major decisionmakers and influencers in the region, the Pastors’ support in the communication of our messages will ensure Plateau communities listen and reflect on change. We continue to work with a local theatre group, Club Umuco, who support our community volunteers, as well as working with a local radio station to broadcast awareness-raising sessions that can be listened to by two thirds of the Plateau communities. School building The school construction programme has gone from strength to strength this year. We took the decision to develop a multi-year, multi-school programme that is now well underway. Kalingi and Rutigita Primary Schools have undergone extensive rehabilitation works and are now providing a safe and comfortable learning and teaching environment for pupils and teachers. Bora Primary School is mid-way through a full reconstruction and will be finished in April 2014. The new schools are a source of pride for their respective communities who have worked hard alongside the construction teams to ensure the work is completed to the highest standard.

The government of DR Congo is currently working hard to develop its education sector and we are involved in the national and regional conversations. Our teacher training modules are being used to inform a national approach to continual professional development for teachers; something we are very proud of! Amy Parker Programme Manager

A joint accord, banning early marriage, was signed by community Pastors as a direct result of our theatre in education & advocacy work.

2013 in numbers - DR Congo: 2 permanent, well-equipped primary schools constructed, which will provide 496 children with a safe and dry place in which to learn.

450 teachers and 19 head teachers trained to help give children the best possible start in life.

21,755 children taught this year by teachers and head teachers trained by Children in Crisis.

6,853 men, women and children reached by our advocacy work. We promoted the importance of education and children’s and women’s rights. 17


Focused on the outcome

Parents Children in Crisis and our local partner organisations are passionate about ensuring that we do everything necessary to protect the wellbeing of children. To achieve this, we believe that it is critical to support and empower not only children themselves, but also the wide range of people who have a strong impact on a child's life – the most influential among these being parents or guardians. In all of the places that Children in Crisis works, poverty and conflict leave parents struggling to afford even the most basic care for their children – most are subsistence farmers or small traders, barely growing or selling enough to survive, let alone help their children thrive. This is why Children in Crisis is passionate about helping parents to do what all parents around the world want – to support, love and care for their children in the best way they can. Affording the essentials

18

Much of Children in Crisis’s work focuses on improving the quality of education that children receive. However, we know that no matter how high the quality of education is, children cannot make the most of that education if they are forced to drop out because their parents cannot afford a school uniform. For those who can afford to go to school, we know they will not get the most from their education and reach their potential if they cannot concentrate because their stomach is empty, or they cannot do their work because they do not have a pencil or notebook. These small barriers to education can have a dramatic impact on a child’s learning and life chances, and yet for so many parents, meeting even these basic needs is out of reach.

Children take huge benefit from having literate parents, who are able provide support and encouragement with schoolwork.

That is why Children in Crisis works to improve parents’ livelihoods and financial security, so that they can afford to provide for their children. Through vocational training and Village Savings & Loans Associations, we are empowering parents, particularly mothers, to earn and save money. This has a significant impact on children’s learning and life chances, as parents are better able to afford essential school supplies such as uniforms and exercise books, and are better able to feed their children. This means children can go to school with a full stomach, giving them fuel for the day’s learning. Furthermore, empowered parents (particularly mothers) running successful businesses also offer valuable role models for children, especially girls. Adult literacy = children learning Through providing adult literacy classes in remote rural communities, we are enabling parents to better support their children’s learning at home, for example through helping with homework. We are also able to work alongside parents who are illiterate, encouraging them in knowing that there is so much they can do to support children’s learning at home, even if they can’t read and write themselves – this could be as simple as giving children time to complete homework around their chores, or


By providing women with vocational training in skills such as soap-making we are empowering mothers to earn money and give their children a healthier, more secure start in life.

asking children about school. Creating a more supportive home environment, more conducive to learning, vastly improves children’s learning in school. During our adult literacy classes parents are also encouraged to discuss important issues around children’s education, child rights and child protection, as well as accessing valuable information on key topics such as health, hygiene and nutrition, all of which have a positive knock-on effect on children’s health and wellbeing at home and in school. Empowering parents to get more involved in school We are also empowering parents to become more actively involved in their children’s education through training Parent Teacher Associations or Community Teacher Associations. These parent-teacher bodies, when trained and mobilised, enable parents to hold schools to account on delivering quality education, as well as getting parents involved in key aspects of school management. Above are just some of the many ways that Children in Crisis is working to support and empower parents in some of the poorest places on earth to do what all parents want – to give their children the best possible start and chance in life. n re ts

Puzzled by the jigsaw piece? See pages 2 & 3 to learn more.

