Page 1

Resident Annual Review 2017 - 2018

Central & Cecil Housing Trust | Cecil House, 266 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8RQ 020 7922 5300 | enquiries@ccht.org.uk | www.ccht.org.uk


Contents Welcome 4 Our year in summary 6 Our new values 10 Services that inspire Service Hub 16 C&C Direct 18 Housing 22 Care 28 Homes for health & happiness Asset Management 38 Development 42 55 London 46 People doing their best HR & Workplace Culture 52 Resident Engagement 56 Creative Arts & Activities 60 C&Cycle 62 Innovation & Technology 66 Money to invest Finance 72 Value For Money 78 Fundraising 81 Governance 82 Closing words 88 Key Contacts 91 3


Welcome A letter from Julia, our Chief Executive Dear Residents, Welcome to our 2017-18 Resident’s Annual Review. It is fair to say that the year 2017-18 has been one of the most substantial years of change that C&C has been through in decades. This was needed in order to deliver better future services as set out in our ‘Fit Future’ strategy. We know that a good number of our residents experienced a reduction in service whilst we embarked on this change for which we sincerely apologise. We have a very capable and motivated team now in place and they are starting making a real impact. We are delighted to have started our two new services that should improve our resident experience: C&C Direct, our own in-house repairs service, providing C&C trained and vetted staff who have the right values to respond quickly to repairs and get things fixed – the motto that you will see on their shirts is ‘See-it Fix-it’ and we have some lovely positive feedback from residents and staff already. Service Hub, where a team of dedicated staff are available to answer our phones straight away and deal with resident enquiries from start to finish. This team is just developing and we are expecting great things. The team is already providing a single point of management for all C&C complaints, making sure that all feedback is responded to in a timely and consistent manner. 4


We are as ever totally committed to making sure that our residents’ voice is at the centre of the things that we do. During the year, Residents were invited to a series of Roadshows and the feedback helped us to shape the priorities for our new services. These Roadshows will continue twice a year in the future. Residents are also working more closely with our Board through our new ‘Service Scrutiny’ and ‘People, Performance and Change’ panels, really influencing the strategic and operational priorities and monitoring performance. This coming year, we are focussing on getting our Resident ‘Service Review’ and ‘Service Development’ panels up and running, and on providing residents with more performance information about their scheme so that effective scheme planning can take place. Recently, staff, residents and some of our partner organisations had the opportunity to relax together as one team at our C&Cycle event. It was so exciting to cycle around our different schemes and meet so many people, all within one day. There were many exciting things happening and lots of different ways that everyone engaged in being fit and healthy – what a great day to mark the end of all that has happened last year and our move on to a much ‘Fitter Future’. Thanks all and I look forward to being able to get out more this year and to working alongside you all in 2018-19. Kind Regards,

Julia Ashley Chief Executive

5


Our year in summary

Money

Annual turnover £26,649,000

New funding agreed

Homes Development programme 168 homes

(20 due to compete in 2018 and 2 completed)

Property safety checks 98.4%

£20,000,000

(subject to completion)

Efficiency savings £1,100,000

(included into the 2018 - 2019 budget)

6

People New staff recruited 106

(this includes 3 of the 5 directors, there are 442 employees in total)

Residents engaged in our activities

(100% in asbestos, gas & Legionella tests & fire risk assessments)

500+

Spend on our C&C properties

Resident satisfaction

£1,640,000

(94% peak September 2017 and a 70% low November 2017)

82% average


7


Our properties C&C owns and manages 2000 properties within 16 London boroughs. The majority of our properties are in Central and West London.

BERKSHIRE

WORK IN PROGRESS

SURREY

8


WORK IN PROGRESS

9


Our new values Together our staff redefined C&C’s values. They were developed alongside our ‘Fit Future’ strategy and launched in 2017. C&C staff worked to redefine our values to match the ‘Fit Future’ strategy. Launched in 2017, these values underpin C&C’s behaviour – as individuals and as a business. They are a tool for residents and staff to refer to in decisionmaking, communication and the management of colleagues and services. New “WOW Awards” enable residents and staff to nominate C&C employees whom they believe best exemplify these values, which is easily done via the C&C website. INVEST IN EACH OTHER

HAVE THE COURAGE TO ACT

DO IT FROM THE HEART NEW VALUES

BELIEVE IN BETTER 10

BE A PIONEER


“When I spot something that is not right, or when I make a mistake, I sort it out straight away. Sometimes it is not easy, but I always have the courage to act”

“I like to make sure that I am the best I can be and go the extra mile every day to make someone’s day. I also really appreciate it when someone does something nice for me, that way we are investing in each other”

“I enjoy my job and I really care about our residents having the best service. I do it from the heart”

“I like to do a good job, but there is always room for improvement, I always believe in better and look for ways to improve, through better processes, communication and teamwork.”

“I am empowered to take my own initiative and be a pioneer – this means that I can try something new, or do something different to solve a problem. I share what I have done with others; the ones that have worked, and those that didn’t so that we can all learn from them”

Be a pioneer. We expect our staff to be creative, innovative, rock the boat and challenge the status quo. Believe in better. Introducing leaner processes, believe things that can always be improved, change the way we all feedback and see it as an opportunity to grow. Do it from the heart. Whatever you do, do it with compassion, integrity and care. Investing in each other. Going above traditional development such as training and coaching. We support each other’s emotional and psychological well-being. Have the courage to act. Don’t be afraid to challenge, embrace mistakes and learn from them. Be confident to make the small gestures that can change someone’s day. 11


Robert Ellis-Hawke in his C&C home. 12


Services that inspire

13


Services that inspire “C&C: Exclusively for over 55s in London”

Queens Court care home in Windsor was handed over to another care provider in December 2017.

C&C’s Head of Service Hub is recruiting a team and developing the new resident concierge service.

We launched an incentive offering free smart tablets to any of our residents who sign up for direct debit payments.

14

“Our responsive London concierge service is available to all residents”

There are currently 257 residents registered with a C&C digital account.

“We see & fix our resident repairs straight away”


We spent an average of £194 per involved sheltered resident and £278 per involved care home resident on our activities programme.

“We enhance the customer experience through a diverse programme of events and activities”

We decided that another reputable provider would be better placed to manage our 3 nursing care homes in Merton and the sales process is underway.

