Page 1

CANADIAN ACADEMY

rEV

EW

Scientia Clavis Successus

Ottavianos leave a little kindness at CA

Spring 2005

D

r. David Ottaviano, Canadian Academyʼs Headmaster, announced his resignation after a seven-year tenure. He came to CA in 1998 with his wife, Cathy, son, Kyle, and daughter, Kate, after having served as headmaster at the American School in Milan, Italy for five years. Prior to Milan, David served as head of the International School of Belgrade and as the superintendent of two American public school districts in New Jersey. When offered an extended contract to stay in Italy, Dr. Ottaviano needed to make the decision whether to stay or to go. The Ottavianos looked into schools they felt were some of the best schools in the world, including CA. The schoolʼs reputation and the opportunity to live in Japan appealed to the entire family. Their interest in Japan began when they had a Japanese exchange teacher live with them while they were residing in Milan. David explains that they chose CA because of “the fascination of coming and living in Japan and the fact that the school had a wonderful reputation that would also serve our own family well.” There are three things that Dr. Ottaviano feels are major accomplishments from his seven-year tenure at CA. The first is that the school is now financially stronger despite recessions in Japan and the United States. The second is that the academic excellence of the school has continued to improve thanks to the good work of the teachers. For example, students now have higher SAT and Japanese proficiency exam scores. The school music program has also been enhanced with the addition of an orchestra program. The third is that Dr. Ottaviano helped CA remember its roots of service to the community. During a study of the history of the school, he realized that the schoolʼs motto, Scientia Clavis Successus, actually means “knowledge is the key to successful service.” He explains, “Somehow throughout the middle 40-50 years of CAʼs existence the meaning of our motto was lost and I think itʼs important that it has been brought back. When you have a college preparatory school, where all the children are doing fine academically, what is the most important characteristic for us to teach? The most important characteristic I think is kindness. You can teach kindness through service and by helping our children, who are privileged to attend this school, understand that they are responsible to give to (Continued on next page)


Ottavianos leave a little kindness at CA continued from Page 1

C A a

enti

Sci

Suc cess us

Cla v is

IN tHIS iSSUE Welcome Wessons ........... 3 Sayonara party ................ 4 Activities Center ............. 5 Highlights........................ 6 Alumni essay contest ...... 7 Nagamine trip.................. 7 New England gathering... 8 Upcoming reunions ......... 8 Melinda Iversen ʻ67 ........ 9 CA historical archive....... 9 In Memoriam .................. 10 Alumni Mailbox .............. 11 The Review is a published by the Development and Alumni Relations Office for alumni, parents, students, faculty and friends of Canadian Academy. Please send letters or news items to the Development and Alumni Relations Office. If you have moved, or are planning on moving, please let us know your new address. Dr. David Ottavianno Headmaster Dr. Charles Kite Assistant Headmaster Kelsey Cleveland Director of Development & Alumni Relations Gerad Carrier High School Principal Michael Colaianni Middle School Principal Robert Wenger Elementary School Principal CANADIAN ACADEMY 4-1 Koyo-cho Naka Higashinada-ku Kobe 658-0032 Japan Phone: 81-78-857-0100 Fax: 81-78-857-3250 E-mail: alumni@mail.canacad.ac.jp Web site: http://www.canacad.ac.jp 2

other people.” Cathy Ottaviano adds, “In some ways, by doing that research, David breathed life back into our motto and reinvigorated the whole concept of service at CA. Students have become much more aware of the need to give back to their community by being of service to others.” As trained psychologists, both David and Cathy feel that it is important to teach kindness to our students. One of the first examples of this that they found already existing at CA was Sports Day, which emphasizes cooperation among students of all ages. David offers an illustrative story of the kind of caring that he thinks is so important to have infused in a school. A parent of an elementary school student came to him asking where to find the high school principal. This parent told Mr. Carrier, the high school principal, about her sonʼs positive experience on the playground after school. A high school boy helped teach him how to throw a ball and spent some time playing catch with him. This parent did not know who the boy was, but wanted to say thank you for the high school studentʼs kindness. As middle and high school counselor, Cathy feels her role at the school has been to enhance the caring and kind nature of the students. First, she worked to change studentsʼ perception of the counselors. “With our offices being so close to those of the principal, it was easy for students to see the counselors as disciplinarians,” said Cathy. “I wanted students to see me as someone who was approachable.” Cathy describes her work as trying to build studentsʼ confidence, show respect for students as individuals, help them foster empathy with others, and improve their relationships with their peers and families. As one of the peer counselor trainers, Cathy found that the experience is often a life changing one for students because they are allowed to pull their masks down and become more real with each other. Cathy says that she “tried to make sure that students were touched not only intellectually, but also affectively in terms of relating to each other and being real with each other. I guess my role has been to infuse Davidʼs concept of kindness throughout the middle and high school. I think we have accomplished that.” During his tenure, Dr. Ottaviano has significantly strengthened the schoolʼs relationship with the alumni community. Dr. Ottaviano explains why he felt this was important, “Along with understanding about the importance of service and kindness, I think that having a larger family support the school is important. The relationships that we can establish with our alumni really help us as much as it connects the alumni with each other and back to the school. We now have a son who is an alumnus and we see how important it is that he remain connected with his CA friends through his years at college.” As a parent, Cathy feels that one of the most important things about CA is the sense of community that goes beyond the schoolʼs walls and doesnʼt end when people leave. Both David and Cathy will miss Japan when they leave Kobe. While here, Dr. Ottaviano made a significant effort to learn about Japanese culture by studying the language, tea ceremony and aikido. David thinks that they will miss the Japanese culture and people the most. Cathy appreciated and admired the attention, respect and empathy that Japanese people show to each other. Fortunately, they have already found a Japanese grocery store to visit in their new community when they long for a taste of Japan. When they leave Japan, the Ottavianos will be moving to New Jersey. Dr. Ottaviano will serve as the superintendent of a public school district in Highland Park, New Jersey, a diverse community. The school is a teaching research school for nearby Rutgers University. David is looking forward to continuing to work in a multicultural setting. Cathy, who is also a trained financial planner, will be working with ISS Financial Network. She will travel to Asia to help teachers and international schools with their financial needs. For her work, she plans to visit CA once or twice a year. Their daughter, Kate, will enter university in the United States. As they prepare to leave, the Ottavianos want to continue the spirit of teaching kindness and good character at CA. As a model of giving back to the community and demonstrating kindness to others, they are establishing the “Peer Relations Scholarship.” This scholarship will be given every year to a graduating senior with financial need who demonstrates good peer relationship skills and the characteristic of kindness during their time at CA. The Ottavianos will present the first award at the 2005 graduation ceremony. The Ottavianos want this to be their legacy and ongoing commitment to the school.


Introducing the Wesson family

The Wessons in Peru. Front: Daniel and Winsor. Back: Amy (holding Judson), Fred and Thomas (holding John).

