Page 1

WE ARE...

1


... MORE THAN CAMPS

At Camp Quality, we’re famous for our camps. They even feature in our name (in case you hadn’t noticed!) We’re very proud of our camps – they remain a huge part of our essential programs for children living with cancer and their families. From camps just for kids through to camps for the whole family, this healing time away provides a valuable break from hospitals, stress and intensity. Camp activities focus on building optimism, resilience and confidence. We’ve grown over the last 29 years. We’re now about so much more than our camps. Our programs support families throughout their child’s cancer journey – in hospital, at home, at school – and away from it all. And sometimes, as you’ll read, even at the mechanics shop. In response to the identified needs of families, our support comes in all shapes and forms. Just take a look over the next few pages.

You’ll be surprised to see that we are more than just camps!

WE ARE ALL CAMP QUALITY!


WE ARE ...

The side effects of brain tumour treatment can be confronting and traumatic. CJ, 11, sometimes sleeps for 19 hours a day. We don’t want CJ to miss out on five minutes of childhood so we’ve been there for CJ – in hospital, at home, at school and at our camps. Our Primary School Education Program, which promotes anti-bullying behaviour and boosts the confidence of children living with cancer, visited CJ during her long hospital stays. “The puppets gave me a hard time, which CJ found very amusing!” her dad Neil says. The puppets also visited CJ’s school. Neil says: “It was a huge help for CJ’s 600 peers to understand about her hair loss and tiredness.” At Family Camp Neil says “The ability to take a moment out of the treatment cycle, relax for a weekend and share our journey with other families was amazing. The positivity and self esteem that CJ gains is brilliant. In fact, CJ’s on camp right now – giving her back the chance to just be a kid again.” - CJ, Camp Quality all-round star - Warwick, Queensland

A CHILD WITH CANCER.


WE ARE ...

Play Therapists, like Kylie, teach children living with cancer innovative coping strategies to use within and outside hospital. Children are often terrified of cancer treatments: chemotherapy, sharp needles, large pills, isolation units, lying still – all completely counter-intuitive to just being a child. A Play Therapist uses play to demystify the treatment journey. Sophisticated distraction techniques minimise the distress, pain, anxiety and trauma of cancer treatment. Results are staggering. Kylie’s creative techniques enabled a three-year-old boy to lie completely still whilst radiation treatment was administered – without general anaesthetic. This saved the family and doctors a full day of hospital time; the procedure took one hour instead of six. We currently fund Hospital Play Specialists at hospitals in Sydney, Newcastle and Victoria. Our goal is to have Hospital Play Specialists at every oncology ward in Australia. - Kylie, wonder woman and Play Therapist at Sydney Children’s Hospital, funded by Camp Quality - Sydney, New South Wales

A CAMP QUALITY PLAY THERAPIST!


WE ARE ...

The Eggleston family is a force to be reckoned with when it comes to creating a better life for children living with cancer. Both Richard Eggleston and his dad Graeme have been tireless and formidable fundraisers for Camp Quality – and they live and breathe our ethos of “creating a better life”. Richard creates a better life for himself through his fundraising and he’s done it through running; he joined the Orange Runners’ Club and shed 50kg in weight, down from 137kg – all thanks to his jogging. It started with running the City2Surf, and Richard has now built his skill level up to marathon distance. Richard says: “I’m living proof that despite where you are now, things can always get better.” Richard’s dad Graeme runs one of our quirkiest fundraising events: the Tractor Trek, through the Orange Support Group - where locals work together to share fundraising ideas and contacts. In 2012 Tractor Trek raised $92,946, enough to create a better life for another 96 children at our resilience-building programs. - Richard, fundraiser extraordinaire - Orange, New South Wales

A CAMP QUALITY FUNDRAISER .


WE ARE ...

“My five-year-old daughter Ella was diagnosed with leukaemia in 2009. She relapsed in December 2012. She’s still on treatment. When times got tough, Camp Quality assisted us financially. Whilst I was a single parent (Kerryn lost her husband to cancer), they bought us food and fuel vouchers. They provide us with a free car space at the hospital, making visits so much more affordable. They also support us on a very personal level - we have an awesome relationship with the Hobart team. Popping in for a cuppa, play and debrief really lightens the load. Never underestimate the power of friendship. The biggest thing we love is the relationship building with other families. My mum (Ella’s grandma) comes to Family Camp. She lived Ella’s journey too, so Camp Quality supported her. Sharing journeys with adults while kids can just be kids returned some normality to our lives.” - Kerryn, a very grateful mum - Hobart, Tasmania

A PARENT OF A CHILD WITH CANCER.


WE ARE ...

“I visit schools with the McDonald's Camp Quality Puppets, a cancer education program that helps children to be supportive and understanding of others with cancer. For me, seeing the puppets transform a scared, shy child (with cancer) into a confident, smiling kid makes me marvel at the power of a couple of puppets. I love using my experience as a performer to help others (Jason was in pop group Scandal’us, winners of the Australian Popstars). Although puppetry is a barrel of laughs, the power of Camp Quality’s Primary School Program is undeniable. Every school has children living with all kinds of differences. The show’s anti-bullying messages are universal. My highlight was when a boy stood up during our Q&A session and asked if he could come to the front and take off his beanie revealing his bald head. He was beaming with confidence and made a moving speech about his adventures with Camp Quality. He completely stole the show!” - Jason, Popstar-turned-Puppeteer - Perth, Western Australia

A CAMP QUALITY PUPPET & PUPPETEER.


WE ARE ...

Tom is 11 and his 9 year old brother William has been living with cancer for the last 3 years. Tom’s mum Meagan says: “When William was diagnosed, Tom felt the attention shift away from him and his other brother Jack. This threw the siblings’ routines into unpredictability. They didn’t know who’d pick them up from school or tuck them in. Camp made Tom feel heard and fussed over again - after cancelled holidays and outings. A Camp Companion (volunteer) overheard Tom say to some younger kids: ‘At camp you don’t have to worry about your sick brother or sister. It’s our turn to have fun!’ I think there were times when he must’ve felt as if he was treading on egg shells. Then, when William goes away on camp for five days, I’m given lots of time to fuss over the siblings, which is greatly anticipated and appreciated.” - Tom, superstar sibling - Adelaide, South Australia

A SIBLING OF A CHILD WITH CANCER.


WE ARE ...

David is a rare and much cherished breed. As a volunteer Companion at our camps, David is a role model for boys living with cancer. We have half the number of male Companions as female – so his support is invaluable. David is one of two volunteers in Alice Springs. He supports Bryce who lives in a remote community with no postal address. David personally ensures Bryce gets all camp info, arrives at the airport on time and doesn’t miss out. His regular contact has built trust with Bryce’s indigenous community. They now come along to Family Camp and even treat David as one of their family. We have 2,500 volunteers like David and a little over 100 staff on our books. By keeping our head count low, we keep our costs minimal so we’re able to maximise the amount of money that goes straight to kids living with cancer across Australia, like Bryce. - David, volunteer Companion and cherished breed - Alice Springs, Northern Territory

A CAMP QUALITY COMPANION.


WE ARE ...

“I split my time between Victoria’s three major hospitals. I help families to realise they’re not alone on their child’s cancer journey. When I meet a newly diagnosed family, I ask: ‘What are your four most urgent needs?’ They list them and I say: ‘We can help you there!’ or I refer them to other providers. Then we move to the next four! I’m the direct link – the person that knows the family’s situation inside out. This prevents them from being passed around. In addition to encouraging families to take up our flagship programs (camps; fun days; puppet shows) I’ve arranged for us to fix the brakes on the car of a mum whose daughter was just diagnosed. Now she can drive to and from hospital – one less stress ticked off that list. I bought a wig for Lilly, 5, who was nervous about starting school without hair. Her mum sent me a picture on her first day, in the wig. She looked so happy.” - Linda, Fairy Godmother, Family and Hospital Support Team, Camp Quality - Melbourne, Victoria

A CAMP QUALITY STAFF MEMBER.


