Page 1

ANNUAL REVIEW 2016-17


Board Members 2016-17

2

Feoffees Mr Paul Lee (Chair) Mr Alan Torevell (Vice Chair) Mr Malcolm Edge (Treasurer) Professor Hannah Barker Dame Alexandra Burslem, DBE Dr Stella Butler The Rt. Hon. The Earl of Derby, DL Mr John Early The Very Reverend Rogers Govender Professor Edward Gregson Dr David Hill Ms Sue Marks Mr Michael Oglesby, CBE, DL Mr Philip Ramsbottom Mr Harry Ross His Honour Colin Kolbert (Honorary Feoffee) Mr Jonathan Aldersley (Clerk and Solicitor to the Feoffees)

School Governors

Library Committee

Dame Alexandra Burslem, DBE (Chair) Mr Malcolm Edge (Treasurer) Mrs Carolyn Baxendale Canon Philip Barratt Dr Bernadette Brennan Ms Amanda Corcoran Councillor Joan Davies Mr Kevin Jaquiss Professor Linda Merrick Mrs Pauline Newman Mr Jeffrey Wainwright Mr Simon Webb

Dr Stella Butler (Chair) Mr Malcolm Edge (Treasurer) Professor Hannah Barker Mr Nicolas Barker, OBE, FBA Professor Joseph Bergin, DLitt, FBA Professor Andrew Biswell Mr John Early Professor Paul Fouracre Mr Philip Ramsbottom Professor Michael Schmidt, OBE, FRSL


3

CHETHAM’S SCHOOL OF MUSIC


Alun Jones - Head

4

I was delighted to join Chetham’s School of Music as Head in September 2016. Aware that I was inheriting an incredible legacy – the largest specialist music school in the UK, with worldclass facilities and a new concert hall on the horizon – I knew that I would have quite a task on my hands. I am pleased to say that I have only been impressed by the warmth, ambition and talent of our students. Their sheer dedication and determination has been so encouraging to see. With over 300 students, from across the UK and around the world, we have a wonderfully diverse student body with their passion and talent for music being their core uniting factor. I am very proud that our students join us based solely on their musical potential, with their personal circumstances never taken into account. This of course makes bursaries such a vital source of support for us and we are thankful for the government’s Music and Dance Scheme which provides financial support for the majority of our UK students. However, our need for bursary support far outstrips this provision and I would like to extend sincere thanks to all those who have financially supported our students in this way in the last year. The musical talent of our students is, quite rightly, often a source of praise but I would also like to highlight just how academically successful our students are. Despite having no academic entry criteria, in the last school year our GCSE students achieved a 64% pass rate at A*-A/9-7 and 94.5% achieved A*-C. Our A-Level students were equally impressive with a 100% pass rate and 73% of results at A*-B. They are excellent results and ones that all students, staff and parents should be proud of. Above all they ensure that our students are able to progress to the finest conservatoires and universities in the world. Of course, the opening of The Stoller Hall was the big talking point in the last year and has seen a real change to how the School works. We are very much looking forward to exploring further the role of the Hall and its position in life at Chetham’s and in Manchester in the next year, and I hope you will join us on this journey.


At a Glance

5

There are

300+

90%

Around of students receive bursary support from the government’s

students at Chetham’s

There is

Music and Dance Scheme while almost

NO

academic entrance criteria

20%

pay nothing at all

Entry is based solely on

musical potential 2017 Exam Results A-level A*– B: 72.6% | A*– C: 92.3% | A*– E: 100%

GCSE A*– A: 63.8% | A*– C: 94.5% | A*– E: 100%

“This is ‘just a school orchestra’? Close your eyes and you couldn’t believe it.” Richard Morrison, The Times