F

red Wesson will serve as the next headmaster of Canadian Academy. The Wessons are currently enjoying their third year in Lima, Peru, where Fred is the Superintendent of Colegio Roosevelt. From 1996 to 2002, Fred headed the American International School of Bucharest and during his time there led the effort to build a new campus. Fred implemented the International Baccalaureate (IB) program K-12 at Bucharest and is currently overseeing the implementation of the IB Middle Years Program and Primary Years Program in Lima. The Wessonsʼ first overseas experience was in São Paulo, Brazil, where Fred was the Secondary School Principal. Prior to moving overseas, Fred was High School Director at a day school in New Haven, Connecticut and an admissions director for two New England boarding schools. He has taught English and psychology and coached tennis, hockey and soccer. He met his wife, Amy, during this time, and their three boys were born in Connecticut, Vermont and Brazil. Amy worked together with Fred in the admissions office at the Hotchkiss School before working in admissions at St. Georgeʼs School and The University of Vermont and at Choate Rosemary Hall in the development office. Amy will join the Development and Alumni Relations Office at CA. Fred is originally from Rochester, New York, where his father was an executive with Eastman Kodak. Amy was raised in Canton, New York, where her father was the town judge. While Fred went off to boarding school at Deerfield Academy, Amy skipped her last year of high school to enter St. Lawrence University, where she double majored in art and English and swam for a nationally ranked team. Fred attended Yale University, where he majored in English. During their first year of marriage, Fred earned his masters in education and school leadership from the Harvard Graduate School of Education. The Wesson boys are Thomas, 17, who will be a freshman at Bates College next year, Winsor, 14, who will be in the tenth grade at CA, and Daniel, 12 who will be in seventh grade at CA. The whole family enjoys tennis and other sports, traveling, reading, and Daniel has recently taken up guitar. As avid dog lovers, they will be arriving in Kobe with their two Jack Russell terriers. The Wessons also believe in service. Amy has been President of the Friends of the National Museum of Art of Romania, and Fred is a founding member of the Board of Directors of the Council of International Schools. Thomas is President of his schoolʼs largest club, Operation Smile, an organization that gives children with facial deformities the chance for a better life. Fred and Amy have this message for the CA community: “From the moment we arrived in Japan for our first ever visit, we were excited to know that this might be our next home. Everyone received us graciously and warmly, and the school is clearly a happy one, built on the kind of values that we were hoping to find in our next school. Fred is honored to have been chosen among a fine group of educators for the position of Headmaster. Amy is looking forward to being a partner with Fred in supporting the school, and we are both certain that our children are lucky to have the chance to be students at CA.” 3


Ottavianos’ Sayonara Party O

ver 450 parents, faculty, staff, board members, alumni, high school and middle school students gathered at a special community celebration to bid farewell to the Ottaviano family and raise money and awareness about the Activities Center project. The party, which was sponsored by a generous member of the community, raised over ¥7,500,000 for the Activities Center project! The party was held at the Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel on Rokko Island in March. The evening began with a rousing taiko performance by Hatakko Taiko. Board Chairman, Ben Shaman, offered a toast to the Ottavianos. David Ottaviano then gave highlights of his seven-year tenure at Canadian Academy. Cathy Ottaviano announced the establishment of the Peer Relations Scholarship, an annual scholarship to be given to a graduating senior. In closing, Cathy asked the audience to sing Put A Little Love in Your Heart to emphasize the Ottavianosʼ goal of making the world a better place through kindness. Members of the Board of Trustees long-range planning committee and finance committee (Tsuneo Inui, Imad Ramadan, and Brian Harris) introduced the Activities Center project to the community and unveiled the architectsʼ design. (For more information, see the article on the facing page about the Activities Center.) The PTA, represented by Vice Presidents Nancy Bahner and Sonia Gill, presented their gift of ¥5,000,000 to the Activities Center and stated that they hope their gift would inspire the community to support the project. On behalf of the Board of Trustees, Rick Brueggemann, Vice Chairman, accepted the gift. After a delicious buffet dinner, the audience was again treated to a performance by Hatakko Taiko. A group of sixth graders then sang a song appropriately entitled Sayonara to the Ottavianos. The singers were followed by the high school string quartet, who played a piece from the Japanese animated film, Mononoke Hime, in dedication to Cathy Ottaviano. The student entertainment concluded with a lively Indian dance by a group of five middle school students. Dancers of all ages then danced the night away to the music of Ana Gholston ʻ84 and her group and DJ Forrest Goodwin. (Photo credits: Noritsu Koki Co., Ltd.)

4


Activities Center update

The architectsʼ proposed design of the Activities Center, the first major expansion of the Rokko Island campus.

A

two-building Activities Center complex will be built on the Norwegian School property, adjacent to the current Canadian Academy campus. The Fine Arts facility, a two floor building on the east end of the Norwegian School lot closest to Canadian Academy, will include a small theater, music practice rooms, and multipurpose rooms. It will be connected to our current building by a bridge on the second level. (There is a possibility of adding a third floor for office space, allowing the current office spaces to be converted into classrooms.) A separate gymnasium would be built on the west end of the Norwegian School lot facing the intersection. This plan allows the school to maintain the tennis court area as a space for future classroom expansion of the school, according to the architectsʼ original plans for the facility.

Vision Our Board of Trustees has a vision for Canadian Academyʼs future and they are committed to continually improving our facilities for our students. Currently, the theater and gym facilities cannot effectively accommodate the needs of all students who need to use these facilities. Therefore, last school year, our Board decided that we needed to expand our facilities by adding: • A gymnasium • A performance space • Music practice rooms • Multipurpose spaces • Future classroom space The Board of Trustees plans to finance the project without placing an increased financial burden on Canadian Academy parents by raising tuition.

Project goals • • • • • •

Provide a gymnasium for the Elementary School. Provide practice space for Middle and High School athletics. Provide a space for school performances, assemblies and rehearsals. Provide practice rooms for our band, choir and orchestra students. Provide space for a variety of after-school club and other activities. Provide a variety of options for additional classrooms to allow for future enrollment growth.

Timeframe • • •

18 months from design/permit through construction phase The starting date for this project depends on the financial support of our community The most optimistic completion date is January 2007

Funding • • •

Funds set aside Donations from individuals and corporations will be used to enhance the facility and/or to decrease the loan amount Bank loans

If you would like more information about the Activities Center project or about how you or your company can help us move one step closer to making the project a reality, please contact the Development Office or the Headmaster. 5


Fall Highlights of CA’s 91st year Sports Day

Sports Day is a unique opportunity for students of all ages to join together in fun relays.

Middle School Fall Trip

In September, Middle School students traveled to Awaji Island, Green Echo and Wakasawan. A highlight of the Wakasawn trip is riding a cutter boat.

PTA busy supporting CA

Habitat for Humanity

After building houses in Thailand, the Habitat for Humanity group visited Cambodia to sightsee and donate food and clothing to villagers.

Once Upon a Mattress

Terry Fox Run

On Saturday, October 16, 875 walkers and runners raised ¥6.3 million for cancer research in Kansai.

The PTA is made up of parents and faculty who give their time and energy to provide educational and recreational activities for our children and community. Fall highlights include the Welcome Back BBQ and the Fall Gala.

Over 50 of CAʼs middle and high school student presented the musical, Once Upon a Mattress, in November.

More photo highlights at <www.canacad.ac.jp> and <www.canacad.ac.jp/NE_News_Arch.php>. Go to see photo galleries of Sports Day, the Terry Fox Fun, Once Upon a Mattress, Winter concerts, the APAC theater festival and Food Fair.

CA community raises funds for tsunami relief

A

ll over the world, people responded to help tsunami victims of South East Asia. Canadian Academy was no exception. The schoolʼs original goal was to raise ¥1,000,000. Ten days later the community had already surpassed that goal. Fundraising activities included a run/walkathon, rice lunch, bake sales, toy sales, movie showings, collecting donations from the public in Sannomiya, and much more. As of April 15, over ¥1,700,000 had been raised. Sadly, the CA community was directly impacted by the tsunami. A parent, Dr. Arne Van Teunenbroek, passed away in Thailand. The PTA presented books in Dutch to the CA library in his memory. The parents of Derek Kwanʼ98 were also vicitms of the tsunami in Thailand. 6


Seeking alumni essay contest submissions! Have you ever wanted a chance to reflect on your Canadian Academy experience in writing? Would you like to share how your experience at Canadian Academy influences your life today? Would you like to see your essay published in the Review? Do you want to educate the new Headmaster about why Canadian Academy is such a special place? Would you like to see more stories about individual alumni in the Review?

