Page 1

9th - 19th February 2017

Berlinale EFM Martin-Gropius-Bau, Stand MGB 23

Supporting the Catalan audiovisual industry worldwide mercats@catalanfilms.cat | www.catalanfilms.cat


February 2017 Catalan Films & TV Catalunya Film Commission Print_ 9.disseny Design & layout_ Marta Vilches 2


Catalan Films & TV is the programme that promotes the internationalisation of Catalan audiovisual companies, establishing local, national and international links and promoting the presence of Catalan producers, films and companies in markets and festivals. We are present at every stage in the life of a Catalan Film abroad: from development in pitchings, co-production forums or international markets to its selection by recognised festivals and its screening in a market. This year, you can meet us at MGB 23, together with the Catalunya Film Commission, promoting Catalonia, a country for film. That is why we invite you to have a look at the following pages and discover our amazing industry and films screening at Berlinale and EFM. Come, visit us!

1


SUMMARY

3

12

18

Catalan films selected at Berlinale 2017

Market screenings at Efm 2017

Screenings schedule

20

21

28

Catalan companies attending Efm 2017

Production

Distribution

35

37

39

Sales agents

Festivals

Services

41 On-site contacts

2


CATALAN FILMS SELECTED AT BERLINALE 2017

3


OFFICIAL SELECTION

A FANTASTIC WOMAN by Sebastián Leilo Produced by _Fabula _Participant Media _Komplizen Film _Muchas Gracias _Setembro Cine Sales Agent Funny Balloons Contact Peter Danner pdanner@funny-balloons.com

Screenings Sun 12th

15:00h CinemaxX 7 & 9 (Press)

Sun 12th

22:00h Berlinale Palast (Premiere)

Mon 13th 12:30h Zoo Palast 1 Mon 13th 15:00h Friedrichstadt-Palast Mon 13th 21.30h Odeon Cinema Mon 13th 22:30h International Sun 19th

19:00h Berlinale Palast

Fernanda Del Nido Setembro Cine Executive Producer fernanda@setembrocine.com

5


PANORAMA

POLITICS, INSTRUCTIONS MANUAL by Fernando León de Aranoa Produced by _Mediapro _ Reposado Producciones Spain, 2014. The economic crisis has left a landscape of social cutbacks, unemployment and street protests. The political debate has taken to the streets, “democracy” is the one of the most searched words on Google. The government invites those unhappy with the system to organize their own party and run for election. A group of activists and university professors accepts the challenge. Politics, Instructions Manual is the story of how Podemos was built, one of the most unexpected and dizzying political processes in recent Spanish history. Filmed with privileged access, and over the course of more than one year, this documentary bears witness to a new, urgent and unknown approach to doing politics. And it constitutes a practical manual about how to elaborate and communicate a political project in only one year.

6

Sales Agent Cinetic Media Contact Jason Ishikawa jason@cineticmedia.com

Screenings Sat 11th

12:00

CineStar 7

Thu 16th

17:00

CineStar 7 (Premiere)

Fri 17th

19:30

CineStar 7

Sat 18th

14:30

Colosseum 1

Javier Méndez Mediapro Executive Producer jmendez@mediapro.es


BERLINALE GENERATION KPLUS

SUMMER 1993 by Carla SimĂłn Produced by _Inicia Films _ Avalon P.C. Spain, summer 1993. Following the death of her parents, six years old Frida faces the first summer with her new adoptive family in the Catalan province. Before the season is over, the girl has to learn to cope with her emotions and her parents have to learn to love her as their own daughter.

Sales Agent New Europe Film Sales Contact Jan Naszewski jan@neweuropefilmsales.com

Screenings Sat 11th

13:00h HKW (Premiere)

Sun 12th 16:30h CinemaxX 3 Fri 17th

17:30h CinemaxX 1

Sun 19th 12:30h Filmtheater am Friedrichshain

ValĂŠrie Delpierre Inicia Films Executive Producer info@iniciafilms.com

9


BERLINALE GENERATION 14PLUS

MORNING COWBOY by Elena Pomares and Fernando Pomares Produced by _Travelogue Studio Jose, a regular guy with a regular job, decides to dress as a cowboy, making a journey through his past, in a sensitive story full of humour. Morning Cowboy is an emotional story about dreams and a call to make every day count.