WHO ARE WE ...

Our purpose is to create a better life for every child living with cancer in Australia. We go the extra mile to meet this purpose. From puppets to car mechanics. From tractors to toys. From hand-delivered notes to marathon runners. From wigmakers to miracle workers. From 2,500 volunteers to countless tireless fundraisers.

We are one team with one goal. Join us.

WE ARE ALL CAMP QUALITY!


We’re for creating a

better life

through the cancer journey.

We’re for helping families

and kids at every stage, in many ways. THAT HAS KIDS FEELING ON TOP OF

WE’RE

FOR


CONTENTS CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE.................................................24 CEO’s MESSAGE....................................................................25 OUR STRATEGIC FOCUS

2012/2013...............26

OUR YEAR IN REVIEW...................................................27 STRATEGIC PLAN WINS.......................................28 STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES

2013/2014........ 29

SUPPORTING FAMILIES.........................................30 OUR SUPPORTERS ...........................................................32 OUR CORPORATE PARTNERS................................32 OUR PEOPLE AND CULTURE.....................................34 OUR VOLUNTEERS............................................................36 OUR CORPORATE GOVERNANCE.......................38 OUR FINANCIAL RESULTS.....................................42 THANK YOU...........................................................................48 HOW YOU CAN HELP......................................................50 HOW TO CONTACT US.............................................51 22 22


23


CHAIRMAN'S MESSAGE With the first year of our 5-year Strategic Plan under our belt, I can proudly say that it’s been a year of significant milestones.

acknowledgement from the Australian Council for Young Children: “In regards to its commitment to children’s safety, ACF would see Camp Quality as a leader among current children’s based organisations nationally.”

Some of the many major initiatives achieved include piloting emotional support at Family Camps through an external partnership, launching our domestic support program, increased support/funding of Play Therapists in oncology wards, growth of our donor acquisition plan, embedding of the new workforce structure, alignment of volunteer management with People & Culture and safety practices, and the fantastic growth of i98FM’s Camp Quality Convoy event in Illawarra.

This acknowledges that we take the safety of our children and their families seriously and that our staff and volunteers are committed to best practices. A culture of safety excellence is now well embedded in Camp Quality. Our greatest challenge over the next 4 years is to achieve success in our new fundraising initiatives as we endeavour to define Camp Quality as a charity that provides for children with cancer, as well as children where the parents have cancer, and one that personifies an infectious culture of positivity.

We have managed the business performance well within a challenging economic climate to ensure we haven’t exceeded our planned budgeted deficit. We look forward to improving our overall revenue with new fundraising strategies over the next 12 months.

All of the above cannot be done without the support and dedication of many. To all the volunteers who collectively give more than 300,000 hours each year, we say a sincere thank you. Camp Quality would simply not exist without your support and for this we are extremely grateful. I would also like to thank our donors, sponsors and supporters who believe in who we are and what we do. Finally thank you to the staff and my fellow Board members who have been firm in their resolve to make a difference and continue the growth of such a wonderful organisation.

There have been many successes from a program perspective. We can proudly state that we now reach 1 in 2 newly diagnosed children each year and we are on track to approach 2 in 2 in the foreseeable future. Our Primary School Education Program celebrated the participation of its 4 millionth child, a figure that reinforces its long term value. However, out of all of our successes, one of the most pleasing is the

John Foote Chairman

24


CEO'S MESSAGE

25


OUR STRATEGIC FOCUS

2012/2013

Camp Quality will continue to focus on sustainable expansion over the next four years to ensure the programs and services we provide are meeting the needs of every child living with cancer and their families in Australia. As part of our five-year Strategic Plan, we've set ourselves two strong achievable goals with clear outcomes.

Goal 1 – To deliver programs with more relevance, equity, reach and effectiveness In the last year, we: • Expanded our Program Team investing in staff focused on program growth • Introduced a Family Support and Hospital Team who provide real and direct support to families. • Established a National Program Outcome Model across our program suite to ensure we are meeting needs. • Implemented a new National Recreation Model, with activities aligned to age specific needs and program objectives. • Completed stage one in our national Play Therapy Program expansion. • Launched a Domestic Support Program. • Introduced new state of the art puppets in our Primary School Program. • Established a partnership with CanTeen to ensure every child from 0-24 has access to ongoing age-appropriate services through our two-way referrals. • Piloted professional emotional support at family camps in partnership with Redkite. • Expanded respite opportunities to families through a partnership with Ronald McDonald House. Goal 2 – To build a braver, more optimistic and sustainable organisation In the last year, we: • Continued investment in the diversification of our revenue streams. • Progressed a safety culture by strengthening our risk management and safety framework. • Conducted an external brand evaluation and developed the resulting brand and communications strategy. • Aligned volunteer management with People & Culture and safety practices. • Embedded our workforce structure. • Implemented a risk management framework. • Strengthened our Board induction and established a reporting cycle.

26


2,574 Kids

3,877 Kids

fun days

27


CELEBRATING OUR STRATEGIC PLAN WINS What a year! Our five-year strategy was always going to be an ambitious ask of our staff and volunteers, but they have risen to the challenge in year one. The theme of this year’s Annual Review is “More than Camps” – and our strategic plan wins reflect this theme perfectly. The extensive Family Research Project (ARTD Consultants) we undertook in 2010-2011 recommended that we promote our programs more to newly diagnosed families. To do this, we introduced a wonderful new Family Support and Hospital Team, which has increased the number of families registered with us by 17%. Ask any of our existing families and they’ll all say the same thing: they won’t regret it. We completed stage one of our national Play Therapy Program expansion, with funding for this program set to increase in the future as a result of the effectiveness of the innovative techniques these professionals use. Making cancer treatment less scary for children and less stressful for their worried parents is a high priority for us and we’re hugely encouraged by the results we’ve seen in 2012-2013 in Sydney’s children’s hospitals. This is an area that’s set to grow. We also launched a Domestic Support service – which gives parents one less thing to worry about when their child returns from treatment. A squeaky clean home is essential for children

who need to avoid infection and keep their immune systems strong. This program has been developed in direct response to the identified needs of families, as stated in our Family Research Project. We’re committed to meeting these identified needs, which sometimes means innovating and developing new programs in this way. Evaluating our program outcomes will also continue to be embedded in our program strategy to ensure we are measuring the true impact of our programs. Our collaboration with CanTeen and Redkite ensures easier access to services across the sector for our families. Our partnership with CanTeen ensures that every child from 0-24 has access to age appropriate services through our two-way referrals and in conjunction with Redkite, we are piloting professional emotional support at our Family Camps. It’s this kind of collaborative working in the not-forprofit sector that avoids the perceived duplication that is sometimes offputting to potential donors. And to implement all of this, our most precious resource – our people – have been invested in by embedding our workforce structure. This new structure now provides a robust infrastructure to support the implementation of the big and challenging goals of the second year of our five year strategic plan.  

2013 / 2014

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES Goal

Key Outcomes

Goal 1: To deliver programs with more relevance, equity, reach and effectiveness

• • • • • •

Goal 2: To build a braver, more optimistic and sustainable organisation

Continue to drive equity and reach with a focus on siblings, families and regional areas. Collaborative partnerships in place to provide additional support, graduation program and emotional support. National Play Therapy program expansion More creative and age specific activities delivered to families at camps. Scope online support tool for parents. Develop and test a program for children whose parents have cancer. Evaluate and review our primary school program to improve impact and reach. Embed evaluation strategy for continuous program improvement to meet needs.

Revenue • Continued focus on donor development, a national campaign launch, corporate partnerships and major gifts to support new programs. People, Brand and Culture • Management/leadership development program to be established. • Innovative organisational employment approaches to be implemented. • A Camp Leader conference and volunteer optimism and resilience program will be delivered. • A volunteer management plan will be created to support offspring children. • Brand and communications training will be implemented. • A new Ambassador program and digital media strategy will be established. Systems • Our technology plan will be developed and implementation commenced. • Innovative IT employment solutions will be explored. • Business reporting mechanisms will be established. • Our procurement process will be improved. Governance • Board learning and development will be strengthened and succession plan developed. • Risk management technology will be implemented.