The Canadian Academy Alumni Essay Contest is your chance to do all of these things! Who: Essay topic: Essay length: Deadline: Guidelines:

Prizes:

All former students of Canadian Academy are invited to participate How did Canadian Academy influence my life? Approximately 500 words June 30, 2005 Essays may be submitted by email to <alumni@mail.canacad.ac.jp> or by regular mail to Alumni Office, Canadian Academy, 4-1 Koyo-cho Naka, Higashinada-ku, Kobe 658-0032 Japan. By email, attach a Microsoft Word document or include the essay in the body of the message. In addition to the essay, please include a photo (digital or print) of yourself today. Winners will receive Canadian Academy logo goods. Winning essays will be published in the Review. All of the essays will be given to the Wesson family to welcome them to Canadian Academy and introduce them to the alumni community.

Here’s to the school so dear to us...

T

he third graders visited the site of the Nagamine campus to learn about the schoolʼs history and transitions. After walking up the hill from Gokoku-jinja, students toured the old school field and the Matsushita Gymnasium. Alumni and former faculty served as their “historical guides” as they visited the old school site. The historical guides, pictured in the back row, included: Charles Ohmori ʻ70, Ana-Maria Leonhardt ʻ56, Mary Hinchman Javeri ʻ67, Billy Burke, Yoshiko Burke, Pat Jarmain, Madeleine MiuraIshihara ʻ77, David Willis, Nariko Kim Hirai ʻ83, Tomiko Ito, Mohan Gulrajani ʻ83, and Maiko Kim Hoshino ʻ86. Several of the historical guides, in addition to being graduates of the school are also parents of CA third grade students. 7


New England Alumni gathering

(Front, left to right) Vidya Venkataramanan ʻ04, Mai Nitta ʻ04, Manesh Lal ʻ04, Madeleine Otani-Jarmain Oldman ʻ67, and Liza Mamtani ʻ99. (Back) Sami Juma ʻ89, Malcolm Meldahl ʻ69, Soraiya Lavji ʻ01, Spencer Liles ʻ77, Carol (Spear) Wright ʻ69, and Deborah Sanders Krause ʻ89.

F

ifteen CA alumni, some spouses, a former teacher, and a baby made for a resoundingly successful gathering of New Englanders at Kaya restaurant in Cambridge, MA, on October 2. Class years from 1967 through 2004 were represented. One of the purposes of the evening was to help welcome recent graduates into the local alumni community. Many alumni from prior years also enjoyed happy mini-reunions. The next New England gathering will take place on October 1, 2005. For more information, contact Spencer Liles ʻ77 at spensworld@yahoo.com.

Upcoming reunions Reunion in Calgary, Alberta from June 23-26, 2005 for the classes of 1957-1965

The reunion will take place at the Fairmont Palliser Hotel, a classic Canadian Pacific Railway Hotel. Each class will be responsible for their own “amusement” with the exception of a welcome reception and final dinner/dance. Anyone who knew Mr. and Mrs. Bishop is encouraged to attend. Mrs. Bishop, who will celebrate her 90th birthday in June, looks forward to seeing all of you. Please contact organizers Mike (Wazir) Seth ʻ59 <sethm@mcdan.com> and Ellen McIlwaine ʻ63 <em@ellenmcilwaine.com> for more information.

Class of 1970 is planning a 35-year reunion

The class of 1970 is planning their 35th reunion. The location and date will be determined soon. All alumni from the classes 1969, 1970, and 1971 are invited. For more information, please contact class representative Greg Maxey <maxeyg@aol.com>.

Class of 1985 20-year reunion in Kobe on October 29-30, 2005

Class of 1985, we need you to come to Kobe for our reunion! After many discussions we have decided to have our 20-year reunion over the last weekend of October. We hope this date will give everybody ample time to plan a trip to Kobe. We want to see as many people as possible to make this reunion a success. The location of the official reunion dinner will be announced as soon as possible. In order to help us plan the reunion please contact Jackie Dadlani <jackie@movenet.or.jp> and/or Yuki Sugimura Robinson <yrob@comcast.net> by September 1 to let us know that you are coming. Please also indicate if you need accommodation in Kobe and for how long. CA teachers, administrators, and staff at CA, as well as graduates of other classes are more than welcome to join us!

Class of 1995 is planning a 10-year reunion

The Class of 1995 is planning a 10th reunion. The location and date are still to be determined. For more information, please contact Sona Terai <sona.terai@morganstanley.com>, Robin Makinson <Robin.Makinson@Lawson.com>, or Saskia Witkam <saskia. witkam@pcvst.com>.

The class of 2000 is planning a 5-year reunion

The class of 2000 is planning a 5th reunion. The location and date are still to be determined. For more information, contact class representatives Tara Wakely <tarasheena@hotmail.com> and Stephanie Arndt <steph_arndt@hotmail.com>. For more information, go to the reunion webpage for updates at http://www.canacad.ac.jp/Com_Alm_Reunions.php. 8


Building bridges of intercultural understanding

By Melinda Frivold Iverson ʻ67 hank you for the news from “the school so dear to us.” I have not written before but would love to reconnect with everyone. Since college I have worked as a filmmaker and Production Manager on commercials and feature films. As with others from CA, my knowledge of Japanese helped me get work in the business. In recent years, I have returned to painting and my production services company, Brickfish Creative Services, has turned its attentions to the art world continuing in the international arena. This is a natural for me since I have always loved art and encouraging cross-cultural communication. I am now working with a group of colleagues on an international arts project I hope will promote both of these great loves. I have teamed up with Norwegian artist, Vebjørn Sand, to build one of Leonardo da Vinciʼs unbuilt bridge designs around the world as a global goodwill and public art project. The first bridge was dedicated in Oslo in 2001 and we have recently gotten the green light on a second project in Odessa, Texas, on the campus of the University of Texas of the Permian Basin. We are developing other projects in China, France, Italy and Istanbul, where Leonardo da Vinci originally Melinda in Vinci at Leonardoʼs birthplace. planned to build the design. He penned the sketch in 1502 for Sultan Bejazet II in Constantinople. Its unprecedented free span of 720 feet made it an incredibly advanced engineering innovation, so innovative, in fact, that the Sultan could not believe it could be built. Leonardo used three structural principles, the pressed-bow, the key stone arch and parabolic curves, to balance tension and compression on the massive structure to produce an elegant, graceful and utterly gorgeous bowtie shaped bridge. We often hear diplomats and politicians speak of “bridge building” as a powerful metaphor for intercultural and multilateral relations. Our team has taken this metaphor literally and hopes that the grace and symbolism of this bridge will connect diverse and distant communities throughout the world. Our dream is to create a global network of middle school kids, such as UNESCOʼs Bridge Schools for Peace (who have already adopted the project) to reconnect art, science and mathematics. And, better still, to invent programs to teach the history of civilization not only through Kings and Popes and Wars, but also through the history of the human mind expressed through art. Leonardo da Vinciʼs preternatural artistic and scientific curiosity and power of observation are our examples in this effort. Anyone interested in receiving an email newsletter about the project can contact me. Also, there is more information on Vebjørn Sandʼs website <www.vebjorn-sand.com> and mine, <www.brickfishcreative.com>, where you can also see my own paintings. In Japan, we had hoped to have a site in Karuizawa on the grounds of the new symphony hall donated by Mr. Oga, a retired executive of the Sony Corporation. Unfortunately, the town decided to use available funds for refurbishing an existing structure. We still hope to contact Mr. Oga about the Project. Japan would be a natural, of course, so weʼre still working on it. Pictured above is a model of Leonardo Da Vinciʼs “Golden Horn” bridge.