Sales Agent Marvin & Wayne Contact Josep Prim fest@marvinwayne.com

Screenings Mon 13th

11:30h CinemaxX 3 (Premiere)

Wed 15th

10:30h CinemaxX 1

Sat 18th

14:30h CinemaxX 1

Fernando Pomares Travelogue Studio Director pomares.fernando@gmail.com Alèxia Bas Travelogue Studio Executive Producer alexia@traveloguestudio.com

10


MARKET SCREENINGS AT EFM 2017


A Fantastic Woman

Black Hollow Cage

by Sebastiรกn Leilo

by Sadrac Gonzรกlez-Perellรณn

Produced by _ Fabula _ Participant Media _ Komplizen Film _ Muchas Gracias _ Setembro Cine

A girl who lives secluded in a house in the woods with the only company of her father and a wolfhound, finds among the trees a mysterious cubic device with the ability to change the past.

Sales Agent Funny Balloons

Produced by _ Asallam Films

Contact Peter Danner pdanner@funny-balloons.com

Sales Agent Reel Suspects

Screenings Mon 13th

09:15h

CinemaxX 10

Mon 13th

12:30h

Zoo Palast 1

Contact Matteo Lovadina m@reelsuspects.com Screenings Mon 13th

11:30h

CinemaxX 18

13


BLACK SNOW

IN LOCO PARENTIS

by Martin Hodara

by Neasa Ní Chianáin and David Rane

Salvador lives isolated in Patagonia after being falsely accused of murdering his own brother. Many decades later a visit by his brother Marcos rekindles their rivalry and conflicting ideas about murder, innocence and guilt.

For nearly fifty years, an eccentric couple John and Amanda have taught reading, rithmetic and Rock ‘n’ Roll at an Irish boarding school, but now their term is drawing to a close, and leaving is the hardest lesson to learn.

Produced by _A Contracorriente Films _Black Snow AIE _Bowfinguer International Pictures _Gloriamundi producciones _ Pampa Films

Produced by _Gris Medio _Soilsiú Films _Televisión Española _RTÉ Television Sales Agent Soilsiú Films Cinetic Media

Sales Agent Filmsharks Contact Florencia Gasparini florencia@filmsharks.com Screenings Sat 11th

13:00h

CinemaxX 13

Sun 12th

14:15h

Cinestar 5

Contact David Rane david@soilsiu.com Jason Ishikawa jason@cineticmedia.com Screenings Sun 12th

14

18:20h

CinemaxX 1


INSIDE

Solar Eclipse ¡ Depth of Darkness

by Miguel Angel Vivas

by K. Traibia, P. Sehcal, C. Carlfalio

There is nothing fiercer than a mother’s love.

Based on true events leading to the assassination of Mahatma Gandhi on January 30, 1948, Solar Eclipse is an action packed conspiracy feature demonstrating a violent, communally charged India at the backdrop of non-violent Gandhi.

Produced by _Nostromo Pictures

Produced by _Nugen Media Production _Freemind arts

Sales Agent Embankment Films

Sales Agent Nugen Media Production

Contact Sharon Lee sl@embankmentfilms.com

Contact Gourav Mahindra gm@nugen.media

Screenings Thu 9th

13:10h

CinemaxX 8

Screenings

Sat 11th

11:15h

Cinestar IMAX

Fri 10th

18:45h

CinemaxX 11

Wed 15th

18:00h

CinemaxX 2

15


Summer 1993

The Girl From the Song

by Carla Simón

by Ibai Abad

Following the death of her parents, little Frida has to learn to cope with her emotions and her new parents have to learn to love her as their own daughter during the first summer they spend together in a Catalonian countryside.