28


29 29


SUPPORTING FAMILIES

THROUGH THEIR CANCER JOURNEY Our Programs create optimism and resilience for every child living with cancer in Australia.

Right from diagnosis, throughout treatment and in remission, palliative care or bereavement, our programs support the whole family by building optimism and resilience; in hospital, at home, at school and away at camp.

Our Family Support Programs

provide tailored support to families through their cancer journey. We have a dedicated team who meet families in the early stages of their diagnosis to help them access support as they progress through treatment and return back home. Our professional cleaning service gets a family’s home ready for when a child returns home after hospital. Our holiday respite service gives families some essential de-stress time, away from the intensity of their cancer journey. We also work closely with social workers to support families in extreme financial difficulty.

Our Hospital Program has

expanded dramatically over the last year. We now support Play Therapists at Sydney Children's Hospital in Randwick, The Children's Hospital at Westmead, John Hunter Children's Hospital in Newcastle and (by December 2013) at The Royal Children's Hospital in Melbourne, with further expansion planned.

Play Therapy provides children with coping strategies that help them deal with their illness inside and outside of hospital. The program reduces their distress and helps them overcome fears throughout treatment. We also run regular hospital-based activities: our much-loved puppets make bedside visits which boosts the confidence of children living with cancer and gives them a large dose of the best medicine: laughter.

Our Education Programs transform lives by teaching primary schools how to be supportive and understanding of kids living with cancer. For example our touring puppet show, the Primary School Education Program, de-bunks myths about cancer (such as reassuring kids they can’t catch cancer) and prevents bullying of kids who return to school looking so different from their classmates after treatment.

Our Recreation Programs provide

children living with cancer and their families with an essential break from hospital, stress and intensity. They are especially designed to encourage strength, confidence and independence. Meeting families who have gone through a similar thing builds up an invaluable, life-long support network where optimism thrives and normality can be embraced again.

30 30 30


We support families throughout their cancer journey

“Treatment was exceptionally draining and demanding on our family. The other children soon realised their lives revolved around hospital visits, hospital food, and having either my wife or I away for extended periods. Camp Quality made Elsa the centre of the universe. Despite

Here to help • • • • • •

Our Family Hospital Support Team helps families access support, introduces our programs and creates special in hospital-based activities. Our Primary School Program Team introduce our much loved puppets on the ward providing child-friendly bedside support to even the most unwell children. Our Domestic Support program helps ease the burden at home. Kids’ Camps help siblings connect with other children who are also adjusting to their sibling living with cancer. Family Fun Days provide valuable family time and help families make connections. Financial Support is provided through hospital social workers for families in serious financial difficulty.

spending so much time in hospital, many of Elsa’s memories from that period actually revolve around her time with the

Coping with change during treatment and remission •

Our Primary School Program helps a child’s school understand how to be supportive and understanding of children living with cancer. The fun interactive show, using puppets, reduces children’s fears as they learn that you can’t catch cancer and has a positive impact on the child living with cancer, along with their siblings. Holiday Respite program helps regional and remote families (many of whom have spent up to two years apart) have something exciting to look forward to. It’s often a significant family milestone to have a short break away together. Family Camps, Fun Days and Kids Camps become a celebration of how far a family has come. It’s all about celebrating the small significant steps along the way.

. Supporting families through many challenges •

• • •

Play Therapy funding helps equip children during and after treatment, it involves our Play Therapists using innovative play techniques to ensure the child with cancer is cooperative and far less petrified of cancer treatment and operations. Family Fun Days create a positive environment for family time and networking. Family Camps help families relax, reconnect, spend quality family time and connect with other families on a similar journey. The kids’ only activities also provide valuable parent time. Age-specific kids’ camps for both patients and siblings ranging from 4 -13 years, help kids build confidence, optimism and new supportive friendships. They also provide patients valuable oneon-one time back at home with older (or younger) children who often have been missing out due to the extra challenges cancer and treatment brings on a family. Our family experiences are offered to families as they are donated by our generous community partners. These may be tickets to local sporting events, concerts, movies or festivals. 31

Here to help • • • • •

Kid’s Camps help siblings continue their journey and give parents much needed respite. Domestic Support helps take some pressure off. Our Holiday Respite program is something our Family Hospital Support Team is able to offer families. Financial Support is there for families in serious financial difficulty to help with funeral costs. Specialised Family Camps for bereaved families help them share with others, gain support and enjoy precious time together.

Camp Quality team” - Nathan, Camp Quality Father


OUR SUPPORTERS FROM ALL OVER THE COUNTRY. One of the best things about Camp Quality supporters is how they live and breathe our values of optimism and fun in their FUNdraising. Camp Quality esCarpade, our outback motoring adventure, travelled from Newcastle to Canberra in October 2012. Between them these 66 wacky car owners raised an engine busting $1.2 million – enough for Camp Quality to provide a year’s worth of resiliencebuilding support for 300 families who have a child living with cancer. The event was replicated on the west coast with WesCarpade, travelling 1,810kms and raising a whopping $364,000 in only its second year. Our 10th anniversary Supper Club took on a fabulous Alice in Wonderland theme. Hundreds of the country’s top restaurants donated tables and food for the event held in Melbourne, Perth, Canberra, Brisbane, Adelaide and Sydney. Luke Jacobz, Kate Ritchie,

Of course, every single fundraiser is key and if we had the space in these pages, we’d thank everybody!

Justin Melvey, James Magnussen, Josh Thomas and Justine Schofield were some of the many celebrities who attended. The event, kindly sponsored by Lexus, Champagne Taittinger and McWilliam’s raised $509,008 – enough to support 135 families for the next year.

Here are some highlights of some of the wild and wacky things our community FUNdraisers have done to ensure that laughter is the best medicine for children living with cancer:

What do 764 trucks and 926 motorbikes look like? One of the world’s biggest truck convoys, that’s what. In November 2012 the i98FM Camp Quality Convoy in Illawarra, NSW, smashed all records and expectations. For the first time in its eight year history, it broke the $1million mark (raising $1,028,262). This all wouldn’t be possible without the support of our generous volunteers and sponsors i98FM, WIN network, Illawarra Coal, Stockland, Illawarra Mercury and Bendigo Bank.

Enormous thanks to all those generous truckers who joined in the lead truck bid - with Craig Duran of MJ Rowles taking out the lead spot with a whopping $110,000 donation.

• • •

• •

Walked miles for our kids’ smiles (Great Illawarra Walk; Triple M Walk in SA) Kept on running (City2Surf Sydney and Perth; City to Bay SA; Racing for Rachel; Run Melbourne; Upstream Challenge and Verticool Challenge) Cycled bikes (1,000 Ks for Kids Ipswich – Newcastle; Tour De Cure; Cycle for Kids) Trekked tractors (the Orange Tractor Trek) Driven trucks and motorbikes (Townsville Convoy) Danced ‘til they dropped (the Cherry Ball SA, our Giggle Balls in Armidale, Illawarra, Newcastle and South Australia). Filled up our Bucket List with Seb Terry’s 100 Things Hit four score and more

(Baulderstone Golf Day, Unigas Golf Day, Scotchman’s Creek Golf Club, Master Plumbers Golf Day, and Port Macquarie Golf Day) Drove backwards into the past (Bendigo Vintage and Classic Car Display, Colac Custom Car and Bike Show) Cooked a butcher’s shop full of sausages to feed our hungry tummies (Agfest, Coles Fun Fridays, Greenmount Fair and buckets of Bunning’s BBQ’s throughout the country) Revved up at Motorex.

Currently, our 11 amazing support groups across Australia continue to be a vital source of support, raising over $300,000 for local kids living with cancer and their families.

In total, our Events and Community fundraising teams raised a total of $6,960,000 in 2012-13, an increase of 6% from the previous year.