T

Canadian Academy establishes archive of school history

C

anadian Academy has a long history and it is important to record our history for future generations. The Alumni Office and the library are working together to establish an archive of materials relating to the schoolʼs history. The school already has an almost complete collection of Red and Grey yearbooks. Items for the archive will include: photographs, correspondence, and other print memorabilia. This school year we have received several items to start off the archive collection including numerous photos of the Nagamine campus taken by former board member Alden Berry and a quilt that commemorates the move to the Rokko Island campus.We received a package of Betty Magoneʼs photos from when she was housemother for the girlsʼ dorm from 1964-1966, from her daughter. In November, John Brady ʻ38 sent us letters that he had sent to Otis Cary ʻ38. Mr. Brady wrote, “Otis was the third generation of hoarders of correspondence, and he had saved all the letters I had written him after he left CA about 1934.” Many of the letters cover life in CA and the dorm, include wonderful slang from the time, and comment on significant historical events. If you have items you would like to donate to the archive, please contact the Alumni Office at alumni@mail.canacad.ac.jp. 9


In memoriam Former faculty member Dr. George Kresel, who taught at CA from 1964-1986, passed away on November 6, 2004, in Rensselaer, Indiana, of heart failure. His wife, Wilma, writes, “I believe age was not on his side to regain the strength needed for life.” Some of his former students from 1979-1981 as well as former colleagues compiled a collection of anecdotes and remembrances in his memory. Here are some of their words about this CA legend: “Dr. Kresel will always remain very much alive in the memories all his CA students who loved, respected and treasured him.” Isabelle Moro ʻ80 “He dared us to be greater than we were, and in taking up the challenge we became exactly that. My term papers from those days are still some of the best research and writing I have ever done.” Joachim de Miranda ʻ79 “I always wondered why he was called Doc. But when I was in his class, I finally understood. His teaching style, his comments, his thoughts and his everything was just ʻDoc.ʼ” Tammy Yagi-Kitagawa ʻ80 “Doc was among the many great teachers we were lucky enough to have at CA, and his dry wit, wisdom, and knowledge of all things mundane and obscure challenged us in ways that many did not appreciate until years later, and which some are still trying to fathom.” Garet Gluck ʻ79 John MacMillan writes: “My father, Alexander “Sandy” MacMillan, died on February 10, 2005 of the lingering effects of a stroke. Dad, and his sister, Ruth Mary MacMillan, were students at the Academy in the 1930s. Their father, Hugh, was a well-known Presbyterian missionary and teacher in Taiwan; their mother, Donalda, was a celebrated nurse in Taipei for some 50 years. I do not know Dadʼs exact date of graduation though I know they left Asia to return to Canada when the Second World War broke out in 1939, and while my grandparents returned to Taiwan, my Dad stayed in Canada. Dad continued his studies at Jarvis High School in Toronto, and then got his Bachelor of Science in horticulture from the Ontario Agricultural College in 1950. He had a long and distinguished career in Canadaʼs agricultural feed industry. Along with myself, he also had a son, Peter, and a daughter, Nancy. He just recently celebrated his 52nd wedding anniversary with my mother, Ruth. Dad enjoyed reading about his classmates from the 1930s, and was very proud of his education in Japan. I brought him some daikon and sashimi before he died. Old tastes and habits die hardest! Among the many items on display at my Dadʼs funeral was a copy of the CA yearbook, Red and Grey, from 1936 which was read enthusiastically by many friends and family members.” Heather MacKinnon Humpries writes: “I am sad to say that my mother, Sylvia Clarke MacKinnon ʻ28, passed away at age 93. She had very happy memories of her time at Canadian Academy in Japan.” David Bach ʻ42 wrote that his brother, Stanley Bach ʻ33, passed away on December 29 after a tragic accident on December 27. Stanley was the oldest of the six Bach siblings to attend Canadian Academy. Except for furloughs in the US, a member of the Bach family lived as a “dormie” from 1927 until April 1941. John Harper Brady, Jr. ʻ38 passed away on December 29, 2004, at the age of 84 in Asheville, North Carolina. He was born in Karuizawa, Japan on July 21, 1920, to Presbyterian missionary parents in Kochi, on Shikoku Island. He attended CA and lived in Gloucester House. He was fond of his CA experience and kept his graduation pin, which was found in his personal effects after his death. After graduating from CA, he attended Davidson College in North Carolina. During WWII he served in the U.S. Navy in the Pacific, where his ship rescued three Japanese soldiers who had been adrift for 20 days. He interrogated them because of his fluent Japanese. More than 20 years later, they were all reunited on Japanese TV, and their friendship continued until his death. After WWII, he served in General MacArthurʼs headquarters in Tokyo, then became a PCUS missionary to Japan in 1948. He met his wife Annie in Japan, where they married. They lived in Kobe and Shikoku until their retirement in 1985. All six of their children attended CA and three graduated from CA. During his life in Kobe, he received a mayoral award for starting an anti-litter program on hiking trails in the hills behind Kobe; he also targeted JR to provide non-smoking train cars. He was an avid hiker who climbed Mt. Fuji several times, along with many of the high peaks in the Japan Alps. After retiring to Black Mountain, he joined the Kiwanis Club and volunteered at Swannanoa Valley Christian Ministries. He sang in the church choir at Black Mountain Presbyterian Church and continued to hike up until his death. He is survived by his wife, Annie Kok Brady; children Susan Dorning ʻ70, Carol McGlothlin ʻ71, John Harper III ʻ73, Patricia Bullman ʻ76, Allen Brady ʻ77, and Bill Brady ʻ79. He also leaves behind his younger brother Doug and 10 grandchildren. Clifford Edward Medling ʻ58 passed away on December 2, 2004. He had suffered for the past ten years with kidney problems and congestive heart failure. He entered the hospital on November 12, 2004, and went into hospice on December 1. It was his decision to take morphine to ease his pain, knowing that the medication would slow his already weak heart. His son and daughter were each able to spend 30 minutes talking with their father while he was lucid before his death. His wife said he died very peacefully. He is survived by his twin brother, Paul Medling ʻ58 of Boston, MA; his younger brother, Bob Medling ʻ62, of Nashville, TN; his wife, Yeung Medling of Lilburn, GA; his two children Sonya Riley of McKinney, TX and Clifford Edward Medling Jr. of Nasuha, NH; and his four grandchildren: Jason and Auburn Riley and Clayton and Rhett Medling. Ed was born May 12, 1940 in Memphis TN, just 29 minutes after his twin brother, Paul. He worked in the Department of Disability Adjudication for the State of Georgia for 27 years until 1994 when he retired due to ill health. Contributions to the Kidney Foundation may be made in Edʼs honor. Patrick Gilstrap ʻ59 died on March 4 at his home in Williston, Florida at the age of 63. He was a retired supervisor of a food service company. He served in the U.S. Marine Corps during Vietnam, where he received a Bronze Star. He was a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars and an avid computer buff. Survivors include his former wife, Nancy; sons, Samuel Gilstrap of Washington, D.C., and Beau Gilstrap of Chicago, Ill.; a daughter, Mary Claire Caine, of Cary, N.C.; and two grandchildren. Many alumni will remember Pat as the organizer of the Canadian Academy Grand Reunion in Florida. In an article about the reunion, classmate Barry Burdett describes Pat: “Pat Gilstrap, a 1959 graduate who lives in the Orlando area, was the man responsible for the entire event. Though he spent only one year (1958-1959) at CA, to many it seemed as though he had spent several years there because of his impact on the social and sports arenas as a resident of the boysʼ dorm. Consistent with his past performances, it was because of Patʼs tenacity, computer skills, determination, and monumental time commitment that this reunion took place.” Pat had been planning to attend a CA reunion in Calgary this summer. His classmates will honor him at the reunion this summer. Kees de Bie ʻ84, who attended Canadian Academy from 1979-1982, passed away on September 10, 2004 due to cancer. His brother Adrian ʻ87 writes, “He fought the illness for 7 months, but it was an unfair fight, for it was terminal since the day they found it.” 10


Alumni Mailbox: Where are they now? 1929

Sylvia B. Duvall writes about her 93-year old mother, “Alice Shively Bunce ʻ29 has been married to the love of her life for over 70 years, and this may be close to a record for an alumna of Canadian Academy. She and Dad live in a nursing facility, surrounded by tansu, screens, scrolls and woodblock prints acquired during their years in the Orient.”

representative for the Class of 1957. If you are interested in volunteering for this position, please contact the Alumni Office at alumni@mail.canacad.ac.jp.