Eric would do anything to win Jo back, even traveling to “Burning Man Festival”...

Produced by _ Inicia Films _ Avalon PC

Produced by _ ESCAC Films _ Mayo Producciones

Sales Agent New Europe Cinema

Sales Agent Film Factory Entertainment

Contact Jan Naszewski jan@neweuropefilmsales.com

Contact Toni Oliete t.oliete@filmfactory.es

Screenings

Screenings

Sun 12th

16

09:15h

CinemaxX 9

Sun 12th

14:30h

CineStar 2


The Invisible Guest

uncertain glory

by Oriol Paulo

by Agustí Villaronga

Accused of a murder, Adrian hires the services of Virginia Goodman, a prestigious lawyer who prepares witnesses. Over one night, they’ll work together to clarify the facts in a race against time that defies all laws of logic.

Luis is a soldier, a loner who doesn’t believe in the war he’s fighting. He falls madly in love with Carlana. She drags him into a downward spiral of passion and betrayal that will have devastating consequences for everyone.

Produced by _ Colosé Producciones _ Nostromo Pictures _ Atresmedia Cine _ La Habitación Cerrada A.I.E _ Think Studio

Produced by _ Massa D’Or Produccions _ Televisió de Catalunya _ Urresti Poducciones

Sales Agent Film Factory Entertainment Contact Toni Oliete t.oliete@filmfactory.es

Sales Agent Film Factory Entertainment Contact Toni Oliete t.oliete@filmfactory.es Screenings Sat 11th

10:00h Kino Arsenal 1

Screenings Sat 11th

18:15h

MGB Kino

17


ScreeningS Schedule Festival Market Premiere

THU 9th

FRI 10th

SAT 11th

SUN 12th 15:00h CinemaxX 7

A Fantastic Woman

15:00h CinemaxX 9 22:00h Berlinale Palast

Black Hollow Cage 13:00h CinemaxX 13

Black Snow

18:20h CinemaxX 1

In Loco Parentis Inside

14:15h Cinestar 5

13:10h CinemaxX 8

11:15h Cinestar IMAX

Morning Cowboy Politics, Instructions Manual

12:00h CineStar 7

Summer 1993

13:00h HKW

09:15h CinemaxX 9 16:30h CinemaxX 3

Solar Eclipse · Depth Of Darkness

18:45h CinemaxX 11 14:30h CineStar 2

The Girl From The Song The Invisible Guest

18:15h MGB Kino

Uncertain Glory

10:00h Kino Arsenal 1

18


MON 13th

WED 15th

THU 16th

fri 17th

SAT 18th

SUN 19th 19:00h Berlinale Palast

09:15h CinemaxX 10 12:30h Zoo Palast 1 15:00h Friedrichstadt-Palast 21.30h Odeon Cinema 22:30h International 11:30h CinemaxX 18

11:30h CinemaxX 3

10:30h CinemaxX 1

14:30h CinemaxX 1 17:00 CineStar 7

19:30 CineStar 7

14:30 Colosseum 1

17:30h 12:30h CinemaxX 1 Filmtheater am Friedrichshain 18:00h CinemaxX 2

19


CATALAN COMPANIES ATTENDING EFM 2017


PRODUCTION

A CONTRACORRIENTE FILMS

A CONTRALUZ FILMS

acontracorrientefilms.com

acontraluzfilms.eu

Adolfo Blanco Managing Director

Xavier Granada Producer

adolfo@acontracorrientefilms.com

xaviergranada@me.com

Manuel Monzon Fueyo Executive Producer manuel@acontracorrientefilms.com

ALHENA PRODUCTIONS alhena.cat

Fernando Riera Head of Spanish and International Productions

Norbert Llaràs CEO - Executive Producer nllaras@alhena.cat

fernando@ acontracorrientefilms.com

Eva Pauné Development Executive epaune@alhena.cat

21


PRODUCTION

BASTIAN FILMS

COMPACTO

bastianfilms.com

compacto.coop Arturo Mendiz Executive Producer

Aritz Cirbian President – CEO

arturo@bastianfilms.com

festivals@compacto.coop

DIAGONAL TELEVISIÓ diagonaltv.es

Marta Andreu Executive Producer Albert Sagalés Executive Producer albert.sagales@diagonaltv.es