Our in-house repairs service C&C Direct was officially launched and started to deliver a service to our residents in May 2018.

27% of sheltered residents and 72% of care residents get involved in C&C activities.

“Our specialist dementia residential homes are best in class”

We received our first ‘Outstanding’ for ‘Well-led’ rating for our Cecil Court care home in Kew.


Service Hub We are making our first steps towards our ‘Fit Future’ resident concierge service, Service Hub. Service Hub will revolutionise the customer experience for our residents. The aim of the Hub is to create a single point of contact for all resident enquiries. This will improve the quality of C&C customer care, as well as ensuring that our response is always consistent. To ensure that we focus on the things that are most important to our residents, our team have visited a number of our schemes to talk to residents directly about how the Hub will operate. One of the most frequent concerns raised was how residents contact C&C by telephone. The Hub will ensure that staff are reached by phone in a timely manner and without using an automated system. The team have already revised the complaints handling procedure, this is the first resident service from the Hub to go live for residents. If front line housing staff are unable to resolve a complaint or enquiry in the first instance, this is now fed back into the Hub and registered. Our dedicated team will then ensure that enquiries are dealt with in accordance to our C&C policies and

16


procedures. C&C is currently recruiting for a number of posts within the Hub to bring the complete service forward. The Hub team will attend scheme meetings and Roadshows to get to know our residents better. Team contact details will be available for residents on all scheme notice boards. If you have any ideas or feedback on services you would like to see the Hub operating, you can contact our team on 020 7922 5300. Re-design how our customers access our services by telephone and email. This was a re-occurring focus in resident’s feedback. Service Hub goes live! Residents have access to a range of services through our team.

Start recruitment; immediate action to be taken and seek to fill our key posts in 2018.

Work with residents (through panels, meetings, the Roadshows & customer satisfaction surveys) and use their feedback received to develop our service.

Ensure a close working relationship with C&C Direct to create an effective and responsive repairs service.

Our residents will be able to do all of the following (and more) through the new Service Hub: • report repairs • report anti-social behaviour • pay their rent • speak to a member of staff about any enquiry

• make a service request • raise a complaint • find out what is going on in C&C • find out how to get involved with C&C 17


Our repairs team completed 2,552 jobs for our residents last year. Money spent on day to day repairs and maintenance:

ÂŁ866,000

Money spent on planned and major repair work:

ÂŁ784,000

Total maintenance spend on repair work:

ÂŁ1,640,000

Customer satisfaction with repairs:

83%

Average number of days to complete a repair:

4.4

Repairs completed on target (including emergency, urgent and routine jobs):

78% 18


C&C Direct Our repairs team has been building our in-house service; C&C Direct. C&C Direct was first piloted in 2016. A re-structure of the repairs and property services team was put in place mid last year and new appointments were made. C&C Direct was developed into a reality in December 2017 and launched to our residents in May 2018. Bringing our repairs team in-house has allowed our housing team to refresh our maintenance service, improving the quality of workmanship and service we offer our residents. C&C Direct now book in repairs at times most convenient to our residents. We also encourage our team to ‘See it, Fix it’ and complete any other minor repairs they find whilst on site, avoiding repeat visits. Through a reduction of repeat visits and improved control of our costs, C&C Direct offers greater value for money to both our residents and our business. Whilst the large majority of our repairs will be conducted by our C&C Direct team, more specialist or large-scale works will be supported by a subcontractors. Our team looks forward to working closely with our residents through the Service Development panel and resident Roadshows over the course of this year to further develop our service.

19


Brian Brassington admiring the garden he helps to look after. 20


Housing Over the last financial year we introduced a new housing service. The Housing department has been restructured and C&C’s service has been repositioned. This has been done to deliver the efficient & effective housing services outlined in the “Fit Future� strategy and to support the development of Service Hub and C&C Direct. This new housing service operates under 4 core teams, each led by a Portfolio Manager.

SERVICE HUB

C&C DIRECT

These changes were made in a timely and considered way, though were not without their challenges. Some staff changed roles and places of work and others left C&C. Residents are now getting to know the new team and helping us put the new service in place through engagement and feedback. Staff and resident consultations were carried out, supported by a series of resident Roadshows. The Roadshows gave residents an opportunity to have wideranging and frank discussions with C&C decision makers on the restructure, services and business practice. By the end of the financial year most of the changes were completed and all the new posts were filled. Our intention for this year is to settle the newly established service and refine the changes that have been put in place. 22


Safeguarding

28

28

28 safeguarding cases were reported to the local authority in the last financial year.

All of these were fully investigated by the local authority and C&C staff.

100%

Anti-social Behaviour

48

There were 48 recorded cases of anti-social behaviour that were opened in the last financial year.

9

In addition, there were 9 that were carried over from the previous year.

56

Of these 57 open cases, 56 were successfully closed within the year.

All of our housing staff have been fully trained in managing and monitoring ‘Safeguarding’ and ‘Anti Social Behaviour’ issues.

Our residents’ safety has been always been our number one priority. We are committed to understanding residents’ ongoing experience with us and the careful monitoring and management safety matters. C&C has equipped the housing team to be able to deal with safeguarding and anti-social behaviour (ASB) issues effectively and professionally. All staff have been trained either face-to-face or through an online module. We see this year as an opportunity to get to know our residents better. We are capturing information on all of our resident’s care & support needs, inactivity checking and contact preferences, all in line with the new data protection regulations. Our team works closely with our Resident Engagement department and is looking forward to developing a resident volunteer programme. We want our residents to have greater involvement in, and control of, our services. We hope this new programme will increase our residents’ satisfaction and support them in having a healthy, active lifestyle. 23


Housing structure Meet our housing team For site specific enquiries please contact your local Officers or your Portfolio Manager in the first instance. The C&C housing team:

020 7922 5300 enquiries@ccht.org.uk

Repairs enquiries (C&C Direct): Repairs enquiries (Out Of Hours):

080 0121 8742 080 0533 5719

Anti-social behaviour (Respect Line):

080 0075 6699

ADA COURT & EDNA HOUSE TRACEY MORGAN Portfolio Manager tracey.morgan@ccht.org.uk 077 4744 6900