Stephen Threlfall - Director of Music

6

The 2016-17 school year has been an exceptional one once again for the Music and Outreach Departments. The crowning achievement of this was the huge success of the Opening Weekend of The Stoller Hall in April which received a 5* review from The Times critic, Richard Morrison. Students have been involved in over 420 performances over the year, from solo to large symphonic ensembles. The diversity of the music they have undertaken has also been wide ranging with big bands, a session orchestra and the Chetham’s Concert Orchestra which performed at Lichfield and Cheltenham Festivals in the summer, performing the music of Richard Rodgers. Our students continue to have huge success in the audition (CUKAS) process. Many of them have received scholarship offers from conservatoires, whilst others have attained places at major universities with eight students going on to Oxbridge to study. The Outreach Department continues to prosper and develop. The links with the Greater Manchester Hub and other arts organisations such as Manchester Camerata, HallÊ Orchestra and the Manchester School of Theatre have been notable and we look forward to developing these further in the future.


7

Music Programme

Shostakovich String Quartet Cycle 2017 is the centenary year of the Russian Revolution and Chetham’s has marked the occasion with a year-long cycle of all fifteen Shostakovich String Quartets. Performed by superb professional performers, Chetham’s students and musicians from leading conservatoires, this has been a significant task. The cycle was launched in January 2017 with a performance of Quartets No. 1 and 4, alongside a talk from Tristram Hunt. We have since welcomed the renowned Vasara Quartet (Quartets No. 3 and 14); Navarra Quartet (Quartet No. 5); Carducci Quartet (Quartets No. 2 and 15); Royal Academy of Music’s Fitzroy Quartet (Quartet No. 13); Chetham’s students with Barrett Due Institute of Music (Quartet No. 7 and 8); Birmingham Conservatoire’s Cassia Quartet (Quartet No. 12); Chetham’s Koc Quartet (Quartet No. 6) and RNCM Junior Fellow’s Solem Quartet (Quartet No. 10). This has been a huge undertaking and we are grateful to all of the quartets who have helped us deliver this fantastic series of performances. We are also grateful to The Haworth Trust for funding the cycle, which culminates with a final performance by the KUSS Quartet during our Russian October season.

Voices of Remembrance In October 2016, acclaimed actor Vanessa Redgrave joined Chetham’s Sinfonia and composer Laura Rossi for a special performance commemorating the centenary of the First World War. Taking place in the atmospheric setting of Manchester Cathedral, Voices of Remembrance is an orchestral and choral work inspired by ten of the most famous poems of the war, featuring moving and expressive readings by Vanessa Redgrave. Drawing on her research into the First World War, when composing the score for 1916 The Battle of the Somme film for the Imperial War Museum, and drawing on her own family’s personal history, Rossi created a richly evocative work that combines beautiful music with these historically important poems.


Music Programme

8

The Haworth Masterclass Series The Haworth Masterclass Series brings to Manchester some of today’s leading artists from across the world. They work up-close with our students, advising on technique and musical style, in a public forum from which anyone can learn and develop. These are opportunities for our students to gain valuable insight from professional musicians, beyond their normal teaching, and for members of the public to gain an understanding into the learning and practice behind music performance. In 2016-17, we have been delighted to welcome Huw Morgan, Adam Walker, Christoph Richter, Marcus Farnsworth, Alf Richard Kraggerud, Huw Wiggin, Thomas Riebl, Fionnuala Hunt, Paul Lewis, Stephen Hough, Francis Gouton, Ruby Hughes, Robert Cohen, Neil Brand, Chris Parkes, Colin Riley and Beverley Craven for individual masterclass sessions. We are enormously grateful to The Haworth Trust for their support of this series which has also enabled us to offer free tickets to all students and under-18s.

Music Course Each term, Chetham’s undertakes Music Course – a rigorous week of rehearsals leading up to major performances for our ensembles and orchestras. During the year, the three winners of the previous year’s Concerto Competition receive highlycoveted soloist positions at our major ensemble performances.

Autumn Term In October, the Chetham’s Symphony Orchestra was welcomed by the Royal Northern College of Music for a performance conducted by alumnus Paul Mann. The evening included performances of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, Elgar’s Cello Concerto (with solo performance by Chetham’s cellist Linda Heiberga) and Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 2 (with solo performance from Chetham’s pianist Callum McLachlan).