22

ESTUDI PLAYTIME

marta@playtime.cat


PRODUCTION

ETHAN FILMS

FALCA VISUAL

ethanfilms.com

falca.com Miles Roston Founder & Producer

Ignasi Vargas Producer & Partner

miles@ethanfilms.com

ignasi@falca.com

Noemi March Producer noemi@falca.com

FOCUS AUDIOVISUAL

FREEMIND ARTS ENTERTAINMENT

focusaudiovisual.com

freemindarts.com

Pere Roca Executive Producer

Jesús Sans Executive Producer

proca@focusaudiovisual.com

jesus@freemindarts.com

23


PRODUCTION

FILMAX

INICIA FILMS

filmax.com

iniciafilms.com Carlos Fernandez CEO

Valérie Delpierre Executive Producer

c.fernandez@filmax.com

info@iniciafilms.com

Adrià Monés Exec. Producer - Director of Co-prods. a.mones@filmax.com

KEPLER MISSION FILMS

LIFE & PICTURES

keplermissionfilms.com

lifeandpictures.com

Georgina Oliva Executive Producer

Sebastian Mery CEO – Producer

georgina@keplermissionfilms.com

smery@lifeandpictures.com

Rebeca Sánchez Lopez Director and Producer rebeca@keplermissionfilms.com

24


PRODUCTION

LINE & CONTENT

MAGO Audiovisual Production

lineandcontent.com

magoproduction.com

Ester Velasco Producer

Peter Keydel Producer

evelasco@lineandcontent.com

keydel@magoproduction.com

RaĂşl Berninches Producer raul.b@magoproduction.com

Mallerich Films Paco Poch

NO HAY BANDA

pacopoch.cat

nohaybanda.es Paco Poch Executive Producer

Martin Samper Executive Producer

mallerich@pacopoch.cat

martinsamper@nohaybanda.es

25


PRODUCTION

NOSTROMO PICTURES

POLAR STAR FILMS

nostromopictures.com

polarstarfilms.com

Adrián Guerra CEO – Producer

Carles Brugueras CEO and Executive Producer

info@nostromopictures.com

carles@polarstarfilms.com

Belén Sanchez Head of Documentary belen@polarstarfilms.com

SETEMBRO CINE

Syndicate Film

setembrocine.com

syndicate.film

Fernanda del Nido Executive Producer

Yuriy Gushchin Producer

fernanda@setembrocine.com

yuriy@syndicate.film

Anna Aleshkovskaya Producer anna@syndicate.film

26


PRODUCTION

TRAVELOGUE STUDIO

ZENTROPA SPAIN

traveloguestudio.com

zentropaspain.com

Alexia Bas Executive Producer

David Matamoros Producer

alexia@traveloguestudio.com

david@zentropaspain.com

Fernando Pomares Director

รngeles Hernรกndez Delegate Producer

pomares.fernando@gmail.com

angeles@zentropaspain.com

27


DISTRIBUTION

A CONTRACORRIENTE FILMS

ABORDAR

acontracorrientefilms.com

abordar.eu

Adolfo Blanco Managing Director

Juan Carlo De La Hoz CEO

adolfo@acontracorrientefilms.com

jchoz@abordar.eu

David Mitjans Head of Acquisitions david@acontracorrientefilms.com

Paz Recolons Partner paz@acontracorrientefilms.com

ARTAIRE FILMS artairefilms.com

Xavier Rubí Acquisitions xavier@acontracorrientefilms.com

28

Toni SEGURA President – CEO tsegura@artairefilms.com


DISTRIBUTION

BETTA PICTURES

CINE MALDÀ

bettapictures.com

cinemamalda.com Xavier Escrivà Manager