OUR CORPORATE PARTNERS Our corporate partners across Australia continue to amaze us and share in our culture of optimism and resilience. Collectively our corporate partners raised $6,350,000, increasing their funds by 27% from the previous year. There were so many highlights that contributed to this including: •

The Arnott’s Foundation – from fun runs, to a golf day, gala dinners and trivia nights, they did it all and raised over $230,000 to ensure we can provide our Family Camps across Australia.

Lorraine Lea Linen embraced their new partnership with us by dedicating a whole month of linen parties to raise $168,000 for our children and their families.

McDonald’s celebrated their 25th year of sponsoring our Primary School Education Program and helped us reach our 4 millionth child through the Camp Quality Puppets.

Motoractive captured the energy and passion of the car enthusiast community through major events Motorex, Cruise for Charity and Bathurst 12hr. These events raised over $170,000, allowing us to send 200 newly diagnosed children on camp.

nabbusiness NSW/ACT launched into their first year of partnering with us. Their 750 staff and fantastic customers got behind a myriad of events that took place from Coffs Harbour to Canberra and together raised over $260,000 in support of our Junior Camps.

The Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs and their high-profile partnership with Camp Quality enjoyed another successful year; they continue to support our families through their Family Game Day and year-long fundraising activities, in addition to providing significant branding, sponsorship and advertising opportunities.

Dear M

artin

BOUNC

E FORW ARD LUNC HEON

an opp a better ortunity to rais life for e every chi much needed ld and Wednesd their fam funds to help create ilies livin ay 31 Oc g with tober cancer 20

Bequests - $445,000 Corporate Partnerships - $6,350,000 Donor Relationships - $1,286,000 Events and Community - $6,960,000 Grants and Foundations - $402,000 Investment and Other - $723,000

TOTAL - $ 16,166,000

12 - 12. 00pm

Vue eve to 2.00p nts at m Rialto Level 55 525 Col lins Str eet Me lbourn RSVP e to Sim 03 932 9 8660 one Carrodus - simone by 22 Oc .carrod tob er us@cam 2012 pqualit y.org.a u

.

To get involved in any of our events please visit campquality.org.au/public/whats-on or call 1300 662 267 .


DID YOU KNOW?

Over the last financial year, 8 cents for every dollar raised goes towards our administration expenses. This is below our benchmark of 12 cents in every dollar.

.

• We have recruited over 13,300 new donors and launched our new supporter newsletter, The Optimist in February 2013 as a way of reporting back to you all twice a year on how the generous donations we receive are being spent. Our bequests program also generated us $444,694 and this continues to be a significant stream of income for Camp Quality. Our first ever ‘Bounce Forward Luncheon’ was held in October 2012. Forty-one attendees at Melbourne’s Vue de Monde donated $284,000 – enough for 71 families who have a child living with cancer to receive a year’s worth of Camp Quality’s resilience-building programs.

As we continue to develop innovative, expanded and much needed programs for our families, we will need your help. If you're interested in partnering with Camp Quality, please contact us now on 1300 662 267.

Your ne

wle tter

fu

ce ies th at ll of stor

leb ra te

life an d

build st

reng th.

August

2013

ero!

eAH You’r

. It’s a hero use u’re ca is, yo ro be ing th u’re a he -old Cody read year s. u’re ration. Yo If yo stres led 8agge enab ncer and being no ex nation enjoy t ca to do ou t hters your et all ab and go s – fire fig take rg st ksack roe to fo

. old delight

y unt ool gave Cod ry sch his hero prima Meeting n he ps. Ju living le ruc ers at ir pe ent. of his litt met his ow ing cam nks ilies m the uma cked uild nt fro after treatm es fam He pa ear-old. He ilience-b e. The tra nd. All tha ensur child differe res le fac on his mi very they return ir an 8-y e of our gram ng ited litt rt pro , when the need en po wh – at on at his exc the last thi sup e: me who k tems was mestic clean ho l for kids cial tim p a loo ne sys e w do ky a spe cancer cia cam Our ne to a squea is is cru their immu need on with ter at first ever Th u. p wslet r rately return hospital. to yo this ne we ran ou and kee o despe u yo ion g ce ts wh leaves id infect rs sin sendin ilies alia paren out. to avo and for We’re ctly 30 yea g fam Austr g, ess ab existin red the across stron ng to str it’s exa s like Cody. d the live an grams in building cer and s thi s joine s. We de ibed as g pro les for kid ise can ilie nin h nth scr you. fam of run ed expert living wit d develop new last 12 mo ently de thanks to years an too. rec velop y 500 kids – only their hero, Nearl port in the one mum Our 30 we’ve de ength of to innovate ilies. them s d str nue s of fam we sup ms, which ,” to all of e certainly mean of ism an We conti the need e u’r gra on tim line yo s. ly pro op et r And ute life familie ms to me are on mple ou “absol our hero. their they exa gra t ps, for pro are tha cam You new Take parents ous for liver. ling re ’re fam ms we de to reassu g and fee we While ny progra ich helps for lookin d the ma show, wh get bullie et pupp ild won’t ch their

, leaving d stressr – Helpguide.org nsion an ysical te45 minutes afte ph s ve lie laugh re laxed for up to hear ty re A good, your muscles

33 33


OUR PEOPLE AND CULTURE Our employees Australia-wide are all role models of the Camp Quality philosophy of fun therapy and learned optimism and are passionate about creating a better life for children living with cancer.

Learning and Development

Camp Quality has a strong belief in investing in both professional and skills development of its employees and in developing its culture. This includes: • •

Our Safety Record

Camp Quality values the safety of children, young people and their families and is committed to best practice and quality improvement in safety management and child protection. We are nationally recognised and accredited by the Australian Childhood Foundation (ACF). This accreditation acknowledges that we take the protection of our children and their families seriously.

Orientation for new staff and the Board Induction position specific information conducted with direct supervisor Compliance Training

1.5% of Camp Quality’s revenue is invested in Learning and Development, with cross-organisational representation on various working parties and committees.

Employee Recognition Program

Acknowledging performance is an integral part of every employee’s role at Camp Quality. Our Reward & Recognition Program is based on the following:

We are continuously looking to improve our safety record and this will continue to progress as we further develop reporting systems and incident data to provide better information of where injuries are occurring.

• • • •

OH&S Policy and Performance

Camp Quality is committed to managing its operations to ensure the health, safety and welfare of its employees, volunteers, contractors and visitors. Our belief is that all work-related injuries and illnesses are preventable. A safety and reporting culture is also promoted to ensure we are learning from our practices and continuously reviewing for improvement.

Performance recognition Service recognition Workforce retirement Exiting employees

Employee breakdown

Equal Employment Opportunity

Casual 20

Camp Quality has a 90% female workforce and is well advanced in its affirmative action practices with a preferred internal candidature for positions vacant and an evolving manager development program focusing on developing talent internally to manage vacancies.

Part-time 14 Full-time 83

Total - 117 34 34


Here are some of our People wins!

To i n Pro crease files role d e s crip were i clarit ntro y, n tion e s f or a duced w Suc ces ll e to r m p loye eplace s es. job

of We recorded an 84% retention rate ncial year. employees at the end of the fina

mp m, Ca ts and rogra ag’ p ng, benefi tion, i olly B va ackag ease moti the ‘L n on e salary p r bega e to inc ce. y s n Work mplo forma at aim r h e t p ty’s e e Quali s program mployee s th e d ros t and rewar n c . a geme ent ent enga en stm lopm be nve deve ve lity’s le i ha a and itab ns Qu equ rning . itio p ea os Cam mes sed l p rea n in w in e fra inc io ne ith We anisat All ed w d tim org fill gete tar

35 35


OUR VOLUNTEERS Our volunteers are one of the most important parts of the Camp Quality family. Without them, we simply wouldn’t exist.

Here are some wins: •

We employed a full-time Volunteer Advisor, solely dedicated to volunteer management processes.

