1 minute read

Campbell Med Student Awarded 2019 AOA LEAD Scholarship

Tony Li, MS-III, was awarded the 2019 Karen J. Nichols, DO, LEAD Scholarship from the American Osteopathic Foundation. This scholarship is presented to an osteopathic medical student whose Leadership, Excellence, Achievement, and Dedication are proven in the classroom and community.

“This scholarship affirms that all the hard work I have put into medical school so far is paying off,” said Li. “I have really come out of my shell [and grown] as a leader by involving myself in the school and community, and I will continue my hard work [throughout] clinical rotations.”

Over the course of his first two years of medical school, Li has served as president of the Family Medicine Club, a student leader for the PaLMS Seminar, an OMM TA, and is a frequent volunteer at the Campbell University Community Care Clinic. He also served as the Student Representative for the NCS-ACOFP Board of Governors from 2018-2019.

This award recognizes, honors, and encourages osteopathic medical students who show promise and exhibit the foundational leadership skills that will serve them and their communities now and in the future.

“I am very grateful to CUSOM for believing in me,” shared Li. “What I love about the school is that every faculty member is willing to help students. Many of my professors have been mentors to me and they certainly contributed to me earning this scholarship.”

Tony Li, MS-III, with Dr. Karen Nichols.

About the Karen J. Nichols, DO LEAD Scholar Award

This award was established to honor Karen J. Nichols, DO, former president of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) and its first female president, an accomplished educator and someone who has served in multiple leadership positions for the osteopathic profession, including six years as a board member for the American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) — Dr. Nichols leads by example and for this reason, it’s only fitting that this award was established and named after her.