Alex Lafuente Co-Founder - Director of Acquisitions

maldacinema@gmail.com

alex.lafuente@bettapictures.com

Ania Jones Co-Founder - Business Affairs ania.jones@bettapictures.com

CORBI MEDIA

COMPACTO

corbimedia.com

compacto.coop Manuel Corbi President

Aritz Cirbian President – CEO

mcorbi@corbimedia.com

festivals@compacto.coop

Roger Corbi Partner corbir@corbimedia.com

29


DISTRIBUTION

DOCSBARCELONA DEL MES

EXIT MED!A

eldocumentaldelmes.com

exitmedia.org

Laia Aubia Coordinator

Iris Martin Peralta Partner

laubia@docsbarcelona.com

exitmedia.info@gmail.com

Federico Sartori Partner federico@exitmedia.org

FILMAX

FILMIN

filmax.com

filmin.es Carlos Fernandez CEO

Juan Carlos Tous Director General

c.fernandez@filmax.com

jctous@cameo.es

Carles Rojano Acquisitions & Business Managing Director

Jaume Ripoll Vaquer Head of Content

c.rojano@filmax.com

30

jaume@filmin.es


DISTRIBUTION

FUNWOOD MEDIA

HuBB Media & Entertainment

funwoodmedia.com

hubbmediaentertainment.com

Sylvia Paños Bussiness Affairs

Ricardo Torres Director

sylvia@funwoodmedia.com

contact@ hubbmediaentertainment.com

FREEWAY SPAIN

INOPIA FILMS

freeway-entertainment.com

inopiafilms.com

Zoltan Arvay Director of Business Development

Luis De Val Acquisitions info@inopiafilms.com

info@freeway-spain.com

31


DISTRIBUTION

ISAAN ENTERTAINMENT

LA AVENTURA AUDIOVISUAL

isaanent.com

laaventuraaudiovisual.com Xavier Catafal President

Fernando Herranz CEO

xcatafal@isaanent.com

ferran@laaventuraaudiovisual.com

Carlos Perez CFO carlos@laaventuraaudiovisual.com

MEDIATRES ESTUDIO

MOVIES FOR FESTIVALS

m3estudio.com

moviesforfestivals.com Alejandro Fernandez General Manager af@m3estudio.com

Johanna Tonini Promotion and Film Festivals Disributor info@moviesforfestivals.com

32


DISTRIBUTION

SAVOR EDICIONES

SELECTAVISION

savor.es

selecta-vision.com Joan Herrero Acquisitions Executive

Jorge Gabarro President

jherrero@savor.es

jgabarro@selecta-vision.com

Teresa Zaffino Head of Acquisitions tzaffino@selecta-vision.com

Salima Fatima Jirari Acquisitions Executive sjirari@selecta-vision.com

PACK MAGIC packmagic.cat Alfred Sesma Siuraneta Sales & Acquisitions packmagic@dracmagic.cat

33


DISTRIBUTION

TWELVE OAKS PICTURES

VERCINE

twelveoakspictures.com

vercine.org

Ignacio Lamarca General Manager

Ignacio Puebla CEO

Ilamarca@frikifilms.com

ipuebla@vercine.org

Mar Abadin Head of Acquisitions mar.abadin@ twelveoakspictures.com

Fernando Rodriguez TV Manager frodriguez@frikifilms.com

34


SALES AGENTS

DEA PLANETA

FILM FACTORY ENTERTAINMENT

deaplaneta.com

filmfactory.es Ignasi Segura General Manager

Vicente Canales Managing Director

international@deaplaneta.com

info@filmfactory.es

Yolanda del Val Head of Acquisitions

Toni Oliete Sales - Marketing Exec.