Pa

Charlotte Morgan-Fallah Programme Manager

19


Sierra Leone

Funded by:

2013 Highlights and challenges Children in Crisis’ work in Sierra Leone has continued to move from strength to strength in 2013 – a year of doing, reflecting, learning and adapting. Reviving primary education Children in Crisis’s long-standing local partner organisation, FAWE Sierra Leone has excelled, yet again, in working with us to implement our ‘Reviving Primary Education’ project. This project seeks to improve the attendance, participation and quality of learning for 16,000 children across 45 primary schools in Kambia, one of the poorest districts of Sierra Leone. 2013 has been a particularly exciting year as we have seen very encouraging results from a mid-project review, which suggest that we are delivering positive and lasting change.

Income generation for schools

As well as training and supporting teachers, the ‘Reviving Primary Education’ project has established several Community Education Support (CES) groups and provided them with small grants with which to set up and run local income generation projects. The revenue generated by these schemes is then used to maintain and improve the community’s school, often very necessary due to the absence or delay of government assistance.

Better teachers Of the 159 teachers who were trained and provided with follow up coaching in the first year of the project, 133 were observed in March. 68% of the observed teachers were found to be using appropriate child-centred teaching techniques, whilst 81% were using lesson notes to plan and carry out their classes. This is a huge improvement from before the training, when the respective figures were 14% and 15%. 20

Our ‘Reviving Primary Education’ project is working to improve the attendance, participation and quality of learning for 16,000 in one of the poorest districts of Sierra Leone.

Income generation schemes such as community rice cultivation are producing revenue which is used to maintain and improve local primary schools.

Our mid-project review found that 83% of these groups have generated profit from their projects, and that all groups have used a proportion of this profit to support the school (whilst the remaining profit has been re-invested in the enterprise). For example, Fodaya community has been providing a stipend of Le 160,000 (approximately £25) to community teachers who do not receive a salary from the government, whilst Kawula has repaired their school’s broken well.


Better grades Of course, the very encouraging results already mentioned only become meaningful if we see an improvement in children’s education. We were delighted to find that, in the schools we have been working with, the proportion of students who scored more than 70% on their end of year tests more than doubled when compared to the previous year, whilst 8.5% fewer students failed these exams. We have taken these encouraging findings, and reviewed the teacher training manuals developed in the first year to provide an improved support package to 21 new schools this summer. Welfare Society for the Disabled (WESOFOD) One aspect of our work, which has received special attention in 2013 is our new partnership with WESOFOD, a community based movement of people with disabilities in Kambia District. This year WESOFOD has helped to develop our understanding of the barriers facing children affected by disability, such as difficulty in travelling to school, discrimination, the lack of wheelchair ramps, and teachers who do not adapt their teaching styles to students with differing needs. We have now designed a programme aimed at tackling these issues. The exciting challenge we now face is in finding the funds to begin implementing these activities in 2014. Amanda Jones Programme Manager

Discrimination, lack of transport to school and an absence of wheelchair ramps are just some of the many barriers that children affected by disability face in rural Sierra Leone.

2013 in numbers - Sierra Leone: 316 teachers & 21 head teachers trained by Children in Crisis.

12,312 children will be taught by teachers trained by us in 2013.

The proportion of students who scored more than 70% on their end of year tests more than doubled thanks to our ‘Reviving Primary Education’ project.

83% of micro-projects generated profit, subsequently fed into maintaining and supporting community schools. 21


Focused on the outcome

Community

With very few exceptions, all families want the best for their children – this is the community we work with.

Across the world, children are prey to exploitation, discrimination and abuse. Our child protection programming aims to prevent this abuse and where it does occur, to ensure an effective and appropriate response. But that is really just a lot of jargon, what does it mean in practice? We believe that protecting children from violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation is everybody’s responsibility. Governments, communities and families all play a role in ensuring that children grow up in safety. Parents, teachers, extended family members, health care providers and children themselves are all on the frontline in identifying abuse and in developing appropriate solutions. Where Government presence is limited or non-existent, communities have an even greater role in child protection. Where governments are not fulfilling their responsibility to protect children, ordinary people have to step up to protect children’s rights.

difficult to imagine that streets now filled with bakeries, and carts over-spilling with bright pomegranates were once the frontline in battles between warlords who ripped up the country in an ethnic and sectarian struggle.