Spring Term This week opened with Opera Extracts, two concerts of operatic and musical repertoire presented by our Sixth Form singers in the Baronial Hall. Our middle school ensemble, Chetham’s Sinfonia, then performed at Manchester Grammar


9

Music Programme

School before we were joined by students from the Barratt Due Institute of Music, Oslo, for a day-long celebration of wind and percussion. The Chetham’s Chamber Orchestra also visited the Great Hall at Lancaster University. Joined by the Men of the Manchester Chamber Choir, and mezzo-soprano Margaret McDonald, they performed Brahms’ Alto Rhapsody whilst Chetham’s violinist, Lia Tang, performed Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1 in D Major, Op. 19. The orchestra then went on to perform at Duke’s Hall, Royal Academy of Music, to close the week.

Summer Term In July, we were thrilled to debut Music Course in The Stoller Hall for the very first time. Chetham’s Symphony Orchestra performed Haydn’s masterpiece The Creation with a trio of guest soloists from Gabrieli Consort & Players: soprano Raphaela Papadakis, tenor Andrew Tortise and bass Ashley Riches. The performance, conducted by Gabrieli’s Founder and Artistic Director, Paul McCreesh, was preceded by a massed rehearsal, led by members of Gabrieli, where members of the public were invited to sing or play along with the musicians. Our junior strings ensemble, Violetta, also visited a number of local primary schools during the week, performing to over 600 children from ages 5-11. Alongside music performances, the ensemble introduced their instruments to the audience and answered questions from the audience. To round off an incredibly busy week, the Chetham’s Concert Orchestra then performed The Sound of his Music: A Celebration of Richard Rodgers. Compered by television personality, Russell Grant, the orchestra performed some of the composer’s most popular songs with celebrated West End singers before travelling to Lichfield and Cheltenham Festivals for two further successful performances.


Outreach Programme

Outreach Programme

10

3,000+

At Chetham’s we believe that everyone should have people impacted by our work the opportunity to actively engage with music learning in a meaningful way. The Outreach Department harnesses Chetham’s resources to create and support those opportunities, often in partnership with other projects delivered organisations such as music education hubs, professional orchestras, arts charities and others.

18

At Chetham’s we actively participate in strategic regional, national and international conversations about music education and seek to play our role in helping young people and the wider community to access music learning opportunities. Just some highlights include:

4 + 12

music hubs music services working directly with us

Partners include Manchester Camerata, The Bridgewater Hall, Nordoff Robbins and The Seashell Trust

James Mayhew Art and Music Project James Mayhew is an artist and illustrator, best known for his Ella Bella Ballerina and Katie books for children. In the run up to the opening of The Stoller Hall at Chetham’s, we worked with three primary schools from the Greater Manchester region, and James, to respond to music through art in a very immediate way. James visited each school and commenced by playing movements from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons whilst painting his response in front of the children. They then had the opportunity to work with James in small groups to respond to the music themselves and produce a large painting, with each school responding to a specific ‘season’ from the musical work. Four of the paintings, one of each season, were then displayed at the Opening Weekend of The Stoller Hall. We received fantastic feedback about this project, the highlight of which was from teachers about students who ordinarily struggle to engage in the classroom but who responded to this project with focus, creativity and commitment.


11

From the Ground Up: City Always Being Rebuilt This project was designed to provide an opportunity for young musicians from across Greater Manchester to come together and play a brand new piece of music which would celebrate Manchester as a region and would be bespoke to the players involved. Each music service in the ten boroughs across Greater Manchester nominated three players they felt would benefit most from this opportunity. Local composer, Michael Betteridge, then composed a piece which each cohort of three was tasked to learn and rehearse. All the groups then came together in April to rehearse and perform over two days at the Opening Weekend of The Stoller Hall. From the moment the first notes sounded in the first rehearsal, the commitment, teamwork and musical ability of the young people involved was overwhelming. The feedback from the young people has been very positive - it was clearly an experience they enjoyed, learned much from and which will create lasting memories for them.

