Page 4

Publisher CEO Global (Pty) Ltd Tel: 0861 CEO MAG Fax: (012) 667 6624 Tel: 012 667 6623 info@ceomag.co.za www.ceomag.co.za

Chief Executive Annelize Wepener annelizew@ceomag.co.za

who’s who in the zoo

of Shared Prosperity

2017/2018

Power The

GLOBAL Expand your business Horizon

Director: Strategic Development & Editor in Chief Valdi Pereira valdip@ceomag.co.za Director: Corporate & Financial Services Carl Wepener carlw@ceomag.co.za Manager: Office of the Chief Executive Anne Anderson annea@ceomag.co.za General Manager: Global Services George Wepener georgew@ceomag.co.za

General Manager: Global Media Services/ Head of Production Channette Raath channetter@ceomag.co.za Designer Heather Stobbe heathers@ceomag.co.za

Journalist Andrew Ngozo andrewn@ceomag.co.za

Intra-African trade accounts for a paltry 16 per cent of the continent’s trade volumes. And that is before discordant standards codes and other barriers come into the mix. All this is supposedly done in the name of national interest and sovereignty. Yet experience teaches us otherwise. Far from creating islands of prosperity, years of protectionism have led to a slow but gradual decline for everybody. South Africa, arguably the most advanced economy on the continent, is today struggling, with a youth unemployment rate close to 30%. Yet it remains largely closed to the rest of the continent, even as it seeks to trade there. A way forward is for African leaders to realise the value of shared prosperity. Contrary to what many believe, intra-African trade can give the continent a healthy degree of insularity from global shocks. The numbers speak for themselves. Intra-African trade is a $6 trillion opportunity in the near term and more than USD12 trillion over the horizon. But this is going to require transforming existing mindsets, bringing down trade barriers and easing the movement of people between states. Rwanda offers a good example of the benefits of opening up. A small landlocked country in the heart of Africa, it was an early adopter of initiatives such as concessional trade. Rwanda is one of the most open countries in Africa to foreign workers, bridging critical skills gaps. The national economy has continued to expand, industrialisation is gathering pace and more importantly, the national budget is edging towards parity.

Continental Project Administrators Rumbi Chanda rumbic@ceomag.co.za CEO Class Administrator Mandisa Mnguni mandisam@ceomag.co.za

Manager: Corporate Support Raymond Mauelele raymondm@ceomag.co.za

* No article or part of an article may be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of the publisher. The information provided and opinions expressed in this publication are provided in good faith but do not necessarily represent the opinions of the publisher or editor. All reasonable efforts have been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained in this publication. However, neither the publisher nor the editor can be held legally liable in any way for damages of any kind whatsoever arising directly or indirectly from any facts or information provided or omitted in these pages, or from any statements made in or withheld by this publication.

02

Profile for CEO Global

MIW Regional Digital Magazine 2017  

Africa’s Most Influential Women in Business and Government – this annual publication showcases Africa’s most influential women across the co...

MIW Regional Digital Magazine 2017  

Africa’s Most Influential Women in Business and Government – this annual publication showcases Africa’s most influential women across the co...

Profile for ceoglobal
Advertisement