CHRIS ROBERTS Head, Housing

24

OLDFIELD ESTATE & RACKSTRAW HOUSE

VIVIAN COURT, PHILIP HOUSE & CLEVE ROAD

RICARDO MORESCO Portfolio Manager ricardo.moresco@ccht.org.uk 077 3487 0068

LOUIZA CHRONOPOULOS Portfolio Manager louiza.chronopoulos@ccht.org.uk 077 5393 0879

HOUSING OFFICERS, SERVICES OFFICERS, SU OTHER SITE STAFF (C&C & CONTRACT) INCL. CARET


JULIA ASHLEY Chief Executive

YVONNE ATKINSON Director of Service

CHRIS ROBERTS Head of Housing

SW LONDON SCHEMES BRETT SEATH Portfolio Manager brett.seath@ccht.org.uk 077 9329 6823

ALEXANDRA PLACE Martin Gooding / Ruth McEwan Manager (Job Share)

JENNY BERBECK Anti Social Behaviour Officer

PPORT OFFICERS, SHELTERED OFFICERS. AKERS, GARDENERS, CLEANERS, REPAIR STAFF

25


Brigette Daniel, William Pendergast, Mary Harding & John Swords sing in the C&C Resident Choir. 26


The CQC, Care Quality Commission, inspected our care homes and awarded C&C with three improved ratings.

Carter House ‘Good’ CQC rating January 2017 (personal care, nursing, dementia care)

Compton Lodge

Rathmore House

Cecil Court

‘Good’ CQC rating January 2018

‘Good’ CQC rating February 2018

(personal care)

(dementia care)

‘Good’ CQC rating ‘Outstanding’ for ‘well led’ June 2018 (personal care, respite care, dementia care)

Woodlands House ‘Good’ CQC rating June 2017 (personal care, nursing, dementia care) 28

Link House

Homemead

‘Good’ CQC rating February 2018

‘Requires Improvement’ CQC rating August 2017

(personal care, nursing, dementia care)

(dementia care)


Care Out ‘Fit Future’ goal is to ensure that our homes are best in class. We have developed and strengthened our care team to make sure that service delivery excellence is our focus. It has been a busy year for our care team. C&C has brought in a number of specialist roles to ensure that the team is supported and able to focus solely on the delivery of excellent services for our care home residents. We are always looking at new ways to improve our service and give our residents a better quality of life. We have been researching different models of exemplary dementia care and have been looking at how we can incorporate these learnings into our own services. Good service is good business sense. By improving the quality of our homes and service we are attracting new residents and filling our beds more quickly. 86% of our residents were satisfied with our service. We are passionate about introducing innovations that will allow us to cater for a wide spectrum of people living with dementia. This last year saw the successful fundraising, by both residents and staff, for four Tovertafel magic tables. Tovertafel creates moments of happiness for people living with dementia; it is an interactive light artwork and game that is projected onto a table surface. We look forward to installing these in our care homes in 2018. Since the end of the financial year we have had a fantastic summer full of parties and fĂŞtes. This was a beautiful time where residents, their families and our staff have been able to come together to enjoy some pleasant time in our blooming gardens and the summer sunshine. 29


We have received a number of online reviews for our care homes that we are very proud of. Here is a sample of our favourites.

“The staff at Carter House are fantastic, they have a positive attitude and wonderful empathy for the residents. Their skill and dedication to the smallest detail made Mum’s stay as comfortable as possible.” Richard, (CareHome.co.uk)

“Compton Lodge has been a very positive move for Dad: he is physically stronger, sleeping better and overall calmer.” Christina, (CareHome.co.uk)

30


“I have been a resident of Rathmore House for 6 years. I have been more than happy with the level of care and assistance I have been shown throughout my stay here. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The catering arrangements I have always found to be more than satisfactory. I can always order something different if I do not care for the set menu. The staff here have become like a family to me and I do appreciate all that they do for me.” John, (CareHome.co.uk)

“The home is well run by a professional and responsive management team. They treat residents as individuals and collaborate effectively with families. Staff show genuine care for residents, work hard and are well trained. Despite my mother’s complex needs, Cecil Court has gone above and beyond it’s residential remit to keep her safe and well, while retaining her dignity. ” Alex, (CareHome.co.uk)


32


One of our regular ‘Cocktails In Care Homes’ parties at Rathmore House. 34


Homes for health & happiness

35


Homes for health & happiness

“We operate a balanced portfolio of housing that meets the over 55s market aspirations”

We have developed 2 flats for sale in Waterloo this year.

We have 20 new retirement flats in Wimbledon nearing completion for sale.

81% of residents would recommend C&C as a place to live. (March 2018)

92% of residents were satisfied with their neighbourhood as a place to live. (March 2018)

“We offer elegant, meaningful and adaptable homes” 36

We are building specially designed ‘Over 55s’ apartments. 176 apartments will be provided at our Ridgmount and Dora House developments.


1,241 devices are connected to our free C&C residents WiFi so far.

100% of our C&C homes and schemes are covered with our free residents WiFi

“Our Homes are connected so that our residents have control over their environment”

We have a new Asset Management strategy in place with plans for investment over the next 10 years.

We are looking at ways to make our homes more energy efficient, using renewable energy sources wherever possible and cost effective.

“We care for our impact on our environment”

We have a new Development Strategy in Place.

55+

We are about to launch our new 55 London brand.


Asset Management At the heart of our strategy is our intention to provide our residents with safe, warm and comfortable homes that offer value for money for both residents and our business. We acknowledge that last year some residents experienced service disruption for which we are truly sorry. Our new Asset Management strategy launched in 2018 provides a better planned approach the management and upgrading of our properties.. We have and will continue to focus our investment on the things that we

38

ASSET MANAGEMENT STRATEGY


Safe, warm, comfortable and cost effective homes for C&C residents

know matter the most to our residents. This includes safety, heating and good building infrastructure (that includes plumbing, electrics, lifts and fire alarms). From this year and beyond we will continue to maintain and invest in our assets in an effective and costefficient way whilst maximising the resources we have.