John Alsdorf writes, “Let me echo what Barry has said. As Barryʼs dorm roommate for his one year at CA, I can recall — and Iʼm sure you do too, Barry — times lying in our bunk beds after a day of Spartans vs. Trojans athletic events, perhaps, or just a day downtown in Kobe, whatever we might have done, commenting on how Pat was a bigger than life character. His impact, in oh, so many ways, was outsized. And so the hole he leaves now is also outsized. He will be missed.”

1937

Suzanne Ninomiya Hough writes, “I have been auditing classes at the University of Colorado since 1987. Courses have included history, language, literature, art, and music of Japan. At the Boulder Public Library, where I work, we hosted an exhibition on the 150th anniversary of Perryʼs black ships.”

1941

Arvindkumar Chotai, a retired business executive who worked for Mitsubishi Corporation in Mumbai from 1957-1982 writes, “The best years of my life were spent as a student of the Canadian Academy from 1935-1941. I belonged to the class of the year 1941.” When Mr. Chotai was at Canadian Academy, he was the only student from India.

1946 W. Robert Bruce writes, “I was a student at Canadian Academy in the years 1939-40 and 1940-41, in grade 6 and 7. I believe Mr. Parker was the principal at the time. My parents were George and Ellen Bruce who were located in Manchuria. I stayed at the boyʼs residence on the mountain, at Nagamineyama, Nada Ku, as I remember. Iʼve been back to Japan many times, visiting Canadian Academy, the old residence once. Iʼd be interested in any records of my roommates, and any memories of others of that time. Sincerely, W. Robert Bruce, Ph.D., MD, Professor emeritus, University of Toronto <wr.bruce@utoronto. ca>.”

1957

After several years of service, Ginny Theuer Parker has stepped down as class

worked so hard to organize. I was saddened to find out about the hardships he had gone through, but it was also clear that he had attained many personal triumphs along a rough road. For that, I was happy.”

home while going to college. We live on 11 acres, 13 miles north of Dripping Springs, TX. I recently retired from the City of Austin Electric Utility (Austin Energy) and have gone back working part time in the same capacity. During my days off, I enjoy building things on our property. Currently I am building a large green house. Some day I hope to raise goats.”

1974 Kenneth Kodama writes, “I just recently got wind of the existence of the Review. Would love to hear from “old” classmates.”

1977

1964

Maureen Crane Wartski writes, “With a nod to ʻgeriatric greatness,ʼ Mike and I celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary by participating in the Senior Games (Wake County, NC). This year we won gold for dancing the tango in the Silver Arts Division. Last year, we also took gold for dancing a fast cha-cha to ʻPretty Woman.ʼ Between dancing and my writing —The Promise, a young adult novel, was put out by Perfection Learning Company recently — Mike and I are kept on our toes by our three grandchildren. When the younger set becomes too much for us, we flee to the sanctuary of our small beach house on the Carolina coast.”

1959

Barry Burdett writes, “I join you in remembering Pat Gilstrap whose patriotism seemed to be a driving force behind his successes and hardships in life. As a senior at CA I had one goal: get through this year with as little effort as possible while seeing what I could slide by Mr. Sullivan, George Samuel, Mr. Camp, and the ubiquitous Mr. Potter. But Pat talked many times about his future plans in the military and the important role he could play in our countryʼs future. It was all beyond me at the time, but Pat had his agenda spelled out and was excited about life after CA. I lost track of Pat and all of you for nearly 40 years, but was thrilled and moved to participate in the reunion in Florida that Pat

Tom Stanley, a professor of Asian Studies at the University of Hong Kong writes: “In April, I led a group on a walking trip in Japan and it turned out that one of the travelers was a former student of CA. Shin Lin (now called Philip Lin) joined CA in 1954, I think, as a kindergarten student, proceeded to grade 1 the next year and then skipped to grade 3 the following year, joining his natural cohort, the class of 1966. In November, he and his wife came over for dinner and he brought his 1955 yearbook.” For more information about the walking trips, go to<www.walkjapan.com>.

1972

John Bridgman writes, “Jane and I have two daughters that are grown and have children of their own. Our son is 21 and lives at

Heidi Schrepfer Durning returned to the Canadian Academy stage on November 22 to dance in a Sound/Image/Dance Crossover Concert with the Rubio Quartet from Belgium, pianist, Rikuya Terashima, and artist, Sarah Brayer. Heidi choreographed and danced an original work to ʻWoman by the Seaʼ for piano and quartet by John McCabe.

Sisters Madeleine Jarmain-Otani Olman ʻ67 and Cookie Jarmain Otani-Smith ʻ64 enjoyed their first visit to the Rokko Island campus while in Kobe visiting relatives. 11


1984

Steve McArtin writes, “During Steveʼs three years at CA from 1973 to 1976 - he could often be found wondering the hallways in school - as you can see it is now near the end of 2004 and nothing has changed even when he is at work.”

1980

David Rodrigues de Miranda writes, “A short update on a major tack in my life. After 19 years of Shell Oil and Gas construction projects in a host of interesting places, the death of Dr. Kresel and the Tsunami brought the reality of passing time home very hard and made us rethink our goals. The gypsy life will stop in June this year when I finally start a steady job, to be home with my family and friends in Haugesund, Norway, and hopefully cut down on stress, read more books, teach my kids how to sail and generally do what we really wanted to do with our time as a family before we regret not having done all that whilst we had a chance. For those of you passing through Norway on your travels and in need of a couch and a warm fire on the West Coast - drop us a line and weʼll try to make time. Live as you would have wanted to live...”

Homa Moghbel Monadjem, who was visiting her mother who still lives in Japan, came to visit the Rokko Island campus for the first time along with two of her four sons. Homa lives with her family in São Paulo, Brazil. During her emotional return to Canadian Academy, Homa had the opportunity to meet with several of her former teachers including Itoh-sensei, Senoh-sensei, Mr. Guthrie, and Mr. Hengal.

but I still run operations in both NYC and LA. I also attended the London reunion last May where I ran into a few friends and siblings of our class who are giving me a hand to get everybody back on the radar. We need to get the ball rolling!! Iʼd appreciate any 86ʼers contacting me directly at the email below straight away!! andrew@meehanmigita.com Larry Chang, who attended CA from 1980-1984, made his first visit back to Japan. During his visit, he visited the site of the Nagamine campus and toured the Rokko Island campus. Larry works in the financial industry in Boston.

1989

Liz Miller and her mother, Tsuyako, donated her fatherʼs extensive collection of books related to Asian art to the Herbert Norman Library at Canadian Academy.

1986

Class representative Andrew Meehan Migata writes, “Need your full attention!! Our 20th reunion will soon be upon us, and we need to get in gear and round up as many of you to attend this event. Now, I recently made Tokyo my primary base to set up shop here last September,

Daniel Petersen, who was in Mrs. Slinkmanʼs class from 19801981, visited CA for business reasons as part of his work as chief representative in Tokyo for IHI danmark, a financial services and insurance company. Before joining the financial business, Daniel worked as a pilot. He combined business with pleasure

1981 Christine Yamamoto Tsujimotoʼs 15-year old son, Kent Tsujimoto, was drafted to the Hanshin Tigers baseball team in November. Kent Tsujimoto attended CA from kindergarten until midway through grade 7. Kentʼs passion has always been baseball. At an early age, he joined a local community team and played with them for a number of years. He also played on Canadian Academyʼs Middle School boyʼs baseball team in grade 6. Midway through grade 7, Kent had the opportunity to attend school in America and play on some very strong baseball teams there. Congratulations Christine and Kento! Christineʼs other children, Yuto and Emika, are current CA students. 12

During their first visit back to Japan, Anette Kylve Lidman ʻ87 and Helene Kylve Sundvall ʻ90 visited the old site of CA and the Rokko Island campus. They both now live in Sweden. Anette works for Hudson Human Capital Solutions. Helene is busy taking care of her son, Felix, and has another child on the way. During their visit, they caught up with some of their former teachers including Mr. Hengal, Ms. Ota, Mr. Rabb and also one of their classmates, Jayshree Ramani ʻ90, who is now teaching at CA.

and visited the alumni office and took a tour of the Rokko Island campus. Although he attended many different international schools, Daniel felt that Canadian Academy had the most influence on him of all the schools he attended. He has nothing but very fond memories of CA and the time spent living in Kobe. He lives in Tokyo with his wife, Kanna, 4 1/2 year old son, Sean, and 2 1/2 year old daughter, Alexandra.