We have 2,500 volunteers at Camp Quality, but a little over 100 paid members of staff.

In July 2012 we undertook our first Volunteer Engagement Survey, which will now be an annual exercise in keeping our volunteers inspired, motivated and engaged.

The latest survey revealed that 83% of volunteers indicated that volunteering at Camp Quality increases their self-confidence and interpersonal skills, in comparison to 76% the previous year.

We set up a Volunteer Consultation Committee, with a representative from each location across Australia.

We ran a recruitment campaign for male volunteers to act as Companions at our Camps (to be paired with boys living with cancer) during National Volunteer Week. This generated media coverage across the country on TV radio and in newspapers and magazines. This resulted in 66 new male volunteers signing up in a two-month period; a large upsurge from the same period last year.

We recognised the achievements and contribution of our volunteers through our Dick Gillard Award. FY2012-13 was the first time we rewarded local winners rather than just one overall winner.

By keeping our staff head count close to 100 nationwide, we keep our costs very low so we’re able to maximise the amount of money that goes straight to kids living with cancer. This is why every single dollar you donate makes a difference. Thank you. Of our 2,500 volunteers: • 128 are Camp Leaders, a volunteer who leads one of our resiliencebuilding Camps. • 127 are medical volunteers (who go away to camps to give children their medication). • 225 are Support Group members (see our supporters pages for info about the vital role Support Groups play). • A number help in office admin roles, fundraising roles and through our internship scheme in our Marketing department and other teams • The remaining 1,800 are Camp Companions – paired with children living with cancer at our camps, or Rovers – volunteers who assist where needed at any of our resilience-building camps.

36 36


“Looking after Camp Quality kids is not about fairies, bedtime stories and ponies. Well, not all the time! In my experience, it's rolling in mud at laser tag, teetering at heights on high ropes, canoeing, surfing and raft building. It's here you change lives by making a kid living with cancer smile, laugh and become more resilient. It's here you make lifelong friends with other volunteers who are selfless, funny and inspiring. This is not a sad volunteer job. You leave every camp with more wrinkles from smiling and laughing so much.� – Aaron, Camp Companion

37 37


OUR CORPORATE GOVERNANCE STATEMENT- Year end 30 June 2013 The Directors are responsible to the Members for the performance of the organisation in both the short and longer term and seek to balance these sometimes competing objectives in the best interest of the company as a whole. Their focus is to ensure the company is properly managed and that it remains committed to creating a better life for every child living with cancer in Australia.

Board Functions • • • • • •

Reviewing and approving organisation strategies, annual budgets and financial plans Overseeing and monitoring performance, approving annual reports and liaising with auditors Appointing and assessing the performance of the CEO Overseeing and complying with laws and codes of conduct Ensuring effective management processes and approving major initiatives Enhancing and protecting the organisation’s reputation Ensuring significant risks are identified, controlled, monitored and reported Ensuring consultation with all stakeholders in regard to future strategies, policies and direction Meeting regulatory obligations.

The Board draws on relevant corporate governance best practice principles to assist in contributing to the charitable performance of the company. Day to day management of the company’s affairs and implementation of corporate strategy and policy initiatives are delegated by the Board to the Chief Executive Officer and management.

The Board

The Board’s performance is measured by a range of key performance indicators. These include and are not limited to: • Attending a Camp Quality fundraiser • Assisting in recruiting regular givers • Utilising networks/contacts to assist Camp Quality in building profile/awareness and increasing engagement • Utilising their business skills to enhance the organisation’s legal, accounting and marketing performance.  

The Board oversees and monitors the performance of management at six or more Board meetings per year. Financial and management reports are reviewed at each meeting or more frequently if required.

Directors

A Director’s term is two years. All Directors are volunteers who donate their time, energy and professional expertise to Camp Quality.

• •

Monitoring and measuring Board performance

38 38


Board sub-committees The Board has established three sub-committees that meet and support the functions of the CEO and the Leadership Team. They meet on a regular basis and report back to the Board. Audit & Compliance

People & Culture

Strategy

Objectives

Objectives

Objectives

• • •

• • •

Audit, accounting and reporting obligations Legal and statutory compliance and obligations Risk management and identification Management of investment portfolio

• • • •

Legal and statutory compliance and obligations Development of policies and procedures Monitor structure and function Management of best practices for working with children Monitor risk, controls and reporting strategies and staff performance

Revenue generation Business relationships Brand development

Achievements

Achievements

Achievements

• • • •

• • •

• • • •

Prudent management of investments Review of insurances Contingency plan Implementation of Risk Management Framework Tender of investment management

Structure review Workforce plan Child Protection audit Workplace Health and Safety legislation review

• •

Revenue generation Business relationships Fundraising risk management/audit Brand review Communications strategy

Future Developments

Future Developments

Future Developments

• • • •

• • •

• • • •

Review contingency plan criteria Review PCI compliance Implement internal audit framework Develop procurement policy & system Develop rolling forecast model

Safety management Culture project Staff survey mechanism Develop innovative employment options

Revenue generation Culture project ROI on fundraising events

Members

Members

Members

• • •

• • •

• • • •

Nick Ridehalgh, Chair John Foote Robyn Watts

Staff • • •

Peter Kite, Chair John Higgins Vivien Sonego

Staff Simon Rountree, CEO Kelly Beaumont, Deputy CEO Kim Heng, GM Corporate Services

• • •

Reg Bryson, Chair James O’Toole Lynne Anderson Eoghan O’Byrne

Staff Simon Rountree, CEO Kelly Beaumont, Deputy CEO Adam Blatch, GM People & Culture

39

• • • •

Simon Rountree, CEO Kelly Beaumont, Deputy CEO Rachel Walker, GM Business Development Helen Merrick, GM Marketing & Donor Relationships


OUR BOARD QUALIFICATIONS John R Foote

Special Responsibilities Member of Strategy Committee

Qualifications Diploma Applied Chemistry (RMIT)

Reginald D S Bryson

Chairman (appointed November 2000)

Director (appointed November 2000) Qualifications Sydney Institute – Advertising (Ambassador 2012) Harvard (AMP) Experience CEO of strategic consulting organisation, Brand Council. Previously CEO of national advertising agency, The Campaign Palace. Past Chairman of Australian Writers & Art Directors Association. Past Chairman of the Australian Institute of Management Marketing Group. Past Trustee Royal Botanic Gardens. Awarded AFA Medallion in 2005. Special Responsibilities Chair of Strategy Committee

Experience Former Managing Director of Fibremakers (Australia) Limited. Retired Chairman and CEO of Dupont Australia. Retired Chairman of Geyer P/L. Former Non Executive Director of Crane Group Ltd. Special Responsibilities Member of Audit & Compliance Committee

Peter M Kite SC

Deputy Chairman (appointed November 2000) Qualifications B.Comm. LLB (UNSW)

Experience Appointed Senior Counsel in 1996. Practiced at the Bar in Sydney since 1983. Member and former Chairman of the Federal Litigation Section, Law Council of Australia.

John C Higgins

Director (appointed October 2006) Qualifications Economics, LaTrobe University Experience Chairman of Higgins Coatings, Chairman of Advisory Board for the Chair of Positive Psychology at Melbourne University, Foundation Board member of the National Gallery of Victoria

Special Responsibilities Chair of People & Culture Committee

Lynne M Anderson Director (appointed October 2011) Qualifications Bachelor of Commerce, majoring in Marketing (UWS) Experience Managing Director Australia & New Zealand for Repucom International. Previously set up Sports Consulting business which became established as the market leader for media evaluation in the sponsorship field.