Well maintained, sustainable and accessible homes to be provided for our core client group

Energy efficient homes using renewable energy sources wherever possible and cost effective

Value for Money is important to us and is achieved by maintaining a balance between the cost, quality and the timing of any maintenance works. The Asset Management team will ensure that we will: • Deliver a planned investment programme to improve our C&C buildings and homes

Meet ongoing expectations and make the best use of our existing and new properties

• Re-evaluate how C&C maintains and replaces our assets in the most cost effective manner

All of our C&C homes and properties are checked to be compliant with all regulatory and legal requirements

• Survey the condition of 1 in 5 of our C&C properties every year • Work with the development team to ensure that C&C’s buildings are being used in the best way to meet our customer’s requirements • Support our C&C Direct service

Provide flexible solutions and tenure choices for our residents aged 55+

55+

• Consult with our residents on any large maintenance works 39


Mary Harding & Martin Shirley take a moment to enjoy the Primrose Hill view during their sponsored walk for C&Cycle. 40


41


“The redevelopment of Dora House will provide 156 new apartments for ‘Over 55s’.” - Deb Thomas, Head of Development

42


Development It has been an exciting year in Development at C&C with significant progress across a number of projects. Our development strategy was signed off by our Board in May 2018. It sets out C&C’s vision for development for the next 10 years. Our plans include the development of new properties, the major refurbishment of existing schemes and the transformation of properties to 55 London or C&C Innovations Ltd. to deliver homes for a wider range of residents.

Ridgmount Apartments is a new building containing 20 high quality apartments for sale to those aged 55+. Sales will be made under our subsidiary C&C Innovations Ltd. All sales proceeds will be reinvested into C&C Housing Trust. The development is progressing well on site and is due for completion this Autumn. Our estate agent has had multiple enquiries about the apartments which we are hoping will sell quickly.

Dora House Redevelopment will provide 139 affordable rent and 17 market rent apartments to be provided by C&C Housing Trust. This project has remained a key focus for the team. Formal planning permission was obtained in July 2017 and the Heads of Terms signed with our chosen development partner in December 2017. Once the contracts are signed, C&C will commence finalising the details of the design and start the demolition of the existing building.

This year C&C secured planning permission for two new schemes; Glenmore Road and The Compasses.

239 Waterloo Road, a refurbishment creating two self-contained flats for sale from one property, was completed in March 2018.

We are currently looking at how we can best use these properties to meet the objectives of C&C’s ‘Fit Future’ strategy.

One flat has been sold and the sale of the other has been agreed. All sales proceeds are being reinvested into C&C Housing Trust. 43


A digital illustration of the new Ridgmount Apartments in Wimbledon. 44


45


55 London 55 London, our new charitable housing provide for ‘Over 55s’ has the aim of providing accommodation to a wider range of customers. To enable C&C to enhance it’s offering, 55 London will be introduced to provide housing for those aged 55+ who might not otherwise had access to our accommodation – either through not meeting a qualifying criteria through the local council or being unable to meet high market rent levels. Our ‘Over 55s’ accommodation will provide properties at below full market rent levels and accessible to those on partial housing benefit or unable to access their local council’s waiting list. Between C&C and 55 London we will be able to offer homes to all people aged 55+ no matter what their income level. As 55 London is a charitable organisation, any surplus created will be reinvested back into our existing housing stock. This will allow us to provide more accommodation through either buying or building new C&C homes.

46


55 London was introduced through the ‘Fit Future’ strategy

A new Transformation Manager was appointed in March 2018 to lead the development of this service

Identify suitable 55 London properties

55 London is established

25 units will be ready to rent by the end of this financial year

25 25 units will be ready to rent every year thereafter

25

Income is reinvested back into C&C Housing Trust

47


Staff take a moment to relax at C&Cycle, our community summer festival, held in June 2018. 48


People doing their best

49


People doing their best We see developing our people as a way to improve our customer experience.

“Our computer says ‘Yes’”

“C&C is a great place to work” 81% of C&C staff said they were happy at work. We are looking to improve on this.

We are developing a culture where our staff are coached by their managers.

‘WOW Awards’ were introduced to recognise C&C staff for a job well done. You can nominate someone for a WOW Award through the C&C website.

“We work where we make the most impact”

50

“We achieve above expectations”

We have introduced ‘agile working’ and improved our IT to allow our staff to work wherever they are needed.


90 C&C managers and aspiring managers are going through a year-long management development programme.

92% of C&C staff have completed mandatory training relating to our services and operations.

C&C is a Silver rated organisation with ‘Investors In People’.

“We recruit and develop inspirational people so that we can do more great things”

This year we changed our recruitment process to ensure that we bring in people with the right skills and values to support our ‘Fit Future’.


Staff satisfaction has increased since the restructure, and we are collaborating with our staff working groups to maintain this momentum.

Our team is developing our C&C managers and aspiring manages to enable them to deliver our ‘Fit Future’ strategy and our support staff in doing their best for our residents

LEARNING

STAFF SATISFACTION

We have increased staff involvement in decision-making, problem-solving, and solution generation through our staff forums and working groups.

STAFF VOICE

HR & WORKPLACE CULTURE

VALUE FOR MONEY

RECRUITMENT

Our team has introduced ‘valuesbased’ recruitment. This has built strong and resilient teams with staff that share our C&C values. A recruitment drive is in place for permanent staff to reduce costly agency spending.

52

PROCESS

We have introduced processes to get the right people with the right skills and values in the right jobs.

We are working to reduce our agency spend, which will contribute to our achievement of our value for money targets.


HR & Workplace Culture In a period of significant business change our workplace culture has never been more important. Last year our team’s major focus was to support C&C through the restructure providing us with the foundations to start delivering our ‘Fit Future’ strategy. Over the coming year, we will be focusing on cultural change and developing our people to fulfil their potential so that C&C can provide our residents with a best in class service. Our cultural change programme will help our staff to better understand and live our values, improve our customer service and support the development of our future leaders. Through this work we also review and monitor our staff well-being and benefits.

53


We have received a number of online reviews for our staff that we are very proud of. Here is a sample of our favourites.