The reality of these words

When we talk about ‘conflict-affected’ or ‘post-conflict’ we are dealing with a legacy which has not only physically destroyed infrastructure, it has caused people to flee their homes and in the most horrific cases has pitted neighbours and family members in battle against each other. We are dealing with a legacy of trauma and often working within a climate of suspicion and distrust of neighbouring towns and villages.

We often mention it, but how do we define what makes a ‘community’? Two other frequently mentioned terms – ‘postconflict’ or ‘conflict-affected’ countries – what is the reality presented by these words?

22

Put simply, in the lives of the people we work with, conflict has touched and transformed everything. In Afghanistan, the majority of the population is under 15 years of age, meaning that most have only known their country at war. In bustling Kabul, it is

Where we are working to protect children, we cannot take for granted that a community structure exists. But still we know that there is one universal. With very few exceptions, all families want


the best for their children and the experience of parenthood can bring people together – this is the community we work alongside.

An opportunity to work together The realities described above are why the Parent Teacher Association in Liberia and DR Congo – where we have built schools and trained teachers – is so vital. At its most basic level, these meetings bring people together who may not otherwise have a reason to speak or meet. These meetings confirm that the school is for all members of the community. Even more importantly, these meetings are an opportunity to discuss the use of corporal punishment in schools, the responsibility of adults to ensure that children are not being physically punished in their homes and that they are not being exposed to harmful work.

Where possible we will work with any remaining community structures as a basis for building community child protection. In Afghanistan this translates as working with Mullahs to discuss the rights of children within Islam and encouraging them to share messages about the rights of the child as well as being involved in the process of mediating in serious child protection cases where necessary.

Put in their shoes It would be remiss to write an article about community child protection without acknowledging that, in some cases, the attitudes and behaviours of communities can be at the heart of child protection violations. In this case our role is to engage and transform community perspectives as we are doing in both Afghanistan and DR Congo. Through the use of participatory theatre we enable adults to take on the roles of children and understand how they can stand up and speak out against abuses within their communities.

Bethan Williams Programme Manager

C

We work with parents and help them to understand how they can stand up and speak out against cases of child abuse within their communities.

om

m

u n

it

y

What Children in Crisis knows is that every place we work is different, behind the terms ‘child protection’, ‘communities’ and ‘post conflict’ lie people, no two of whom are the same. Our first job is to listen and learn so that we can best understand how to work together to assist in the rebuilding of lives and structures. In this way we will see children who are cared for and supported by each other, their parents, their wider family and the community.

Puzzled by the jigsaw piece? See pages 2 & 3 to learn more.

23


Children in Crisis Italy Children in Crisis Italy is an independent organisation which raises its own funds in Italy and is governed by an Italian Board of Trustees. We are joined by our shared goals; the education, care and protection of vulnerable children. Here is an update from their work in 2013. Tanzania: the right of the most vulnerable to education Secondary school in Tanzania is not free and because of this a huge number of children’s education is cut short. The most affected are certainly girls, often the first to be excluded from the possibility of furthering their education, especially in rural areas. This year, Children in Crisis Italy continued to collaborate with FAWE Tanzania to provide scholarships for rural Tanzanian girls. The scholarships covered the costs for secondary school attendance, including boarding, uniforms and school materials. We supported 154 girls in 53 schools, three of which are Centres of Excellence – that is schools that use a specialist educational methodology developed with the support of FAWE. For an overall improvement in the Tanzanian school system, our intervention also worked to provide essential school facilities. We completed the construction and upgrading of toilets and of the dining hall at Lufilyo Secondary School and built a library at JJ Mungai Secondary School, providing the first-ever library service in the town of Mafinga to the benefit of several schools in the area. In addition, having noted a severe shortage of teaching materials (which forced sometimes up to twenty students to share a single textbook) we provided schools with more than 5,500 textbooks. These and other improvements have had a direct impact on the education of 2,100 students. 24

Ecuador: breaking family violence and stopping child exploitation This year saw a continuation of our collaboration with local partner, the Juconi Foundation, supporting the reintegration of street-working children in the city of Guayaquil, Ecuador. These are children with severe problems due to difficult family backgrounds – children who are working on the streets, exploited and often victims of violence. To date, more than 200 children and their families have been helped to build a better family environment free from abuse.