Community Music Each year, a group of around ten Chetham’s students commit to a series of sessions to learn about leading music in community settings. Under the guidance of their tutor, Claire Campbell-Smith, they then make around ten visits to community settings including senior residential care homes, special needs settings and schools, leading interactive workshops using live music. Over 300 people are impacted by this project each year. These are just some of the projects our Outreach Department undertakes. Other projects throughout the year include a performance and workshop by Chetham’s Symphony Orchestra at Crompton House School, Oldham, a music study day for local A-Level students and a baroque music and dance workshop at Saltaire Primary School, Bradford.


Thank You

12

Chetham’s School of Music would like to thank the following for their support of our work this year: School Supporters Albert and Eugenie Frost Music Trust Bob and Elisabeth Boas Friends of Chetham’s The Haworth Trust Ida Carroll Trust Jacana Care Trust Stanley Picker Trust Stoller Charitable Trust Outreach Supporters Arts Council England The Booth Charities Ernest Cook Trust Hargreaves and Ball Trust The Masonic Charitable Foundation The Zochonis Charitable Trust Partners Barratt Due Institute of Music The Hammond School Gabrieli Consort & Players Greater Manchester Music Hub Manchester Camerata MyHub Nordoff Robbins Royal Academy of Music The Seashell Trust Victoria College of Arts

Humphrey Chetham Club Members Alan Torevell (Chair) Laura and Harry Ross (Vice Chair) Castlefield Investment Partners LLP Crowe Clark Whitehill LLP Gail & Ivor de Meza, The Leonard Jerome Charitable Trust Dewhurst Torevell & Co Ltd. East Cheshire Housing Consortium Malcolm Edge and Angela Fletcher Peter and Judy Folkman Mark and Esther Greaves Graham and Vera Hale David Hall Chris and Amanda Hopkinson Peter and Rayna Jackson Brian and Lesley Johnson Glyn Jones John and Yvonne Malley Jim Martin Jean Oglesby, CBE Nigel and Sandra Shepherd SK4 Communications Norman and Lesley Slater Jim Spencer Grant Thornton Martyn and Valerie Torevell Gill Williamson And those who wish to remain anonymous


13

CHETHAM’S LIBRARY


Michael Powell - Chetham’s Librarian

As the oldest public library in the UK, Chetham’s Library is an extraordinary organisation. Housed within buildings dating from 1421 – the oldest and most complete set of buildings in Manchester City Centre – we offer an insight into the medieval roots of Manchester that cannot be discovered anywhere else. The past year has seen the Library undertake a number of exciting projects that have had our collections and heritage at their heart. Beginning with the Arts Councilfunded digitisation project, Ballads of Chetham’s Library, we have also begun the implementation of a new digital archive, thanks to funding from The Booth Charities. Visual art continues to be a strong element to our work, with two exhibitions in the Library, that are designed to increase awareness of, and engagement with, our collections and heritage. With a collection of over 250,000 items, that has been Arts Council Designated as of national and international importance, continual conservation and preservation work is essential if we are to ensure that that these treasures are enjoyed for generations to come. Of course, such a significant collection must also be shared with our communities and so our outreach activities are just as important a strand of our work. We have also spent the last year looking increasingly at our buildings and how we can make them accessible to more people. The recent demolition of the Palatine Building, the old music school, has seen our medieval buildings revealed to the city for the first time in 200 years. This significant project is the first phase in our plans to open up the Library and we must thank Michael Oglesby and The Oglesby Charitable Trust for their generous support of this. We are now working closely with partners to design plans that will firmly establish the Library as a nationally important heritage attraction. We are grateful to all of our supporters who help to make our work happen and ensure that our historic library continues to be enjoyed for many more years to come.