Special Responsibilities Member of People & Culture Committee

Eoghan R O’Byrne

Director (appointed October 2011)

40 40


AND EXPERIENCE

During the financial year, 21 meetings of directors (including committees of directors) were held. Attendances by each director during the year were as follows:

Vivien J Sonego

Qualifications Business studies at Athlone Business College in Ireland Experience General Manager of Mix106.3 and 104.7 in the ACT. More than 20 years in the radio industry. Special Responsibilities Member of Strategy Committee

Company Secretary (appointed November 2003), Director (appointed October 2006) Qualifications Bachelor of Arts and Law, University of Sydney Experience Former Senior Associate of Clayton Utz and 10 years in legal practice, chiefly in litigation. Special Responsibilities Company Secretary, Member of People & Culture Committee

James M O’Toole

Director (appointed October 2006) Qualifications BA (Hons) European Studies, UWE, Bristol Experience Joint Managing Director, CEO Forum Group. Previously held a range of roles at The Economist Group and Financial Times in London, prior to coming to Australia in 1992. Special Responsibilities Member of Strategy Committee

Robyn L Watts

Director (appointed October 2011) Qualifications Bachelor of Arts (Australian National University), Master of Arts (University of Reading UK), Graduate Diploma in Business Management (University of Canberra), AICD Company Directors’ Diploma and AICD’s ASX 200 Chairman’s Mentoring Program 2010 & 2011 Experience Currently fulfils a number of Non Executive Directorships including Vita Group Ltd (ASX:VTG), Geyer Pty Ltd, Australian School of Performing Arts Pty Ltd, ANU Endowment for Excellence and Australian Board of Country Music Association of America. Carries out Executive Mentoring through McCarthy Mentoring. Former CEO of ABC Enterprises, Southern Star Sales Group and other media businesses. Special Responsibilities Member of Audit & Compliance Committee

David N Ridehalgh

Director (appointed November 2003) Qualifications Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors Chartered Accountant, MBA (Executive) Monash, Mt Eliza Business School Experience Partner KPMG CFO Advisory providing assurance and advisory services to Boards and senior management on financial, process, sustainability and corporate communications issues. Special Responsibilities Chair of Audit & Compliance Committee

41

Committee Meetings Directors' Meetings

Audit & Compliance Committee

Directors

People and Culture Committee

Number attended

Eligible to attend

Number attended

Eligible to attend

Number attended

Eligible to attend

Number attended

John R Foote

7

6

6

4

-

-

-

-

Lynne M Anderson

7

6

-

-

-

-

2

2

Reginald D S Bryson

7

5

-

-

-

-

2

2

John C Higgins

7

5

-

-

6

2

-

-

Peter M Kite SC

7

7

-

-

6

6

-

-

Eoghan R O’Byrne

7

3

-

-

-

-

2

2

James M O'Toole

7

7

-

-

-

-

2

2

David N Ridehalgh

7

6

6

6

-

-

-

-

Vivien J Sonego

7

5

-

-

6

6

-

-

Robyn L Watts

7

5

6

5

-

-

-

-

Camp Quality Membership We welcome a diverse membership to reflect our optimistic community supporting children and their families living with cancer. Directors and staff are committed to being accountable to Members. How Membership works As part of our constitution, to become a Voting Member of Camp Quality you are required to submit a personal nomination form. This includes being nominated by a current Camp Quality Member and a $25 annual fee. However, the annual fee is waived for any parent or carer

Name

Time at Role Camp Quality

Responsibility

Experience (years)

Simon Rountree

Since July 2000

CEO

Governance, Strategy, Culture, Revenue, Corporate Services, Safety, Risk Management and Brand

NFP 21 Government 7 Education 1.5

Kelly Beaumont

Since February 2009

Deputy CEO

2IC to CEO, operations, strategy, Safety and Programs, Research & Development, People & Culture, Programs Development and Delivery

NFP 17 Corporate 10

Kim Heng

Since November 2003

GM Corporate Services

Finance, Information Services, Corporate Services

NFP 8.5 Corporate 20

Adam Blatch

Since August 2012

GM – People & Culture

People, Culture, Volunteer Management, Child Protection, WH&S, Learning & Development, Payroll

NFP 15

Helen Merrick

Since August 2012

GM Marketing & Donor Relationships

Marketing, Brand, Communications, Direct Mail, Regular Giving, Bequests and Major Gifts

NFP 7

Since January 2010

GM - Business Development

Business Development, Corporate Partnerships, Government & Grants, Events, Campaigns and Community Fundraising.

NFP 4 Corporate 10

Strategy Committee

Eligible to attend

Our Members

Our Leadership Team

of a current Camp Quality child or any bereaved parent or carer of a Camp Quality child. Membership is at the absolute discretion of the Directors. They will consider each application for membership at the next Board meeting after the application is received. Once the Board has approved the new Member, payment of $25 is made (if applicable) and a confirmation letter is sent to the applicant. If you would like to become a member, please contact us on 1300 662 267 or visit campquality.org.au.

Rachel Walker

Corporate 10


OUR FINANCIAL RESULTS For the year ended 30 June 2013, we met all our financial targets in revenue, expenses and planned deficit: 2013 Actual $m

2013 Budget $m

2012 Actual $m

Gross revenue

16.2

16.1

15.3

Expenses

18.8

18.8

17.5

Realised investment loss

-

-

1.3

Net deficit

(2.7)

(2.7)

(3.5)

With the implementation of our 5-year strategic plan, we've quarantined $6.5 million of our investment portfolio to fund our program development and delivery to meet current and unmet needs of children and families living with cancer. We're working on planned deficit budgets for the first 3 financial years (2013 to 2015). By financial year 2016, we should be back on break even and on track to surplus budgets.

2012/2013 Revenue

Supporting children living with cancer and their families

Gross revenue has grown by 5% to $16.2 million. The main growth in dollar terms has come from corporate partnerships. Compared to last year, we've registered growth in events and community, donor management, grants and government. Bequest income, however, is down by $1.4 million. Although we've made budget overall, we are disappointed not to have hit our budgets in a number of key revenue streams. Our results reflect the tough and competitive environment that we operate in. Over the past 7 years, we've averaged a 9% gross revenue growth per annum.

In 2013, we focused on improving programs and developing new programs to meet identified and unmet needs. We have achieved an increase in program expenditure of 6% in a challenging economic environment. Over the last 7 years, our programs have grown at an average of 13% per annum. 57% of our staff work in program development and delivery. 12000

10000

8000

6000

17000

14% 13%

12000

10%

11000

9%

10000

10395

10000

9782

9000

Recreational Program

Education Program

Hospital Program

Family Support Program

Other programs

6%

2006 2007 2008 2009

2010

2011

2012

2013

G r os s re ve nue Net revenue (net of direct fundraising expenses)

20000

10% 9%

18000

9% 8%

2006

2007

2008

2009

2010

Administration ratio

2011

2012

2013

16000

14000

12000

10000 8273

8000

7860

7668

7000 6244

6000

5770

8000

Jun-01 Jun-02 Jun-03 Jun-04 Jun-05 Jun-06 Jun-07 Jun-08 Jun-09 Jun-10

Camp Quality

Morningstar Growth

Cash

ABS Australian CPI AUD

5000 4431

4000

invest in businesses whose objectives are contrary to the culture of a children’s charity Portfolio value should be at least a minimum of 6 months worth of current budgeted expenditure. Should the portfolio value reach 5% or more below the minimum, the budget contingency plan will be activated Portfolio value should not exceed a maximum of 12 months worth of current budgeted expenditure. Should the portfolio value reach 5% or more above the maximum, the Audit & Compliance Committee has the discretion to either increase the cap ratio or develop a plan to bring the portfolio back to its benchmarks within a 12-month period.

12%

7%

8000 7000

11000

The Board, through the Audit & Compliance Committee oversees the investment and management of our investment portfolio. The key principles of our investment strategy policy are as follows: • Growth portfolio aimed at earning returns of CPI plus 6% - 7% over the long term • Benchmarked against Morningstar Growth Index, aiming to beat the 5-year average • Socially responsible investment strategy – we would not knowingly

11%

8%

9000 0

During the year, the management of our investment portfolio was put to tender. We did a comprehensive review of the tenders based on a number of key criteria and have reappointed Centric Wealth for a 2-year term.