Students from Mgugu secondary school, Tanzania, with new PCs that had just arrived at their school.


Children receive extra support at after-school tuition classes provided within deprived areas of Milan.

Italy: supporting children in difficulty and preventing school dropout

Liberia: a new school in the remote rural county of River Cess Thanks to a collaboration between Children in Crisis Italy, Children in Crisis UK and FAWE Liberia, a new school was built for the children of Logan Town, River Cess County in 2013. The old dilapidated structure which was built of non-durable materials, has been replaced by a nine-classroom, solid brick building that offers a vastly improved teaching environment from kindergarten through to primary and lower secondary school. More than 350 children from ten of the poorest and most remote villages in the area are already attending the new school, with enrolment numbers expected to rise in the next few months. The local community was fully involved in the construction project and the school is being supported through a highly active Parent Teacher Association that benefited from the Children in Crisis-FAWE training programme.

In 2013 we renewed our commitment to supporting vulnerable children in Italy by introducing two new programmes: ‘Project Smile’ and ‘Project Milano’. Alongside our existing ‘Pepita Youth Orchestra’ programme, which aims to combat juvenile distress through music, through ‘Project Smile’ we provided recreational and sport activities within full-time child shelters, contributing to the therapy and care of these children. Through ‘Project Milano’ we provided after-school tuition for children from deprived suburban areas in Milan, who are at high risk of school dropout and exclusion. The programmes of Children in Crisis Italy are entirely financed by the donations of our supporters and fundraising events have been an important part of our work. We are particularly proud of the events organised in 2013, which included an exclusive visit to the Duomo Cathedral of Milan, the first edition of ‘Quiz Night’ and the participation in the Milano City Marathon where the Pepita Youth Orchestra was involved with a great show. We would like to thank all of our supporters and corporate sponsors for their generosity. Children in Crisis Italy onlus Presidente: Barbara Bianchi Bonomi Vice presidente: Silvana Lauria 25


To our volunteers - thank you Children in Crisis is humbled by the voluntary and pro-bono support that we receive from organisations and individuals – 2013 was no exception in this respect. From those who gave a helping a hand at our fundraising events through to the organisations that provided expert services and advice. Thank you, your help made such a difference to our work. Below are just some of the wonderful people and organisations who gave us their time, energy and skills in 2013.

Fiona Allen Nina Anderson Lord Archer Jeremy Bowen Jane Clinton Natasha Little Joanna Lumley Alastair Mackenzie John Mitchell Fine Paintings Sally Phillips In Place of War 26

If you would like to lend us a helping hand in 2014 we would love to hear from you 020 7627 1040 / info@childrenincrisis.org


Some special mentions Children in Crisis would like to thank the businesses, charitable trusts, foundations and organisations that supported our work in 2012/13. A M Perry Charitable Foundation

European Union

Allergan International Foundation

Evan Cornish Foundation

Allsave Limited

Fixnetix

APN

Genworth Financial

Ardwick Trust

German Embassy, Kabul

Argus Media Ltd

Gilbert and Eileen Edgar Foundation

Arihant Charitable Trust

Henhurst Charitable Trust

Barclays Corporate

Hewer Charitable Trust

Barclays PLC

Hudson Charitable Trust

Baring Foundation

Hugh (Robin) Stevens Charity

BATS Chi-X Europe

Ian Askew Trust

BGC Partners

Instinet Europe Ltd

Bliss Family Charity

J.P. Morgan Asset Management

British and Foreign School Society

John Ellerman Foundation

Bryan Guinness Charitable Trust

Kans and Kandy (Wholesale) Charitable Trust

BT PLC Cecil Rosen Foundation Children In Crisis (Italy) Christine King Memorial Trust Claviga Claydon Charitable Will Trust Comic Relief Concept Business Group Equiduct Systems Ltd

KPMG LLP Ledbury Research Ltd Lewis Ward Trust Linda Norgrove Foundation Lowe Family Trust Madeline Mabey Trust Maidenwell Charitable Trust Marr-Munning Trust

Thank you!