54


“I had the privilege of working with excellent managers, they were able to push me until I attained a manager post. I am very grateful to them for forwarding my name for training and for believing in me.” Scheme Manager (GlassDoor.co.uk)

“It’s been a tremendous experience working in this company under excellent management. Every day at work is unique and it comes with new challenges and opportunities to learn.” Scheme Manager (GlassDoor.co.uk)

“Never worked at a company so supportive. Genuinely caring line manager. Proud to be working with some passionate and hard working people.” Head of Department (GlassDoor.co.uk)


Resident Engagement Resident engagement has been reshaped and enhanced to complement our new C&C services. Residents’ ideas and suggestions are vital to developing good services. We encourage resident feedback to take a fresh look at how we engage with the community we serve. Resident scrutiny has always been seen as a key element to our success, as demonstrated by the award residents recieved in 2017 from the Tenant Participation Advisory Service (TPAS). We want our residents to explore and challenge our decisions and policy with us. We created the new ‘Scrutiny Service’ and ‘People Performance and Change’ panels, bringing our residents into much closer contact with senior management and the Board. We are in the process of setting up two resident-led panels; The ‘Service Development’ & ‘Service Review’ panel. A key achievement of the last year has been the introduction of our twice yearly Roadshows. These enable wide-ranging and frank discussions around our services whilst providing invaluable resident feedback. Our team are looking at innovative ways to connect with our residents. Our next challenge is improving our online offer. We are redesigning the website to make it more user-friendly and accessible. It will feature a new ‘Resident Portal’ where residents can manage their services and contact staff and resident panel members. We recognise the power and learning which comes from meeting face-toface. As a result of this, our resident engagement team, including Engagement Coordinator Chris Barber, will be spending time in schemes and meeting with residents. 56


How can our residents get involved?

ATTEND SCHEME MEETINGS

Scheme meetings are held at our housing schemes to discuss local issues and any immediate concerns residents have. These meetings are attended by both residents and scheme staff. The frequency of these scheme meetings are defined by our residents.

JOIN ONE OF OUR PANELS

ATTEND OUR ROADSHOWS

We have four panels involving residents.

We now hold twice yearly Roadshows. These meetings bring key decision makers to our residents to discuss any changes in our service and business.

Our Board & resident ‘Service Scrutiny’ panel and ‘People Performance & Change’ panel meet quarterly and discuss ‘the bigger picture’, reviewing performance and service delivery.

From these meetings C&C makes promises in line with our residents’ requests. These promises are recorded and progress is reported at the next Roadshow.

Scheme meetings are kept quite informal to encourage more residents to participate.

Our resident-led ‘Service Review’ and ‘Service Development’ panels are being set up to inform services.

SHAPE OUR EVENTS AND PUBLICATIONS

ATTEND OUR EVENTS & RESIDENT CONFERENCE

ATTEND OR RUN A C&C ACTIVITY OR SOCIAL CLUB

We look forward to holding our Resident Conference this winter.

We are always looking to support our residents in the running of any social clubs and activities. If you have an idea that you need our help with to get going, please let our resident engagement team know.

Our editorial panel play a big part in growing our Inspiration magazine into a more sophisticated and lifestyle focused publication for our residents. Our department also looks forward to discussing the C&C activity programme with our residents, ensuring we are aligning our programme of events to their interests. Residents are invited to send us their comments via the feedback boxes in schemes.

C&Cycle held in the summer, was our biggest event to date. We are looking forward to holding more events that unite our C&C community together in celebration over the coming years.

We hold a programme of events for our residents. Resident’s should ask staff at their scheme office for a programme of what is being held locally. 57


Panels and meetings that residents can join QUARTERLY PANEL MEETINGS ATTENDED BY BOARD, RESIDENTS AND C&C STAFF

SERVICE SCRUTINY PANEL

PEOPLE, PERFORMANCE AND CHANGE PANEL

RESIDENT-LED PANEL MEETINGS ATTENDED BY RESIDENTS AND C&C STAFF

SERVICE DEVELOPMENT PANEL

SERVICE REVIEW PANEL

RESIDENT ROADSHOWS

SCHEME MEETINGS

BIANNUAL MEETINGS ATTENDED BY RESIDENTS AND DECISION MAKING SENIOR MANAGEMENT C&C STAFF

FREQUENCY OF THESE MEETING IS DECIDED BY THE RESIDENTS. MEETINGS ATTENDED BY RESIDENTS AND SCHEME STAFF

RESIDENT MEETINGS

MEETINGS ATTENDED BY RESIDENTS ONLY TO GATHER INFORMATION TO BE DISCUSSED AT SCHEME MEETINGS 58


Since the introduction of the Service Hub complaints process in April 2018, 100% of Stage 2 escalations have been appropriately handled at Stage 1. Information about complaints recieved and how we use feedback to improve can be found on our website. In 2017-2018, a year of substantial change, customer satisfaction was down by 3.4% on the previous year. Since April 2018 we have recorded an increase.

82% 85%

537

Number of resident surveys taken

82% 93% 91% 85%

Taking everything into account, how satisfied or dissatisfied are you with the service provided by C&C? Overall, how satisfied are you with your Scheme Manager or Housing Officer?

Overal, how satisfied or dissatisfied are you with the level of customer care you are normally shown by C&C?

How satisfied or dissatisfied are you with your neighbourhood as a place to live?

Would you recommend C&C as a place to live?

If you have any specific needs, for example to do with your culture, age or disability, do you feel that C&C takes this into account?

59


Creative Arts & Activities An established and diverse programme of free activities for our residents has continued across C&C’s housing schemes and care homes. In line with residents’ requests, we have provided regular classes in our housing schemes, including creative arts, fitness and holistic therapy activities. Last year, an exciting new event called Talk Show was developed in response to residents wanting opportunities to express themselves through conversation and debate. This is now a regular event that tours throughout our sheltered schemes. Over the last year, our team improved the regularity of our activities. This meant that residents could rely on their favourite events being held at regular times and days. This helped increase resident participation and value for money per class. This year has also seen an increase in resident led classes and social activities. Over the coming year, our team will be looking at ways that we can better support our residents, care homes and schemes with the things that they want to do. This also includes supporting our care homes with their ‘Resident of the Day’ programme, arranging events or activities if something special is needed. Over the coming year, we want to use feedback from our residents to improve, particularly looking at activities that better engage our male residents. In line with our ‘Fit Future’ we will also be looking to introduce more regular exercise classes and health and wellness activities. 60


4,889 500+

Hours of activities provided to our residents in 2017-2018 (housing and care) Residents engaged in activities and events in 2017-2018 (housing and care)

Creative Writing

Painting & Art

Dance Exercise

Theatre

Upholstery

Tai Chi & Yoga

Aromatherapy

Floristry

Debate

Language Classes

Massage

Day Trips

Our aspirations for the coming year

Introduce new creative Speak to residents classes, holistic about the activities therapies, skill-learning we offer and support classes and lifestyle residents and schemes activities to run their own events

Improve regularity of classes and ensure all schemes have equal access to activities

Better Value for Money and certainty on costs, get the maximum for our residents from our resources and budget 61


400+ 80+ ÂŁ24,000+

70+ 11

Residents engaged in activities on the day (housing and care)

C&C staff and business partners attended and supported on the day.