1990

Class representative, Sheri Shamdasani Sen, writes, “See you all on May 20th in New York! Until then, in honor of our 15th year anniversary, here is an update on how we are all doing. Babies abound from our class. Little mini falcons everywhere on the globe! Rebecca Powers Yoshida wins the baby competition for gender consistency! At last count it was rumored that she had three little girls! Rebecca lives in Maine now and has been in touch with both John Allman and Chiyo Matsubayashi. Rebecca has confirmed that she will be attending the reunion. Matching Rebecca child for child with three of her own, the prize for cute baby naming goes to Emy Reilly Seeley, who named her first born son Reilly! Emy was a practicing nurse at a childrenʼs oncology ward at NYU for a little while, but Reilly and his siblings Shane and Keila now keep Emy busy as a full time mom in New Jersey where she lives with husband, Matt. Emy, too, has confirmed she will be attending the reunion. Nikki Young Esmond, ever balanced and practical, has the perfect combination of one gorgeous little boy, Jake, and one lovely little girl, Haley. Nikki went to Stanford and worked as a consultant for a while, but is now a stay at home mom too and lives in California with her two kids and her husband, Dan. Big congratulations to Nikki and Dan who celebrate their fifth wedding anniversary this year! Leina Ohara, with her history of balancing great grades with extracurricular activities like cheerleading, has lived in New York for most of the time since graduating. Leina now balances motherhood as well as a longstanding career at Goldman Sachs. Terrie Masuyama Ohara turned into a triatholon competitor after college and married a handsome Osaka-bred gentleman she met at her gym. They had a secular wedding on Port Island on Sports Day October 10th a few years ago, with only close friends and family


as witnesses, and she asked old friend, Sheri Shamdasani, to officiate the wedding vows! Terrie traded in karaoke songs for nursery rhymes a few years ago, and is now raising rosy-cheeked little daughter, Akane, almost full time in Chiba, and doing a little interpreting on the side. Bina Rupani Tiratrai lives in exotic Kuala Lampur, Malaysia with husband, Vinod. Bina has a son, Chirag (this means “light” in India, and this handsome smiling little boy absolutely lives up to his name!) and her latest addition is a cute little daughter. Bina visits Kobe often with her two cute kids as her parents still live there. Arielle Ballard Anis has been living in Boston for most of the time since she left CA and ever so romantically married her college sweetheart, Tamer. They are parents to cute son, Ramsey, who boasts Arielleʼs big blue eyes. Arielle plans to attend the reunion as well. Susannah Tosh Henderson is a mom to both a very sweet daughter and a son. It seems she lives in Australia and is an avid gardener. Malini Thadani Singh lives with husband Praveen in the San Francisco Bay area and they are expecting their first baby soon. Congratulations Malini! Last but not least, Pamela Leung Toda is the proud mom to be of the newest class of ʼ90 baby. Pamela is living in Yokohama and is very happy to be four months pregnant. She will not be able to travel to the reunion since she is expecting, but says hello. Hearty congratulations to you, Pamela! Some of our classmates are making us proud and pursuing academic careers. Jayshree Ramani would have to go first in this category and she probably wins the school spirit award too. After college in Boston, Jayshree returned to Kobe where for the past several years she has been both a part time and a full time teacher for little kids at Canadian Academy. I hope Jayshree will join us at the reunion and fill us in on what is happening at school! Jon Rasmussen, youngest of a long line of CA schooled Rasmussen boys, has pursued another type of academics. He studied to earn himself a place in a most respectable and noble part of society. That is, he studied religion and became a priest. At last word, Jon was living in Japan. Jennifer Kath Weld has some indirect ties to academia as well. Jen studied Japanese in college and moved to New York to work at Marubeni. She says, “There I met my husband Bill who I finally married after a mere 8 years of dating.” After getting her MBA a few years ago and working

for some time, Jen now lives in an academic environment again. She works in business school admissions at Cornell, where her husband is getting his PhD in Finance. Jen has confirmed that she will attend the reunion. Vinai Norasakkunkit is a true academic, with a list of impressive publications to his name. Vinai, having spent the last decade at four different academic institutions is now an associate professor at Minnesota State where he does research in the field of cultural psychology. He says, “I conduct cross cultural research between the U.S. and Japan on how culture shapes human cognition, motivation, emotion, mental illness, and concepts of subjective well being. Obviously, growing up in Japan and going to CA played more than a small part in my career choice.” Vinai plans on being at the reunion. Vinaiʼs observation of the impact of CA probably applies to quite a lot of us. With the cultural awareness and open minds we were raised to have, it is pleasing but perhaps not surprising how many of us find it easy and absolutely normal to relocate all over the globe. Eric Asaba, for example, is one of those folks whose cultural flexibility is plainly visible in his choices. Eric lived in the US, then in Okayama for a while, then went to study further in the US, and is now living in Sweden! Another one of our academics, Eric is doing a post-doc at Karolinska Institute in Stockholm. Ed Anderson, who was formerly living in Ohio, still maintains a residence there but recently moved with his wife, Grace, and lives outside London now. They have two kids, Katie 6 and Alex 4, and Ed writes that he “works in the technology retail industry, managing the European office of Levin Consulting”. Making his classmates from English IBS salivate, Ed boasts that his local theatre is currently advertising Waiting for Godot. Shigeru Matsuura has moved around a little as well. Shigeru writes that he “got married about two years ago! No kids yet, but maybe in the near future.” Earlier in his career, he says, “I was in LA working for JTB, then I was scouting minor league ball players for a Japanese pro team.” Shigeru now lives in Kobe and works for his fatherʼs company. Yasmina Thumas also shows how childhood at CA manifests itself in globally flexible living later. Yasmina had previously lived both in the U.K. and in New York and now lives in Tokyo. Yasmina had a rough start

to the year, but she and boyfriend, Conrad, escaped the tsunami with just cuts and bruises, thankfully. Congratulations to Yasmina who plans to get married later this year! John Allman was in Ireland for some time after graduating and then blew through England as well. I last saw him in New York a couple of years ago and he was as tall, unassuming and quietly hilarious as ever. John lives in New Jersey and instead of becoming a wildly talented playwright as predicted, became a wildly talented graphic design professional! It was a huge joy to reconnect with this old friend a few years ago after more than ten years. Michelle Ferre Roche has not been heard from recently, but she too has been geographically very mobile. It seems Michelle was modeling for a while very successfully, which should be of no surprise to any of us as she was already modeling in high school when not studying. Michelleʼs last known address is in Australia. Also in Australia are Meredith Hunter and Alex Tait. Itʼs a bit of a hike for you guys, and it has been years since weʼve seen you and we do hope you make the trip out to the reunion! Here is hoping that our dear friends in Europe also fly over to see everyone! Agnes Horrigmo lives in Sweden. I had the good fortune of seeing Agnes in Japan a few years ago while she was traveling a bit in Asia. She was traveling with old friend Constanze Ruprecht. When we met, Constanze had dropped the habit of wearing all black, but the creative mind and sparkling interested eyes remained one of her signatures. Constanze had become skilled at black and white photography and was compiling a photo journal of her travels with Agnes. Helene Kylve lives in Sweden also. Helene got married a couple of years ago to a tall, handsome Swedish man, and she has continued her career in business. Iara Krieg works in sales and lives in Germany. Steffi Pfetcher and Alex Priori are also both in Europe, in the UK and Italy respectively, but no recent news on either. If you guys see this, do write in! Japan is a popular place to live. Kyun-Soo Jung wrote in to say he lives in Kyoto now but will be moving to Kobe in the near future. Haruki Korestune lives in Kobe too. He frequents the popular Sannomiya pub, Sallyʼs, in case any of you are around, and he has learned to be a fortune-teller! Miki Sakai, who was in our year for a bit, lives in Osaka and works as a designer/decorator. Miki is very excited about the reunion and has