Mary Heap Charitable Trust

St Martin de Porres Foundation

Medicor Foundation

Swire Charitable Trust

Michael And Anna Wix Charitable Trust

Sykes Trust

Mitchell Trust

Taylor & Francis Books Ltd

Moorfields Corporate Recovery LLP

TDM Group

New World Music Limited

The Greetings Card Company

Nigel Bruce Charitable Trust

TRS Personnel Ltd

Pamela Barlow Charitable Trust

Turing Foundation

Parcour

UBS Optimus Foundation

Planet Wheeler Foundation

UK AID

Reuben Foundation

UNICEF

RPMI (Railway Pensions)

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Sanne Charitable Trust

Vitol Foundation

Sarah Ferguson Foundation

Wenhaston Charitable Trust

Sir James Roll Charitable Trust

WGH Lowe Charitable Trust

Soloway Charitable Trust

Zochonis Charitable Trust

27


Financial Information Financial Review The total income for the period was £2.35m, a 1.5% increase on the previous year. The diversity of our funding sources has helped maintain a stable financial footing for Children in Crisis and we are always looking for new ways to generate further funds for the work we do with some of the most vulnerable children in the world and the communities they live in. We are pleased with the progress we have made in attracting long term funding from some large charitable trusts and programme contracts. Partnerships have been successfully developed with several key funders. The development of new programming has created an attractive portfolio of diverse project work which has improved our ability to enter into large, long-term funding agreements which provide stability and depth to the project funding income stream. We successfully secured a new multi-year grant from Comic Relief for a new project in Liberia which started in January 2013. The amount spent on charitable activities was £1.9m, a 16% increase on the previous year with new programmes starting in Liberia and Sierra Leone and an increase in our programme activity in Afghanistan. The cost of generating funds dropped slightly compared to the previous period as we continue with our strategy of seeking out and implementing the most cost effective ways of raising funds for the long term needs of the communities we work with. There was a healthy surplus on our Unrestricted Funds during the period, indicating that we continue to be in a strong and stable financial position despite the challenging economic times. 28

£2,353,452 Annual Income March 2013 Events

6.9%

Challenges

3.9%

Community

2.8%

Individuals & Major Donors 20.8% Legacies

1.7%

Corporates

1.1%

Trusts & Foundations

30.9%

Contracts for operational programmes

31.5%

Investments and other

0.4%

£2,388,544 Annual Expenditure March 2013 Afghanistan Burundi

32.5% 0.4%

DR Congo

16.8%

Liberia

15.4%

Sierra Leone

11.5%

Other programme costs Costs of generating voluntary income

1.9% 17.8%

Cost of events

2.2%

Governance

1.5%


Statement of Financial Activities - 31st March 2013

Incoming Resources

Unrestricted Funds £

Restricted Funds £

Total 2013 £

Total 2012 £

Voluntary Income: Legacies

£39,656

Trusts

£26,624

Challenges Community Individual Giving

£39,656

£1,836

£726,937

£644,050

£92,034

£92,034

£171,314

£66,789

£66,789

£7,513

£479,627

£538,735

£460,684

£700,313

£18,943

Major Donors

£10,500

£10,500

£78,982

Corporates

£27,017

£27,017

£29,697

£3,009

£3,009

£23,201

£162,652

£162,652

£185,141

£4,755

£4,755

£5,227

£740,476

£740,476

£635,126

£1,459,732

£2,353,453

£2,320,821

Other Events: Investment income: Contracts for operational programmes: Total incoming resources:

£893,721

Expenditure Cost of generating voluntary income: Cost of events:

Restricted Funds £

Total 2013 £

Total 2012 £

£424,157

£424,157

£488,227

£51,997

£51,997

£9,927

£775,098

£646,741

£8,375

-

Charitable Activities: Afghanistan Burundi

£138,887

£636,211

£8,375

DR Congo

£72,025

£329,933

£401,958

£443,505

Liberia

£66,122

£302,888

£369,010

£289,813

Sierra Leone

£49, 424

£226,402

£275,826

£132,331

£46,500

£46,500

£105,001

£35,623

£35,817

Other Governance Costs: Total resources expended: Net Income / (expenditure) Gain on investments

For more information about our financial activities, please contact Children in Crisis to see our Annual Report and Financial Statements for the year ended 31st March 2013.