Kilometres cycled by our cyclists visiting our sites, care homes & schemes. Sites hosting events from sponsored walks, garden parties boat rides.

Funds raised by our staff, residents, their friends and families and our corporate sponsors through the sponsorship for one of the many sporting activities held on the day.

We held three festivals at three of our schemes

Ada Court

Sponsored 1-5 K walk, jog or run in local parks incl. Regents Park & Primrose Hill

Oldfield Estate

Accessible-for-all cycling from Wheels For Wellbeing

A BBQ & Salad Bar with A bar a range of beers Halal, Kosher, Vegan & wine & non alcoholic Vegetarian options drinks

A Caribbean Steel Band 62

Garden Games including croquet, Jenga & chess

Philip House

Exercise classes Smoothie Station (with including Zumba Gold, a smoothie bike) and a Dance & an Oomph Coffee Bar Fitness class

A retro Jazz singer

Tovertafel demonstration

A Two-Piece Acoustic Pop Band

Transport to and from all of our sites for residents & staff upon request


C&Cycle C&Cycle was our biggest event to date. A summer festival bringing C&C residents, staff and suppliers together to celebrate our ‘Fit Future’ and community. The concept behind C&Cycle was to create an event that connected our schemes and residents with a day of fun and healthy activities. After a challenging year of change C&Cycle brought staff, residents and some of our suppliers together to celebrate being ‘fit’ for our future. Summer festivals were held in the gardens and communal spaces of three of our biggest schemes. All residents and their friends and family were invited to attend, with transport available on request. Sponsored fitness events were held to raise over £24,000 to install Tovertafel magic tables into our care homes. The 70 kilometre sponsored cycle, allowed C&C staff to visit as many of our residents and sites in one day. A sponsored 1 or 5K walk, jog or run was held for residents and staff of all abilities take part in fundraising. Our care homes all showed an exemplary effort on the day, arranging their own fundraising activities, day trips and garden parties. C&C was proud to have our residents contribute to the day by offering their cooking services, bands and choir performances and bingo sessions.

63


64

Ronaldo Williams hosting the much anticipated C&Cycle Bingo session at Ada Court.


65


Innovation & Technology Over the past year we have continued to improve our IT, preparing C&C for the next decade and beyond. We have finished rolling out our free WiFi internet to all of our residents, providing access in all of our buildings and, in most cases, directly into our residents’ homes. We have seen a 6 fold increase in the usage of this service with our residents now watching films and movies online and having live video conversations with family members who live abroad. We are proud to offer this service free to all of our residents. We have also changed all of our internet lines and telephones lines to faster glass fibre connections. Several of our larger sites and care homes also benefit from loanable internet tablets (with built in cameras) for those who do not own their own internet device. This service will be increased during the next year with the aim of having the majority of our residents able to access this free WiFi from within their own home. We have been installing several new IT systems in our workplace that help our staff to better provide our residents with excellent customer service. IPOS, our new purchasing order system, allows suppliers to be paid faster. Our new CX

DIGITAL SCREENS

RESIDENT TABLETS

RESIDENT WIFI

We are installing these in our schemes to provide up to date information to residents

Free tablet for residents who sign up for direct debit rent payments to be continued

Our free resident WiFi is expanded into more areas in our schemes

66


housing system will better organise our housing management including rent billing, communications and resident profiles. With CX our staff will have more information at their fingertips and will be able to provide answers on demand to any questions that residents may have about our services. All telephones in our offices and schemes are now connected directly into a large, digital switchboard. This allows better, faster and much cheaper (often free) communication between all of our sites. This saves us many thousands of pounds every year; savings that can then be re-invested into our residents’ homes and schemes. Lastly, we are in the process of replacing all of our staff IT equipment; moving from our previous desktop units to wireless equipment. This allows our staff to work and interact wherever is most suitable to our residents. This helps C&C to both move with the fast pace of technological change and retain those important face-to-face conversations with residents.

Romana Francisco using her smart tablet in her C&C home. 67


Residents play scrabble in the lounge at our care home Cecil Court. 68


Money to invest

69


Money to invest “We drive a healthy income stream”

The financial performance of our care homes have significantly improved over this last year.

We have new bank loans agreed in principle. These will help us deliver our development plans. A new ‘Value for Money’ strategy has been agreed by our Board.

“We protect every pound we earn and spend it wisely”

A new procurement strategy (how we assess and pay for services or supplies) has been agreed by our Board.

70


We had 31,834 visitors to our website last year. We plan to redesign our website in 2019 to make information for residents more accessible.

“Our inspired brand is our London location and the value that we create for people who want to live there�

We are trying to engage with our residents more through social media. This is a great way to keep up to date with our events and activities.


Finance A strong performance overall, we have made significant progress and savings to support our new ‘Fit Future’. C&C is fully committed to providing value for money in everything that we do whilst still delivering the highest quality of service. Our finance team have worked hard this last year to support this. Core changes made to the business this last year have allowed our team to make savings in a number of areas. However, we incurred costs of over £200K relating to one-off organisational improvements and an additional £300K provision was made in relation to debtors. The Board is confident that C&C’s underlying performance is strong. This year we are continuing to drive improved financial performance to address the challenging background of a further 1% cut to our rental income as a result of government changes. We are optimistic that we will reach our targets for the year.

72


Efficiency savings of ÂŁ1.1m is forecast to be delivered in the 2018 - 2019 budget.

Our overall financial performance was close to budget.

The finance team play an integral part in the planning, reporting and management of the business. C&C has made significant financial progress in the following areas:

Existing banking facilities have been extende and additional finance is in progress to underpin our development plans.

The loss-making Queens Court, Windsor Nursing Care Home has been handed over to another care home provider.

The financial performance of our Residential Care Homes has significantly improved.

Investment in our buildings and keeping them safe and warm.

