Page 1


The Brownsville States-Graphic

Thursday, June 24, 2010


Dixie honors outstanding in League By: XAVIER COLE Staff Writer

During the second half of the closing ceremonies for Haywood County Dixie Youth baseball Saturday June 12, awards were presented to the outstanding performers and contributors through the years. Each year two $500 scholarships are presented to a graduating senior who came through the Haywood County program. The recipients for 2010 were Colton Keen and Seth Mothershed. The 2010 leadership award was presented to two young men who volunteered as coaches; these gentlemen were Cody Campbell and Aaron Martin. Patricia Johnson was named Coach of the Year, while Greg Vanstory was surprised with the presentation of the 2010 Game Ball. The 2010 Homerun Club consisted of eight members: LaQuavis Jones, Bo Gillispie, Ryan Siler, Hughes Simmons, Denarius Toliver, Josh Reed, Colton Lily, and Braden Nace. Following these recognitions, the players and coaches for the 2010 Haywood County All-Star team were announced in each division. The Haywood County Single-A All-Star team consists of Nicholas Noble, Kadarian White, Marquis Mays, Marc Arizmendi, Zachary Pittman, O`Brien Henley, Josh Hayes, Reed Russell, Emmanuel Garrison, Sedarius Palmer, Tyler Firmin, and Ryan Martin. The team is coached by Lewis Noble, Tommy Russell, Jose Arizmendi, and Marc Arizmendi. The will begin all-star competition July 25; the location has yet to be announced. The Haywood Double-A All-Stars are under the direction of Alan Brown, Brad Essary, Tommy Chapman and Alex Evans. Players forming the team are Nolan Schwarz, Eli Essary, Rusty Myers, Zion Houston, Reed Chapman, Markeston Douglas, Marquis Pugh, Alex Evans, Andrew Reed, Benjamin Naylor, Patrick Gaines, and Tyler Howell. The team will begin competing July 1 right here in Brownsville at Volunteer Park. The Triple-A AllStar team will also open competition on their home ďŹ elds at Volunteer Park July 1. Team members are: Tillman McRae, Brandon Evans, Landon Wilson, Justin Campbell, Calen Johnson, LaQuavis Jones, Mason Coulston, Hunter Moore, Kahlon Houston, Zach Esquivias, Kylan Shaw, and Sam Banks. The team is coached by Willie Johnson, Jon Evans, and Jim Brady Coulston. Finally, we have the Major All-Stars, who under the direction of coaches Mike Coburn and Jason Byrd will resume play July 9 in Jackson. The team of 12 is made up by Hughes Simmons, Kris Johnson, Braden Nace, Denarius Toliver, Bo Gillispie, Ryan Siler, Josh Reed, Josh Coburn, Jaxon Byrd, Hunter Roten, Chase Coulston, and Avery Schwarz. We wish these teams and coaches the best as they prepare to represent Haywood County. Check the States-Graphic for team updates.

Major League All-Stars

Photo By: Xavier Cole

Home Run Club

Photo By: Xavier Cole

Pictured is the 2010 major league all-star team for Haywood County. They will begin competition in Jackson July 9.

Single-A All Stars

Photo By: Xavier Cole

The 2010 Haywood County All-Star team was announced during closing ceremonies Saturday. The will begin competing July 25, the location will be determined at a later date.

The 2010 Homerun Club consisted of eight players that hit homeruns during this season.

Triple-A All-Stars

Photo By: Xavier Cole

The 2010 triple-A All-star team for Haywood County will begin competition at Volunteer Park on July 1.

Golf Memberships starting at $60.00 per month

Double-A All Stars

Photo By: Xavier Cole

The double-A All-star team 2010 for Haywood County will also open competition at Volunteer Park on July 1.

Brownsville Country Club and Golf Course Country Club Rd • Brownsville, TN 38012


Chickasaw Golf Course

Coach of the Year

Photo By: Xavier Cole

Patricia Johnson was honored for her years of service and dedication to the Dixie program by being named 2010 Coach of the Year.

2010 Game Ball Recipient Photo By: Xavier Cole

The Dixie Youth Baseball closing ceremonies came with a surprise for several in attendance. Greg Vanstory, left, was presented with the 2010 Game Ball for his service in the community and especially the Dixie programs.

Located inside the Chickasaw State Park in Henderson Monday Specials and Senior Rates Bring in this ad for $5.00 off our regular rate

731-989-4700 Follow us on Facebook and Twitter A Jack Nicklaus Signature Design -Memberships and group rates available

B2 Sports New  

2010 Game Ball Recipient Major League All-Stars Coach of the Year Double-A All Stars Single-A All Stars The double-A All...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you