Unrestricted Funds £

£35,623 £846,610

£1,541,934

£2,388,544

£2,151,362

£47,111

(£82,202)

(£35,091)

£169,459

£571

£953

£571

Total funds brought forward

£387,011

£1,065,662

£1,452,673

£1,282,261

Total funds carried forward

£434,693

£983,460

£1,418,153

£1,452,673

29


Make 2014 your year Without our supporters, nothing that you read about in this review of 2013 would have been possible. No donation is too small and no sponsored event too modest, every level of support counts and means so much to us here in the UK office and even more to the vulnerable children we help in Africa and Asia. Here are some ideas for ways that you could help in 2014… Charity of the Year We are passionate about reaching the most disadvantaged children, helping them to courageously overcome the odds and dream of a better future. If you share our passion, we will do all that we can to help you inspire your colleagues to adopt us as your Charity of the Year. We will be there to help you to engage staff, build teams, boost morale and generate good publicity. Why not start by sharing this ‘Year in Review’ with colleagues, and giving us a ring to talk about ways we can help?

30

No sweat We at Children in Crisis love cycling. This is why we were so excited to take on the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey 100 in 2014. As cyclists, we know how great it is to take on a challenge, and what could be better than matching ourselves against the Olympic Course? We know how important the gear is (you will get a great personalised shirt), and we know when training gets tough, how welcome support and encouragement is. We also provide team advice. Join us and get addicted for life. Run it off If cycling is not for you, the Virgin Money London Marathon continues to be the outstanding personal challenge – why not work up to it with the Royal Parks Half Marathon? Or be inspired by the success of others in doing their own thing with football tournaments, gruesome mountain climbs, or distance swims. You might want to unleash your inner-entrepreneur; whether it is a bake and sell, a car-boot sale, or a quiz night. We are here to advise, inspire and help.


2014 – an exciting year: The Virgin London Marathon, 13th April – the hard work and training will be worth it on the day. An inspiring, emotional challenge. Art Antiques London Party in the Park, 10th June – join this spectacular gala event & cocktail party in an exclusive location. Ride London, 10th August – emulate the Olympic cyclists, riding the same roads as they did. Annual General Meeting, 12th September – hear about Children in Crisis’s work and our vision for the future. Get Quizzical, November 2014 – come test your brains against our quiz masters! Carols by candlelight, 1st December – with celebrity readings, mince pies and carols sung by candlelight in St Luke’s Church, Chelsea.

To ask questions, sign-up or run a fundraising idea by us contact the Fundraising Team on:

020 7627 1040 info@childrenincrisis.org

A long-lasting legacy Our projects bring change and improvement for the longterm. Take a new primary school in DR Congo, built thanks to the generosity of our supporters, it will give thousands of children a safe place in which to learn. These boys and girls will grow up to be literate parents who can teach their children to read and give them a better start in life. Literacy and an appreciation of education will continue to pass from generation to generation. We would like to give a special thanks to those who have remembered us in their Wills – a wonderful legacy for future generations.

Become a regular giver It is the stability that a Direct Debit gift brings that is so valuable to Children in Crisis. Knowing that we can rely on a regular donation – no matter what the amount – enables us to plan in confidence, brings stability to our projects and to the lives of the children that we help. www.childrenincrisis.org/donate

31


Our plans for 2014

Below: A woman from the Gasorwe Batwa community with a ceramic pot that she had made. The proposed Craft and Training Centre will help to apply traditional Batwa skills to meet modern demands such as producing ceramic roofing tiles.

Over the year ahead we will be working even harder to address the most pressing unmet needs and to reach those groups normally left behind. We will constantly learn and improve through better impact assessment and evidence gathering. Ever focused on the outcome – the change for each child – we will define and deliver deeper, longer lasting models of change, powered by local leadership, community self-help, education, vocational training and access to knowledge and rights. On these pages are some of the programmes for which we are currently seeking support: Community Based education - Afghanistan

Vocational training - Liberia & Burundi

In 2014 we, and the communities we work with, are determined to keep all five of our Community Based Education Centres (CBECs) running, harnessing the most potent and pervasive resource that we find within all of the countries that we work – the desire to learn. Through accelerated learning, the CBECs will give up to 300 out-of-school children the chance to complete a full primary education and give thousands of underprivileged children the support they need to complete their schooling. No matter what changes come to Afghanistan, we will fight to keep education and the protection of children at the centre of community concerns.