13%

11%

13000

2000

13%

12%

14000

Investment Portfolio

Operating with a tight deficit budget, we have managed to come in right on target with our expenditure. We activated a contingency plan towards the end of the 2nd quarter when it was anticipated that we may not meet our revenue budget. Our administration expenses are maintained at 8% of gross revenue. This ratio has been on a downward trend over the years. Over the past 7 years, we've managed to average administration expenses at 10% of gross revenue.

16000 15000

4000

Administration expenses

Relative Performance Index

Financial Performance 2006 - 2013

FINANCIAL PERFORMANCE

2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 P r o gr am e xpenses

42

Jun-11

Jun-12 Jun-13

Morningstar Balanced


FINANCIAL PERFORMANCE 2006 - 2013

Income Statement

2006

2007

2008

2009

2010

2011

2012

2013 $'000

$'000

$'000

$'000

$'000

$'000

$'000

$'000

9,046

12,043

12,949

13,009

14,210

14,687

15,332

16,167

Program expenses

4,431

5,770

6,244

7,860

7,668

8,273

9,782

10,395

Fundraising expenses

2,077

3,518

3,540

3,765

4,144

4,707

6,222

7,063

1,227

1,511

1,411

1,553

1,289

1,308

1,542

1,356

7,735

10,799

11,195

13,178

13,102

14,288

17,546

18,814

645

639

(2,547)

(1,129)

(263)

78

(1,279)

(19)

1,957

1,883

(793)

(1,298)

845

477

(3,493)

(2,666)

8,030

Gross Revenue

Administration expenses Total Expenses Investment gain/(loss) Surplus/(loss) for the year

Financial Position Current Assets

5,153

4,697

6,314

7,818

5,096

5,676

12,098

15,693

18,488

15,709

11,997

15,351

15,282

6,861

9,348

20,846

23,185

22,023

19,815

20,447

20,958

18,959

17,378

1,734

2,196

1,829

1,867

1,467

1,653

2,324

2,473

56

49

48

42

80

75

82

129

1,790

2,245

1,877

1,909

1,547

1,728

2,406

2,602

Net Assets

19,056

20,940

20,146

17,906

18,900

19,230

16,553

14,776

Equity

19,056

20,940

20,146

17,906

18,900

19,230

16,553

14,776

Non-current Assets Total Assets Current Liabilities Non-current Liabilities Total Liabilities

43 43


FINANCIAL STATEMENTS Statement of Comprehensive Income for the year ended 30 June 2013

2013 $

2012 $

15,465,188

Revenue

14,631,712

701,328

700,054

Recreation programs

(7,241,780)

(6,871,105)

Family support program

(1,639,756)

(1,238,628)

Other Income

Education program

(636,822)

(809,039)

Hospital program

(593,294)

(446,420)

Other programs Fundraising expenses

(283,846)

(417,013)

(7,063,318)

(6,221,707)

Administration expenses

(1,355,530)

(1,541,833)

Loss before investment gain/(loss)

(2,647,830)

(2,213,979)

Investments loss Loss before income tax Taxation Loss for the year

(18,918)

(1,279,503)

(2,666,748)

(3,493,482)

-

-

(2,666,748)

(3,493,482)

789,017

17,792

Other comprehensive income: Revaluation increment of financial assets Realisation of revaluation on sale of investments Other comprehensive income for the year Total comprehensive income for the year

44

100,187

798,817

889,204

816,609

(1,777,544)

(2,676,873)


Statement of Financial Position

2013 $

As at 30 June 2013

2012 $

ASSETS CURRENT ASSETS Cash and cash equivalents Trade and other receivables Other financial assets Other assets TOTAL CURRENT ASSETS

2,048,975

2,846,995

746,710

655,540

4,628,506

8,193,469

605,540

401,892

8,029,731

12,097,896

7,965,920

5,277,742

1,333,716

1,534,916

NON-CURRENT ASSETS Other financial assets Property, plant and equipment Other assets TOTAL NON-CURRENT ASSETS TOTAL ASSETS

48,183

48,411

9,347,819

6,861,069

17,377,550

18,958,965

1,336,674

1,315,281

LIABILITIES CURRENT LIABILITIES Trade and other payables

91,147

63,196

1,045,217

945,340

2,473,038

2,323,817

Provisions

128,863

81,955

TOTAL NON-CURRENT LIABILITIES

128,863

81,955

2,601,901

2,405,772

14,775,649

16,553,193

Provisions Deferred income TOTAL CURRENT LIABILITIES NON-CURRENT LIABILITIES

TOTAL LIABILITIES NET ASSETS EQUITY

764,969

(124,235)

Retained earnings

14,010,680

16,677,428

TOTAL EQUITY

14,775,649

16,553,193

Reserves

45


FINANCIAL STATEMENTS Statement of Changes in Equity For the year ended 30 June 2013 2013 Balance at 1 July 2012 Loss on operations

Retained Earnings $

2012 Balance at 1 July 2011 Loss on operations

(124,235)

16,553,193

(2,666,748)

-

(2,666,748)

-

889,204

889,204

14,010,680

764,969

14,775,649

Retained Earnings $

Financial Assets Reserve $

Total $

20,170,910

(940,844)

19,230,066

(3,493,482)

-

(3,493,482)

-

816,609

816,609

16,677,428

(124,235)

16,553,193

Other comprehensive income Balance at 30 June 2012

Total $

16,677,428

Other comprehensive income Balance at 30 June 2013

Financial Assets Reserve $

46 46


Cash Flow Statement

2013 $

for the year ended 30 June 2013

2012 $

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES: 11,763,357

11,713,197

(14,906,390)

(13,775,185)

Dividends and distributions received

262,464

509,682

Interest received

437,528

286,432

(2,443,041)

(1,265,874)

96,371

79,494

6,092,638

13,889,975

(198,421)

(322,250)

(4,345,567)

(12,260,648)

Receipts from supporters Payments to suppliers and employees

Net cash used in operating activities

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES: Proceeds from sale of property, plant and equipment Proceeds from sale of investments Purchase of property, plant and equipment Purchase of investments

1,645,021

1,386,571

Net increase / (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents held

(798,020)

120,697

Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of financial year

2,846,995

2,726,298

Cash and cash equivalents at end of financial year

2,048,975

2,846,995

Net cash provided by investing activities

The information on page 44 - 47 was extracted from the financial statements of Camp Quality Limited for the year ended 30 June 2013 and is included here for information purpose only. A complete set of financial statements and Independent Audit Report can be provided upon request. 4747


THANK YOU, THANK YOU, Thank you to all of our amazing corporate partners who generously provided in excess of $100,000 worth of support.

VIC/TAS

Thank you to the generous people who chose to support us through a significant gift in their will. M Perkin, P A Bunt, G E Thorne, R N Mills, N S Carrett, R A Sullivan

Thank you also to our generous corporates, donors, trusts, foundations, events and community fundraisers who gave over $10,000 to us this year. A.Kennedy - Car 112, Health in a Hurry ˙ ActewAGL Retail Adelaide Crows Foundation ˙ Aerow Air Conditioning Pty Ltd ˙ AHL Allan Myers ˙ Allianz Australia Insurance Group ANZ Trustees - Stanley & Eunice Nicholson Trust ˙ Atwood Oceanics Pty Ltd Aurora Australis ˙ Ausfuel ˙ Aussie Farmers Foundation ˙ AutoNexus B.Brooksby - Car 95, Lightning McQueen ˙ B.Hurenkamp - Car 201 B.Smith - Baby 08 ˙ Battery World ˙ Bauer Media Group ˙ Beck Corporation Bendigo Bank ˙ Bendigo Golf Day Committee ˙ Bertalli Family Foundation Birrell Motors Pty Ltd ˙ Blackwell Bros. Pty Ltd ˙ Brad Apps ˙ Brian Daher Brogen Investments Pty Ltd ˙ Brolga Developments and Construction Pty Ltd C.Mills - Car 1, Clown Car ˙ C.Palmer - Car 969 ˙ Cabramatta Rugby Leagues Club Caesarstone Australia ˙ Charity Greeting Cards ˙ Cleary Bros (Bombo) Pty Ltd Cobaki Broadwater Village ˙ Coca-Cola Amatil ˙ Colac Custom Car & Bike Show Comet Benefit Rodeo ˙ Commonwealth Bank of Australia 48