14


15

Collections

Ballads of Chetham’s Library In 2016, we were pleased to receive funding from Arts Council England’s Development Designation Fund to undertake a significant digitisation project with our popular collection of single sheet material comprising broadsides, ballads and printed ephemera. A rarity amongst museum collections, the collection consists largely of 16th – 19th century printed ephemera such as song sheets, posters, proclamations and trade cards, which provide a fascinating insight into our social and political history. Importantly, these items were not created with the intention of surviving as long as they have and so their existence today is all the more incredible. Arts Council funding has enabled us to digitise the majority of this collection and appoint a Project Officer to oversee the project and ensure the collection is enjoyed by as many people as possible. Digitisation of the collection is now complete and the images are in the process of being uploaded to our online catalogue. We have developed partnerships with such organisations as the English Folk Dance and Song Society, University College of Arts and Incline Press to deliver projects across 2017-18 that will see awareness of the collection raised across the community.

The Booth Charities Salford Project Thanks to a significant grant from The Booth Charities, we have begun work to create a new digital library, museum and archive that is available to all. This archive will illuminate our rich collections and bring attention to our resources that have for far too long remained neglected due to a lack of access and awareness. Particular attention will be paid to our extensive collections containing material relating to Eccles, Salford and the surrounding areas, at long last revealing the history of Salford to greater audiences than ever before. We look forward to revealing this archive to the public in the next year and bringing the collections to Salford communities.


Collections

16

Marx and Engels Books In the summer of 1845, philosophers Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels visited Chetham’s Library several times to further their studies on English economics. The alcove at which they studied still draws audiences from across the world today and continues to be a significant point of interest for our visitors. The books that Marx and Engels studied remain in our collection and this year we created facsimiles of them to enhance our visitors’ experience. There was a clear desire from audiences to have more opportunities to handle items from our collections and these exact copies extend the multisensory experience of handling and reading rare books to all of our visitors. The books constitute a collection of eight titles in thirteen volumes and, by also digitising them and making the texts available on our website, we have enabled universal access to these incredible insights into our history. This project was possible thanks to funding from Museum Development North West.

National Manuscripts Conservation Trust We were grateful to receive a grant from the National Manuscripts Conservation Trust. This was to restore and refurbish the seventeen volumes of scrapbooks assembled by W. R. Hay, the magistrate who presided over the trials following the Peterloo Massacre. The collection provides a fascinating insight into one of the most significant moments in the country’s political history through printed newspaper cuttings, manuscript fragments and broadsides. The items had unfortunately become badly damaged over time and this grant will enable us to restore them to their former glory. The funding comes at a particularly pertinent time as interest in the Peterloo Massacre will greatly increase as we approach the 200th anniversary in 2019.


17

Arts & Culture

Arts & Heritage: Meeting Point 2 We were delighted to be named as one of ten museums taking part in the Meeting Point 2 project run by Arts&Heritage and funded by Arts Council England. Meeting Point 2 provides funding, training and support to enable Chetham’s Library to commission a brand new piece of art, inspired by the Library. After a rigorous selection process, we commissioned the artist collective Brass Art (Chara Lewis, Kristin Mojsiewicz and Anneke Pettican, based in Manchester, Glasgow and Huddersfield) to create a new piece of contemporary art responding to, and informed by, the Library and our collections. The work will be revealed in the Library in October 2017 and includes 3D printed and cast sculptures as well as hand-blown glass and special lighting effects. Brass Art will also deliver a series of events and activities to broaden and increase audience engagement during the exhibition.

Manifest Arts Festival As part of the Manifest Arts Festival we welcomed the visual and performance artist Ruby Tingle to the Library to perform her show Ermine from 5-7 July. Ruby created an installation piece, with specially-composed soundtrack, in the Reading Room that reflected on and responded to the Library space.


Arts & Culture

18

Biological Hermeneutics From 29 July - 26 August 2017 we hosted an exhibition of work by artist Sarah Craske, a trans-disciplinary artist who works at the intersection of art, science and technology. Sarah has subjected a 300-year-old copy of Ovid’s Metamorphoses to a process of scientific enquiry, revealing unseen narratives about how the book has been used and read, and produced a series of large-scale prints that was displayed in the Grade II-listed Waterhouse Building. The exhibition was open six days a week and we worked with Sarah to deliver outreach events and workshops to attract a wider and more diverse audience. The exhibition premiered at Chetham’s Library and will go on to be shown at other venues around the world.