confirmed that she will be flying in to New York to attend. Govind Mahtani who was in our year for a few years also lives in Kobe and has a fantastic career going in IT. Currently, he consults for Procter and Gamble on Rokko Island. George Byun, Nobu Matsui, Ko Ueda and Tsuyoshi Shichitaka are all listed as living in Japan. I have no email addresses for you, and no further details on you, but I do hope you are well, and will make the trip over to the reunion so we can see you again. Some of our classmates went into careers of considerable glamour! Vivien Chen has not been in touch, but a couple of years ago I had a mini reunion dinner with some former classmates who informed me that Vivien is now a big movie star in Hong Kong. It seems she has worked with the likes of Jackie Chan, and for this she definitely wins our star award! If Vivien won the star award, then the hero award would have to go to Paul Kuiper, who also has had glamorous career moments. We thought he might become a pro golfer or Club Med owner, but no. Paul wrote in to the Alumni Review a few years ago saying he was now an airline pilot and as part of his job on a flight gone wrong, had helped avert disaster during an emergency situation! Chiyo Matsubayashi also gets to be a hero because of her job. She works with abused children and contributes so admirably to society as a social worker. Chiyo lives in California and has confirmed attendance at the reunion. Our class also boasts some entrepreneurs! Among those classmates who were aware of Vivienʼs success were the following three classmates who are now all entrepreneurs in Kobe. Jonathan Cheng is still taking fantastic photographs, and working for himself as a computer consultant in the Kobe area. Sushil Dhawan, who as you might remember came from a family in the restaurant business, started up a restaurant all on her own a few years ago in Kobe. Haresh Dodani lives at the bottom of the CA hill with his family and he has his own business doing investments. Another entrepreneur, not living in Kobe, is Hidehiro Matsui. I ran into Hiro and his wife in New York a couple of years ago and they made a very nice couple. Hiro says they are both marriage partners and business partners, and told me they have a flourishing pearl business in New York. Unfortunately, Hiro might have to travel for business in late May and may have to miss the reunion. 13


Missing classmates… We have no known addresses for Constanze Ruprecht now as well as Katsuhiko Kawasome, Rie Nishimura, Un Joon An, Yi Ling Liu and Yonggi Kang. Nigel Banerjee was first rumored to be in England, then in the US, and we have now concluded that he is simply missing. If you are in touch with any of these classmates, please have them send in their contact information. A bunch of classmates live in the New York area already and will have a very easy time getting to the reunion. No news of Mike Thumas lately, but his high school sidekick Ethan Mason, is apparently now a hugely successful businessman living in Brooklyn and working at CS First Boston in New York. Kaya Laterman lives in Brooklyn too. She just got married a couple of months ago and invited a large group of her friends, including former classmates Emy and Sheri, to her unconventional hot dogs and beer wedding reception. I couldnʼt make it, sadly, but the pictures show a radiant, happy, grown-up version of the radiant, happy, little Kaya who went to school with us! Kaya works about three times a week as a freelance translator. Kaya will be attending the reunion. Kevan Kerr plans to attend the reunion in May. Kevan only attended CA during his freshman year in 1986 and 1987 but made friends there and “would love to catch up with them.” Kevan now lives in Long Island City in New York and will be at the reunion. Lisa Kondo has lived in New York since leaving CA. She will attend the reunion and is one of the best people to show everyone around having been here so long. Lisa worked in the fashion industry for some time after college both at the Gap and at Bloomingdales (where she was a softball superstar!), and has now branched out to do other exciting things in her career. Yuli Tanaka who is in touch with Terrie is said to live in New York as well. Also not far away from the reunion are Valerie Romoser, who attended CA for a short while, in New Hampshire and Alden Arzaga in Illinois. Alden has confirmed that he will be attending the reunion. Alden was in California a couple of years ago and got to meet up with a bunch of former classmates including Chiyo and Eric. Debbie Wienkes Davis, like Alden, is also in Illinois. Clarence Tenorio was supposedly living there as well for some time although his permanent address remains Saipan. Karl Uchtman is nearby to these folks, living in Ohio. There are also a bunch of alums in sunny 14

California including Erin Altman, Tricia Palacios Moran and Jay Gillam. Of them, Trish has so far written in to say she is coming to the reunion. Thanks to everyone who has been in touch and has been writing in. If you have been out of touch, do write in… Would love to hear from you! Yasmina Thumas writes, “I just moved back to Japan (Tokyo) after having left Kobe 17 years ago.”

1996

Luke Harvey writes, “Hello All. Been quite a while and I thought that I might as well add the little portion of my life for those who are interested. Donʼt worry. It will be the condensed version. I graduated from the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana, worked for a small company that was developing an at home hemdialysis machine until the healthcare section of GE lured me away. I currently work with the Computed Tomography (CT) portion of its imaging division. I married Kelly Lane in July of 2004 and we have an 8-month-old English Bulldog named Princess Buttercup. I own a house in the suburbs of Chicago and if anyone is ever in the area and would like to catch up. Drop me a line.”

1997 Class representative Richa Kumar, who is studying for a PhD at MITʼs Graduate Program in the History and Social Study of Science and Technology, writes: “I will be leaving the US in August and heading back to India where I will start a year of fieldwork in villages with internet centres.”

David, Jo and Jeremy Hind ʼ96, wrote to say that they attended Jon Youngʼs wedding to Svea at the Botanic Gardens at St. Kilda and also sent in this photo of Jon and Jeremy.

The Wallins, who were at CA from 1988-1996, traveled from Sweden for a weeklong visit to Kobe. On the first day of their visit, they visited CA where they bumped into many former teachers and friends including: Matt Flinchum, Sandy Ota, Bob Hengal, Ken Rabb, Dave Harris, Chuck Kite, Ben Shaman, and Rick Brueggemann. Marten ʻ96 (back right) works with the disabled. Matilda ʻ99 (second row left) is in nursing school and is engaged to be married. Alex ʻ03 (front right) is studying philosophy in university.

1998 Derek Kwan made his professional stage debut in Toronto in a production of Banana Boys, a story that follows the lives of 5 young Chinese-Canadians in their quest for identity and where they fit in. In October, after the play ended, Derek moved to Shanghai. Shortly after he moved to Shanghai, Derekʼs parents, who were on a vacation in Khao Lak, Thailand, passed away in the December 26, 2004, tsunami. He writes, “I had been hoping that I would be able to write with some good news for the newsletter (settling down in Shanghai, finding a job), but unfortunately, all that is overshadowed by this

Prashant Shewa ʻ95 and Govind Mahtani ʻ91 were among the many alumni seen at the PTA International Food and Fun Fair on April 9. Prashant, who lives in California, was in Kobe visiting his parents. Govind works in the high technology industry in Kobe. Other alumni spotted at Food Fair include: Kate Engelseth Brueggemann ʻ67, Seiji Okamura ʻ84, Kojiro Dan ʻ84, Sabrina Houston ʻ99, and Michael Kaczkiewicz ʻ99.


event. I am saddened to hear that this tragedy has touched others in the CA community; please send my condolences to the Van Teunenbroeks.” Gaelle Komornicki and Kunjal Chaudhari visited CA in October. Gaelle, who is a fashion designer living in Avignon, France, will be opening a fashion boutique.