THANK YOU, THANK YOU Commonwealth Bank Staff Community Fund ˙ D.Agnew - Car 06 ˙ D.Moon - Car 73 D.S Kerr Charitable Trust ˙ David Barrett ˙ Davies Family Foundation Denman Devils Rugby Club ˙ Department for Communities ˙ DMG Radio Australia Ethelton Entertainers ˙ G.Stewart - Car 10, Batman ˙ G.Tilden - TOJO G.Walsh - Car 4/4, The Butchers ˙ Glen Innes Activity Group Glencore, Mangoola Coal Operations Pty Ltd ˙ Global Shop Direct Great Lakes Support Group ˙ Green Apple Wellness Centre H.V. McKay Charitable Trust ˙ H.Elzerman - Car 1100 ˙ Higgins Coatings Pty Ltd I.Alford - Car 69 ˙ Illawarra Coal ˙ Illawarra Hotel ˙ Illawarra Mercury Illawarra Truck Repairs & Spares ˙ J.Frangi - Car 269 ˙ J.Giannarakis - Car 49 J.Hovey - Car 87, Bob the Builder ˙ J.Stewart - Car 75, Superman Jamberoo Action Park ˙ James N. Kirby Foundation ˙ Jaycar Electronics John Higgins ˙ Josh Liberman ˙ L.Wilson - Car 47 ˙ Lanier LeasePlan Australia Lions Club of Armidale ˙ Lotterywest ˙ M.Brown - Car 18K, Sharkmobile M.Greenwood - Car 12, Croc Hunter ˙ M.Sagona - XC1 M.Skinner - Car 02 ˙ Macquarie Group Service Australia Pty Ltd ˙ Malcolm Green Manildra Group Manning Valley Support Group ˙ Marble ˙ Merivale ˙ Michael Gannon ˙ Michael Rae ˙ MJ Rowles Pty Ltd ˙ Moomba Yard Dog Association Moreton Bay Boys College ˙ Motors Foundation ˙ Murrell Freight Services Myer Carousel ˙ Myer Perth Store ˙ Narellan Pools Illawarra ˙ Nationwide Transport Solutions ˙ Newcastle Herald ˙ Newcastle Panthers ˙ Newman Family Foundation Newman's Own Foundation ˙ NEXT GENERATION PROMOTIONS Norm Rees Security Pty Ltd ˙ Northline Pty Ltd ˙ O.Aoun - Car 21 OTI Management ˙ P.Johnson - Car 22 ˙ P.Poulos - Car 01, Elmo P.Rothnie - Car 43, Buzz Lightyear ˙ Park Pty Ltd ˙ Parramatta Leagues Club Pat's Place ˙ Perisher Blue ˙ Peter Hawcroft ˙ Pickles Auctions Poles and Underground Pty Ltd ˙ Power Family ˙ R&G.Anderson - Car 000, Firetruck R.Tuckey - Car 26, Blue's Mobile ˙ R.Watts - Car 2179, Where's Wally ˙ Ray Chapman Ray White Canberra ˙ Reserve Bank ˙ Retail Adventures Pty Ltd Robert Brakspear ˙ Rock & Rodz Tasmania ˙ Ross Freer ˙ Ross Transport Pty Ltd Ruralco Holdings Limited ˙ Rydges Hotels ˙ S.Elliot - Angry Birds S.Savage - MIB ˙ Scanlon Foundation ˙ Scholastic ˙ Sebastian Terry - 100 Things Shellharbour Workers Club Ltd ˙ Shoalhaven Recycling ˙ Showtime Events Centre Sitzler Pty Ltd ˙ Smithfield RSL Club ˙ Southern Truck Centre Stan Perron Charitable Trust ˙ Stillwell ˙ Stockland Shellharbour ˙ Suncorp Sylvania Lighting Australasia ˙ T.Taylor - Car 47, The Fruiterers ˙ Target Shellharbour Team 2234 ˙ Team AfroTeam Deicorp ˙ Team Kermit ˙ Team Volvo ˙ Telethon The Bingo Ladies of Club Mudgee RSL ˙ The Boeing Company Charitable Trust The Parncutt Family Foundation ˙ The Shane Warne Foundation Todd Family Foundation ˙ Tour De Cure Limited Toybox International Charitable Fund Pty Ltd ˙ Ultimate Equipment Unanderra Tanker Hire ˙ Unicol Pty Ltd ˙ Unigas ˙ Upstream Foundation V & V Walsh ˙ Village Roadshow Theme Parks ˙ W.Mackay - Car 74 ˙ Watermark Hotel Glenelg ˙ West Australian Newspaper Holding ˙ West Australian Newspapers Ltd Westpac AFS Finance Matching Gifts ˙ Westpac Banking Corporation Westpac Lomond Contact Centre ˙ Wisdom Bar and Cafe Worldwide Printing Solutions Strathfield 49


HOW YOU CAN HELP We have big plans and many more families who need our help. Please help us create a better life for every child and their family living with cancer in Australia.

I would be interested in partnering with Camp Quality or funding one of your projects. •

Contact our Corporate Partnerships Team on 1300 662 267 today to discuss a mutually beneficial partnership opportunity

Contact our Philanthropy Manager on (02) 9876 0559 to discuss what potential opportunities are available to be funded.

Ways you can donate: •

Become a regular giver: campquality.org.au/public/howyou-can-help/donate-monthly

Leave us a bequest: mycampquality.org.au/bequests

Make a donation: campquality.org.au/donate

I have plenty of time! What can I do? •

Volunteer for Camp Quality – at our camps, in our offices or as a fundraiser! campquality.org.au/ volunteer

Join one of our fun events: campquality.org.au/public/whats-on

I love the look of your events such as Supper Club and esCarpade! How can I get involved? •

To participate in our events – or run one of your own events, simply call 1300 662 267 to chat to our friendly Fundraising Team.

ore For m ays ng w i r i p s in us p l e h to isit v , l a o rg u wo h c lic/ho b a u e p / r au rg. ality.o an-help u q p cam you-c

50 50


HOW TO CONTACT US Camp Quality is an incorporated company limited by guarantee. We have endorsement as a deductible gift recipient and as an income tax exempt charity. We also have a notice of endorsement for charity tax concessions.

We have charitable Fundraising Licences in all states and territories of Australia. If you require more information, please feel free to give us a call or check our website: campquality.org.au. Important Information: Australian Company Number: 052 097 720 Bank: National Australia Bank Insurance Advice: JMD Ross Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd Solicitors: Minter Ellison Auditors: LBW & Partners Investment Adviser: Centric Wealth, Steve Latham

Camp Quality is a member of the Children’s Charities Leadership Forum, the Fundraising Institute of Australia and accredited by Quality Improvement and Community Services on behalf of the Australia Council for Children.

Our Office Locations: NT - 08 8985 4433

Nth QLD - 07 4723 2250

Sth QLD - 07 3216 0299 WA - 08 9388 8533

Nth NSW - 02 6651 4486 Newcastle - 02 4947 8311 Sydney - 02 9876 0500 Illawarra - 02 4256 0127 ACT - 02 6287 3545

SA - 08 8410 5555

Victoria - 03 9329 8660 Tasmania - 03 6231 5445

Follow us on: Facebook: CampQualityAU campquality.org.au 1300 662 267 PO Box 400 Epping NSW 1710

Twitter: @camp_quality Instagram: camp_quality 51


52

Profile for Camp Quality

Camp Quality Annual Review 2012/13  

Camp Quality - what we're about, who we are and where we're heading in 2013 and beyond.

Camp Quality Annual Review 2012/13  

Camp Quality - what we're about, who we are and where we're heading in 2013 and beyond.

Advertisement