Manchester After Hours In May we took part once again in Manchester After Hours, the city-wide celebration of ‘odd couplings’ which presents art and music in unusual cultural venues. Part of the National Museums at Night initiative, the evening at Chetham’s Library featured a programme of electronic music by Dutch musician Wouter van Veldhoven curated by award-winning Manchester venue Soup Kitchen.


19

Acquisitions

We continue to expand our collections through acquisitions and donations. Highlights of the past year include:

The Heywood Collection

Sir Benjamin Heywood and his family made their fortune through the Heywood Bank, on St Ann’s Square, and were significant supporters of Chetham’s having funded the entire restoration of Chetham’s Hospital in the 1880s. The family’s archive was donated to the Library by Sir Peter Heywood, 6th Baronet, and features a wealth of journals, diaries and letters relating to politics, culture, business and religion. There are a number of outstanding treasures, not least an album of celebrity autographs, which contains letters by the Duke of Wellington, Charles Dickens, William Wilberforce, George Sand, Thomas Jefferson and George Washington. Other material includes an eye-witness account of the battle of Waterloo and a 1794 document of the Government of the Republic signed by Napoleon Bonaparte himself.

Sir Edward William Watkin Collection

Sir Edward William Watkin (1819-1901), was a Member of Parliament and railway entrepreneur. Geoffrey Scargill, a Chetham’s volunteer, facilitated the donation of his collection which includes two exquisitely crafted snuff boxes - one made of gold and studded with diamonds and the other made of ivory - and the Library’s first Egyptian antiquities: a ring and a small scarab beetle amulet.

Agecroft Collection

We also received an accession to our significant Agecroft collection from a descendant of the Dauntesey family now living in Perthshire. The Daunteseys owned Agecroft Hall from the sixteenth century until 1925, when it was sold at auction and transported to Richmond, Virginia, where it is now the home of an educational trust. The documents date from the mid eighteenth century to the early twentieth century, and include title deeds and a beautifully ornamented licence to change the name granted to John Buck in 1863.

Cass Collection

Scholar and bibliophile Eddie Cass collected books on many subjects – coal mining, canals, folklore and cookery, all of which were connected with his love of, and interest in, the history of the North West. The collection comprises nearly 300 titles beginning with novels of national significance, such as Harriet Martineu’s 1832 work The Strike, and continuing up until 1971 with Gillian Avery’s children’s work A Likely Lad. Most date from the second half of the nineteenth century.

David Blamires Collection

We have also been given three fantastic collections from one of our regular collaborators, the scholar David Blamires. These include an almost complete run of King Penguins, a collection of children’s books relating to Christmas and to the Nutcracker and a wonderful set of books printed for children on the subject of the First World War.


Partnerships

20

The Poetry of the Lancashire Cotton Famine (1861-65) is an Arts and Humanities Research Council-funded research project, of which Chetham’s Library is a key partner. The project builds on recent interest in labouring-class literature and will bring together contemporary local newspapers, as well as archival material and pamphlets, broadsheets and collections to form a fully searchable database with accompanying bibliographical information, annotations, essays, and sound files. A Million Pictures is a project based at Exeter University that seeks to preserve and make available valuable and irreplaceable historic images produced as lantern slides. Exeter academics will digitise images from five museums around the country and make them available on the Lucerna Magic Lantern Web Resource open access database. Through this project our collection of c. 3,500 magic lantern slides has been digitised over the last year. As part of the Manchester Literary Festival 2016, we welcomed author Gavin McRae for a reading of his latest book Mrs Engels. In association with Carcanet Press, we welcomed critically-acclaimed poet and publisher Stanley Moss, for a reading of his works, in March 2017. We are also grateful to have worked with Manchester Science Festival, Sofar Sounds, First Draft, Curious Things, the HiDDEN Network of Small Museums in Manchester and Salford and Maggie’s Centre over the year.