1999

Liza Mamtani writes, “Hi everyone! Pramitʼs great post inspired me to write one. I graduated from Columbia University in NYC last May, and I am currently a second-year law student at Boston College. This past summer, I worked in the legal department of the United Nations, and next summer, I will work at a large law firm (Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP) in NYC, which is where I will most probably end up working after I graduate in 2006. In the meantime, Iʼm up here freezing in Boston. If anyone is in the area, pop me an email! By the way, Allison Miller, Leo Matsuzaki, and Mimi Tang from our class of 1999 are here in Boston, too. My brother, Anil, who graduated from CA in 2001, will graduate from Columbia next May and will be working at Lehman Brothers in NYC. Iʼm a CA fossil, so I would love to hear from anyone, especially my year. Take care everyone!”

2000

Edward Sumoto writes, “Hello all and Xin Nien Kwai Le! Iʼve since moved from New Zealand for my new job in Hangzhou, China. Currently, I am working for an international sustainable energy center under UNIDO. Life here is interesting, to say the least, and New Yearsʼ was amazing as big fireworks are not illegal in this city. Even now, fireworks continue during the morning and night for various occasions - I suppose today for being the first official day of work and a week after the first day of the lunar month. Anyway, Iʼm interested to know if any of you old CA folk are in China or thereabouts. As always, if anybodyʼs interested in energy and sustainable development related issues, feel free to contact me. Good luck to the class of 2005 and my favorite KISS and chocolate and shopping loving individuals - you know who Iʼm talking about - continue to have lots of fun before college!”

Katsutoshi Tomita visited Canadian Academy while in Kobe on a business trip for Hitachi. After graduating from CA, Katsutoshi attended the Stern School of Business at NYU before returning to Japan to live in Yokohama. Lin Yolit Selinger writes, “Hi everyone! A couple of weeks ago I received the CA letter and guess what...it reminded me again of how time flies. Anyway, I am working together with my boyfriend at the shoe store named Walk Inn Trendy Footwear and we are currently renovating a newly bought house. We are planning on moving in January and officially start living together. I started wakeboarding as well, which is like snowboarding on water. Unfortunately, it is too cold at the moment to be skiing behind a boat. Joyce is doing fine. Learning Spanish and being one of the top students of her year. She is trying to find out where to start her internship. Tal is a freshman, and we recently measured him and he is 1.75! He is already as tall as my mum! Okay folks, enjoy the holidays, and I wish you all a great 2005!”

2001

Jonathan Marballi writes, “Hey all. I bought a bunch of old frames at Target for $1 each (yeah, I know - a steal!), and I was going through old pics for them and it made me think of Kobe. College really flew by. I hate that. Iʼm graduating this June from Ohio State, and I have no idea what Iʼm doing with myself. Iʼm frantically searching for an engineering job in NYC, but then again, who isnʼt. Still acting, of course. I just finished performances on my first fully professional, Equity/union, play. It was a Steve Martin farce called “The Underpants” that was produced at the Contemporary American Theatre Co. The critics didnʼt like it, but the audiences seemed to, so who cares. I, of course, played the hypochondriac Jewish character. I am planning on pursuing a professional acting career, but the current lack of $ freaks me out. Thatʼs it for now. Hey CA people - feel free to write, and lemme know if youʼre ever in Ohio...haha.” Moritz Plischke writes, “Hey Everybody!! Cheers to the class of ʻ01 and everybody else I knew at CA!! I have been reading a lot of peopleʼs postings on the CA alumni page, and I finally believe

itʼs time for me to add my part. I was actually in Japan during the summer, working for Mitsubishi Motors in Tokyo, but I didnʼt get the chance to visit CA. Iʼm in my last year at Yale University in beautiful downtown New Haven (hehehe), and I just finished my senior essay to complete my Political Science major. I have one more senior essay to write in East Asian Studies since I am doing a double major. My time at Yale has been far beyond awesome! Yes, I still play the drums, mostly in musical productions and in a jazz big band. I also play for an 80s Hairmetal cover-band called “Ainʼt Skeerd” which is a lot of fun and somewhat embarrassing at times, especially when your costume consists of skin-tight zebra spandex pants and a mullet wig...anyways. Next year I will begin working for McKinsey and Company as a Business Analyst in their New Jersey office, which I am VERY excited about. Iʼll most likely live in Manhattan and commute to New Jersey, since most of my friends will be in the city. My brother Max ʻ99 is doing great! Heʼs still studying medicine in Vienna and Iʼm looking forward to meeting him at Christmas. I went to England to visit Yuna ʻ03 in Oxford last week and itʼs still going strong! Thatʼs enough from me! Best of luck to everybody!”

2003

southern coast of Norway. It is a Division 1 team and one of the favorites to be promoted to the Premier League of Norway next season. Iʼm simply overjoyed with the fact that I can spend one year with this exciting club filled with ambitions. I have learned to appreciate the Scandanavian coaching staff and these new teammates are determined to help this club become champions of Division 1 this year. (Last season this club was 3rd place and they missed the chance for promotion. I hope this season we can be 1st and go up!) If any of you know some friends in Norway or if there are any CA graduates out there who are in Norway, let me know! In fact, this weekend Iʼm going to Oslo and Iʼm planning to meet one CA alumni so itʼs going to be interesting. Everybody take care and thanks for supporting me with my professional soccer career.

Faculty

Margaret Hinde Almen, who taught fourth and fifth grade at CA from 1966-1969, visited the Rokko Island campus for the first time. She is now living with her husband, Dick, in Bremerton, WA. She is looking forward to visiting her former student, Isabelle Vergnerie Gautheron ʻ76 in May on Reunion Island (near Mauritius) in the Indian Ocean.

Yuna Ikenaga visited CA from the United Kingdom. She plans to take a year off from her studies at Oxford Brookes to pursue an internship at IBM in London. Jovan Yamagishi writes, “Just a year ago, I was at the southernmost part of the world (Uruguay). Now I am at the northernmost part of the world (Norway). Trust me, it cannot get any colder than here! I am always complaining to my Norwegian teammates about the climate here. A bit late, but I want to let people of CA know that I have made a move from the club in Uruguay to a new club in Norway. This new club is called SANDEFJORD FOTBALL — a team based in a small town (Sandefjord) on the

Judith Fisher, who taught at CA from 1977-1980, stopped by to visit the Rokko Island campus with her family during a twoweek visit to Japan. Her former colleague, Bob Hengal, gave the family a tour of the school.

Send us your news! Please send us your news (graduations, babies, weddings, career changes, interesting stories etc.) so that we can share it with your fellow alumni. Photos are highly encouraged. 15


Inspired by a heritage of service, our multicultural community challenges students to academic and personal excellence as caring, responsible citizens.

S

ince 1913, Canadian Academy has transformed the lives of students from around the world who come through our doors. Today, Canadian Academy has 750 students from 42 different countries.

As one recent alumni visitor wrote after her visit: “It was tremendously encouraging to see CA thriving wtih a diverse student body and faculty. The campus and careful thought to space for both young and older students were very impressive. All the best for continued growth and success!”Madeleine Jarmain-Otani Oldman ʻ67 Canadian Academy relies on the financial support of our community to enhance our programs and facilities for students today and in the future. As of April 13, over 260 members of the community have contributed ¥15,875,111 to the school during the 2004-2005 academic year. The students of Canadian Academy thank you for supporting their education, the gift that lasts a lifetime. If you are interested in making a donation to Canadian Academy Annual Fund, it is not too late! Please use the enclosed gift response envelope and return it to Canadian Academy by July 31, 2005, to invest in the mission and vision of the school. Every gift, no matter the size, is important.

CA Review Spring 05  

CA Review Spring 2005

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you