73


SUMMARY OF OUR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS: 2016 - 2017 (£’000)

2017 - 2018 (£’000)

29,430 2,698

26,649 151

(72)

1

2,662

(8)

Balance Sheet Housing properties Other fixed assets Net current assets Social Housing Grants Loans Pension liability

93,023 6,341 5,460 (31,887) (20,266) (1,049)

92,019 6,446 10,757 (31,478) (25,313)

Net assets

51,622

52,431

25%

30%

Income & Expenditure Total Turnover Operating surplus Operating surplus excluding one - off income Surplus (deficit) after sales and interest costs

Gearing

Source: 2017 - 2018 Annual Financial Statements Financial Performance highlights of the last financial year include: • Our underlying operating surplus is consistent with 2016-2017 despite some significant one-off costs • C&C’s restructure will give us an increased surplus for 2018-2019 • We have maintained a strong balance sheet with moderate levels of gearing. • We have provisionally agreed new funding that we can use to fund our ‘Fit Future’ growth plans. 74


Our residents enjoying Zumba Gold at our C&Cycle summer festival. 76


How every pound is spent 19%

17%

19% 19%

17% 17%

Housing 19%

19%

16%

Property Cost 11% 17%

17%

11% 11% 16% 16%

17%

19%

1%

11% 36%

16%

16% 1% 1%

36% 36%

Administration Service Cost Property Cost Property Cost Resident Engagement Administration Administration Depreciation ServiceProperty Cost Cost Service Cost Property Cost Overheads Resident Engagement Administration Resident Engagement Administration 11% Depreciation Service Cost Depreciation Service Cost Overheads Resident Engagement Overheads Cost Resident Property Engagement Depreciation Administration Depreciation Overheads 11% Service Cost Overheads Resident Engagement

16% 1%

1%

36% 1% 15%

Care

Depreciation

36%

Overheads

36% Staff Cost

1%

Property Cost

15% 15%

4%

4% 9%4% 1% 1%

15%

15%

9% 1% 4% 1%9%7%

57%

4% 15%

57% 57%

5% 7% 9% 9%7% 4% 1% 2% 5% 5% 7% 7% 9% 2% 2% 5% 5%

57%

57%

Corporate Overheads

57%

7% 2% 2%

5% 3%

5%

17%

17% 17%

17%

5% 5%

4%2%

8%

4% 4%

8% 8% 3%

Resident Engagement Depreciation Overheads

3% 3%

5%

3% 4% 5%

4%

8%

Governance Finance & Insurance 8%

3% 17% 20%

5%

20% 17% 20%

20%

Adminstration StaffCost Cost Staff Service PropertyCost Cost Property Cost Food Adminstration Staff Cost Adminstration Staff Cost Resident Engagement Service Cost Cost Service Property Cost Property Cost Depreciation Food Adminstration Food Adminstration Overheads Resident Engagement Service Cost Resident Engagement Staff Cost Service Cost Depreciation Food Depreciation Property Cost Food Overheads Resident Engagement Overheads Resident Adminstration Engagement Depreciation Service Cost Depreciation Overheads Food Overheads

4%

43% 8% 43% 43%

43% 20%

43%

ITGovernance Governance HR Finance&&Insurance Insurance Finance Head Office IT Governance IT Governance Learning & Development HR Finance & Insurance HR Finance & Insurance Communications HeadOffice Office IT Head IT Learning &Development Development HR Learning &Governance HR Communications Head Office Communications Finance & Insurance Head Office Learning & Development ITDevelopment Learning & 77 Communications HR Communications Head Office


Value for Money Value for Money is at the centre of our ‘Fit Future’ strategy. We believe Value for Money is not just about bottom line costs and savings. It is also about being an efficient landlord, providing useful and effective services to our residents. Over the last financial year C&C have achieved Value for Money and savings in a number of ways. We benchmarked our finances with other housing associations and made sure that our costs are in line with our peers.

We have improved the financial performance of our residential and nursing care homes.

We have invested in asset management, improving our property safety through checks and repair works.

We launched our C&C Direct and Service Hub service which will greatly improve the quality of our customer service for residents.

We restructured our organisation from top to bottom and identified ÂŁ1.1 million of efficiency savings. This has beeincluded in the budget for 2018 - 2019.

We have implemented two new IT systems allowing our staff to work more efiiciently and deliver a better service for our residents.

We handed over our Queens Court Windsor nursing care home to another care home provider that was operating at a loss for us.

78


We planned to sell our three nursing care homes in Merton in the last financial year however the sale was delayed. Since then, the Merton Homes have improved their financial performance and now contribute positively to C&C. Each of these care homes now have a Good CQC rating. We have appointed new agents to re-launch the sales process. Once we have sold these homes, C&C will look to reinvest the proceeds to provide more and better homes for the Over 55s. We will also continue to review our costs and in particular our overheads. LET 25 APARTMENTS (2018 - 2019)

55 LONDON

IMPROVE HOW WE SOURCE GOODS & SERVICES

OUR VALUE FOR MONEY STRATEGY TARGETS 14% SURPLUS

ACHIEVE 100K OF SAVINGS (2018 - 2019)

REDUCE NUMBER OF EMPTY APARTMENTS (HOUSING) ACHIEVE AN IMPROVEMENT FROM 2.7% TO 2% EMPTY APARTMENTS (2018 - 2019)

INCREASE CARE HOME OCCUPANCY

INCREASE OUR CARE HOME OCCUPANCY NUMBERS FROM 83.2% TO 87.3% (2018 - 2019)

79


David Justice at the Tovertafel demonstration at C&Cycle.

80


Fundraising We received a total of £12,000 in charitable donations. Donations were received from the following Trusts & Foundations as well as from a large number of individual supporters. • • • • • • • •

David Rubens Charitable Trust DM Charitable Trust G.M. Morrison Charitable Trust HSBC Trust NCVO Trust Richmond Parish Lands Charity The Rhododendron Charity Trust 29th May Charitable Trust

The charitable support received this year has contributed to activities, events and outings which make a real difference to the lives of the residents living in our care homes and housing schemes. These have included singing, drama, art sessions, dance, digital projects, gardening, up-cycling of furniture, exercise and cultural visits to museums and other places of interest. A significant fundraising effort made by C&C this year was through our summer community festival and fundraiser C&Cycle. C&Cycle brought our C&C community together in an effort to fundraise for the installation of four Tovertafel magic tables to be installed in our care homes. Tovertafel is an interactive light artwork and game that is projected onto a table surface. It is designed to engage those with late stage dementia. Through C&Cycle C&C residents, staff and corporate sponsors raised over £24,000 to fund the installation. Though outside of the 2017 - 2018 financial year, fundraising efforts started towards this in Spring 2018. 81