21

Thank You

The work of Chetham’s Library over the last year would not have been possible without the support of the following individuals and organisations.

Supporters

29th May 1961 Charitable Trust Alan and Barbara Torevell Arts & Heritage Arts Council England Association of Independent Museums The Booth Charities The Hulme Estates Trust Jude O’Mara Lipman-Miliband Trust Members of the Humphrey Chetham Club Museum Development North West National Manuscripts Conservation Trust The Oglesby Charitable Trust The Patrons of Chetham’s Library

Acquisitions

Geoffrey Scargill Sir Peter Heywood, 6th Baronet Eddie Cass David Blamires Vistor Services Volunteers John Swain Pauline Mann Marjorie Bendel Lynne Percival Val Moreland Gill Williamson David Dasiewicz Sally Revington Gaby Harrison Kathleen Zwierink David Tarver Kirsty Latham Christine Underwood Keith Washington Joel Swann Evie Hull Morag Dasiewicz Curatorial Volunteers Vicki Worthington Patti Collins Libby Tempest Jane Mathieson Paul Carpenter Robert Nicholls Jane Ward


THE STO L L E R HALL


23

Richard Hartwell - General Manager

The Stoller Hall is a world-class venue for performance and learning at the heart of cultural life in Manchester. With state-of-the-art acoustics developed by industry leading consultants Arup, The Stoller Hall is a performance space second to none. What’s more, the acoustics are adjustable which allows for a huge range of performance activity, symbiotically benefiting visiting artists, audiences and the School with a 21st century concert experience. The Stoller Hall artistic programme encompasses a broad range of performance activity, from classical, contemporary, jazz, folk and spoken word events. Our ambition is to present a diverse and high quality programme whilst also using our facilities to increase our impact with the community. The Hall will allow the Chetham’s Outreach Programme to expand as we will feature a number of Outreach projects throughout the year alongside community and amateur ensembles. We have only been open since April 2017 but have already experienced some incredible moments. My personal highlight was to see the Hall filled with audiences new and old for the Royal Opening Concert - a moment of pride for all involved who have worked so hard to make the Hall a reality. Of course, I must take a moment to thank Sir Norman Stoller and the Stoller Charitable Trust for their tremendous generosity towards this project. Quite simply, The Stoller Hall would not have been possible without them. Their support will be felt for many years to come as we see the real difference the Hall will make for music engagement, not just for the School, but for the North West and the nation. I am hugely excited by our plans for the future and the opportunities that are already presenting themselves. I hope that you will remain with us on this journey as The Stoller Hall goes from strength to strength.


Opening Weekend

24


25

Opening Weekend

The Stoller Hall Opening Weekend From 21-23 April 2017, Chetham’s opened The Stoller Hall with a grand opening weekend of events. The weekend showcased the variety and excellence of Chetham’s whilst also giving audiences a flavour as to what to expect from the Hall’s artistic programme. Friday On Friday 21 April we were delighted to welcome BBC Radio 3’s In Tune for a live broadcast from inside the Hall featuring performances from, and interviews with, alumni Gwilym Simcock, Gabriella Swallow and David Hill. In the evening, jazz pianist Gwilym Simcock then took to the stage with guitarist Mike Walker and violinist Thomas Gould for an evening of musical innovation. Saturday The Saturday saw an ensemble of Chetham’s staff perform the three completed sonatas from Debussy’s cycle in The Carole Nash Hall. The specially-staged performances were accompanied by new choreography from dancers at the Victoria College of Arts, Melbourne, and The Hammond School, Cheshire. The Navarra String Quartet continued our Shostakovich String Quartet Cycle with a performance in The Stoller Hall of Quartet No. 5 whilst cellist Gabriella Swallow joined us for two performances with her Urban Family, a gathering of dynamic musicians, in The Oglesby Atrium. The day was then rounded off by comedian Ted Robbins who compered a special performance from the Chetham’s Big Band. Sunday The weekend came to a close with Sunday’s Royal Opening and we were thrilled to welcome our Royal Patron, His Royal Highness, The Earl of Wessex, to officially open The Stoller Hall. Guests were welcomed with canapés and a glass of fizz to toast the Hall before the final performance of the weekend began. The first half saw the Director of Music, Stephen Threlfall, conduct the Chetham’s Chamber Orchestra and Manchester Chamber Choir as they performed a brand new fanfare, Fanfare for a New Era, specially-composed by acclaimed composer Edward Gregson in honour of the Hall’s Founding Patron, Sir Norman Stoller. This was followed by music from Walton’s Henry V, with actor Samuel West as narrator, and Brahms’ Alto Rhapsody, with alumnus Kitty Whately as soloist. The second half was then conducted by music star Sir Mark Elder who led an orchestra comprised of Chetham’s friends, alumni and guest players. Alumnus Paul Lewis joined the orchestra for Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in Bb, Op. 19 before a rousing finale of Ginastera’s Variaciones Concertantes.