The success of our Liberian vocational training programme has not gone unnoticed and there is now huge demand in River Cess for additional training. Next year we will reach hundreds more women, training them in trades that will enable them to raise incomes and support their children. We have seen how literacy, numeracy and business skills can unleash the potential of struggling parents and now we will serve the most remote communities in the country with our tried and tested outreach training.

Out-of-school Afghan girls hard at work in accelerated learning classes provided at one of our five CBECs. 32

The Batwa of Gasorwe Commune, Burundi, asked us to help them to work their way out of poverty, and provide for better housing and education. In partnership with the community we have developed a programme of self-reliance, aimed at skilling them up as quality builders and craftspeople. They will learn on the job as they build their own innovatively designed Community Craft and Training Centre, then using the Centre to revive and modernise traditional skills, such as ceramics, supplementing local markets. The Batwa of Gasorwe will be able to work their way to sustainable livelihoods whilst rekindling pride in their heritage.


School construction - DR Congo & Liberia This year we are looking to build three schools in eastern DR Congo and one in rural Liberia. Communities are excited and already planning how they can get involved. As before, they will go to great lengths to share the achievement by providing sand, rocks and bricks, and voluntary labour to make the school a reality.

Children sit outside, ready to welcome us to their new school in DR Congo. In 2014 we are looking for help to build 3 schools in the east of DR Congo as well as one in rural Liberia.

Teacher training - DR Congo We are looking to expand our highly successful and widely respected teacher training project on the Plateau of eastern DR Congo, extending into the Lemera region and building on the incredible gains of our previous work. We aim to train a further 126 teachers & head teachers, providing long-term support through Parent Teacher Associations and making education a key part of communities’ plans by involving parents in their childrens’ education. We have ambitions to start a secondary school programme, and a new initiative to reach a further 25,000 women, men and children with a peace-building, income and empowerment initiative. Reviving primary education - Sierra Leone Our Sierra Leone programme not only delivers teacher training and school management training, but also builds communities’ capacity to identify the root causes of their problems and run microprojects to address them. The project has been so successful that everyone wants to expand it. We have watched

communities deliver projects to improve their schools, kick-start economic activity, and learn about issues such as early marriage – they not only identified these problems, but then delivered the projects to address them! This work really puts communities at the heart of their development as drivers of their own futures. We will also deepen our partnership with the inspirational disability movement WESOFOD and help them to realise their vision of This work needs support inclusive education, care and dignity for If you think you might be in a position every child, no matter to help Children in Crisis fund any of what their ability. the work we are looking to undertake in 2014, please contact me at James Hickman jamesh@childrenincrisis.org Project Funding 020 7627 1040. Manager

33


Why I support

Children in Crisis As the headmaster of Stowe School, it was a great honour to be invited to join the Trustee board of Children in Crisis last year. I fully endorse the work of the charity as it champions the education and protection of children, most particularly in vulnerable communities affected by conflict. Last summer one of Stowe’s students, Najib Afghan, visited the charity’s Community Based Education Centres in Kabul. He returned to school full of enthusiasm for the valuable work being carried out by the charity. He was particularly impressed with the intensive education programme targeting children who have missed vital stages of their primary education and the opportunities for women to learn how to read and write.

Children in Crisis protects and educates children facing the toughest hardships in countries affected by conflict or political instability.

Children in Crisis,

Telephone: (+44) 020 7627 1040

206 – 208 Stewart’s Road

E-mail: info@childrenincrisis.org

London, SW8 4UB

Website: www.childrenincrisis.org

Founder and Life President: Sarah, Duchess of York. Registered office as above. Registered charity No. 1020488. Company No. 2815817.

I feel privileged to be involved with such a transformational and worthwhile charity which does so much to help those who are less fortunate than ourselves. Dr Anthony Wallersteiner Headmaster, Stowe School Trustee, Children in Crisis

Printed on 100% recycled paper

Dr Anthony Wallersteiner assists a child with his homework on a recent visit to Kambia District, Sierra Leone.

Legendary singer-songwriter and voice of Supertramp, Roger Hodgson, launched Stowe’s year of fundraising for Children in Crisis with his best-known hit ‘Give a Little Bit’. With this encouragement to raise funds for the charity, we have supported a variety of pupil initiatives, including a popular ‘Stowe’s got Talent’ competition with a boy band of housemasters.

Children in Crisis, 2013: The Year in Review  

Children in Crisis, a UK-based charity focusing on the education and protection of children in conflict-affected countries, reviews its work...

Advertisement