Governance Our ‘Fit Future’ strategy went live in June 2017. An organisational structure was formed to deliver the new ‘Fit Future’ strategy. This structure aligns with the four strategy headings that each define an area of C&C’s work and services. DIRECTOR OF WORKPLACE CULTURE PEOPLE DOING THEIR BEST

HOMES FOR HEALTH & HAPPINESS

FIT FUTURE STRATEGY

DIRECTOR OF ASSETS & DEVELOPMENT

DIRECTOR OF SERVICE

MONEY TO INVEST GROUP CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER 82

SERVICES THAT INSPIRE


• Our Board has 12 members including 2 ex-officio) and 1 co-optee. • The skills of our Board members match the needs of our business and include housing, care, property management, development, audit, finance, business, banking, technology, people and culture. • Our Board meets 4 times a year. • Our Board has 3 committees; ‘Risk & Audit’, ‘Investment’ and ‘Nominations & Remuneration’. • 2 panel; ‘People, Performance & Change’ and ‘Service Scrutiny’. Panel membership includes Board members and residents. Relevant C&C officers attend meetings. • C&C has 3 subsidiary companies. Our Board and committee structure oversees our executive management team in their management of our C&C Group, as shown in the below diagram.

C&C (CENTRAL & CECIL HOUSING TRUST / CCHT)

C&C INNOVATIONS LIMITED Our trading company

C&C CONSTRUCTION SERVICES LIMITED

The company that manages our construction projects

55 LONDON

A charitable housing provider for mid market affordable housing exclusively for the 55+

83


C&C BOARD

HOMES FOR HEALTH & HAPPINESS DAVID O’NEILL Director of Assets & Development

CHRIS ROBERTS Head,GROUP HousingINVESTMENT COMMITTEE

HOMES FOR HEALTH & HAPPINESS PERFORMANCE METRICS 84


JULIA ASHLEY Chief Executive

A FIT FUTURE

SERVICES THAT INSPIRE

STRATEGY

PEOPLE DOING THEIR BEST

MONEY TO INVEST

YVONNE ATKINSON Director Of Services

AMELIA MOSQUERA-PARDO Director of Workplace Culture

JO TEARE Group Chief Financial Officer

CHRIS ROBERTS Head, Housing SERVICE SCRUTINY PANEL

CHRIS ROBERTS Head, Housing PEOPLE, PERFORMANCE & CHANGE PANEL

CHRIS ROBERTS Head,GROUP Housing RISK & AUDIT COMMITTEE

CHRIS ROBERTS Head, Housing GROUP NOMINATIONS & REMUNERATION COMMITTEE

SERVICES THAT INSPIRE PERFORMANCE METRICS

PEOPLE DOING THEIR BEST PERFORMANCE METRICS

MONEY TO INVEST PERFORMANCE METRICS 85


The members of our C&C Board outside our Cecil House central office in Waterloo.

86


87


Closing words A letter from Alison, our Board Chair

I hope you have enjoyed reading this year’s Residents’ Annual Review. During the year the Board has been monitoring the speed and impact of the major changes that have been necessary to deliver ‘A Fit Future’. We recognise that in some instances the high standard of service we expect for residents has not been achieved and we apologise for that. Where performance has dipped the Board has required that improvement plans are quickly implemented. We are pleased to see that C&C Direct is starting to improve the maintenance service and look forward to the Service Hub going live thus making it easier for residents to contact staff and get a consistently good response. Our new governance structure has now bedded in and I am pleased with the additional scrutiny delivered by the new committees and panels. The involvement of residents on the panels has improved the quality of debate and decisions and ensured that residents’ views are centre stage. During the year we welcomed new expertise onto the Board with the arrival of Dr Janine Desai, Abhishek Agrawal, Paul Shipley and Kay Vowles and strengthened the Executive Team with the appointment of Jo Teare as Group Chief Financial Officer, Yvonne Atkinson as Director of Services and Amelia Mosquera-Pardo as Director of Workplace Culture. Together we are working to deliver the best possible outcomes for C&C and our residents.

Alison Carver Board Chair 88


Marianne Alcindor in her C&C home.


Key Contacts Meet our senior management team We always welcome hearing from our residents. If you have a general enquiry please contact us at enquiries@ccht.org.uk or on 020 7922 5300. If you are contacting us to give feedback or to register a complaint please send us an email at feedback@ccht.org.uk. Julia Ashley Chief Executive 020 7922 5310 julia.ashley@ccht.org.uk

Jo Teare Group Chief Financial Officer 020 7922 5330 jo.teare@ccht.org.uk

David O’Neill Director of Assets & Development 020 7922 5409 david.oneill@ccht.org.uk

Yvonne Atkinson Director of Services 020 7922 5352 yvonne.atkinson@ccht.org.uk

Amelia Mosquera-Pardo Director of Workplace Culture 020 7922 5442 amelia.mosquera-pardo@ccht.org.uk

Chris Roberts Head of Housing 020 7922 5317 chris.roberts@ccht.org.uk

Maynard Stevenson Head of Assets 020 7922 5314 maynard.stevenson@ccht.org.uk

Deb Thomas Head of Development 020 7922 5331 deb.thomas@ccht.org.uk

Andrea Schrader Head of Marketing & Engagement 020 7922 5423 andrea.schrader@ccht.org.uk

Stuart Harper Head of Technology & Innovation 020 7922 5350 stuart.harper@ccht.org.uk

Derrick Singleton Head of C&C Direct 020 7922 5337 derrick.singleton@ccht.org.uk

Matt Ewan Head of Service Hub 020 7922 5440 matt.ewan@ccht.org.uk

Laura Cruickshank Governance & Compliance Manager 020 7922 5311 laura.cruickshank@ccht.org.uk 90


91


Central & Cecil Housing Trust | Cecil House, 266 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8RQ 020 7922 5300 | enquiries@ccht.org.uk | www.ccht.org.uk

Resident Annual Review 2017 - 2018  

Author: C&C (Central & Cecil Housing Trust) Period Covered: Financial Year 2017 - 2018

Resident Annual Review 2017 - 2018  

Author: C&C (Central & Cecil Housing Trust) Period Covered: Financial Year 2017 - 2018