The Opening Weekend was the perfect opportunity to thank all those who have made The Stoller Hall possible, in particular Sir Norman Stoller and the Stoller Charitable Trust, but it only marked the beginning of our journey. The weekend also launched our Opening Season which was packed full of performances covering the breadth of music and performance.


26

Highlights in The Stoller Hall’s Opening Season included: Powerhouse or Poorhouse: What is the Future for the Arts in Manchester? An expert panel, including delegates from HOME, National Trust Quarry Bank Mill and Manchester Museum, was led by Felicity Goodey CBE in a lively debate, organised by The Manchester Literary and Philosophical Society. The panel discussed the implications of the Northern Powerhouse on arts and culture in Manchester.

The Will to Live: From Process to Performance As part of Manchester Camerata’s UpClose series, Camerata players were joined by Chetham’s students as they explored Rudolf Karel’s Nonet in front of an intimate audience onstage.

Beggars of Life The Dodge Brothers (Mike Hammond, Mark Kermode, Aly Hirji and Alex Hammond) joined forces with silent film pianist Neil Brand to create a live soundtrack to a screening of the classic 1927 silent film Beggars of Life. Previously performed at The British Silent Cinema Festival, the Barbican and The BFI Southbank, the performance has received glowing reviews.

Beverley Craven with Simon Willescroft BRIT-award winning singer Beverley Craven joined us in June to celebrate almost thirty years’ worth of chart success. Beverley was joined by the saxophonist Frank Mead and the Chetham’s Session Band and Vocalists for a fantastic evening of performance.


Thank You

27

We are grateful for the support of all who have helped us reach the Opening Weekend and beyond of The Stoller Hall Founding Sponsor Stoller Charitable Trust

Concert Hall Supporters

Encore! Capital Supporters

Garfield Weston Foundation Sir Robert McAlpine Ltd. Sir Siegmund Warburg’s Voluntary Settlement Kirby Laing Foundation Beaverbrooks Charitable Trust Constance Travis Charitable Trust The Hobson Charity Jacana Care Trust

Members of the Humphrey Chetham Club Name a Seat Donors Donors to the Round of Applause campaign All donors who wish to remain anonymous

Opening Weekend Supporter Friends of Chetham’s

We are grateful to: Arup Hilary Boulding, Principal: Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama Penny Early Sir Mark Elder Peter Horridge, Graphite Design Grant Mitchell, Transmission Creative Claire Moreland Michael Oglesby, Bruntwood Armelle Rainjonneau, The Bridgewater Hall Nick Reed Sir Robert McAlpine stephenson STUDIO Theatre Projects Jonathan Vaughan, Guildhall School of Music & Drama

Corporate Sponsor Watson Lennard & Payne Ltd Grape and Grain Catering


www.chethams.com

Registered charity no. 526702

Chetham's School of Music, Chetham's Library & The Stoller Hall Annual Review 2016/17  
Chetham's School of Music, Chetham's Library & The Stoller Hall Annual Review 2016/17  
Advertisement