international@deaplaneta.com

t.oliete@filmfactory.es

Angela Sanchidrian Head of Sales

Laura Fornelio Marketing & Sales Coordinator

asanchidrian@deaplaneta.com

laura@filmfactory.es

Manon Barat Festival Coordinator manon@filmfactory.es

35


SALES AGENTS

FILMAX INTERNATIONAL

TELEVISIÓ DE CATALUNYA

filmaxinternational.com

ccma.cat/tv3/sales

Carlos Fernandez CEO

Victor Carrera Sales Executive

c.fernandez@filmax.com

vcarrera.x@ccma.cat

Ivan Diaz Head of the Int’l Division i.diaz@filmax.com

Cristina Carro Sales Executive c.carro@filmax.com

36


FESTIVALS

DRAC MÀGIC - INTERNATIONAL

DOCS BARCELONA

WOMEN’S FILM FESTIVAL

docsbarcelona.com

dracmagic.cat Marta Nieto Programmer

Joan Gonzàlez Director jgonzalez@docsbarcelona.com

martan@dracmagic.cat

FESTIVAL INTERNACIONAL DE CINEMA D’AUTOR DE BARCELONA cinemadautor.cat Carlos Rodriguez Director - Manager carlos@noucinemart.com

37


festivals

FUNDACIÓ SITGES FESTIVAL INT’L

IN-EDIT INTERNATIONAL MUSIC

DE CINEMA DE CATALUNYA

DOCUMENTARY AND FILM FESTIVAL

sitgesfilmfestival.com

in-edit.org

Angel Sala Festival director

Johannes Klein Head of Programming

angel.sala@sitgesfilmfestival.com

jklein@in-edit.org

Mike Hostench Deputy Director mike.hostench@sitgesfilmfestival.com

REC FESTIVAL INTERNACIONAL DE CINEMA DE TARRAGONA Mònica Garcia Massagué Foundation Deputy General Manager monica.garcia@sitgesfilmfestival.com

festivalrec.com Xavier Garcia Puerto Director javiergp@festivalrec.com

Diego Lopez Member of the Film Selection Committee brigadoon@sitgesfilmfestival.com

38


SERVICES

AUDIOPROJECTS

BARCELONA FILM COMISSION

audioprojects.com

bcncatfilmcommission.com

Ashkhen Mirzoyan Bussiness and Legal Affairs

Montserrat Guiu Valls Coordinator filmcommission3@bcn.cat

corporate@audioprojects.com

FIG TREE STUDIOS

FILMARKET HUB

figtreestudios.tv

filmarkethub.com Andrew Galletly Director

Bernardo Gรณmez COO & Co-founder

andrew@figtreestudios.tv

berni@filmarkethub.com

Andrea Giannone CEO & Co-founder andrea@filmarkethub.com

39


SERVICES

MAKING MUSIC IN SILENCE

PARC AUDIOVISUAL DE CATALUNYA

musicinsilence.net

parcaudiovisual.cat

Jesus Diaz Composer

Oriol Moreno Sales Manager

daniela.galan@musicinsilence.net

oriol.moreno@parcaudiovisual.com

TRAGALGAR 13 MUSIC HOUSE trafalgar13.com Patrick Hoogvliet Director patrick@trafalgar13.com

40


ON-SITE CONTACTS

CATALUNYA FILM COMISSION

CATALAN FILMS & TV

bcncatfilmcommission.com

catalanfilms.cat

Passatge de la banca, 1r 3a 08002 Barcelona +34 93 552 91 63 cfc@gencat.cat

Provenรงa 281, 2n 2a 08037 Barcelona +34 93 552 4940 info@catalanfilms.cat

Carlota Guerrero Manager

Mar Medir Coordinator

cguerrerob@gencat.cat

mmedir@catalanfilms.cat

Queralt Pons International Promotion mercats@catalanfilms.cat

41


42

Catalogue Berlinale 2017  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you